Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Styles Barnsley 3 stars

Whinby Road, Barnsley, S75 3LF, United Kingdom

#1 of 4 hotels in Barnsley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1912 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    Clean, pleasant hotel and a good breakfast made this an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was well used and the pillows were uncomfortably firm for me. However, I realise that it's very difficult to get these things right for everyone. Little things were missing e.g. No biscuits, no extra pillows or blankets in the room. Not really a problem, especially the biscuits but add to the comfort.

    Good breakfast, pleasant and spacious bedroom. Very convenient location on this trip. Staff responded to my request for an issue to be resolved. Staff I met were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is good but lacked a bit of variety in the cooked breakfast, would have been nice to have some veggie options - tomato/mushroom etc

    Clean and comfortable. Good for a short stay and location is great as just off the M1.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    4.2
    Let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bangin at 7am from the cleaners and them all shouting and talking. I had checked in at midnight and had a funeral that day. Then when I asked them to please stop banging the cart along the walls and stop shouting to talk to each other they just said ok. No apology. I got back into bed and they start hoovering!!!!!!!!!! Close the doors so other people cannot hear!!!! The breakfast was awful. The staff didn’t have a clue and were so rude!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    A successful, functional weekend away with the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family was split across two different corridors. One room was much bigger than the other. The sofa bed was not terribly comfortable to sleep in, so that our two girls and two boys slept wonderfully in the big comfy bed, whilst the parents had to slum it. The breakfast service was the busiest I have ever seen and the best bits kept running out and not being replaced, eg the fruit salad and bacon.

    Nice clean bathroom, good service, good car parking and literally next door to a family carvery.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Excellent and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go all the way out for smoking and with it raining we got wet, a more undercover area would be good for the smokers

    A very varity of food for breakfast, staff where polite and would help you in any way

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not enough pillows provided in the room, and the breakfast service was a bit manic.

    The room and hotel were clean, the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed very busy Pillows could have been better

    New , modern Simple , comfortable , good food , able to get easily ourselves extra coffee / teas / milk etc

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and uncomfortable. Not enough pillows/pillow we had too thin.

    Staff very friendly and approachable. Free Wi-Fi and parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    4.6
    Stayed for 2 nights, closed curtain middle part was hanging...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed for 2 nights, closed curtain middle part was hanging down from rail, had a shower in the morning, left bath towel and mat on the floor for to be changed, which was not changed, only the bath towel that was not used still on the shelf, toilet roll was nearly finished and was not replaced. We have stayed at this hotel before with no problems, very disappointed this time, as our son and family live nearby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfy, needed two pillows, not what telly says. Some staff made you feel you where too much trouble .rooms too contemporary.

    Breakfast was good, some staff where very helpful, shower was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change room twice first because window wouldn't close 2nd because we couldn't get in to the room ended up with a flopper bed and double instead of twin

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, nice room, good facilities, excellent value.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Brie and Cranberry Sauce club sandwich I had in the evening was a bit average.

    The staff were very friendly. The room was clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The twin beds were very comfortable. The shower was very good, powerful with a good temperature control. The selection for breakfast was good with all sorts of hot and cold food on offer and the atmosphere in the restaurant was relaxed. The check out time of 12:00 was also very convenient. The hotel also made Bertie (our Jack Russell) feel very welcome (and only charged £10 when a lot of hotels charge double that). Overall, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Satisfaction on a budget with a Nice surprise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic . The purpose of my visit was business therefore I was only there to sleep so it was adequate. Having said that the room was warm, clean, tidy with a good size bathroom.

    The breakfast was more than I expected.in fact better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in recently. Well done. Thanks for the complimentary water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Lack of toiletries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of toiletries. There was only soap in a fixed squeezable container. I have arthritis so it was impossible for me to get any gsoap. Luckily I had a small container of my own so I could shower and wash my hair. Shower was very slippery so I had to use a bath mat actually under the shower. The bed was far too close to the radiator and I banged my knee on it several times

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Recommend staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very low on items.... The staff were very busy and tried there best though

    Everything was clean Staff were friendly Bed was comfy!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money, but lack of pillows and hand towels made it less comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 2 aspects: There was only one, quite thin, pillow per person, 2 each should have been provided (as most other similar type hotels do). Also there were only bath towels. At least one hand towel would be welcome.

    Very convenient room facilities, including socket by bed and moveable bedside table. Nice bright decor. Lovely shower. Bath mat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Cheap but good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a business traveler I prefer an iron and board in my room

    When you see the prices you do think there might be a catch but there isn’t, ideal for a quick stop over.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Very good would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snack bar stopped serving food at 5.30 as they had a large coach party in who had booked the entire restaurant for evening meal. So the restaurant was closed too. But the notice about food ceasing at 5.30 didn't appear on the bar until shortly before that, they could have let is know much earlier.

    Comfy beds. Breakfast was very good. Free internet in hotel plus a PC terminal in reception that was free to use, very popular with the kids!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed , when checking in being told restaurant was fully booked, and the member of staff saying to me but that’s ok because your going out, what if I wasn’t?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.5
    Was ok but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the bed an pillows very uncomfortable the curtains were stained found the clendlness poor .

    The room it's self was ok needed decorated things looked shabby the breakfast was ok you get what u pay for .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Easy, comfortable stop. Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Helpful staff and friendly welcome even very late at night. Clean room with everything we needed and a few nice touches (tea and coffee, interesting lights!). Good night's sleep. Plentiful breakfast, all very fresh.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    On site restaurant was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not available between 5.00-8.00pm on Saturday night due to the amount of ‘bookings’ yet it was half empty. When I challenged this & said I was a diabetic they ‘squeezed us in’. The food was poor quality For the price. The chicken, leek & ham pie contained plastic sliced sandwich ham & was not a pie, filling with a pie lid does not constitute a proper pie. Cheesy garlic bread was awful. Chips were frozen very very poor meal at £50 for two people. We left 80% of the meal. The room’s toilet smelt of sewage & the extraction fan appeared not to be working. Room was cramped considering it was a Queen Room. Only half a toilet roll, very few coffee sachets etc.

    Girl on front desk very helpful. Breakfast times & breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.1
    Good, basic accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room entry situation not good. Room on floor3 and we weren't told pass had to be put in door upside down. Do a trip downstairs to be told that then passkey wouldn't work so another trip down. Not good.

    Good breakfast but no atmosphere in dining room. Radio may have helped

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Reception staff helpful TV channels good
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot Breakfast ie bacon sausages etc was being packed away at 9.30am when they said it was all day breakfast was really looking forward to it but couldnt have any😬😡not stated clearly wat times hot breakfast is very confusing...other stuff being packed away cups etc really annoying..not enough milk sugar tea available in room and downstairs...not able to connect to whatsapp or text reception so couldnt book wake upcall no complimary soap shampoo etc...no instructions how to work shower...felt like iwas being watched by staff sometimes even though i paid fully 4 room...bed too hard

    Reception staff helpful TV channels good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel -shame about the enormous puddle!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When it rains heavily there is an enormous puddle in front of the main door. It cannot be avoided and you have to wade through it to access the hotel. This needs urgent attention. The staff know about this problem. Senior management need to arrange for re-contouring the access area tarmac and paving.

    Hot breakfast is good. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Won’t venture again :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, bed was full of dark hairs, questioning as to if it had been changed (we are both fair!) lift had what looked like a dog hair carpet

    Staff were lovely very personable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Typical Hotel Chain Establishment Doing Its Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to ask for extra pillows Cheap, thin toilet paper (You can buy good quality toilet paper at an excellent price at Home Bargains)

    Nice clean room with comfortable bed good continental breakfast Excellent evening dinner in hotel restaurant Helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    thought breakfast included in the price found out by staff you have to pay a additional cost of £5
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty marks on the walls / grout missing in the shower tiles / broken plug in the sink / no information on how to activate the lights in the room found out later you had to insert a card in a slot on the wall.

    good location good price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had 1 and a half toilet rolls when we arrived. We were there for 3 days so had to ask for more. Would have been better to have more. The doors to the rooms slam, very difficult to sleep if the hotel is busy as people slamming doors all night, or when the staff start cleaning in the morning you can hear them clearly on the floor. The bathroom had a sewage smell, this was only generally from about 6pm which was very odd. Didn’t smell pleasent.

    Loved the location, I was staying there for work so it was convenient. Found the room very comfortable and staff very helpful & polite. The food cooked in the evenings is absolutely stunning. For the price we didn’t expect it to be anywhere near as good as it was. It was so good we didn’t eat anywhere else for the 3 nights we were hear. Room was clean, had everything we needed, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing, early check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested an early check in as I have a broken leg and wanted to check in when I arrived, I asked for a 11-12 am check in and when I arrived at 11.45 I was told to come back at 2pm. A simple no to my request when I submitted it would of saved me a great deal of pain and difficulty, so thanks for that. The room was ok but the wall paper was pealing of the walls and it really was a bit tatty. Finally, your booking states breakfast included, this is very misleading and I feel I was mis sold. It should read "continental breakfast included, if you want a cooked breakfast you will have to pay extra on arrival" I would of booked a different hotel if I had known this.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Good value for money;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine other than the tea machine dispensed warm rather than boiling water so the tea wasn't drinkable.

    Good value for money; dog-friendly for a £10 charge; proximity to public transport and road links; friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely book again.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My kids didn't like the fact that we was only booked in for one night as they loved it.

    It was excellent value for money. The room was lovely and had everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Very nice and clean place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine.

    Very nice and clean place to stay. Big car park. Very good WiFi speed. Excellent staff. Good food. Bedroom was very nice and tidy. Very comfortable beds. Even the hotel is very close to motorway it was very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first room was at front of building over entrance. After it had rained the constant dripping outside window gutter overflow annoying.

    Location of room at the back of building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a delay in ordering food due to a coach party. I had other problems with the meal but the Duty Manager dealt with my complaint in such a professional way that I feel all issues are resolved.

    This was my first IBIS and I liked it. It was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    The location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel was still damp when we arrived Bed wasn't properly made Our room was next to a corridor door which slammed when opened

    The location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Your staff are a credit to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only mark against was in room 129 that an emergency cord was pulled out and the electric point for my razor did not work but it was not life threatening so I give your hotel top marks

    The whole hotel from the front doors to the room looked class, the greeting at the front desk was a mark of the standard of the whole place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a party of 4, we ordered 4 beefburgers in the bar/restaurant 3 arrived 40 mins later with 1 beef bourgingeon. After the beef bourgingeon was returned it was explained there had been a mistake, a burger would just be a couple of minutes. After waiting a further 30 mins with STILL no burger we spoke to a very obnoxious manager who wasn't apologetic I'm the slightest and who grudgingly refunded the missing burger. No apology was made and nothing was done to try and compensate us, the offer of a free drink or upgraded breakfast would have gone a long way in this situation. Didn't like the sofa bed being set up in the room. Took up all the space for no reason at all.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant overnight stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room had some space removed as a foldaway bed had been set up which made things a bit tight around the desk, which is on the small size anyway with the TV placed on it. I guess had I been staying longer than overnight it could be sorted.

    For a free continental breakfast, the selection was great. Guest rooms are a good size. Reception/bar area is bright and airy. I've changed next weeks hotel to come back here, cheaper too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    Felt like a school detention class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff looked at me like an idiot when I told him the card didn’t work to unlock the door cause it was faulty, continental breakfast ran out of milk so I took a scoop of beans and they tried to charge me £5 as it’s an upgrade, bad atmosphere, felt like a concentration camp

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    not very pleasant at all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were put in room 105 where we were next to noisy generators outside. could not get to sleep and had to move rooms in the end. room 105 had plug sockets not working it was very unclean and you could smell sick on the bed. the door strip between the room and bathroom was broken and i caught my foot which was painful. also the wi-fi in that room did not work great. we got moved to room 328 other side of the hotel at 0.30 very inconvenient as i was to be up for work in the morning. the new room was decent and everything worked and jade on reception the next morning was really helpful and spot on which saved things a little bit. later on when came back from work on the tuesday we were locked out of the room which meant i had to go all the way back down to get the cards reactivated. again not nice when you have been on your feet all day. then to top it off the bed in the new room was extremely uncomfortable and me and my partner were extremely sore when getting up on a morning. not a very pleasant stay at all. last thing i was told i had booked just for myself but it was clear on my booking that i had booked for 2 people and were after more money which i refused as i was unimpressed. theit fault not mine.

    not much. wi-fi was ok in the new room. the hotel is in a decent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Continued high standards of cleanliness and real value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing wrong at all.

    We have stayed at this Ibis since it opened. The location is perfect as we travel north on the M1 from Birmingham. We have always found the Hotel to be extremely clean at all times, and this visit was no exception. We commented, and I mentioned to the duty manager, that even though the Hotel was busy it was still clean, and we were impressed that the cutlery was spotlessly clean, tables kept clear and clean, the breakfast area tidy and clean, not easy we know when many people are using the area. We cannot commend the staff enough for retaining such high standards,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    8 friends had independently booked the ibis for 1st & 2nd of September. All 8 had difficulty sleeping due to the pillows which were far toohard

    Easy check in and check out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude we had booked 2 rooms but they only had 1 on the system we had to contact Booking.com but both rooms were on Booking.com just not on there’s we were in a group and requested rooms near each other we were put on other floors The sink leaked beds were uncomfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    we went to see friends and the location is perfect for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing everything was perfect

    i love everything about the ibis the staff the hotel breakfast was amazing second time we have been and would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Will definately use IBIS again. Made working the long day worth it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fan or some kind of air cooler in the room

    Very clean, well kept hotel and rooms. Staff polite and friendly. A Pleasure to stay here. Thank You IBIS

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable and good value.
    • People with friends
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were like bricks. Only one per person was provided but on asking at the desk we were given additional softer ones.

    Rooms were clean, bright. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Continental breakfast included was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff helpful, pleasant, clean room,comfy bed, continental breakfast plenty of choice. Other foo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug Socket outside room had come away from the wall.Reported this to reception. Same aware of this but would not be fixed until Monday when the maintenance man would be available! Sorry this should have been sorted. Children have small fingers and like to poke about in things like this. Also could have been caught by a housekeeping trolley or suitcase.

    Plenty of choice at buffet breakfast. Only tried continental Staff very friendly and helpful . Room very clean and purposeful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great overnight stop for me, peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't really say that I found anything that I would need to comment about

    The hotel was light and airy with plenty of space on the ground floor to stop the feeling of being enclosed that you get in bigger properties. Room was bigger than I expected and very comfortable. The shower room was ideal for less mobile visitors although the extractor system might need reviewing after someone set off the fire alarm with the steam from it. The hotel is adjacent to the motorway but you wouldn't know it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating is on a timer, so when I put the radiator on, it didn't warm up for another 6 hours!

    Bathroom contains a large wet room, much easier to use than standing in the bath to shower, plus the shower head isn't fixed, so you can avoid wetting your hair if you've forgotten your shower cap. Food available 24 hours if needed. Breakfast choice was great. Nice lobby area with comfortable chairs, sofas and a bar, also offers outdoor seating and free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great for a short stay when all you need is a bed and a quick breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work

    The room was clean and tidy and great value for money. There is only one pillow each but I was able to get another one from reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Did the job clean and tidy but think a few extra little touches wouldn't go a miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No products in the bathroom to use apart from soap on the wall. Gin was very expensive in the bar had to upgrade breakfast £5 each for cooked breakfast. No biscuits in the room to have with ya tea or coffee.

    Bed was comfy room was clean and tidy. Lounge was nice and clean and comfy seats for a coffee in the afternoon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    good location , but just too noisy to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con so had to have window open and the motorway noise kept me awake all night which had a knock on effect on our plans. room cleanliness not great. coffee/tea ring on bedside table and spilt coffee down the wall there. walls very dirty and marked and more tea/coffee runs on the walls. fabric covered stool too filthy to touch! dead flies on the floor and widow handle extremely loose.

    great bathroom and shower. comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice lounge /breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Says breakfast inc in price only to find I had to pay £5 per person for a hot option! Not happy as it stated breakfast included! Making the hotel no longer competitive with other local options. Reception blamed booking.com and refused to upgrade to what I believed I had already paid for. Very rude and and an un accommodating person.

    Nice lounge /breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    it was ok for what i paid
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i didnt realise that you had to pay extra for a cooked breakfast not that i would have minded just when i booked and was told my stay included breakfast i assumed it meant a cooked breakfast not just continental,and noone told me you had to pre order cooked breakfast the day before , also housekeeping replaced a dirty towel with another stained and marked towel the day before i left, and room floor wasnt brushed or washed in my 4 day stay

    the room was nice and the bed was comfy , bathroom was lovely ,the staff where friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok. Not my favourite hotel. But price was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dusty room, tray with coffee cups covered in dust. Broken window. White net curtain appeared grey from dust( hotel being on main road). Went down to breakfast and cereal bowls were covered in old dried on cereal( clearly hasn’t been washed properly and clearly noticeable by staff, gross!!) I was hoping for a buffet style English breakfast but was disappointed.

    Good location. Free parking. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    For the price the hotel is perfect. The staff would do anything to help or assist, recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely hot in the room (they provided a fan on request), sofa bed was very uncomfortable

    Location is ideal, price is very very reasonable, hotel is very very clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Bathroom let down overall experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a broken bottle neck underneath the toilet. We arrived on Saturday and didn't notice until Sunday morning. The fact that we were in a family room with two kids this was extremely dangerous. Plastic bits missing from the shower. (We also had a double room for another family member and the bathroom facilities were much better) Some of the grouting was missing from the shower floor and the shower gel was empty by day two.

    The staff were excellent really friendly and accommodating. Great choice at breakfast for all the family. Room was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really enjoyed our one night stay, ALL the staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, I am on crutches due to a broken foot but was made to feel very comfortable by all the staff, particularly “Jade” who was a lovely warm caring person, room great value for money and the breakfast was extremely fresh, plenty of choice and cooked to perfection, we’re booking another visit for 18th August and intend to usethe hotel regularly on family visits

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    For the amount we paid for a Saturday evening here we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the amount we paid for a Saturday evening here we could not fault The ibis style. Modern clean rooms, staff very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised our cheap night included breakfast. We were going to a wedding after travelling from London so we were able to check in early for an additional £10 which was well worth it! Hotel bar was very reasonable and a good selection of food if people desire. This is by far better than a travel lodge or Premier inn which I try to avoid. Overall a very good stay, we were pleasantly surprised and the staff were very helpful, friendly and happy. Keep up the good work!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Not too much say value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really too much to say. Could have done with more towels. As we was a family of four with only 2 bath towels. That is not possible she. Each member requires a bath towel each.

    Not too much say value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, room was clean and comfortable and the...
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar/restaurant lacked atmosphere and the room was very warm at night but that was to be expected given the weather

    Good value for money, room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. Did the job for the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good size room, nicely decorated. Bed was comfy but quite a firm mattress, which didn't suit my partner. There were several power sockets available. Bathroom was a good size with a large walk-in shower and lots of shelf space. The insulation was good and we did not suffer much noise, either from neighbours or from the busy road outside. It was a nice surprise to be able to open the window slightly. Location was very close to the motorway so good for our needs. Breakfast was continental with a reasonable choice. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Not too bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't comfortable, both me and my partner thought it was too hard. The towels that were provided had stains on them.

    The shower was nice and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay would certainly book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked one double and one family on arrival noted was charged for two doubles on inspection it was only two doubles fortunately some family members had dropped out so did not complain

    Close to city center short taxi ride

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Money grabbing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived a wee bit before 2 o'clock we were told we could book in early for a fee of £10. We asked for gluten free bread. Ten minutes later we asked again. Ten minutes later a complaint to the manager resolved in me getting 2 small slices of toast. Prices were high (ham, egg and chips £11. I will not be back

    Nothing springs to mind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Very reasonable price, clean and tidy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed very pre-occupied, especially the staff at breakfast time. They spent the time talking to each other rather than ensuring guests were ok

    Breakfast was good,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs in and on both bed and on the floor changed room and the was one hair on the bed .towels had foundation on them.Walls need a lick paint all drip marks down them and black marks .wouldnt take much to paint the walls white.It was a hot night the window had to be open and all I could here was motorway traffic & we was at the back next to a railway so I could here the trains when they came by .Dog in lift on no lead didn’t realise dogs was allowed in this hotel .

    The pool table was good to have and the continental breakfast was good everywhere was clean and tidy.Two bottles of water on arrival .If it wasn’t for the hairs in the room & dirty towel everything else would have been ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    It's not the Ritz, but it's not the Pits!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was exceptionally hot. The coffee and juice at breakfast was really bad! The room was not the cleanest and the sofa bed was noisy and uncomfortable, but for the price it was all ok!

    The breakfast food was very good, the staff helpful, it was easy to find and plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Quiet location (there is a train line to the rear but we did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to shops; we were shocked that our room was only partially cleaned and tidied, and when we enquirer about this the staff member was very brusque and rude; encountered another rude member of staff for apparently using the wrong staircase. The staff here require training in dealing with people.

    Quiet location (there is a train line to the rear but we did not hear any trains during our long weekend stay).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame I didn't know breakfast was included until the last day as it wasn't advertised.

    Clean, friendly, comfortable and a perfect location. You can see such perfect view of country side, clean air and for conveniance theres a pub right outside the hotel. Just lovely. Will defiantly come back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    good stay, we would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt see any air conditioning unit in the room, and the traffic was a little noisy to leave it open all night so a little warm,, but we have been having amazingly hot weather at the moment!

    bed super comfy, my son and I are both over 6 ft, and we commented on the comfort and length of the single beds, we were in the disabled room, maybe these are the twin rooms? breakfast staff friendly, clearing tables quickly, and a good selection without taking the 5 quid extra cooked option!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    I will return if I need to go to Barnsley again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a fridge in the rooms as we had bought sandwiches.

    It was comfortable, affordable, modern looking. The free continental breakfast was just my kind of thing. Cool little bedside table too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfy - breakfast is really poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was shockingly bad and I've had better in a hostel. The booking clearly states breakfast is included, then you get there and it's an extra £5 for anything decent and warm. Really frustrating when you are on a tight budget and that's one of the main reasons I booked the hotel - for a decent meal in the morning. Not just jam on toast. Ridiculous and I'm still really annoyed. I won't be staying in an ibis again.

    Everything was clean, the staff were friendly, the beds were comfy the rooms and surroundings were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean, tidy hotel in a position close to an area we needed to get to. Staff always pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot and close to a railway line so could really open windows. Would have helped to have a fan.

    Good value and exactly what we needed. A hotel close to a festival. Breakfast very basic but good.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: