Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Durham hotel reviews
  4. Durham hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Indigo - Durham

Reviews of Hotel Indigo - Durham This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

9 Old Elvet, Durham, DH1 3HL, United Kingdom

#1 of 13 hotels in Durham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 623 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.3
    When you enter the hotel, you are entering a world of its...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't anything really I disliked. The atmosphere is a bit solemn, I would say, and the lack of daylight (in wintertime) cast my stay in somewhat heavier undertones. I also found the hotel rather pricey (room rates, meals).

    When you enter the hotel, you are entering a world of its own, traveling back in time without losing out on modern conveniences. The rooms and the bar / dining hall are stylish and have retained the charm of the old building, melting in with the town. Durham is small and everything is within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely gorgeous building, kept the best of the history mixed with modern facilities. Friendly and helpful staff, delicious food and location perfect for sightseeing. AND when I admired the hotel Christmas bauble I was given two to take home!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Ideal location, friendly staff, great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really apart from breakfast was a little rushed, still eating cereal when hot course arrived had to leave what I was eating to make sure main didn't go cold. Noticed this was happening to everyone and restaurant wasn't full at that point

    Ideal location, friendly staff, great facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel, great position and staff. Restaurant and breakfast could so easily be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At dinner the salad was served without ingredients listed - without any explanation until we questioned this. We were then told the kitchen had run out! At breakfast - we arrived approx 45 mins before end of service and there was very little food left. There were no pastries or croissants. When we asked if there were more we were told they had run out. Many other guests arrived after us but no more food was put out!

    The restaurant was a disappointment in terms of the food.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent and set the tone for Uni interview!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic old building which was a court and a university HQ. Makes it feel querky when you arrive, and the rooms are huge too. Very nice twin for my daughter and I with spacious bathroom and a desk for to revise. I will return.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Food in the restaurant was fantastic and very accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in the restaurant was fantastic and very accommodating with the baby and high chair. Room spacious and comfortable with the best shower I’ve ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    I loved the character of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking facilities

    I loved the character of the hotel. The architecture and style is stunning and the rooms and facilities are worked well into the structure without spoiling the ambiance. We loved the breakfast in the Marco Pierre White. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    8.8
    perfect for a short stay whern visiting the university.
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mobility Accessible Roll In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant service (also for breakfast) slow. Choice of breads minimal, in general lacking finesse.

    excellent location, very helpful reception staff, great bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    The property itself is beautiful and ideally located to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property itself is beautiful and ideally located to explore Durham. Stayed in a superior room and it was beautifully designed, had features like an espresso machine, free soft drinks, large tv, gorgeous bathroom and shower. The receptionist that checked us in was lovely and likewise with the receptionist that checked us out. Couldn’t fault the service, the property, or the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Breakfast excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in room poor for reading. Hearing controls had no instructions.

    Breakfast excellent. Bar service good. Snack bar service excellent. All staff friendly and professional

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Good experience overall but room felt cramped
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room felt really small. I was in a corner room and I felt like I was in a closet. Also when I got there, power was out so that was unfortunate but glad it didn't happen again the rest of the trip

    Bed was very comfortable. Room was very clean. They were also amazing to let me check in early and they said they can take my bags and walk around while I waited to check in. I got there about noon and check in at 1500. Neat looking rotary-esque phonein room

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Simply superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didnt use the nespresso machine in our bedroom as I couldn’t read the instructions.

    Staff were friendly and efficient- croissants were indeed extra flakey and the actual building is quite spectacular!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    10
    The local influences on the decor throughout the hotel ie...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went into the bar about 5pm and there was no one serving behind the bar. We stood for five minutes and then left.

    The local influences on the decor throughout the hotel ie university, castle and cathedral. Beautiful room. Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike about our stay at Hotel Indigo. Everything was perfect.

    We enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is absolutely stunning. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. It is situated in a great location nearby to cathedral, restaurants and bars. Overall a great place to stay if you're planning on a visit to Durham.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay in the centre of one of Europe's great cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a thing.

    This is a truly outstanding hotel and very good value for money. The adaptation of Durham's historic Shire Hall has been sensitively done with the careful preservation of much of the original detailing. The rooms are comfortable, clean and extremely well-equipped; the interior design and finish is of the highest quality and speaks in every detail of pride in the location and the brand. The staff are friendly, helpful and - most important - evidently happy in their hotel roles. A great discovery and we will certainly return.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    The building is very impressive and in a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the food doesnt match up to thd rest of the hotel standard, despute being devised by Marco Pierre White. Dinner was so-so (fries were awful); breakfast was disappointing and low quality. The room service menu is basically the restaurant fare with no real snacks as such on offer.

    The building is very impressive and in a great location. The room (super king) was beautifully designed and roomy with a very comfortable bed. Mini bar could have been better stocked ...but this is only a minor gripe. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Atmosphere. Like staying in an old school but with modern convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was one of the smallest we have ever stayed in and had only Velux roof windows. I.e. a view of the sky. And the food did not meet the expectations of Marco Pierre White.

    The ambience of the old building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent, top marks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all. Everything was spot on .

    Everything about this hotel was fantastic, room the best we've ever stayed in, I wanted posh and I sure got it, thank you. Staff pleasant, friendly and helpful, thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with a rotunda room for lovely choice of breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning only worked with the door card inserted, but when removed it didn’t work and the room felt cold when you returned later in the day. Hotel daily parking was expensive. On street parking was occasionally restricted, so sometimes you had to walk some distance back to the hotel.

    Good location with easy reach to city centre. Hotel recently opened in a character building with amazing interior features. Modern room with a large screen TV and an excellent shower room. Staff were polite and responsive to requests.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    Wish we had stayed longer and wish we had spent more time in the hotel itself it was fascinating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't complain about anything, it was a great stay.

    Everything, the staff, the room, the building, the food, I can't recommend it enough we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with yourselves and it was a birthday treat and I was made to feel very special and we will return.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again. Great location, perfect decor giving a high end feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed with the restaurant food and service. Very slow and underwhelming. It really let it down. Hoping there have been improvements since

    Beautiful interior designing reflecting the local culture and heritage really well. Excellent room, size and comfort. Lovely staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Brief but very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car parking was the usual city centre problem

    The way an old building had been converted to a hotel without losing sight of what it once was.Loved the shower and the bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel lovely room friendly and helpful staff and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My sirloin steak at dinner was quite chewy , the waitress said she would pass the comment onto the kitchen , I didn’t get anymore feed back

    The room was lovely and equipped with everything we needed . The expresso coffee machine was a nice touch as well as a kettle for tea and coffee . The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Beautiful building in an excellent location only recently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building in an excellent location only recently refurbished. Our room was a great size with good bathroom - both well decorated. Friendly staff and overall very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Lovely Stay in Durham .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a little expensive. The breakfast buffet was a little disappointing.

    The hotel was wonderful, almost new. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom especially the shower were very good. Very modern bedrooms , well designed and decorated. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Durham.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t fault it.

    First the hotel aloud us to check in early, it was very close to shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Loved the shower in the bathroom also the heated towel rack. The finishing touches to the room all Durham related where lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.5
    designer hotel with hard mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the mattress was very hard,as were the pillows. only two english breakfast tea bags. only one body wash. we asked for more and they came but not the fresh milk we were offered. the traffic was bad if you had the window open and the air con quite drying

    stunning ceramic wall tiles on the first floor hall, a great surprise after the rather dull entrance lobby. if you had gone to your room via the lift you would have missed this. very effective room decor. the shower was spacious and easy to use. the books in the room were a nice touch breakfast was varied and loved the fresh fruit. the waitresses were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a bit of noise from other rooms which was a little unusual and unexpected. In the morning the Delivery vans woke us up (our room faced the parking lot / Delivery area / Cathedral View). Sadly, Parking is not guaranteed (first come first serve). There is some street parking (metered) if needed.

    What an amazing building / history. This Hotel has stunning interior Design. Rooms are spacious and the bathroom includes a large rain shower. We are frequent travellers (all over the world) and this hotel is one of the inspiring ones. Breakfast (included) was scrumptious and the service was very efficient and charming. Location is great with restaurants / shops / cafes all around.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Absolutely first class !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved absolutely everything. The negative was that we were unable to stay for longer.

    Location was superb, staff so welcoming and accommodating and rooms were simply outstanding. Decorated so tastefully and spotlessly clean. Website is great but the photos do not do this hotel justice. Would not hesitate to return or to recommend. Simply first class in every way.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Luxurious, friendly hotel in excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No TV signal.

    Spacious, comfortable, clean and well-appointed room. Friendly and helpful staff. Good value breakfast in great surroundings. Excellent location. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Lovely room, with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real negatives about the actual hotel. There is a fee for parking at the hotel but we managed to park for free right outside the hotel, being a Sunday. Worth looking around and checking if you can park elsewhere for cheaper.

    Lovely room, with lots of character. The breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    One word Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldn't stay longer!

    Hotel features were amazing loved the new mixed with old. Staff great! Bed very comfy beat pillows I have ever slept on including my own!! I need to get some! Breakfast in bed just topped tthe whole trip Off!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic place for a stay in Durham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being almost winter the room was a bit chilly and the aircon seemed incapable of heating it up sufficiently. Thankfully it wasn't absolutely freezing outside.

    The building is lovely, keeping many of its original features. The room was well appointed and comfortable and the staff were all very good, especially Tess on checkin.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was a little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. Coffee was sent back as cafetiere had been plunged prior to arrival at the table and was very weak. Item missing from English breakfast. Marco Pierre White restaurant was overpriced for quality of the food served. We both had steaks and were left full but underwhelmed. Live music was lovely but played too loud for conversation, complaints were made from adjoining tables. Service however, was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    What can I say, it ticked all the boxes and a lot more superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was a relaxing place to be with company

    The whole feel about the hotel was superb and will certainly go back again, the staff were superb the dining experience was exceptional and the food was just delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.8
    Good location. Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in our room was ineffectual and the room cold. Reception supplied us with a portable heater which helped a lot.

    The staff are great. They helped us with all our requests. The hotel is in a good location a short walk from the historic area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable because of the excellent friendliness of the staff if you dine elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nowhere to sit comfortably and chat with friends. Bar was too dim and noisy. It needs a lounge! Restaurant food in the evening was of basic bland pub grub type at expensive prices. Potted duck was a pot of tasteless greasy slush!

    Good breakfast excellent almond croissant! Comfortable bed and very good bathroom with excellent shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely break, amazing hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only complaint was the breakfast we had on our first morning. It was a very bland microwaved scrambled egg with stale toasted bagel. This put us off booking into the Marco Pierre white restaurant for an evening meal.

    Lovely hotel,comfortable rooms, the location is perfect. Will definitely return, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our breakfast on 2nd morning was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    A wonderfully refurbished building ,providing elegance,comfort and excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning seemed a little fierce ,in the bedroom .

    The large bed was exceptionally comfortable ,with excellent pillows. The room was well-equipped,very clean and very quiet -perfect!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    Very peaceful and comfortable stay in a lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, 2 mins walk to centre and 10 mins to castle and cathedral. Fantastic building keeping classic features of old council / town hall. King size bedroom very large and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negative points to make.

    Really nice place we enjoyed it and would definately return. Fantastic location meant everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, will stay with them for the coming trip to Durham. Handy smart phone very helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Improper refill of amenity is rather unacceptable. No hand towel replacement, I asked the housekeeping lady, she told me she has found no more stock of hand towel! :( , no bottle water refill, no tea bag and chocolate powder refill, our soap used for a night suddenly disappeared the other morning and replaced by a new packet (it is a waste), and the following day, no refill of soap when I took that new packet and kept it for future use, so I don't know the mechanism.

    Nicely designed and decorated. New and clean. "Handy" smart phone is convenient and helpful. Staff are very helpful though sometime are too busy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent, great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative at all!! We didn't try the steakhouse as vegetarians. Just wish we had stayed for two nights!! zzzzzz zzzzzz

    This hotel is an exceptional find, excellent location less than four minutes to walk into town. The hotel is very boutique like as very original and quirky and we love that it employs local people and embraces its Durham history in the building and in the rooms.The bar area was very welcoming and a really pleasant place to sit and have an evening drink. The breakfast was outstanding all freshly cooked to order and a great selection of good quality continental items too. The dining room is another lovely area all decorated very in keeping with the history of the building. The room was honestly one of the best we have stayed in within the UK. Staff all very friendly and helpful.Looking forward to our next stay already!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was very brief, 1 night only and we would have loved to have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only 1 robe in the wardrobe and no slippers. Several items were'off' at breakfast. The coffee wasn't the best and there were no Danish pastries, something that I enjoy when away from home.

    Our room was magnificent. We were upgraded!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    I will come back for the quality of the bedroom.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant of the hotel was not a pleasant experience, with a lot of their dishes not available, especially the best value ones. Drinks also took too long to be served.

    The comfort of the mattress, the silence, the decoration, the size of the room, the size of the TV, the size of the shower. It felt luxurious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely building, newly-renovated, pleasant, professional...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was above the restaurant, and it was a bit loud (Friday night). Once I used the double doors and heavy curtains in the room, it turned out to be okay. I’d prefer another room, but would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Lovely building, newly-renovated, pleasant, professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Central location but double check there is space to park .. Melanie on reception is great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking facilities should be prioritised for hotel guests . I was told the car park was full as it was also open to no residents and people just having a drink or dinner in the restaurant. This needs addressing. If you pay for a luxury hotel you expect parking. Booking .com do not say there is an issue with parking here on their website. If I had known there were limited spaces I would not have booked the hotel with a car full of belongings. ( dropping my daughter at university) Without Melanie’s intervention I would have had to leave the car on the road and then go out at 8am to feed the meter. Thank you Melanie.

    Melanie on reception.. went out of her way to be helpful when we could not find parking. She made the difference between leaving a very positive review and a not so good one!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and interesting value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More assistance with electronics - eventually managed to get TV to work "normally" and to get keycard to function in lift & corridors. Altho' room access with keycards is now quite common, their other uses are not so - especially to the "inexperienced". A handbook(?) in each room, combining a potted history oh the building would have been useful. A small stepladder would be helpful for anyone less than 5ft4 to climb into bed!

    A tourist attraction in its own right. Spacious and comfortable. Very convenient for city centre. Attractive decor both in public areas and room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Classy hotel shame about the noisy room and disappointing dinner in restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room noisy, air conditioning units outside our window roared and hummed all night. We had requested a quiet room!! View outside was of mass of metal tubes -( air conditioning units) although we did have a glimpse of the cathedral. (we had requested cathedral or good view!) Marco Pierre white restaurant very disappointing ,we asked for specific sort of table and did not get it, even though we accepted a 9pm booking in order to ensure this would be available. Portions of food small and appeared to have been prepared in advance and heated up. Staff not professional in approach - rather casual and sloppy. No swimming pool or proper leisure facilities.

    Rooms beautifully decorated to a high standard. Hotel is a wonderful old building with many original features. Shower was great - easy to use and efficient. Location good - near city centre and all main sights. At check out cost of round of drinks in bar was deducted due to our having a noisy room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the top floor and the only windows were skylights in the roof/ceiling so we could not see a view outside. The room was very bright and airy with lots of natural light but I missed not having a view from a window.

    Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. Beakfast was good, great choice of food and served in a lovely dining room. I loved the mix of modern rooms within the very traditional architecture and decor of the original old building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    I asked for a quiet room away from any traffic at the front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room at the back turned out to be above the hotel’s laundry facility which went on all through the night. You could hear the hum of the washing machines all night especially when the hit the high speed spin on the cycle. Never slept a wink all night.

    I asked for a quiet room away from any traffic at the front. We were given one at the back over the car park which was fine and of a reasonable size. Everything needed was there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Loved the architecture!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with interesting history sympathetically retained. Super views of the cathedral and just a short walk from the centre. Very comfortable - really impressed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Really pleased. Hope to return for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mobility Accessible Roll In Shower - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one armchair in the large room

    Large comfortable room. Excellent restaurant that took real care about my wife's unusual allergy to lupin flower. Food was to our taste and staff attentive. Good location for visiting the centre of Durham with 24hour parking available at a fee

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.8
    Room was okay, but no better than a Premier Inn Room, staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was okay, but no better than a Premier Inn Room, staff were excellent, pleas be aware that you have to pay to park your car in the Hotel Car Park £12 overnight. Allow time for breakfast as it took 30 minutes to be served and it wasn’t that busy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is new and clean, lovely atmosphere in the old renovated building. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms are a nice size. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Great experience, and great staff with a wonderful check inn experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about this hotel in Durham

    The hotel was in a historical building, the rooms were beautiful and newly decorated. Clean linen, great amenities and good towels. We also had a pretty view from our room. Our sons also had a great twin room. Everything that was promised was delivered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Really comfortable and lovely stay. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I can’t have gluten but there were plenty of options at breakfast. Only slight disappointment was that I was shown a gluten free menu with a lovely option for gluten free porridge which I was really looking forward to but sadly I was informed that the one they had only had a ‘little bit of wheat and barley in it’ 😬 The chef could do with looking into that as it has to be different oats to the standard ones used. That was my only slight niggle.

    Lovely atmosphere and home from home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air con was like a lawn mower running in the room all night. When we ordered a hot chocolate for breakfast it took 40 minutes to arrive.

    Beautifully decorated and excellent room facilities. Great choice for breakfast. Fantastic central location. Will definatley stay here again!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    The stay was most enjoyable in Durham, made by the efficient staff in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as far as the hotel goes, but the rudeness of some of the other guests leave a lot to be desired

    Every thing, The bed was very comfortable, shower was spot on, tea coffee making good, and finally the TV was first class

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    A delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow service in the bar.

    There were lots of extra special little touches like the free soft drinks in the mini bar, the reading lights above the bed and good sized mugs. . The standard of fitting in the bathroom was excellent and the decor was delightful and fun throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    Weekend Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were really lucky with the weather but unfortunately the room we were in didn't have any opening windows and the air con was loud at night when sleeping

    Great location and rooms are amazing,breakfast had plenty of choice and all the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a wonderful period building which has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a wonderful period building which has been expertly converted into a superb hotel with atmospheric corridors, spacious bedrooms, modern bathroom and facilities. The staff were also extremely helpful and the location is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.7
    Ok but Durham has better hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are smart but are not very big and our room did not have a window which should be made clear when booking. Had I known this I would of probably booked another hotel. The staff in restaurant made us feel like thief’s as staff did not ask us to prepay for room service from the evening before. They would not let us have our breakfast until we had paid even though we had not been asked.

    The food from restaurant was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.2
    Very luxurious room in an amazingly restored Victorian building with many of the original features
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism is having to pay extra for parking, especially as there were too few bays in the car park and we had to squeeze the car into a corner and hope it would not get in anyone's way

    Very luxurious room in an amazingly restored Victorian building with many of the original features. Excellent restaurant on site, and very convenient for exploring the city centre / cathedral / castle

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    10
    Amazing place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar area could be improved with brighter lighting and seating.

    Staff friendly and caring. Beautiful rooms and excellent breakfasts. Amazing building in an accessible part of Durham.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel and room, friendly staff, restaurant very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would not go back to the restaurant again. The food was of average quality and overpriced, both at dinner and breakfast. We waited far too long to order dinner and be served despite having booked a table (for our wedding anniversary) back in May. Arrived 1930 and offered drinks in bar. Accepted (restaurant looked busy) but no menus arrived to order. 2010 we eventually asked if our table was ready'. Ordered food and drinks 2015. Starter arrived 2045 - ribs nice but prawn cocktail pricey and nothing special - lots of lettuce and tiny prawns. No drinks arrived until after we'd finished our starter - and only after we'd been asked (again) if we wanted to order drinks. Mains arrived 2115. Had had to pay extra for peas! Again ok but nothing special and not value for money. After which we were asked if we wanted dessert - too late for us to eat really. On leaving the restaurant we were 'told' an automatic service charge of 10% had been added. On expressing our disappointment to hotel staff the following morning, we had the service charge and cost of drinks removed, which we appreciated, but our wedding anniversary dinner was a real letdown and we won't be returning to the restaurant.

    Hotel and room were nice. Staff were friendly and helpful on check-in and pleasant in restaurant. Reception staff were very professional in dealing with our complaint about the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.6
    Bank Holiday getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant in the hotel had extremely slow service and didn't represent good value for money n.b the breakfast that was served out of the same kitchen/restaurant was great. Just the evening service.

    The rooms had great decor, the bathroom was extremely clean and modern. The bedrooms were very spacious and the hotel throughout was very well presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    10
    Simply wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coming home

    The hotel is beautiful, the building is lovely and the decor throughout the entire hotel is really beautiful and nicely done. The hotel location is excellent, walking distance to everything but nice and quiet. Our check in experience was really friendly and easy, our rooms were so comfortable and the bed was lovely, the bathroom and shower was great. Our breakfast was wonderful (the poached eggs were perfect) and the staff were really good and extremely friendly and lovely to talk to. The bar staff were also lovely and the drinks were really reasonable for an hotel. It was my brother in laws birthday and they left him a card in the room which was really thoughtful. All round wonderful weekend and can't wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lacked seating areas to flop pose chill and bar not inviting. Also no information about city etc available.MPW food offer very mediocre.

    Room great but velux window over bed was uncovered so light flooded in. Staff lovely but on arrival no on site spaces available but staff member told us to park in a spot then later were told to move vehicle as obstructing a safety exit!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.6
    Felt like a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. Parking in the hotel car park may be difficult if the hotel is full but there are many parking spaces on the road outside with a metered charge.

    Very attractive and comfortable accommodation in a very unusual building. The location of this hotel is perfect within a five minute walk of Durham town centre. The room was luxurios and the bed very comfy. The breakfast was lovely with great choices. The staff could not have been more friendly and everyone was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    A 'must visit'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only a very minor quibble, could hear the plumbing next door, but only because the room was so quiet. Could have done with more coffee sachets and milk in the room when we arrived, but the staff quickly responded bringing more Up to the room :)

    The building has style and history, great job with the decor, the room was great. Superb shower, the bathroom was spacious too. Large tv and very comfy bed, massive window, complete with huge blackout curtains. Breakfast in bed at no extra cost was fab u lass! Lol didntvwant to leave, can stay in room till 12! We definitely coming back before Christmas. Stunning bar too. Very friendly helpful staff :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Loved the hotel would stay again just eat elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First morning very long wait after waitress taking our drink order then forgot to take hot food order so very long wait. Booked an evening meal on 1 of our nights stay. Very disappointed on Marco Pierre white. My husbands steak was very tough. On a three night stay we only ate once too limiting to eat there again even if his steak had been ok

    Good breakfast selection. Beautiful breakfast room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Everything was so perfect at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was so perfect at this hotel. It ticked all our boxes. Everything was spotlessly clean. You could not make fault with anything at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    Relaxing and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast at the in house restaurant was good . Salt and pepper shakers were both empty however .

    The rooms were well appointed with comfortable bed and stylish decor. Staff at check in and departure were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant trip down memory lane. I feel I must have got an offer as my room was incredibly cheap for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It definitely felt like it had recently opened with several members of staff unsure of how to do odd jobs

    Location excellent. The building itself has retained many of the stunning features of the past including numerous stained glass windows and staircases

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!