Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Carlisle City Centre 2 stars

Botchergate, Carlisle, CA1 1RP, United Kingdom

#16 of 28 hotels in Carlisle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2358 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a little soundproofing!!!!

    Excellent location. Room has everything you might need, comfy bed and extra pillows if required. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We even got free drinks when staff found out that my husband and his twin brother were celebrating their 70th birthday. Breakfast was faultless everything well cooked and tasty. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the car-park was not easy. Also, it would be good if the hotel told you that they would validate your parking before you have paid the parking fee that could not be refunded....

    A bed for the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room backing onto a noisy pub.

    Didn't have time for breakfast so can't comment. My room looked out over a bar which was open late and noisy even with the window shut, not good when it's a 5am get up

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I disliked, it was a great stay at the hotel.

    Great location, very well appointed for the style of hotel, staff all helpful and friendly, the room was clean and the bathroom perfect, absolutely no criticisms and will re-use when next in Carlisle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did have to chase for a copy of my receipt when I got home.

    It was a last minute booking following issues with the train going home. I found the hotel clean and breakfast was good, it was just right for what I needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent for nightlife and eating out. Also close to shops and fab places for breakfast. Room was spotless and bed very comfortable. Staff very welcoming and night security staff very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the weather was extremely hot a bottle of water would have been appreciated, only because I don't drink tea or coffee.

    Very quiet room, no street noise, very comfortable bed, walk in shower, very helpful and friendly staff. Parking directly behind to hotel. Hotel in centre of town just down from castle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very hard and I was in a room at the back , there is a 24hr gym and a lap dance club that was open to 6am , I had left the hotel by 7am as awake most of the night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy through the night as our room backed on to the pub that stayed open till 5am . If your going out and this is your base you’ll be fine . The hotel did provide ear plugs that worked a treat 👍🏻

    Great location , lots of places to eat and drink around . Was a stop on our way to walk Hadrian’s wall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for a two night bed and breakfast what a lovely friendly hotel Can’t fault anything about the hotel it was very clean the staff are amazing so friendly and professional The breakfast is to die for definitely worth the extra money 10/10 for everything should be back in a couple of weeks hopefully!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early morning wake up by noise from car park behind. Several motorbikes setting off very noisy

    Close to pubs and other amenities, good facilities in the room comfortable bed and nice sized shower cubicle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing stood out ??

    Rooms and area of hotel more than adequate and very clean. Have been using this hotel for same weekend for last 7 years . Golf outing at Stoneyholme Golf Club which is also excellent and good value.. Attitude of all persons we met at both locations was excellent. See next year

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken at 3am by revellers at the bar behind the hotel. As this was a Monday evening/Tuesday morning I wasn't expecting this.

    The room was spacious, comfortable & very clean and tidy. Great location for the city centre and the bus stop to the local hospital, where I was visiting my sick Mother, was very close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendlier night staff questioned you to check you were a guest at the hotel could do so in a more polite manor... and same staff questioned when we took a glass of the free water ....

    Excellent location close to train station and nightlife.... parking is free just give reception your number plate...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is as good as it gets for the price.

    This place is excellent value for money. Very close to train station and 10 minute walk to a big castle. I said no to the romantic question because it is very basic. We personally feel romance when we save money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic bed - extremely comfy. Unusual 'pod' style bathroom set up. Standard of cleanliness was extremely high. loads of parking at rear of hotel. Cool lobby/ dining area - very good breakfast options including smashed avocado and sourdoughbread - which you don't normally see

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows a bit hard

    Very convenient location for city centre. Nice bed, aircon was good when I got it to work. Breakfast was very good. Free parking in the car park behind the hotel is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was exceptionally tired, pillow case very much not white, frayed bed base - felt very dirty and would want to have been there any longer (6 hours sleepover before hiking Hadrian's wall). Miserable staff at reception - both regarding check-in and breakfast, pretty unhelpful.

    It's practical, central and close to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit dark. We couldn't have the air-con on overnight as it was too noisy but equally couldn't have the window open as it was also too noisy.

    Convenient central location on main street with free parking at the rear. Fine for 1 night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have no negative comments about this hotel.

    We did not eat at the hotel, but a bonus is that it is right on Botchergate where there are a number of excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in a great location, rooms were very clean and staff were so friendly and helpful from arriving to our departure absolute delight and will return

    Very friendly and welcoming upon arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home for the weekend Myself and my daughter stayed as visited family, the welcome from a lovely lady when we arrived was wonderful & that friendliness of all the staff continued throughout our stay, breakfast was very good, set us up great for the day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooling fans outside, meant that we had to keep window shut(we sleep with window open normally) otherwise all good.

    Great staff , good breakfast, comfy bed, good location, good parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room far too small, no chairs, or decor. We found the room wasnt at all relaxing after a long journey. Everything seemed like it was skimped upon from tea and milk to bin liners.

    The bed was fine. Room was clean and felt new.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and quite comfortable, and the breakfast was more than adequate. Would definitely stay again if necessary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signposting and information on carpark could have been far better. Wasn't at all obvious on arriving into the city and driving past the front of the hotel where the parking was or how to get to it. Particularly frustrating given Carlisle's one-way system! An arrow or Ibis logo on the signpost for the carpark would have been useful! (It's round the back, turn right after you pass the hotel on your right)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little on the small size.

    The staff was exceptionally helpful. Good location to the train station - very close. Carlisle was convenient to seeing Hadrian's Wall - just a short train ride to Hexham and then catch the AD122 county bus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access from the car park was not clearly signed. It was also blocked by a delivery vehicle that made access with a case difficult

    The location was central to our needs.It was surprisingly quite considering its location close to a number of clubs and places of entertainment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location of hotel was ideal for bars and places to eat. Only 5 mins from the train station and main shopping areas, 10 mins from the castle. 24hr bar is always a bonus as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and room were basic. Only found 2 pleasant members of staff, the rest didn’t even smile.

    Very central to town. Didn’t have breakfast but from what I saw it looked fairly decent. Good soundproofing to road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe bigger towels.

    Ideal situation for what we wanted, good size bedroom with comfortable bed. Decent sized clean bathroom. No frills or extras but excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy through night as other guests came back and obviously didn’t give much thought for other guests.

    Comfortable bed, clean lovely friendly staff, ideal location for a night out in Carlisle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not very clean, the stairways were messy, the walls felt ancient. The mattress was chap quality. Felt more like a budget hotel. Would not return. The en-suite which seemed like a pre-assembled 'capsule'.... seemed more like a mobile unit rather than being inside a building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com had selected wrong date automatically and I hadn't realised until I got to the hotel. Luckily there was rooms available but I had to pay extra. Booking.com is very confusing and puts me off booking with ibis again

    Location,friendly helpful staff,room. Key drop off is excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast price was absurd considering what how little they had on offer in the buffet at the time. There was no discount for children.

    A good price for a comfortable hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, excellent hotel for night away and reasonably priced.

    Location was excellent. Just around corner from train station. Travelled as a group and all rooms were on same floor close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed warmly and efficiently. Everything went smoothly. It was a good place to stay at the end of the Cumbria Way, central for strolling around the city centre - castle, cathedral, lanes, shops - and very convenient for the railway station next morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that maybe could change is the price, but apart from that I love staying in the hotel.

    Staff were brilliant, very helpful! Let me Keep my luggage there because I had to check out before the check out time due to having an interview, I recommend this hotel to anyone staying for a few nights in a city/town. I will always try and look out for this branch when I need to go to a city for business/interviews.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly, gave us and all.our friends a free drink as we were a wedding party. Also allowed us to check into our room early as we were the only people in our party without platinum membership.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the back was a little difficult to find and did not look like being in the best neighbourhood. It was free however...

    The Ibis is basically a budget business hotel. However it does offer very good value for money, all facilities work, its very clean and right in the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Haven't stayed at an IBIS before but if they're all like this I would highly recommend

    The staff were outstanding. Being able to leave baggage easily both when we arrived early and at end of stay a huge bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not at all a reflection on the hotel itself, however some of the other residents on our floor were very noisy during the night and this did disturb our sleep. This is one of the downsides when staying in a city centre hotel, but not the fault of the chain.

    Very well-located in the city centre and easy enough to find. The free parking was an excellent bonus. The welcome from the staff was very warm and helpful and they were very clear about everything. The room was clean and tidy and the amenities were adequate for our one-night stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet sometimes did not work very well.

    Fantastic location. Very near to the railway station and you can walk straight to the main attractions. Very friendly staff. Kindly provided luggage storage after checking out. I very much appreciate the long desk in the room to work on. The chair and a small “sofa” attached to the desk were both quite comfy. Shower was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic but clean and comfortable. Free parking was a bonus. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was extra - self service but very nice and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was confusing. The hallways smelt of cigarette smoke. The location and particularly the noise was terrible. The bathroom was weird and had no ventilation. The room's climate control didn't work. The bed was very uncomfortable. The carpet in the room still had glitter on it from a previous stay. The safety cord on the window to prevent it from opening all the way was broken so if we had small children there is every chance they could climb up and fall out.

    I liked nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast elsewhere as the hotel was so expensive. Plenty of great local places for breakfast.

    Good comfortable room and a great location. Parking at hotel was good. Carlisle is a great place, plenty of restaurants and shops etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit hard, check in was confusing at first because there is no desk

    Really good location, pool table in lobby, serves good breakfast, rooms clean and as expected, cheap considering it's in the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went round the houses to find the car park and had to go into hotel to find it. I think it was quite expensive.

    Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise! Wasn’t prepared for the noise from the local night club or the other guest who had no consideration for anyone else.

    Great location close to the Centre and plenty of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky here but maybe a menu in the room. We didn't realise until it was too late that meals were on offer.

    Service was excellent. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Everything clean and comfortable. Regretted not having breakfast as it looked well laid out and plenty on offer. Great location to all local amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival in my car i found it difficult to get to back of Hotel. I used the post code for car park but this did not help. I think the hotel should display a map to get to car park as you need to drive down to a no entry sign to access. The reception is strange as there isn't one you need to got the breakfast bar are which was confusing but check in was easy once i saw someone.

    Location is really good and close to town centre and railway station. Local bars and Night club on door step and although thought it may have been noisy at night it was quiet and slept ok. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Scottish guy working at night was very rude and I complained on leaving and staff there smiled and said sorry with no questions or direction to proper complaints . I booked 3 rooms to for my uncles 70th . It put a damper on things .

    The girl at check in was lovely very helpful.and location wasgood

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were absolutely outstanding, super friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I love that breakfast was served until 12, that was extremely convenient for us as a family of 6. I love the layout for the adjoining room, particularly the added security of a lockable door to gain access to the 2 separate rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room only had a double and a single which isn't ideal for a family of 4.

    The room and facilities were fine - just as you'd expect for an Ibis. What did impress me though was the breakfast for which we paid extra - and the staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the buffet breakfast was generally very fresh and tasty, I chose not to sample the battleship grey sliced ham on offer.

    Bed was extremely comfortable and I slept very well indeed. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hate the idea of dogs being allowed we were next to some and they were barking a bit dogs should be in kennels

    location was good ,staff excellent,price was value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think I accidentally booked a hotel in the wild west. Outside the property, I overheard some other guests discussing the merits of the intimate area of a lady they had met the evening before. As we arrived late, my partner took my 13 year old to a nearby McDonald's for food, where there was a police car and ambulance im attendance, breaking up a fight and tending to a young lady who was feeling a bit "poorly". During their absence, I heard a fellow guest slur expletives at his door key card as he was, presumably, too drunk to operate it however this was very skilfully managed by a member of staff. On my partner's return from McDonald's they encountered what we assume was the same man, lying across the bottom of stairs still with his drink in his hand and shouting at any who dared step over/ around him.

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Were excellent in managing the behaviour of some of the rowdier guests, which leads me to believe that this hotel is often used by customers looking for a drunken night out. Facilities clean and modern. Parking on site and free

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expect some noise at the weekends, fine for our stay but may not be suitable for family’s as it’s popular with stag/hen party’s due to location

    Great location, free parking, spacious room, everything you expected from a budget hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was delayed while we waited for chap on Reception to persuade unwanted visitors to leave. Decor could be more cheerful?

    Staff were very helpful and kind. Room was basic but clean and fairly comfortable. Breakfast was good! Useful location near the station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good basic hotel, excellent value for money, with friendly efficient staff and easy free parking at the rear. We had requested, and got, a quiet room and had no problems, but I could imagine some rooms would be noisey as Botchergate is a lively area with bars etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom module was a bit odd.

    Ease of booking in,great location,clean good sized room,late checkout ,very friendly and available staff 👍🏻 The Lady on reception (Mel) was very friendly and really helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great welcome and swift checkin, giving us all the information we needed. The room was clean and well planned out. Very happy with room and location of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nightclubbers returning to their rooms being noisy, loud doors closing and stamping feet up and down the corridors. A small fridge would be very useful and we weren't able to have our soup heated up by the kitchen staff (health & safety)! But I suppose most people eat out anyway. Not enough towels for two people. Breakfast not included.

    We were at the back which was generally quiet, however we were woken on Friday and Saturday in the early hours by nightclubbers returning to their rooms. They do provide ear plugs which are found behind the TV (but they're foam so not the best)! It's a good thought though and I am a very light sleeper. The beds were very comfortable and there are spare pillows (also comfortable), good shower and usual tea/coffee making facilities. Good clothes hanging storage space. Close the Carlisle train station - useful if no car, and central Carlisle. They do have an on site restaurant where you can have breakfast and the hotel is close to many restaurants such as the Oriental next door and an Indian restaurant two doors away. If you forget anything, there is a large ASDA supermarket about a ten minute walk away which is open late.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were nail clippings under the bed, a screaming match took place outside my room on the first night at 2330. The second night a drunken guy was kicking my room door at 0200. On a Monday and Tuesday night not what I would want or expect. I will not be staying here again.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked more in room re room service, bar meals menu, etc.

    The hotel was easy to find, not far from the railway station.Reception staff very friendly and helpful. My room was large and spacious with good lighting and good work space. En-suite was well-designed with plenty of shelf space. I didn't use the WiFI, so cannot rate this. Bed was o.k. but there was no extra blanket. I think I might have been cold, had I not brought my own hot water bottle. There was also no brochure in room re room service or bar meals and no instructions for TV. My room was on the 3rd floor towards the back, so I did not find it noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor when we asked for bottom floor and the lift was not working so we had to walk all the way up with our bags then all the way back down if needed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The step into the bathroom was an inconvenience whilst under the influence haha

    Very Modern, Clean Hotel You cant get any more Central for all the bars, clubs & restaurant's Couple of minutes walk from the train station The street gets closed off to traffic at night Cheap Cheerful Will defo be booking again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central and close to everything with very little walking distance. Rooms pretty spacious with great lighting in the bathroom. Plenty of power sockets and facilities. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn't working while we there, the staff didn't tell us but in end bought it to 3 floor if I knew we gone on 1 floor, but staff bought suitcase up and down which was good, but shouldn't have to do that at weekends, also was old room.

    The room was ok 👌

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A comfortable night's stay at the Ibis Carlisle. It is well placed in the middle of the city, but was very quiet in the hotel. There was a good buffet breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a towel each a hand towel would have been nice, we went out and bought one. Car park handy but we did not use it as came by train. Hotel is a very short walk from Rail station. Handy for town centre which is a short walk away too.

    Large comfy bed, quiet and large room, lovely en suite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 101, two nightclubs opposite and a pole dancing club behind. Pillows made from cement. Why have a room 101, it's like having a 13...?

    You know what you're getting

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift was out of order. Room got so hot even though i turned heating thermostat do 15 as soon as i arrived

    Great location and value for money. Perfect for overnight stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Good breakfast, helpful staff, always someone on duty and wen we needed a map it was produced very quickly despite them having run out on the stand

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed (3adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn’t working, and as we had a elderly lady with us, it wasn’t ideal. We were on the first floor which was up three flights of stairs. I had a bad leg and my friends mum couldn’t go out anywhere after we checked in as she couldn’t manage the stairs again. I always book with the ibis, and normally have no complaint whatsoever. I love the hotel.

    The staff were excellent, couldn’t be more helpful. Room was clean,

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: