Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ilsington Country House Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Ilsington Village, Ilsington, TQ13 9RR, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Ilsington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 143 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Wedding anniversary stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things like bulb not working to the bathroom, curtain missing in room.

    Staff were great, the food was fantastic and the spa was out of this world. Even a wedding anniversary card in the room for us when we got there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Did the job of helping us relax !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We felt the food was over priced and encouraged us to try out the local pubs. The idea of havign more of a bar like food experience is good, but the prices need to be more competitive. At times, it felt like the staff needed a bit more leadership, as service and tidying up was slow at times.

    The spa facilities were fantastic and kept very clean at all times. The pool could do with being a little longer. It was also a lovely location with very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    I have never felt so comfortable travelling alone, I usually feel a bit odd but not here,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to ask for slippers to wear to the pool and ask for hot milk with my coffee but these are such minor things simply because you asked!

    The room was immaculate and the bed sumptuous. The pillows were just right

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Everything food was good the facilities were excellent the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu in the Blue Boar could have been a bit more varied

    Everything food was good the facilities were excellent the staff were excellent my dog was welcomed overall one of the best hotels we have stayed in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    A hotel with dramatic views and a nice pool/spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anyone with a bigger vehicle should plan their route carefully - the property is in a lovely location but there are some very narrow roads on the way!

    Lovely views of Haytor from the dining room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for two brilliant staff, I found otherslacked tje ability to provide basic service I.e. At dinner had to ask for drinks, then ask for wine list only to be forgotten. Tried to gain staff attention each time they entered the dinning room however they would not look around, I then had to leave the restaurant table and walk out to reception to order a bottle of wine. Same instance occurred with breakfast in the morning when ordering a croissant.

    The spa and pool facilities were a highlight, clean and well maintained facilities. Bed in room was very comfortable and the bathroom up to date and spacious. Tow of the male staff working the bistro bar were very attentive for the duration of the stay and made up for the lack of attention to basic customer service experienced from other staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Refreshing, great family fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful warm croissants with lemon curd, fruit compote, or passion fruit curd, beautiful dining inside and out, croquet, Scrabble, friendly staff, relaxing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely setting, lovely people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit tired and badly needs investment

    Beautiful food, lovely people, wonderful aspect and setting - quite hard to find though very close to motorway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    We’d come again and stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding could be better. Bathroom fan continued to run after being shut off. No washcloths or conditioner in bathrooms.

    Grounds beautiful. Preparation and quality of food fantastic. Great spa. Great staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended for an indulgent break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One meal in the bar was inedible; far too salty.

    The spa facilities are terrific; the house is beautifully appointed and the gardens are lovingly attended The staff were friendly and the dining room is very elegant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    A lovely, relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was gorgeous with far reaching view over farmland and Dartmoor, including Haytor. The hotel was surrounded by lovely gardens. The staff were excellent, very friendly but also efficient. The food was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Perfect for a walking holiday. A bit underwhelming if you’re keen on luxury break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole thing is a bit smaller than. you think. This may not be an issue for many ppl, but the photos give a sense of bigger size than it is. It has the vibe of a B and B while obviously being bigger than that. The decor of our room was nice but the room itself was a bit small for it to be a nice place to hang out in for long - we had a standard room. The breakfasts were fine. More of the kind of breakfast you’d expect in a B and B than a hotel. Nothing special but good enough. All in all, I felt like £500 for four nights was the max I’d be happy paying - it wasn’t bad value for money, but on the upper end for what it is I think.

    The spa was good. The sitting rooms were nice. The food at the bar was nice. Location is v good. If you have an OS map you can walk from the door, as most of the various country roads are quiet enough to walk on, as long as you avoid the big ones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful Ilsington
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely Staff. Lovely Location and accommodated my gluten free needs fully! Lovely lovely place. We have been here a couple of times and it never fails! We will be back. :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great friendly staff and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the dining room, the view of the Tor and countryside is wonderful but spoilt by the view also of a dirty unpainted door into a store room next to the window. Great if you're facinging the Tor, not so great if you're facing the hotel

    Great friendly staff and lovely food. Spa is one of the best I've been to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Really relaxing with everything I needed. Hope to return soon,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 5 was a little on the cluttered side. I bumped my leg several times on the bed frame as there was very little space between the bed and the table. Suggestion: put the tea tray on a shelf and move the table. Also, the bureau draws were very stiff and noisy - I was concerned at waking other people with the noise in the mornings!

    Staff very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. Lovely location. Good number of lounges, seating areas etc. Really loved the spa and pool. Massage by Kim was one of the best I've ever had. Good to have a lunchtime eating option. WiFi very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful, relaxing and beautiful setting with amazing facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the Blue Tiger instead of the main restaurant. We were advised when we ordered our food that there was a table of 15 in the main restaurant so there could be a wait. We were okay with this as we weren’t in a hurry. The mains actually came quite fast. Our first drinks and main food had no problems at all. But then ordering our second drinks I had to go up to the bar, and they took so long that our food was actually ready before our drinks. Then waiting for dessert took 45 minutes. I asked about them as we had got to the point we didn’t want them. But they were just coming out at this point so we had them anyway. The most disheartening part was we didn’t even get an apology. Their quality of food is amazing, but maybe just be a bit more prepared if they know they have a big booking next time.

    Beautiful setting, with amazing facilities. Food was good. Reception staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast had a large variety and was very tasteful. We had a very relaxing stay while at the hotel and would definitely come again. It’s a birthday I’m sure my partner will remember for a long time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.9
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool and spa area were great, room was comfortable lovely view out the back up to the moors. Will definitely stay again or visit for a spa day. Great stay for my husbands birthday and he thoroughly enjoyed the hot stone massage

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    We felt really at home in this hotel and were made to feel so welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would have made the visit perfect, was that our room and bathroom are due a bit of redecoration. They weren't tatty - just a little bit tired looking.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was very comfortable - especially the bed. Lovely touch having a jar of home,ade flapjack in the room. The food was tasty and good value for money - we ate in The Blue Tiger Inn, which was informal, but great food - would recommend the sharing platter! The Tarquinius gin was excellent too! We made good use of the spa and found the facilities to be excellent. I also had the back massage - the therapist was wonderful! We will definitely go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with very pleasant staff made our stay pleasing the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told my booking with booking.com was only booked for one, which I surprised and therefore had to pay £15 per day for my husband’s breakfast not very happy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Food was fantastic - good value and extremely high quality,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was colder than would have liked

    Food was fantastic - good value and extremely high quality, well presented. Waitress was friendly and engaging. Good spa facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in the English countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always compare other hotel’s breakfast buffet with the one we offer in my hotel and I am afraid in this case the buffet was a bit too poor for such a nice place... good quality but poor choice Some background music in the breakfast room would improve the privacy between tables The shower in the room could be improved

    Wonderful hotel in a wonderful location Kind and professional staff Love the atmosphere of both the common area and the room Beautiful indoor pool and wellness area Great views from the breakfast room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    The staff were very helpful & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful & friendly. The room was lovely, shower was lovely. The spa & facilities were awesome. Felt completely relaxed upon arrival to departure. The food & standard of service was perfect. Can't wait to go back again!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable with one or two niggles.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited areas were fog friendly. Soup of the day ‘leek and potatoe’ for 3 days! Pool too shallow.

    Staff friendly and helpful, good facilities and good breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Classy yet not stuffy, lovely facilities and great food. Hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prior info on restaurant dress code would have been great as I feel we missed out on that experience. Be aware gentleman if you wish to eat in the main restaurant you will need a shirt with collar.

    Stayed on my honeymoon and it was perfect, excellent staff, lovely rooms, generally classy. If you want a more relaxed and less formal meal (or didn't pack a shirt) the the 'Blue Tiger Inn' on-site provides excellent food in a bar like atmosphere. Room service is available for a small tray charge and food from the Inn menu can be ordered. Pool and spa well equipped and very relaxing. Looking forward to booking our next visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent short stay would have loved to have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic Spa facilities, modern and clean. We had an excellent dining experience both at breakfast and in the evening - delicious, well presented food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Excellent and highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    I couldn't fault anything about my stay here. Wonderful location and venue, modern and clean spa facilities, great food and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable country house hotel ideal for Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms were not quite clean, e.g built up dust and dirt in the toilet. Linen was spotless though. A menu that changed more from evening to evening would also have been welcome.

    Incredibly friendly staff and very committed owners. The hotel is comfortably and cozily furnished and there is a programme of constant improvement clearly in place. The dining and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to wait quite a while for food orders but when the food came it was excellent. It would be nice if there some soft music in the dining room for dinner and breakfast to break the deadly silence in the restuarant. The bedrooms are really nice and comfortable but the walls are paper thin and you can hear what the other guests are even saying and hear the TV's it can be noisy with the banging of doors etc.

    Spa was excellent and food was very high standard. Little gem of a hotel glad we found it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel to have a countryside get away and soft break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel info pushes you to their top restaurant which is fine there is a second restaurant the blue Thai which is just as good and informal and cooked by the same chef. Make sure to arrive from Newton abbot- sat nav is strange Great countryside and grounds

    It gave us a lovely soft break

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    A very nice country-house style hotel in beautiful countryside with good, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Children are only allowed in the pool for certain times of the day, which was disappointing for us as we only found that out when we got there and the pool had been a big draw for us, in case of bad weather.

    A very nice pool area, with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Breakfasts were very good and freshly-cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A wonderful hotel situated near to Haytor on Dartmoor with every convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our SatNav wasn't very good at finding this hotel which is a hidden gem.

    When the weather improved we played golf croquet on the lawn. Inside we found a number of games to amuse ourselves when it rained. We enjoyed the spa treatments and although the swimming pool looked very inviting we didn't swim. Hotel guests are provided with dressing gowns to avoid using locker space for Health Club Members. The views from the dining room windows were spectacular as was the food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    It was W O N D E R F U L ! I hope to go back there soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! .. Well perhaps the Buddhist pictures in the cloakroom of the swimming pool ! But then, I'm a Christian!

    I loved the décor in the room The curtains, the view The flapjacks I thought were to die for, every night An extra thought! The msn who said they tasted of paraffin, mustve have had a different batch! Lovely pool All refurbished, lights, and jacuzi, steam room sauna tip-bucket shower. with cold water, if you were young and fit! ( as opposed to old and fit!) Lovely restaurant, lovely ballroom to eat in, lovely food. Staff couldn't be bettered! So kind and friendly, Love to go there again for break ! It was Most relaxing"

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Expensive hotel for average room and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom , dated and small- no air con - breakfast skimpy - evening meal poor - waitresses not very friendly .

    Spa excellent - nice gym and pool - loved the jacuzzi -all very clean , recently decorated . Reception staff pleasant and helpful .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    So good we keep returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice if one of the dressing gowns supplied was extra large, I'm 16 stone and found it difficult to fully close the front of the gown.

    We have stayed at this property several times and the spa facilities are excellent as are the rooms, food and staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Very nice spar and decent food in the bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very narrow roads to the property and paper thin walls in the rooms. I could hear the guy in the next room snoring at 10pm and he then has his television on at 5:30am in the morning.

    Very nice spar and decent food in the bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Frindlyness of hotel staff ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have arrived hotter in restaurant, kitchen seemed some way away from dining room. Meal in bar arrived much hotter following night. Both meals tasty and varied menu.

    Frindlyness of hotel staff , views from hotel. Very accommodating to all needs Very relaxing .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A Beautiful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    We were only there for one night, however the food was fantastic. Afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast were all excellent. Local produce cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    short trip , great hotel pity just one night would have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much . great for the size of the hotel

    short trip , great hotel pity just one night would have liked to stay longer and with my family along as well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay at an Hotel with Great Staff, Good Food and Scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a little dated in appearance, but comfortable and clean nevertheless.

    Very friendly and helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast very good, large amount of options available. Presentation perfect. Dinner was also great. Set on Dartmoor the hotel has great views, ideal for walkers and anybody else who just likes peace and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Our experience at Ilsington Country Hotel & Spa has left us with beautiful and lasting memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My teenage son enjoyed his overall experience in the one night that he stayed at the hotel, but in the formal restaurant he found the food potions quite small for his main meal which was part of a two course meal. However, he said the food was very delicious.

    The hotel was very inviting, clean and cozy, we loved the beautiful scenery and surroundings. The rooms were spacious and I particularly loved the clean white cotton bed linen. The staff were all very approachable and friendly. In the formal restaurant, we had a two course meal; the lamb was so tender and the whole dish was bursting with lovely flavours. The selection of breakfast was very inviting; we all loved the traditional Devon breakfast. The spa was invigorating and relaxing at the same time wished we had planned to stay for longer. The ambiance in the hotel and the grounds was very attractive and tranquil. I would recommend Ilsington Country Park to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had an amazing long weekend staying at the Islington hotel....the staff were great ....very helpful and we felt very looked after. The hotel was very nice and the spa was really relaxing....would definately go again..in fact we were very sad to leave....thankyou to all the lovely staff xx

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, the staff were happy and friendly food, drinks and service was outstanding, we would highly recommend the hotel and we will be returning again

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Disappointed with the room but everything else great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We shared a deluxe twin room called Pinchaford on the second floor. The bedroom was cramped and one single has a hard wall at the bottom which makes it short for anyone over 5'5". The room was cold as it has no heating. The dressing area has no where to put anything so when you're both trying to get ready for work, you're bumping into each other. The bathroom however was lovely. Large freestanding bath and rain shower. Great views from all windows. Shame the sleeping area is as it is. We will not book this room again.

    The staff are all very friendly and the hotel has a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, but perhaps over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt a bit tired, would have expected a more up to date room for the money. It was cold, had to request a room heater, which was dilivered very swiftly. The hotel heating is on a timer, we were there on a cold weekend in Jan, arriving back as it stared to get dark yet the heating wasn't going to come on for another hour. Staff very apologetic and delivered a heater but not what you would expect for the price..

    Lovely spa facilities, pleasant public rooms. Very good staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing mini-break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Background music would be good in the Blue Tiger bar; Room was very hot overnight!

    Reception and spa staff were very friendly - my husband had an excellent massage and was given extra time because it was his birthday! The spa area is really modern and well-done - really relaxing and comfortable. Good selection of gins! Would recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    Great food and comfortable - but rather remote and off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff seemed overly formal. Waistcoats and pin-stripes not needed on a relaxing holiday break.

    Comfortable and clean room. Very good quality food (especially the chocolate sorbet for the dairy-free dieter!) Location is great - but only if you want to be remote and very quiet. All roads around are twisty and very narrow lanes. Great care needed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    We had an comfortable and relaxing visit to the Ilsington Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom and bedroom corridor were a bit tired and needed upgrading, while still retaining their comfortable country hotel theme. Our bedroom carpet was in need of a clean, it was very dirty inside the bedroom door.

    The public rooms were very good, the swimming pool was excellent, The food was delicious and beautifully presented

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Welcoming Staff, great views and a relaxing spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were both a little cold in our room.

    The spa was really great. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a delicious meal in the Blue Dragon Inn.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £7.45 for a cheese sandwich

    The hotel is situated in a rural location near to Dartmoor. I had booked it for that reason so the location worked well. Staff who met us and we dealt with throughout were courteous and polite (special praise for the housekeeping staff for giving us extra flapjacks upon request!) the room was adequately sized for what we needed it for, bed firm and comfy and the shower decent. Ironing boards can be found close to the rooms and WIFI is good throughout. I managed to stream sky sports on my phone without any issue. Breakfast was a good spread, however they can be a bit stingy on the amount given i.e one hash brown, one egg etc so state the exact number of items you want. There is a mini buffet with crossiants, juices and cereals to help yourself to. The communal areas are nice to sit and play board games etc however £7.45 for a cheese and chutney sandwich from the bar menu is extortionate! Suffice to say that put us off eating at the hotel restaurant during our stay. The spa area is very smart. Pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. All very clean and an attractive part of the hotel. I poked my head in the gym and there are various cardio and weight lifting machines. Overall a lovely hotel and we'd stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    The spa facilities were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was slightly dated.

    The spa facilities were fantastic. Food at the Blue Tiger Inn was delicious & very reasonably priced. The staff were friendly & extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Great location for enjoying Dartmoor and Exeter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are nice but a bit dated. Noise from the room next door.

    Perfect location on Dartmoor, and close to the Express-road. Very friendly staff. Nice, typically English breakfast, which is being served...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were so understanding about our late arrival. The breakfast is first class and the hotel is spotless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Dog friendly, facilities were great
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu

    Dog friendly, facilities were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Good Spa, staff and Food
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road access to the hotel is challenging

    Food and Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    It was all very good we enjoyed our stay and would like to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was clean staff friendly and the food was great.

    It was all very good we enjoyed our stay and would like to come back one day .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    The spa was lovely ,room comfortable and clean ,great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was slightly expensive to eat and drink there , food was good

    The spa was lovely ,room comfortable and clean ,great bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we stayed three nights the menu was a little limited

    The spa treatment was first class and all staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a window in one corner and a low sloping roof in the other

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Friendly hotel with a beautiful spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all

    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    We thought the spa was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good comfortable beds Good selection at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent but didn’t use the spa facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location as it was very quiet and also on the moors for walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    I would have enjoyed a longer stay if we had the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and sauna were excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We had a great relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great relaxing weekend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Splendid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful food in restaurant. Great pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time too late in the day

    Comfy bed relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    just perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to note

    Great Spa, Great Food, Great Staff and a lovely room with a view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Will be returning ,!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Butter in dishes rather than plastic cartons

    Polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice Hotel in a beautiful landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    narrow road to the Hotel

    very nice cream teas....in a beautiful landscape.....nice Spa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    The best hotel in the area for sure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location

    very nice hotel and the spa is great ,good staff and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    The Ilsington is a place to come and recharge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ilsington is a place to come and recharge. You feel completely relaxed there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    We stayed here on the way and found the food was good, the rooms were reasonable & the staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much.

    Friendly staff. Good kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great...I've had much better.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, good dinner in the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely friendly small country hotel, Great ambience - good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly small country hotel, Great ambience - good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing short break
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good - probs a bit inaccessable in snow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point free weights in gym but no bench to use them

    Food excellent Gym good for a private hotel Spar excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: