Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Portsmouth 3 stars

Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth, PO1 2LX, United Kingdom

#15 of 22 hotels in Portsmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4303 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Good central location, great for my son’s graduation
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was supposed to finish at 10am, it was being cleared away at 9.30 before we had finished. Also there were insufficient supplies of hot breakfast food with many people having paid for hot breakfast but no bacon, sausages, egg or hash browns available to select from the buffet

    Good central location, great for my son’s graduation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were very small, however staff were absolutely lovely! Great location and I would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were quite small, and overly priced for the time of the stay, however staff were absolutely lovely! Hotel was in a great location, and I would recommend.

    Rooms were quite small, and overly priced for the time of the stay, however staff were absolutely lovely! Hotel was in a great location, and I would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying so much for the hotel and they didn't have the air conditioning. This is not acceptable especially at this hot weather. The mattress was horrible. There was no proper server. Too small bathroom.

    Location. Room was beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.6
    Unhappy with the cost of a room, the size of which was absolutely not suitable as a twin room..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not suitable for 2 beds. It was not big enough for a twin room. The cost of the room was not reflected in the room size. Poor. Recently stayed in a premier inn, large room and half the price. Very very disappointed.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.0
    basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main disappointment was how expensive the room was for what it was. We had to pay £179 for one night without breakfast included. I could have stayed at a more 'exclusive' hotel for that price, but due to so many events on in the area there was not much choice. The lift was not working and it was difficult to find the reception.

    The man at reception was very nice Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Horrible - avoid. Pay a bit more and go somewhere better.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tiny and not suitable for families or indeed. No airconditiong, tiny shower and tinier toilet - overall horrible experience

    Good location and young and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    enjoyed our event and location of hotel was great but was disappointed with hotel overall...
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were small and bathroom facilities were ridiculously small. only two lifts and both out of action...I am not disabled but do walk with a walking stick so this was highly uncomfortable for me to be walking up flights of stairs...staff not really very helpful or sympathetic although I do understand that the engineers had been called...it was a very hot day/night and there was no air conditioning only a very small extremely noisy electric fan found in wardrobe. car parking ...we paid £10 for the day but on using car in evening and returning later found no parking spaces available and so had to park in a non bay area like others had...was lucky to find the space.

    location for graduation event was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    2.5
    Hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Literally.

    ABSOLUTELY atrocious. Tiny bathroom. No AC. Telephone broken. Don't even get me started on the fricking bed. I should have slept on a rock. A damn rock. It would have been more comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disapointed and will not use Ibis again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The bathroom was smaller than the bathroom on my narrow boat. No air con. In the room. Poor sound insulation. I've had better chain hotel rooms at £69 compared to this room at £149. Oh and I still had to pay £7 to park in the hotel car park as well !

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    It was convenient and suited our need for the 2 days stay. Beyond that
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are so small it was difficult to manover in there and am a small person. The water in the sink had one temperature- extra hot and it caused whatever has been in the drain overtime to waft into the air and basically smell like a sewer. We kept the clog on the drain. Beyond that the room is tiny but felt clean.

    Location was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place for chilling and the nightlife
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit cramped, and the ambience was a bit "clinical". I'd have liked to see more events, certainly with the world cup match between england and belgium on.

    The food was good, the breakfast was plentyful, and the location was great, as it was near the city center and the university. Personnell was very helpful and kind, and very efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.0
    Pretty unconfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was too small, smaller than a cabin on a boat. Toilet in a corner and shawer tiny. I wanted a two bed room and we got a double bed. There was no air conditioning or fridge in the room.

    The bed was confortable and clean. Parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Poor hotel and very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was the smallest I have ever seen, just room for a bed and not much else, it felt very enclosed in. I would have thought that was disappointing enough for the cost and then I saw the bathroom! How anybody that was other than slim build could fit inside is beyond me. I have seen bigger bathrooms in a motorhome. A corner shower that seems to take some navigating and breathing in just to get inside followed by trying to get to the toilet past the sink without opening the bathroom door is laughable! Why also is there about a 4 inch gap at the bottom of the door, this isn't a public toilet! The thing that was also very annoying, there is an illuminating sign outside showing the room rates - which was at the time of arriving £179 a night, (which is what was paid) after popping out for a couple of hours and returning the room rate had dropped to £109... if i had known this could have I turned up 2 hours later to save £70? This was a real disappointment. Of all the places I have stayed here and abroad, this has turned up to be the most expensive and in Portsmouth - even London and Sydney were cheaper than this with rooms twice the size! Sorry Ibis, I don't like to write negative reviews but after finding there was no air conditioning and a 3 inch gap in the window to let air in on a very hot day you left me no choice.

    The location was a few minutes walk from the local railway station, also a 15 minute walk to go to Gunwarf Quays. I could not comment on the staff as after check in I had no need to see anyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    A decent enough hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, no drawers, few hangers. Ok for a short time but we were there for 5 nights so had clothing piled up. We managed the small bathroom but a larger person would really struggle.

    Staff very good, beds very comfortable. Food good, as a non meat eater would have liked mushrooms and tomatoes as an option. The staff did specially cook veggie sausages which were really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Not at all comfortable. Too hot and stuffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning at all in any part of the hotel. Couldn't sleep because too hot and stuffy. Corridors extremely hot. Rooms very small. No extras like lotions etc. Sent to the wrong room when we arrived. Entered a room that was already occupied. Had to go and sort it at reception. Breakfast very basic. Flies crawling over the muffins as not covered. No tomatoes on buffet.

    Bed was comfortable. In a good location for dock yard, about 15 minutes walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Great location but they have the worst beds and pillows you will ever sleep on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like sleeping on concrete and the pillow was like a concrete slab. I’ve stayed here many times before and it’s drastically changed ! This is the worst night sleep I’ve ever had and I’ve had to go and see a back specialist as I couldn’t even walk straight the next morning. Not worth the £119 I had to pay and I won’t ever be booking again. Its a shame when I wanted to talk to someone directly no on wanted to listen

    The location is perfect and they have parking at the back you have to pay extra for which isn’t a problem

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Underwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning!!! Look I know it's budget but come on. It's summer. Poor light and sound insulation. Tiny bathroom.

    Location and that's it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Had a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located well for city centre attractions and venue, short walk to Guildhall, Gunwharf etc. Lots of good pubs and eateries nearby. Reasonable parking at the hotel, spotless room, comfy, bit small but not an issue, staff lovely, nothing seemed too much trouble, good breakfast .... ideal!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    TOOOOO HOT!!!!! Great in Winter!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was great, hotel was good but the room was far too HOT!! No air conditioning! Crazy!!

    The bed was great, hotel was good but the room was far too HOT!! No air conditioning! Crazy!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Cancelled after 1st of two nights. Almost ruined weekend as so uncomfotable, but booked elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny room. Extremely small bathroom. Tiny fan for such warm weather and only 1 at that. Rock hard bed and pillows. Hardly slept. Only 1 towel each. Just to confirm, it's the smallest hotel room we've ever stayed in, And to think they have a budget version as well. We think the budget Ibis may be a cardboard box.

    Not much. The staff were quite helpful though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Only stayed here for location for ferry. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    People in bar, women, using extremely bad language due to drunkenness. Had a chicken curry, cost approximately £12. Two small pieces of chicken, the rest sauce and some rice - rip off!!

    Bed was comfy. Convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Poor for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying with a 3 month old baby. Hotel information states that it is child friendly, however there was little room for our travel cot and there were no facilities for giving our daughter a wash to cool her down in the hot weather. There was no air con, and only a small fan which was not very effective. At 11 o'clock at night the temperature in the room was 29 degrees with the very small windows open. We had to move to the other Ibis in the city.

    Decorated in nice fashion in the lobby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed in room size and heat/lack of cooling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was alot smaller than we thought. The door of the room hit of the bed everytime the door opened. The heat of the room was unbearable and the was no air conditioning. The only thing we had in the room was a fan that kept moving across the desk. If we took key card out the electric went off meaning the fan went off therefore the room was sickly warm again

    The location was fantastic and the lobby was relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Good staff, nicely decorated rooms, poor toilet facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were increadbly small, unable to sit on them with legs out had to tuck my legs to one side, very uncomfortable and not appropriate for anyone beyond 6ft tall or beyond. Room fan was pathetically small and broken (rattled and no desk top for it to sit on in order to blow cool air onto bed over night)

    Easy to check in, good staff, easy to sign out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Fine for one night, no frills but comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small, bathroom tiny! No aircon on hot summer's day, but the bedroom window did open.

    Comfy bed, fine for one night. Nice and clean just all very compact!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel well located very clean excellent staff and some useful facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well this is just nitpicking it would’ve been nice to have booked the car parking space in advance but unfortunately you can’t as it’s first come first served because of the size of the car park Also mine and my partners personal view although it was a lovely hotel for the room we had £90 was a bit expensive We feel that room mid week should have been around £70 price mark

    The hotel is situated just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and 15 minutes walk from the Spinnaker Tower and if you go mid week parking at the hotel subject to availability is only 7 pounds for 24 hours which is a lot cheaper than on the public highway or private carparks And if you book breakfast as well if your stay you have unlimited tea and coffee all night and all day during your stay and like we did we had a buffet style breakfast which there was a lot of continental to choose from and also full English As long as you don’t mind scrambled eggs with your full English your be okay The room was very clean as was the whole hotel we had a room for two people perfect for a short stay but if you are doing long-term say a week you want a slightly bigger room As you would feel claustrophobic because of the dark coloured walls Lol but that’s just nitpicking I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I can get it at a reasonable price And having a 24 hour check-in means check-in starts from 2 PM it makes it a lot easier if you turn up late The facilities in the reception area is a lounge type seating area with a Bar is also poor table and a few games if you want to play games and A place to eat if you want an evening meal doesn’t look exactly like restaurant but the food is very nice from what a person is eating they told me she uses that hotel regular as a place to stay when she comes to Portsmouth on business , unfortunately if you have babies or young children could not tell you about the facilities in the rooms for families but The facilities that we had the Yusof was excellent and would recommend this hotel to anyone maybe the price would be cheaper for a longer stay we were there just for one night , and there’s also a phone in your room if you want room service and the hotel is disabled friendly if you’re in a wheelchair With two lifts , and for those of you cannot use lifts there’s also stairs as well and it’s not very...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room as no air con but apart from that good.

    Great location. 5 minutes from train station and close to quays and town centre. Located over the road from the Guildhall and pubs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, would recommend even with the bad room for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately we asked for a twin room and given the disabled room which was quite limited for space weirdly. The room was also very very hot. The hotel was fully booked so unable to swap rooms

    The staff were the best thing about this hotel. Friendly and helpful. Location is good to the centre. Hotel very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon would have been good, a fan was provided though

    Great location, stayed one night before catching ferry, payment system on arrival great idea it saved time in the morning as we were in a hurry. Lovely comfy bed, small bathroom but perfect for our needs, fab shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    Good location but not enough parking.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small and room has no ventilation.

    Good location but not enough parking. Staff was not helpful as the fan in our room was making a lot of noise and they couldn’t replace so fix it. Room had no ac.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Worked well for an overnight stay after a ferry journey, apart from difficulties parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of designated parking. Bathroom too small.

    Breakfast selection was very good, excellent value for money. Bed was comfortable and bar staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room Lots of thuds & dropped items from the rooms above Reception guy did not tell us breakfast times.

    The bed was comfortable, the location of the hotel was great for town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a budget hotel, but it's not super cheap and they do cut a lot of corners. Room and especially bathroom were absolutely tiny. No aircon.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is perfect just wish there was more room between toilet and wall in front seems tight as the towel hooks are right above... just be careful don't hit your head.

    I liked how welcoming the hotel staff were, the entrance area was clean and very social , breakfast was delicious with a great spread, rooms were comfy and clean and have everything you need. Staff were very helpful and friendly! Location is perfect, parking is a bonus! Rooms were clean. The beds are very relaxing and comfortable. Shower is powerful. Bathroom clean... and although I mentioned toilet and towel hooks... the toilet itself was clean ! Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    A tiny but clean room with comfy king size bed & fast shower! Ten minute walk to Gunwharf Quays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like about this hotel was our room being on the road side, close to a noisy street that kept me awake 'til 3am when the music finally stopped!

    A modern and clean hotel, a short walk from Gunwharf Quays, with friendly staff, a comfy bed, great shower and a good breakfast! All you need for a night or two stay, close to shops, bars, restaurants, the dockyard and loads of entertainment.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Won't book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Not enough space to turn round in bathroom. Spent ages trying to get lights to work as we were not told we had to out room key in box on wall.

    Easy check in/out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    put it this way I dont think Iwill be staying again but you never knoe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    size of bathroom, shower cubicle, hardness of pillows and bed also the room was too hot

    when you sat on the toilet you kept hitting the sink the shower was next to useless it must have had the smallest shower head ever and the cubicle size was a joke if a larger person were staying they would not be able to shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and the bathroom almost impossible to negotiate. Very difficult to sit on the toilet, one had to sit at a twisted angle. Shower also very small. The room was extremely hot. It was a very hot period of weather admittedly but there was no air conditioning.

    Not much although staff were quite helpful. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    The rooms, are comfortable and for an overnight stay ideal. Tea and coffee making tray available
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here before as it is convenient for a ferry crossing. the beds are super comfortable. Sadly it was a Friday night and the youth of Portsmouth were out in force and it was very noisy until 4am. it did sound like a low level riot This is not the fault of the hotel but its city centre location. We stayed here before out of season and it was silent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.2
    Not the best experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff. Advised to park the car opposite of the hotel. Car got broken in. Of course nobody ever from the hotel knew anything about these issues..... Unfriendly staff also Rooms are tiny.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was just adequate, very small and poorly ventilated but hotel is in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet food was only warm and of reasonable quality Standard room was very small with only 2 towels provided and poorly ventilated View from window overlooked by office block Hotel is overpriced for standard of room and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Snazzy, funky hotel that's on the expensive side but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of fried eggs and tomatoes(either fresh or tinned) at breakfast time. No chocolate sachets in drinks making facilities in the room- and Tetley's Tea? It's the cheapest and therefore the worst! Come on fellers Typhoo at least! These are just minor quibbles though.

    As a person who is visually impaired I appreciated the lighting in the lounge, where I could read in brightness and comfort. Food quality was very good- staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Okay but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt over priced based on how hot the room was even with windows open and fan provided ineffective. Also couldn't leave the window open because the hotel is located across the road from a night club and the music and shouting kept us awake. Room also very cramped particularly the bathroom.

    Nice check in experience good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Great budget offering, very professional and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no complaints.

    Ibis hotels are always very clean and the bed is comfy. The room was laid out in a smart and efficient way, there were plenty of sockets and the lighting was pretty good. The carpark was reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant in evening OK, new menu couple of selections not on menu but ambience very dull. Also no toilet brush.

    Good location, 10-15 mins walk to Gunwharf Quays or taxi ride 5 mins (fee not a lot £4). Rooms small but clean and all amenities good (hairdryer and PLUG in right place to mirror, coffee/tea facilities). Would only stay there for 1/2 nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small for my tall stature. The shower was too small and the toilet needed more space in front of it

    The location was very good. The space in the room was good. The restaurant was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Look, it is ok for what it is - a budget hotel (if a bit pricey). Alas, it 's not the hotel for me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, especially bathroom was no more than a pod. No air con; the room was quite warm, even with the room's window having been opened beforehand. I checked in after 11 PM and still it was too warm to be considered comfortable.

    Location (close to train station) Room facilities provided all worked fine (those that I used anyway)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and bathroom even tinier. If I was there for more than 1 night I would have asked to move rooms as there was no where to put anything!

    Bed was comfy and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice comfy bed, good value for the price if u book in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfy bed, good value for the price if u book in advance, good breakfast selection, room is soundproof completely however u might want to open window at night as air conditioning isnt perfect, overall a nice stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.3
    I have no intention of using accor hotels again it is not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet with not enough room to sit down is simply not good enough. The noise woke a number of times throughout the night. As for the service in the restaurant I ordered fish and chips and got chips and something resembling a spam fritter when I said to the staff this is not acceptable he offered to change it. Guess what he brought it back having turned it over. I will never recommend it to anyone. This not acceptable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot, I can see the parking space being a tad too small and presenting possible problems to really late arrivals!

    We were only there from late evening to early morning so did not eat there. However the hotel met our needs. Very handy for the ferry, clean, but not overly large rooms, nice bar with pool, friendly staff, and reasonable parking space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    Lovely location but I would never stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inability of hotel to cater for food allergies at breakfast. They were quite rude. They were notified in advance and if they had told me they couldn't cater I would have gone elsewhere. Instead, I didn't find out until I was seated at table for breakfast!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Looks great but room too small. Also very stuffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and it was difficult to sit comfortably on the loo as space was so restricted. I’m slim but 5’10; even less comfortable for my 6’2 husband.

    Funky decor and hi tech check in. Relaxed attitude

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the rooms to be small. Quite normal for this type of hotel. I’m quite small as is my wife, however if you were slightly larger you would definitely struggle with it. Especially the bathroom.

    The location and general feel of the hotel was very good. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Very bad for an IBIS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Which for an IBIS was totally unexpected especially as it looks a modern building. Totally inadequate fan and windows that hardly opened to let air in

    Location and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    for a short stay, this hotel is absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are clean and modern, but lack air conditioning and space. on this visit it was like a sauna in the room (top floor) and the fan provided just didn't help. The size was adequate but to be honest it was small. But adequate for sleeping.

    Extremely clean and well maintained hotel. Its location is excellent - 2 mins away from Portsmouth Civic Hall and 10 mins from Canary Wharf shopping and boat yard. Breakfast is great... a good choice of good quality food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location and relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room faced the road and the noise from 1am till gone 3am by the students over the road ruined the break, could not sleep at night, I no this is not the fault of the hotel, but would perhaps request a room facing rear of hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Very clean & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was too small, could probably have a smaller sink to make more room. The bed was very comfy but the pillows are a bit on the hard side...

    Very clean & friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Have stayed a couple of times and would definitely book again great location for the Guildhall
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very hot did have a fan but didn't help much, but for the price of the room cannot expect air conditioning.

    Great location very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Was ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and too warm. The fan helped a little bit. We had ham and cheese toastie which was very dry and the drinks were expensive.

    The room was clean the bed comfy the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If staying longer and weather not good, easy availability using to TV might help?

    Location for Guildhall and places to eat. Very pleasant staff. Although room was small, it was completely suitable for our stay. Very pleased to have a fan (as it was a very hot night), hairdrier, coffee and tea making facilities. The beds and pillows were very good and we both slept very well. Everything was very clean. Breakfast was very good value, with chilled fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, porridge, cooked breakfast ( well cooked) toast and croissants and pain au chocolat hot from the oven . Excellent value for the money and would definitely do an overnight stay again. Drinks at the bar , were also fairly priced. Parking is now £ 10 which had not been advertised,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was good and the bar area is nice but the rooms where disappointing 😔
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Couldn’t believe how small the rooms are and how they have tried to squeeze a en suite in the corner of it. No air conditioning couldn’t sleep it was to hot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    For the price we paid for the room I expected a normal size room with air conditioning.
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room and bathroom were small, not comfortable really. No air conditioning the room was stifling hot which made it uncomfortable to sleep.

    The cleanliness of the room and hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Premier inn next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms are extremely small and unbearably hot with windows that only open 2 inches and no air conditioning, the bathrooms are so small you have to shuffle into them sideways

    excellent staff and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and when we were there, it was uncomfortably warm. The only way to cool it down(not successfully)was with a noisy, Not too clean fan. To say it bluntly I would never stay there again. I wish I had taken some photos to show how tiny everything was.

    The breakfast was good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean but basic accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower rom and loo was a little on the cramped side.

    The hotel was clean and tidy but quite basic. If all you want from it is a good nights sleep then it fits the bill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay there again it is very conveniently located and extremely comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from outside the hotel, it is in the city centre, and there was a party opposite that was extremely noisy until 5am. The staff were helpful and polite but I lacking in any real friendliness

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    A cracking hotel to start an overseas trip via the ferry services running from Pompey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If there was room in the bathroom pod for a cat, I definitely couldn't have swung it !

    The hotel provides an excellent overnight stop-over for the ferry services running out of Portsmouth. The hotel has a fantastic reception/lounge facility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    A nightmare stay ask for a ground floor as we had 2dogs got a top floor
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot bathroom too small

    Bar and eating area was very good bedroom you couldn't swing a cat in never mind 2dogs room was so hot could not sleep dogs didn't sleep worst ibis I've ever stayed in wont ever go back there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Good, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was to hot in the room. There was a little fan but it wasnt enough. I also think there could have been some hook´s on the wall and one extra thing to place the suitcase.

    The bed, easy access, close to railway, close to everything. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location but very cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are unbelievably small. In order to get to the toilet we had to walk in backwards and to get around the room we had to walk sideways and one person at a time

    the hotel is nice and in great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely small for two people, mind I’ve asked for two single beds still you couldn’t move😤extremely hot and NO AIRCONDITIONING😤,no a single draw where to store you stuff 😩 I mean if you were there for a week, you’ll have to keep your clothes:eg underwear ect in the luggage 😤! Are the ibis all same set up 🤔? Hope not!!!

    Close to all amenities! Very generous with the breakfast selection 👍🏼

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Not the best but certainly not in any way the worst!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was somewhat on the small side and it was much too warm with no facility to cool it down in any way. At Breakfast there was no alternative style of egg other than scrambled,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, so-so room no aircon, minute bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small, and the room was far too hot with no air con, just a small noisy fan we had to have on all night.

    The location was ideal for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Was a hot room but comfortable bed. Great location and good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double SweetRoom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small and extremely hot! Even with the windows open it was still hot. When we got back after being out all day the housekeeper had shut the windows up again. Bathroom was so small there was no room to dry yourself off in there.

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was really good. The decor was nice and we liked that there was a hairdryer. The staff were always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Portsmouth traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: