Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Chesterfield North - Barlborough 2 stars

Chesterfield Road, Barlborough, S43 4TX, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Barlborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1047 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    very pleasant and not to much noise from the public around the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving . The bar could be slightly cheaper but you do get the booking deal so you cant have it all.

    Everything was fine. The car park was safe the room comfy and warm. I will always use this place when i visit chesterfield.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    A really pleasant and relaxing stay - thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing perfect for what I paid.

    Really nice friendly, helpful yet professional reception staff - all had time for a smile and a few words. The breakfast exceeeded my expectations and breakfast coffee was lovely. The little extras the jar of sweets and biscuits was a nice gesture.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was strange staff seemed to do it on there phone and was slow. There was an ironing room you couldn't have one in your room

    Staff very friendly and welcoming and the hotel was very clean. Bar was nice and a nice outside area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    bed comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed comfy.horrbile smell comming from the bathroom from the sink i think it was. a constant noise outside not sure what it was sounded like a fan going all the time. staff very friendly and helpful. food very pricey

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    A quiet, pleasant and relaxed two days' stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nescafe coffee in rooms not the best; plastic spoons for drinks in rooms; plastic cups in bathroom split very easily; room keys failed to work on second day when we returned to room after day out and had to have them restored at reception.

    Extra pillows in zip up bags; the shower gel/shampoo in shower; walk-in(almost) shower better than shower in bath ; location in quiet area for sleeping; room was cleaned, towels changed and bed tidied on second day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great Hotel with Fantastic Staff. Friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were disappointed to have to pay £3 for a coffee in the lounge area when we returned after a family get together after a long journey. ,Although you provide tea/coffee in the rooms for free, sometimes its nice to sit elsewhere. Surely this could be free for guests staying. Also as a french company owned hotel chain, we were surprised at the cheap Body wash offered to guests in your rooms, I thought the chain would at least supply one with a decent scent, ours smelt like toilet cleaner. luckily we always carry some of our own when travelling just in case. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and relatives. Such a shame that it was the little things that may need looking into. Would we stay again. Most definitely.

    Staff amazingly friendly and attentive. Food was well presented and cooked to perfection. loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location for hospital visiting
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Completely met my requirements and grateful for being able to stay in same room for an extra night when husband's discharge from hospital was delayed. No complaints at all.

    Brilliant location for being near to Barlborough hospital where husband was having surgery

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    It did what we required of it, but value was questionable. The location was the major seller.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room 101 was being re-vamped so had no "fitments" but the use of a "feature wall" in a dark grey made the whole room seem dark and dingy. As was the corridor . A mistake in our eyes ?

    The Staff were extremally helpful and cheerful Top Marks !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, but if you want to watch the television avoid room 322.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had audio description on the TV which was very annoying and although we, and several members of staff tried to remove it, it proved impossible. I wouldn't normally be watching TV in a hotel but it wasn't a holiday it was more like home for the week.

    We stayed for a week as we were having our home decorated throughout, the staff very kindly gave us a room with a sofa in it so we were quite comfortable staying in of an the evening.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Good budget hotel with excellent staff.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As in most hotels, lights in the ceiling above the wash basin in the bathroom make shaving difficult because your chin is in deep shadow.

    The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Also the room and communal areas were clean and well laid out. Breakfast was excellent and special dietary needs were no problem. .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so comfortable. It was absolutely spotless. The food couldn’t be any better. Every member of staff no matter what their job was, they was always willing to help with a smile. We would DEFINITELY go again and I have already recommended ibis to many people

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    The best value for money for budget hotel. Do stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if you could tidy up the car park, litter and weeds.

    Location easy access to motorway. Friendly welcoming staff, they are communicative without being intrusive. Also remember if you are a returning customer. Nice touch. Look for Carol at breakfast, a great asset to the hotel staff team. Breakfast fruit salad NOT filled out with apple - Brilliant! Range of veggie options available for breakfast. Public areas clean and maintained well. Excellenct value for money. Would recommend anytime.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value, ideal location, loved the sweetie jars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine no negative comments.

    Bed was comfy. Excellent choice for breakfast. Staff helpful. Ideal location to connect with old friends in Chesterfield, Worksop & Nottingham.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Checked out early, as worried about van being broken into. One nearby was smashed and raided.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed not very comfortable and sleep disturbed. There seems to be little interest from staff at breakfast. There were a few people on duty but were not really showing any courtesy to customers. Back in the room, after breakfast, it was easy to see an area out the back of the kitchen, where they were popping out for multiple smoking breaks. It's a buffet, so I suppose it doesn't really matter, except I have spent a lot of time at an IBIS in Birmingham, where you are made to feel really welcome. I cut the stay short and checked out, as there was a van smashed into on the second night. I know this can happen anywhere, but there are no cameras, or any attempt at security, just the usual "we cannot be held responsible" signs.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    the actual stay at the hotel was great just ruined by the car park security
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunatley my vehicle was tampered with during the night in an attempted break in, so i cannot stay here again.

    lovely reception area for guest good bar and food menu

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Excellent excellent excellent quality & service big thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to a high standard don't try & fix something that isn't broken 😀

    We like every thing but best of all we love how comfy the 🛏 was if i could have fit it in my suitcase 💼 I would have taken it 🏡 lol

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked for two adults 2 children.was given two single beds.also the room was ridiculously hot and apparently all the fans where in use.also the card keys for the door had issues all weekend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    It suits us for the purpose and we have a lovely weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant food choice is limited, did not try breakfast as we woke up late.. The water splashes on the bathroom floor when showered as there is no door so need to dry up with floor mat .

    We like the location and the nearby restaurants. The reception is homely and the room is great and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't see any security cameras in the car park but lots of notices advising not to leave anything in the cars.

    Room was nice and clean and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When a cot bed was added to the room and it seemed as there was no room left to walk around

    The breakfast was nice and the location was convenient for the purpose of the stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.2
    Good location. Very basic. 3/5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The condition of the room, broken bathroom tiles, broken window (seal / lock not glass) cobweb in corner of ceiling with big moth & spider - was removed by staff very quickly. Towels scraggy & rough. Very basic. Smell of smoke in corridor.

    The location. Close to motorway

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    nice for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff booking us in was a bit slow

    the breakfast was good value for money. a good choice for breaking a journey as it was just off the motorway and it had a good value for money harvester restaurant next door

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    the room was good room service meals a good feature but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very hot,air con downstairs but not in rooms. reception staff happy to lend us a fan

    the room was good room service meals a good feature but with no phone in the room would have to go to reception to order

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great Nights Sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as it has been extremely hot the last couple of months, the addition of a mobile fan in rooms would be great.

    All the staff were very friendly and the reception area and bar were fantastic, I found the bed very comfortable. great stay thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vert tired rooms, no air conditioning or fans in the middle of a heatwave. Unable to sleep. Outside not tidy, breakfast crockery left on tables for ages.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for visiting family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. We were on sunny side of the building during very hot weather. But fans were available.

    Perfect location for visiting family. This is our 4th time here. Always good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.8
    Don't
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We choosed this Hotel because someone praised the cleaniness. I do not want to visit that person's house! Not only were the cleaning to criticize, worse yet was the duvet. I do believe the bed linen to be clean, but the duvet wasn't. It was absolutely disgusting. I will not recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    Everything you would expect from an Ibis.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has seen better days. Probably not the best place to stay on a Saturday night if you want quiet.

    Everything you would expect from an Ibis. Handy location .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    good value for money, good sized room and bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very thin walls and heavy doors which continuously banger. loud cleaners who didn't seem to care about sleeping guests even with the do not disturb signs. beds not the comfiest but ok for one night.

    good value for money, good sized room and bathroom was suitable for 2 visitors, refreshments provided, and food freeview tv and free WiFi, nice a hot shower with heated towel rails.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay, clean room and comfy bed, just a bit too hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a fan in the room, the unprecedented heatwave in UK made it a little too hot in the room, maybe something to consider for the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    A good modest priced hotel in a handy location.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My pet hate and common to many hotels- light directly over wash basin in bathroom, so very difficult to see to shave.

    Good value for a modest price. Staff very friendly and helpful. Everywhere clean and tidy. Good choice for breakfast. We would visit again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Ideal location for Bolsover Brass Summer School
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was extremely hot, and I wish I could have opened the windows wider - but the weather was beyond the hotel's control!!!!

    Bed very comfortable. Aidan was his usual helpful and cheery self, and Sam was also very pleasant. Can't comment on food as I didn't eat there, but everything else was up to usual high standard

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay at Barlborough every 6 months, for one night, on the way to see family and have done for about 7 years with our dog. The booking.com website didn't mention there is now a charge for dogs staying (which there wasn't before). I paid for the room, asked if we could have a ground floor room because of the dog and then received notification that there's a £10 charge for the dog. The booking.com (& any other) websites need to be updated to reflect this new policy so that people know before paying what all the charges will be. Thank you.

    The man on the desk was very understanding about this surprise new dog charge and waived it for us, which was very kind and something he didn't have to do. He also offered us a fan for the room as it was hot, which was also lovely of him. The two men on reception the next morning were also lovely in their manner and friendly. Front desk people at Barlborough are doing a great job of making you feel very welcome and like nothing is too much trouble. The new decor in the foyer and bedroom also looked very smart and up-to-date. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Exactly the hotel I needed for my stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was overly warm could have done with a n a/c unit. Breakfast would have been better if a choice of eggs had been available. Only scrambled and they were a bit watery. Otherwise a very good choice to suit most people

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The price was excellent. Better than Travelodge and Premier Inn + breakfast was included in price. For my purpose the location was ideal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel for a cheap room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the pizza was expensive (£12) to say it was a frozen Chicago town pizza! No other food available but it was quite late.

    Steve the night staff member was fab and looked after us all while we sat in reception to eat. He was very helpful. Room was clean and comfy but very hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an ideal location for where we were visiting. The breakfast was really good and plentiful and the pub next door gave you the option of eating there in the evening if you wanted a large selection.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    This was a stopover for one night and we felt refreshed for the remainder of the journey on the foll
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of an excellent standard and very reasonably priced. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Fine but off putting hum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the ground floor in a disabled room was good but we were very close to the bar so we could hear the late night clients. There was also a constant hum, presumably from some sort of refrigeration machine which was off putting.

    Nice enough room with good level access shower, staff were very helpful both night and day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Ok, could be better
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms felt dirty, and there was no air conditioning so was very hot and sticky which led to a very poor nights sleep.

    It’s location was good and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    My stay was like Fawlty Towers! But appreciate it will not always be as bad as this.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was down when I visited so I was unable to work on my laptop. No Air Con in the room (staff did provide a fan but this later didn't work - see below) No iron for the rooms, had to take clothes to iron room on floor 2 but only one iron here and the room very small and hot. No plug sockets by the bed. No phone in room - had to keep using my mobile to call down. At around 11pm, the wall which had all the electrical sockets decided to stop working. This meant no fan, no phone charge, no kettle, no TV and no hairdryer. This was not ideal! I appreciate this wouldn't happen all the time but this is why I've rated my particular stay as poor. I must add the staff were very friendly and did offer to refund my stay in the morning.

    Staff were friendly and polite. Good choice at Breakfast. Location was perfect for me as I had a meeting at the Industrial Park nearby, and it was also located just off the motorway. Pub next door if you were eating here too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great night away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room clean but a little tired , cracked floor tiles in the bathroom , carpet very tired

    Asked for a fan as a special request, was pleasantly surprised to find one in our room when we checked in. Staff friendly, comfy beds, overall great night away

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fantastic. I can't for the life of me remember the ladies name but she was on reception when we got there and left. She was fantastic, So helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Great thank you , happy smiley staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, though the door lock on my room wasn’t working properly , took ages to lock when leaving the room and ages getting in. Reported to staff on departure.

    Comfy and clean and a great breakfast . Staff all took time to talk to my 2 year old daughter

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very hot day and even with the windows open it was difficult to get any air to circulate.

    The room was comfortable and clean with a good size TV. The location means it is likely to be quiet and it was. Enjoyed a good football match on TV followed by a really good night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    would recommend for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i would say probably a cheaper breakfast as we had to go to morrisons 3.95 good size breakfast. especially with 4 of us.

    room cleaned every day towels change beds done up. great stuff and a large case trolley very handy. shower brilliant nce and big, room for 2 for those who wish to share. would come again. secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Location, lovely staff, had an update on the decor since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of benches outside below our window at the front of the hotel, was woken by smokers, talking loudly, singing ( all for a good time but not when I need sleep early hours) I think it would be prudent to move it! Other than that it was great!

    Location, lovely staff, had an update on the decor since last visit & makes a difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance issue at the front of the building dripping air conditioning pipes, none of my buisness of course

    Excellent nights sleep and staff changed my room on request for a ground floor one

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Usually stay at the Ibis in the centre of Chesterfield, but this one made a pleasant change. Helpful
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!.... Maybe a little too far from Chesterfield town centre, but good shopping area very close by. Garden centre. Pets at Home etc.

    Choosing the 'buffet breakfast' (included with the room rate) was excellent.... Good choice of cereals, plenty fresh fruit, yogurt, juices etc, cheese, croissants etc., good coffee! Everything spotless, and refilled immediately! Easy access from room for taking my cocker spaniel outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooking a Harvester and McDonald's and an industrial estate where someone was using a Stihl saw answer brick drill at 11.20pm. No aircon in the room but fans were available at reception

    Breakfast was very good. Staff excellent. Room comfy and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    My wife, 3 month old son and I had a really great stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife, 3 month old son and I had a really great stay here. Staff are very friendly, room was tidy and clean. The breakfast is amazing, so many choices and is open till 12! Plenty of pubs and fast food restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    If I didn’t have my puppy with me. I wouldn’t have stayed there .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty carpet and walls room 8. The uncomfortable pillows and the very small bath towels. The thin quit. The broken floor tile in the bathroom.

    The friendly greeting of reception staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    This hotel is excellent value, the room was spotlessly clean, as was the ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly. I had only booked one night, but liked it so much I booked another. All in all a very comfortable stay. The breakfast looked good, but I just had the continental option which set me up for the day, but lots of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet location, no traffic noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quiet location, no traffic noise. Bar and restaurant on site, nice atmosphere. (I didn't eat here though as I had other plans) Harvester pub next door for some variety too. Quick, polite check in; really comfy bed; nice clean bathroom with walk-in shower, settee too. Plenty of parking and easy access to main roads.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, convenient, minimalist and easy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk staff lacked some lustre. They didn’t smile or act friendly in any way, the lady was very serious and did not seem approachable. Also if it’s a pet friendly hotel telling guests they cannot take their dog to breakfast is a hassle and also defeats the point. Well behaved dogs should be trusted.

    The room as simple, convenient and comfortable. The bed was like a dream to sleep on. Loved the linen. Breakfast was outstanding especially considering it was included in a very low room rate. The lady working at breakfast was beaming, polite, accommodating and just lovely. The free WiFi was strong and reliable. I loved the fact they allow pets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I barely slept all night, my room happened to be next to the Harvester Pub, from 3am in the morning I heard reversing trucks, bottle smashing as they were tipped from bins into the lorries, barrels delivered and smashed about, why on earth are people put into these rooms. The room is for sleeping if you cant do that well may as well slept in my car. The room was shabby, carpet appeared fred bear, connections such as plugs were raised and hanging off the wall. The mattress protector didn't fit the bed properly. Window didn't open there was no fan in the room and it was rather hot. I've stayed in lots of hotels this is far the worse.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked at the last minute at a very good price and wasn't really expecting much. Were greeted by friendly staff, the reception area was clean and spacious. Our room was clean with a big comfy bed. Had a drink in the bar and a meal in the Harvester next door. Far exceeded our expectations and will definitely stay again when wanting to break up our journey north.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a short stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere which is just what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilets need a couple of flushes occasionally, but no real problem

    Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and suited our needs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I(t's a little lacking in atmosphere as lots of people eat at the nearby Harvester or MCDonalds As stated above I prefer separate shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, but at the price we paid, the hotel was brilliant value.

    *We paid just £31 for a double room on a Sunday night- brilliant value. The bed was really comfortable, the blackout curtains worked well, and the shower was hot and powerful. I don't particularly like an all purpose wash cream on the wall, but I can see that it is practical, and saves wasting lots of plastic on tiny bottles. We didn't eat there, but had a rather expensive couple of lagers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying by cash and being asked for photo identification. Staff very pleasant about it though. Seemed very odd request.

    Little things that made it ie sweets and biscuits in reception area. Plus very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Close to m1 ,great value for money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wrong side of chesterfield for the Peak District,traffic jammed.

    Close to two good pub restaurants,mac ds and Kentucky.Warm welcome and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    We were made to feel comfortable and welcome in every way. The staff were wonderfully helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very minor criticism was that the food (supper) was not hot enough when served. The food was tasty and well cooked though.

    The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful.. We were delighted with our stay in every way. Thank you very much - you have a wonderful team and spot on conditions in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great value accommodation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value place to stay. Good breakfast at a good price. Easy to reach tourist sights. We'd recommend this hotel for a stopover or for longer stays if visiting the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    If you have pets don’t bother.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet policy excessive. 10 pounds per night per pet. Two dogs Two nights An extra £40 on top of the room rate. This needs to be made clearer as amount not stipulated when booked. If known would never have stayed here. Understand charges (may) apply for pets but this amount is far too high. As we were told ‘it is company policy’ Hmmmmm!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Convenient for all we needed on our return to the city I had lived in all my life until 4 months ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning!! But we were lent a fan when I asked. The inside of the bathroom door was in a very poor condition, veneer flaking off at the bottom. I reported this and showed it to a member of staff who said she would report it - and did.

    Helpful staff who, when asked about another chair, agreed straight away. As we were there for a few evenings one chair was inadequate. Impressed with continental breakfast and the beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Location was good for us and staff are very helpful for anything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    15 minute wait for porridge for breakfast, only 2 other people in there. No one asked for room numbers, who had paid for breakfast and who hadn't so anyone can walk in and help themselves. The only fresh fruit available was apples apples or apples. Shower is open so the water sprays out onto the floor and no hand rail to grip as you get out, one on back wall no good for getting out. No hand towels provided in the hotel, I always take a bath sheet anywhere I go. Cobwebs at various intervals around the room and carpets are grubby around the edges where the hoover doesn't reach ( not got a nozzle I guess )

    Beds were very comfortable and clean. Staff were very pleasant. Eating establishments near by. Plenty of parking space. We would stop here again if we were going to the same area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    An excellent budget hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff, in an excellent location with plenty of parking. The free Wi-Fi was reliable and fast and there was a decent selection of TV channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Ibis is always a safe bet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room just above the bar/reception and it was quite noisy because of the music downstairs, which was quite a surprise considering the place.

    Great breakfast. Super comfy bed. Dog welcomed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Like staying with a good friend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no stairs in the centre of the hotel. long walk to end of hallway as I do not travel well in lifts.

    The staff were superb. It is like visiting a friend, warm welcome and noting is too much trouble. I left an item of equipment in my room when checking out . I rang to inform them and by the time I returned A member of staff had been to the room and It was waiting for me at reception. I will use this hotel again and recommend it to colleagues. The staff in the Harvester next door were equally welcoming and the food great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Bank holiday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs barking until after 11pm. Location postcode took me past the actual venue and it is not clearly signposted.

    The friendly helpful staff. The in room facilities. The selection of channels on the t.v. The restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Superb service and excellent accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that we didn’t like.

    One of the best short stay travelling accommodations we have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly and welcoming on our arrival. The room was of an excellent standard, and the breakfast variety second to none. One particular staff member went the extra mile and supplied me with a lovely fresh salad bowl on our outward journey, which was much appreciated as we had nearly 200 miles to travel home. An added bonus was the cost of our stay, it was within each reach for our financial needs as we are pensioners, so it was a real treat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location and intend to return before being admittted to Barlborough NHS treatment centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Needed to ask for a non-slip rubber mat for the shower, rather than have it provide as standard. However, the room signage clearly stated that this was available and it was in the room when we returned.

    Staff could not have been more helpful in preparing the room so that I could set up my CPAP machine overnight. They were also available for providing local information and answering queries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    I would definatly reccomend this hotel to people. Great location for visiting many different places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My partner and me found everything satisfactory with the hotel.

    There was a choice of places to eat right outside the hotel, and the hotel was central to all the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window was broken, didn't close properly, TV channels were unwatchable and situated right by corridor door so heard people coming in and out

    Staff were great welcoming and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We have stayed here twice now when we have travelled to race...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here twice now when we have travelled to race our whippets as its one of only a few where they allow dogs and the staff are brilliant with them we will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    It surpassed what I needed for my journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and always at very busy times e.g. Christmas. Unfailingly the staff give a very warm cheerful welcome, are extremely helpful and have a fabulous service ethic e.g. They logged the phone plug in the lost property that I accidentally left in my room and was able to collect it without any delays. They are very knowledgable, helpful and go the extra mile for their guests. This may make me sound weird but the mark of this and any good hotel, and I have stayed in lots, is the standards of training and motivation of the staff which are evidenced in clean cutlery and sparkling glasses. A shoutout to your staff, well done guys and absolute value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: