Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Imperial Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

13-15 North Drive, Great Yarmouth, NR30 1EQ, United Kingdom

#34 of 74 hotels in Great Yarmouth

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 381 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.5
    Ideally situated hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor wi-fi connection in room, outdated lift with a strange smell to it and if doors not closed on one of the floors you end up walking. Not very disabled friendly.

    Welcoming friendly staff. Ideally situated on edge of town so quiet. Clean room and comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Free car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great Yarmouth has an excellent range of amusements, the pier etc. only disappointment was no show
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A games room with table tennis would have helped amuse the kids!

    Quite simply - everything. The Imperial is a fine four star hotel in most ways the equal of five star hotels we have used in the past. We will not hesitate to pay another visit sometime.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Great , we will be back again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    King size bed would have been better .

    Lovely good sized rooms, everything needed was there and very comfy beds ! Friendly staff . Lovely breakfast, served fast staff polite and helpful . couldn't ask for anymore .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    While the cooked breakfast was hot and tasty it was a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While the cooked breakfast was hot and tasty it was a little small and we could have had a bigger breakfast elsewhere for less money. Other than that we couldn’t fault the hotel or staff and had a lovely weekend in Yarmouth.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay in a hotel who appreciated the customer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The foyer is a bit dated as is the lift

    The hotel is very good and the staff exceeded expectations. The terrace restaurant was great for both food and a drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.9
    We would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scaffolding at side of hotel, prevented windows from opening. Small shower room.

    Staff friendly; would do anything to help you. Rooms simply furnished with air conditioning and comfortable beds. Nice linen. Good breakfast with lots of choice & table service. Love the quirky lift to higher floors. Hotel in nice location, away from main strip but within 5/10 minutes walk. More suited to adults & DOG FRIENDLY which is superb. :O)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    5.0
    Generally a poor experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small with a very uncomfortable (Soft) bed. It had childlike wallpaper (room 229). we were advised against using the lift as it was very temperamental even though we were on the top floor. The windows were very dirty on the outside. We arrived on a Saturday only to find that the main restaurant, with the sea view, was not available as it had been booked for a private party.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    loved it
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one morning breakfast service was a little slow, toast was disappointing. There was a little bit of noise outside late Sat night, we suspect from one of the events in the hotel. the event we did not hear at all.

    All the staff we met, where very friendly and this is one of the best doggy hotels we have used. The room was large and spacious, with a super view over the Beach to the sea. We had booked one of the deluxe rooms, which had the sun streaming in to the room in the morning.. Location is spot on, off the beach, close to town, but not so close as to have a lot of passing traffic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    A relaxing, enjoyable stay where we are already planning on returning in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel staff were really helpful and polite. The rooms were really clean with excellent finishing touches from little extras in the bathroom, to a fully laid out tea and coffee tray. Everything had a personal finish to make you feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    A traditional English seaside hotel well refurbished and in a good situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like here.

    Excellent breakfast with choices not often found with B&B. Quirky old style lift but very functional. Well situated right on the sea front with plenty of off street resident parking. Nice souvenir coffee mug available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Staff and food excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didnt like other than the fact our room was a little dated and the bathroom needed refurbing....apparently they are due to be up dated soon.

    The staff were always at hand and keen to help...nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent so much so we ate there three times during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is just first class, from the staff to the exceptionally clean rooms, I always look forward to staying there. To top it all the food and service are also first class.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.1
    If you like traditional seaside holidays circa 1950s this is the place to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn’t like the steps into the hotel although there was a stairlift to one side. I don’t like these as for me they take away what little dignity you have. The hotel was in need of complete refurbishment and the lift was very creeky. There wasn’t as far as I could see, a designated disabled parking bay.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff very pleasant and efficient. The bedroom was light and airy but an unusual taste in decor. The bathroom was very modern without a bath only an overhead shower, which was unfortunate as I am disabled and overhead showers with any handrails nearby is a disaster waiting to happen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice large shower but not very powerful.

    Very nice stay. Lovely friendly staff, excellent food. Our dog was made to feel very welcome too. Fantastic large balcony, great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    What a gem of a hotel. Location great,staff very friendly and hotel location just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was great. Lots of choice instead of just English breakfast (you can get this as well). Plenty of variety to please everyone. The room was spotlessly clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant the staff are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My one problem was I had my elderly mother with us, so the steps were a problem and the old fashion lift was a little diffacult for her to travel up and down on her own.as she couldnt handle the doors.

    Everything was lovely the room was warm ,clean and had everything you needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Completely relaxing. Bonus was seeing colony of seals whilst walking on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, balcony looking out to beach and sea. Excellent food and special vegetarian menu for my daughter.Lovely touches, fresh milk in jug in fridge, pretty mugs, white robe, good value wines.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    10
    Brilliant couldn't have been much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If i have a gripe about anything it was the shower.Took ages to warm up and not very powerfull but we managed ok.

    Everything.From the good choice of breakfast,the friendliness of staff,and to where the hotel is situated.All is lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For us, nothing at all. However if you are not good with stairs there is a lift but it only takes two people at a time, so at peak periods can become congested.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean and well maintained hotel. Excellent service and food at all meal times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay, great location, good food and received good service.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head only produced luke warm water - I think there was a fault which we reported as the bath and sink taps produced hot water. It should have been checked beforehand. It did spoil our enjoyment of the hotel as we had to take a luke warm shower. Getting in and out of the car park is quite difficult if you have a big car.

    The room was lovely with a great sea view. They even gave instruction on how to use the shower (very few do). We had a meal in Café Cru that evening with 4 others and they all enjoyed it. The fruit salad and coffee for breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park was handy, but small and difficult to manoeuvre our large car around. The main restaurant was closed during the evening, but the "cafe" downstairs was very nice.

    Staff are amazing, very helpful and friendly. Evening service in the cafe/restaurant was superb and the food was excellent. Breakfast was tasty and cooked to order. There is a small bar which serves all types of drinks. The location is also good, away from the bright lights and industrial area of Great Yarmouth, and probably one of the few hotels with a sea view (across a car park, but still better than most I think).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, off road parking, walking distance to town centre....all round good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from a few stairs leading up to the hotel which believe is unavoidable cannot fault the hotel, the owners have done their very best to suite all tastes and requirements.

    The room we booked had a king size bed with sea view, bed was so comfy,room clean and tidy believe recently refurbished, walk in shower. Excellent choice of breakfast. Staff were the best we have come across, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is old has a lot of tradition and character but clean, tidy and refurbished to suite the style of hotel, a lovely traditional old lift to the above floors....good size off road car park, recommend, we will stay there again when next in the area. Credit to the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Brilliant I couldn't have asked for anything more. Well done!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My snoring partner

    The staff were so helpful and the food was fabulous well done to the chef. It was my birthday which was mentioned when booking so when we arrived to the dinner table the staff had put happy birthday table decorations on our table which was a lovely touch. All linen from table to bedding was white and crisp there was toiletries avai8in the room which smelt nice. Overall I loved my stay. I had A dreadful nights sleep but that was due to my snoring partner....an extra pillow for over his head will be needed next time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    8.8
    enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wardrobe was too small for a lengthy stay. The shower flow was pathetic. more a scotch mist than a flow. the wash basin was very small The bed was too short because the headboard protruded some 3 inches over the bed. As I am 6 ft 2 inches tall, my feet hung over the bottom of the bed.

    staff were excellent and the food was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    8.3
    Old hotel, quirky, with lovely staff and easy walking to pubs, restaurants and cinema
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist I spoke to the day before was not particularly friendly or helpful and was only interested in telling me if my disabled mum and I wanted to stay in the family room it would cost an additional £10 more than the price quoted on Booking.com as this was the price for an adult and child to stay in the family room. She said I should not have been able to book the family room if I was not travelling with children. I found this all rather bizarre. It's supposed to be about what the customer wants surely?!

    Super staff so helpful with my disabled mum who was in a wheelchair

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.2
    Doggie-friendly luxury by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A note to wheelchair users, the ground floor ladies loo is a bit tight on space for maneuvering if you struggle with weight bearing. Would advise asking for directions to an alternative if dining or in the bar.

    Wonderful afternoon tea for 20 followed by an overnight stay in the Villa Maria. Absolutely fantastic, friendly staff who went the extra mile to ensure we enjoyed our stay. A relaxed atmosphere, with sumptuously filling home cooked food. Comfy bed, large balcony with outdoor seating, smart TV, excellent room service, and complementary delivery of full English breakfast in the morning were all highlights of staying at the Imperial. Within a stone's throw of the beach, we enjoyed walking our terrier along the sand in the morning. The staff were really accommodating of our pup, and provided blankets and treats during our stay. Couldn't have asked for a better wedding night. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    9.6
    Would stay at this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    Staff were very friendly, food was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was ideally placed, just a short walk to the town and an even shorter walk to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.6
    Everyone was polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath ran extremely slow but that is minor

    Everyone was polite. The breakfast and dinner was amazing and the room we stayed in was lovely with a beautiful view of the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not turn the heater of in the bathroom

    We where very happy with our stay, The bedrooms where nice and warm the shower was great, The staff where also great,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Superb Stay - Must Be the First Choice for Great Yarmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to balance my review with some suggestions, but I honestly cannot fault the place. Nothing to add here at all - but one idea would be to move the sea view a little closer ;) - only joking!

    On arriving, the staff were very helpful, friendly and informative. The hotel reception was bright and warm and had a good feeling of welcome. The room was excellent - very clean and tidy and every amenity one could possibly want including tea and coffee (and biscuits), lovely bathroom (impeccably clean), a superking bed which was extremely comfortable and a wonderful sea view. In case you needed it, the internet connection was better than virtually any other we have experienced (50mb) with a ethernet connection or wifi. The TV was very large and the heating/cooling system superb... (the room was needing some heat when we arrived but it only took around 3 minutes to fully warm up as there was a radiator as well as a ceiling heater/conditioner built in that was very efficient indeed. The bar was friendly and not expensive at all, while dinner at the Cafe Cru restaurant on site, was outstanding. We both opted for the fish and chips and I have to report that this was probably the best we ever had.. very fresh, cooked to perfection and served by the very attentive staff. Breakfast was also a very enjoyable affair with an extensive selection of breakfasts to choose from - the full English on the first day was delicious while my Eggs Benedict on the second day was terrific - quite a large portion too which meant I need not have eaten much during the day. For those interested, the car park even had electric charging points for two different types of vehicle - Tesla and Others. Now, that is attention to detail! All in all, hard to fault - I could not nit-pick a single thing at this lovely, traditional hotel. Ultimately, every member of staff was excellent which makes a huge difference - well done to The Imperial - delighted with our stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    loved it. nice to step back in yime and stay at a traditional old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Understandably the hotel is a seaside resort however a menu consisting of 80% fish with 1 burger or a chicken breast is no use to non fish eaters. Didnt use the hotel restaurants for that reason.(only breakfast)

    Dont know what "genius perks" means

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Clean, well appointed hotel, ideal for elderly customers and people who do not need parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there is onsite parking the car park isn't very big and frankly is poorly designed making difficult to get in and out of and the spaces are quite small. If there is a function on in the hotel you will also struggle to actually even get a space. As much as I thought the hotel checked all the boxes it needed to I also found it very old fashioned in style and décor, as well as clientele, to the degree that despite all its positives I wouldn't stay there again.

    Hotel was in a good location and was very clean and tidy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room had everything in it that you would require for a short stay (iron, hairdryer, heated towel rail, toiletries, radiator etc.) and the bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    Everything was at hand if it wasn't it soon was excellent staff thank you all at the Imperial
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The type of beer at the bar not everyone likes IPA

    Everthing was excellent,anything we needed was no trouble at all it was like being with one big family even down to making our pet dog feel at home

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.2
    Comfy and made to feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Building looks a little old and worn in places. That's all I can say.

    Bathroom was very clean, food was of a high standard. Nice big telly in room with sea view. Service doesn't get better than this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel-would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpets were a bit old-but not dirty!

    Easy booking and liaising with staff Excellent breakfast-with 2 young children nothing I asked for was too much trouble! Good quality of food also. Big spacious rooms, quite clean but could do with updating, however, it is a more traditional looking hotel anyway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.8
    Great place to have a relaxing break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We travelled with my mother and father one 92 & the other 90 was quite difficult to get them to reception as quite a lot of steps they did however have a stair lift . The lift to the bedrooms was very small and old so had to do three trips to get my parent to their room. This is just a minor problem though as we had a great stay.

    The rooms were large bathrooms very clean . Staff extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We travelled with dogs and they were made very welcome being provided with their own blanket although we did take our own with us. We ate in the terrace restaurant each night and this was very good. The breakfast was amazing and really set us up for great walks along the prom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    10
    5 star stay Thank you Imperial Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot, no complaints from me

    Outstanding location, staff couldn't do enough for us even when I turned up with an extra guest ! Food is amazing, great breakfast menu and dinner menu

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    10
    Just what
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower too hot, couldnt get temperature any lower.

    Loved sitting outside on the balcony. Breakfast superb. Air conditioning ensured a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    5.0
    Weekend in Gt Yarmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smell of damp as you enter the room. The small bathroom that was same size you find on a plane. The shower that was so small you couldn't turn around in and also flooded the bathroom floor whenever you used it. This is no 4 star hotel. It's 3 at best. No fridge or mini bar in the room doesn't equate to a 4 star hotel. £245 for two nights bed and breakfast is vastly overpriced for an average hotel. I won't be staying at this overpriced property again. I'd advise others to find a better value for money hotel.

    The staff who were all excellent and very friendly. The breakfast that was gorgeous, plentiful and varied. The location if you like Great Yarmouth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    8.8
    Good location, park up and leave the car behind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    menu for vegetarian. Having to order vegetarian sausages day before for breakfast.

    Staff were very happy to help, and there was plenty of staff on hand. The property had obviously been kept well, with no to do list.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    Good value and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing - it suited my needs perfectly.

    Location was good. Room was clean and had a sea view. All facilities were good and met my needs. Plenty of parking next to hotel. Different restaurant and bar options allowed guests to choose informal or more formal dining. Food I had in the downstairs bar was good and well- priced. Staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    10
    From the moment we arrived at the Imperial Hotel the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    From the moment we arrived at the Imperial Hotel the staff (without exception) were absolutely fantastic but special mentions for Ralph, George and Laura. There is nothing more that can be said other than to say that the Imperial Hotel is a really brilliant hotel for a seaside holiday in England. We were very lucky in having one of the named rooms with air con ... and given our arrival on the Norfolk coast was in the middle of the June Heatwave this was very welcome!! And the food on 'The Terrace' at the hotel was truly outstanding ... the steak is to die for. Fantastic!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    10
    Great 3 night stay at The Imperial Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a hotel we will definitely recommend for many reasons but No1 was the helpfulness & friendliness of every staff member. From the day of arrival to departure everyone was first class in every department. In reception, the Terrace Restaurant (where sat for breakfast, lunch & dinner every day) we saw the staff on a daily basis and they were always eager to help. My wife's electric wheelchair needed a recharge and space was made to accommodate that. The bedroom was maintained to a very high standard every day and the additional toilet frame & shower seat were so vital. The facilities in the bedroom were excellent as well. The meals we had were also excellent- we liked the personal attention we received at mealtimes and the food prepared on order. I can without doubt say the scrambled eggs & salmon for breakfast was my favourite- missing it already. Also recommend the Rib Eye steaks and Chicken Curry. Parking on site although it could do with some visible disabled parking. 10/10 for an excellent stay from very satisfied customers. Please thank the staff on our behalf. Kind regards

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything

    The hotel was a little bit away from the hustle and bustle but still within easy reach making it ideal. The breakfast was just lovely, taken on the semi open terrace with a view over the beach. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant was five star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    9.2
    the staff were very welcoming and ,the food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    where the carpark is open to non residents it is hard to manoeuvre when the hotel is busy

    the staff were very welcoming and ,the food was very good.the hotel is well located within easy access of the beach and shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    10
    Truly extremely good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the road sweeper outside at 4.30 am and that had nothing to do with the Imperial Hotel!

    Everything. We were expecting it all to be dated and odd. How ever it is modern and makes for a wonderful stay. The only old thing is an ancient lift which is fun to use and made us laugh every time we used it. The staff are fantastic. On the special steak night on Thursday they served us the best steak in the world!! Delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant Stay in Great Yarmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a small room given that there was a kingsize bed in it with not much space There is no entertainment or activities and this doesn't encourage quests to stay around the hotel after the evening meal

    Generally a nice hotel with good accomodation Staff were very helpful, welcoming and pleasant throughout the stay and nothing was too much trouble to them

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in Great Yarmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the ruinart room which is a lovely super King room on the first floor with a balcony and sea view. Although the bathroom was very modern we would have preferred a handheld shower instead of the rainfall shower head.

    The food was really good. Breakfasts were served to the table not self service and there was plenty of choice of cooked items. Had a steak meal one evening in the conservatory which has a lovely sea view. The steak stones seemed really popular but we had ours cooked by the chef and they were done exactly as we asked.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was unfortunately situated too close to the lift and directly next to the landing door. The lift was noisy because of the age and style of it and did wake me early in the morning.

    The breakfast was of a good standard with high quality produce. Well organised with efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with great staff and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about this hotel is brilliant. Staff, rooms, restaurants, food, cleaniness. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. The staff bend over backwards to accommodate you. Even the night guy, Jamie who was very accommodating, even when we came in from Caister Soul weekender (at 4;00am) and wanted a coffee and sandwich. He delivered all with a smile. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    10
    I was really really impressed with the Hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Customer Feedback Form is too detailed . People will not spend time filing it out . Better fewer questions with section for Comments

    Staff very welcoming and professional Food was lovely Hotel very clean Rooms modern for an " older " Hotel There is attention to detail Internet was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    10
    An excellent Easter break at the Imperial Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be nice to have a few more comfy armchairs in the hotel to sit and read the paper.......

    The staff were friendly and helpful....the food was delicious... our room was really nice..we liked the wine theme...the bed was very comfy..... the room was clean with a lovely view of the sea. The location of the hotel is excellent......it is in the quiet end of GY ....but it is easy and convenient to walk to the prom, the pier and the town and we liked walking around Waterways....just opposite the hotel. We did lots of walking.....and we thoroughly enjoyed our Easter break.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Great hotel, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable . the breakfast was extraordinary, It was the part of my stay I looked forward to the most

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money with good food and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had been fully refurbished in a tasteful manner which was spoilt by the hanging of a plaster cast bunch of grapes with mirror on the wall

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent hotel, good food, friendly and efficient staff, clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its Great Yarmouth! I wasnt there on holiday!

    Clean sea view room nicely refurbished, excellent food and good beer. Staff very friendly even first thing in the morning!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2017

    8.3
    Very clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only problem I had was when we was settled down in bed watching television. It kept losing the picture so much so watching was impossible

    I enjoyed my stay as everything was up to standard

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with a bit more colour in the downstairs dining room to brighten it up

    Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach - good food and a Mediterranean feel. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    10
    We do like to be beside the seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff who make you feel welcome and special from the minute you enter the building. Excellent breakfast served at your table. Bar has a real ale, unlike many hotels who rely on keg beer

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent business stop
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little noisy between room doors so could occasionally be disturbed when neighbors arrived and departed. Not serious though.

    Good staff. Comfortable accommodation. Breakfast good. Attached restaurant 'Grande Cruz' very good in its own right.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    10
    A Gem in Gt Yarmouth
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convincing me to stay longer

    The hotel was also a venue for a two day training course. The staff were very attentive throughout, coffee was almost on tap and the snacks and meals during the course were excellent. The room was well equipped and modern for such an old building. The food in the restaurant at night was also excellent and well presented

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    8.8
    We are coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ample sized room with good furniture, excellant breakfast. A sense of cosiness in a traditional hotel updated in a sympathetic and practicle way. Staff so friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    6.7
    Would stay here again but not in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed too small. However larger beds available just not when I booked. TV signal was out and night porter unable to change the smartTV apps to allow us to actually watch what we wanted in one of the apps. Hotel was nice but 4 star maybe a little generous. Ensuite shower had fixed shower head and little room to move so hard to rinse off the soap from any areas south of the border. At breakfast the food was very nice but was not sure exactly what I was allowed to have from the options. Would have preferred clearer information as to how the menu worked. Was allowed anything or everything or was it one item from each section. I had the cooked breakfast and enjoyed it but also wanted a croissant with my coffee but wasn't sure if I could. We went off season and many attractions now closed but hotel should have information on attractions or things to do kept up to date. Advertising shows that either A ended or B doesn't start for a month is of little interest to me today.

    Good food and friendly staff. Right on the beach front. Parking was free. Shopping centre 10 minutes walk. Cinema 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2016

    9.6
    Norfolk Broadly excellent
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar was soulless. Breakfast overcooked.

    Old fashioned service. Very pet friendly. Good heating / air conditioning. Excellent bathroom and huge bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    8.8
    Good Stay - we would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a little better for younger children.

    The room was nice and the bed was comfy. Dinner and Breakfast were excellent. Staff were excellent with our daughter.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    Delightful staff, superb food and comfy beds made for a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking difficult if you have a large car.

    Smoked Haddock cooked to perfection and poached egg exactly as it should be absolutely faultless. Rest of the party had Bloaters, again full marks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    10
    Excellent dog friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel with a great location overlooking the beach. Excellent terrace bar/restaurant and genuinely friendly and helpful staff, particularly welcoming and accommodating to dogs.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    10
    A great hotel with top food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The whole experience was perfect. Food was 1st class staff were so helpful friendly and professional at all times.we would love to go back.my husband and I would rate this as good as any hotel around the world.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    8.3
    Food, Service, Cleanliness, all excellent. Only fault was size and heat of room needs updating.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 359 was on the small side and very hot we had the Fan on each night we stayed (with exception of the first night) 6 nights in all and the window wide open. Needs air conditioning and should be upgraded for the money charged

    The food and service was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    9.6
    Great breakfast, flexible with set menu, swapped and changed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and welcoming

    Great breakfast, flexible with set menu, swapped and changed it to our preferences. Friendly staff, couldn't fault any of it.stayed there before, so knew what to expect and was not disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2016

    10
    We would recommend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park wasn't quite big enough, we had to pay to park outside the hotel twice as there were parties being held at the venue.

    The terrace restaurant made an evening meal feel special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2016

    10
    It was fantastic, shame we had to come home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wouldn't change anything.

    We had a great stay, the staff were really helpful and very friendly. Would recommend the imperial. Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    5.4
    No hally with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price we pay £150 per night for room. We tryed to book family room by booking.com but when we went to hotel they told me that we didn't booked family room it king size bedroom. I was shocked because my two young kids with me. I asked hotel people they said we can put one z bed in room. And putting z bed in room became very small and uncomfortable for me and kids. Even we can't walk in room. And they charged me £10 for breakfast per child per day for the 3year child and 6years child. And in other hotel my friends booked family room in £95 per night. And his room size more then double to my room. And my kids was very upset because my friends's kids got bunk bed in their room but my one kids sleeping with me on my bed and other sleeping on z bef very uncomfortabley. So this holiday was one of the worst holiday in my life and waste of money and time. Kids not happy and me and my wife too.

    Room was small.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    9.6
    Good time had by all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs and the lift could have been better. The bed was a bit hard for me but no one else thought so.

    The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and approachable willing to help whenever asked. The rooms were lovely bright and clean. Breakfast was hot and freshly cooked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2016

    7.5
    Two nights in Great Yarmouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel decor is a bit dated, but the room was very clean. We found the mattress too warm.

    The location was great, on the sea front but not too close to the attractions, so we slept well. The Terrace Restaurant serve good food, with good value for money. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and very helpful. Grateful to have a fan in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    9.2
    Best Hotel in Yarmouth for facilities - ample free parking and a lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower in the bath, would have preferred a walk-in shower as I have mobility issues. I must remember to specify this next time.

    The breakfast choice is excellent, my favourite is the Eggs Benedict with smoked salmon. All the choices were superb. The staff are absolutely smashing, especially Grant who looked after us so well for our Silver Wedding anniversary. This is the 3rd time I have stayed here in 12 months. Jane.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Imperial Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: