Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Cardiff Gate - International Business Park 2 stars

Malthouse Avenue, Cardiff Gate Business Park, Cardiff, CF23 8RA, United Kingdom

#39 of 48 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1675 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is behind a petrol station on a business park just off of the motorway and a £20 taxi ride from civilisation

    Breakfast was extreamely good. Very varied and completely fresh

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was terrible. I woke up in the morning with chronic back ache. When I got into bed at midnight it felt very unsupportive. On inspection in the morning after a terrble night I discovered that one of the slats was missing and an adjacent one was broken. Hence no support for my upper back. Only one pillow per bed was provided and both were too high and very solid. IWe paid a premium for the room because the Rolling Stones were playing in Cardiff, however paying a premium you expect things to be that much better. On reporting it in the morning, the person on reception said I would have to email the manager and gave me his card. The onus was on me and there was no suggestion of taking my details so the manager could contact me to address with my complaint. I will never stay at an Ibis Hotel again.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Taxii to and from centre a bit expensive but not excessive, and nothing compared to the cost of the Stones tickets! But well worth it.

    Convenient location out of the city. Very clean and tidy. Easy parking. Staff very helpful with taxi booking and running around to prepare some late food. Room and shower all very impressive. Room quiet despite not being far from motorway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was clean and comfy and in a good location to get into Cardiff early in the morning. Did not try the food here, there are food places within a minute or two walk and the Toby carvery was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time to get rid of the single use plastic glasses in the bathroom. Guests don't need these. Room a bit hot. Would have been helpful to have a fan in the room.

    Lovely comfy bed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the price paid was too high for one night so far from the centre of Cardiff

    Clean, comfortable with friendly efficent staff Taxi into city centre £21

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally it would have been closer to the city centre so nothing you can do about that, at £100.00 for the night, it is expensive for what it is, but all in all clean & comfortable.

    We were attending the Sterophonics concert at the Cardiff City stadium so really needed to be close to the city centre & this was the closest we could get. it is comfortable enough without being any more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no table and chair in our room although this was a very minor point.

    Staff were always available and very helpful. Comfortable rooms with wife. Breakfast absolutely great, plenty available and always being replenished. Everything was first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing a noisy and busy m4, curtains did not fully close meaning to say outdoor light coming through

    Services and fast food proximity, availability of parking, bar and kitchen

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have an electric car and it would be nice to access the charger with a RIFD card at the desk. There are many different charging providers and it is impossible to have cards for all of them. A charger, even a slowish one that could be switched on an billed at the desk would be great. Most EV owners carry adaptors for the most common types of charger by the way.

    Ibis has very comfy beds for the price range so i am regular customer of Ibis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more than one pillow each (though I’m sure we could have had them if we’d asked). Quite difficult to find the hotel as it’s tucked behind motorway petrol station - perhaps a bigger sign to direct you!

    Good facilities and decent sized room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The booking process, checking in and checking out processes were easy. Checking in the car was quick and trouble-free. Everything was automatic but there were always friendly and helpful staff around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy due to other guests. Other guests had knocked on our door thinking it was there room. They woke us up quite early at 6am having a conversation outside. Some coming in at 12 seemed in toxicated and were quite loud. The noises upset my dog which then she barked and then I was conscious about other guests. I would still come back, the hotel can't help noisy people.

    The breakfast was great. Staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for us. They were so welcoming even with my little dog. They went the extra mile to help us, when the key card wouldn't work and giving us extra tea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that we were unable to have single bed put in one of our rooms....this was our 3rd or 4th time at this hotel and have never had this problem. We were told this facility had been stopped at end of last year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool table was out of order, and the hotel was a little further away than expected. If you don't drive, you have to pay quite alot for a taxi.

    Breakfast was delicious and excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food hygiene rating needs to be improved as only a 2 so my son would only have the breakfast for one day and not the two.

    Clean tidy and comfortable, served its purpose for a swimming open meet weekend. Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was really nice first time in an ibis it was lovely The staff were lovely The breakfast was really nice Everything you needed in a hotel Good value for money Good parking spaces Lovely hotel really impressed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small single beds. Not sure if I meesed up the booking as I wanted a double? Only 1 pillow each. Maybe a hand towel? Parking spaces were very tight.

    Lift available to all floors

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked items were of average quality and was cold so I felt guilty about taking it then not eating it. I would like a wider choice of cereals ( like at home) I only saw weetabix and Rice Krispies

    The coffee and toast etc was fine but the cooked breakfast was generally cold so I didn’t eat it. The cereal choice was very limited as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was great. It wasn't anything special, but all the food was cooked perfectly. The staff was friendly and the room was tidy. Overall a great place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable bed. Good location. Easy to find & just off the motorway; convenient for Cardiff City and onward journeys. Plenty free parking on site. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The estate the hotel was in was not adequately sign posted and just when I thought I'd ask at the filling station noticed it was next door.

    Property was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Room was more than adequate for our overnight stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could do with a curtain to prevent the water from going everywhere on the floor and also to.add a little privacy.

    free parking and Free wifi for guests. Clean and tidy. Nice sized room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a shame the breakfast could not cater for my needs ( gluten and dairy free vegetarian on low carbs) , however they did refund my breakfast cost

    The staff were helpful and the room clean and comfy. The motorway services were close by to get some food for my journey and although it is a basic no frills sort of hotel all I needed was a clean room and comfy bed and at a good price... which is what it is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no double glazing on window and facing the services it was quite noisy early morning

    nice size double bed decent space around the bed for moving around and nice size bathroom :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had some issues using the key card, the instructions on them are incorrect.

    Stayed at the property for a friend's wedding which was 10 minutes away from the hotel. Good location, very comfortable and wasn't noisey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was poor.

    Exceptionally and frienly staff, nice and comfortable room,it was a pleasure to be there and I will come back in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin and people talking in the corridors until 1 am wasn’t conducive to a good nights sleep. Cooked breakfast was just warm, not hot.

    For a budget hotel the Ibis was clean and tidy, no frills great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door on shower , nowhere to put shower gel in shower , lift didn't work , bacon was of poor quality very limited choice on menu

    Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very basic. My bed wasn’t made properly and I noticed there were 2 single mattresses on top of each other and the leg was broken on my bed which caused a squeak every time I moved.

    It was very conveniently based and easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More than 2 tea bags and milk pots need to be allocated in the room. Our shower was barely tepid.

    Breakfast was great. Very good selection. Could keep an eye on keeping everything topped up without having to ask for e.g. a fork please. Bread for toast. No more croissants. Staff lovely though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a nightmare, please stop using it as a paying car park for local businesses. We got there before check in time and still could not park, in the end we were told to park in a disabled spot, which we were not happy about, but luckily just at that moment a place in the main car park became available. Also please go back to providing proper spoons in the rooms and not wooden stirrers.

    We have stayed here on numerous occasions, it's ideally placed for Cardiff, the rooms are a good size and always very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not contact by telephone( 6 times over two days) when needed to cancel a room ,so YOU (IBIS) could re sell it . NO BEER in bar( something to do with supplier ??? very embarrassed staff ...) so we all went out to " buy In "YOUR LOSS". if I was MD of IBIS UK I would be a very unhappy man!!

    fantastic price ,good staff. location and the fact that we could go OUT locally as your Bar was virtually empty!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lock on the door was faulty meaning the door was not locked during the day after the cleaner had been and all our stuff was in the room luckily nothing was taken

    Room was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consideration by other guests in small hrs signage to ask for quiet movements after 11pm not corridor conversations door slamming knocking on doors etc from midnight until 2 am.

    Size of room sound proofing from adjoining rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Bad smell coming from sink drain. Inconsiderate guests in the hallway outside the room. Also kept awake one night by people in next room having a leg over. Keep that in mind that walls are thin and other can hear stuff you might not want them to hear

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sticky wall in room. Couldn't find any staff when needed things and when found sticky wall couldn't find anyone to complain too. Also it only has a two star food hygiene rating and I wouldn't ñormally use an establishment with a rating that low.

    Location and price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Daily newspapers in the communal area would have been nice.

    - Communal bar area with pool table, ideal for families with older children. - Comfortable, spacious bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel had run out of beer in the bar? Nothing on tap and and only 3 bottles of Tiger beer in fridge? Very poor show?

    Ideal for stay in Cardiff , only short taxi drive into city!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As much as the one member of staff handled everything well I did feel sorry for him that he was doing everything and did see a few distressed customers if they came in at once.

    Everything was great for a business trip

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking spaces available in the car park, additional spaces available in the Novotel next door for about £10 per day, no street parking near-by. The only toiletries provided is a bar of soap so remember anything else you may require. Tea and coffee not in the room which would have been a bonus.

    Convenient location (about 5 min walk to John Lewis and main shopping centre,) average sized rooms with shower, toilet, sink & mirror. There are free teas & coffees and water in reception - snacks & other beverages can be purchased there also. Beds are comfy and rooms are clean with additional pillows available on request from reception. TV in room with fair selection of channels. Free WiFi that actually works! There is a bus stop near by to Cardiff bay and other hot spots. Good value for the money spent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering we paid over £250 for two nights I would have expected it to be at least an 8 out of 10. Firstly, bad start the key didn’t work and my partner hasn’t recently had a knee operation meant she had to walk back to the reception to collect a new one. Next was the smell of damp/dog in our room! The smell was revolting and we mentioned it to be staff an they said it shouldn’t be too long before we wouldn’t notice it was the carpet! Considering I am allergic to dogs and cats it didn’t feel me with great confidence I was being looked after. Also the TV was on a slant and we only had 4 channels despite confirming free view, hot water was very temperamental and the walls were paper fin, we could hear literally next doors TV! & everything else that went on. Overall a poor performance on all parts at The IBIS gate hotel.

    I liked the location of the hotel and the access to th services across the road. We stayed here for the Joshua boxing fight and it was perfect. Bed was comfortable and the pool table provided entertainment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took from my card double payment (still sorting out, coz thet can not see payment at all), room was dirty. We stayed for 3 night and cleaner never changed bed. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in the Hotel, coz location was suitable for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with an update, looking a bit dated. Room key was temperamental

    Clean and tidy, nice and simple. Great reception area and a good bar, staff were friendly and welcoming, plenty of spaces in the car park. Having a pool table and seating in reception gave us something to do in the evenings, couldn't have asked for more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If applicable to your visit to Cardiff, there's not much around and its not very close to town

    Good value if you have an event nearby. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric heater in rooms isn’t the preferable option and room could do with better ventilation

    Good value for money Close to motorway Comfy bed with good shower facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ,staff, accessibility.

    Staff brilliant, location great,clean and pleasant, suited our needs perfectly, stayed here for second time and will stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was limited due to the weather

    Not a good weekend to review the hotel as we were snowed in and so the service was not as normal! We were warm and comfortable despite the weather and due to the location were able to get on the motorway as soon as it was clear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in, went up 2 floors and to end of corridor to find key wasn’t working. Had young daughter and lots of bags so rang the hotel to ask someone to get me new key, guy I had checked in with explained that all the keys were upside down so I needed to swipe up not down....he could have mentioned that at check in!!! After 3hr drive and early start next morning, it was frustrating to find that I didn’t sleep, room was hot so opened window which kept slamming shut and when it was open it was really noisy. If I had stayed in a Prem Inn I would have received a refund. Unfortunately no one on the desk next morning to talk to about it.

    Very good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of swearing from other guests, not really on when children were around. The bar was too expensive, even for soft drinks.

    Space in the rooms, very clean and tidy, staff were brilliant, facilities were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the 1st floor, closest to the lift and there was a loud voice built in to the lift saying “1st floor” and “doors opening” so it was quite loud and I could hear the lift all the time but apart from that; good stay.

    Room clean and staff very accommodating. Car park was conveniently close too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left my coat in the room. As soon as I realised I tried to phone numerous times and they did not answer. When we went back to collect it. They said they checked the room, housekeeping and lost property and it wasn’t found. Load of BS.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is convenient for Newport, Cardiff and there are lots of places to see and things to do within an hour's drive. The motorway was not noticeable at all from our room which faced the service area. This was also unobtrusive. Nice bar area and food was served all day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was rather hard & room abit hot. Breakfast could have been abit hotter.

    Everything was great especially the sausages at breakfast, they were A+++.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a slightly unpleasant smell like there may have been an issue with the plumbing that night.

    It was a return visit chosen mostly for location and tea/coffee provision in room and consideration to price. Rooms are a nice size and comfortable. We chose not to take breakfast this time. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this stay for my mum and step dad and they came home unhappy as the cleaner left there door open all day after cleaning with all their belongings on the bed. They give all my card details out to them ibis are lucky it was my parents When I rang ibis they hung up on me

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed an extra duvet because we visited the hotel when it was particularly cold. There was no problem in asking for and receiving this. The room was a really good size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a room for my father to stay in as we had to go to his wife's and my mothers funeral the next day. I have just got home today to find that I have been given a £60 parking fine from Ibis as I used their car park to park in as I picked my father up in the morning on the way to the funeral.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the cheap rate attracts the noisy and uncouth to the property, and we were disturbed whilst trying to get to sleep at 10pm by rowdy guests shouting and swearing to each other down the hallways, this continued for an hour until they went out, but we were woken at 3.15 am for an hour with them drunkenly returning, trying our room door and trying to kick the door open, shouting, singing, and then were very hostile towards my companion and she was told to “F*** off” when politely asked them to quieten down. They went into their rooms after an hour of this, only for it to begin again at 4.45am Left the hotel to them yet again shouting to one another from their rooms. Was disappointed that the staff didn’t deal with this issue

    Excellent value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and polished. The room and the hotel very well kept and well exceeded my standard. The bed was very comfy and the double room was spacious. The room heated up pretty quickly. The bathroom was very clean too. This hotel also has a nice lounge downstairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Been to ibis in the past which have been modern and fantastic and expected this to be the same but this is like a very old fashioned Travelodge before they got there act together. The bed doesn't have a mattress just like foam thing and just one pillow each. Just one of each of tea and coffee. The price of £44 for the night was ok but what we had you shouldn't pay no more than £39 for the night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not upto a respectful standard, there was hairs on the wall, and breakfast was £9 each for a ‘buffet’ which doesn’t offer you a decent selection and it was freezing

    Rooms were a fairly appropriate size and staff were helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked into a room which hadn’t been cleaned. Hairs were on the bed, the bed hadn’t been made, toilet rolls were empty, towels in the shower. Went to reception and was given a new room (see above) and two drinks tokens. Which given, as I explained, we were out all evening in Cardiff was a little bit pointless. Would have preffered another gesture.. first person we saw at check in clearly didn’t want to be there. He was rude and when mentioned about the room, he turned his nose up and laughed.

    Second guy we saw at check in. Really friendly and helpful. Second bedroom was nice and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature was absurdly high on arrival. Opening the window let in the noise from the M4. Turned it off an arrival at 7:30pm. Still very warm when we returned at 11pm and pleasant in the morning! Toilet (room 109) does not flush properly. Someone had left the shower setting on scalding - I should have mentioned this to reception, but forgot. Two bulbs broken - bedside and desk.

    Good sized room and comfortable bed with good wifi. Good shower. Takes dogs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not realise that you have to turn into the services to gain access (it was dark and I could not find the hotel very well due to lack of signage) the hotel is also behind large fence and that was not particularly well signed.

    Loved the comfort of the bed, despite the fact that it looked like a futon bed and I was expecting it to be hard. Liked the staff. Very lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feels like an older hotel that had been spruced up - decor in room a bit tired but that doesn't really matter. Place was being re-decorated while I was there.

    Ticked all the boxes for me on price and location. Comfy bed. Good shower. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit further way than expected with no good links with the only option was to drive into city centre or get a cab which was £15 each way.

    Open plan area with bar and eating area. The spacious room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was quite tatty, but for the price, not sure I can complain!

    The bed was comfortable and the room warm. Easy to find off the motorway. There is a bar and restaurant on site though we didn’t use them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a comfortable place to stay in during the day. The room had only one chair! The hotel appears to have been redecorated recently. It would have been helpful if the hotel's entrance doors had been automatic, when dealing with suitcases, etc.

    Well placed for a one or more nights' stay if working in the area. in a service area with Waitrose, Shell fuel, WH Smiths, and other facilities. The rooms are fairly sparse, but are satisfactory for the price. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was worn & in need of doing up due to rust & old grouting

    Nice breakfast lounge, efficient & friendly staff , check in was made very quick, simple and easy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a convenient location for us as we were visiting family close by. Cardiff East Park and Ride is a short drive away and we used this to go into the city centre to visit the Welsh National Gallery. Starbucks is opposite the hotel and we went there for breakfast. Toby Inn is close by and we went there for dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening menu is limited but there's a Toby Carvery nearby Location is essentially a service area off the M4

    Cooked breakfast was very good, including veggie options, plus there were choices of fruit, yoghurt, pastries, etc. Friendly helpful staff! Large, clean, rooms with comfy beds, walk-in shower (no bath)... and windows that open!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visitors ( Reps / business men ) waltzing into the breakfast area with their laptops , holding meetings and asking for the sound on the television to be turned off . They surely could conduct their “work” in the lounge area .

    Convenient for motorway , close to Park & Ride , good selection of breakfast trays .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was either very hot or very cold. There was a 2 inch gap under our door so we heard every noise of people coming back to their rooms throughout the night. It was also raining and there was a leak/continual dripping noise onto some Tin outside of our window which kept us awake. I also took the spare pillow from the cupboard which had stains on so had clearly not been washed since the last person used it so we had to get another one from reception. The room wasnt particularly clean and didn't look like it has been hoovered. I have stayed at several Ibis hotels but overall we were really disappointed with this hotel and barely slept at all. I would not recommend or be returning to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not watch TV. Failed to get programmes we wanted to watch. Asked staff in reception but did not know and just said we should play around with remote control.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: