Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Southampton 3 stars

9 West Quay Road, Southampton, SO15 1RA, United Kingdom

#18 of 31 hotels in Southampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2223 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is right next to a McDonald’s with teenagers congregating and making a lot of noise. Room was tiny, and not very clean. There was half a biscuit on the floor and clearly had not been hoovered in a while. Staff were all chatting when I arrived, and when I checked out I asked about parking to be told this should have been taken on check-in. Staff member looked lost on what to do but then took my number plate and sorted parking. Overall not a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    pleasent stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    trying to contact hotel by telephone to check reservation as had booked months in advance . Rooms very small , little space to get out of bed

    staff extreemly helpfull and welcoming and food very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff we're friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff we're friendly and efficient. Also accomodating getting our rooms ready early so we can maximise on our stay, there. Highly recomended for convenience to town, station and location. Good quality for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    For the price paid we were disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con unit faulty , rattling so Had to be turned off . Made room hot and stuffy. Unable to open window for road / station noise. Reported to staff . Very unconcerned

    Close to station and port .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    it suited our pupose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    smell of bed linen needed to have a softner put in it through rinsing process to stop the quick drying smell similar to a urine smell breakfast was not that good

    staff were very polite room was clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Easy to Book a room Very good location, for shops, Docks,and railway station breakfast was good , Staff very helpful and informative Well done

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was very poor for the extra amount we had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor for the extra amount we had to pay. Not a lot of choice, the only eggs available were scrambled and these were like rubber.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    I wouldn't use again as I expect a better standard of room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very busy and I was arriving after 2am so I called twice to let them know. Even though they knew I was coming, they spent ages getting me a room, there was no clean glasses at the water dispenser, just dirty ones and the room I ended up with, was tatty and a bit smelly.

    The daytime staff were lovely, they couldn't do enough for me. The breakfast was good too. It was also very easy for me to call a taxi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Glad it was one night, probably won’t stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean however needed updating, carpet threadbare, walls marked and a mini fridge could have been added. Air con very noisy. The room was very dated, old woodchip wallpaper and drab decor. Parking should have been free for guests.

    Hotel entrance clean and tidy staff nice Breakfast was standard nothing special

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Excellent stop over Location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel is very well located for the cruise terminals, railway station and West Quay Shopping Mall, all of which are within easy walking distance. The hotel beds are very comfortable, the rooms have everything that you need (including good air conditioning) and breakfast is also very good. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. An excellent, good value for money hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money clean room and pleasant staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was ok but air conditioning in the room not working well and very noisy - could do with an update, made sleeping difficult - breakfast was ok but choice for gluten free very limited

    Staff very pleasant and helpful - Rooms very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that there is t a plug socket next to the bed to charge my phone and also that there were no bottles of water in the room.

    The hotel reception is very nice and welcoming and the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was basic but this reflects the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Good comfortable hotel when travelling on business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a twin bed room and prefer a double for comfort but it was all that was available at the time of the booking.

    For a 'budget' hotel, the accommodation is good. Very clean and friendly staff. Rooms were well furnished with hair dryers and extra pillows. Also good light in the bathroom which is very helpful for putting make up on! Not always the case in hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Uni Move Weekend For My Daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air Con was weak & only one bath towel. No hand towel when showered for my hair.

    Superb location. Great parking. Super friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Exceptionally clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.0
    For filled my requirements admirably
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating area a bit tired. No enthusiasm to eat there a pity as the competition nearby is hardly challenging.

    Handy to city and cruise terminal. Close to railway station. Five minute walk. Air conditioned room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came to stay in Southampton from Ireland as my daughter lives and works here. I found everything from the staff to the room outstanding and will definitely come again and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    We were booked on a cruise leaving Southampton and we liked...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some noise from people outside when we open the windows slightly.

    We were booked on a cruise leaving Southampton and we liked the proximity to the cruise terminal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location for the centre of the city or for cruise ships
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location for the centre of Southampton, and also for those going on the cruise ships. Located next to the West Quay shopping centre with all of the big stores, and a few minutes walk from the city centre shops and restaurants. Secure parking on site for a reasonable fee. Wifi was free and fast. Breakfast was very good and the staff were friendly. Room was nice and the bed comfortable. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room very small for two people staying. Yu have to pay for full breKFAST

    Excellent location. Very near shopping, train terminal and cruise ship terminals. Very good breakfast and strong WIFI

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly, no-nonsense - does what a budget hotel should do!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking charge seems excessive

    Spotlessly clean, very friendly staff, comfy bed, convenient parking (£10 daily, bit expensive), quick food service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were not really cleaned and no soap was provided for the hands !! I could not believe it we just had shampoo for the body, face and everything. the rooms were nice but just too small

    the staff were lovely and helpful specially the receptionists (female).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean and basic; helpful staff; just what was needed at the end of a long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An easy 10-minute walk from the train station, but confusing to find the route with all the roundabouts, etc. Walking directions on the website would be very helpful (which side of station to exit, etc.)

    Staff very helpful and friendly; gave accurate directions to local attractions. Good location if you're taking the train. Also, this hotel will store your luggage (no storage facilities at train station). Fast food/casual dining two minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Are stay was excellent
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on reception, we buzz them twice to get into the car park which they acknowledge but still did not let us in, in the end we had to go through the exit barrier to enter.

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Location and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ' Cosy' basic room, Restaurant was no more than a café style eating area. Prefer a 'restaurant' to have some relaxing ambiance.

    Location and parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean. Easy walk to city centre, cinema and historic area. Few minutes walk from railway station and walking distance of Mayflower Cruise Terminal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Good Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cheap looking plastic furniture in restaurant , decent breakfast, although warm food looked as if cooked hours before hand.

    Excellent location for city shops, & harbour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    very enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room faced the rear of the hotel so there was not much of a view but I suppose there 's not a lot you can do about that some one will be allocated in it !!

    the location it has everything you could want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable and inexpensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant ran out of some food on the first night and the bar out of lots of drinks and couldn’t provide a proper service.

    Hotel was in a great location, the car parking was inexpensive, the rooms are more than adequate and the facilities are pretty decent as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.8
    Not worth the money feel very scammed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, did not sleep well due to maintenance man banging and drilling at night literally next door , the room looked like a prison and not worth the money definitely do not recommend. I stayed in a competitor of your hotel premier in and they were half the price and compared to ibis hotel it’s ceazy that ibis can legally price their rooms at such a price considering I was closer to the central part of Southampton as well!

    I liked the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    value for money and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and helpful, quick and easy check-in, room very quiet, good breakfast, great location, very reasonable charge for 24 hour parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    I would not come back to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner is terribly warm during my stay even when I open my window as advised by the staff. Noisy surrounding during the night with people shouting.

    Location to shopping areas and restaurant is nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot, we did bring a fan with as we have stayed here before and the room was very hot! The windows only open a small amount. There is also a charge for parking now.

    The room was clean and staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Good hotel good location and at a good price. We were going on a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did enjoy our short stay Sorry to say it was very noisy night outside (football )

    Well the room we were given the card key was already occupied!. The young lady was great and sorted it out very quickly ( a couple of drinks cards and we thought it was funny) we had dinner and the same young lady was lovely and good fun. Great .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient location and easy parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at 3am due to rowdy people at nearby McDonald's. No fried eggs with breakfast.

    Very convenient location and easy parking. Pleasant modern room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.0
    I would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non-smoking room smelt of smoke. The twin beds were the narrowest we’d ever come across. The one towel we had each was threadbare. Glad we were only there one night. Not worth the money.

    The room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Would have to think twice about booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast hot buffet was very unappetising. Bacon was undercooked, fatty and not warm. Scrambled eggs were awful just a tough heap. Could not recommend anything available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Quick and easy check in/out, very friendly staff, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quick and easy check in/out, very friendly staff, easy close parking, close to theatre and shops, clean and comfortable, in all everything we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Excellent and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to this hotel to board a cruise we could see our ship from hotel staff cant do enough breakfast was lovely but over priced but cant complain everything was hot and freash

    Excellent location lovely staff very clean well worth the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Romantic but uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows were very hard ! The location was great but very noisy , people were shouting outside up till six in the morning!

    The room had a lovely arch window and was very romantic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to shops and theatre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited and looked like it had been sat around for ages The cleaner kept knocking and trying to come in before our checkout time

    Close to shops and theatre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    More TLC needed Rooms looking dated like the bedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are looking like they really need a refurbishment even the bedding is Looking discoloured not very inviting when you first enter your room. To be honest I personally would not rush to stay here again but you can clearly see that this was once a nice 3 star hotel. When cruising I like a safe in the room and it states a safety deposit as one of the facilities but this is not in the rooms.

    Hotel location is a short walk to the main shopping in Southampton. And plenty of parking right outside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Very basic room and facilities, better sound proofing from outside would be a bonus,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toaster was very slow to brown bread, mugs ran out for breakfast drinks due to other people having breakfast from sister hotel as did the breakfast items of food, difficult to find a table to eat at.

    Staff wer helpful, very busy at breakfast with clients from the other sister hotel. Staff apologised for the wait for more more breakfast items, eg bacon, eggs to be cooked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay at a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that could be improved is the air conditioning wasn’t very cold, it was a hot hot day and it wouldn’t go cool in the room.. And also perhaps control the noise outside at night, about 3am there was groups of people shouting etc.... I know it’s out of the hotel itself control, but maybe have policies in place for people to consider noise at certain times. Other than that perfect stay....

    The location of the hotel was perfect for the purpose of our stay. It was my daughters 13th birthday we were doing a shopping day and dinner. We arrived at the hotel about 10.30am, I had previously spoken to somebody over the telephone and they said we could leave our luggage there before check in. Upon arrival at 10.30 we were able to have our room as it was all ready available. This made me happy!! The member of staff who checked us in was nice. We had been out all day shopping and came back for a drink in the bar before going up stairs, the bar member (blonde girl) was lovely, spoke to us asked what we were doing etc..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    A bit disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a room with shower (not over bath) and were given a disabled room! Room very small, no bedside lamp on one side of bed, no room to store cases out of the way. Bathroom large but shower poor - hard to get decent heat in water.

    Location to cruise ship terminals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Price good, staff pleasant but not a place to stay when the weather is warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have airconditioning and was extremely warm and stuffy. This was during a heat wave though. Windows only open a fraction and a party was loud below the window until early hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    It did what we needed it to do but I’ll bring my own pillows next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock hard pillows with no choice of changing to feather ones. No choice of eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes at breakfast Not able to access the managers safe in the evening where my husbands computer was put causing distress Dismay that although the IBIS claims to be doing its bit for the environment uses plastic teaspoons No plug sockets next to bed Lack of towels

    Breakfast supplied was well cooked Hotel was clean Hotel was quiet Good location for shopping

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Very busy place. Enjoyed meeting up with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic for the money paid. 1 small bottle of water in the room only. Towels grubby and small. 1 extra pillow only. Purchased a bottle of wine from the bar not good wine for the price paid. television kept breaking up.

    The staff were very nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    The room was clean clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room key had to be activated after several trips the room upstairs,everytime I needed to open the door had to go back to reception for the key card to be activated,one of my neighbours nearly wet himself as he couldn't open his door due to the same problem..The scrambled eggs were too dry falling like breadcrumbs.

    Location great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Extremely rude staff when checking in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely rude staff when checking in. I checked in late in the evening and they tried to tell me they were fully booked even though I had a room pre booked. Eventually this was settled then the staff member checking me in changed my room half way through the check in process and accused me of stealing the room swipe card even though he had never gave me one. Finally I went to collect my bags from my car and the security wouldn't let me back in straight away even though he had clearly seen me go to collect my bags 30 seconds previously. This whole process took approximately 30-40 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Decent, but not quite worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no hand towels, only one pair of slippers (for two guests), too hot, ac didnt cool, ac display partly broken, no plug sockets next to bed, coffee stains on desk (not wiped down), bathtub shower, facilities dont really match the price

    friendly staff, decent location, rooms well soundproofed against each other

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay and will definitely be returning if we ever were in the area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit too warm in the evenings. AC didn’t seem to help cool the room down during a nights sleep.

    Excellent location within a good area for the Westquay shopping centre and the Southampton running event.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Coach park ruined stay... Ibis gr8!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, rudely awakened by a coach at 4am thay sat with his engine running for 30mins!!! Needless to say we couldn't get back to sleep... 😴😢😠

    Perfect location for us with plenty of places to eat & shop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Location ideal for me- just 10 min walk from the ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room not cleaned on final day despite me putting out the `clean me` notice before 9.00am and getting back after 6.00pm. Did not impact on me though. Never happened before at an Ibis.

    Location ideal for me- just 10 min walk from the ferry terminal and right across the road from the railway station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    The room smelt and appeared to be rather small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt and appeared to be rather small and inequipped We only stayed to get some rest before a drive. We had expected to stay the night but the room was awful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.3
    Would not book this or any other Ibis Hotel ever again. I am just so glad I did not book the Ibis bu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs attitude Additional charge to park on the hotels car park Location and noise at night until 3am Condition of the rooms Decor inside the rooms and corridors Cleanliness Facilities

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Wasn’t a very good experience. Beds aren’t comfy but the benefits are that the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfy and when in the shower, the water went scolding hot. And the rooms were really small, we had a baby with us so the room wasn’t up to our standards. I paid £87 and it really wasn’t worth it.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfy room and convenient location, ideal for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and made sleeping a bit difficult.

    Good choice of breakfast and croissants and pains au chocolat are very nice. Room was comfortable and spacious enough for two people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Shame the bed was uncomfortable as the rest of the stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very uncomfortable, very hard. Glad I took 2 metre extension lead so I could charge phone on bedside table, electric sockets by window and under mirror on wall at foot of bed.

    Compact well planned room with good lighting. Comfortable bench seat with space under for suitcase. Desk with tea making facilities & chair along window. Wardrobe with shelves was good. Close to shops & restaurants. When windows were shut the traffic could not be heard. Staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Just what I needed after watching the football.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed on a Friday night so it was a little rowdy outside in the car park with people on nights out. But with the windows closed you couldn’t really hear them.

    Lovely room, comfy bed. Located near the train station which was very handy. The staff were really friendly. Would definitely stay here again if I travel to Southampton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    The bed was comfortable👍🏽
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid £133 overall when my friend earlier on that day paid £60. Not happy that they couldn’t compare prices and bring it down.

    The bed was comfortable👍🏽

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location for our trip, helpful staff and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key card didn't work - twice - had to rescued by staff seeing us on cctv! Pillow was too firm for me.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Needed extra towels and there wasn’t any staff members there...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed extra towels and there wasn’t any staff members there when we checked out we had to leave our cards on the reception desk and just leave after waiting over 10mins

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, close to city centre and many places for food nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't change temperature in the room for heater and needed more food variety on menu. Apart from that my stay was lovely.

    On site parking and staff were friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.5
    We have stayed at this hotel several times when taking a cruise holiday. It is convenient for this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was very noisy & staff permitted a Group of people to play music from the Juke Box very loud with a selection of music that had little variety

    Convenient location to where our cruise liner was moored.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Not a bad place to stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough pillows, price wasn't much different to ibis budget which had similar facilities.

    Convenient and warm, great location, reasonably priced. Nice clean bathroom. Staff weren't English mostly but were incredibly helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Very Dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lad on the bar/reception in the evening didnt have a clue or care. Crap beer, crap service.

    The breakfast was good and the guy in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    Good location disappointed room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the photos. Smelly horrible carpets instead of wood floor as in the photos. Very old fashioned and not well maintained rooms. I found some hair on my towel. I would never go back to this hotel. Very disappointed.

    The Parking on site was convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly & helpful, the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small but other than that everything was great

    Staff were very friendly & helpful, the bathroom was lovely with a great mirror for getting ready with!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.8
    It was a good stay but not as enjoyable as say the jury Inn or premier Inn and needs to be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit uncomfortable to sleep on. Security staff a little rude. Staff on initial visit did not provide much information. Had to ask a lot of questions.

    Very clean and tidy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Our room had litter in from the previous occupants but we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had litter in from the previous occupants but we were changed to a cleaner room immediately. The fire alarm accidentally went off at 7am! The cleaners walked into our room at 9am whilst we were still in bed! But it is a good location and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Loved it, perfect base for a short break, Southampton has a lot to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking charge

    Staff were all lovely, bar well stocked and no waiting to be served. Excellent value continental breakfast and very comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Rooms good but be aware of the food next door
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if notification that car park is not free. Also, the site had no kitchen facilities on the Sunday night I visited and had to go to the Novotel next door. Food there was atrocious, not had it that bad in a long time.

    Room was in good condition and no problems with any facilities in there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    A very efficiently run hotel with helpful staff at a reasonsable cost.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to stay an extra night due to very poor weather conditions. I cannot praise ALL the staff to highly. Despite very difficult situation with the weather they where happy and efficient at all times. I cannot speak to highly of them and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed stay and will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a hand towel and toilet brush in the bathroom.

    The hotel was very clean, staff friendly and helpful. Variety of choices at breakfast. Position of hotel good for the town. Will definitely go again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    I can't wait to stay again will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the momemt I stepped in to check out I didn't need anything else!! The girls on reception yesterday morning were very good (30th/2) and the bloke on check in (29th/2) gave me all the info I needed!!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Southampton traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: