Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis York Centre 2 stars

77 The Mount, York, YO24 1BN, United Kingdom

#38 of 46 hotels in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4633 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok, but I would stay somewhere else next time I visit York.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't as nice as that at other Ibis I have used (which were cheaper). Chipped corners, tiny bathroom, could hear the people above, roughcoat plaster, industrial carpet. Not very inviting.

    Not far from the station. Roomy bedroom. Comfy bed. There was a cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    On the whole it was ok for a short stay, the room was quiet and we slept very well and we
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hand basin. The plug was faulty and had to be held up for the dirty water to go down the smelly plug hole. The tap was faulty and water shot out from the base as well as the tap. I did report this on arrival but it was not rectified.

    Very comfortable bed. TV. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Comfy bed, clean, good location, great breakfast, late check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room, outside of the hotel looked worn, old. Coridoors and entrance hall and carpets looked dull and need of refurbishment.

    Comfy bed, clean, good location, great breakfast, late check out and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a short stay - wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hand towels provided until I asked for them - not hotel policy, I was told. Towels weren't big enough or thick enough. Window wouldn't open. Didn't feel it was really in centre - quite a long walk into York for someone with health problems.

    Friendly and professional at check-in. Pleasant manner but a bit chaotic at breakfast which was average, nothing memorable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.0
    basic ....only advantage is it's close to York city centre
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    got charged for parking even though I told the receptionist that my partner had a blue badge and is disabled...my partner is refusing to pay the penalty charges...i would only give this place 2 stars not the generous 4 rating as shown.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Nothing wrong with the hotel however the guests were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing wrong with the hotel however the guests were very noisy! Coming in at all hours and waking other guests up with drunken arguments and slamming doors.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was great.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light fittings n plugs in the room were all loose and one plug socket looked like it had melted. The car park spaces were tiny.

    Breakfast was great. Beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Won’t stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom was not clean. There was some woman’s hair adorning the tiles (see photo). The TV didn’t work. The wifi didn’t work properly either. There was some broken glass on the floor. On top of this morons on my floor slamming doors (which seemed designed to make a noise to wake the entire floor) all night meant I couldn’t sleep. For £95 for a night surely one can expect a clean space and facilities that work. Also drinking glasses replaced with paper cups and even metal teaspoons replaced with little wooden tongue depressors that are USELESS for making tea! Complaint was met with minimal interest and the phrase “we can ONLY apologise “ which i take to mean “Don’t expect us to do anything for you”.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was good and location in walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff on desk not welcoming or helpful as we tried to determine parking options. Bare essentials room with steps to maneuver with luggage.

    Breakfast was good and location in walking distance of attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable, the hotel lived up to our expectations. We will be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The table lamp on our desk did not work. We reported this at reception, it was investigated and found that the switch was faulty. This was not repaired during our 5 night stay.

    The location was ideal for exploring York and for eating and drinking nearby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay in a comfortable, clean hotel, but I was disappointed with the open plan storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    On previous visits to York, the hotel rooms had drawers and a wardrobe. So I was not impressed by the open plan storage area. By which I mean there were shelves and a rail with hangers open to view. I would have prefered a drawer to put my valuables in as opposed to my bags and an enclosed wardrobe, so my clothes were not on view to whoever came into the room.

    It is a clean, modern building. It is located on one of York's busiest streets and is well sound proofed. The staff were efficient, polite and attentive. When I told them about 2 light bulbs in my room going out, the light bulbs were replaced the same day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Last minute stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of storage in the room, but this is normal for basic Ibis hotels

    A room was available! We'd been double booked in a hoel near Harrogate, so this was a last minute booking. It was close to the centre of York, just outside one of the gates. The receptionist suggested where I could park overnight as the car park was full. Parking was available the following morning. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The room was quiet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very helpful and the Breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    On different occasions during our stay we requested a chicken and bacon pizza and we had to settle for a plain cheese pizza. We asked for fish and chips but were told they only had one fish, we and several guests were disappointed. I asked for dry roast peanuts, they had none, I asked for plain crisps, they had none. Small details that Ibis could easily put right. I would be happy to stay in the future.

    The staff were very helpful and the Breakfast very good. Ibis is good value for money I noticed Premier inn were more expensive for the same week.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tables where not cleaned at breakfast. The breakfast choice was excellent.

    Shower was excellent. The room was good value for money. The room was cleaned and beds made to a good standard every day. Things used where replaced without having to ask. For the type of hotel Ibis is is was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very basic, no extras such as soap or teaspoons ( only wooden sticks to stir tea or coffee ). Mattress thin and on wooden slats so very hard to sleep on. Breakfast was shambolic, dirty pots on all tables, drinks machines not working, no bread for toast, several items on serve yourself breakfast had to wait to be cooked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Very impressed with hotel for money spent as was on our honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet rolls in room second night limited as was not topped up after room clean had to go to main toilets to get one as felt embarrassed to ask as everything else was perfect little mistake by cleaners not hotels fault

    Parking is limited so need to get there early and further cost of £9 a day which was unexpected but understand as it is York all hotels suffer with parking. But was impressed with location room and especially staff and management. Nick Letts

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was old and tired nothing like the photos. The window frame was rotten and wouldn’t shut so let in a lot of noise. The windows were filthy. The room was cold and the radiator and tv did not work.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further than I'd realised from the centre, but fairly close to train station. The water kept going cold when we were showering and there was a crack in the shower head so we lost half the water. We were only given 1 small towel each and had to ask for bath towels. Breakfast was OK (for £6.95). A bit noisy with other guests slamming doors but not much can be done about that.

    Check-in was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing and would not return.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electrical sockets coming away from wall. (Reported to Reception). Very tired and stained shower cubicle. Toothpaste stains around the tap. Black mound around the windows. Breakfast disappointing.

    Room size was OK. Location quite good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but there are cheaper ones about and probably get more for your money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely basic. The t.v. kept beeping every 5 minutes when it was switched on which made it annoying to watch tv. Parking was £9 which is expensive

    The staff were really friendly and the bar/restaurant area was really nice. We should of taken the option for breakfast but we didn't

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Very compact
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was paying for parking on the hotel site. This is not mentioned in the brochure. Just seems like it has been added on after the price of the room. The parking fee of £9 a night was the same price as local ncp.

    Very compact

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre for a few nights, wouldn't recommend for a longer stay.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The double room had some space, but overall it was totally useless, only 1 chair and a tiny table good for nothing. The water temperature in the shower changed all the time, so taking a shower was not very nice at times. It was very loud all the time because the hotel is near a busy road and my windows were facing it.

    The staff is really friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. Quite close to the city centre and railway station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    Was very glad to leave and only stayed because I slept well and was visiting friends. Not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful dirty oily smell in restaurant on first morning - put me off having any hot food during stay. Hygiene - saw chef with rag over his shoulder, pick up handful of pastries, gather them against himself and carry them off to kitchen. He was not wearing gloves. Would not eat any unpacked food anywhere in restaurant after that. Limited fresh fruit selection - an apple or nothing. Health and safety issue in shower: No dish to put soap. No handrail to hold on to. For someone with difficult balance/mobility this is not acceptable - and probably breaks the law. Plug in basin would not release - not resolved throughout entire stay despite notes and requests. No clear fire instructions. Could not read instructions on back of door - had to remove to read. No clear instructions on walls as to exit route out. After fire alarm in middle of night got lost trying to find way back to room without using lift. Poor, poor, poor. On early arrival at hotel - check-in helpful but reception toilets were dirty and smelly. Not a good impression.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, room with all your basic needs, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a stain from what looked like tomato sauce from a pizza base down the room window, but it was stuck on too hard to wipe off and there was what seemed to be blood stains on the bedding on one of the beds. There are lots of rooms and it must get very busy, so it's understandable that sometimes things get missed. We stayed in room 225, so it's worth just checking over.

    Staff were really helpful and friendly, great central location. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed, the beds were really comfortable. There was nothing we needed that wasn't available to us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    York was beautiful but Ibis York was not.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our pillow cases & towels were used & dirty!! They were replaced & we were offered a free nights stay as compensation but it was an unpleasant experience. Room was small & basic. Probably wouldn’t return.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Prime location everything we travelled to the city for was...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prime location everything we travelled to the city for was in a walking distance the beds were so comfy and the price was very reasonable will be using this hotel again in the near future

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Staff were cheerful and the hotel was near the centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electrical fittings were not properly fixed to the wall, sockets were part melted. When I opened a window in the morning it fell off the right hand hinge nearly falling into the street below. There was a hair in the shower. The sheet on the bed was stuffed under the mattress topper and not covering the whole mattress. It made an otherwise good firm bed feel lumpy. Decorations of room old and tired. There was a large splash of some kind covering a square metre up the wall behind the bed. The extractor in the bathroom did not work.

    Staff were cheerful and the hotel was near the centre of town, well placed for our needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    York has lots to do and see. Hotel was in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was very small and so the first night we had to park in a public car park quite a walk from the hotel at a cost of £15 for the night. The second day we we lucky a space in small hotel car park occurred which we quickly took. However this still cost £9 per 24 hours. Drinks from the bar were on the slightly expensive side

    The reception area/staff were very good and having a pool table in the bar was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great hotel. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was for 24 hour blocks. Would have liked to had the option to add to this the following day as we wanted to walk around some more after breakfast but had to leave 12.30pm which was a little disappointing.

    Absolutely brilliant stay. Perfect location. Rooms were spot on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    The cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was substandard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room and the bathroom was substandard, I appreciate they are getting a much needed refurb. Staff were friendly, polite and efficient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    We were disappointed with the hotel facilities and the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt of urine upon arrival and there was shower gel all over he bathroom tiles, there was no warm water it was either freezing or boiling so was very uncomfortable

    The staff were pleasant and based in a good area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Porter's review of York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have coat hooks in the room and the hotel said it had air conditioning but hadn't. I'd have liked the bathroom a little bigger if I'm honest. In the summer months the room could have had a mini fridge in so that you could take your own milk, water and juice in as ours went off to quickly.

    It was a central hotel and not that far to walk from the station or the middle of town, it also had a few pubs and places to eat. I liked that the room had a hairdryer even though I'd taken mine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    York, a must for anyone who loves history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn't close properly and as the room was cold as it didn't get direct sunlight the heating unit in the room didn't work.

    The location was brilliant, 10 mins walk from the train station and 5 from Micklegate and a lovely walk, through a lovely part of the city, to the main shopping/tourist attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Great nights sleep and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some attention to detail is required in the house keeping to score a little higher in my eyes.

    We were there for our anniversary and received a lovely welcome from the lady at the front desk and a bottle of prosecco in our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant and helpful staff and very clean , with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for the car park . This wasn't mentioned when booking

    Very pleasant and helpful staff and very clean , with central location to York.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location to things we had planned. Tight squeeze in car park. Overall satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower. Pillows not comfortable. No iron in room. No fridge in room to keep drinks or medication cold. Other guests shouting and slamming doors in corridor late at night. Heater in room smelt like it was burning when in use. No phone in room to call reception.

    Bed comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Hair dryer available. Good location to city centre. Good choice available for breakfast. Tea and coffee available throughout the day at no extra cost.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the walls are paper thin so you can hear whst is going on corridors and at your neighbours...the furnishings ard cheap...and not the cleanest of places

    Very helpful staff...grwat breakfast..and very good location near station and mickelgate and everyman cinema

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.3
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely small and uncomfortable, staff were not polite and we had to wait 10 minutes for them to check if our room was ready (2 hours after the time we were allowed to check in), corridors were messy due to cleaning and staff member saw us struggling to get round the mess with our cases and yet didn’t try to help, door key wouldn’t work on the second day so we had to do back to reception, tables in the bar area were dirty (around 8 tables with cups/ glasses on) but the bar was empty. Rooms were basic but could have done with a better clean, plus i ended up hurt due to staff not fixing something to the wall correctly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    First time ive stayed in a ibis was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice & clean friendly staff. Nicely located. Only snag no plug socket next to mirror to use hair dryer & straightners.

    First time ive stayed in a ibis was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice clean and tidy hotel, good bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small, this didn’t bother us too much as we were only there one night and it was just for somewhere to sleep. Check in was 2pm we got there just after and our room wasn’t ready, had to wait about 20 mi utes, not ideal. Shower not very powerful in our room.

    Nice clean and tidy hotel, good bar area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Our stay was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a blood stain on the duvet and there it remained for the duration of our stay. The TV was not secured to the wall properly , sat at an angle.. Toilet roll not replenished, had to ask for one...

    Breakfast was very good and freshly prepared.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, unable to open window as very noisy on a main road. Given a fan by staff which was extremely dirty, when I turned it on dust and fluff was blown all over the room. Once I cleaned it we had a good night's sleep

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Good but needed a shower and a sleep when got home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scalding hot water in shower, didn't matter what setting and we were unlucky because on our corridor there was the loudest group of people slamming doors, singing, whistling and shouting from 1.30 till 6.30 Unbelievable

    Close to race course and city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Rip off prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I know people bump up the price during the races but there is a difference between turning a good profit and taking the mick out of your customers. Room only rate for two nights (one night not a race night) was £304. Room never made up, duvet cover stained, no hair dryer in room, no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion, just a very basic one dispenser of multi purpose bubbles. Breakfast at nearly £7 a head extra had fermenting fruit salad, cook it yourself toast, eggs etc,

    Its near to York Racecourse. Overworked girl on reception did her very best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Lovely friendly staff, who always gave me and my son a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that the bathroom door didn’t close properly (127)and we had to slam the door to our room to close it. Not a problem to us but maybe to the neighbours!!

    Lovely friendly staff, who always gave me and my son a lovely greeting on our way in or out. We also had a lovely big room which was clean and comfortable and even some custard creams to go with our tea and coffee-don’t get that in the Hilton! Breakfast was lovely too and location great. Only a 15 min walk into the centre especially if you take the city walls. Overall a brilliant stay. Thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Not good enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying £9 for car parking, pathetic Wi-Fi speeds and insecure network, some stairs after you come out of the lift. This is hardly what one would expect of the Ibis Hotels!

    Easy enough walking distance of the railway station and city centre, not much else to like

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was sub-standard for price, good location is only saving grace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much noise every hour of the day - doors slamming, music/tv from other guests and busy main street sounds Rooms not cleaned very well during stay and cleaners kept ignoring our used towels

    Quality breakfast buffet and great location which is just a short walk away from train station and major attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Was all we needed for our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm .Aircon not very good. Asked for fan , problem solved.Lge stain on curtain other than that room was good.

    Friendly staff.Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    A perfect weekend getaway
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too hot, we requested a fan at reception but there were none, only thing that ruined our stay! Didn’t underhand why the window didn’t open

    Staff were extremely nice, the style of the restaurant was so modern and amazing we loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.0
    Adequate but have stayed in better places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay £9 for parking in the hotel car park. Wooden sticks instead of teaspoons meant that if you eat anything in your room requiring a spoon you have to take your own or go down to reception to ask for one; and considering I was on the second floor and quite a distance from the lift it wasn't easy. The metal plate with the two flush buttons behind the toilet kept falling off exposing a large hole in the wall. Also the bottom of the bathroom mkrror was loose and coming away from the wall. I would also have preferred an electrical socket next to the bed. Tbe bed was reasonably comfortable, but I have slept in better.

    Powerful shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great, basic base for a getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit of a walk to the centre of York, but not too far if you're not planning on going back and forth to the hotel. The floorboards in our room were VERY creaky and we could hear the boards above, but this is to be expected in an old building. The air con also did not seem to be working and this would have been annoying had it been a particularly hot night!

    Very friendly staff, and a nice, clean, comfy room. The building is lovely and the parking felt secure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Poor car parking arrangements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor car parking arrangements Wasn’t aware I had to pay prior to stay Paid for 2 days on arrival returned the second day no spaces left so had to find alternative parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location, not so great beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two single beds in the twin room we had were simply far too small and very uncomfortable. They were not full single beds but were instead a double bed that had been unzipped down the middle. This should have been advertised as had I know that to be the case I would have chosen either a different room or hotel.

    Location was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    pleased!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Very clean and well presented. Very good location. Put in special request due to being asthmatic - on arrival room was as requested - excellent service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was near train station and cafes and restraunts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky floors ...but we had walked so long everyday we crashed out soon as head hit pillow, so didnt keep us awake.

    The location was near train station and cafes and restraunts nearby were great. Short stroll along the road to access city wall walk and bout 15min walk to all other points of interest. We got clean towels everyday and they kept our cases in safe room after check out. The staff were all very pleasant .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From being moved to a better room, the stay couldn’t be faulted

    On arrival my wife and myself we allocated a disabled room on the ground floor. We didn’t ask for that. The receptionist allocated us a even better room on the second floor. When I mentioned it. The Breakfast on our thee days were excellent. We enjoyed our stay at the Ibis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extractor fan in bathroom didn't work & shower unit very slippery. Only got given 2 sugar sticks! Didn't like having to pay extra for parking.

    Breakfast was amazing. Lots of variety and lovely food. Great location & quiet room Staff were great & very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Fairly close to centre of York, but still need to be able...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows wonky, rained in. Single beds very narrow.

    Fairly close to centre of York, but still need to be able to walk a lot - not for those who are not used to walking 2 -3 miles to town and back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Stay and location was good small beds and parking costs were poor I believe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin room with the miniature beds, I believe the beds were a lot smaller than standard single beds, the other issue was having to pay additional parking fee to park your car in the hotel car park after paying for your stay

    Location was good and staff were really helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    The only valuable thing of this structure is the staff, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost is very high for this structure

    The only valuable thing of this structure is the staff, very nice and professional, ready to help and understand the needs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Might as well just slept by the road.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Might as well just slept by the road. Sounded like every passing car/lorry starting at around 5am was driving past the bed. Also can hear every step made by the people in the room directly above.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Room clean ,bed comfy staff helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room clean ,bed comfy staff helpful .Bar prices were the cheapest of any we had .There is a Weatherspoons up the road do a lovely breakfast .Only a short walk from attractions

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location, good breakfast but uncomfortable nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We said we'd arrive at about 4 and admittedly we got their about 3.30 so partly my fault but room still not ready, also the window only opened not much more than a crack and air conditioning not good at all which meant a very uncomfortable nights sleep

    The staff were were helpful and friendly, location was good for places we wanted to visit, breakfast was very good, hot and plenty of it, you didn't walk out of there hungry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    had better for less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room was very small and the bath and bedding were dirty. The room smelled of damp. Call it good or bad luck but a storm triped the electricity so we were moved to another room, which was much better.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly could not fault them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Great location, outstanding breakfast, friendly helpful staff, great price. Only downside was the bathroom was so small that after you had a shower you had to dry yourself with the door open!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff at the Ibis were very helpful and couldn’t fault...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel could do with an upgrade but to be honest it was the cheapest we could find for the dates we were visiting York so our expectations weren’t too high

    The staff at the Ibis were very helpful and couldn’t fault their attentiveness and service. The all you can eat breakfast was fantastic..if precooked the day before its only around £6 which was fantastic value for money. Location is also very god

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and good options for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear people in other rooms. Shower had 2 temps...freezing and a trickle or scalding...couldn't get a happy medium. Doorway to room very narrow and would bounce back off wall into you. Bed was like sleeping on a plank...very hard..but suppose that's down to personal preference.

    Staff very friendly and good options for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Next time I’ll stay some place else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made you pay extra for parking (which was a nightmare to get into and then get out, with the car of an employee blocking the exit), they also made you pay extra for your pet and don’t provide anything additional for it. Compare to other ibis in England (we stayed in the ibis from Nottingham just a few days before) it was way to expensive and not worth it!

    The location was great: close to the center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 of the lights didnt work. A lamp had no bulb at all and the bedside light did not work. The cleaner must have mopped with a dirty mop as when we came back to get changed the bathroom and entrance smelt of stale urine. The sink didnt drain properly.

    Friendly staff. Location was not too far from the city of York. Bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant staff but room ventilation and cleanliness could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the first room we were given had no way of opening the window and no air conditioning. It would have been impossible to stay in the room (too hot) and we had to request a change of room. In the second room we were given, fortunately, the windows opened but it could have been cleaner (hairy bathroom floor!).

    The staff were pleasant and the hotel was conveniently located (only 10 minutes walk from the station). The bed was comfy and there were extras that you don't find in every hotel, such as a hairdryer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    The worst hotel i have ever been in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was the worst we have stopped in. No window in room. No air con. Shower didnt work. Mould all over the room. Had to brush my teeth with red hot water. Paid £130 for the nights stay. One good thing was we complained and got a full refund for our stay

    Friendly staff and got a full refund for room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    very pleasant, would definately stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend and I shared a twin room.......which held 2 single beds, the beds were very comfortable but very narrow, could have done with a little bit more room

    Room was basic but very clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Good stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Evening restaurant facility not good but an excellent Italian restaurant opposite the hotel. For a budget hotel we felt it was slightly over priced but it is what it is a Budget Hotel.

    Comfortable room, friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Reception staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask twice on 3 night stay for enough towels for both guests. Cups were dirty on arrival.

    Reception staff friendly and helpful. Good location 10 mins walk from station. Mostly very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location but could easily improve on a few things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a facilities/house keeping room (room 110) and this was noisy with staff in and out from very early on. The hotel itself is noisy both inside and out. Not soundproof rooms as advertised. Blackout curtains about 1inch too short so still let a little light in. Breakfast was of poor quality , cooked breakfast was tasteless and the eggs were horrid. Resembled cous cous or powdered egg, had a funny taste. On check out, wasn't once asked "how was your stay?" Very disappointing, would not stay here again.

    Friendly staff on check in and room ready early, good location for city centre tourist attractions. Rooms modern and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis York Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: