Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Birmingham Centre Irving Street 2 stars

55 Irving Strret, Birmingham, B1 1DH, United Kingdom

#55 of 78 hotels in Birmingham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1848 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    great breakfast, great staff, skanky rooms but you get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dingy, there were stains on the carpet and the whole room smelt like urine! There were also several guests booking rooms for a few hours which did strongly suggest the hotel was a popular knocking shop!

    The breakfast was great, lots of choice, the staff were very very friendly and helpful. The reception and restaurant area were lovely and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff, but the room let it down. probably wouldnt stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp carpets, musty smell in the room. Shower had no power to it at all. First room we were allocated we couldnt get into

    Friendly staff. Location was ideal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked the street and while that in itself was not an issue, it does seem to attract a few undesirables late at night. Mind you it was a Friday night so could be an exception

    Very central location. Lots of parking space. We stayed for the convenience & it did the job

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't recommend. Spare a few more pennies and stay in a decent hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed& towels didn't smell very clean, the shower was more like dripping water, flushing the toilet seemed like a really difficult job as the water pressure just isn't strong enough. Room was noisy as lots of partying youngsters were there overnight ( even though a week day ).

    The breakfast was great, really good selection and the staff were helpful but apart from that I wouldn't recommend this hotel. I paid £51 per night with breakfast. The terrace is nice but you can hear every single person walking past the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    have stayed there before so knew what to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    have stayed there before so knew what to expect. Good price, good location for where I was going to be in evening and needed parking so met my requirements. Not ****** luxury but didn't expect that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Near to cavern quarter and cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have 50s furniture in them and in the alleyway below our room theres a very very noisy club that goes on until the early hours , they obviously do not care that ppl have paid good money to stay at this hotel.... i wont stophere again !!!!!

    Near to cavern quarter and cheap

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment for parking not impressed with that. Accommodation a little rough around the edges. Room dated, very dark. Reception nice and light. Breakfast very nice. Accommodation older than previous stays in Ibis.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Location right next to the 02 where we was going that night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great , room also a bit basic but did the job.

    Location right next to the 02 where we was going that night. Car parking space right outside our door and the bar was open 24 hours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Noisy, rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy building site right next to the hotel. We were not told about this and when asking for a quiet room, the member of staff at reception laughed and said that we would only have a good night's sleep until we were woken by the builders. This surely happended and we were woken at 5.30am. The staff were not concerned about this at all. Disappointed.

    The locked gates meant that the grounds seemed secure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they are building next door but didn’t disturb in evening

    Best value for money for a budget hotel it was excellent and secure parking a bonus

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    A very basic hotel, definitely no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic and in need of a freshen up. The room window faces directly onto the balcony walkway so you have to have the curtains closed all the time. Location feels a bit insecure after dark.

    The staff are friendly and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Stones throw from O2 Academy if.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot of construction work going on in Birmingham so bit noisy in the vicinity - not hotels fault - but meant early rise!

    Stones throw from O2 Academy if. attending gig. There was a bit of a mix up over room, so we had to wait for a room to be prepared. A lovely receptionist on duty was really helpful and we got complimentary drinks and breakfast, I do not know her name - but she was apologetic, attentive and a real star!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.4
    Barely acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, the carpet badly marked. Skirting boards were full of dust and there were cobwebs everywhere. Bathroom is basic, the shower head leaked, reducing the water pressure significantly. Didn't like the hill on the way back from town.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming, especially Denise. We got our room right away even though we were early.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Perfect city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from I presume was the washing machines early afternoon. The remote control didn't work on the tv

    The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent value and there was lots of choice. The location was perfect for the city and easy to find. The staff were helpful and polite.nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location next to 02, staff are excellent and breakfast is good. Rooms need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are dated and cleaning staff seemed to start at 6.30am wheeling trollies past the window (were were on ground floor). So were woken up early. Also building work going on but they didn't start until 8.00am.

    All the staff, we meet were remarkable, helpful friendly couldn't fault them. We arrived early to leave luggage but room was ready so we were able to check in early. On last day we left the luggage and when the girl on reception saw our map asked where we were going and then gave us recommendation and marked on the map the best way to go. When we picked up luggage she asked how the day had gone. Cannot fault the staff here at all. They all deserve a pay rise! We had breakfast on first day and for £5.95 was good value. There was a small selection but enough and was all set out beautifully, again breakfast staff were wonderful. The ground staff seemed to be busy all the time cleaning up leaves and tidying. All staff worked very hard. Ibis needs to update the rooms to the quality of there staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Was in ok area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music kept me up all night and building work starting next door at 7 am so had no sleep should have been warned about building work before going

    Was in ok area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    poor quality accomodation, poor maintenance of rooms, no attention paid to guest peace and comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dirty carpet damp / mouldy smell in room heating didn't work on room change - very dirty carpet, paper thin walls - could hear couple next door all night!!!, and then could hear the bins being dragged out on the concrete path outside the rooms at 6am every morning!!!

    staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Super - fantastic, exactly what was expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was what it said on the box, we were allowed our room early - a real bonus, fantastic breakfasts and the location for us was ideal !! We will use it again!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Auschwitz with a 24 hour bar
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like a concentration camp and my non smoking room stank of smoke. shower was effectively a watering can, looked like a council estate block of flats and the mattress didn't have s sheet it had a mattress topper like s sleeping bag had been folded out and sheet stuck over. Oh and no ceiling light made it fun too.

    TV worked and 24 hour bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay away from the main road.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny complaint but the pillows were quite high, woke up with some neck pain. Also, the room that was initially given to us smelled like cigarette but luckily they had another room for us to change to. We booked a double but because of the change ended up in a twin but at least had a great sleep. Coffee machine was broken at breakfast.

    Great staff members being helpful with our request to change room as it smelled like someone had been smoking there. Our new room was smell-free and comfortable. Shower was really great. Bed comfortable enough. It's great to have tea making facilities. Really surprised with the varied breakfast on offer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice comfy beds good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were to slow half the kitchen equipment was broken so Was limited what to have for tea and coffee machine was broken

    Nice comfy beds good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    It was not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is more like an American motel, than a hotel. The staff was not the best, but not the worst either; only one lady was very nice. At 5am the fire alarm went off, because someone chose to smoke in the room and it lasted for a LONG time. The staff wasn't at the fire assembly point, so we had no information on what was going on.

    The affordability, the room was quite small. But you get what you pay for, I guess.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    It was a bed, a shower, and a breakfast. Nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room has seen better days and was very tired. The carpet is a disgrace, wouldn't take my socks off … come on Ibis get rid of the carpeting and put down some easy to clean laminate flooring. The bathroom was also in need of an overhaul with a chipped and stained bath. The breakfast was a bit grim but welcomed after a long period of not eating due to airline delays.

    The staff are excellent, the night manager was very helpful when I arrived at around 3.00 am. even phoned me to find out where I was … in a taxi on my way from the airport!. The day staff were equally helpful allowing me to delay my check out time by an hour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need a little updating/deep cleaning, but still good value for money.

    Friendly and welcoming. Good bar/restaurant. Easy to find and convenient parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    budget stay which served a purpose as a place to put our heads down after an evening out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is very tired and needs a refurb, however not complaining for the price we paid!

    very cheap stay and only a few minutes walk to the mailbox, canal and bars, and the main reason for our stay which was to visit arena birmingham

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Sockets,smoke alarms and cleaner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sockets working in room.Smoke alarms went off 3 times.Cleaner knocking door to clean.

    We usually have no problems here .We have stayed plenty of times before with no issues

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed and pleasantly surprised with this hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Very clean throughout. Bed comfy.Good selection of food at breakfast.Very helpful staff, including Daria. and the lady who was on reception on arrival on Friday afternoon. Good car parking on site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok for a night sleep and breakfast but wouldn’t want to spend too long at the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel attempted to charge for breakfast which was already included in our Booking.com booking - was advised not to book with booking.com in future as their system and payments are different. Also only one set of towels given, despite asking for more. The water pressure in the shower was terrible.

    Breakfast included hot option which was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Goodish value for money, pleasant accomodation, staff could have been slighlty more attentive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No explanation as to service was given by the staff, i.e. it is all help yourself. Some of the hot food could have been a little hotter

    There was a reasonable breakfast selection (cereals, cooked, bread, etc.) Nice hot drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Quiet and did the job for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really in need of a spruce up, more like an old-fashioned motel than a hotel which we weren't expecting. Decor is very out of date with lots of brown walls and furniture in the rooms and they feel like pre-fabs. Saying that it's so clean and relatively comfy so it's just the look of the place that could do with smartening up. Don't expect a regular Ibis/modern hotel!

    easy to find and check in, really spotless too throughout. very impressed with how clean it was and got extra towels when we asked. Quite out of the way in a residential/student halls area so was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    free WIFI
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    layout of motel style building, incredibly worn look to carpets and furnishings and noise from other rooms. not to usual IBIS standard in need of refurbishment.

    free WIFI

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable but I wish it was well maintained
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stains!!!too much noise from all the bins moving around at the crack of dawn before 6am and cleaning staff chit chattting

    Staff are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was a good location and a very secure car park which was great. The room was very basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very basic- don’t expect great things. But that’s all we wanted.

    The hotel was in a good location easy walking distance to the train station for the NEC.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Way below Ibis usual standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piddly little shower. Dated and sad interior of room. Thin walls and ceilings meant frequent disturbances.

    Cheapish. Okay location but no restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    Poor quality, poor all around
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 2.50pm there were no rooms available despite the check in time being 2pm. We were asked to wait with several other parties that were told the same thing. We were offered a free drink and a free breakfast but that wasn't the point, there's a check in time and we expect to be able to get into our rooms then, we had other plans. We then had to wait 40 minutes to be given our card as we "couldn't rush" the cleaning staff. Once we got into our room the room was tiny, hardly any moving space at all. The first thing we could smell was sewers/stale water. I think one of the biggest issues to me was the toilet didn't flush properly, you had to wait 2-3 times for it to clear tissue! There were marks on the walls too. Some of the staff were helpful and I felt sorry that they had to deal with what would only appear to be a short staffed hotel and one that needs some TLC and updating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff. Lovely little bar and seating area. Nice breakfast- fantastic value, lots of choice. Perfect location. Basic rooms as you’d expect for the cost but the beds were comfy and it had tea and coffee making facilities. Completely secure parking too. I’d recommend for an over night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, did the job. Just slightly below my expectations which was a bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had very low pressure, and the bath tub was covered in scum. The windows and walls were thin so you could hear people in neighbouring rooms and when they walked passed.

    Tea/coffee facility was good, extra pillows available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.0
    The breakfast pancakes were delicious and freshly cooked to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast pancakes were delicious and freshly cooked to order. The location is central and quiet, situated off the main road with a secluded feel to it. The staff to were extremely helpful and interested.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, very poor amount of water coming out and went from scaling hot to cold on the littlest pavement of tap, tv was very small

    Bed was very comfy room was really clean,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay for what we needed it to be, which was just a place to crash after a gig.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sockets in the room, bed was comfortable enough for only a night or two. Breakfast a little on the cold side.

    Room was clean and tidy. Plenty of breakfast options. Got what you paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Did the job. I’d pay more for a better hotel next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated and the arrangement of rooms feels uncomfortable. As a single female I didn’t feel safe.

    The staff were friendly. Lots of choice at breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    A budget stay that did the job!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle only worked by keeping a finger on the switch before cutting out; TV would not load all basic channels; no info re hotel inside room. Very basic.

    Clue is in the word 'budget'. A little basic and aged inside the 'chalets' but parking for a fiver was good. Staff were the highlight of the visit. Bed comfy. We were mainly in the city and it was fairly close to all the places we were visiting. Would not recommend for more than a functional overnight stop!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Small place ready for anything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not have enough power and it took me ages to get ready. :/

    The staff were great and willing to help. The place was sort of small, yet cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    relaxed and fairly comfy stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    water pressure was really low just a beyond a trickle when taking a shower.. the bath had been painted to cover up marks and stains i think.... T.v was on the blink picture was breaking up on certain channels ...

    good room with a new and improve hospitality tray and kettle ..and a bin in the main area at last .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Good for the price for a 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was asked twice at check in if I’d prefer a ‘ground floor or higher floor’ room and answered ‘higher floor’. Got given my key card and directions to the room....which was a ground floor one. I wasn’t fussed enough to go complain about it as I had to go out but maybe they should not ask for a preference if it’s not taken into consideration at all anyway.

    Good for the price for a 1 night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value and good location close to New Street and Mailbox. Typical Ibis with basic facilities but at such a great price it didn’t matter. Ideal if you are simply looking for a cheap room close to the main area of Birmingham.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Very close to O2 academy and 10min walking distance for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonably clean. Value for money on a short stay. Bedroom is very small and dark. Can hear noises from near by rooms. But with saying all this I would stay again for a short stay.

    Very close to O2 academy and 10min walking distance for the BullRing. Staff super helpful. Didn’t have breakfast but it was £5.95 for a buffet which is good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    It wasn't the Ritz but the low price reflected this. Location was great, near to the Bullring.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room fittings were a little tired but was adequate overall. The hot buffet food was not as hot as it could have been but was still tasty and plentiful.

    The price paid, £49 for the night with breakfast, was very reasonable and we would be happy to stay again for the same or similar price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was non existent, floor was filthy could def do with modernisation, no power in the shower wha so ever, very dirty and the bath look like it had been painted

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Rough
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv not working Big brown stained bath Cold musty very outdated room Felt unsafe going to room at night It felt like sleeping in a shed Run down, wouldn't recommended

    Nothing, although near o2 academy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    If you have to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 8pm/20h and was told my room was not ready yet - the cleaning staff were just finishing! That late at night. I was asked to leave my bag and get some dinner. I left to return one hour later. They offered me a complimentary drink, but it seemed a little too late. The carpet in the room was disgusting. The lighting is terrible. They put me in a room facing the road which is noisy, even though I am certain there were rooms facing the quiet parking lot.

    Easy to get to central train station. The bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smell was very musty on arrival. Carpets all around the room where very soiled. Stains on the walls. Kettle switch did not work causing an health and safety issue. Very little water pressure in the system causing the shower not to work adequately.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    Overall a good budget choice (but I will walk round to the other Ibis for supper next time!)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather basic supper menu, and no rice to go with the chicken curry (and not much alternative choice, so I had that with a jacket potato). Service also very slow. So no competition for the Ibis in the Arcadian Centre nearby which is (unsurprisingly) always full ...

    Nice breakfast, bedroom fine, location very central, room rate perfectly ok for a budget stay...and some very good biscuits on the tea and coffee tray!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    Creepy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night guard was so creepy, we were coming home about 11:30 after going to a concert and it was pouring with rain, he stopped us and asked us our room and surname etc, which was fine. But then after we could here footsteps outside our room, I looked through the peephole in the door and saw him slowly pacing back and forth.. it creeps us out and to cut long story short we paid £110 for a new room in a different hotel, packed our stuff up and left.. not to mention when we left, the guard was stood right outside our room and just silently watched us walk away... literally the most creepy night ever. Would not stay here again purely for that reason.

    It looks nice from the outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    2.5
    Disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Staff at the reception on the night 17th April. Otherwise, it's not a place I would stay again and I make frequent visits to Birmingham.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was filthy carpet stained sofa cussions stained bed uncomfortable room smelt noise was loud from outside. Water pressure was terrible. Electric socket didn't work.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Location good for O2 Academy concerts
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated rooms, but you only get what you pay for. Extra fee for parking your car

    Very close to the 02 Academy. Staff were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. Inexpensive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff were brill8ant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desperately needs an update room 123 that we stayed in had a black mould roof in the bathroom. Just general update would be good but for the money we paid it was good.

    Staff were brill8ant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    2.5
    Shocking!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complained stayed for two days and still I have had no response. Shocking experience the worst hotel I’ve stayed in and that’s including Ibis. . Sheets off white they were yellow! . Stained pillows . Carpet was filthy (photos taken) . Curtains filthy (photos taken) . Walls dirty marks all over . Bathroom no pressure at all in shower couldn’t take a shower for two days

    Secure car park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Does what it says on the tin:) for the price you expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of stale cigarettes. Noisy at night.

    Does what it says on the tin:) for the price you expect basic. It’s at the lower end though. It’s literally a one minute walk to the O2 academy which was perfect very close to Chinese quarter for food. Staff were very friendly. It’s a bed for the night if that’s all you need clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location and secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was the worst that I have ever experienced in a hotel, it was like standing under a dripping tap with no pressure at all and the bed was quite uncomfortable.

    Good location and pretty quiet for central Birmingham, the site felt secure and the chalet style accommodation being separate from reception was good. The staff were friendly and helpful and the parking was reasonably priced at £5 for 24 hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beer was horrible & overpriced. £4 for a pint of fosters. Shower was falling apart. Heater wasn’t working. Sheets weren’t changed the second night.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    GRIM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms situated off carpark, very dirty carpets, old décor, flies, dirty curtains, not a pleasant place to spend the night.........GRIM, would not stay again or recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall place was ok good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet dirty, no shower mat to put in the bath mirror in the wrong place to dry your hair and room very cold even though I had the heater on

    The bed was lovely to sleep in breakfast was good and hot staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for my one night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like I got what I paid for if not more

    It’s hassle free, great place to stay for one or two nights it’s clean it’s simple it has all your requirement needs and fantastic value for money staff were second to none too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Fine for 1 night to lay your head, not if you want to feel clean leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was rank with mould, no soap in the holder by the sink. So loud when cars went by, it felt like they were in the room with you.

    Location was great for the o2 and Chinese quarter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a twin got a double. Electric went off on 2nd night so no heating. Also a damp patch in room. We were then moved to which the new room also had damp carpets

    The bar area was cosy and hotel close to train station, but I'd be lying if I wrote anymore positives on this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    We didn’t! We checked out early & didn’t stay the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor, took forever to arrive & expensive for the amount. The room was freezing, despite trying to heat it up. The whole hotel had a feel of “American hookers motel”. The only hotel we have stayed in and not felt safe.

    The staff were friendly & helpful where possible. The room was fairly clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    just what was needed for our visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms were external to the reception and additional charge for parking in the hotels own car park!!!!! didn't understand why!!!

    even though breakfast was extra cost .....it was well presented and good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Poor, poor, poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my fiancée had the worst nights sleep of our lives! - beds were incredibly uncomfortable, the noise in the car park outside was so loud it kept us awake, the shower was broken so we were unable to shower. The staff spoke little English and the English they did speak was spoken really fast so we couldn’t understand them. Only one plug socket in the entire room, wardrobe was tiny and the bathroom was dirty. Overall, the worst stay in a hotel we’ve ever had!

    Location great for o2 academy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    To be honest I'm disgusted, on email I had it's said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I'm disgusted, on email I had it's said only I needed my id as I'm the one that booked not my sister and because she didn't have it they went funny and nearly refused our stay until I explained about her disability. They had me to Google it in front of people which is disgusting. They all ready took payment and validated me then asked for my card again to take a penny of to validate me again which I said no and asked for my money back and that I'll stay else where. There was a young couple next to us checking in and the boy had booked so they only asked for his I'd which made me more mad as why did they ask for my sister's and not his girlfriend . I will not stay here again .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Amazingly put together
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing at allocating all our rooms exactly where we needed them. It was such a relaxing stay knowing that everyone’s rooms where close And the check out time is amazing 😉

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.6
    Poor customer service skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being disturbed. Fire alarm in the middle of the night - no explanation or apology. Reception phoned in the middle of the night informing me my taxi had arrived - I hadn't order one - no explanation or apology.

    It was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Lower your expectations (but not your budget!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real american motel feel, one of the rooms had had the door smashed in and looked like a crime scene! Very small room, heater didn't work in mine (but another was provided). Asked for 'ground floor' which was up a flight of stairs.

    Pillows in rooms are great, that's about it. Real american motel feel, one of the rooms had had the door smashed in and looked like a crime scene! Very small room, heater didn't work in mine (but another was provided). Asked for 'ground floor' which was up a flight of stairs. If you're travelling on bank holidays (which I was and the price was inflated) pay a bit extra and go swanky. Location is fab though, less than 5 mins walk to the o2 academy (perfect!) though local road layouts can be a bit confusing when trying to navigate the subway. Not terrible but not brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Uncomfortable and disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room for 1 to 2 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in serious need of an update, or even just a good scrub. We had a poor night's sleep, which was not helped by the fact that the room was like a freezer when we got in from our night out. I woke up in the morning looking forward to a hot shower and got no more than a trickle from the shower head. There was a good selection at breakfast and even a vegan option, but unfortunately all the 'hot' food was cold. It was a poor experience, which I would have expected if we'd paid half the price.

    The parking was convenient and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: