Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis London City - Shoreditch 3 stars

5 Commercial Street, Tower Hamlets, London, E1 6BF, United Kingdom

#383 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5154 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner ignored the sign on the last day (check out at 12pm) and walked in twice - once when I was In the towel out of the shower... not sure why she kept doing that when check out was at 12? Worst bit for me. We didn’t complain that morning, but were tempted too. We’d had such a nice time and reception staff were great. Just think they need to consider that some people will stay until the checkout time to relax.

    The bed was very big and comfy, the room and overall hotel were clean! Check-in was quick and they couldn’t do enough for us. What I loved most was the bar area to relax and unwind, comfy, great drinks and service. We didn’t eat at all within the hotel but would consider it in future. Awesome location for us, and close to the tube. And lovely biscuits in the room :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very convenient position, just off Aldgate east tube station. The room is cosy, clean and has everything you need for a short stay. The price is very good for what they offer. They also offered us an early check-in without charges, they printed our boarding passes and offered a place to store our luggages the last day. I'll return for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure I like the fact that there was no reception desk, you were sometimes standing around if there was no one available and for a first visit, that can be a little disconcerting!

    Warm friendly welcome, room was clean and functional, lovely comfy beds and a wonderful shower! The food was very nice and well presented, staff were helpful and friendly and the location was excellent for get to g around London! 🙂

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit small. TV small. Entire bathroom wet after shower. Bad towels. Overall design was modern, but felt forced, not authentic...

    Rooms were pretty good. Nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the convenience of all my favourite hot spots being a few mins walk away. Brick Lane less than a 10 min walk and Spitalfield markets a 15 min walk. Was there for 2 nights and loved everything about the ibis The breakfast was top notch for a 3 star hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were got and stuffy. The bed smelled slightly of cigarettes.

    Excellent breakfast value! Rooms adequate, but great for the price. Nice location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location. Some of the bar staff weren't very friendly but check in staff were great. Great value for money and so close to the Aldgate East tube. Drinks were reasonable in the hotel too. We didn't eat here though

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of drains, but not restricted to the hotel.

    An excellent weekend staying in this ideally situated hotel. Brilliant staff, always willing and happy no matter what time of day or night. Underground is round the corner. Great breakfast choice and good main meal menu. Food served quickly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic noise from surrounding streets can be disturbing in the early mornings. Don’t forget to close your window.

    Very close to the underground station and within walking distance of some great restaurants. The room’s modern design is a great take on space optimization. This hotel has become my go to destination for any visit to London

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable. The breakfast facility offered a very wide choice and very pleasant hours in the weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All reception staff were always happy and ready to help. We asked for a quiet room, and this is what we had. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the chorizo sausages! Also, having the left luggage facility meant we could have another full day in London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very basic. Wifi terrible. Missing typical accessories in room (no iron, no place to open suitcase, no clock, not even any tissues!). And there is no reception desk.

    A value price for this area, room was modern & clean, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels smelled a bit funny, and there was a little stain on it.

    I loved how the room was spacious and clean. The bed was very soft and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about the hotel

    Staff were friendly, professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would highly recommend this hotel. Location was great and rooms were clean and great for a weekend away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing that did not suit me personally was the room was too warm and humid despite using the air-conditioning.

    Would stay here again. Location good and underground was on our doorstep. Staff were amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was very dark in the actual room which didnt help that we couldnt keep the netting curtain open and the air con was like warm air. We came for a night out and didnt go to sleep till 6.30am to be woke up just before 10am to knocking on the door to be asked what time check out was. She then knocked on our friends door asking the same question. We know what time check out was. It ruined our sleep as we was all awake then and then had to face a long motorway journey driving back home. The mattresses dont have any covers to them and only the topper did. The shower plug had all this hair poking out. It wasnt worth the price considering we had paid less than that for a room in the hilton islington 3 months prior and was welcome with warm cookies, good air con, lighting and spacious rooms.

    The Car park was opposite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a funny smell to it that came back every time we returned after going out. It would go away after openeing the window up for a few minutes.

    Good location near the Aldgate tube station, and an easy walk to Liverpool train station for the Stansted Express. Fair price for a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location: close to tube and in trendy Shoreditch. Next door to a supermarket, useful for when you forget to pack toothpaste :) Minimal admin: Quick check-in and no checkout Room: Large clean bed and large shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Impossible to open widely the window to get some fresh air

    Good value for money. Great location next to the undeground station and lively Shoreditch area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for walking around the Shoreditch and Brick Lane area. The staff were really helpful and accommodating of all of our requests. The hotel is really easy to get to as it's literally around the corner from Aldgate East station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a problem with a double charge in our CC which they resolved right away but it took a few days for the credit to free up in our account, and it took a few international calls back to my bank to get it sorted. Staff was pleasant, gave us a free meal for apologies.

    Great value for your money and for the location - we were able to walk to Brick Lane, South Bank. Underground is right in the corner that connects you to 3 lines in London and there are plenty of buses too... Room is an ok size for 2 with suitcases; bathroom is a bit small. No mini fridge in the room. Quiet room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more attention needs to be paid to cleanliness In bedroom and bathroom.

    The staff were very attentive and friendly Breakfast was delicious Location superb. Decor pleasing Room very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel and its staff were very pleasant. First of all, we were pleasantly suprised when we arrived at 10 am and the receptionist checked-in earlier without any problem or additional costs. The room was very clean and big enough, comfy bed and for sure great breakfast! Also, the location is great and transportation services next to the hotel are perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am writing this review because I wish I had seen some reviews about the hotel that share how scary it can be. The hotel is located in an area where you have to be really careful if you are staying out late. Came back from work around 11 pm and there were all sorts of people who clearly had no business being there (one guy was waiting by the lift with no card to access so I have no idea where he ended up after taking the lift). The most horrible and traumatizing part was when a guy chased me out of the lift as I was walking to my room. I was so afraid afterwards and kept thinking what would have happened if I didn’t get to my room and closed the door behind me. Don’t know why the hotel does not have proper security measures to stop people who are not staying at the hotel from getting all the way into the lift and the corridors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic. The bathrooms are contained in a pod style but of a low standard. The toilet didn't even flush!! No records of booking.

    The only positive about the hotel is the location. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating even though they had no records of our booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no refrigerator, which makes it very difficult for people who need to keep medication cold

    Staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an eggy smell when you turned the tap on in the bathrooms not sure if the hotel can control that with it being the drains but it was very unpleasant when brushing teeth or washing face.

    Was really handy as we were sight seeing London so was ideal as it’s next to the tube. Staff were lovely very welcoming and made a point of saying hello whenever we would come in or go out of the hotel. Was really cool when you got into the room which helped as the days I went it was warm weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to live in the middle of the biggest shoppingareas this is a bit far. But easy to go there by subway.

    Nice and helpfull staff, tasty breakfast, close to underground station, comfortable bed, interesting neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I made the booking, I booked the hotel for a price of €412. At 18-5-2018 €422,64 is deducted from my creditcard. I didn't expect that from IBIS and I want the overcharge back.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woken up on the morning of checkout at 9:30am by cleaning staff to see when I would be checking out. Even though my checkout time was not until midday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not get a toasted sandwich at 11.40 am from the bar menu. Was told breakfast was still being served. Menu had no time commencement yet one customer ordered a beer. Staff member wasn't too bothered. I suggest a time "from" and "to" be written on the menu. In saying that, Pret a Manger did good business !!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location great, room a good size - but the staff's welcome did put us off as she wasn't very polite or friendly making us feel more of a nuisance than a paying guest. The staff the next day were much better in taking our luggage etc. But goes to show that first impressions do count...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very good, both salted and sweet. The Hotel is not far from the center and it's very near from the tube and the bus stop. The room was big, nice and enough quiet, the bad was really comfortable. The people working were very kind. The bathroom was strange but cleaned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't fault the hotel but the outside areas around the hotel are a little grotty. Certainly not to the same clean street standards of the centre of the city.

    Ideal for 1 or 2 nights stay - room very clean and all facilities available - kettle/hairdryer/even shower gel in the bathroom. Little like Ikea fittings throughout the room but ideal for the time you would actually spend in there. Ideal for tube links too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plastic bathroom was strange. One of three lift dosn't work - it was full on another two lift

    breakfast is excellent nice bar on the ground floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is tiny and there’s a big gap under the door. For what you get they’re quite expensive. I’ve stayed here about 7 times and the price keeps rising. Shall be looking elsewhere now.

    Clean rooms, good location, easy check in and check out. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels smelled a bit funny, I think that a small fridge for bottles of water would be very helpful

    Excellent breakfast, definitely worth the seemingly excessive £10.45. Good sized room, comfy bed, lovely spacious shower, and overall very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small towels and could have done with a spare or hand towel at least. OK if you were only staying one night but for 6 nights extra would be good. They were changed daily I know but a hand towel would have been good. awful tea bags and or the long life milk, went very blotchy in cups. Perhaps it was the water but not good tea.

    Good bed, very quiet room and good blackout curtains. Adequate hanging space for travelling. Power/charging box very handy . Bathroom clean and adequate except for towels. Friendly atmosphere, didn’t use restaurant but bar area very pleasant and relaxing with good staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During breakfast the staff couldnt cope with clearing the tables at busy times. When one lift breaks down you can be stuck waiting for a clear lift for up to 30 minutes. Made us rushed to catch the bus home.

    The breakfast was of a good standard. 30 seconds away from the tube. So ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of plates and mugs was annoying at breakfast. Also more fresh fruit needs to be made available

    The location is excellent. A pity the district and circle line were down for maintenance. Check in and out were hassle free and quick.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More bath room towels, little bigger rooms and a small friz in the room. Restaurant facility and service is below par.

    Bed is good and linen is clean. Bathroom with shower is very clean and tidy. Size of the room is very small. Manageable but feels you are trapped in to small space. Wifi is good. Felt the absense of a small refrigerator. Surprised to know that there is no room that has a refrigerator in the entire hotel. Location is excellent. Friendly reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was really comfortable with the sweet bed. The location is really good, everything can be reached in 15 minutes using the public transport from the hotel. The hotel has a briliant price to value ratio based on the location, comfort and the helpful hotel team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff in the foyer are not overly friendly. In the restaurant / bar area on the two occasions I bought coffee I felt that I had been a "burden" to the staff due to their attitude, not overly friendly or polite. There is no parking in the hotel, the closest is an NCP car park across the road. BE WARNED, it is full of crack heads and drug addicts with deals taking place in plane site and the subsequent using. Obviously this isn't the fault or the responsibility of the hotel, however it is something to consider if you are coming to stay with your car. It was also £38 for 24hrs.

    The room was compact and comfortable. Also quiet, which is a bonus staying in central London. The rooms are minimalist but it still works.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like that they do not have "normal " recepcion. It is confusing situation becouse of that. But people on "alternative recepcion" are great, helpful and super polite.

    Staff, interior and cool location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room could have used a little more attention to detail - there was stuff on the bedding and the floors didnt' seem to be getting vacuumed. The elevators are outrageously small and only two were in operation the whole time, so getting up and down was a bit of a pain. The hotel could really use a gym - I feel like that's a pretty basic amenity that's really lacking.

    The rooms were a good size, and the people in the lobby were friendly. Breakfast is definitely worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location right next to tube station. Plenty of shops, bars and restaurants around. Short walk to the river and the Tower. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Managed to get a decent price by booking quite late, although price in general is quite good for a central hotel. Good breakfast buffet, but the room does get busy. Clean and comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was ok for the hotel, but for the restaurant they made us wait too long for the food, not organized. We were in a weekend with 10 degrees outside and no heating possible.

    The hotel was good located at 10-15 min from the Tower of London. Restaurants around and markets, also. Clean, size of room ok, small bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No preallocation of the room, request for high floor was not met. Room was cold upon arrival and did not have a heating, had to borrow an electric heater. Garbage from previous guests was under the bed.

    Staff and location were great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we got was right next to a 'condenser', it was so loud that it was impossible to sleep. The receptionist was very kind and moved us to another room the next day. Unfortunately the linen and towels are very poor quality (our towels had holes!), which made our stay unpleasant. The bathroom cabin definitely needs renovation.

    Location was good, right next to the tube. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the hygiene products at the bathroom could be better

    Perfect location if you want to visit the city, very close to many important locations and a few steps from the underground if you want to go further. The mattress was excellent. Very good breakfast, variety and quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Check in was super speedy. Near Liverpool Street with easy access to Stansted Airport. Nice sized room! Cookies and coffee in the room. Big shower! Would stay again 100%.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lifts are far too small and quite a wait at busy times. Check in is strange, no dedicated area and just staff wondering around. informal but confusing.

    Very comfy bed, quiet room (other than shower dripping) and good central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service was slow - there were 2 girls working their butts off whilst the guy was going as slow as possible just walking in and out of kitchen door. The good staff should be rewarded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rugs on floors in bedroom. Not good for people with allergies and seems unhygienic. Breakfast was not worth the value paid. Too expensive compared to what you get! Cheap breakfast - should have more choice in eggs (in example also serve boiled and fried eggs, not just the sqeepy scrambled egg mix) More choice of breads - not just toast and croissants. Better choice of cold cuts - not just ham and cheese. Turkey or chicken would have been nice. Cold milk and and choice of 2 or 3 milks. Skimmed milk cold would have been nice. Bacon was rubbery and not crispy. Coffee was not good. Should have better coffee blend. Breakfast was not worth the 10 pounds!

    Great location near public transport. Easy check in and out. Clean and smart interior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was cold for 2 days on the final day we went else where. Not very happy at all as this cost 40+ pound for cold breakfast and with that it could well be we don’t return and we will be telling family & friends

    Location and very clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price: £180 for one night minus breakfast, in Whitechapel. We booked last minute because our accommodation fell through, but this is too much. Early call from the chambermaid too, presumably instructed by Ibis.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was just!! one tibe stop away feom London Liverpool!! The food was delish- shared a pizza first day we arrived!! very tasty!! breakfast was great also fill up for a tener!!:) loved our stay!! Highly recommend!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower facility being open plan isn't ideal but apart from that. Great place to stay for the weekend. Staff were amazing. Was running the London marathon and they were so helpful afterwards

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and especially bathroom way too small for a hotel room. You can not open the window and the carpet is already dirty.

    Good location in shoreditch and close to the underground.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - right next to the tube as well as many bus stops. Within walking distance from the lovely and lively Shoreditch neighborhood. Loved the simple and trendy design of the hotel. The young staff is cheerful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing in the rooms! Just towels and shampoo. They puted some tea/coffee as a complimentary but you need to buy water for pouring. Room is so small for two people, it’s suitable just for short stays. One night; we came back to hotel at late night, we hadn’t got a water in the room, I went to lobby with my pyjamas and slippers then I ordered bottle of water from bar, then I sad my room number the guy-barmen- said; you don’t have an account for an extras then I said; open it or I can pay in the morning because it was our first night in the hotel and we had a 3 nights more... he went to managing room and night manager came, he also said “you have to pay now!” I was at the lobby with my pyjama and of course without money/card! He didn’t gave me a water!!! When I said I will go to room with this water, he wanted to call POLICE!!!! For bottle of water!!! It was a big shame!!!!!

    Lokasyon/location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing I found weird was that there wasn't a reception desk, just a few staff milling around the main entrance area with ipads. It might feel old fashioned but being able to wait at a reception desk makes you feel you will be noticed and attended to at busy times. Just lots of people standing around waiting to be served when there's only a couple of Front of House didn't feel like a very efficient way of dealing with staff. That might just be a personal preference, but I think it helps people feel more welcomed rather than on a conveyor belt.

    Room was comfortable and quiet and the staff were very friendly. Location was great for Shoreditch and Liverpool Street. CHeck-in and check-out was very quick.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely small. The aircon made a very annoying ticking noise. The shower wasn't the cleanest.

    The bed was very comfy, check in was very easy and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room was really cold, so we had to switch to another room. That room was instead poorly ventilated and quite warm. Our friends who stayed on the lower floor were awakened by renovation work early in the morning..

    Friendly staff that made poched eggs for us at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facility, No Toileteries even though the same was in our booking slip. The same was shown to hotel staff, however they refused to offer the same.

    Cleaniness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Confortable hotel, room and beds. Nice sleep.Quite rooms. Good breakfast. Very good location. 10 minutes walk from Liverpool Station. 10 minutes walk from Tower of London. 1 minute walk from Algate East metro station. Nice market in the area and many restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and the controls in the room could not alter it. Staff did provide us with a fan to help.

    Excellent location; underground literally around the corner giving easy access to all London attractions. Fantastic breakfast lots of great food and no pressure to eat up and move out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location; bus stop in front of hotel and Aldgate East tube station just behind the corner. Nice, modern design. Just enough spacious rooms. Cheerful and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if breakfast during weekend days is supposed to last till 12, they start removing food already at 11 making the experience not so pleasant. There is not a proper reception and during peak hours the staff is not enough.

    Convenient location next to the metro station. Room cheaply furnished but new and with everything you need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/mattress could be better to sleep on. Can hear noises from street.

    Excellent location....less than 100m to the Aldgate East tube station. Tesco is just next door. Staffs are friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower handle does not stay up no matter how much you try to tighten. Area has fair share of homeless hanging around looking for money. Breakfast line up was long to get in, easier to go next door and get some freshly baked croissants and make coffee in your room. Maybe it was just a busy weekend when i was there.

    Great location, close to Tube, some of the attractions. Tesco express next door and different restaurants close by. Reception staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scored low on comfort due to maintenance work that was being carried out which disturbed our sleep, can understand this needs to be done but they should think about the timing.

    Breakfast was lovely and staff always friendly and helpful. Location to Aldgate East tube was excellent literally 30 seconds walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The music in the restaurant was super loud. Would not want to eat there

    Staff was amazing. A toilet problem was fixed swiftly. And I loooove the bed. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I can remember.

    This Ibis Budget is located few meters from Aldgate East station and couple of minutes walking to Liverpool Street Station and to SkyGarden's building. The check-in process was fast and easy. The staff also asked if we preferred indoor/quite, outdoor/with views and higher floors - very impressive - kudos to Daniel. Saw some reviews saying the cleaning staff entered the room in the morning - I used the DND sign on the door and had no issues at all (spent 2 nights). I would certainly stay at this hotel again during my next trips to London.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double and 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was advertising that it sold some beers on draught and when I asked to buy one on Friday I was told there was no gas for draught beer and it would be coming Saturday. We stayed till Monday and there was still no sign of gas found this strange for a large hotel chain like ibis.

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis London City - Shoreditch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: