Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Coventry Centre 2 stars

Mile Lane, Coventry, CV1 2LN, United Kingdom

#13 of 29 hotels in Coventry

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1788 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I appreciate that work was going on at the hotel but it did mean that there was a lot of dust on the stairs

    Staff very friendly & helpful although if you are going to be put in charge of a bar you should know what a lager top is & a shandy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Queued for ages to check in, staff member was covering bar as well. Ground floor area was being refurbished so not a great first impression. Rooms were too hot.

    The breakfast was self serve so quick and a varied choice for budget hotel. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plastic single use teaspoons in the bedroom!!!!!

    Quick easy check in, comfy bed, close proximity to town centre, good quality fittings, clean bathroom, cost of car park was very reasonable for a city centre hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - I didn't find anything that was not up to standard.

    It is a great place to stay. Great location for city centre. We stayed the weekend for motofest. Perfectly located for this. The rooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard. Everything was clean and staff were very helpful and polite. We will definitely book again for next year and parking is only £5 for overnight stay. Bargain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds in twin room beds are stuck together. No problem for single but if 2mates sharing be aware. The pillows is way too hard.

    Good value breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady receptionist shouldn’t really be a receptionist. Always had a cold vibe like she didn’t want to be there. The hygiene was the worst

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow check in staff... due to the wait the guests in front of me given complimentary breakfast. However I was not, despite waiting as long (inconsistency in levels of service there!). However majority of staff are friendly and try to do their best. Worst thing for us was that the bedrooms don’t have air con and are extremely warm.

    Nice lobby area, newly renovated, bed was very comfy and a great shower!! Overall not a bad stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    I would like to make a complaint so I will start on here before I take it further and see if I receive any feedback. I booked the room on behave of a friend who travelled. I phoned 3 days before to confirm that I had paid or at least that my friend did not need to on arrival. I was 100% given reassurance that it was ok and my card would be charged. On her arrival she was required to pay! Not only this when she got to her room it was disgusting and not clean with glasses and cups everywhere. Really poor effort from a chain of hotels I use a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t aware of refurbishment & noise of builders very noisy early morning of s bank holiday . Overall handy for city Centre

    Staff very helpful & put things right . Maybe short staffed & undergoing refurbishment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very modern, comfortable beds and clean , safe parking easy reach of city centre.

    A little bit of noise from building work , hotel being refurbished, but not a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no prior notification of very noise renovations that were taking palce

    The food kept running out at breakfast. It did not seem that the hotel was prepared for the crowd booked in for a local conference; all of whom needed to eat that the same time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel got renovated diring my stay... The bathroom didn't fit the standard I expected. The room was very dark, the only window was in front of the aircondition of the building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush sounded like a jet fighter's engine probably waking someone up. The window of one of our rooms couldn't be properly closed and leaked some cold air but was not a big deal.

    Location. Staff. Cleaness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we really needed it but television programmes very limited could not get BBC Having to pay for parking

    The room was adequate for our stay and was comfortable -breakfast was plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had a large TV but reception didn't have any HDMI cables to provide.. and AC system was a bit dodgy

    It was a cosy place and staff was very lovely. Quick check-in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was a great hotel

    How is this hotel just 2 stars?! The room: it had plenty of room, it was clean, the bed was very comfy and the shower had a decent size too! Staff: Great people, those I interacted with were always very friendly and helpful. Food: Had a dinner once, it was average: nor bad, nor mind-blowing, Location: It was close to the center and the train station. The hotel has a bus-stop right in front, but I never used it so I can't comment about how useful the bus there are.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so incredibly uncomfortable. However they are currently renovating their rooms so I assume the situation will improve soon.

    The staff were extremely lovely. Location is a plus to - close to the train station and city centre extremely continent. Rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be really nice to have a small fridge in the room but it wasn't such a problem as we stayed there for only one night

    Bed was very comfortable, the room was clean, TV was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival workman at the property, have subsequently found out that the work has been going on for a while, very noisy until about 4pm, after that, no problems noise wise.. TV very limited channels...as in freeview, not all working.

    Fair price for an over night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was being renovated. It would have been nice to know that at the time of booking. The room we had looked nothing like the pictures on the site. Handicapped bathroom was a wet room which doesn't give you piece of mind. When we checked in after a 27 hr journey., we were exhausted and just wanted to lay down.We didn't complain. If that's their idea of an awesome room they SHOULDN'T be in the hotel business. Lastly the no REFUND POLICY sticks the travelers and puts a damper on the vacation.

    The staff at the hotel great! I don't know how they can do all they do INCLUDING the cooking as this property has a full restaurant .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notice of paid parking

    Everything was clean and comfortable. Nice cool room. Loves the space age bathroom. 2nd floor room facing the cathedral not a bad view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is module inside the room. It was smelly, like a sewer, when we got in. Maybe some air freshener could solve the problem. The breakfast could be also improved. They could have some plug adaptors available for foreigners travelers.

    The staff. My complements to all off them, specially to Beatriz, from the reception. She had de kindness to go home and borrow her plug adaptor so I could work with my non-english laptop. The bed and the shower were also quite conformtable and good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor buffet breakfast with rubbery scrambled eggs (the only option) one day and no eggs at all the next. Breakfast was badly laid out so that there was little room to reach what you wanted when more than two people were there at the same time.

    A convenient budget hotel within 10 minute's walk via an underpass into Coventry city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no hairdryer in the room. But I not the end of the world.

    Great, location, place was spotless and staff really good. I had a new upgraded room which was nicely done. Also breakfast was great. Thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The value for money was low. The property had some construction works going on and the value didn't include breakfast.

    The staff were quite accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prebooked stay but receptionist tried to overcharge me on check in. No scrambled eggs at Breakfast on 2nd day, asked if there was any being cooked was told they had no stock.

    Close to railway station and walking distance to city centre. Spacious room and comfortable bed. Very Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above. Modern design looks good but isn't necessarily that comfortable.

    You could do with some basic fixtures & fittings such as a bin in the room, as basic set of draws. Overall liked the room & the shower was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast choice should have been fine but items running out were not always replaced. I was over-charged for some additional items on check-out which the hotel insisted was correct, something I might dispute.

    Despite undergoing a refurbishment the hotel seemed to generally function well with friendly obliging staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ithought the breakfast was a bit pricey, also on my visit, the staff where overwhelmed at times by the number of guests taking breakfast together, took ages for the food containers to be refilled, at one point they ran out of mugs,and put paper cups out.

    bed was comfey,room and shower room was clean.Handy for Railway Station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was not serviced fully on Saturday. The tea tray was not replenished and my used cup was left from the morning. The bath mat was not replaced.

    The staff were very helpful and the bed was very comfortable. It is unfortunate that major refurbishment works were taking place and a large part of our group was relocated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the hotel is going through a major refit which we didn't know about we made allowances but in the dining area the noise was high mostly due to the dining chairs been dragged in and out at the tables which was annoying other than that we coped well.

    Rooms nice and clean. bed very comfy with nice bedding and towels breakfast at £6.95 was good all that we needed and presented well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel near railway and only a short walk into town. The room was compact but well designed and comfortable. Breakfast is available and there is a bar for drinks and food. And the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a pleasant Coventry stopover here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wash basin appeared to be completely blocked when I first used it. In fact, the water drained away slowly so it was not a problem (plenty of time elapsing between successive uses).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hairdryer not available in room, although they did find me one.

    Rooms comfortable and close to city centre. Buffet breakfast excellent. Good value for money, I have stayed twice now and will stay again if I am in Coventry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was extreme noise from the early hours directly above my room. I was wakened very early and ended up exhausted the whole next day. When checking out I told the receptionist and was simply told that there's refurbishment going on and 'sorry'.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the day room rental rate with made you think that something odd is happening when people are checking in without bags, made me feel very uncomfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location with a short walk to City Centre. Room looking a bit tired, but hotel currently undergoing a refurb - so hopefully this will resolve this.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were building works going on. The accommodation was very tired, in desperate need of an update. Bathroom ‘pod’ flooded the minute the shower was turned on.

    Room was tidy and clean. Staff reasonably friendly/helpful - when asked, not forthcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place needs to be redecorated and parking should not be chargeable for guests, period.

    Food tasty. Staff friendly. Room clean. Handy for town. Great shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is under refurbishment, so allowance has to be made. Lobby was very cold, not an employable place to sit in

    Value for money & very comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything , the rooms are so dirty and so shabby, they are also under construction but no notification given on the website. Most discusting rooms ever.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe more healthy options in the restaurant in the evening.

    Everything was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and there was no hassle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the building lacks any comfort - the rooms are very basic.

    Location - and it offered a clean bed with a good shower close to the university where I was working.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a big towel per person, I would add a smaller one, for hands/face.

    Easy to reach walking from the bus station and from the railway station, kind staff at the reception, restaurant open until 10pm in case of late arrival, clean room and comfortable bed. Pretty good choice for breakfast. Nothing special but good for this type of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the most basic room you will stay in. if your desperate stay here. air conditioning unit drip water on to the carpet all night long, kept on waking me up, management didn't really address the matter properly which was very disappointing. a real basic pre-fab bathroom although the shower was also quite good. way to expensive for what this hotel is. its a £ 40-50 a night max!

    breakfast was better than what i was expecting compared to the rest of the hotel. the shower was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was unacceptable for the price .was all frozen processed food . Yet it states online that its a restaurant very unlikely. Also staff assured us there was a vegetarian option for breakfast and all that we were able to eat was beans and toast and where then told that the hotel had no eggs. Think this is a disgrace.

    Beds were really comfortable .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spartan, the bed and quilt were thin, there were dogs staying in rooms, the coffee was awful and the choice of food and drink poor, cleanliness was questionable

    the shower was hot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The step up into the bathroom was not easy for an elderly person especially at night and I would have liked a seat in the shower.

    The staff were all very helpful .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drains stank, One of the sockets didn’t work. No sockets next to the bed, Old dingey decor, horrible draft in the cafeteria Parking should have been included in the price.

    The good&breakfast was great, staff pleasant, helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior to and during my stay I mentioned 3 times that i had coeliac disease and required a gluten free breakfast and each time i was assured it would be ok. On the morning of my staff i was advised that no food could be provided for me despite the allergen booklet stating that most of the breakfast was gluten free. therefore due to being stuck in traffic the night before i had to go for 24 hours without food.

    Location, room size, cleanliness, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink broken so the floor flooded and the plug socket (only 1) didn't fit a plug where the lead comes out the bottom

    Comfortable bed and hot shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window leaked cold air into the room. To the point were we had to get extra blanket. There was white powder on the floor around the beds, which worried us. We could smell smoke in the hall way. It smelt like cigarette smoke. All in all it was a cold stay. We understand that it was snowing but inside it was freezing as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite small and out dated e.g. the decor, carpets etc. The bathroom was a little like being in a caravan (clearly an add on to the original room), clean and pleasant but not what I expected.

    The staff were lovely and the location is brilliant, right next to the city centre. The bar/restaurant area is nice and modern and there is ample parking to the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The behaviour of staff who was on reception desk on 20.02.2018 was worst i ever face. When i asked about iron he said me we d,t have and i c,t provide and star shouted on me. One of worst staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasr option was for buffet at a set cost, which was ok if you wanted a large breakfast but not worth the money for just cereal and toast.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I contacted them by email for a receipt for my stay as if yet no reply The food was not great The rooms need some upgrading

    Staff on arrival at evening were helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely freezing. I slept in my clothes! In check out I was told that room needed an additional heater and that all rooms would’ve been updated by April this year!!! 😡 Of no use to me now... Lasagna for evening meal had clearly come out of a freezer and I paid a handsome sum of £10.95 for the privilege.

    Location was great to attend my planned meeting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired and needs a lock of paint.

    Central, easy to get to and park clean and SUPER comfortable beds....reception staff efficient and friendly, (Romanian gentleman).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel did not seem to match the description on the website. I had hoped & intended that it was within a ten minute walk at most of the centre & its facilities. In fact it was adjacent to a busy dual carriageway & was a taxi ride into the actual city centre.

    The staff were friendly & very helpful. The room was clean and nicely warm on a bitterly cold winter day. My pizza was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some fruit at breakfast would have been good

    Bed was very comfy but we had a single bed as well so no where to plug in the kettle so had to use plug socket by window and balance kettle on window sill , we noticed other rooms had a dressing table area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway could do with a makeover and the beds were very squeaky

    The staff were very helpful the room size was perfect and the bathroom pod was ingenious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With Ibis you know what you are signing up for - simple, cheap and functional. The one in Coventry is all those things but very tired indeed. The carpet is very scruffy / dirty both in communal areas and in the rooms, the room smelled a bit stale and faintly of feet although I wouldn't say it was unclean in the room generally, just very well used. The lift wasn't working for 3 days and still wasn't working when we left. A day you can understand while they get the engineer out but 3 days plus during the week is a long time. We arrived on the first night at 10pm and the kitchen was closed, but they have a 24hr menu. It was £12 for a Chicago Town Pizza (it even said it was Chicago Town on the menu) which was a bit odd but served the purpose. The bar was good though, friendly and reasonably well stocked. The breakfast was very standard. Cereal, juice etc. But the cooked option was poor - think 1980's motorway service station. Rubbery scrambled egg, watery beans greasy hash browns and so on. We had it once but weren't going to pay £10 a head for it each day so found breakfast elsewhere which is obviously a hassle when staying in a hotel. Overall, if the staff hadn't been as good as they were, it would have been a disappointing stay but all considered it wasn't too bad.

    Position is ok for central Coventry. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed is comfy and the shower is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stated here many times before and the rooms are getting old and used . We booked a double room and were given a disabled room when we asked to change we were told only a twin room was available .. this had a huge stain on the floor and the drains h as a bad smell. I have stayed in many ibis hotels and this was the worst by a long way ... we go to Coventry every year on business for at least 4 days and will not be booking this hotel again.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - ran out of most stuff, the kettle had a jelly like black slime all on the inside, false fire alarm first thing in the morning and the lift didn't work.

    Not a lot really, the shower was pretty good. Staff were quite friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having been asked for pre-payment and due too unforeseen circumstances our trip was cut short by a full day, on requesting a credit toward a further later stay was refused on the grounds of the pre payment, cash it appears would have been refunded, so not very pleased as this pre payment was at the Ibis request so we lost out, soured a lovely time really

    the modern design of the bathroom facilities although unusual was in itself excellent the room had seating and desktop design more than adequate so floor space at all times excellent added bonus recycle air heating also a bonus, all in all very well presented!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow, leak from toilet, dried-up guacamole, curled-up ham, no fresh fruit one morning.

    Hot water, warm room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where not welcoming, I arrived at 2pm. When asked about a snack the gentleman said he was on his own so was too hard for him to do that. I had travelled for 4 hours. I was told the restaurant opened at 6pm. I went down at 6 to order ribs and they had been crossed off the menu. I didn’t fancy anything else so I ended up ordering a takeaway. Staff did not smile or make you feel welcome, they weren’t helpful at all. When I came down for breakfast just before 8am the restaurant was a mess. Every table was full of dirty plates. Guest had to ask for a table to be cleared before they could sit down.

    The Hotel was quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor. Food was not very fresh and there was no staff to request anything.

    Location was good for what we required with parking outside and a good bar. The room was basic but fine, the shower however, that was superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no more travel adaptors to borrow as previous guests had taken them.

    Helpful staff, good breakfast & dinner, comfortable room for the price. Easy walk to the train station & city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quilt cover was dirty when i first arrived my room. There were black spots all around. Thankfully staff were extra nice and they changed it directly even though it was night. Breakfast was not soo good but it was enough to be full after and there were traditional English breakfast. Also i' ve experienced many stay in Ibis Hotels in different countries and there is always one common problem is door card issue. All time that i've accommodated more than 1 night, i had always room card wasn' t working after 1st night.

    Staff were really nice and kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really cold and the air conditioning was not able to heat up the room in efficient time. It was set up to 30 degrees but its position (on top of the entrance door) just makes it really difficult to make a decent temperature in the room in a reasonable time. By the time i left in the morning next day it was decent temperature.Im talking about January :| Good thing that they have a hair dryer so i could heat up myself in the bed with that dryer. I'm sorry about this review but on the hallway was warmer than in my room. The covers and the pillows are synthetic so if you manage to get yourself warmer , the synthetic will make you sweat and you are back to square 1.

    The breakfast was really good, the staff amazing. The beds are comfy and the room is reasonable size for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a refurb in some areas. Limited choice for breakfast

    Excellent location for Coventry city centre and good value budget hotel. Large onsite carpark

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really cold evening in January, but the old tired heating unit made a super noisy rattling sound when I tried to warm the room up, which made it almost impossible to sleep! I had to turn off the heater and ended up having to sleep with my big coat on to try and keep warm. As you can imagine I didn’t really get much of a good nights sleep because of this. 😕

    The staff were really nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were really helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. We were allocated one room but the toilet didn't flush properly so we spoke to the man on reception who moved us straight away to another nearby room. They lent us the iron and ironing board to use and were just generally very cheerful. Excellent location if you need the city centre (an easy 10 minute walk) or the train station (only 5 minutes away). The walls to the corridors did seem a little thin as we could hear people talking along the corridors, but I heard no noise at all from the rooms either side. Had a lovely sleep, the bed was very comfortable. The shower was great! Ordered breakfast in the morning and was pleasantly surprised with the choice available - they even provided me with Gluten Free bread when I asked! I would recommend this hotel for a decent budget stay near Coventry city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor issue was that although there was a kettle in the room, there was no coffee/tea in the room.

    The room was a good size for two people, and the en-suite pod was nice and clean. Location was great - pretty central, not too far from the train station but quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Coventry Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: