Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ilchester Arms 4 stars

Church Street, Ilchester, BA22 8LN, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Ilchester

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I so nothing It was very clean

    I can't fault any thing Staff excellent Food excellent And for the breakfast it was fantastic The best breakfast I've had

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant value for money, great food and drink, helpful staff and a large and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was hit and miss with the car park not large enough to accommodate all guests, it is a case of first come first served. Not ideal and detracts from the quality of the overall experience.

    Staff were absolutely brilliant, all very helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stopover point on journey from Cornwall to London, convenient for A303.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding hotel car park a little tricky but management very helpful.

    Comfortable bed in room overlooking 'beer garden at rear of hotel. Good meal in secluded corner of restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    It met our need perfectly for a comfortable overnigh stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water did not drain away from the shower. This was a fault the hotel were not aware of and they undertook to repair it - the room was more than satisfactory on the ground floor

    Outstanding room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for sightseeing, reasonable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms at the front face the busy A37 main road. Noise from the traffic can be disruptive especially for light sleepers. Too much vinegar (yes vinegar) used to cook the poached eggs.

    Central location, comfortable bed. Bar & Restarant on site. Owners also have the Bull Inn pub across the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable overnight stay with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Comfortable room. Good nights sleep. Little noise despite being adjacent to restaurant area. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. I would recommend to others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend stay, everything close by! Staff and landlady were really lovely, so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being in such a small village everything was close by! Two pubs opposite each other (owned by the same people) a chinese across the road and a italian next door. The landlady and staff were really lovely. I would definitely stay here again when I'm near Yeovil again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect for The location of Yeovil Marathon which we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Faults Whatsoever

    Perfect for The location of Yeovil Marathon which we were attended Everything was perfect from the word go Friendly Helpful local Staff Room perfect Comfortable Bed Excellent Meal in Restaurant Good local Produce Will definitely come Back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great place to eat and sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made to feel welcome, good choice of beer and cider, restaurant food was excellent as was breakfast. Highly recommended and I would definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful staff, great cook and very good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On small point on comfort, the settee in the bed room was old and very uncomfortable, so we had no place to sit. Change the settee and the complete package would have been perfect.

    The room was an excellent size and the bed was very large and very comfortable. The shower room was very good and with a wet room shower. The room was exceptionally close to the car park and dining room, as requested. The staff were outstanding in every respect and the food was excellent. We would, and probably will, stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Little sleep and poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was next to the main door therefore we had little sleep, guests were noisy and the noise went on until the early hours. No hair dryer in room. Breakfast was terrible, runny omelette and shell in the scrambled egg. Very expensive prices in the restaurant so chose to eat elsewhere. The car park is very small and struggled to fit all of the guests cars. People were having to block each other in.

    Close to RNAS Yeovilton

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, great food & friendly staff, the perfect combination for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space in our family room was well thought out & all the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The staff were friendly & nothing seemed like it was too much trouble for them. I would happily recommend this place to anyone. (it's the first time I have been back there since 1989 when I helped plaster the place!!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great room attached to a great restaurant with a great pub in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower lacked pressure. Car parks at the property weren't always available (though there is a free car park 100m down the road).

    Loved the food, the pubs atmosphere and the dog friendly attitude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a stop in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The dinner in the resturaunt was very good. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Facility was very nice. Free parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negatives.

    Our Stay was fabulous, lovely quiet room, everything to make ours and others a lovely break. Staff was lovely, and breakfast was plentiful and fresh ...... parking a bonus. have no negatives regarding our stay. We have booked again already!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Very welcoming & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has lots of character and is clean and well managed. May not suit if looking for ultra modern facilities due to the nature of the historic building.

    Very welcoming & friendly staff. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is ideal for us to stay in when visiting family as it literally just around the corner. It's always clean and very comfortable and the staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Lovely place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Couldn't fault anything. The location is very central, we had a room at the front which was spacious and comfortable. Lovely dinner in the restaurant and the bar is very relaxing! Everything made better by the hot weather in April. Huge breakfast next morning set us up for the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay good food a lovely hotel great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault it the hotel has a great atmosphere lovely location in the village fantastic!nice

    Excellent staff great food nothing was to much trouble even though they were extremely busy with a wedding party breakfast was excellent the owner Lucy runs a well run business especially as she runs the pub across the road ! Rooms were comfortable a great place to stay will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    very cosy and old style English country side hotel and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is ok, with local products, but there is little choices of patisserie and dairies.

    very cosy and old style English country side hotel and restaurant. Nice restaurant as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Very warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very low, but saying that it was comfy. The step out of the bath was quite high and there did not appear to be any grab rails. The floors were sloping in places, albeit part of a character building. There were quite a few stairs.

    The welcome from the young lady when we arrived at 22.59. We had called ahead as we were running a little late. The breakfast was ample and freshly cooked. Quiet location even though our room was on the main road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.3
    Extremely bad service. Charged us extra than what we originally paid for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was extremely cold and the bed was uncomfy and like sleeping on a rock. the waitress couldn’t get the breakfast order right then left the breakfast in the middle of the table and didn’t cook a new one up so breakfast was cold.

    A warm welcome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A nice little get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything.

    The Ilchester Arms is a beautiful old pub with plenty of character and welcoming stuff. I particularly liked how children friendly they are.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point - shaving point light in bathroom not working.

    The fruit salad for breakfast on our second day (not provided on day 1) Radiators worked really well in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    It suited us for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was far too hot. I turned off the radiator in the room but there were pipes in the walk in wardrobe that gave out lots of heat so when we opened that door it made the room uncomfortably hot as well.

    It suited us for what we needed. It’s very good value, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Visiting our Son and his family this Hotel is 5 mins away and very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited TV stations and no wi fi at our room.

    The room was wheelchair friendly and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast excellent except that the fresh fruit compote had been mostly consumed by the previous customers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant, value for money, short stay and we would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had one query, amicably discussed with the owner, re the bathroom floor that it did not seem as well looked after as the others. The owner explained that it had been diligently cleaned but the flooring used did not lend itself to that appearance. They were in general agreement with our view and hoped to replace the floor in that facility (and I think other rooms). We were fully satisfied with the explanation.

    Myself and my wife felt very welcomed by all staff who were very helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent and accommodation warm and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    The room was clean, cosy and had everything we needed.
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, cosy and had everything we needed. No problems getting a gluten free breakfast and the staff are welcoming and friendly. Highly recommend having a G&T in the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just see the laughable problem with the key.

    Have stayed before. Was very good indeed. Only one problem - the key needed a first class honours degree to open. Room 3. Michelle has such a qualification !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall a pleasant stay following an unsatisfactory start
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were originally allocated (having requested a quiet room) was somewhat isolated from the rest of the inn and retuning to the inn meant entering a side street and crossing a dark gravel car park. There were no rugs on the bare floorboards. The shower did not work (no hot water) and the floor of the "wet room" did not drain properly.

    The meals, both breakfasts and evening meals over the two days, were excellent in every respect. Food was of high quality and well cooked. On the second night the staff coped very well with a large party whilst serving us at the same time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    The room was spacious and well presented, along with the...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and well presented, along with the property in general. We ate in the restautant and both the food and service was excellent. The staff were lovely and welcoming. A fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable and the room quite spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable and the room quite spacious. I had booked the hotel with a view to using their restaurant but unfortunately the restaurant was closed. However The nearby Italian was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Friendly, comfortable and very good value - highly recommended
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband slept on the sofa bed and said it could have been more comfortable.

    We booked for just one night as we were travelling through to Devon and it was perfect for our needs. Staff were friendly and helpful, the family room was a good size and the breakfast was ample. It was great to be able to take our dog along as well. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely family suite with a homely country feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely suite of two rooms so adult and kids can have their own space. Quaint decor. The kids loved the dolls house. Excellent, plentiful breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home

    Fresh towels daily.sparkly water and still daily.toiletries renewed daily. Great breakfast. Did not dine in the evening but appeared very popular. Recommend booking for evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for a stop off on the way to Cornwall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was quite small, with the double bed almost against the wall on one side. Traffic noise might be a problem during the week.

    Clean and comfortable, and the young staff very friendly and enthusiastic. Food was excellent. The nearby Haynes Motor Museum is well worth a vist.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was awful, not very powerful and a nylon curtain. We were in a pet friendly room which was right at the back and when we went for breakfast the door at the back was locked and we had to walk along the road to the front, luckily it wasn`t raining!

    The room was very spacious and the bed very comfortable. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast was very good for the price we paid. Staff were extremely friendly. Easy to find and a nice quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    This was a great last minute booking with good rooms, great food and staff. Absolutely recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower water pressure and small bunk beds but we knew about the bed in advance.

    The Ilchester Arms was a last minute decision but an excellent choice. Good family room, great food (Dinner & Breakfast) and the staff could not do enought to help. Storngly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing apart from the pumps for the real ale were not working, but was impressed with how the ilchester arms sorted the problem very quickly.

    Friendly & helpful staff, great breakfast and very clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Stay here you won't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs to tell you where reception is rather than having to drag your suitcase through a bar area full of locals would be very helpful..my one and only and only criticism

    Comfortable and quiet room at front of hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds did not work properly at window , Outside of door was pub toilets

    Very friendly staff ,with warm welcome. Excellent breakfast, could not of been better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Home from home with a comfier bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I had to shorten my trip which meant missing out on another nights stay.

    The facilities in the family room were fantastic, the bed was super comfy so much so that if I could have brought it home with me I would have done! The landlady was very friendly and all other staff members we encountered were very friendly, which is a true testament to the owners. Will definitely be finding another reason to book in here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    A lovely littl place with some nice rooms but be warned steer clear of room 7 it's horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damp, mouldy, smelly room that was room 7. Broken glass in the windows which wouldn't stay open and had to propped with a toilet roll! Black bathroom ceiling due to no extractor or a window to stay open. The wall that the wardrobe was on was black with mills. The room felt damp and was very smelly due to this. There were big cracks across the ceiling and down the wall to the window and below. Above all for £80 a night it was well below standards you'd expect!

    The bed was comfortable and breakfast was good. Good selection of toiletries provided and lovey to have a bath as well as shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi service in the room, although there was a good connection in the restaurant area

    Very friendly staff. Great food. Clean, comfortable and stylish hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    We were very luck to find this little gem. We will stay again when in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived on a Sunday when there restaurant was not open. We were directed to a good Chinese takeaway across the road and were offered to bring it back and eat. We were provided drinks and cutlery. Its little helpful things like that that make good hotels great. (Thank you)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely pub and fantastic food and exceptional value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds slightly uncomfortable but used to high standard and husband has a bad back. Only other thing was noise from pub as wanted to leave the windows open but couldn't but by 11 pm it was quiet and if we had older kids we would be the ones making the noise !

    Amazing breakfast and superb family room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    OK as we ate in the Bull Inn ( Cheaper food)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to charge me extra for a second person in a double room (I was under the impression I paid for the room)

    There seemed to be a weird association with the Bull Inn across the road , not clear on the booking. It we understand both establishments are run by the same team.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stay with a great meal, altogether a lovely weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was a little on the low side

    Great food, friendly staff, free wifi, clean room all combined to provide a great weekend. Will definitely return next time we visit our family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Two night stay but decided to stay another night
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very nice a bit dusty,room 7 was over the breackfast /fuction room and facing the beer garden so a bit noisey other wise owners and staff very friendly.

    The hotel or pub had a good restaurant very busy,Italian restaurant next door was good aswell

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice rooms in a lovely village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels a little small and shower a bit feeble . Also no fulll length mirror . Thought it was a little pricey for a room above a pub .

    Very nice staff , perfectly clean spacious room and bathroom . Comfy ( if small)bed . Cooked Breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    It was lovely, a dear and delightful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful place to stay and eat. We happened to arrive on steak night and had two very nice steaks cooked to perfection with an interesting wine list. The village was worth exploring and we walked off our meal with a late night stroll watching bats flitting around the bridge over the river Ivel. The next morning we went back to see the trout in daylight! Friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and there was parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Overall disappointed with room and lack of communication with staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking difficult. Reception not clearly marked. Not explained where breakfast served on checking in. Room poorly furnished with only one bedside table. Other side of bed barely accessible. No usable mirror in room . No headboard on bed. Overall disappointed.

    Breakfast was well cooked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was 'tired' and could do with some updating

    The bed was comfortable and the room was a good size. There was a good choice of breakfast and it was good quality food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Quaint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was booked for two and was clearly only for one plus was asked if wanted smoking I ticked yes but that wasn't the case

    Quaint Lovely breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Staff were fantastically friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were fantastically friendly. They went above and beyond helping us with our 1 year old, offering us warm milk for his bottle and getting breakfast to us quickly. It was very much appreciated. We had the family room which was perfect for what we needed - we could put our child to bed in one room and still relax in the other without waking him.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Little GEM
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better, was not to be right on the top floor with a 2 and 3 year old. Although they coped, it was a little steep.

    This is the BEST set-up family room, I have ever stayed and the includes 5* hotels. The bunk beds for the kids, leaving a spacious double bedroom for parents and separate en-suite, was just perfect. Staff were really helpful and nice. The food was great abd the kids enjoyed the toys on offer. Freshly cooked breakfast with gorgeous juices. Couldn't have been happier with this little Gem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money in a genuine traditional pub with rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room was over the bath type, needed to run around under it to get wet!

    Bedroom was spacious and quirky, which was nice. Uneven floors always a good excuse for the one too many! Restaurant was good although service was a bit slow.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from room 12 not the best but could be improved with a bit of landscaping and planting.

    friendly staff, excellent food and good real beer. rooms were clean and freshly decorated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    We would have stayed an extra night, but due to the Yeovilton Air show, there was no room at the inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little disappointing, bacon was overcooked, fried eggs allowed to go hard

    We had an excellent dinner in the evening of our arrival as it was a 'Steak' night, 2 x 8oz steaks prepared to our liking with brilliant chips and good value two plates for £20.00.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    The restaurant was incredible!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden facilities were old and not properly maintained so they did not tempt us to spend time outside, even if the location has a lot of potential. The shower had an instant boiler with witch we struggled to get hot water.

    The restaurant was incredible! I did not expect such a culinary expertise! All the ingredients were natural and very tasteful! You can see that there is a family business so the staff was really helpful and nice. The room was clean and good value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    friendly value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The new part we were in was not quite finished in places, so the builders were still around. But it was no bother just not ideal.

    The fact that there was free parking. And a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.2
    one horse townot and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff need training and the owner needs to be more polite. Our room needed curtains that would block out the street lighting. The cooked breakfast needs improving to meet the normal standard.

    The room was large and the bed was comfy The area is very quite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely welcome in a great location for visiting numerous places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really think of anything!

    Every member of staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We were upgraded to a superior family room which was brilliant. The food was delicious and varied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice friendly staff and decent accommodation. Not five star but there was nothing more we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were really nice and gave us loads of support and help, We had a lovely meal there one night and two lovely Breakfasts.

    Lovely friendly staff and a nice place to stay. We were attending a wedding nearby at North Cadbury House. My wife and I stayed there with our grown up Children. Two nice comfortable rooms and a laid back atmosphere. A little noisy next to the road but we are used to a house in the country. We all slept really well in comfortable clean beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Friendly place to stay . Food exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The no hot water on our first morning plus noise from bar below but is didn't ruin our stay as the staff were very helpful and put things right.

    No hot water our first morning . Reported it as we left for the day. On return still no hot water so went to bar and the staff member moved us rooms immediately.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasent, Lovely countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue we experienced was the postcode directions on sat nav directed us to a village nearby but our mobile phone directions took us to the correct location.

    Excellent Breakfast choice. Relaxing, Friendly/Homely atmosphere, great staff very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    It was a pleasant hotel, not fantastic, the area was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dull and dowdy. The breakfast was reasonable but they served me with two hard fried eggs, which I hate!

    It was a pleasant hotel, not fantastic, the area was quite uninteresting but there was a museum but it was closed and there were some pleasant walks. We had an evening meal there and it was very nicely served with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Ilchester Arms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very helpful and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the Bistro Restaurant was very good, offering a wide range of dishes. Good choice of dishes at breakfast. The Ichester Arms is an excellent location for visiting the Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    All round excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point but we couldn't get wifi working in our room, but easy in the main areas.

    Superb stay. Very friendly staff, excellent service, great food. Highly recommend this hotel for young families.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice location for touring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is very old so the plumbing is a little under-par. They forgot to service our room on the Saturday we stayed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, they made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Food was delicious both in the evening and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew the room was a small double but really was a single size room. It was v hot. Pillows really like boards - sorry.

    Food was delicious both in the evening and breakfast. Staff charming and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel - wonderful staff!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff here are fabulous and the owner, Lucy, knows exactly how to run a comfortable hotel full of thoughtful little extras. Breakfast was a particular highlight of this stay. We didn't eat in the evening but the restaurant was packed - which says it all really.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Charming place in a handy spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 10 was small however in fairness - it was marketing as a 'small double' and we only stayed there for 2 nights. It would be a little too cramped for two adults for more than a couple of nights. However it did have a large en suite bathroom. It is a very old hotel, therefore you can reasonably expect uneven surfaces and steps - it is just not so not so good if you are unsteady on your feet.

    Breakfast was perfect and lots of it. The restaurant was really good. Staff were great. Location was spot on. The room had everything we needed. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Will stay again when in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything.

    Only there for a couple of hours so cannot say much. Breakfast was excellent. Erdinger (beer) on draft was a bonus. Staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    almost satifactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a ground floor room due to a recent(4 weeks) hip replacement. Although it was noted on the computer I was sent to a room on the 3rd floor. With no possibility of a room change or apology. Was unable to use the shower as it was over the bath

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: