Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Reading Centre (new ibis rooms) 3 stars

25A Friar Street, Reading, RG1 1DP, United Kingdom

#12 of 38 hotels in Reading

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2604 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great location, great value for money!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel, but even on the 11th floor I could hear the bass of the music of one of the bars nearby and I'd asked for a quiet room.

    Everything! Its a new hotel, centrally located, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Good work stay in reading
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was too hard for me and the pillow too. I stayed there for work, but because of the world cup, it was really noisy. The streets around the hotel were full of drunk and rude people. In normal times, it should be ok.

    The hotel is very good located, really not far from the train station and close to bars, food shops and restaurants. Breakfast was good and even hast some good English cheddar. Nothing too fancy, but a very good hotel for travelling for work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    The beds were comfortable and the room had everything we...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink in the bathroom didn't drain properly and the shower flooded the bathroom floor.

    The beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    A good option for a short stay - good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have used more staff at busy times, rooms a little small.

    Room was clean and comfortable, staff were helpful. Good for a short visit and good value for the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    The response of the staff to the problem was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv didn't work and the maintenance engineer never turned up to sort out the problem. My 10 year old grandson had to watch the England match in the hotel's crowded bar. No apology or compensation was offered.

    An extra double bed was provided in a family room at no extra cost

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    It is a good place to come home to after a day at a conference.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The key cards demagnetize too easily. One lift did not work for a time which resulted in unacceptably long waits between 8 and 9 am.

    The stuff was always helpful and super friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too hard.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is pretty much ideal regarding closeness to the station and the city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Good stay in a wonderfully central location in Reading, with plenty of eating places all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For some strange reason, there were no teaspoons or stirrers in the room, though there was a kettle with tea and coffee. The staff at Reception said someone had overlooked this!

    Well planned room with all essentials provided. All facilities worked well. Filling breakfast with plenty of choices (even soya milk for those avoiding milk).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Superb staff! Perfect pet friendly room! Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An in-room iron and ironing board would have been nice but appreciate there was an ironing room on one of the higher floors.

    Wooden floor -spotlessly clean and being a dog friendly room, this was ideal for our little four legged companion. The lack of dog smell was hugely noticed! The bed was superbly comfortable and the bathroom pods were ideal. Must add, the reception staff were, without question, the bubbliest, most obliging and helpful staff we've ever come across. A credit to the hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Slightly over priced in my opinion but great location and nice staff and rooms are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the Lifts didn’t work so being on 12th floor we had a lot of waiting around, going up and down in lift to the point of getting out and using stairs constantly or end up spending half an hour to actually get to relevant floor. It should be fixed quickly no signs after 2 days

    Nice size room and comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Milk was off in the room .... Had a member of staff knock on the door (person who checked me in a couple of hours earlier) to tell me the room should be empty and I should have checked out .... seemed a little disorganised.... no apology ....

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Dorm meets IKEA meets ship’s bathroom.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud neighbors. Literally security/police escorted 2 rooms full of people from our floor at 4am. Had a knock and run at 3am another night. Manager promised free breakfast for the inconvenience, but was charged for breakfast anyway. Small rooms. Many homeless in the area around. No luggage stand (or even room to put one).

    Walkable to shopping and train station. Good breakfast. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    basic hotel in good position but lift ruins it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift was terrible. Only one working - shared with housekeeping and guests. Took ages and was very crowded. No repairs during four nights I was there and understand it has been going on for ages.

    bed was reasonably comfortable staff pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Price great location for car drivers poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is off site and being a blue badge holder it was a long walk from car park and on booking.com it lists it’s got a car park and it hasn’t!! And signage from the car park to hotel is very poor

    The bacon was fantastic and best nights sleep in years and love the pod bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not the most comfortable. Bathrooms functuonal. But in line with price.

    Great location. Reception smart and has 'trendy student' look. Bar open and food available late.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in took awhile as room not ready. Staff at reception initially told us it was going to be awhile. Waited for twenty minutes to be told, room still not ready. Staff said she had not forgotten about us. Second person at reception was more helpful offering to keep our luggage once we explained we wanted to go to the Museum before the closing time. She apologised for the delay and kept our luggage in a secure room which was helpful.

    Staff friendly. Bed comfortable. Walking distance from train station and Reading Museum. Hotel suitable if wanting to attend concerts at Reading Concert Hall. Lots of restaurants and in town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    The service is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was too much light coming in from the windows which resulted in waking up too early. The pillows and mattress were ok, but improvements can be made.

    The service is great. We initially booked a double room and we asked if we could share the bed with a third person for 2 out of 4 nights. Not only did they not have a problem with that, but they allocated us to a bigger room, free of charge. Breakfast is fantastic, with choices for people who follow a more strict diet (non-dairy, sugarfree etc). Everyone was lovely to us. The whole hotel is modern and well decorated. The prices are reasonable as the hotel is next to the central station. Definitely coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Good for 1 night basic stay
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a budget hotel but I felt the rooms where really basic and could of had some life and colour to them and the beds need extra comfort not to mention the poor air conditioning system

    Loved the staff especially in the breakfast area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff didn’t seem very friendly with us apart from the gentleman that checked us in-he was lovely and we couldn’t fault him

    Perfect location,rooms were a fair size and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent value for money. Can't fault the hotel and staff. Good quality breakfast, and location was only 5-10 minutes (slow) walk to the main Oracle shopping centre and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    10/10 for location, stylish room and very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My double 'sweet' room was spacious, spotlessly clean and stylishly decorated, with a supremely comfortable bed and a great pod-like shower room. Buffet breakfast was absolutely excellent and catered for all tastes. All staff were polite and smiling and nothing was too much trouble. 10/10 Ibis for a first class stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was a really good hotel

    Was an excellent hotel and we loved our night stay there. Breakfast was excellent and they even left macaroons in our room as I mentioned it was my boyfriends birthday which was a lovely touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, peaceful and very close to all amenities. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No close access by private car meaning heavy luggage or mobility issues are a problem. It is not really possible to " come and go " freely by car because it is in the NCP car park. No " Welcome Pack " with hotel and local information.

    The location, the quietness, the cleanliness and the smiling helpful staff.. The 50% NCP car park discount was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great, except for the additional costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking (NCP) is expensive even with guest discount (12 pounds for 24 hours). Breakfast option sounded expensive at 8.95 per person per meal, but we didn't visit the restaurant so cannot comment on the value.

    Everything else!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Handy for town and shops, places to eat and the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking had to use ncp car park

    Handy for town and shops, places to eat and the train station. room was clean, air con was a God send, bed was comfy too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    The quintessence of a modern budget city hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was pretty small and had a curious odour, similar to fresh paint. Tea and coffee were provided in-room but sadly lacking in biscuits. Swiping room keycard for use of lift was a pain - proximity/touch readers are the way to go. But nitpicking really.

    Ultra-efficient check-in and check-out. Bright, contemporary feel to the building and facilities. Central location affords easy access to rail station and bus network. Plenty of food options nearby. No major faults and a few pleasant surprises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not safe slippy, floor no grab rail,and leaving en suite there was a step down requiring another grab rail. Health and safety need to investigate

    Convenient for town centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great Value, Great Locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Great location and value for money. On arrival staff were informative and friendly. Great restaurants and bars nearby. Parking at NCP for £12 isn't bad for overnight either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great value,central,modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great to be able to park at the hotel.

    Location, simple easy care modern design of pod style bathroom, wardrobe and table/seat multi-use idea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not something you can do anything about but Saturday evening on Friar Street was a bit dodgy. There was a police presence but I wouldn't have stayed out on the street.

    I loved the shower and the very comfortable bed. The convenience of being close to the railway station, the bus network and the centre of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    MENTIONING THAT THE PARKING WAS GOING TO BE EXTREMELY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MENTIONING THAT THE PARKING WAS GOING TO BE EXTREMELY EXPENIVE! IT WAS MADE OUT LIKE IT WAS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE OF THE ROOM! NEED TO BE MORE CLEAR ON THAT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Not good because of the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was dread full, it squeeked and rattled, just turning over, the bed was extremely noisy, therefore not much sleep!! Room 10006 if I remember rightly

    Central location, friendly staff, except security guard who was a little grumpy but he was dealing with a couple who were being noisy,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms, spacious room, easily accessible to the train...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have irons in the rooms. U have to go to the 7th floor to iron. That's very inconvenient. The accent of some of the staff was a bit heavy and even the voice they use on their main number when you dial has a very thick accent that is not easy to understand.

    Clean rooms, spacious room, easily accessible to the train station and busses. Lovely 🏨

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There will be some noise as it is in the centre of the town. Didn't bother me as I was out until late anyway but those hoping for an early night should be aware

    Great central location. Was out until late so great that reception and food was available 24 hours.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    This was a budget hotel in a great location but way overpriced and far too expensive for amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What croissants? The room was tiny and why would you have a bathroom above floor level? No room on vanity. There were no hand towels, no complimentary shampoo/conditioner. The water 'glasses' were of such flimsy plastic, one was cracked! It felt like a Porta Loo! Very little bedding. Had to ask for a blanket. Closet space fit for a leprechaun. Tiny T.V., no alarm clock. The one plastic chair was uncomfortable to the point of being dangerous. The card keys. What? Now you need to operate the elevator with a card key? It was a nightmare and had to be replaced several times.

    The bed was comfortable. It was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Overnight stay, excellent breakfast & wonderful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    On site parking facilities, though they do support you with a car park nearby. The car park is NCP

    Located in a great place in Reading, perfect for single business travelers. The breakfast is amazing with lots to choose from & I loved that you could have avocado on toast!!! Staff were incredibly friendly & welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    It was fine apart from problem with key card
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room card became uncharged so had to come back from 6 floor to reception which was not easy as card did not work properly in lift. Should have been advised that this could happen if card was put near mobile phone

    It was a very convenient location for the all station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay in Reading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint was the step up to the en-suite shower room which was quite dangerous

    Staff at reception efficient, friendly, hotel in great location, centre of Reading

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds aren’t the comfiest in the world but clean and room tidied everyday ( was there 3 nights.

    Great allocation as right in the town centre and 2 mins walk from the train station. Good breakfast choice( buffet style hot and cold ). Not noisy considering on main road but I wasn’t facing it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel in a good location. Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to what we have paid in other cities for similar hotels we thought it a little expensive, but I guess that’s supply and demand.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk from Reading station. Reception was very efficient and we were able to have our requested early check in. We chose to pay extra for breakfast and thought it good value. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel in a good location with friendly and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to what we have paid in other cities for similar hotels we thought it a little expensive.

    The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk from Reading station. Reception was very efficient and we were able to have our requested early check in. We chose to pay extra for breakfast and thought it good value. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Happy with the stay and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame no car park on site, it was more than expected £24 for 2 days. The lift swipes for the cards were not reliable and several others were experiencing the same "its not working" again and again, good idea if it worked properly

    Decent shower, staff were friendly and helpful, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Might be better the next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to much to like room was dull.

    I like it because it was near my event.the room was to small for two sharing only one mirror to o share one towel each was not enough the night and morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Great value for money, would definitely use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Very up to date & modern. The shower was amazing, very roomy with great pressure (you can't beat a good shower). The bed was comfortable & clean, pillows were just right & over all we had a lovely experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are a bit on the thin side. The nearest car park, although close, is not the nicest.

    Love the location, being in close proximity to the train station, and very close to all usual town centre facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful central stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visible very mouldy vent in shower. Water drainage in shower slow.

    Very comfortable bed and sleep. Room basic but clean. Comfortable bed linen. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Does the job for the price!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from elsewhere in the hotel can easily be heard, such as the TV from a neighbouring room, the corridor, rooms above and below, which made it more difficult to get to sleep.

    Great location, rooms were nicely decorated, clean, and did the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Really central to Reading!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a little while due to (what looked like) a coach load of people arriving just before that. Thats no ones fault really.

    Really central to Reading!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    We had to park in the local NCP car park over night, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park in the local NCP car park over night, which was a minimum of £23 which l feel is an extortionate amount for 12 hrs of parking and takes away from the hotel being good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    Twin rooms are ridiculously too small for 2 people. Shower water temp fluctuates dangerously
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the 'twin' room booked was effectively a 'double' bedded room as the single beds were very narrow and crammed together unable to be separated. I therefore had to book a 2nd room at a 60% surcharge

    staff were just excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I could fault. There was only one lift working and we were located on the 2nd to top floor which wasn't ideal, but things like this can't really be helped

    The lobby was very inviting and staff friendly and helpful on arrival. Rooms were compact but clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    On my list for future stopover in Reading. Check out the Indian Restaurant at the other nearby IBIS
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV was not set-up. Required coding which no one was able to do. Good service point however, I was offered and alternative room.

    Good selection of hot and cold foods available for breakfast, bright, friendly environment throughout hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Best value hotel in Reading, but breakfast is really bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is awful, don't bother with it. No bed sheet on the actual bed only the topper, which is odd. And the shower has really low pressure and you can't turn it above 41c, which is annoying.

    Basic comfortable hotel, friendly staff. The rooms higher up are quieter. Probably best value in Reading (and i've stayed in them all, including the totally over rated and over priced Penta Hotel).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    I have to stay there again on the 13th and 14th of this month and i am not looking forward to it st
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst hotel i have ever stayed at in my life!!! I had no phone and my friends tried to call me all one day and i thought the they were buisy they thought i was gone. The hotel kept putting through calls even though i had told them i did not have a phone. Then the next morning they came and got me out of bed at 7 a.m. because they thought there was something wrong and they never looked to see that i had no phone and i complained that i had no phone. I was in great britian and none of them spoke english well and to my knowledge great britian is an english speaking country.

    The location was very good for my needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Good for business!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the elevators did not work during my stay, which makes it painful to wait 5 to 10 minutes to reach my room on the 9th floor.

    Staff quite friendly, Raul was very helpful in explaining how things work at the Hotel. Breakfast team also great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant , comfortable stay , highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The card in the escalator was a bit tricky at first ,,,,,

    No set reception area with bar attached was very cool, the staff in casual clothing, red T-shirt’s very quirky, check in took about 2 minutes and check out , well how long does it take to drop a key in a slot ?!! Very friendly and helpful staff, room very comfy , location was just brilliant and the price was so cheap for 2 nights , all and all I would definitely recommend the Ibis ,.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice~ and the employee are very kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It is a pity that no refrigerator in the room, so I can't keep food and cause me little choice in supermarket.

    Comfortable, location is very good, near the Reading train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    I have to completely honest having stayed at ibis’s before...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    I have to completely honest having stayed at ibis’s before and them being completely awful I wasn’t looking forward to my stay ( it was booked through work) I was completely surprised , it was super clean, the staff were lovely and my room was fantastic , would absolutely stay here again, exceeded every expectation I had!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A hotel you can rely on
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were quite hard and a little uncomfortable. Work going on the pump room on the top floor (where I was staying) was a little noisy.

    Location. 24 hour pizzas. Lovely little bar in the entrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 101 below the restaurantu guess, the noise woke me up early morning. I did ask lower ground floor as i was pregnant but i was allocated near the lift so late comers drunk pass by my front door.

    Confortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.8
    It was ok nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift working and even that does what it wants too, over 5mins I was waiting in the end I done the stairs even though I was on the 13th floor nd tgeres only 14 floors.

    I stay in a few hotels every month and this was my second ibis to stay in apart from the lift being very slow making me walk up 13 flights of stairs over 3 times a day, everything else was ok just ok. But I wouldn't stay in this ibis again, but the one on Oxford Road Reading that is lovely and perfect I will be staying there again I can assure you that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    In the heart of Reading
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately when I got there one of the two lifts was not working, therefore it made moving to and from the room mad. The water pressure from the shower was also extremely poor

    Staff was really pleasant and friendly, due to not being local! The Hotel is exactly in the city centre hence strongly recommended if you want to visit the city and be close to all of the attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Ok - suited purpose of an overnight stay but wont go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Allocated a room to find someone in it. Moved to a much smaller room which we complained about and was eventually located to a disabled access room . We really didn't need a seat in our shower and a plastic curtain with grab rails every where. The carpet left our socks orange!

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Will not be staying here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed very uncomfortable, too hard, room quite small compared to others I have stayed in for the same price. bathroom too small it was like being in a student accommodation not impressed that when food was ordered you had to collect from the reception and then when I asked if they had a box for any leftovers they said no, I was on the 1st floor they was no signage on now to get to the stairs to go to ground , I had to take the lift, there was only one working lift with 12 floors of rooms not impressed.No tissue box in the room or paper and pen. the wall behind the bed was dirty and had stains on it, I did not see any room info for fire or anything .The TV viewing was rubbish as when I selected several channels to view all I kept getting was no signal, when I asked at reception about this they said there are other channels to view and did not understand the no signal The parking was ridiculous, it should have been made very clear that this hotel is right smack in the middle of the town centre and parking is only in NCP car parks @ £12 a night which was an added expense that was not budgeted for

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, brilliant location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed needs to be fixed to the headboard as the minute you sat up and leaned against the pillow the bed started moving forward.

    Hotel had a lovely welcoming vibe to it, staff always had a smile🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    My son & I enjoyed a Convenient and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds and pillows too hard for my particular liking. Lift broken, causing delays (& we were tight for time, upon arrival

    Lovely breakfast, discounted nearby parking, centrality to restaurants & station. Nice shower. Helpful & friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to park off site and being charged for it; should be part of the hotel stay

    Comfy bed and location suited me very well; shame about no on site parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hotel in the town center!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A menu of the restaurant as well as the breakfast menu should be provided in the rooms and/or on the internet. A mini bar in the room would be helpful especially for long stays. A lift was broken for all my stay and this made me wasting a lot of time as I was in the upper floor and could not use stairs.

    The room was very clean and I enjoyed very much the modern furniture. The staff is superkind and I appreciated a lot the possibility of having the restaurant available the whole day and night. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet with more or less all the facilities you might need. Wifi was pretty good even in upper floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Good enough for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Sweet Room by Ibis
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny room, small window too high to reach, only one chair, no alarm clock, no facial tissue. Only 2 teabags provided. Underside of the desk was sticky (ugh).

    Cheery, efficient staff. Comfortable bed. Chose it for its location an easy walk from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Love the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived had 2 rooms booked one was in 5 floor the other on the top floor we did get it changed but should not have to look for a change

    Love the breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    It’s good for 16-25, solo travellers, it’s like a youth hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size and cheap styling of room. Very dark and depressing and while fairly new and clean, it wasn’t appealing b. No privacy to surrounding buildings so couldnt open curtains. Noise of couples in other rooms was very off putting, like being in a brothel!

    Reception staff were brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Was on a rugby weekend so just needed room only and this was perfect, very central to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms very clean and comfortable, it's very central near the train station. We were on the 6th floor so no noise from outside as Reading is a party town at weekends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel was modern, classy and up to date unlike other Ibis hotels I've been too. The bathroom was an average size with a good size shower which is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke down so had to use the stairs to go to 5th floor

    Staff was so friendly and getting food at midnight and sat in the reception chilling and enjoying a drink

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Expect the unexpected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door man at the hotel very rude broken lift

    Rest ashored these rooms are very big and spacious stayed on the 14th floor great views and very good night sleep

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Reading Centre (new ibis rooms) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: