Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Hotel Northampton Centre 2 stars

Marefair, Northampton, NN1 1SR, United Kingdom

#10 of 14 hotels in Northampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2335 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    The property was great and so was the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get through when calling the hotel was a nightmare. Called from 4pm as I would not be able to check in until 1am and nobody answered.

    The property was great and so was the location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    4.4
    It was ok, just a shame about the filthy carpet made it feel very unclean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filthy carpet

    The room was a good size, the bed comfy however the carpet was disgusting it was covered in dark stains and not particularly nice to walk on or look at.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing to complain about. I knew what to expect and the met the expectation.

    The staff was really friendly. Besides that, I knew what to expect and the met the expectation.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    6.3
    The Front Desk Crew of IBIS NORTHAMPTON are the Best ever.IFantastic People.They made me feel at hom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be an Iron in the Rooms and a Small Fan. There should also be a Central place to m8crowave food. The Menu l8st have no consideration for Africans...a little Rice on the menu should not be too bad!

    The following Staffs,Dan,Maria,Victor, Christiana,Raphinda,Miguel,Steve and the Supervisors made our stay in Ibis worth the While. Very Professional, humble and Kind. You Guys are the Bliss of IBIS! Would love to come back again because of you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unable to switch on the heater in the room.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The staff were very helpful and l was pleased to see that soya milk was on the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff gave my room to another person with the same surname therefore the other person paid for my room booking and received keys to my hotel room. I then also tried to pay for the same room and also got given keys to the room. As I was the first one in the room, I then was disturbed by another person at my door trying to enter my room with their key. Luckily the other person was my family however had it been a stranger, they could have entered my room without my permission as they were also given a key! I think this is absolutely awful for the hotel staff to not check bookings thoroughly before giving out keys! The hotel staff sorted the issue in the end by giving the other person another room however it took almost an hour for this to be resolved and wasted all of our time. We then paid another £69 for a room and no compensation for the mess up!!

    Location was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.8
    Feedback at Ibis
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom need to have a glass lid covering the bathroom to prevent water spreading around there . The carpet inside somewhere look dirty. The lights also dim and would recommend white bulbs to make the room clear .

    Thier breakfast. The staff too is friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    3.3
    Did not enjoy my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact we couldn’t sleep to 3 in the morning due to people fighting outside our room and outside the hotel and been to loud, people shouting down the corridor while trying to sleep room was cold and window wouldn’t shut.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Polite and helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe improve the soundproofing of the rooms - Could hear people above me and also the fact that a nightclub is a street away wasn't helpful when I was trying to sleep.

    Polite and helpful staff. Nice large room for me and my girlfriend. All round a top quality room and great service to boot.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    The bedroom and facilities in the bedroom were great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities in the bathroom were not great - the towels were not good and the soap wasn't great either. The breakfast was very disappointing and very expensive for the availability provided.

    The bedroom and facilities in the bedroom were great. The bed was very comfy and great pillows too. Good sized room and bathroom which was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    The lifts were very slow and the call button on the second...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lifts

    The lifts were very slow and the call button on the second floor needed a lot of pushing to make the lift arrive😡😡. The breakfast was very good, hot and fresh

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    Room spacious as, was the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor parking. £7 per time. No multiple visits on the one payment. £2.50 packing all night at bottom of hill.

    Room spacious as, was the bathroom. Bed hard but that's how I like it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay and location of hotel was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost at £7 was a little high but guess it’s the location/area.

    Easy and fast to book, free cancellation option was good, no pre payment booking also good. Staff friendly upon arrival and departure. Overall good stay. Thanks

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.0
    No enjoyed and wouldn’t use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was diry and old looking beds were very small the shower water went everywhere because it was for a disabled person but how unsafe is that after shower been used. Only had one towel hair drier didn’t work Car parking 8 pound for 24 hours but if u wanted to go out it’s 1.20 an hour

    staff Friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    It was easily accessible, very close to the station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed sheets were covered in mould. There didn't appear to be any staff around when I left to speak to.

    It was easily accessible, very close to the station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Basic but Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, great value for money and friendly staff. We used it as a stop off on the way to wembley and for the money, I was expecting much less. I would highly recommend for such circumstances.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.4
    Decent breakfast, friendly staff, very convenient parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a nightclub - Elysium - open until three or four a.m. on the main road near the hotel. The music was loud enough to hear through double glazing on the upper floors, plus the screaming of night club guests, plus the police sirens from the cops attending a scene outside. Not great. Don't accept a room at the front or side of the hotel near the main road.

    Decent breakfast, friendly staff, very convenient parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Really nice room, good size very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My first room a guest had been smoking in the bathroom, you could tell by the smell. But staff offered to put me in a different room immediately which was absolutely fine.

    Really nice room, good size very comfortable. Excellent breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key cards didn't always work. Every time I got in the lift or went to my room I felt anxious in case it didn't work. Breakfast (particularly scrambled egg) wasn't very warm.

    Great Central location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Cold and noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Nothing about the place it was a dirty room. I wasn’t shown how to use the lift. So I walked up and down the stairs as I tried to use it but I was unable. Youngsters in the hotel smoking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff willing to get me all sorts of tea selections...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bin in the room, only a tiny one in the bathroom. Only one toilet roll and no tissues left, apart from that all good!

    Friendly staff willing to get me all sorts of tea selections in the early hours when I couldn't sleep! Quiet. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    The Ibis was adequate for what I wanted, and was clean and comfortable. It was just a bit faceless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main lighting was quite low, which would have made it difficult if I wanted to work. The room did lack "ambience" - that is fairly usual for these kind of places; but in rival chains, they do have, say a picture on the wall. Everything was fine - the staff and the facilities, it just felt a bit downbeat.

    The room was very spacious. The shower was also roomy, and it was a really good shower compared to some other places I have stayed. The bathroom facilities well designed, with room to put my "stuff". There was a lot of choice at breakfast, which was good, and everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A good "middle of the road" hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking arrangement and parking payent system was not particularly user friendly (card or phone payment only!) and not easy to find entrance on the one way road system Breakfast area not very well sited in relation to reception desk and pretty basic (although I didn't have breakfast!).

    Very quiet, large room and good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    It was almost good but....
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for extra linen for the sofa bed but they were not able to provide due to the reason that the housekeeping has already gone home. Hotels should have bed linen and blankets spare for the guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    It did exactly what I needed it to do and was clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't have its own free parking. There is an underground car park attached to the hotel but it is a privately owned town centre car park which cost us £8.50 to park over night. This is my only gripe and it is a minor point. Having said that, access to the hotel from the car park was excellent as there is a hotel entrance within the car park.

    The room was a great size and the beds very comfy. Breakfast was very good and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Shambles from start to finish
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels in room and wasn't any spare to give to us. Carpets were ripped, staff were not able to give change for drinks so it ended up in their till. Didn't stay for breakfast as didn't look pleasant.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Great for the price clean nice little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key card stoped working couple of times was little annoying but easy to sort out and only one tiny bin in the bathroom room no other bin for rubbish . Good location to town centre but Very noisy at night even with the window shut

    Bathroom was very nice big shower plenty of room to move up to date .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel for sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from windows was directly to units of air conditions on stone roof.

    Bed was extra comfy . Room was quite and clean . Mugs were fine for tea in room .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Had a problem with the bathroom was offered a room change...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with the bathroom was offered a room change but we were heading out then was offered complimentary drinks but headed straight to bed so in morning had breakfast each for free. Great customer services

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay really, good location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was quite easy , although because I payed in cash the hotel needed my ID, which I didn't expect. Great breakfast included in room rate which was very good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    .
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of £100. Atleast,consider giving toiletries as complimentary. All hotels and even inns have those kinds of things. You charge too much and you dont even care to change or clean your old and dirty carpet.

    Near the Place where I needed to be

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in no escort to room to show how things worked. Not that's a huge problem but for the money you would expect it. Also across the road is a loud dance hall going onto 4am. I wouldn't recommend.

    Very handy for town center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpark facility run by Just park and issues with paying

    Location was great and staff were very helpful especially trying to help with the parking issue with Just Park - many thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant staff, comfortable bed but avoid at the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would avoid staying here on a Saturday (we stayed on a Saturday) and may be a Friday. The hotel was situated near a local night club which had a loud PA system and pumped out bass driven tunes until 3.30am. We were given a 50% refund by he general manager and apparently the hotel were upgrading their sound proofing. On arrival I had to pay the bill which was a little suspicious, as I have always had paid when checking out.

    The staff were friendly and seemed to like their job. The hotel was central to the town centre and near to all the local amenities. The general manager was able to listen to our concerns and addressed them professionally and politely. The bed was very comfortable and breakfast was until 12pm (I'm guessing this was just at the weekend).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for a few nights
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are a very long way from reception, but doable along a few corridors

    I have stayed here a few times whilst on business in Northampton. It is clean and functional There is a great curry house across the road and a cinema as part of the development with some bars

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.6
    A poor version of a premier inn situated in a dodgy area of the town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels had marks on them clean but not a good start. Staff very unfriendly and talking in Polish in front of me. Bar was full of contractors so not an option for a single woman alone.

    It was a budget hotel when on business

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.5
    All good except parking
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only compliant would be parking, the car park is owned by someone else so chargeable (only £7) however despite the carpark only being 30 seconds away you have to go out and round the city centre to get back to carpark. There is an entrance to hotel threw carpark go left before hotel into carpark and entrance on ground floor, would of been nice to know before when have bags and a dog

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    Very poor would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 3rd floor it was very noisy outside, shouting, fighting, music on till early hours 3-4am, got very little sleep even with the window shut, staff seemed to be a bit thin on the ground. Security staff on the entrance intimidating. No one asked if we wanted breakfast or information about what time breakfast is served. Over priced at £79 for just a room.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.5
    Will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night was completely ruined by fighting in the hallway, screaming and shouting from 01:30-05:30. People banging, and kicking my door, and trying there keys to get into my room. Had 2 hours sleep and a three hour drive home. Have complained to get a refund, and have had no response at all. Absolutely disgusted with Accor hotels.

    See below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    Stay here if you want to be near amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I remembered filtering my search results with the need for air-conditioning, it does not have any. Being here during the hottest summer in 60-years did not help. We were not told that a fan could be requested and so we slept the first 2 nights in the hottest summer here.

    It's central location to the city center is a plus and there are plenty of nearby amenities too. Parking is convenient, although not covered by the hotel but charges were reasonable. It is about a 10-minute stroll to the morning marketplace for fresh fruits (if you are a fan of fruits). Shopping of popular outlets is in the same vicinity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirtiness! As we asked for twin room, they had to separate the beds. Unfortunately no one cared about vacuuming between the beds. We could find all kind of rubbish there.

    Great location! Staff was friendly and nice. Room was spacious and had all the essentials.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Canny terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged £10 too much at check in Area was awful, unclean and I didn’t feel safe Arguments outside he hotel at 5.35am and in the lobby Window wouldn’t lock, or even shut properly Towels in the bathroom smelt as if they hadn’t been washed.

    Not a lot really

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    VERY HOT, unable to open windows due to noise, was supplied with a fan it was small and plugs were too far away from bed so had to put fan on chair, stretch cable and lye across the bottom of the bed!!!!

    Comfy bed Big Room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    I was kept up all night by kids from another room running up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was kept up all night by kids from another room running up and down the hallways until 3.30am banging onto my hotel room door screaming shouting fighting also I was in an enjoying room and the children was opening the door their side and constantly trying to get in and out of our room very disappointed kitchen was closed and bar was empty no food or drink, had no towels in the bathroom and room was filthy never staying again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Felt like we were in hell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was genuinely like an oven, my husband and I had 2 nights without sleep, and if you opened the window you had the pleasure of listening to the nightclub till 6AM. The window only opened a crack so didn’t let any air in. It was so uncomfortably hot, made me feel ill. The room was also very dirty, hair everywhere. Tried reception repeatedly to ask to move rooms but on every occasion there was no one to be found and they did not answer the phone once!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Comfy bed hugging me after a tiring drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot find anything that I did not like.

    Breakfast is brilliant did not expect such a good selection.Where do you but your sausages ? They are so good .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable place to stay after a team night out and training day!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a twin room for myself and a colleague. The beds were soo close together we had to separate them or we would have essentially been sharing a double. There was quite a bit of dust underneath when they were moved.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    ABSOLUTELY ATROCIOUS WOULD NOT STAY AGAIN OR RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception team all foreign speaking so made out they didn't understand complaint,played dumb.Very noisy all night through door slamming and other guests not taking notice of signs on the walls about being quiet so as not to disturb other guests.

    overall the hotel looked clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    lack of air conditioning inrooms made it very uncomfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lack of air conditioning and when asked for some ice for ice water in room was given 5 cubes

    lack of air conditioning inrooms made it very uncomfortable although the hotel did supply fans which helped a bit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really the only complaint was the lack of air conditioning. There was a window but this Ibis is on the busiest road in Northampton so you couldn't have it open at night. It was the hottest day of the year and I hardly slept. I was told the following morning I could have asked for a fan which should have been mentioned at check in, but next time I'll book at the Premier Inn as it does have AC although a bit dearer than this hotel.

    It was central and close to where we needed, cheap and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel we had no issues but next time I will request a fan as it was very warm

    Very comfortable, felt relaxed staff were professional and helpful. I will stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    DISAPPOINTING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant very loud drumbeat based disco music all day and night. No air conditioning but couldn’t have window open because of noise. Sweated all night! Ibis should use their clout to stop this noise. Couldn’t possibly stay again.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    The room is a perfect size and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy who greeted us gave us the impression he didn't really want to be there, not much friendly conversation. The rooms were too hot, and one of our rooms had a locked window so it couldn't be opened. In The morning, a man came into our room, he opened the door and went back out saying 'sorry sorry. He had a key to our room and wasn't a cleaner as they did there sounds a lot later. On our floor there were a group of people who were smoking weed which really deflated our experience. The car park should be free to use for ibis customers. It's ridiculous you have to pay to have your car there.

    The room is a perfect size and comfortable. It was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for OSCE examinees
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some staff were a bit unaccommodating to requests

    the rooms were bigger than what we expected, with enough coffee and tea for the guests; a 4-5min walk to the Northampton Innovation Centre where we took our OSCE

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such rude staff at check in desk, came from so far to get there and wouldn’t let us stay because I had forgot my ID but my boyfriend had his

    Didn’t get the chance to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Near town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to Northampton to watch the Grand Prix I find it disgusting that you can bump your prices up by nearly £150 for a 2 night stay. This was also without breakfast that was £8.99 per person!

    Near town centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    overall I was happy with my stay at IBIS and will definitey stay again. Is good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift pass was sticky at times and didn't register but front reception staff were helpful in getting it sorted. Looking at previous reviews this seems to be an ongoing issue. Parking in the underground car park was easy but note this does not belong to IBIS so it is £7 daily but if you pay the £7 then leave and return you then pay by the hour so best to leave your car in the car park or park elsewhere. Not a lot of off-street parking around so check before you go.

    I thought the bed was comfortable and fan provided in the room as weather was very hot at time of visit. I thought it was good value for money and the room was clean and very adequate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant staff but will look for somewhere else to stay if we visit Northampton again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The key card readers in both lifts only work intermittently and need replacement. Breakfast very definitely down to a price, not up to a quality. Choice of loud noises from outside through the night or stifling heat in bedroom with window closed No hand towels - only one bath towel per guest.

    Reasonable price, convenient for town centre, easy parking in adjoining Sol Centre at just £7 for 24 hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    2.5
    Harrowing and degrading
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor customer service and found it hard to move around with my disability. I was so upset by experience and have had no correspondence to reassuring my trust in using this sevive

    I had an emergency with son so had to leave within hours of arriving. I spoke to a member of staff and was told I would be refunded for my stay as it was urgent and I be had no phone call from a manger or a refund yet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    was really lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom had hair in it, from a customers previous shave, it was a little disturbing but soon wiped off with a bit of water to flush it down the drain.

    enjoyed the comforting environment, it was very relaxing, with a good view of the city. If you’re stayig for the clubs, they are extremely close by and easy to get to. The room was bigger than expected. really enjoyed every second :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Great - will be staying more often for various gigs in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking information needs to be clearer - where to park (multi-story) and how to access it, and how to pay on leaving.

    Very clean, room was nice and a good size; staff were excellent, close to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were asked but did not try to put the bed settee away from a camp bed to return to a settee and i could not do that. This took up alot of room space and has happened more than once on my stay there. Frustrating

    Central. Near restaurants and bars. Large room and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff not well trained or have much idea of what equipment they have available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking we were told there was not cot available so brought one (which was hassle to) to then find out a cot had been made available but us not informed. There was no air conditioning (surprised but appreciate may have said on booking site) and no plug sockets by bed side cabinets. At breakfast we asked for a high chair and told there wasn't one and do got pushchair from room only to then have a high chair brought out. Plates for breakfast were ridiculously small and shallow which suggested trying to ssve money not to let you fill your plate!!! Also staff didn't seem to be able to advise or give guidance on car parking.

    Location is very central and overall hotel was clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Not a good partime of Northampton. Doesn't feel safe at night. Ghastly expensive carpark
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daughters had two rooms in the end they shared one room as the room on the lower level didn't feel safe. The car park is a nightmare to get in and out of

    Nothing stayed here before and it was much better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    I was very disappointed with the front of house girl I felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed with the front of house girl I felt with,I left my charger in my room when I checked out,I telephoned later that evening when I missed it and was advised to come in and collect it next morning,when I got there and explained my predicament she practically called me a liar,wouldn’t look in the room told me there was nottshe could do and just dismissed me ,I asked to see her manager who agreed to give me a charger ,she was so sour about it all ,wouldn’t smiled if you paid her,I wouldn’t like her to front my busines

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall it was nice hotel, but the car park and the lift issues spoilt it.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked the hotel on the understanding there was a car park within the grounds. However when i arrived and asked where the car park was the man on the desk pointed me to a open air pay and display car park over the road or an alternative council run car park behind the complex. It was only when i went around and saw a ticket inspector in the council run car park he told me that in the complex that the hotel is in there is a car park and spaces for ibis customers. Although you still have to pay for the parking (£7 a day) it is undercover and secure it was a shame the man on the desk didnt seem to know about it. Just one other little thing, in the lift you have to put your door card in to get it to work, that needs looking at as it was hard to get it to work sometimes.

    We booked the hotel because we knew it was dog friendly and in the centre of town. The main thing was we could bring the dog. Also when we were checking in the girl at the desk put us on floor 4 as she said it will be quieter than the lower floors where the dog might get disturbed. This was a great suggestion and it was appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Didn't get what I paid for,
    • Group
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a room with a sofa bed not to sleep in, I stayed in the room alone, but as a few of us were having makeup done and getting ready for a wedding in my room so I paid extra for the extra space. I did not receive this sofa even though I paid for it so we had to sit on the bed and have nails/hair done. Not ideal. Also there were stains and marks all over the floor. The hotel is located across from a nightclub so on weekends all through the night you can hear the music, shouting etc, bring ear plugs.

    The bathroom was very clean, good size and nicely decorated. The breakfast was decent. The staff are very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for us, very clean, staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi is ok unless loads of people are using it. The twin beds are not the most comfortable in the world, but not terrible either.

    The value for money was amazing. Rooms was very clean and unusually very cool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient hotel which met all my needs during my stay in Northampton.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy guests banging doors and sitting talking in the corridor outside my room. This is not the fault of the hotel though.

    Good location. 5 mins walk from the station and about 10 mins to the centre of the town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely atrocious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to sleep due to very loud music - at 3 in the morning. Then neighbours hammering on room doors and shouting. Security calmed it down, until one hour later it started all over again, and again. This was on top of the extremely warn carpet, complete with cigarette burns and the faulty lifts. The worst stay I've ever had in 40 years of frequenting hotels all over the world.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get an electronic key for your door (as is usual nowadays) but you need to use it to operate the elevator.. and it’s a ball ache ! Doesn’t work and you stand inside swiping the blasted thing, and eventually you go back to reception and get it re-loaded - every single time. Only one towel and one pillow each - I’m sure you could go to reception and get more, but then you have to argue with the electronic card again. Just put a couple towels each in the room for heavens sake. We had twin single beds and they were very narrow .. very.

    Very good location. Plenty of restaurants across the road, lots of culinary choice. Beds were comfortable. Noon check out as standard was great. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with 1 Double Bed and 1 Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was unbelievable, due to the hot weather and not having air-conditioning we had the window open during the night, this allowed a high level of noise in , so we either had to swelter due to the heat in the room or open the window which allowed excessive noise in, these issues led to a very poor nights sleep for myself and my partner

    Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    We’ve stayed several times, the location and secure parking...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, no bathroom fan makes for a hot and stuffy stay in the summer heat

    We’ve stayed several times, the location and secure parking are big plus points for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay at ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room, staff at reception was not the best, I payed like £8 for breakfast and it was not nice food at all.

    Nothing, will never stay at ibis again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the bar late night (11pm ish) was dreadful. One member of staff on. Others wandering past not helping, long queue, gave up and went to bed

    Clean and basic. But for a budget hotel you’d expect it

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: