Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Hampshire hotel reviews
  4. Southampton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of ibis budget Southampton Centre

Reviews of ibis budget Southampton Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

3 West Quay Road, Southampton, SO15 1RA, United Kingdom

#28 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4358 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    8.3
    Great stay, good location good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds and pillows a tad uncomfortable

    Lived up to expectations. Beds and pillows could be improved for comfort. Great location and good service from all staff we encountered

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Clean and comfortable, easy walking distance from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing! It’s a budget hotel so facilities are basic, but no complaints at all.

    Clean and comfortable, easy walking distance from the city centre and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    relaxing and more really nice shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air con could do with a deep clean as their wasn't any air coming out from the unit and couldn't keep up with the temperature preset to.

    the room was comfy and i slept like a bay with the comfy bedding and matress

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    8.8
    Basic but comfy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfectly sized for a brief stay. We used it purely for somewhere to sleep in order to make an early travel connection on the National express which was 20 seconds walk from the hotel. Yes it is basic but it was comfy and clean and ideal location for IOW ferries, National Express coaches and trains.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    9.6
    Had everything i needed for a simple one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Near a mcdonalds, and there were people making a lot of noise downstairs, which was unfortunate.

    Had everything i needed for a simple one night stay. Small room, but it didnt feel too small.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    7.5
    It is what it is - a basic, but mostly clean and comfortable stopover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast (for which there is an extra charge) was a very basic selection - a DIY continental breakfast, with no hot or fresh items. Tables stood cluttered and uncleaned, despite there being staff present.

    It is very convenient for the railway station, especially for late arrivals (though not obvious how to get there in the dark - I crossed a car park then had to find my way around a fence), and equally convenient for the ferry terminal and the city centre. Check-in and check-out were fast and friendly. The room is very basic and there are no toiletries, which is a surprise given that it is clearly a place you might end up if you need a place unplanned at short notice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    5.0
    Staff were friendly and very apologetic about the mess of my...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was filthy and hadn’t been cleaned - left over take away food in the bed along with dirty sheets , toothpaste and a half empty bottle of water by the sink

    Staff were friendly and very apologetic about the mess of my room

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    5.4
    Good price, good location, but wouldn’t stay again for reasons above
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet smelt very strongly of urine. When you flushed it, it sprayed everywhere. Walls paper thin so very noisy. Am not sure of the uniform - the sweatshirts look quite unprofessional

    Location very good. Price good.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    8.3
    Very comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower gel or something like that

    The staff at the reception where very helpful and sorted out my problem when I arrived and later on when I requested some more pillows for my pregnant partner they helped me out I’m very pleased with the service that was given and the led lights effect was really nice

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.5
    Clean, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Next to a McDonald’s - nearby club must’ve closed at 3am as there was lots of noise with people gathered outside the McDonalds which woke me up.

    Clean, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    Peaceful, secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tv was old school. No hdmi input. As there is WiFi, customers might want to plug in and watch their favourite shows instead of local tv channels.

    Bed was super comfy. Light weight duvet. Private spacious parking. Location is prime.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    8.8
    Good value in a pretty central location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tea/coffee making facilities would have been nice or even a vending machine - checked in quite late and was tired after several hours of travelling. Had to go into the nearby McDonald's for a coffee which is quite absurd. Limited choice of snacks at reception (mostly chocolate bars and quite expensive - not good for a diabetic). Had oats for breakfast which were stale. Only cold milk on offer - would have liked hot milk.

    The room was clean and warm although the duvet was thin and I had to use the second duvet from the bunk bed. Apart from the stale oats and lack of hot milk at breakfast, the breakfast was fine and plentiful. Friendly, helpful staff. Checkout time of 12 noon is quite generous although I checked out at 9.30am due to meetings.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    6.3
    The reception staff were nice and helpful
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed cover was not changed, when I lift the quilt, first thing I saw was a black 2 inches of hair piece. Disgusting. and there were couple more hair pieces. I had to bring a member of staff from the reception and show that. He was nice helpful lad. He immediately gave me a different room. He did take some pictures of the dirty bed cover. I believe the domestic people (the cleaners) are not honest. They probably think the guests are idiots. My hand moisturiser was missing. I didn't say anything It is only a pound worth product. Also I already went to the reception and spoke about the dirty bed cover. I don't want to get popular being a complaining guest. I just left saying nothing.

    The reception staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    10
    Pleasant experience, with very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the heating could be better, In my room it was just a unit blowing 'hot' air into the room and I struggled to operate it. Maybe also advertise that shampoos and shower gels are not provided and have to be brought. But they are good quality for the money.

    Breakfast was nice. Maybe it could have a greater selection of cereals,meats and pastries to really make it excel. But overall was a really good and nice meal.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.2
    would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    on a cold night, heating was not quite adequate. Too there was damage on communal stair which should not wait to be repaired although there was warning sign.

    great location for me

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    5.0
    The room temperature when I arrived was 14 degrees Celsius.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room temperature when I arrived was 14 degrees Celsius. I turned on the ancient air heating/ cooling system and in 7 (seven) hours the temperature only raised to 18 degrees but did not go above that. I went to the reception and received a small electric heater (thank you!). Although noisy this did the job, but whenever I would turn it off the temperature would drop dramatically very fast. All in all this is the hotel room with the poorest thermal insulation I have ever seen - and I travel a lot.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2019

    5.4
    Horrific on second night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was cheap and suited me but got no sleep as loads of youngsters stayed at hotel drunk running up and down corridor and shouting swearing etc was awake from 3am

    It was cheap and suited me but got no sleep as loads of youngsters stayed at hotel drunk running up and down corridor and shouting swearing etc was awake from 3am

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    4.2
    Staff were polite and friendly!
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was freezing, I had to be changed room due to the heating being broken in the first then the one I was moved too was no better. There was clearly a draft where the window didn’t shut properly. The textured wall plastering had dust all over it also which wasn’t overly bad but still shows it hadn’t been cleaned properly in at least a month or two. Sadly would not visit again. Overall this is a dreadfully run down hotel that needs refreshing to compare to the other budget accommodation in the very local area.

    Staff were polite and friendly!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    4.6
    Would rather pay the extra and stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Continental breakfast was not what was expecting, very little choice! Being required to pay a £50 deposit for paying for cash was not advertised! Having to pay £10 for parking! No tea or coffee facilities in the room!

    It was in a convenient location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2019

    6.7
    My stay at the ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that the heating was set at one temp and could not change it. The noise coming from McDonald's from 12 to 4 am was so loud that I couldn't even sleep.

    The room was clean and tidy the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    3.8
    Don't think they have heard of soundproofing!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't think they have heard of soundproofing!! We were on the top floor and Heavy sleepers, but we were still woken up by other guests and drunk people outside! No where in the booking it says about having to pay for parking! Cheaper to pay extra for another hotel with free parking!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    5.4
    basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    abit basic, even for a budget hotel. Pebble dash on the room walls seemed more prison cell like than bedroom/hotel like (not that I've been in a prison!)

    staff were excellant

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    4.6
    I was not aware I would have to pay for parking - it cost an...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold room, parking fees.

    I was not aware I would have to pay for parking - it cost an additional £20. The room was cold. My neighbour changed rooms (I met her in the corridor), but due to being on a tight schedule I was in and out too quickly to make a fuss.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    Excellent value for money good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I bumped my head on the top.bunk 3 times:(

    Staff were delightful and very help I was suffering from a nasty cold and I was quite chilly, I mentioned this at reception and Charlie provided me with a small fan heater which made the room toasty very quickly. The room cost £3 more than the lunch I had in Southampton! Hot water in shower

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    6.3
    adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were cold heaters ,didn't work properly, noisy macdonalds next door , students shouting around 3.00am at macdonalds.

    location, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Enjoyable, convenient, to where we wanted to go and onsite parking, already plannig next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe sachets of basic coffee free, but not a problem as tea freely available

    The room was warm, cosy and very clean, as was the hotel.., staff pleasant, helpful and friendly.. Definitely stay again...

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.5
    Weekend in Southampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small and basically equipped rooms. A bit cold and strange system of AC which I found difficult to turn it off. Sink and bathroom is basically in the middle of room. No WC brush in toilet.

    Nice and helpful staff. OK location near big shopping centre and main train station and like 10 minutes easy walk to the city centre. Clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    Worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good for the price budget. :) hence IBIS Budget

    Amazing! Everything was great. Clean room and comfortable. Defo going to book next time too.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    8.8
    Close to middle of Southampton lovely shower with lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reading light was not great no where to dry the towels no tea or coffee facilities

    Close to middle of Southampton lovely shower with lots of hot water. Put me on ground floor. Parking close to front door.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.5
    Awesome staff, simple rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconveniently located only 1 wallsocket. Extremely noisy shower. Water pressure kept changing. No Eu plugs. Room cleaning was to early in the day for us. (Before 12 on most days) Some appliances in the room would be nice f.e. water boiler for tea or little fridge.

    Great staff. Wonderfull people. Extremely helpful. Walking distance to stores is good. Tv was nice Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was cold in the room overnight and wasn’t able to up the temperature, unit didn’t seem to work

    Great value for money! Very functional had everything we needed

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.5
    Good quality basic hotel, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception rather offhand. Heating/cooling unit instructions confusing. Lift works but a bit wobbly.

    Minimal provision but good quality of what’s important- lighting choices, great shower and sensible size towels, comfortable bed, quiet despite position, very clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    10
    I am so OCD about things you won't believe, so I am over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We miss not having a cup of tea/coffee in the room, otherwise we can't find fault with the room and the hotel.

    I am so OCD about things you won't believe, so I am over the moon with how clean it all is,10 out of 10, the staff very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.8
    Your front staff are great, especially the guy from Thailand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wonder if putting notices requesting people to close doors quietly would help some of your lighter sleeping guests. This would improve customer satisfaction and require less room cleaning due to moving rooms as I have to, which itself is an inconvenience, not to mention the lack of a good night's sleep! The parking is a bit dear as well. £10 per day is extortionate. Next time I'll find a property with free parking...

    Your front staff are great, especially the guy from Thailand who does brekkie, top man! The evening staff were really nice too.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    7.5
    Could be better, but it's not bad for a very short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My stay was not bad, however, the room looked quite basic, too basic to be honest. It reminded me of a very low quality soviet guest house that still exists in rural areas of Eastern Europe and Russia. It was clean, nevertheless, I've noticed mould marks on the walls, the floors were very cold as it's concrete covered with a sort of linoleum, the walls as well, thus unless the air con was on - it got chilly, but constant heating made breathing difficult as if the filters were dusty. As for the rest, it was quite alright for a night's stay, despite its location close to a busy motorway it was relatively quiet, however, soundproofing of walls is a national issue in the UK, so I got woken up at 3AM by some neighbours who were simply talking and walking in the next room. No phone to contact reception. I stayed in hostels and budget hotels in European countries that were cheaper yet still looked better, so a basic refurbishment would be only for the better. Overall, I had everything I needed for the night. I'm basing my review only on the room I stayed in which was a classic double (there was also a standard double, but I could not understand the difference as the prices were identical).

    The staff were lovely, which I believe totally saves the overall experience.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    6.7
    Basic clean functional room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    EXCESSIVE PARKING CHARGE OF £10. This was not made clear by Booking.com at time of booking. As the room charge was £34 the parking charge is disproportionate. When you are are weighing up the cost options of different accommodation then the total price needs to be made clear. I would probably have travelled by train had The parking charges been made clear or I have booked directly at a TravelInn had I known the full package price. Also the duvet was not very thick and the room a bit cool. Staff did lend me a fan heater though.

    Basic clean functional room. Very helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from people hanging outside the mcdonalds ALL night, and people revving their engines and racing around the car park. Also, couldn't work the air con, but that's likely to be me.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    4.6
    The floors are horrible vinyl material.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floors are horrible vinyl material. looks like hospital and were sticky. Very small shower and separate toilet. Also the bed sheets come off whilst you’re sleeping because they aren’t even elastic corners.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    Cheap, Comfortable, Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was £35, what more could you want for 3 people to stay the night

    Exactly what it says on the tin! Cheap Comfortable Convenient Perfect for a budget hotel, stayed with 3 friends, all beds comfortable, air con in the room and friendly welcoming staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    5.0
    Awful and broke
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. Especially customer service considering I work in the industry.

    I got charged 3x the amount I was supposed to leaving me with no money to pay for my months rent. Thanks very much for awful customer service.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    6.3
    The shower was great and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lights by double bed didn't work. Heating didn't work so had to use a fan heater, which I had to get from reception but made room warm. Blind was broken and didn't open. Extractor fans didn't turn off.

    The shower was great and the bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.1
    Good for the price just needs a tweek on basic everyday needs like a kettle and a mini fridge.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was really uncomfortable and after the 2nd night was over it, would have been nice to just have a basic kettle, which I ended up buying myself one for the time my daughter (2.8) was in the room. All in all was good for the price

    For the basic price I paid, didn't expect anything grand. Stayed 4 nights, staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.1
    Really great break for someone who can never afford to get away from London!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above. I am a country bumpkin and the location wasn't that relaxing. I would have liked there to be a cafe that served budget dinner rather than encouraging people in the future to get drunk on an empty stomach they just keep you awake all night. Though there is a tuck shop and reception are extremely nice and even went the extra mile because nothing was open at Christmas and warmed up my Christmas dinner in their oven/microwave.

    I loved a little fresh air away from London and how affordable it was. The Manageress was really sweet. The cleaners were lovely. The staff were all excellent. I thought there was too much steel and concrete in the location built sky high and it was just for shopping though. I went to Brockenhurst for the day which is £7.95 on the train return and provides decent green area though even there a foul was killed because cars driving so fast through New Forest and Mother horse was besides herself upset. Too many people! I was so relieved to get away though and at such short notice with hardly any money this was amazing. The walls are a little thin so if you are a light sleeper or your dog is easily alerted and the barking type this is not for you. Really clean. Relaxing though. Nice flat screen TV. All my worries like will it be warm enough and comfortable enough and accessible enough, will I have the right wall socket were all put to rest and I was well catered for. There is no restaurant or cafe. Luckily when I was there no bar either so no drunk people which I can't stand because it's a bit like a hostel. You have a power shower all to yourself and it's lovely and there was a toilet in the cheapest room of your own. I guess people will be glad that the bar which will be back up and running when you go will have hot food. There is a Co op if you head towards water and turn left walk for a few blocks and a pier further along on the right but very industrial area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    Overall very good - near bus /train station for quick trip from Heathrow, daytrip to Stonehenge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything excellent except a little noisy at night - we were on the McDonald’s side of building. And no shampoo!!!

    Location, predictable Ibis excellence overall

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.2
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It'd be better if there are hooks for hanging clothes in the bathroom. Quite difficult for us to change.

    The room is lovely and clean. Even though it's small, it looks neat and comfortable. The hotel is very well located.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    5.0
    Definately the wrong hotel for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was dirty, with half eaten food left in the corridor. There was blood on the inside of the lift doors as well as outside the front door of the hotel when we arrived - it was still there the next morning. We had difficulty understanding the staff at the front desk on arrival as their command of English was not good. They looked slightly scruffy as they were dressed in casual sweat shirts. The croissants at breakfast were raw in the middle, and there were dirty plates/crockery on some of the tables in the breakfast area. We would definitely not recommend this hotel.

    The only thing we liked was the location - near to the cruise terminals.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    Close to town and aminities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Should have stayed in the ibis hotel across the road and no tea making facilities (was budget but for £60 pound travel lodge have tea making facilities in the room will not be staying here again)

    Close to town and aminities

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect stay on transit to the airport.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thick pillows.

    Staff was nice. Room accommodating with everything we needed for a short stay. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was good. Place is 3 minute walk away from the train station and another couple of minutes to West Quay.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    9.6
    Good apart from shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wouldn’t stay here again due to the lack of a proper bathroom. Just a shower room where you had to leave the towel outside and finish drying off in the bedroom. Could easily have been made with the shower room and toilet together at least that way you would have room to dry in privacy.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.3
    Was nice and warm on a cold January night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Try to get a room overlooking the car park rather than the all night McDonalds! Check the windows are closed properly - they can leak sound. No USB socket on the TV to allow me to charge my phone / patch videos through.

    Was nice and warm on a cold January night.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Recommend only if you are not picky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the fact that their ac doesnt heath at all and was not cleaned since ages. If you are astmatic it will be a problem

    I loved the location. Close to everything. The staff answered to all my questions in a short period

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.7
    Near train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very cold and has no heaters. The air conditioner doesn’t work properly. Staff was very kind, provided us a little heating fan but it doesn’t help too much. So definitely not recommend to stay there during winter.

    Near train station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.9
    cheap and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    charges for parking were high. very compact rooms (but expected). slow check out in the morning.

    cheap and cheerful and perfect for what we needed. easy walking distance to the main street. plenty of food and drink outlets with in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    we like that you didn't have to book out till 12 so it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    tea and coffee making facilities would of been nice to have in the room

    we like that you didn't have to book out till 12 so it wasn't a mad rush first thing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.3
    Overall, we didn't like the hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the street by McDonald did not make my sleep pleasant Choice for Breakfast was very limited The space in the room was too small and it had no wardrobe

    Location is central and close to other amenities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    9.2
    Stuff was really talkative and polite and rooms were comfy,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Arrived really late and stuff said, that there are no open fast food places nearbay. So, we took hotel pizzas, that did not taste very good. Next morning explored McDonalds and Fridays next to the hotel. Also, elevator is terrible. :D

    Stuff was really talkative and polite and rooms were comfy, with nice lights and colors.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    4.6
    Underwhelming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lobby and restaurant area were undergoing serious renovation. The entrance to the hotel was a building site. This was not communicated to me at the time of booking or thereafter, which seems a strange approach to service management. The renovation meant that no facilities were available other than my room

    My room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.5
    Felt like boarding school
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I went with a group of friends. 6 in total. So that meant 3 per room. We all got ready in our own rooms then went to one room for a drink. The security guard came to the room and agreed we were not loud as we were simply talking. But enforced us to our own room ‘the rules’ I feel this is totally ridiculous! Both rooms were paid for we weren’t causing any harm.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    Very clean and slept like a log in the bed which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Husband was dissapointed there was no tea/coffee kettle in the room so i had to expla to him it's budget so those things arn't included. The mirror was too far from electrical points for my hair dryer and tongs to reach and i have long leads on both so wasn't able to style my hair as i had planned for the party we were going to

    Very clean and slept like a log in the bed which was suprising as it didn't feel like it was going to be that comfortable. I actually spilt a cup of coffee on the floor but as it was wipe clean, managed to clean it up without a problem and without damaging the floor surface.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.1
    The beds where very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast stated "hot and cold" however all they had were ham, cereal and toast. Not very good for the cost.

    The beds where very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Staff really helpful, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning in my parents room didn’t work properly, we asked for fix it, even after that didn’t work. Door didn’t closed properly.

    Staff really helpful, friendly. Rooms clean and comfortable. Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    9.2
    Close to the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying £10.00 extra to park in the hotels carpark. I think this is ridiculous as where would we park when staying in this hotel. Really have no choice but to pay the parking. Never paid extra at any other hotel we have stayed at.

    Close to the port

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    5.8
    Cheap , but will not stop there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff not friendly , no good morning, good evening or good night , heating was not to my liking as was on a A/C unit, after 5 days I had a bad cold and cough, I spotted a fan heater in the corridor so picked it up and used in my room, no Tea making facilities in rooms , had to pay £1:50 for a small cup in the common area. Fire alarm went off 1:28 Christmas morning, no explanation to why and didn’t see any staff or feedback next day , fire door wedged open for 10 days with 3 door stops.

    Housekeeping excellent, could not have asked for more,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    8.8
    Was great to discover the city, paying a resonable price. I'm glad I didn't brought my car. Parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't something particularly that I didn't like it. Line without bleach, were not looking so clean and fresh.... But they change them every day. The city is humid and the air conditioning was on almost all the time.... But doesn't depend on the hotel conditions.

    Was nearly train station and walking distance to the centre. Acceptable value for the conditions.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast, good location.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was too hard and the pillow too high. I would suggest adding a second softer pillow.

    Nice breakfast, good location. Cleanliness. Essential for a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    7.5
    It served its purpose which was to enjoy my works do without the hassle of a taxi home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a lot of work being done and no heating or power to the 2 sockets in the room, so I couldn't charge my phone. I didn't realise this until early hours when I woke, so I just left. There was nobody about to tell.

    the value for money. was cheaper than getting a taxi home

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’ were on a level with a load of party people who though it was ok to smoke weed in the communal areas also keeping my daughters up will 4am coming back drunk and loud and glass smashing and running up and down the corridors screaming not impressed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    8.8
    great value it is a budget hotel so dont be expecting all the facilities of a normal hotel would def
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    don't be expecting the ritz it does say what it says on the tin budget but was very clean great value for money

    great location walking distance from train station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    6.3
    Its basic and noisy but it is in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room cleanliness and presentation. Noise was ridiculous, with people running up and down corridor at all hours. Duvet was left in a pile when I walked into room, which was a bit tatty and barely clean.

    Location was good, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed, will never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was on par with a prison cell, very uncomfortable, mouldy and smelt of sewage. After looking around we found better hotels for less money with better facilities and much better reviews.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    9.2
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were a bit basic £10 overnight parking charger is taking the piss - £5 would be more reasonable

    Funky lights in the room Responsive shower. Great room temperature, not heated like an oven as other hotel rooms tend to be .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    5.8
    I would only return if staying alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wash basin in main room - very inconvenient if not sharing with partner - embarrassing if staying with a friend - you have to wash in public or take a private shower which is not always convenient time wise

    The Staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    5.8
    Closeness to the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle, had to ask for a bath Matt. Even though I requested extra pillows and sheets they were not in the room. The mains doors were not in use, we had to use the fire exit as well as our card to get in to the door stopped working after one night and we were told they can only make it work a day at a time so keep having to get it done which is stupid

    Closeness to the station

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, Friendly Staff, Comfy Bed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovations under way would have been nice to be informed of this upon booking and not charged the FULL price. Also they were charging the more expensive breakfast price and sending you to the IBIS styles across the road.

    Good location, Friendly Staff, Comfy Bed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    5.4
    Noisy.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    it was a noisy party hotel, full of people shouting and playing blaring loud music with the doors open. I had to get up at 5am for a charity walk and there wasn't even a phone in the room to call reception to complain.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: