Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater Manchester hotel reviews
  4. Manchester hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street

Reviews of ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Portland Street, Manchester City Center, Manchester, M1 4GX, United Kingdom

#47 of 98 hotels in Manchester

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2882 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.2
    Great room and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was on the roadside of the property which made it a little noisy but it didn’t affect me getting a good nights sleep.

    Great room and facilities. The bed was extremely comfy and the bathroom was impressive. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Th3 choice of breakfast was good and enjoyable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    6.3
    Good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping knocking on my door after 12 as they are not fully aware that I’m having a late check-out. They should have a communication between Reception and housekeeping who’s having a late check-out so they won’t disturb the people who requested it in the first place. They need to sort this kind of problem as I can see from the reviews that its a common problem .

    Good location, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    6.3
    Cleaning needs to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hurt my foot on entrance to bathroom no warning by staff of the high step and no in room warnings. The bathroom doesn’t have a toilet brush so when the toilet got stained there was nothing to clean it with. Stayed 4 nights and each morning the maid never cleaned the toilet bowl they just closed the lid so had to stare at a dirty toilet bowl the whole visit. No smoking areas or ashtrays outside the hotel so every time you enter or exit the hotel you are wading through cigarette stubs all over the floor outside the exit.

    The price and the location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    8.3
    Location, standard of room, cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No biscuits and not enough coffee, water from the sinks wasn’t very nice and there was no other way to get tap water.

    Location, standard of room, cost

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.2
    Comfortable and affordable hotel, with a good breakfast available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable beds, nice shower. Friendly staff. A good buffet breakfast was provided downstairs. Check-in was very quick and easy. Good location for exploring Manchester without having to travel too far.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    9.2
    Friendly staff, rooms were great for the price, nice modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, however each to their own liking.

    Friendly staff, rooms were great for the price, nice modern bar / dining area, very clean and tidy, great location and close to everything you need.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con. Had to have the window open, which was noisy at night. Shower kept changing water temperature on its own. Cleaner came in to the room even though the do not disturb sign was on the door. Procedure for contacting staff via WhatsApp was not told to us at check in.

    Great location. Staff member at check in was friendly and helpful. Reasonable for the money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    10
    Excellent value for money. Decorated really modern and doesn't come across as 'budget' at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!!

    Excellent value for money!!!! Staff went the extra mile as I explained it was my wife's birthday and gave us a free drink and put cookies and muffins in our room. Thank you!!!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    7.1
    Staff responded perfectly when we reported that our room had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices in the bar were shocking.

    Staff responded perfectly when we reported that our room had not been cleaned. We got a new room straight away, and a free drink.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel in a fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really

    Room was quite small but had everything in it that we needed. Staff were all very helpful, giving us directions etc. Breakfast being served until 12 was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.7
    Good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wet room felt grubby and flooded after my shower so my mum was unable to use it without putting her shoes back on.

    The room itself was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Location was perfect for our visit to the theatre.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    4.2
    Firstly, we arrived early and I understand the early check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Firstly, we arrived early and I understand the early check fee of £10 but an extra £20 for reservation when we had booked early check in for 11, we arrived not given that option. And was not told the full price of £132 until my card was in the card machine! Secondly we arrived at breakfast at 5 to 10 and were denied even though the food was still out and we had offered to pay.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    7.9
    Location and friendly staff really good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower didn’t work and poor door on bathroom sliding but didn’t shut properly, paint coming off looked tacky.

    Location and friendly staff really good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    10
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a consistent noise in the bathroom from a fan running. Unable to turn it off. Can be heard when sleeping so maybe consider earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

    The location is fantastic, around the corner from China town and other fab resturants and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    Location was brilliant literally a 3 Min wall from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I couldn’t fault anything was very happy overall with our stay

    Location was brilliant literally a 3 Min wall from Piccadilly station Staff were friendly Room was lovely

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    10
    This is a really lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything! Nothing I can fault here. Would recommend.

    This is a really lovely hotel. In a very convenient place, China Town is just behind the location. Tram station is very close and regular buses every 10 minutes. Room is great, enough for two people and very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2019

    8.8
    Valentines bits and bobs were a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    brownie had a literally fingerprint in it.. which completely spoiled it for me

    Valentines bits and bobs were a nice touch. But my brownie had a literally fingerprint in it.. which completely spoiled it for me. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water didn’t run well in bathroom

    Over night stay to see a band, treat for my birthday. Left bday cup cake with candle in the room when we got back from the gig, nice touch . Made me feel special. Xx

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    6.3
    Great location. Friendly staff. Needs to clean a bit more.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It smelt very musty and needs some air circulations. The shower head was broken. There was a heater but no air con. The sheets and towels were cheap and had bobbled and discoloured. The bathroom was a plastic pod type set up and smelt strongly of urine (not mine!).

    Good breakfast. Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    7.5
    The rooms are very spacious and clean, the cocktail bar was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a menu in the room but when I asked at reception I was told they don't do food and directed to the sister hotel down the road xx

    The rooms are very spacious and clean, the cocktail bar was very nice and chilled out and reasonably priced xx

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    7.1
    Good value for clean and basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was thin, the hard bed underneath made it quite an uncomfortable bed. The pillows were thin too.

    The price was very good price, for a basic, clean room in a good location. The breakfast offers a good variety in a nice setting.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance was a bit confusing,as they don't have an actual front desk (it felt like walking through a restaurant rather than a hotel).

    Perfect location, right in the city center, restaurants, a pubs (if you like Wetherspoons there is one only 2 min walking away) and supermarkets, as well as the Manchester Coach Station, are just round the corner. The rooms are not the biggest but cozy furnished with a very comfortable bed. Quick check in and check out, friendly staff who also stored our luggage the day we left.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    9.2
    the breakfast (paid for this) was awesome, plenty of choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    air con was temperamental.got it working once but didn't work after that. bed and pillow was very firm. fine for me but some may not like that.

    the breakfast (paid for this) was awesome, plenty of choice and most importantly, streaky bacon! lovely modern bar area.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.3
    Very pleasant and comfortable. Will surely come back for staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast area was a little cramped. Everything scattered here and there.

    The croissants were really yummy.The bathroom was good and well kept.The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    6.3
    Very cheap and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been a bit less stuffy and had water dispensers in hallways.

    It was fine, what was expected for the price. Shower was quite good. Good lighting.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Warm comfortable friendly and close to everything in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had 1 small towel each in the bathroom on arrival,had to ask for 2 bath towels.

    We loved how comfortable the bed was and how quiet the hotel is at night and also breakfast was lovely and plenty of room for plugging in things to charge. Very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    10
    We liked everything about our stay it 2as a very pleasant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly on arriving given our room a little early to drop our overnight bag off excellent stay

    We liked everything about our stay it 2as a very pleasant experience for my friend who had never stayed at a IBIS before.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.6
    Great location and minimal check in / out procedures -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a funny smell in the room when I first arrived and the window was open to try and freshen it up.

    Great location and minimal check in / out procedures - very quick and easy.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    The staff were really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I lift wasout of order and the other was misbehaving. The carpet in my room was quite grubby by the bed side by the window room 308 . didn't get much sleep due to noisy air vents at back of hotel.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. Good location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.2
    Warm welcome, great staff, quick check in and check out,...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Missing a toilet brush

    Warm welcome, great staff, quick check in and check out, cozy room with comfy beds, good continental and warm breakfast..... we would definitely come again 👍🏻

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    10
    Fab value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A tad noisy after 8am as its on a busy street. No ones fault Parking near by is expensive

    Great location Cocktail bar is ideal Value for money excellent Perfect for the opera house Nice decor in rooms

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    5.8
    Location, staff friendly
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom - was meant to be a wet room but all that meant was after your shower you had big puddles of water around the toilet and sink - horrible

    Location, staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    9.2
    The hotel was very good located in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t have a refrigerator.

    The hotel was very good located in the city centre. We could walk to all the shops, restaurants and sights to see. It made it very easy to explore the city with the hotel so close by. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    10
    The staff were extremely friendly and it had a very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really small thing but more coffee in the room, we had one on arrival and then only had the option for decaf in the morning.

    The staff were extremely friendly and it had a very nice atmosphere in the bar/ reception. The room was really modern and the shower was really good

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    8.8
    Ibis hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing was all ok

    Was all very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and value for money. Rooms were clean and tidy. Highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    10
    Excellent experiennce as always - will return especially when there are very good price offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast great excellent selection, self service worked well with staff to clear tables and help with your requirements Location central Manchester so perfect for activities and transport links

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    10
    Excellent for the purpose of our visit to Manchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows could have been better sound proofed from traffic noise

    The room was clean and fresh. The location was excellent for the purpose of our visit to the Palace Theatre

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    7.1
    Staff was very very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 21 nights

    Breakfast was very poor and international visitors were not considered when they prepare the breakfast menu. The rooms were not properly cleaned and hotel rooms have poor cleaning system.

    Staff was very very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    9.2
    Very good breakfast with appropriate mix of cereals, juice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought that £10 for early check in could have been avoided. Other hotels in the same situation do not always charge if enough rooms are ready in advance

    Very good breakfast with appropriate mix of cereals, juice, eggs, mushrooms, yogurts and pastries

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2019

    6.3
    No flexibility on the booking dates
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor &no one informed us that it finished at 1000. We were not allowed to change the date of our stay or get a refund, when the concert we were due to attend was cancelled .

    Location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    Decent value in central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower wasn’t the warmest and took quite a while to actually get warm but that could be down to the cold weather we’re having at the moment. (Feb 2019). Not too much of an issue as only stayed one night.

    Really quick and easy check-in process. Comfortable room with a really big bed. Clean bathroom also. Good value for money. Not far from the vibrant northern quarter.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    9.6
    Overnight theatre trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy from traffic at night , but apart from that the hotel was superb

    Great location, all you can eat Chinese across the road , Wetherspoon 2 minutes away and palace theatre only a 5 minute walk . Very clean helpful staff very nice hotel

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    10
    Not. To. Be. Missed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could do room service saves me going to other places when I have to do work from the hotel.

    My stay at the property was thoroughly enjoyable. I got great value for money! The WiFi was free and good! The staff were fantastic and very helpful! The room it’s self, was impeccable. It was extremely clean! I would definitely stay here again in the near future

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    5.8
    Reasonably priced but not a joyful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms rather depressing -small and dingy decor although fairly recently done. Bathrooms more like aeroplane capsule bathroom. Bed, even with a thin topper, not comfortable and no choice of pillow. Premier Inn do it much better

    Central. Breakfast was good Staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2019

    7.1
    Perfectly adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor was a bit garish but personal preference. Room (like most hotel rooms) was stuffy and too hot at night.

    Perfectly adequate. Clean, straight forward and has everything you’d expect.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    8.3
    Very comfortable room.
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weird smell that greeted us as we walked into the room.

    Very comfortable room. Slightly weird smell when we first walked in. Very friendly staff. Very Helpful. Would stay here again if visiting Manchester in the future.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    8.3
    Very quiet room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not as clean as I expected. It seemed that it had been cleaned quickly, there were hairs stack on the shower walls.

    Very quiet room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    6.3
    Did the job but wouldn’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and pillows very uncomfortable Staff not welcoming - didn’t tell us any info on check out , parking etc very poor communication. No phone in room to contact reception.

    Served its purpose. Good location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    7.1
    The front desk staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not eat at the Ibis as the price of breakfast was over priced. Use the weatherspoons at the end of Portland street

    The front desk staff were friendly. Our room on the fourth floor was free from noise.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    10
    Would definitely book here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t say there is anything I didn’t like.

    Affordable price and great location. I thought it was a restaurant from the outside though! 😂 the room had a student-like vibe which I liked

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    8.8
    Ideally located and easy check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower bracket broke when shower was turned on. Reported it to reception and they acknowledged it but didn't tell me they would go in the room while i was out and repair it...which they did.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    7.5
    Great central location with a good bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smelt of smoke and the bathroom was a little light weight (Similar to a student room in a half of residence)

    Great central location with a good bar. Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Good for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't the most comfortable. The street outside was quite loud (although not enough to disturb sleep too much)

    Clean rooms, friendly staff and easy check-in process. Good central location near the train station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    8.8
    Stay was adequate for my needs and good value for what I paid.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no where to sit when I arrived for breakfast, there were no eggs and the whole breakfast set up felt disorganised and crammed in a small space. it was difficult to find cutlery & hot drinks.

    The hotel location was ideal and I liked the security. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    5.4
    Great location but would't stay again due to cleanliness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was unclean, disabled wet room when had shower water flooded whole bathroom so had to stand on towels whilst doing make up in bathroom mirror. Long black hair found in coffee cup. Shower had no pressure. Bathroom was scruffy and generally felt dirty.

    Breakfast was great, staff were very friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    10
    The rooms are a delight, the bed is comfortable and shower...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think that the breakfast could offer more hot choices for vegetarians. The area is less than salubrious but the hotel feels secure and as long as you stay on the main streets the area is mainly safe.

    The rooms are a delight, the bed is comfortable and shower is good. Room is a reasonable size. The hotel doesn't have a gym, which wasn't important at the time I booked but the staff sorted out access to the gym at their sister hotel less than 20 metres away.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.1
    The room was decent, shower was nice and hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the lifts were out of service. The reception area is nonexistent, we didnt know who we were meant to speak to and the only staff member available at the time couldnt of been less interested in helping us out. He must of been a manager or something, he was acting like checking us in was beneath him which really aggravated me because i absolutely despise ignorance.

    The room was decent, shower was nice and hot.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    7.5
    Good location, helpful staff, but breakfast could be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi could have been protected. The breakfast was a bit limited and was not good value for money.

    The bathroom was compact but well designed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were all very friendly and keen to help. Both checking in and out was quick and easy. The hotel and our room were spotless. I would go again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    5.8
    Adequate for a very short stay.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The portacabin style of the shower room. Second bedside table having to be used for tea & coffee. No suitable power point for the kettle, having to plug kettle in just outside the toilet and place it on the floor not very appropriate

    Room blackout OK although make sure the blackout is fully attached to the rails. This review breaches Data Protection as you are required to 'opt out' of reciving futher emails rather than 'opt in'as required by the new data laws.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent central venue for enjoying Manchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff (EU of course, but for how long?!) were very friendly and efficient. The bar and sitting area are comfortable and well provided. The room is as I have come to expect from Ibis

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    10
    10/10 would come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is modern and Clean. Good Location: near Chinatown, Manchester art gallery, canal street and coach station. Staff was friendly and has a very chill lounge vibes.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.8
    Great location, comfy hotel, lovely bar - shame about the breakfast we didn't get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine besides the breakfast - I had a bad experience with the 'breakfast included'. I chose to pay more when booking for the double room for two people with breakfast included. When checking in we were told, yes you have breakfast included - it is served until 12. However, when we went for our breakfast and were asked for our room number, I was informed I only had one breakfast booked. I looked at my booking confirmation 'breakfast included' and showed it to the staff member but he told me I would need to get on to Booking.com. I said that actually the hotel needs to, because when you book there is no option for how many breakfasts you need and no mention that only one of your two person party can actually have the breakfast included. But he didn;t really listen. I showed him my email and I showed him the booking page but I was upset to find he just kept telling me his screen said I only paid for one breakfast so that was final. Being a trip for my partners birthday, breakfast together was part of the trip. So I lost my money for that additional breakfast and went over the road for a nice breakfast. Another staff member did later apologise. I was also a bit disappointed that we were just told we could only have the one breakfast and not even offered the chance to pay for another breakfast. Everything else about the stay was great.

    Comfy room, nice bar and lounge area, friendly check in staff and good location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.2
    Good value for money, clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance was a bit confusing it felt like you are walking through a restaurant rather than a hotel.

    Good value for money, clean and friendly staff. Couldn’t expect anything better!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable bed, easy check in, modern decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door didn’t open properly, both my boyfriend and I managed to kneecap ourselves on it!

    Great location, comfortable bed, easy check in, modern decor

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Perfect stay with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location and friendly staff upon arrival. Check-in was seamless and we were greeted with a smile. Room was perfect size for our honeymoon break, bed was oh so comfortable, bathroom was just as the photos more than you need for a nice little city break. Room had heating and good TV channels with extra pillows. We would like to thank the staff at 96 Portland Street for making our trip so romantic as they greeted us with champagne and fruit platter so unexpected but truly appreciated! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    - very comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - bathroom plumbing area gets noisy after use

    - very comfortable bed - kettle included in the room - pretty decorations - great location - beautiful entrance lobby and small bar

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    10
    Very good location, close to the city center and shopping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very good location, close to the city center and shopping area. Also close to the university. The room was very clean and comfortable. I loved everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    8.3
    We’ll worth stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In good location and hotel nice and presentation. The room was ok for price and like the rooms smart up to date. Bathroom was quirky but when used shower the floor got little wet. But all in all good stay. And Chinese quarter round corner good food and easy to walk into central area for food and shopping

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    5.8
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room looked clean upon first glance, upon inspection it was slightly dirty. Further still when we entered the room it smelt of damp. Further the bacteria or germs within the room must have been quite harmful as the day after my partner had contracted ringworms after using the shower head. Rather unacceptable!

    I liked the location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    9.2
    Great hotel in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative moment is that there were some stains on the carpet in the room. Nothing critical and probably it is just me being unlucky.

    The hotel is located in the very center of the city and this is probably its biggest advantage. You can easily walk to almost any attraction in the center of the city. The room was not very big and the bathroom was decent. I really loved the breakfast - definitely worth its money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    8.3
    Staff friendly enough, the bar is fantastic as are the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had bugs, but it was comfy and the room clean

    Staff friendly enough, the bar is fantastic as are the people working behind it. shower pod in the room was "okay"

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Great value, wonderful location and very professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No phone in the room and I could hear people running in the rooms above.

    The standard of the hotel was superb and the staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. This hotel represents very good value indeed and I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff and welcoming, the bar/ coffee shop does...
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet need a thorough clean , room not vacuumed even though there were some litter and carpet feels dusty

    Friendly staff and welcoming, the bar/ coffee shop does an amazing cappuccino accessible to shops and attractions

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Really enjoyable and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We only had one room key that also controlled the lights and allowed you to go up in the lift. My partner had to go to the shops for something quickly while I stayed in the room to get ready. He needed the key to get back up in the lift and unfortunately that meant me sitting in the dark until he got back as the lights went off. A room shared by 2 people should have 2 keys

    Bed was firm and very comfy and everything we needed was in close walking distance to the hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: