Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Bristol Centre 3 stars

Explore Lane, Harbourside, Bristol, BS1 5TY, United Kingdom

#22 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4659 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room only had 2 electrical sockets and they were on the opposite side of the room from the mirror!! Evening meals in the restaurant offered a very poor menu - if you don't like pizza there isn't much else to choose from. The local Gem draught beer ran out and wasn't replenished for 4 days. The key card for the room didn't always work and we had to keep going down to reception to get it sorted.

    The staff were lovely. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When leaving the cleaning staff pushed in front of us and filled the lift with the trolleys leaving us, the customer to wait for another lift due to the other being out of service, and then when handing the key card back, I had a grunt of a reply to say “bye”. Quite the contrast of the welcome, but the leaving impression of the ibis is now that of poor customer service and rude staff!

    The welcome was really nice and you felt like you were genuinely hosted and not a welcome script.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The layout, atmosphere, staff and the location were all very good. Being in the city centre was very convenient for visiting restaurants and bars. Bristol is a lovely and thriving City.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small ‘twin room’- no space at all between the beds-if you wanted to stretch out you would inevitably touch the other person! Very cramped, and if someone was sitting by the table no one coukd get into the bathroom-no socket at all to dry your hair within six feet of a mirror, hopeless layout and design...

    Parking in the adjacent multistorey very convenient...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff front of house were very helpful but some youngish perhaps need to know their locale a bit better.

    Breakfast excellent all round . And no restraint! Help yourself to quite an array of choices, hot and cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location ; harbourside is a lively place to stay and explore.Funky reception, bar and restaurant ; rooms functional and comfortable; perfect for overnight or two with teenager for University open day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan outside window very noisy (room 336) but quiet in the evening so didn’t concern us too much as out through the day. Door key extremely annoying as had to keep going to reception to have them rescanned. Apparently it’s an on going problem. 🤨 Advice anyone using the bar to check the price of round of drinks or ask for a receipt as got overcharged by £11.00 for four drinks ! Bar man informed us when querying the overpayment that the till wasn’t working properly 🤨🤨🤨🤨. We got the right price in the end. Breakfast very good aside from no fried eggs 😞 Not a complaint as plenty of parking nearby but warning users of large vans or mobile homes that there is a height restriction. We managed to park our van within eight mins walking distance on Jacobs Wells road ‘on street’ parking with Ring Go parking app for three hours max.

    Room was immaculate and the bed and pillows firm just how we like. Loved the ‘pod’ shower and big enough to move around in. Open reception and team on hand to help with any queries especially Daniel who even helped us rescan our door key even when he wasn’t on duty. 😀 Hotel close to plenty of restaurants with pizza express on doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel website says there is air conditioning - but there isn't, surely this is misrepresentation. The "climate control" in the room was useless - only works some of the time and when the outside temperature suits it. Result: the room gets stuffy, one can't sleep and you have to get a fan from reception at 3.00 a.m. before getting to sleep. (If you keep the window open you can't sleep because of the noise.) The door cards were very unreliable - twice had to get new ones to be able to get into the room.

    Location convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on-site parking, there are two nearby car parks, but I have difficulty walking and found it a bit of a struggle

    We loved everything, great location wonderfully clean. We booked an Ibis hotel because we could take our dog, but unfortunately the day before we were due to stay, he tragically died.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way Overpriced for room and the window was broken so didn't open

    The location was good, however i've stayed in hotels ie The Premier Inn that are far better for half the price, i won't be booking an Ibis again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a twin room but were put in a room with a double bed. A solution was found by giving us a disabled room, which was fine, but why can't such a room be decorated nicely and have more towels, pictures etc? I am sure people with disabilities would appreciate this very much, like any other client. We were also disturbed twice by people walking in to check the alarms.

    The hotel is in a great location and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel does what you would expect; simple, clean rooms in central Bristol; not cheap but not too expensive. Friendly staff, quick check in and check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is old fashioned, There were people partying next room, though it didn't last for more than an hour

    Unique room design, cheap for its location, friendly staff, fast check in and out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom extractor did not work. The sausages had a chemical taste. Early morning noise to the reward of the buildings with bottles being empties info bins and loud fan noise from adjacent building (we were in 314)

    Most everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They took the booking money a few days prior to arrival. Not a usual practise for hotels I book through booking .com. Our room overlooked a busy area so it can be noisy.

    Great location; near the harbour and city centre. A large square nearby with lots going on. There are plenty of bars and food outlets. A comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed 3 nights, Fri-Sun in a room on 4th floor and the noise from nearby cafes/bars was consistent from 8pm -4am on Fri and Sat and 8pm-12pm on Sun. This didn't bother me as knew to expect and it was generally just the sound of mixed groups of people and families enjoying their evenings/nights out. However this may be a consideration for you if a light sleeper. The area itself feels very safe although a little further from the train station than I expected (1.8 miles) so used taxis from outside hotel which cost approx £8 for the 10min journey. Although room and linens all clean, the towels and pillowcases are beginning to look worn.

    Clean bathroom with large shower space and good shower. Comfortable bed. Good open wardrobe with rail, hangers and 5 deep shelves. Desk with chair. Perfect location, short stroll to Bristol Cathedral and College Green, Tesco Metro and Costa. 10 min walk to shopping areas. Harbour and restaurants on doorstep. Taxi rank outside hotel. Water and free city map available in foyer. Ironing room on 4th floor. Hotel has own cafe/bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise from neighbours in the evening. They were knocking on our door between 1 - 3am. I would look for something a bit more upmarket the next time I stayed as you tend to get young people on Hen nights etc staying in the budget hotels.

    The rooms were reasonably clean and the location was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was clean the bedroom FLOOR was a little dirty. The wall sockets are placed on the narrow end of the working table SOME DISTANCE from the window position.

    The staff were most attentive to detail The choices for breakfast were good and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my opinion the bed was hard and the pillows were uncomfortable, also the air conditioning didn't work that well and we stayed on a particularly hot evening and although we dropped it down to 19, it didn't seem to make any difference. Could learn from Premier Inn and ensure the comfort of guests is paramount as this did let down the overall experience.

    Welcome was good and friendly, room size was adequate and bathroom pod functional. The breakfast was great with a large choice of options and the staff kept the stocks replenished so never ran out of anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it could have had a more luxurious feel to it and little touches but we loved our stay! Maybe a choice of having a bath?

    The staff are amazing, the best I've come across. The bed is very comfortable and the bathrooms are lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken at gone 4am by noisy people in corridor even WITH earplugs. Popular hotel with drinkers, also noisy with window open even though on quieter side of hotel awayfrom the slug & lettuce.

    Beds were pretty comfy with a nice mattress topper. Room very clean and good value for money. Staff very accommodating too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in could have been more welcoming, compared to our previous trip we felt more of an inconvenience. However this won’t affect our overall experience as understand the pressure staff may face.

    Second time staying here, perfect location, relaxed bar area. Spacious room, comfy bed and clean bathroom. Parking in car park very near is fantastic with added bonus of discount for staying in the ibis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are basic, but nevertheless are clean.

    Perfect location for Bristol City Centre, very easy to check in and a spacious bar area with table football.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff nothing was to much trouble enjoyed every moment

    It was a great central location within walking distance of everywhere, because I was travelling alone all the staff were very curtious showed genuine interest to what I was doing very helpful and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me - nothing we didn't like

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble, rooms extremely clean and comfortable. Parking is in a public car park but that's OK as the Hotel will validate the parking ticket which will cost £10 per 24 hours (given this is right in the city centre, this is fine).The location is excellent, walking distance for all museums, SS Great Britain (short delightful ferry trip across the Bristol Avon. Loads of different restaurants - e.g. Italian, Mexican, Cuban all walking distance. Open top bus tours nearby. loved this hotel and will be going back :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    right in the center of where things are happening great nightlife love Bristol & the way it has been revamped recommend anybody to stay in the ibis explore street top notch !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of staying at the Ibis had been greatly inflated as it was a bank holiday weekend. The room smelt of smoke.

    The beds were comfortable and loved the little pod bathrooms. Great location for what we wanted to do. Buffett breakfast was good value and plenty of choice (you have to pay extra for breakfast).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a little difficult to find since its integrated into pedestrian area.. Where to park isn't obvious, so had to call hotel who were helpful.

    Comfortable hotel in nice location for restaurants & bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for 2x twin rooms and got one twin, one double. It was quickly sorted but rooms were then further apart. Staff were not exactly smiley when dealing with the issue. Other guests were very noisy throughout the night.

    Location was good. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced for what it was. Was given a room facing the wall of another building 2m away and near a loud ventilation unit. Needed the room to get work done but was interrupted by the sound of hammering and drilling on both days (8am on the second day). Not happy.

    No nonsense, clean, ok WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic and no ironing board we had to go to an ironing room. If there would of been a lot of people wanting to iron at the same time this would of been stressful

    Central location and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area surprisingly small, very quickly congested when a bus load of guests showed up. The full breakfast although good, was a bit much, but seemed to be the only option. I would have preferred more price choices eg coffee and toast butter and jam was all I really wanted, but I would have had to pay the full price just to eat that.

    Comfy bed, location very good, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff on check in were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast area and food were of excellent value and got us off to a great start to our day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that the first room we were given was next to a very loud vent of some description, it was so loud that you could not hear music. I am pleased to say we were offered another room with no questions or fuss. Very friendly welcome staff. Excellent location. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More tea/ coffee etc in room. Provided when asked.

    Chosen for its location which is perfect for the harbour and choice of restaurants.Never stayed in Ibis before. Very efficient and friendly, with very prompt and accurate description of parking in response to my eamail.Good room,designed shower room, everything needed for a city centre stay. We’d certainly choose ibis again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    IBIS target audience seems to be geared towards the young. As two elderly disabled people it was a struggle as checkin is a pod experience which is quick but meant we did not get the usual info re parking, charging, papers etc.

    Location & friendly staff - Issues with lack of nearby disabled car parking and insufficient information at checkin was swiftly and well dealt with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason we were put in a disabled room. This meant the bathroom was just one big wet room with the water going everywhere. The shower didn't work properly unless the tap was on at the same time, and you couldn't adjust the temperature for the aforementioned comment. The inside of the room was pretty outdated and didn't look like the pictures advertised.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got put in a disabled twin room with wet room bathroom by lift. I had booked twin room but on checking in, it had been out as a double so we got designated this.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking which is accross the road is inconvenient and expensive even with the hotel's discounted rate.

    The location is excellent. The staff helpful. The room had everything you needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress felt s little less supportive than I might have wished but (a) I am 1m 97 tall and am at the end of the normal distribution range and (b) it's a minor point

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO AIR CON! We were baking hot in the night, as window only opened a crack. Hard to believe a big hotel doesn't have air conditioning. Bathroom door didn't shut properly. And only two tea-bags :(

    The shower was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with little space for storage so was fine for a short stay. Disabled bathroom was a good size but only one towel per person provided of bath size - not bath sheet. Ran out of most things including crockery at breakfast so needed someone constantly monitoring situation.

    Great situation for many attractions. Good quality value breakfast. Staff helpful and luggage well looked after in locked room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little basic.

    Check in was super efficient and warm . Room was very clean and comfortable . For the very reasonable price . Also your right in the center of harbour side which was a bonus .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were stained, the breakfast wasn’t too good....That I had to pay for my room despite work paying and entering their card details

    Location & bars restaurants museum and other attractions in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a pain to traipse back down three floors, when the key card didn’t work!

    As I was travelling alone, I was pleasantly surprised to have been allocated a spacious room with a lounge area!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found the bedroom just a bit too stark and stripped back. Bathroom is a cubicle and very small. Luckily just there overnight and not spending longer.

    A really friendly welcome from the front of house team - all in their lovely bright red T shirts. The bar/breakfast area is informal and well designed. Good location for quite a few attractions and nice to be near the water. Bed comfortable and room very very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfy chair in bedroom. More teabags & milk we always had to ask for more.

    Good coffee & croissants. Welcoming staff . they were always smiling.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when booking a double bed room I would expect a double bed room not to singles pushed together, not even made as a double!!! also when needing to use a disabled access room for clients I think it would be courtesy to ask the customer if this is acceptable!

    staff on reception friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used to get slippers!! No more.. where’s my slipper? Haha

    It is brilliant that the windows open slightly as so many places just have air con. Also we have stayed here for last three years in May. Always received warmly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows could not be opened in our allocated room. We had to move to another room with no view. It was a choice between air or view. We need fresh air.

    Excellent staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't expecting one but had no view from the window. Really a fine basic hotel but have stayed in a few hotels in Bristol now and for the price you'll get a nicer room at a Mercure or Marriott with an extra 5/10 mins walk to the central harbour side area.

    Great location,right in the centre of Bristol, was exactly what you'd expect for an ibis, clean room, easy to check in. You get a strange bathroom 'pod' which is built in to the side of the room, shower is great although you don't get small toiletries just the all in one stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a problem with the room’s key card, I couldnt open the door most of times. There is a step between the room and the toilet and it is anoying and dangerous

    It’s very close to the city centre. You can go walking everywhere. The staff is very kind and the rooms big and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet comfortable room, bed comfortable. Breakfast convenient and sufficient(eggs a bit cold). Car parking close by and easily accessible. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE SHOWER WAS A BIT SMELLY, MAYBE A SCRUB WITH BLEACH WOULD OF HELPED TO GET RID OF THE URINE SMELL.

    BREAKFAST WAS GREAT, PLENTY TO CHOOSE FROM. STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND PLEASANT.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked more time there. But being on a business trip I was on a tight time scale.

    I thought everyone was friendly. I have rebooked for next week. And I will be using you again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management and lack of respect when I was wrongly advised that the payment authorisation on my wife’s card did not cover my full account. IT DID and this was super embarrassing and wrong. Unacceptable in so many levels when the hote staff had already acknowledged all in order to my wife pre my arrival and we have provided everything the form requested.

    Nothing much to add here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel said they would leave balloons and chocolates for my partners birthday which was the whole idea having a surprise hotel room. However we arrived to nothing. There was also poo stains all done the toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the bar / restaurant outside the window, it was a really hot day when we visited so it was very busy.

    The location is fantastic for a stay in Bristol, it's also really handy that you don't have to check out until 1200 on the day of departure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The en-suite is a fibreglass 'pod'. The only plus is that it means everything is enclosed into a more confimed space which leaves a bit more space in the bedroom. But it's creaky and not very private. The door also opens out into the room so if you turn on the en-suite light at night opening the door illuminates the whole bedroom. We asked for a quiet room so they put us on the top floor quite a way from the lifts. That sounded fine until we realised that they had also put some younger groups close by who decided it was fine to run up and down the corridor in the early hours waking everyone up- each of the 3 nights we were there! The TV didn't appear to have a guide page so we struggled a bit to find a suitable channel when we decided to have a break back at the hotel. Couples and groups in their 20's (and maybe 30's) will find this hotel great. But couples older than that who are away for a quieter weekend away from the kids would do better to find an alternative. I saw a similar comment in reviews that I read before booking but thought it would be OK as we never plan to spend more time than necessary in the hotel. But actually it did prove to be an issue. Oh, and the towels were on the small side- and I'm not a big bloke!

    Location is very good. Great if you like pubs, clubs etc. As we are in our 50's we go a bit quieter so our restaurants were generally in slightly quieter areas. Staff were polite and helpful and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk could of done better as there was 30 or so in queue and only 1 person there.

    Location was great with loads of bars and attractions close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very loud heater, does not give you sleep. Creaking bed, pillow too big and too tough. Should be a wider choice for breakfast. Electronic key permanently doesn't work. Every time you need to back to reception for reprogramming - very annoying.

    Excelen location. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We decided to have dinner in the hotel on the first evening as we had arrived late. We said to put dinner on the bill as we had registered a credit card. Half an hour after ordering a simple meal, I was just about to ask about the delay when a member of staff came over to say they could not put the cost of dinner on the bill. Because of the confusion, we were not charged for the meal but they did manage to charge breakfast. We were not impressed with the meals at dinner but the breakfast was good.

    The room was compact and the shower room was a plastic pod in the corner. However, it had everything we needed for a short stay. We liked the unbleached linen sheets and the option to save on the laundry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bed uncomfortable, so my nights sleep was pretty poor. The mattress was thin and hard, and the bedding thin and lumpy. I did appreciate that they don't use bleach on their sheets, so they were a little softer than other hotels, didn't make up for the low quality of everything else bed related though.

    Fantastic staff at check-in/check-out, a warm welcome and went out of the way to make my check in easy and around my schedule at the conference I was attending. Excellent location for the cultural quarter of the city. Room was clean and a good size, pleased to get a walk in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is not cheap but the room looked cheap. Hideous pod bathroom and window over the car park or some other monstrosity. Silly environmental notices about towels etc but then they use nasty plastic cups and spoons.

    Good location - easy walk into Clifton or to waterfront.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't open the windows at the front of the building, and the air-con isn't great so it got hot in the room.

    Very affordable and it was a good location. Loads of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were good and well trained to cover over how crap the hotel is

    Too basic and not value for money. Dated decor and awful bathroom pod as well as uncomfortable bed mattress. Should be £45 per night like a Travelodge. RIP off with breakfast as very poor for £12. I paid £89 for the night + breakfast. For £10 to £20 more I would have got a decent hotel. Not good experience:(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing breakfast and the staff were so helpful. They went above and beyond for us to resolve an issue that was booking.com's fault rather than theirs. Clean, quiet and perfect location. Thank you Ibis staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have preferred a separate hand towel, as far as I could see there was only large bath towels. The WiFi was slow at times, easy to connect my phone but was difficult to connect laptop.

    The meet and greet person on arrival was brilliant, very friendly and professional. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful. Bacon, beans, mushrooms, egg was cold. Didn’t feel like I wanted them to microwave it hot. Toaster took forever to toast bread and no green tea available!! So for cost of £8.95 was disgraceful.

    Welcome and cost of room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    every thing was good, but the bed was uncomfortable; there were extra quilts on top of the mattress and underneath the bottom sheet but the consequent extra widening of the bed surface meant the bottom sheet wasn't big enough to tuck in underneath the mattress so it rucked up and came off during the night., made sleeping uncomfortable. Otherwise very thing else good.

    Good location, clean room with good facilities. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect with it being just a short walk away from a selection on restaurants and bars. The room was reasonably sized and comfortable. I liked that the hotel bar was open even when some of the surrounding bars had stopped serving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic and clinical..... our room was a disabled room..... I hve stayed in better hospital side rooms. We were right outside the lift area, which meant we could hear the lift going up and down all hours. The pillows were very hard and lumpy. No luxury.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The IBIS inbuilt bathroom module feels small and very “plastic”. The design of the room and its furniture is also not great..however - not a problem if you enjoy the city the whole day through.

    It is just few steps from the lively part of the city as well as the river “promenade”. The parking space is close as well (not for free though).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine. Better than Travelodge not as comfy as premier inn beds.

    Location was perfect for me andvtgey validate parking saving £6 on a 24 hour parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot even with window open! No A/C as such - Climate unit didn’t keep room cool!

    Great location and all round friendly helpful staff Nice breakfast and well stocked bar

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: