Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Chesterfield Centre – Market Town 2 stars

Lordsmill Street, Chesterfield, S41 7RW, United Kingdom

#15 of 22 hotels in Chesterfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1857 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had lots of trouble with the room key and the girl on reception had to help me (not the only person with a problem) car park does not have anywhere near enough places for the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Built near a dangerous busy round-about, without pedestrian access No pedestrian access into the hotel Outdated facilities in rooms - toilets constantly getting clogged.

    Comfortable and cosy rooms Easy express check-in Easy Express check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except as vegetarians we would use the restaurant more if there was a better menu choice... but then that’s the same everywhere

    Front of house Staff are fantastic. Cleaners give you everything you need and don’t disturb you. Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rather warm even with windows open, but we were offered a fan. So all good.

    Bed very comfortable. Very good fruit salad and natural yoghurt for breakfast along with all the usual cooked items. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is positioned on a roundabout which is very awkward if you are travelling on foot. No pedestrian crossings, so we literally had to run across 2 lane very busy roads with lots of hooting and beeping from cars. Not ideal for us. Also because my room looked out on to the roundabout there was an additional window in place to help with noise. I was able to open that but unfortunately it was not possible to open the outside windows which meant the room was exceptionally stuffy during the night.

    Very pleasant stay. Hotel just as expected. Staff very very helpful. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced in my opinion for what i paid. £90 No rooms have a bath (wetroom only) Room smelt poorly Wallpaper hanging off the walls Felt like I was honestly staying in a hospital or old people’s home I’ve paid less for a one night stay at a premier inn and it was so so much better

    Was coveient as its close to the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have done with an extra chair in the bedroom and the staff looked untidy in their red T shirts.

    The location was good for our visit to Chatsworth House and it was nice to be able to park in the Hotel grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located off a busy roundabout, quite tricky walking across dual carriageway to get into town centre. Also no air conditioning in the room and loud traffic noise made sleeping with the windows open a tough choice. Not especially good value, £80 for a Saturday night.

    Easy to find by car, with ample parking. Nice clean hotel, handy for town centre (once you have taken your life in your hands crossing the busy road!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Very busy noisy roundabout outside our window.

    Rooms were adequate for a one night stay but had asked for a quiet room and was given one overlooking the busiest road/roundabout that we have experienced. The toilet didn't flush very well but the room was clean and twin beds were comfortable. Breakfast had a great choice and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt pretty awful ? drains. Twin room, Ziploc beds. Had to move bedside cabinets to give space between the beds, I have known my friend for a very long time, however we do like distance between us !!! Weather very hot, not able to open the windows very much. No air con . Traffic noise horrendous as hotel on an extremely busy roundabout ! Just one of those things, ear plugs useful!!

    Central location, easy walking to town centre etc.Good parking. Lovely housekeeping team. Easy check-in & out. Good sized room, comfy beds. Large kettle, plenty of tea, coffee etc. Everything worked !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of soundproofing. No sleep due to traffic on roundabout. Felt unsafe crossing 3 lanes of traffic to and from hotel.Poor ventilation due to lack of air conditioning. Very hot and uncomfortable sleep with or without windows open. Poor lighting beside basin in bathroom. Poor water pressure in the shower.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was large crack in hand basin in bathroom

    The room was clean and breakfast was good.we went into town in the evening very good and easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    MECHANICAL THROBING NOISE IN BEDROOM No 125 UNABLE TO SLEEP REPORTED TO FRONT DESK AT ABOUT 8.30PM told it switched off a 10.30 Noise and vibration continued throughout the night, both unable to sleep peacefully COMPLAINED to Oliver at front desk at 5.30 am returned to room and booked Premier Inn for night of 7th/8th Staff and assistant manager most helpful but THANK YOU FOR THE REFUND regards Ray & Sue

    The staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive, the lift was hotter than the sun, use the stairs if possible

    Bar, tv, friendly staff downstairs. Tv in room, also kettle &hairdryer. Location was excellent for local bars and nightlife. Quiet and comfy nights sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit too loud with window open as no aircon. Maybe black out curtains. But overall good stay

    Great value for money, very clean and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we 1st got in the room there was a smell. But the windows were open and so assumed it was to air the room out from previous guest. We closed the window when we left but when we returned that night the smell was back. We realised it was coming from the bathroom sink. It didnt spoil our stay but was just an unpleasant smell. Also the room seemed quite dark as the main light was by the door and didnt light the room well, which when getting ready for a wedding was a bit of a pain. And also only had tea/coffee enough for one drink each.

    Only paid £39 for a room for a night. Booked really far in advance as was for a wedding. Staff really nice and helpful. The room was clean, tidy, spacious.and quiet considering location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled to Chesterfield by train and walked to the Ibis Chesterfield Centre but it was very, very difficult to cross the road to get to and from the hotel because of the volume of traffic and absence of a controlled pedestrian crossing.

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel had a good atmosphere. Very clean, comfortable rooms very good breakfasts in relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic noise to front or rear is a problem as sited between two main roads. Although a short walk to town centre a busy main road has to be crossed without any control over traffic.

    Bed was comfy and bedroom close to lift. All appeared clean and well-kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a great car park which was free and it this day and age is a big bounds for drivers. The building was clean and bright and very homely.

    When we arrived we were greeted by two young lady who were polite and great at making us feel at ease

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed here before and all very good. This time I was in room 10 on the ground floor next to the lift machine room. The plant was making a thumping noise all the time even when the lift was not in use. At 3.30 am I complained to the night porter, nothing he could do, no other rooms available. I got 50% off the bill.

    Great central location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms keys didn't work very well, every time you had to swipe about 4-5 times before it opened tge door & it wasn't just us that had the same problem

    Really helpful pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was better than expected

    The hotel was in a perfect location staff was extremely help and professional I certainly would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find any fault as excellent for the price

    Good value for money and ideal location for town centre. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was everything you required. Good value breakfast with lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it would have been nice ro have had some shampoo in the bathroom and not having a phone in the room was very inconvenient

    very convenienty sited for my needs in Chesterfield . the staff were warm and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms can get very stuffy when it's hot and opening the windows to let some fresh air in brings a lot of noise from traffic outside and the walls are so thin you can hear people's conversations that are in the rooms next too you

    I've stayed here 3 times now and I like the hotel plus it's the easiest hotel to get to being has I don't drive, so walking from the town centre it's not that far, it's just crossing at the roundabout which can be a nightmare at times if it's busy,the room overall was clean and smelled fresh,I cannot fault the rooms to be honest every room I've stayed in here have always been very nice, I've never eaten at the hotel so can't rate the hotels restaurant, the staff the ones I've spoken too always seem very welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty and smelt of smoke, staff were informed and put an air freshener in the room, so room was then overpowered with air freshener, staff didn’t offer to move us to a different room, won’t stay here again.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff indifferent to customers, no towels in room one day. Room not cleaned another day although vacant from 10.00 to 17.00

    Room spacious for this type of hotel and clean on arrival

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired scruffy dirty rooms Well worn bathroom with a shower you could make tea with, the thermostatic control didn’t work. Thin heavily worn towels Filth under the beds

    Convenient for chesterfield centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, near such a busy road far too loud to have the window open Not enough tea bags and milk, enough for 1 drink each

    Good size room and central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather grubby, bedding not the usual crisp white we expect. Bathroom smelly drains especially when we turned the water on. Water pressure poor. Mildue in the shower. Very noisy not a good nights sleep Overall the worst Ibis we’ve ever stayed in. Liverpool is excellent. La Rochelle, Rouen,cognac and Le Mans also excellent. Need to up the standards at this one

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit dated and mine smelled as though it had previously been a smoking room. It was noticeable even after I'd left the window open.

    The hotel was conveniently located, with on site parking and easy walking distance to the town centre. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The be was very uncomfortable, Breakfast buffet was okay. Could have done with abit more verity on the hot breakfast

    Good value for money and brilliant location. Staff helpful and room was clean and presentable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at midnight

    Spacious room with king bed, very quiet with double glazing and secondary double glazing. Breakfast was buffet style and you could go up 10 times if you wanted. Free pool table, just push the button for a free game. The staff work hard and it's immaculate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was next to a main road roundabout and was red hot so we had to open the window but then had the noise from traffic all night and it kept us awake. Then the bathroom wasn't clean at all. Had all hairs in the shower and isn't any door on shower so the whole bathroom got slippy on the floor from water splashing out of the shower tray, then the staff was miserable and don't really care about anything. Had 3 room keys and only 1 worked. No spare towels either. Wasn't happy with this stay.

    They had a pool table etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic room with low budget carpet. We were lucky to get in the car park but if we had arrived slightly later we wouldn't have found a space. We were given a room overlooking the busy road and the traffic noise was terrible. However, when we complained we were given an alternative which was much quieter.

    The bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The shower was nice and hot. The location was convenient for the shops and town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room card was activated for only one night when I was staying three. I had to go down to reception and they didn’t really know how long I was staying for which showed a bit or disorganisation

    24 hour reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the hotel is located in close proximity to a dual carriageway it was not noisy.

    It was well located and convenient for Chatsworth House. The decor of the room was a little tired and the carpet although clean was stained. Ibis thankfully are ubiquitous and do very well in what they offer. There are a couple of retail parks within a 10 minute walk offering a good range of shops, eateries and a cinema. I was impressed with Ibis’ use of non bleached towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A young blond staff member was less than friendly. Too busy on her phone to help us and disgruntled when she finally did help. Doesn't look good to have a staff member lying on the sofa at the entrance to the hotel!

    Very comfy big beds, great breakfast! 50 of us cyclists stayed the weemend. Great base for cycling in the hills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water that had lemons and limes which i liked the idea, unfortunately it wasnt changed for the 4 days i stayed.. the limes had started turning brown in the water. It was very noticeable that the breakfast was made up of the cheapest and poorest ingredients. I opted for the croissants with a coffee most mornings so I was ok, it was a bit steep for £9 though. The bed and pillows left me with pretty bad neck pain.

    It was pretty clean. It was central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was like standing on concrete. Mattress was old. Shower hardly had any power. Very bog standard for the price.

    Lady on reception was very helpful. Wifi was good speed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main road is very close which is good but thankfully the double glazing works.

    Clean and comfortable room. Lots of services available and great central location which was ideal for my visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking hadn't been passed on to the hotel so they weren't expecting us

    Efficiency off staff to sort out our booking that hadn't been passed on

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There wasn't really anything that I can pinpoint that I didn't like except for the minor inconvenience of crossing at the round about but that is really the only thing I can think of. The staff were very friendly and the room was nice.

    I really enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and the softness of the bed. I wasn't sure what I was expecting but overall it was very good. The noise of the motorway didn't really bother me and it was an easy walk from the train station. (I'd say about 15 minute walk but if you don't want to traverse traffic with luggage, it might be better to get a cab. There is a round about that can be a bit tricky to calculate where the cars will go. Most of the time it didn't take long to cross) I didn't try the breakfast at all so I can't say much for that, but it was definitely close enough to a lot of the shopping so that is a bonus as well. It was never more than a 5-8 minute walk to shopping places. I really enjoyed my stay overall and would recommend it and stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    funny smell in the corridor and bedroom, never had clean towels for the 4 days we were there. Also the toilet didn't have a good flush (took several flushes to clear waste)

    good variety of hot and cold food for breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AS I AM DISABLED AND HAD A DISABLED ROOM I CAN ONLY SAY THAT FOR ME THE ROOM WAS FINE BUT AS I HAD STAYED THERE BEFORE I KNEW IT WAS GOOD FOR MY NEEDS. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE STAYING THERE IS AS I USE A ELECTRIC SCOOTER TO GET AROUND TO GET TO THE HOTEL MEANS CROSSING A BUSY MAIN ROAD WITH NO CONTROLLED CROSSING PLACE THIS IS NOT THE FAULT OF THE HOTEL BUT WITH TRAFFIC LIGHTS IT WOULD BE MUCH BETTER.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked to move room as there was a continual buzzing noise, maybe from a fan? It was awful. They did move me to the room a floor above. ... the buzzing was still there which was frustrating and made sleeping / being in the room difficult.

    Helpful staff, good location and know what you are getting with the standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to like

    Location value for money friendly staff. We arrived early as we were attending a funeral. The the staff were most help full allowing us to check early. So we could change our cloths. Best staff I’ve ever come across

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the card-locks on the room door - we booked three rooms and for al of them, one had to swipe the cards several times before they reacted. The breakfast was full English but well - it was pretty tasteless, I did not know it is possile to do the bacon in such a way..

    Clean, conveniently located near the centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be more powerful. Selection of drinks in bar could be better quality for price. Location is good but by main road, which some people may struggle to cross due to being busy.

    Good location- within walking distance of both train station and town centre. We went to see Kevin Bridges at the Pomegranate Theatre, which was also only a short walk away. Hotel Staff are helpful, the atmosphere is relaxed and breakfast is leisurely and available until midday!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel for the value is good, but the wifi is extremely poor, couldn’t get any work done due to poor wifi, had to use my phone as a share point as 4G sognal was better than wifi, Also the elevator needssorting out, too dangerous to use it.

    Very friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all ok

    We found it a very nice and relaxing stay, nice room and shower, just a little noisey as the traffic started early morning on the road nearby, but otherwise was very nice place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelt a little fusty Crossing the road outside the hotel is always a challenge

    Excellent location and central to bars and restaurants Friendly staff Warm and welcoming bar/recreational area where we always have a game of pool to start the evening

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu on piece of A4 paper not enough variety on menu

    Room adequate size beds were comfortable cleaning good standard had problem with shower rectified same day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stopped at the hotel many times , but it's gone downhill ! Obviously now ran on a budget , with inexperienced and rude young staff. Hotel was full of drunken hooligans running amok until 5.30 am

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    From the minute we walked in to reception and greeted by a lovely friendly receptionist Sammy Everything was lovely, clean, tidy, helpful Definitely would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at the hotel staff were pleasant but slow and not enthusiastic to tell us what was available. The room was basic but clean but cold however we pulled the duvet back off the bed and the mattress was wet through large patch and the duvet was wet. Went to reception and spoke to a helpful lady who immediately gave us the room next door. It was better but still cold. After sorting the heating out went for a drink on the bar. Poor slow service and no chilled beers available.

    Convient location free parking free wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was traffic noise but it quietened down and we had a good night's sleep. So not a big issue and wouldn't put us off staying again.

    Comfortable room with decent shower. Enjoyable breakfast. Good to have free parking in town centre location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy (thin internal walls). Some things did not work. For example the sink would not drain.

    Very good breakfast. Great value for money. Great double glazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all just a bit drab and tired. Staff were vague and uninterested. Bathroom basic and the milk in the room was off...two cartons were like yogurt. Just the whole thing suggested a lack of care.

    This hotel is in an excellent location and was easy to find and park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need a referb.

    Great location, ibis chesterfield is aLloyd about the location. Good bar friendly staff. Hotel needs a referb rooms and hallways are tired.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no shuttle to airport - access /down hill - not good with 30kg plus of luggage - awful view of fuelling station for airport and given a room with a connecting door (not asked for ) this was not soundproofed and so could hear all of next doors going ons - seems like lots of airline staff are accommodated here - food bad (microwaved and expensive ) - decor tatty - ok its a cheap hotel with a reasonable location near to airport but had to pay for taxi so might as well have been further out in a decent place

    the staff were friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy neighbours We think someone had been drinking and we're noisy on their return Ibis cannot bring held responsible for this, they were just inconsiderate guests.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a criticism, but a suggestion for improvement. I prefer larger bath towels (i.e. bath sheets) to standard bath towels.

    It was all I expected with a very comfy bed. The shower was nice and strong, too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location means noise from main road is constant, though not massively loud. Lack of phone in the room to contact reception is a minor bugbear.

    Comfy and relatively cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was dodgy. The lift made a lot of noise at night whilst to sleep. Damp/mole in the shower.

    Nice warm room, very friendly and helpful staff. Right next door to all the shops in the heart of Chesterfield.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card for my door did not work in the afternoon.had to get it constantly reprogrammed.food not great not much of a menu.

    The hotel was close to local shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked extra milk and teabags in the room, less noise, No mirror to sit and do your make up and dry your hair.

    The beds were fine, nice to have extra pillows.w

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double glazing needs improving - lots of traffic noise. Charged £10 as we had a dog, more than we usually pay. Boring room, no decoration/pictures. Breakfast was expensive, so we had breakfast in town which was much cheaper. Heating difficult to control.

    Comfortable bed. Good shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At times was loud during night (other guests).

    Very helpful and nice personnel. Quite good price-quality. I do not have any previous experience in other hotels to compare with, so cannot give more details yet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all of the above.

    room was very cold no extractor fan in bathroom on arriving not told about lights needing a card. could do with a leaflet explaining things if staff not doing it. windows need more noise control. we wouldn't stop here again the only people that were very friendly and nice were the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being put in a disabled room! We are not Disabled! We did have pets. We did pay extra for having pets! We're given no choice in room. Told abruptly 'if you have pets you get put in a disabled room'. This is so wrong! My husband is 6ft, the bathroom facilities were all far too low! We have stayed in a better class of hotel, WITH OUR PETS, and not been treated this way!

    The breakfast, but unfortunately had to pay extra for this. Also location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needs a good bleaching. Breakfast at 0900 was cold and tasteless not worth £9. Dreadful for people without a car. Roads nearby are fenced off and dangerous.

    Locality to town centre. Comfortable bed. Room had room to move around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people next to us was arguing and smashing things up until all hours in the morning my partner is 6months pregnant I had taken her away for the night to relax and rent but because of this she had no sleep at all causing my night away to be totally pointless and no staff or security attempted to intervene in the other party's altercation, leading to utter discust that I am far from happy with, my partner was upset and I'd wasted money

    The comfort of the bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like We didn’t stay long enough to get to know anything else

    We stayed over as we was celebrating a birthday function . Ibis was ideally situated for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned before lighting very low Verty noisy with a lot of door banging going on Was charged twice when i checked in as i had already paid for the room in advance and they tried to charge me again Rod is a bit hairrasing to cross and the path isnt great - needs a proper walk way as we had to scramble up a bank!

    Good position and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: