Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis London Elstree Borehamwood 3 stars

Elstree Way, Borehamwood, WD6 1JY, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Borehamwood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2279 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Cheap overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal hotel for a one night stay with easy access by car to Wembley Stadium. Basic room but with everything you need, very comfy beds. We didn't use any of the facilities other than the car park over the road for £1.00 which is great value. If you want a cheap hotel and are happy to drive into London it's fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Was woken up twice by housekeeping banging on the door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was woken up twice by housekeeping banging on the door and then by reception as they thought we were due to leave. All while we were trying to sleep with do not disturb on the door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    every time we left our room our key card stopped working. we where advised to keep it away from our phones. i had it in a bag and my phone in my pocket this still happened.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the location which was excellent for what was required Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from the previous comment

    Everything was excellent until just checking that we had packed everything for departure and found jars of creams left by previous guests under bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Not good first impression Improved by experience at breakfast next morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were attending nearby Elstree studios as were many others who like us wanted to eat on the Thursday afternoon. We made first order at 2.10 pm still not served at 3 pm reordered and still not served at 3.40pm.had to leave unfed. Not enough staff on duty the very few that were did their best but had to cover check in, drinks bar, food ordering, clearing tables as well. It must be known that events are on in Elstree and cafe will be busy and more staff should be available. This experience spoiled our visit.

    Bedroom clean and comfortable. Morning breakfast good and staff around to assist

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay if visiting Elstree studios
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to see a pre-record for Strictly Come Dancing and decided to eat at the hotel after the recording. They really should anticipate the number of people they'll get after a recording because the poor staff were worked so hard by the influx of people after the show and we had a long wait for our food.

    Good breakfast in the morning including pretty much anything you could possibly want for breakfast food. Excellent location for visiting Elstree studios as it's right around the corner. Parking was okay. There are not many spaces for the hotel itself but it backs on to a very large car park for the high street and we eventually found a space there. The hotel gives you a parking pass for this for £1 which you can buy at the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    We enjoyed a very happy and comfortable stay, and would certainly book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were all very friendly and informative, explaining about the car parking, and food available etc. The room was very comfortable and everywhere was beautifully clean. We decided to stay an extra night and it was very easy to do this. It was a perfect location for visiting Elstree Studios to watch SCD.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.5
    Adequate for our purpose in visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to get hot water in the shower. There was no plug in the wash basin and the kettle didn't work.

    Beds were comfy and the staff friendly and helpful. The range of food was good for this type of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was terrible had the ham hock and was a total mess on a plate and the burger was no better. Waited over 50 minutes. The key to the room hardly worked.

    The rooms was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service, room hot - air cooling system not working properly so window had to be opened then extremely noisy. Insufficient towels in the room, two small towels for two adults. No mirror by dressing table/desk area. Overall poor standards of cleanliness Requested to speak to manager was told they would call later that day, four days later still waiting for a call

    Convenient location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location for Elstree Studios, but that is all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tired. The first room offered smelt of urine, but we were moved without quibble. We ate food in the restaurant which was awful, I have tasted better cheap microwave meals. We did eat it though as we were starving. The staff were very busy and two people were trying to deal with taking food and drink orders and manning reception and waitressing - it was very busy and hence an extremely long wait.

    We were attending a recording of Strictly and the location was perfect for that purpose.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location for a stay in Borehamwood, ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue as had to drive round public car park for 1/2 hour looking for a space , staff on arrival were initially unhelpful

    Convenient location for a stay in Borehamwood, ideal for staying overnight following a tv recording

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was very expensive for the size and location of the hotel. I stayed in the Birmingham airport hotel, with parking, much bigger, more facilities for jist £5 extra. I don't like that there's no drinks / snacks machine. In all other hotels machines are there for bottles of water, chocolate etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Much as expected - Good value and very helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff have to multi-task and were a bit stretched when booking lots of guests in but they were friendly and very helpful. The free hotel car park is quite small but there is a £1 da day deal with the adjacent public car park so no complaints really, just be aware of when charges apply.

    We were pretty busy during the day so the small bar and café/restaurant on the ground floor was useful. The prices were reasonable and the food we had was good. Quite a pleasant surprise really.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    16th September
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird reception set up... didn't realise it was reception! Led to think there was a proper restuarant as opposed to just bar menu.... staff OK... but seemed overworked and tired? Clean room.... but all a bit basic for the fee.

    Location perfect..with free parking or very cheap option...ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy as hell with one couple having a huge row in the night sometime between 3-5am. Staff checked me in but didn’t explain anything about the bar, meals, how to use the swipe card for the life etc.

    Location good. Comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice Rooms and well worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with more staff. Especially late evening when there was only one on. Checking people in, doing the bar and heating up food. Staff seem a bit under pressure. Friendly though. Some other guests where not happy with the wait.

    Loved the room and the really clean pod like bathroom. Nice reception area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn’t stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds was very uncomfortable and didn’t get a good nights sleep, the tele didn’t work had to get a member of staff to come up and sort it out and the key for the door didn’t work had to keep going down to get a member of staff to let us in

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.2
    Bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would never recommend staying here, please everyone beware that they try to debit money from your account without your permission and without telling you why. I have had to get my bank involved as this is fraud. Phoned to complain to manager and sent email never received reply.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Location. Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kept having to go back to reception for the key cards to be activated again, even though they hadn’t been near our phones. But the staff always dealt with the issue quickly.

    There is someone on hand 24/7 to help should you require it. We checked in extremely late and the Staff couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast next morning was lovely and plentiful and served until late in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic time at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues, great facilities.

    Fantastic time at this hotel. Excellent food, friendly staff, good base if going to Elstree Studio, or as a foundation for travelling into London.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tv in room didn't work but as only there for one night it didn't bother us.

    Excellent breakfast, food always hot, Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very clean,the bathroom smelt of drains.when we went down for breakfast we were told we would have to wait for hot food as they had let alot of Scottish people come in for breakfast so us as paying overnight guests had to wait,nobody even told us where we could get a hot drink there was no where near enough staff on to cope the breakfast area was filthy as they didn't have the time to tidy up we had a train to catch so all we eventually got after a 30 min wait was a sausage and 2 pieces of bacon wish I hadn't paid to include breakfast very disappointing.

    The bed was comfortable even though there was stains on the bed base,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and location for the venue we were going to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had streaky bacon which was a disappointment as was expecting proper bacon but otherwise very good.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, service very quick. Pleased we could order after 10 as we had been to a recording at Elstree Studios and did not get back until after 10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move room because of the noise from the extractor fan. There was a lot of noise from other guests on one of the nights. Bed was uncomfortable. The step down from the bathroom.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Very clean and great value....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to comment on here really, there's a bit of building work going on around the hotel so so a little bit of noise here and there...

    Lovely reception from the staff, treated us to a little bottle of prosseco for our wedding anniversary so extra smiles from us

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    A lovely trip! Slept well in my cosy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    x

    Staff were friendly and efficient when I arrived. I booked on line and it was so easy. Room wasn't massive but it was fine for just one person. Lovely and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good value for money, and as we were visiting Elstree Studios, the position was ideal. Had a very good sleep - bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.0
    Without the toilet problem it would have been fine for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet wouldn't flush and it took too long for it to be fixed DUE TO UNDER STAFFING.

    The staff worked really hard but the hotel was under staffed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Parking a bit tricky - had to park in a large car park over...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking a bit tricky - had to park in a large car park over the road. As I had a damaged foot this was a but problematic. Also it was quite expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was good can't complain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was at 12pm but the cleaner kept coming to ask if we were ready for her to clean but it was not her fault because when we checked in they asked us roughly what time we were planning to check out and we said about 10.30am but they did not explain

    I was happy to find a room in short notice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Common areas are decorated well and staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bedrooms and hot, air con pretty feeble so windows had to be open. Even when windows closed road noise was so bad couldn’t sleep

    Common areas are decorated well and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Good stande
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early check in fee, if the room is ready why charge extra?

    Good shower , comfy bed, clean, good size room. 5 minutes walk from elstree studios. You get what you expect with Ibis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    OK but could have been better
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower wouldn't keep to the same temperature. Air conditioning seemed to make the room warmer rather than cooler.

    Location was just right for visiting family. Free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    The fact that if you didn’t fancy eating in the hotel, there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The fact that if you didn’t fancy eating in the hotel, there were plenty of places in the high st, in walking distance!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    The stay wasn’t bad however if I’m to come back to Borehamwood I wld def consider other hotels.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the smell of the room the shower gel smells cheap and extremely strong Breakfast wasn’t worth the charge not much variety If I had gone to Macdonald would’ve enjoyed

    I liked the room size and the shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    The check-in and check-out were quick and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning didn't work and the noise from the street outside was bearable, but not the best combination. We would prefer to have air conditioning and give up the noise from outside. Because we stayed in the hotel for only one night we didn't try to change the room.

    The check-in and check-out were quick and easy. The staff members were very nice. The room was clean and arranged well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Liked everything, facilities, location and friendliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although plenty of choice for breakfast, the price is high if staying with children, or just having a bowl of cereal. Overall very friendly, clean and close to most amenities.

    Liked everything, facilities, location and friendliness. Breakfast was excellent, but if staying with family, could work out very costly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the single bed was for a child. not a adult. it had a timber up the side. which left it really hard to get out of. the beds were so hard and was the pillows. they did give me a 2nd mattress topper which left it a bit better. the rooms very small you had to watch every step or you would bang your toes. staff friendly. breakfast not great choice. would nt stay again.

    nothing really

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    As soon as I entered the room - I smelt what I can only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I entered the room - I smelt what I can only describe as stale urine and there was a stain adjacent to the table near the window. The TV also did not work. Real shame, as the room would have been suitable otherwise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    This is a nice modern hotel but our stay was marred by noise in the corridor keeping us awake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise insulation from corridor was inadequate. We were kept awake by doors opening and closing and by people talking as they moved along the corridor. There was a bright red stain on the duvet cover and a few cobwebs by the curtain rail.

    The blackout curtains were effective, the main bed was comfortable and the bathroom was well designed with a very good shower. Staff dealt very quickly with a person smoking outside our room just by our open window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    An excellent hotel for a short stay with very personal attention and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift had broken down on Friday night and I had to walk up three flights!!!

    Rooms are compact but comfortable, esp the bed. Soundproof with excellent a/c. Exc TV and extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety to choose from including porridge. The staff were extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Little haven for leisure or work...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feel so relaxed and at home when I stay at this lovely, tranquil Ibis in Elstree that come away refreshed - even if it's been a work trip 😊. Local shops so convenient and the transport into London now - it couldn't be better!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    I would stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our first room we were allocated had a strong smell of cannabis, shown to a second room that was little better. smelt damp and dirty, massive wet patch on the floor that disappeared over night and reappeared in the morning. we were at this hotel for a wedding nearby, our friends room wasn't much better a rattling fan in her bathroom and a strong smell of urine. Not helpful for your wedding outfits shower was either scalding or freezing. Discussed with staff who seemed disinterested, for the price of this property per stay it is if poor value. seems a shame but after this experience I will be avoiding ibis hotels

    not a great deal, no soda water or slimlime tonic at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent, clean hotel. Perfect for a quick stop over. If I had to find one small fault it was that the room was warm and I couldn't work out how to use the air conditioning. Would definitely use Ibis again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    It served a purpose as a stop over for a family function.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minimalist. Would have liked 2 towels, easier to dry hair and body with 2 towels. Towels were even older and thinner than the ones I have been using at home for the last 10 years or so. The window would not close, that didn't really matter as it was warm enough.

    It served a purpose as a stop over for a family function.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I put everything in comment box above.

    I'm not happy at all as the air con was not working so we went and told the staff and they said there is not ia nothing they could do. I also got an electric shock when plugging in the hair dryer and told them and they laughed. I have bad epilepsy which caused me to have a bad fit thay nite. Also we had late check out and they was banging on our door at 12 tellingerie us we had to leave. I'm reli not happy and would lie this taken further and sumone to contact me asap .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Was in easy reach of Elstree Studios and the big plus for us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer was a bit too dark at night, and as the desk was around a corner, I felt a little uneasy when I went outside at night on my own, as I don’t sleep well, so I couldn’t see a staff member when I was outside

    Was in easy reach of Elstree Studios and the big plus for us was we were able to park in Ibis car park, as I have a Disability

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Everything about the place is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about the place is nice. Good food( although a bit pricey but that’s expected a bit it’s s hotel I suppose but good portions on the plate) . Good service clean comfortable rooms. I would recommend hotel ibis borehamwood to anybody.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and smelt of urine, the shelves were dusty, and the shower didn’t drain the water. Was supposed to be a disabled room but very small. Would struggle to fit a wheelchair around the bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for one night and found my room to be very clean, comfortable and fresh. Had a very good nights sleep with no disturbance and will certainly use this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Very disappointing. Next time Premier Inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air con unit was NOT an air con - just a fan. We stayed on the hottest nights and the only extra fan we could get from reception was a small fan heater with exposed wiring due to a broken cover. Health & Safety ??? The only place with true aircon was the lobby and at one point we did consider camping out there! The hot breakfast was awful - no fried eggs only scrambled swimming in water. The bacon was extra fatty streaky.

    The room was adequate and the shower size was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Disappointment with the booking of the wrong rooms. Food, bar and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a mistake with the booking. We ordered a double and twin room via Booking.com but the hotel only had double rooms . With two older children who cannot share a bed it took 30 minutes to get another room and put another single bed in it. My wife were also given the disabled room which wasn't the nicest environment.

    Breakfast , bar and dinner was good and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Would book here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All requests fulfilled, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Location good, easy to get into central London by train. Parking on site and also nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Good value, just a few minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there is no clear reception area, I was wondering around for a good 3/4 minutes before i was addressed by a member of staff. Also although the hotel was spotless. The towels in the bathroom smelt of stale sweat.

    Clean, comfortable and value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Our London Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit on the pricy side

    The Ibis Borehamwood is a very good place to stay if you want to explore London City. It is near the Railway station that brings you both to London City centre and also to Luton Airport. The hotel is ideal for couples and families alike. The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming. My husband and my two adult daughters stayed in the hotel for an extended weekend and we explored London every day by train and tube. We looked forward to getting back to the hotel at the end of the day. I would not hesitate to highly recommend the ibis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A slight inconvenience that the kitchen is not open on a Sunday night for a full meal, however the snacks that were available were very good.

    Staff were very welcoming, easy check-in and check-out. Room was spotlessly clean. Bed was very comfortable. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    not bad guys, not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking was limited on hotel grounds had to park in pay and display which was free as long as i was out by 8am

    What a nice surprise, i was expecting a boring chain hotel but was nice to see what i got a modern happy vibe hotel. Good wifi, comfy bed, friendly staff e.t.c.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean & of a good size for 2 people,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stuffy & warm even with fan system working, no bar fridge which would have been nice for a 3 day or longer stay

    The room was clean & of a good size for 2 people, although no room service, the in house food options that are ordered at the front desk were very delicious with a good variety. Car Parking available at hotel but only limited hotel stops - there is a public parking lot directly behind the hotel at a cost.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Get air-conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit misleading with the wording of air-conditioning instead it was the unit that would blow air into the room which with the exceptionally warm weather that we had made the room intolerable to sleep in

    The showering in the accommodation was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    An excellent experience, highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was obviously for older guests and the walk-in shower room did smell a little.

    Staff were friendly and extremely helpful and supportive, they printed my urgent documents quickly and without requiring payment. The food was pretty good, the check-in was quick and efficient and the location excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    I will only come back for the breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The phone in the room wasn't working. The room is a little too dark and slightly smaller than expected.

    The staff at concierge was really helpful and breakfast has great options.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Location- 25 mins drive from Harry Potter- the reason for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking- not a huge amount if you don’t want to pay. Ended up in a double room when I booked a twin. We made it work. Some aspects of breakfast weren’t great- massively over cooked scrambled eggs. Air cooling system dripped all night. Woke me up at 4am.

    Location- 25 mins drive from Harry Potter- the reason for the trip. Comfy bed. Breakfast was fair for the price. Clean and tidy room. Did the job for the night. Ended up in the disabled room- huge bathroom- always a bonus!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a central location with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.amazing price in a great location .

    Just returned from this hotel and we loved everything about it. Location, Staff was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Will be returning very soon. Forgot to mention the 24 you bar 😃

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Was awesome and i loved every bit of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sheets changed after 3 days

    the beds were so comfortable and the room was quite small but neat. My bed sheet were clean but i did n0t like the idea of changing the sheets after every 3 days. Its not cool. The receptionist were welcoming and helpful. I love Ibis Elstree & Borehamwood its an excellent place for holidays

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Typical hotel neat and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One shower had a blockage so it would flood the bathroom. I mentioned it ob the way out as I was only staying one night.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and beds. Good quality hotel close to the train station, about a 20 minute walk. Many restaurants close to the area and also Elstree studios. They let me check in early at no extra cost which was nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Smell of urine you changed us rooms then you charged my...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of urine you changed us rooms then you charged my credit card twice after numerous phone calls you eventually put money back but I had to wait for it to be cleared ! Not good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Chose the wrong hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity they could not manage some sort of room service. They weren’t that inexpensive.

    Nothing about it. New hotel with awful decor. Check-in inadequate and understaffed adjacent to the bar, so that if drinks were being ordered and paid for, you just had to wait either to check in or out. Rooms basic although clean, which was at least in their favour. I didn’t eat there because I had to leave before breakfast was served and ate elsewhere the previous evening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall good. Have now stayed a few times here. Location is ideal too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was allocated was a disabled one. I had no problem with it just the sink was too small! Would definitely prefer a normal room. Plus the curtains weren't thick enough to block the sunlight and the room felt lit early in the morning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled bathroom (not requested), try cleaning your teeth, with a very low sink. Air con didn’t work either. Good value for 1 night though.

    Lovely bar, food & staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location for the Elstree studios and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the Elstree studios and easy to find. Really clean and room was spacious. Good value for money. Staff were really friendly even though we ordered food 5 minutes before the kitchen closed!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong to have to pay for parking.. breakfast was a disaster..no clean tables..plus all over the place plates one area cups and glasses another..coffee machine not working.. asked for tea it never arrived...breakfast bar some hot food missing.. Apple juice wouldn't pour out of the container... Orange juice kept running out...

    Bed was comfortable... needed another pillow the one on bed was soft so felt as if there was hardly anything there...shower kept running hot and cold room 210

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    One word, fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny free car park, if that was full, you had to pay £1 to park in the larger one! But hey, £1 parking for all day in London, very good really. So apart frm that, there was nothing to complain about.

    The bed, the room, the bathroom, everything was 100% I’d definitely return, my stay was very much value for money, especially when looking @ prices of other hotels. A great stay & just a short train ride in2 the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    convenient for work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant complain as working in the area

    it was suitable as working close to the hotel had to change room as bathroom had a bad smell but staff where happy to oblige and changed easily staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    ticked the box for basic needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot breakfast was not very good - scrambled eggs were grey looking and rubbery Gluten Free bread was like cardboard - need to use a different brand that does not toast like cardboard Not all breads go like cardboard when taken out of freezer as and when needed

    Staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: