Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel 3 stars

23-25, Leinster Square, Westminster Borough, London, W2 4NE, United Kingdom

#783 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 778 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    VERY SMALL ROOM. NOT VERY CLEAN. GOOD LOCATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room in the basement. The wc was not very clean. The faucets weren't working. No light by the bead. The asian lady in the wasn't polite and did nothing to have running fresh water from the faucets. The location is good.

    Very small room in the basement. The wc was not very clean. The faucets weren't working. No light by the bead. The asian lady in the wasn't polite and did nothing to have running fresh water from the faucets. The location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Property was clean, comfy large beds, loads of clean towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps from door into room had no handrail, bathroom was small , fine for us but wouldn’t suit if we were any “larger”

    Property was clean, comfy large beds, loads of clean towels.. kitchenette was very useful.. as was the ironing board & iron, extra cooling fan, kitchenware etc. staff were very helpful too..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    July 2018
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist, she'd better smile a little more. She did not make me feel welcome at all. Regarding the hotel, rooms are very small and backwards, same as usual in London. Sure I won't come back anymore.

    The position was ok, only ten minutes to kensigton gardens and Bayswater train station is five minutes walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is good but you need to walk 6 min to the nearest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel from early morning until 11am!!! . Beds were not comfortable. According to the price they should consider to provide Bath soap and shampoo and they shouldn’t put some one else stuff and been used.

    Location is good but you need to walk 6 min to the nearest station. Staff are very helpful. Hotel room was clean .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Short London tri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was tiny, sink was too big for the small area, awkward to move around in.

    The room itself was spacious and the bed was comfortable, good little kitchen space, decent sized wardrobe. Very clean, lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Bed and overall state of the apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenette was a bit cramped and had very limited kitchenwares. Bathroom was very cramped. Would have liked more spacious bathroom and more equipped and bigger kitchenette

    Bed and overall state of the apartment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location but the hotel should clearly state that parking is charged as extra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was unhappy about being charged extra for the parking at £24.95 per 24 hours as when I booked the room the exact wording was (private parking is available on site) and there was no mention that you had to pay extra for this facility.The bathroom was also extremely small in the room that we had and you could barely move in it.

    It's a fantastic location with the tube station only five minutes away and plenty of restaurants to eat at.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    good chekin in team, drugged, robbed and threatened by liquidators in adjacent room Mr. Chris?
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was drugged in the room, then woke up and the room had been smashed to pieces by beggsbies traynor liquidators who came in screaming and threatening my fiancee and myself. i have been to scared to come forward until now.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The bathroom spoilt what would have been a 10 out of 10 experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The en-suite bathroom was a joke. Couldn't turn round in there, had to come out into the bedroom to dry ourself.

    Good room. Great separate kitchenette. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Location was excellent, and staff generally friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although a cooktop was provided, there were no pots, pans, or food prep utensils at all - so it was impossible to use! Bed was terrible in our room.

    Location was excellent, and staff generally friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Clean, great location and helpful staff but very small (and dark) room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the basement so no views or much light and it was *very* small (you could barely turn around in the bathroom)

    Brilliant location near Hyde Park. Very modern and with friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was informed that there was parking available, no reference that a payment of £24.00 was to be made. This should be pointed out more clearly from the onset.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Good price and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as it could have been, egthe bedcover was dirty and threadbare. Ditto the carpet. One night, very noisy up until 2 am! Nowhere to put clothes, or hang up things.

    Breakfast, the shower, location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    As another reviewer has commented, there was a lot of noisy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As another reviewer has commented, there was a lot of noisy conversation from the reception area late at night but otherwise this was a great hotel for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    2.5
    Very Poor, pathetic, hotel should not be allowed to operate... Disaster!!!! Not recommended at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor, Poor, Poor.... The room that we stayed in was totally pathetic!! Dirty, Dirty... Cramped, Cramped. Informed the person on duty, just shrugged his shoulder. The hotel should not be allowed to be in business.

    Nothing, Disaster. Please avoid at all cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Short and very noisy uncomfortable nights
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel ever! Very unfriendly staff up on arrivel. Had to change rooms 4 times (tv broken, room key broken, shower broken etc.) and finally they got me an extremely noisy room were the heat controle of the shower was broken,no pots and pans but I had given up by that time. Had 3 very short and very uncomfortable nights in London.

    Location and small kitchen

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens and the bed are smelly. Broken toilet flush. The floor is dirty. No slippers..no hand tissues. The air con was not working in the first night and not very well after fixing. You can hear people speaking and coghing next doir..The room is not comfortable at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Hard bed, poor wifi, bad breakfast and small bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just stale bread and instant coffee. The bed was rock hard and uncomfortable The heating system was broken and therefore it was way too hot in the room. Bathroom was tiny and the sink only gave full blast or nothing. Wifi connection was very poor in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Did what was needed very well.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety and better quality breakfast foods.

    Good value, comfortable, but don't bank on a great breakfast. There are several places to have breakfast nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    5.0
    Not happy with the property at all. Just the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the suites is spacious.. the facilities looked bad. Floor looked old. Not comfortable. Curtains doesn’t hang properly. Centre walk from lift to room was in bad condition.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    4.6
    The location was good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was really uncomfortable, there was a lot of noise, the bathroom was little you could not move, the breakfast was really poor, the room where we had breakfast was very little, there was only 4 tables with 2 chairs each one and the staff do not tell you anything, from my point of view they have been really unpolite.

    The location was good enough

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Not much not to like, unless you want a cooked breakfast & coffee machine.. I will be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a bit tight and nowhere to put toiletries, but still not as bad as in other London hotels in similar locations for similar prices! No bedside tables or drawers, only a wardrobe and cabinet in kitchen unit to put your things (but again, better than other places I've stayed at in London for similar prices, which didn't even have anywhere to put the suitcase itself, never mind its contents..); one light other than ceiling light to bright for e.g. one person to read and other go to sleep, would need to read with torch instead..

    Very friendly helpful staff (esp the young man from Athens in reception :) ), quiet location, able to adjust heating and open window properly, close to tube station (Queensway station is on a line that runs 24h on fridays and saturdays) and shops locally opening late as well as lots of diverse restaurants; walking distance to Notting Hill, Hyde Park and Science/Nat Hist Museum and V&A; also able to rent London bikes in street hotel is located on nice days and bike through Hyde park to e.g. Buckingham Palace or other central areas; info on local attractions provided in hallway and maps available for free from reception; basic cooking facilities/kettle, plates & cutlery in room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I stayed in had a broken thermostat so it was extremely hot while I was there. I had to crack the windows open to cool it down but after I did that it was very comfortable.

    Overall it was a great value for the money. Room was just big enough and clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. You can't beat the location in terms of the access to the subway and the nearby parks and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    3.3
    The room was not what was advertised, bed was extremely hard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not what was advertised, bed was extremely hard, bathroom was tiny literally had to shower with the shower door open. 10 out of 11 channels were porn, had to wait for male reception at night to address the channels as well as blood on the pillow and real crispy stuff on the bed runner. Would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Good quiet location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was a little intermittent at times. The room was clean but pretty small. It made it hard for us to store all of our holiday purchases. I wish there had been some fresh fruit for breakfast.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was comfy and clean. The shower was hot and relaxing. The continental breakfast was good. The neighborhood had several pubs and shops that were fun to explore. It was easy to pick up both busses and the subway to get anywhere in London we wanted to go.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Unenjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, it wasn't as described. We were in a basement room with a huge air conditioning unit outside our window that incessantly hummed! The room was small, the bed took three- quarters of the space with nowhere to put our bags, bathroom again was TINY. There was a pungent smell maybe due to being in the basement? Expectation (going on pictures & pricing) did not meet reality (tiny space, noise, smell) - thankfully I didn't not have to spend much time in the room!

    This hotel was in a good location for a course I needed to attend & in quite close proximity to tube stations and public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    4.6
    In this hotel unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast on first day was a poor example of a so called continental breakfast; we only discovered that there was only this type of breakfast when we arrived at breakfast! Boiled eggs were supplied but were cold, sliced bread was not fresh, the packet cheese that I chose was mouldy! The breakfast room was small and could only accommodate 4 x 2 person tables. There was no decaffeinated coffee available and the waitress seemed surprised that it was asked for!! Although we paid for breakfast we did not attend it for the remainder of our stay, preferring to eat elsewhere.

    The bed was comfortable but fitted into such a small space that there was no room for bedside table/lamp or to walk around the bed. This room was described and charged as a " luxury room" the hoteliers need to read the English Dictionary description of luxury, this room could never meet that description.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.3
    the location is perfect, great neighborhood, many places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is not a 3 star hotel, I would give it max 2 but I guess because of location and price wise it was a good stay

    the location is perfect, great neighborhood, many places to visit and eat around, metro accessible

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.4
    Basic, OK for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cramped and bed was very uncomfortable and hard. Bathroom is very small with no space. Although parking is handy, it is £24 and only until 1pm the next day - which I was told was 24 hours from when you park. However, the man at reception kindly let me leave it there longer as I had been misinformed. It was a basic room, right next to reception and opposite the 'breakfast' room. Breakfast was also basic - toast, special K, eggs and juice/tea/coffee (instant). I think a better deal could have been found. Not likely to stay here again.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. It was handy to park in the hotel car park as parking in the area is difficult. Powerful shower and the location is good - right near Hyde Park and only 5 minute walk to Queensway tube station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.1
    Quiet location room clean and warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t understand why hotel would provide a hob in the room (which I didn’t need to use but is probably useful) and then forego bascis including a bedside lamp (which means you have to sit under the full glare of the ceiling lights), not put mattress protector or pillow protectors on the bed - I run a 4-star gold b&b in the Highlands of Scotland and these protectors are a very basic requirement and have a bed which is so hard the floor may be a better option (whoever sold the hotel the beds wants telling off the bed was terrible)

    Quiet location room clean and warm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Loved everything about our trip to London, amazing city and amazing people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff, the gentleman on reception when we came back from our day out on the Sunday was excellent, spent time chatting to my son about his visit to Harry Potter 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and comfortable bed - I'll definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are really tiny and the basin takes over most of the room. They're a little hard to manoeuvre around!

    Most comfortable bed I had in the two months I'd spent travelling through Europe and the UK. The hotel was in an excellent location, and felt safe and was quiet during the evening. I had a Luxury Double room, which was spacious and exactly as shown in the visuals. The kitchenette was handy, too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    PLEASANT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First the location, next to many restaurants, shops, Hyde Park & Bayswater ou Queensway tube stations. Second, the calm of the street, very little traffic. Third, a very confortable mattress!

    A tiny kitchen but very convenient to have something hot cooked or keep food and drinks in the fridge, for a light dinner or breakfast, as the continental one of the hotel is quite basic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location but rooms are very small and hotel is very loud. Beds are extremely hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in the basement by the stairs, so it sounded like a herd of elephants were walking up and down it all night and all day. It woke us and the baby up several times in the wee hours of the morning.

    It was in a great location, safe to walk to and from. Their breakfast was light, but good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice looking clean establishment but without many basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was devoid of many normal facilities. No bedside tables, so nowhere to put books, water phone etc. No suitcase stand. No soap dish in the shower. No shelving whatsoever in the bathroom, so there was nowhere to put your toileteries. The combined water tap in both the bedroom and bathroom ran hot on the cold setting. Just basic stuff really. And the breakfast 'room' was very unappealing with an equally unappealing array of boxed cereals and the like. Minimum effort.

    Very clean and fresh and new refurbishment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    we will stay there again when in London - very convenient location and the staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bathroom was extremely small and caused an issue for older guests as we were wary of slipping

    the bed was very comfortable and we liked the kitchenette in the room - it had all we needed to cook a simple meal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really small. Pity those big guys. You practically have to squeeze into the shower. To make it easier to find, the hotel should put its number in front. I came with a car and the parking charges of £24 per night for guess was a bit too much.

    Location. About 5 - 7 mins walk to Bayswater tube.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.2
    Good location, great staff, poor facilities and cleaning level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The maintenance is really poor - We didn't have hot water in the shower, there was a bad smell of mold in the shower room due to a clogged sink and the towels heater device didn't work.

    The location is good, pretty close to the central line and the city/circle lines, Also, some of the staff were really responsive and did their best to take care of our needs and changed our room a night after we complained on the issues.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location, but not sure I'd stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First and foremost, I requested, confirmed and was promised a microwave, which I never received. I had a double room, but it barely had room to swing a cat - my suspicion is there was actually no room for the microwave. The bed was the hardest I've ever slept on, and the shower tiny. Although there's a wardrobe, it had no shelves (except for a suitcase at the top), but fortunately, there was a drawer under the bed. Most of the staff were helpful, but I wouldn't call them friendly

    The location is brilliant, close to both Bayswater and Queensway Underground stations, and walking distance from Kensington Palace, Hyde Park and Oxford Street. Lots of restaurants and supermarkets in the area. Refrigerator in the room and wifi were good. At least they allowed me to check out a little later to make up for the microwave which I didn't get

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    A good value for money stay in west London close to the shopping and attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was far too narrow. Clean but very cramped. Between the beds a small night stand would have been appreciated.

    We booked a room with a small kitchenette and for the price you can pay in London we were happy with the facilities, service and size. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location perfect for west London and Hyde Park. Close to Notting Hill, Bayswater and Queensway. Good selection of cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    An ideal location but an average hotel. I won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard, the staff were bored-looking and disinterested,the room had virtually no windows and had a noisy all-night reception next door, and the self-serve breakfast was dull and uninspiring.

    The location was excellent and the room included an electric cooking hob & fridge which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Small, noisy guests ruined our mornings, but great location and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we first checked in we were allocated a room in the basement which had no windows (not even sure if that's legal) which to stay two nights would have sent me into melt down. It also smelt of gas a little and the key didn't work which mean't we would have had to use a metal key and return it every time we left the building. Anyway we got moved to the first floor which was a double room, but just had room for the bed and the kitchenette part - but it had a window! The hotel is on a fairly quiet road. But the problem was that most room had adjoining doors and in the morning the bloke in the room next to us was making a loud phone call at 6:30 in the morning and you could hear anything that was being said. So the location is great, the staff were okay, there is no bar, you can get a continental breakfast (we didn't bother) and I couldn't fault the cleanliness of it. But the adjoining rooms ruin peace and quiet and the size could be bigger for the money. I would use again as cheaper than most in the area, but there is a reason for that!

    The location was quiet but a stone's throw away from the hustle and bustle and great for Hyde Park. I liked the kitchenette and having a decent fridge was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    comfortable and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were things that came in the room amenities we did not have access to. (microwave and secretary).

    Confortable and clean. The fridge and the closet was very useful. Great location for transports.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Noisy rooms, would not recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old with paper thin walls, e.g. we could hear everything our neighbors were discussing next door. This meant the time when we could sleep in peace and quiet was limited to a few hours a night when all other neighbors were quiet as well. Bathroom was ridiculously small. Beds were okay, but not the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Overall I would have expected more for this price.

    The staff was friendly and generally helpful. Location above Hyde park is quite good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.6
    Very Disappointed ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff unfriendly, not helpful, asked them for porter to help with the cases the guy on the desk didn't know what a porter was, just looked at us gob smacked.. the parking shocking ,some ones back yard for 24GBP per day, an expensive 2 day break before flying back to South Africa. The bathroom another joke couldn't even get dressed in there, anyone who is a little overweight please don't book there you cannot turn around without banging into the wall, toilet or shower door, unless you are good at multitasking its the place for you, you can do all three things at once. If you were sleeping next to the wall you have to climb over your partner to get to the toilet, no walking space around the bed.... Food , no comment didn't eat there..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Nicely decorated and clean modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very poor! Hair dryer and standard lamp didnt work-- no light close to bed to turn off and then cannot get into bed except lengthways from the bottom .beds were wall to wall with only a 6" gap between No bedside shelf or table to put anything on Bathroom is very tiny Very noisy generally until i rang and asked for quiet from downstairs- fridge door doesnt seal so fridge keeps coming on and thus adds to the noise Had to push hard at reception to get a receipt -

    Nicely decorated and clean modern room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Help front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Help front desk staff. Due to Nottinghill Carnival roads to the hotel were closed. We had to rush for our cab to Heathrow. The receptionist [male] helped us with our bags.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    Good position, close to some metro stations and in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was with the kitchen inside but actually it was impossible to use that because there was no space to move and no space to eat: there was only a little desk with only one chair, so me and my boyfriend couldn't sit at the same table to have lunch or dinner. Moreover, there was just one little pan to cook and no colander for the pasta.

    Good position, close to some metro stations and in a quiet central area in London. Near there you can find supermarkets, restaurants and pubs, banks and many other services. You can easily reach Notting Hill and Kensington Park by 5 minutes walking and any other location by taking the buses and the tube service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a perfect location. It is close to very nice restaurants and bars. At a walking distance from Notting Hill, Hollande Park and red line tube. The neighborhoods is very pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.3
    Can be better....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we make our reservation through booking.com, room assigned on basement which does not meet the expectation. The kitchen does not have a pot or pan to cater for our meals. As it belong to Royal Bintang group, it can be better!

    The location with the surrounding eateries and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall it was ok, not fantastic for the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stale smell every time we walked into the room. As we both work 7 days a week We were hoping to have a lie in but unfortunately we could hear everything from the room above, this was at 6.30am, it was really quite loud. Footsteps, sounded like things being dragged around (suitcases probably) the shower cubicle was small and the shower head was high which made it inevitable my hair getting wet which I didn't really want. We only booked for one night which made it overall bareable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    A good sized room in a good part of London at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Kitchen utensils not up to scratch,they forgot to put a toaster in the room,shower door had to be replaced after 2 days after falling to pieces.The whole place needs a bit of money spent on it and a bit more attention to detail.

    Price ,size of room ,location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Great Value close to Hyde Park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was a little on the small side but for all the use it got it was fine. Towels replenished each day. The distance from the tube station to the hotel seemed a lot longer when it was raining heavily, but location was great.

    Having a kitchenette was great as one night we got soaked from torrential rain so stopped off at the local Tesco Express and bought some food to warm us up back in the room using the microwave.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sink is moldy and the room is cramped as compared to the picture.

    The bed is quite large for a standard double bed, the mattress is soft and we felt rested the day after.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay when visiting Great London as a tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the building is very old, the floor was quite squeaky but that's not the hotel fault. Sound insulation could be better as well - we could heard everything around us. We took a luxury room, it was spacious but the room space was useless: a bed is placed in s small space so you can't walk around it. A toilet with a shower cabin were really, really tiny - about 3 sq meters so you have to come out to dry off. A huge space between bedroom and kitchen parts is useless. Be notified that this specific district is quite expensive: pub/restaurant prices are 20% higher than in the centre of London, even in the chain restaurants. We were badly surprised to see that. But again, that is not hotel fault.

    Very pleasant personnel, clean rooms. There were no questions about our reservation, we checked in very quick. The hotel is situated in 10-12 minutes of walking from Bayswater/Queensway which is good. You can even walk from a nearest sightseeing bus stop to the hotel! A lot of grocery/souvenir stores around. Plenty of pubs and cafes and restaurants nearby, you can have a good breakfast just in 5 minutes of walking from the hotel. Lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    The room smelt horribly of smoke.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt horribly of smoke. We told the person on reception as we thought another guest may have been smoking, but the receptionist wasn't bothered

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you can hear people's noises in the next rooms through the walls. we stayed in a twin room and it is kinda small.

    its surronded by many shops and resturants and there are two underground stations in the area. the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Cheap basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. The room was small, the bathroom tiny. Poor sound proofing with next room, we could hear every word of their conversation. Kitchenette had 2 rings but no pans!! No microwave, no bottle opener and no table or chair for sitting.

    Easy walk from Hyde park. Saturday night in central London under £100. Good wifi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location, good service from staff, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage. There should be a bigger sign called Royal Chulan Hyde Park Hotel instead of just Hyde Park Hotel

    Good location, good service from staff, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location, comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were a bit confused at times. We had 2 different rooms booked on consecutive nights. We had to check out of one room and then check in to the other. The reception was very confused when we were checking in to a new room despite us explaining the situation when we arrived the day before. Better communication between staff would have prevented this.

    The triple rooms were nice. There was air con. Beautiful neighbourhood. Close to Notting hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    4.6
    Very budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Travelling with our teenage daughter the room was way too small. It was a basement room with everything VERY cramped together (thankfully with a window). I don't believe that they vacuumed once during our eight day stay. The bathroom was incredibly small and didn't once seem clean.

    The location was very good. Close to both Circle and Central line. Also only about 5-7 km walk from city (and this could be primarily through Hyde Park) :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    An unpleasent experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt we had been dropped into a mash-up of Moscow, Mecca and Malaysia. Roaches and ants made the painfully small bedroom and bathroom seem even closer. Street noise and hotel hallway and rooms noise throughout most of the night made sleeping difficult.

    We were given two separate rooms when our booking for three in one room was not honored at no additional charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Simple, clean and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble accessing the room with electronic & metal keys, the staff were ill informed but helpful, polite and apologetic (think he was new) -could have happened anywhere. Bathroom was very small and shouldn't be recommended for larger people.

    Convenient and good value for money. Clean and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Very clean,quiet polite helpful staff,comfy,everything you need for short stay without a fuss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it really difficult getting back to Leinster square evertime we went out.our first time in londen and not very clear to see on maps,local people struggled to help us as they hadn't heard of Leinster either,although people was doing best to help.we got lost twice 😑

    Helpfulness of staff,and quiet pieceful area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    The location , quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, the sink was blocked, curtains looked old and dirty, hanging off from the rail, the bathroom door was either melted or rotten,not very hygienic,

    The location , quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Ok hotel for London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bedside table or lightships

    There were no bedside tables and no bedside lights. The room was noisy - you could hear the people next door having a shower and also loads of noise from people walking about in the room above

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    We had plenty of space and loved the fact that we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of side table for the bed

    We had plenty of space and loved the fact that we had a fridge and facilities to make our own food if we wanted to. Great for keeping the price a bit lower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place for the best city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was small, but we were ready for it, and it was not important

    Perfect place for an active traveler: excellent location: quiet street, but few minutes to bars, restaurants, supermarkets, metro stations & Kensington gardens. Great service, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Perfect hotel for travellers and outseeing tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is really small. Literally do not think spending time in the room. Also the bathroom is really small. But one gets what one pays for. I would recommend this hotel just for people who plan to stay all day outside.

    I like the fact that the hotel is really good located. Near the Hyde Park and one can literally walk there. There are also two Underground Stations nearby, Banks and places where to shop. Including some local and worldwide restaurants. Hotel is accessible 24/7 with public transportation. Ideal for travellers looking for not too much luxus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the size of the bathroom should have been mentioned because someone who is bigger in size would have trouble getting in and out.

    It was nice and clean. The room is quite spacious compared to other hotels in Bayswater. The room I stayed in had a microwave and a hob which is ideal for someone who likes preparing their own meal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed the small kitchenette very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was rather small. Found it hard to get in and out of the bathroom.

    We enjoyed the small kitchenette very much. There were some days that we did not want to eat out and the space was cozy. There are numerous places for middle eastern food in the area, worth a try. Breakfast was simple but ample. For those small eaters for breakfast, this place is for you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    An good hotel choice in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was comfortable, clean and secure. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was also only a 5 minute walk to 2 tube stations so getting about day or night was easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    The Royal Chilan Hyde Park Hotel (London trip)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall don't have any major issues or complaints, Other than a minority of a very hard solid bed comfort ability, But sleep able nonetheless.

    The hotel was from a basic point of view very adequate and primarily in a excellent all round location for access to nearly everywhere. 20 mins to everything. overall excellent and good enough value for money in return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location but weak air-condition system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The poor and weak air-condition system.

    The property was conveniently located. Great area well-connected to the tube, very near to Kenisngton Gardens and to plenty of shops and good restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Good value, eclectic neighborhood.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have been bigger and I would appreciate smokers to move away from the building windows as we were on the first floor. Not really a property issue.

    The location was near the tube, grocery stores, a mall, post office, banks and the neighborhood was fun to walk around in. Everything felt safe and all the people we meet we very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel traveller photo gallery