Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile – Hunter Square 3 stars

6 Hunters Square (Off The Royal Mile), Old Town, Edinburgh, EH1 1QW, United Kingdom

#47 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2655 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building works outside the window. Very noisy. Someone sang outside my window at 3.00 in the morning for an hour and a half

    check in quick and easy. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It literally was spot on for everything. Small enough room but we spent very little time in it! Small but perfectly formed!

    Super location, a walk to everything. Very comfy beds...would definitely recommend...ask for upper floor room with exterior position.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were so so small. There is no air conditioning so during the warm parts of the summer like when I was there about a week ago, the rooms are stuffy and very warm. For safety the windows only open slightly so there is barely any breeze. AND THE STREET NOISE OF THOSE PARTYING DOWN BELOW ALONG WITH THE PILES OF GLASS BOTTLES BEING DUMPED INTO THE RUBISH THROUGH OUT THE NIGHT MAKE FOR NO SLEEP. I complained about how hot the room was and the noise upon check out and the front desk said they would have the manager reach out to me via email regarding this matter but that never happened.

    The location was good but the street in front of the hotel is currently closed which you don't know when you book the reservation. Taxis and UBER can not get up to the hotel to pick up or drop off if you have luggage. The hotel is clean and the staff very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room facing the square gave interesting outlook, but not very soundproof, and party people outside kept going until the early hours...

    Very helpful and friendly staff, central location and modern and comfortable surroundings. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity there were road works going on right outside the hotel.

    The staff were very efficient in checking us in. Good idea that if we didn't have the room cleaned we got a five pound voucher to use in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are not large, mostly fine for sleeping but don't be planning to spend lots of time in the hotel, you want to use the location's easy access to Edinburgh to its best advantage....you are paying for that location and it is worth it!

    Best location for walking around Edinburgh, close to the Royal Mile, plenty of nearby restaurants and shops. Has its own bar with beers on tap and a sitting area which was great for chatting with friends after sightseeing or even dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was only a 5 min walk away which wouldn't normally be an issue except for the roadworks taking place when we stayed, making actually stopping outside to drop off luggage an issue.

    Location is excellent, right in the heart of the city surrounded by pubs, bars, cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal, just off royal mile, couldn’t be more central! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. For being so central, the hotel was quiet, did not hear any traffic or revellers from outside!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carpark close by. Had to park in street 1 mile away as main street closed. Walked uphill with 2 heavy suitcases to gain access to accommodation and where to park in discounted carpark. Again not close. Room on 4th floor still heard loud roudy idiots in lane behind late at night - 2 nigh on s in a row

    Close to all attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pity that there were roadworks in front of the hotel, and it was impossible to unload luggage or check in before parking the car. Also the view from the lobby was spoiled by the huge rubbish bins positioned in front of it. Personally, I did not care for the decor in the lobby - it was too hectic, and not welcoming. However, I think this is a trend in current "modern" hotels. Also it is relatively expensive for a 3* hotel, even if it is in the centre of a capital city.

    The location was ideal for exploring the Old Town and its restaurants, history, landmarks etc. Staff were friendly, though having to work at the minimal reception which was really part of the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the soap/shampoo dispensers in the bedroom en suite. Also a carton of milk had been left under the desk suggesting the room wasn't cleaned properly.

    Foyer and bar area very modern and smart. Loved the seating and decor. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was absolutely perfect. Everything you need from museums, transportation, bars and restaurants were so close. Plus at the end of the night the lounge on the base floor was perfect to have that last nightcap before turning in for the night. The staff is super friendly and helpful as well. It was a very relaxed and friendly environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have a car, parking is challenging. Best to use public transportation.

    clean, comfortable, very convenient to Royal Mile shops, restaurants and main attractions. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were on small side but location more than made up for the size.

    Perfect location to Royal Mile. Quiet at night with windows closed. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast affordable and plenty. Appears to be new facility. Plenty of hot water and new bathrooms. Liked the options for $5 credit at small downstairs "bar" in lieu of maid service. Applaud incentives to reuse towels and make your own bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to buy in to the somewhat utilitarian style of Ibis, no cupboards, no drawers basic bathroom. But no complaints either, everything works well and staff are helpful and responsive

    Excellent location for exploring the Old Town. Friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable and clean hotel with good facilities. Staff are friendly and respond promptly. Good value for money. Breakfast was varied with hot and cold provisions and staff are quick to replenish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken sink stopper. Bathroom door that swung shut automatically (annoying). Broken soap dispenser. Staffer who questioned my request to change room.

    Location. One minute walk to High Street/Royal Mile. Clean. Outlets everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that the parking was so far away from the hotel. Even though it was subsidised it was still a fair walk.

    The property was very modern and fresh. The breakfast was also very good. Being so close to the royal mile it was very quiet too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect for a short stay

    I liked the relaxed & friendly check in, all very up to date tech. I liked the bar, interior decor & I really liked the play area with sand & deck chair which was the view from my window. A very good use of space & something fun & different! Thanks to the manager who let me sit on the deck chair & take photos!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was 1/2 mile away because the hotel is in town center... (double parked and dropped off luggage and then parked the car) Very modern hotel.... so modern they don't even have a Reception desk.... they have staff milling around the lobby with tee shirts that say "Check in with me" then they proceed to check you in via their cell phones (new concept I guess) When we got to the room it was incredibly small. Not even enough room to open 2 suitcases. They provided 1 plastic cup for us to drink water with. They did have a tee / coffee machine in room. We were going to stay 2 additional nights and decided to switch hotels to "The Scotsman Hotel which was just a block away and was slightly more expensive but worth the expense. The IBIS hotels might appeal to a younger crowd <30

    Central location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive but good for the central location

    Very comfortable modern room with everything you might want for a short stay, very central location . Room quite compact but I expected that .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A fan would have been nice to move the air around the room, but it was still pretty comfortable.

    The location is wonderful, just off the royal mile, with everything in walking distance! The staff are super friendly and helpful, and the hotel had every amenity needed at a good price. The relaxed bar downstairs was great to grab a night cap or a bottle of water before bed, and breakfast was tasty and convenient. The nicest feature we didn't expect was the spacious, clean shower with a shower door - no dirty shower curtain to wrestle with! We were very happy with our stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should have chosen a 'quiet' room and not a 'view' room. I had read the reviews about the noise out front, but I figured because we were there during the week it wouldn't be bad. I was kind of wrong on this. It wasn't terrible, but there was definitely noise from the drunken bar goers till at least 11pm.

    Wonderful staff. Comfortable beds. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were two people in the room and the first night there was only one set of towels but that was quickly fixed.

    The location of Ibis is ideal - it is literally no more than a 20 minute walk from all main attractions of Edinburgh. Most things are under 5 minutes including the main road (Royal Mile), Edinburgh Castle, best restaurants and the best nightlife. If I were to ever come back to Edinburgh, I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A problem is definitely the cleanliness around the breakfast section. We sat at tables with sticky tops and breadcrumbs everywhere. Dirty plates with egg rests were on the clean pile. Sticky trays put back on the clean pile without being cleaned. The staff re-fill the buffet but do not pay anywhere near enough attention to important details. If something was dropped on the buffet table it was not cleared up or cleaned. Hygiene was lacking and that wasn’t good. Sorry guys here you get a 👎🏼. Maybe spend less time looking at your phones and spend time cleaning.

    The location is perfect for exploring the old town. Staff were friendly, i think they try to do their best to be friendly. Lovely cleaning lady on our floor who spontaneously cleaned our room when asked, very kind - thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was pretty small, I guess business hotels are made just to crash out at night after a long day. The bed was comfy and the shower was good. The hotel was clean and very well located. Hardly 10 mins walk from Waverly Station. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the decor , overall too dark not helped by the black ceiling tiles! Staff struggled to cope with the busy breakfast. Supplies and crockery were running out faster than they could refill and tables weren't cleared.

    The location is fantastic and so convenient right by the royal mile. Considering the location the sound proofing in the room was excellent. Our twin room was also on the ground floor next to the breakfast room yet we hardly heard a thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was somewhat small. Slight smell of smoke in room even though it was a non-smoking room.

    Location was great. Staff was very professional and helpful whenever you needed them. Hotel was clean and had a great breakfast and nice lounge area with adult beverages.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were next to an alley, and all the noise from the street echoed up into the room all night, could barely sleep until 4 am! We were even on the third floor.

    Great location, right off the Royal Mile classic set to several restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no air getting into the room, the space for air is blocked of by a pain of glass used as a shelter I guess, the air con cannot be turned on or off it's all automatic so the room was always so hot and the rooms are quite small..

    Location was excellent, breakfast was lovely and staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The onlything I would say is that the rooms on the 1st floor facing the Main Street are not Sound proved. So we moved to the 4th floor facing the inwards and that was nice quiet.

    We stayed for 2 nights. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had to move rooms after the first night as the room was on the 1st floor and facing the Main Street. So it got a bit loude in the evening and early morning when the garbage truck came by. But the second night was great, as we got moved to the 4th floor and facing inwards. But again Staff did a great job to accommodate and was very friendly. What was also great is that the breakfast wasn’t that expensive and you could decide on the spot every morning if you would like to join in. We decided to go to one of the many bistros and cafes. Rooms are spacious enough for 1-2 people with 2 large suitcases and overall was clean and well looked after. Also the hotel is only 5-10min walk from Waverly Station away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well now i am stuck for words, ......... all was great ..oh maybe one thing the tv could have been a little bigger as after a long day out walking around we just wanted to lake out on the bed and watch a little bit of tv ....would`ve liked a slightly bigger one . but hey ho it was more than ok i can`t really call that bad though

    we travelled for our 25th anniversary . the room was a tad small but very comfy for our needs . the location was great right in the middle of the city and so close to everything we wanted to see. We cannot fault the staff in any way . From the minute we walked in they couldn`t do enough for us. We had breakfast in the morning and was very well worth the cost cpompared to what we paid in the local eateries .. and everything was hot and fresh right up to the last few minutes the staff were constantly making sure nothing was left standing or getting dry . great job .. All in all was a great first visit to Edinburgh and we shall be returning to the Ibis again , and will book with them again in the future at other places we go to visit,along with using booking .com Many thanks for a great stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "double bed" in our room was 2 single beds pushed together with a sheet thrown over the top, 1 with a firm mattress one with a soft one so needless to say not the beat nights sleep falling through the gap, only 1 towel when we arrived and the shower cubicle leaked badly

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    The check in and check out was really fast with their new method. Every one of the staff we met were quite nice and accommodating. Our room looked new and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because our room faced onto the square where there are a couple of bars, there was a lot of noise from drunken revellers outside at night but this isn't the fault of the hotel, and I bought some earplugs for the second night.

    The hotel is in a great location and was excellent value for money.The staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit on the small side

    Nice modern feel to the hotel and to the room. Room had everything we needed and was clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing very happy with everything

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Edinburgh. I thought the Ibis was so central to everything - couldnt have asked for better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no space for my toiletries. I had to leave them in a bag on the FLOOR, beneath the sink. A shelf under the sink will solve this issue. A small refrigerator would have really been nice. They are not expensive and would provide a huge added convenience for guests. Also a towel rack/bar to hang my wet towel was needed and not provided.

    Clean, smelled nice. There were pegs/coat hangers in the bathroom for my shower cap and bath robe. This may not sound like a big thing, but it’s very convenient and tells me that someone was thinking about the small details that matter.Also there was a full length mirror in the room, again well thought out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 13 nights

    A little noisy from the pub across the road

    Central to tourist destinations, clean and comfortable. Catered well for gluten free at breakfast, and a nice surprise to get a welcome drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike.

    So friendly and unstuffy. Totally chilled atmosphere. Great location. Good value for money. Breakfast not included in price but decided to have it anyway and it was excellent. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 minutes from Waverley Station, comfortable beds, smallish room, but adequate and it is in a city. Friendly staff, Bright and Airy Lounge/ reception. Everything we wanted for a short break. Would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, walk, rest, walk again. Ideal central. Possibly if you are sensitive to city noise, you might ask for a back room. Edinburgh is so quiet regards traffic, you can hear people!

    This is a neat little hotel in center of old town. Very easy to get to railway station, five minutes down Cockburn Street. Perfect for quick tour of all key locations. Breakfast is not really five star, but there are plenty of restaurants near by and the coffee was great. I went to Scotts on Victoria Terrace; lovely location and ambiance. Recommend Mary King Close for historic visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a criticism of the hotel, but bookers should note the hotel is in a busy city centre location - it is not quiet outside!

    Great location, excellent standard of room for this level of hotel. Superb welcome and check in by staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar area not very appealing or comfortable.

    Very good transport links to surrounding areas of Edinburgh. Rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    really..nothing could have been better..

    We didn't eat breakfast there..too expensive, with all the options along the Royal Mile, we chose to eat in the "atmosphere" of the city, rather than inside a hotel..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location right in the heart of Edinburgh's Royal Mile and within walking distance of everything including the train station. Great staff and clean hotel. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring your earplugs, it is noisy on the street side, regardless of the floor level. During the weekend the other guests can get quite noisy too. Only a bedside table and plug socket on one side of bed even in twin rooms so a nuisance when charging phones etc.

    Comfy,warm beds, clean bathroom, cosy room, friendly staff, nice bar & food areas and in a superb location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the booking.com the room I booked said that I would have a bath and a city view. When I got into it, it just had a shower and a view of a building. When I asked for a bath, I was told that not all rooms have baths and this must be requested (which it doesn't inform you when booking). The staff were helpful and did kindly move me but I think Ibis need to make this much more clear on there booking.com site, otherwise people are paying for facilities that aren't actually in the room. (Plus neither of the rooms I went in had a city view, so this is also false). Also my room was slightly messy, not dirty but there were some marks on the bathroom wall and a bottle of water (that wasn't mine) under the bed - meaning it hadn't been cleaned or checked after the last person had stayed. I expect, for the price, that a room in this hotel should be spotless.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfy. The location is amazing, right in the centre of Edinburgh. The staff are helpful and welcoming. I would stay here again - but not at full price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room at front of the Hotel (103) was very noisy all night with people smoking outside the front doors. Lot of noise as well in the corridors, rooms are not very well soundproofed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather expensive as this was a very basic. The room could have offered more comfort like water on the room. As said: very very basic and in light of this quite expensive (170 GBP for 2 persons in double).

    Overall good and clean room, even if the windows were to the rear of the building. Friendly staff. Free and reliable early drop-off of luggage. Good breakfast. Excellent location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with the rooms on arrival, but this was rectified immediately.

    The rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. Loved the tea and coffee, kettle and biscuits in the room. Staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, we are planning a trip to York in the summer and are going to book ibis there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original room had not been cleaned- bed clothes had been used and towels had been left in the shower- I just think they hadn’t checked it had been made ready prior to being given to us

    The room we were subsequently put in after the first one we were given had not been cleaned- it faced the square and was much bigger

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is a wee small even for a petite one like me! And the club (the Tron) in front of our room is apparently a good one so a lot of noise coming from it during the night.

    Location, location, location! It is perfectly situated in the middle of a lot of restaurants/shops/tourist attraction. A bit disheartening to have to climb up the hill with our luggage from the Waverley Station but once you are there, it is superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was bit rickety and part dropped off while I was using it. Noisy evening but must expect that in a city hotel perhaps.

    Efficient staff on check in and out. Fully functional room with everything that you needed (except phone signal). Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect just off the Royal Mile, right next to the City Cafe which was great for breakfast and the Monkey Barrel Comedy club which was a great night out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and the first night we arrived after midnight. Unfortunately we had a problem with the door of the room and we could open it. The staff offered us a room for that night in st Andrews ibis hotel. They give us, as a compensation for the inconveniences, the breakfast included for the whole stay. Everything was solved very quickly and finally, our stay was quite satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been included in the price or maybe with a small increase (it was 10.50 pounds per day per person for breakfast).

    Great location! Just aside the Royal Mile (the central touristic road in Edinbrough leading to the castle) and 5 minutes walking from Waverley (the railway station). A casual, modern hotel with simple, cosy rooms. Excellent for business or leisure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prices were additional and not included in the price of the room - a little on the pricey side I thought, but nevertheless great selection available from what I could see.

    I had initially booked a smaller room, but upon arrival it appeared it had recently been vacated and not ready for the next guests! Simon was very helpful and immediately changed our room to a larger and much better room at no additional costs and moved our luggage from the 6th floor down to the 1st. We were instantly impressed with the new room and very pleased. The size of the room was great, very spacious with large windows overlooking hunter square. Comfy beds, the tea facilities in the room and biscuits was a really nice touch! Lighting and heating facilities were also really good and the bathroom was small but sufficient for 2 ppl with a powerful shower head. Lots of things to like! Location of the hotel was ideal so close to princes st and the castle, most places were in walking distance and there is such a large variety of places to eat nearby, you won’t be disappointed. Would recommend the rooms on the 1st floor for sure! Big thank you to Simon for all his help. It was much appreciated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a room enabled for someone with mobility problems which is fine but the low sink is a problem for someone with back problems. Unsure if all rooms are set up for mobility impaired clients.

    Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    It was extremely noisy outside. I had no idea when I booked that it was right outside a nightclub. I actually didn't get to sleep until after the 6am chimes of the clock outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are very hard and uncomfortable. the towels are very thin and small, not bath towel size. Room was very small. The website states there is parking, there is no on site parking, the nearest parking is approx 5 min walk in an NCP public car park.

    The location is excellent, the decor of hotel is modern. staff were nice and friendly and room was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had everything we needed, however it is a very simple room. It would have been better to have a small set of draws in the rooms and have a few hooks on the wall for coats.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I resent the fact that I got moved hotel without notice. A simple email would have sufficed. Upon the change I was offered a free breakfast to passify me which I then got charged for the next morning because there was no information on my booking telling them otherwise. The usb chargers in the room didnt work and reception couldnt care less. The bathroom was tacky. The window didnt open. I didnt enjoy my stay at all.

    Not alot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no restaurant on site as advertised, it's a grumpy man making pizaa - which tasted like washing up liquid. Street outside is very noisy at night and windows do little to dampen the noise Staff were not very helpful, and often looked miserable as sin Laundry costs A FORTUNE but then they return items damaged beyond repair - DO NOT USE Breakfast was a sorry, overpiced affair - stale pastries, or overcooked and dry bacon.

    If you decline house keeping, you get £5 to spend on food/drink in the hotel Its very close to attractions/stations etc,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two towels there should of been 3 or 4. No clean cups on daily basis. Rubbish not emptied daily. Hair on pillow. Very small. Staff not friendly

    Location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - really great location (only a few steps from the Royal Mile street) - tasty breakfast (incl. gluten free options) - very friendly and helpful staff - clean and nice room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had not been cleaned by 5pm on the first day of my stay. Using the bath caused flooding into the bedroom carpeted area - at first I thought someone had spilt water but no it flooded again next morning when I had a bath. As no cleaner had entered my room on the first day this was not identified by staff until I drew it to their attention. Cooked breakfast items were cooked in one go - therefore quite tired by the time they were eaten. No free Wifi - in this day and age!

    The location was excellent and I liked the modern styling of fittings, decor etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle leaked so much water because the rubber edging at the bottom of the door wasn't even touching the rim of the frame :(

    Great location, helpful staff, clean & does the job for a quick city break! Breakfast looked good but didn't have it....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t see out of our bedroom window as was almost at ceiling height-this would have annoyed me if we were there for more than one night

    Ease of check in/ size of our bedroom/how quiet it was inside -all good. Great location for us going to Festival Theatre. 2 minutes walk from great restaurants and bars and 5 minutes walk from Waverley Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had difficulty connecting to the Wi-Fi, but that may have been my device. The breakfast seems expensive so we opted for the Weatherspoon's full Scottish breakfast.

    I have stayed here several times as the location is perfect for my needs, being close to Waverley station & the Royal Mile. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is ideally located for exploring the old town. The staff made us feel welcome and were very helpful and smiley. The clean and modern room was compact but cleverly designed so that everything you needed was there. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is good value and there was lots of choice. Rooms at the front have great views but can be a bit noisy so if that troubles you ask for a room at the back. We'd be really happy to stay here again next time!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side is as it is in the centre of a busy area it can get noisy by people coming home from their nights out during the night which did often wake us up.

    Great location, just of the royal mile and in walking distance from many attractions, cafe and restaurant The staff are very friendly and helpful. Love that you can get money back (£5 voucher per day) if you decide not to have your room cleaned/towels washed. We made good use of the vouchers in the hotel bar. Room was modern with good clean facilities, with comfortable beds and a kettle is provided. Even though we didn’t have our room cleaned the staff were happy to give us extra milk , teas and coffee for the room when we asked. You can also leave your bags at the hotel if you have a late flight which is always a winner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too happy to be in a disabled persons room! My feet didn't reach the floor whilst on the loo and the sink was too low for an able bodied person,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so uncomfortable. Room is not really big enough for 2 people, example you cannot use the bathroom and the mirror at the same time

    Plug cube (although limited power supply to the cube) Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked out onto central lightwell, so very dark - but it was great value.

    It’s in a great location just off the Royal Mile in the Old Town, an easy walk (uphill) from Waverley Station, with a taxi rank just around the corner for getting around the City if you need to. Nice touches like bar, pizza, and board games in the lobby: these made it feel a bit individual rather than part of a big chain. Room was comfortable and had everything we needed, plus useful things like a charging station for devices and free Wi-fi. Helpful staff printed off a document for me and provided an extra duvet on request. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, equally convenient for Waverley Station, main shopping streets, the Festival Theatre. Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, comfortable and adequately equipped for a short stay. All in all, a great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: