Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inn at Ardgour 3 stars

Ardgour, Onich, PH33 7AA, United Kingdom

#7 of 11 hotels in Onich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 749 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't want a modern five star hotel but a place with history, character and interest. This fitted.

    This Inn was a wonderful find. The Staff were totally brilliant and so helpful and the dining experiences were tremendous with all of our group raving about the food. Andrew the Host, was very, very helpful and he obviously appreciates his Staff as he has a very good working relationship with them. The rooms were moderate in size because it appears to be an C18th Inn that has now added ensuites to the original rooms but it just has so much character. The ferry from Onich is virtually right outside the front door and fun to watch as it comes and goes. We really enjoyed our stay and can heartedly recommend both the hotel and its excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location. Loved the ferry ride over. Small rooms, older hotel, but clean and comfortable. Good food in the inn's restaurant. Lovely drive on a narrow road around the loch to visit the Glenfinnan Viaduct.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    An old inn with friendly staff and great meals in a lovely setting. Definately eat here during your stay and be prepared for large portions. The ferry on the doorstep is continuous between about 8am and 9pm, it's just over £8 per trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lovely helpful staff & excellent food. There is a good chef here & having vegetarian & vegan options on the menu every day was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most expensive place we stayed in 6 day tour of Scotland, probably primarily about location.

    Staff were first rate, location is simply stunning, food was great combination of quantity and quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice, helpful staff. Food very good. Hotel is kept to the tradition of its age and is a great example of Scottish building with traditional stone. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's not much choice for meals in Ardgour if you don't want to eat in the hotel - but they're good and not too expensive.

    The views up the loch were fabulous. Breakfast was good - lots of choices both hot and cold. We had pre-prandial drinks and dinner a couple of nights as well. Again, lots of choices. Sticky Toffee Pudding was to die for. Bed was comfortable. Room was spotless. Staff were great at answering questions over the phone before we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ferry dock is right outside the window and very noisy, however we were aware of this when booking. If you're a light sleeper maybe ask not to have a ground floor room at the front!

    Friendly staff, comfortable bed, nice breakfast. Would have had a fantastic view if the weather had been better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Comfortable accommodation, exceptional breakfast including kippers and smoked haddock, friendly staff and a view over Loch Linnhe. Our first glimpse of the Inn at Ardgour was a definite wow and we had a couple of good day trips to Tobermory and Mallaig with easy drives and lovely scenery. Fort William and Glencoe are also worth visiting and pedestrians are free on the ferry. Had a great time, thankyou.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of, it's an old Inn so obviously you must allow for the fact that there isn't a lift or room service 24/7 :-)

    The location is simply stunning, the staff are just lovely, I think I'd live there if I could :-) Absolutely recommend staying here, you won't be dissapointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was as we expected.

    Lovely location right next to the Ferry station and ideal for our ongoing trip to Skye. Lovely characterful inn with basic amenities but a comfortable room with good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location next to the Loch, quiet. Very friendly and dedicated staff. Very good and reasonably priced menus, well run bar. Excellent cooked breakfast (with Kippers!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of a thing....!

    Luke, the owner, was extremely helpful, courteous and friendly......all at the same time. He welcomed us warmly and was very informative about the locality. He has lived in the area for sixteen years and his knowledge was second to none. The food was outstanding, with breakfast served from 7.30am. Service and friendliness of the staff members was to the highest standards. We only stayed for two nights and had our evening meal there on the second night. Five of us, all with different courses, served so efficiently that one would struggle to find such service in hotels costing far more than The Inn. It follows that the evening meal was exceptional.........and believe me it was. The dining room was busy each evening, but this did not cause any problems with service. To his credit, Luke advised us of any delays with preparing our evening meal, (namely, just busy with another table but with you in five minutes), and he was true to his word. View from the dining room up the Loch, in the evening........and yes the sun was shining after rain............could not be bettered in some of the finest hotels in the land, in my view. Corran Ferry just outside the front door running all the time, with the last one of the easy at about 9.30pm. The ferry crosses Loch Linnie at the Ardgour Narrows to the main road to Fort William. The road outside the inn, (ie not the main road across the ferry), is a quiet road which is flat and easy going for walking or cycling, and give you a view of the loch away from the busy road on the opposite side, which is more peaceful and relaxing. It is a single track road with numerous passing places. It was quiet during our stay in early May but may be busier in the summer season. We used it as a base to visit the area and to travel on The Jacobite steam train from Fort William to Mallaig and back. Fort William is only 7 miles by road from the ferry. Would use The Inn again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overcharged. Changed 1 room to single room but still charged more than hotel top single room rate. Staff unhelpful in resolving situation. Blamed booking.com. Also too many signs and rules which made it feel less welcome and staff unfriendly.

    Clean and warm. Nice location. Food good but not great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t stay longer

    Cosy home from home. Friendly staff, great food, beautiful views and location. Second visit and even nicer as it has been decorated since last time

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. The room was so clean and comfortable. The view on the lake it was simply wonderful! They have also one menu gluten free for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a lot of things (fish and chips, eggs, fries..). The staff was very kind and available. We arrived and this place exceeded our expectation. We spent a delight night in our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is very nice, but difficult to reach. There are no other restaurants nearby unless you take the ferry (which finishes very early, i.e. 9pm) or you drive quite a lot for dinner. Otherwise, it is perfect!

    The views from the room are just gorgeous. Staff was friendly and food was nice in the restaurant. Beds are very comfortable and breakfast was very good. Overall I recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The porridge served at breakfast was awful - it seemed to be instant porridge that hadn't been cooked properly. The lack of hot water - but that seemed to be beyond the control of the owner, due to a broken oil supply pipe he said.

    The room was basic but just fine for the purpose. The bed was very comfortable and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The owner was sympathetic to the problem of no hot water and discounted the B&B price by £12.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy with the family room which was warm, clean, spacious and reasonably priced. The restaurant / bar had a suprisingly good choice of food on the menu (including kids menu). Great view was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good though Thursdays breakfast waiter was somewhat forgetful

    Situated next to the Corran Ferry, the Inn is exactly what an Inn should be; warm, comfortable and inviting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly. They are not taking advantage of not having competing restaurants around and they serve very good food, beautifully presented and at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quaint and cozy little hotel in a great location and with brilliant views from all rooms over Loch and mountains. Good food. Small car ferry to Corran at short intervals right in front of the door. Certainly a place we can recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Nostalgic trip for three generations of our family. We have had great times at the Inn over many years. The bar area has been given a makeover and it is lovely and bright. Pet friendly also. Rooms are very comfortable, great beds, excellent facilities and the views are wonderful. Great breakfast. Freshly cooked and plentiful. Thank you again, We will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ferry service to reach hotel might be expensive rspecially if you are crossing everyday.

    Excellent place to stay...food at the restaurant was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent cooked breakfast and friendly staff. Very pet friendly. There is no additional cost for pets and breakfast was set up in the bar for us every morning so we could bring the dog. Excellent value for money, this was our third stay at the ardgour inn and would highly recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The stakFf were lovely and very friendly. A real family atmosphere. We ended up staying an extra two nights. The staff made a big fuss of my partner as it was his birthday. They even shopped fora box of chocolates for him from his family back here. Barbara Davies

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    because time of year ordered meal on Tuesday night little delay because staffing levels found meal when arrived to be of less quality than we expected and overpriced. bar was quite pleasant and bar staff very good.

    room was very comfortable well heated cleaned and towels changed every day if required breakfast was first class priced very competitive staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room price a bit steep, same as double, not even a discount as only one breakfast required.

    Stunning location, good food, comfortable room, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, quaint atmosphere, generally the whole package... at a reasonable price for a double room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ferry was more expensive than I had anticipated at £8.20 one way. Also, the ferry is quiet noisy (between 6.30am and 9.30pm only) with a mechanical hum and occasional siren. I was good fun watching it though!

    The Inn at Ardgour are professional in approach and offer a genuine warmth - so rare. They were very happy to have Eris the dog and did not charge more for her. I loved the size of my room and the food was very tasty.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely wee find and fantastic value for money. Great location, great staff, great food and drink, clean, tidy and warm room. 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟from us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely comfy bed, cosy room with a spectacular view down thre loch, all spotlessly clean. Exceptionally good food at a great price and wonderful breakfast. The staff and owners could not be more accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing bad to say about ardgour inn

    very comfortable and friendly, food excellent,easy to visit other places nearby. staff had lots of information about area .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest the place was a bit dated. And there was no hot water on our arrival and we couldn't shower until the morning as the boiler was apparently faulty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You needed to use the ferry to access the hotel. It happened to be a public holiday and the ferry was not operating. This added an additional 50miles+ to get to the Inn.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather - though that wasn't in the control of the lovely staff!

    A lovely touch was being able to eat breakfast with our two dogs, in the bar area, separated from other guests. Our table was numbered and laid out for us, and breakfast was lovely. Everything else about our stay was nice too - from the parking immediately off the road from the ferry, to being able to take dinner (and a wee dram) back to the room if we couldn't finish it. The location was amazing and felt remote, even though we were just a 6min ferry trip from the main road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    main meal food was hearty (just the ticket) but the desserts were pre-made and a bit disappointing.

    Extremely friendly staff, the incredible views and the large collection of board games.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meals are served in the bar, so if are looking for something more formal, you will be disappointed. We enjoyed it, dogs, kids and all.

    We loved the location and friendly welcome. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Ferry landing and it was interesting and fun to watch all the loading and unloading activities from our bedroom windows. We took the ferry, a five minute ride, to arrive at the hotel. The guests' lounge and breakfast rooms are lovely and breakfast very good, the bedroom large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be doing with an upgrade. Double glazing would be beneficial. No shop or cafe within a few miles. Stock up on snacks etc before you go!

    View is amazing. Nice and warm inside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size rather than double bed would be perfect.

    Fabulous to be properly dog friendly, able to all eat together rather than me and the husband having to take turns with the little boy and the dog. Second visit wnd we will return!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking a little dated on the decor front and the evening meal menu was a bit limited, especially when travelling with teenage children.

    Location was amazing, right on the waters edge and reached via a small ferry. Good sized family room with what you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Excellent service, big comfy room and all we wanted in facilities etc. Dinner was very good indeed and great service as we found at breakfast as well. All in all an excellent stop for our way onwards to Skye.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff were very friendly we ordered our meal at the bar but we're sitting in the lounge and the staff came and told us when our meal was ready and took our drinks through for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pubfood. The host offered us a second room for free, because the one we had was to small. A great hotel for guest who leave or arrive from the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection would have been useful.

    Staff were super friendly, welcoming and efficient. The dinner menu was excellent - wholesome, generous, tasty and well-priced. The room was large, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little to dislike. This is a very pleasant, family owned property that offers a very good service at very low cost.

    Evening meal and breakfast were of very good quality and choice. The staff were all helpful, polite and attentive. Reasonable sized room, very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food menu was limited and expensive for pub grub but was very tasty and a good portion. ( the ferry operates from 6:30 in the morning so can be noisy as is only a few meters away, but adds to the charm, this also costs @ £8:50 each way for a car )

    Room was warm and comfy with a great view, nice beers to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs some work, hot breakfast quantity could be more though it was very tasty. Food choices were limited at the restaurant.

    Nice location, next to the lake. Nice room, very friendly service, Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful surprise,overnight accomodation for the family travelling from australia with 3 little people and granparents as well as mum and dad. Rooms were great, comfortable just what we needed for the nights accomodation, Food was great, views fantastic, in fact our grandson was very disappointed we were not spending another night there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere at this small Inn on a Loch in the Scottish Highlands was simple and wonderful. We loved the cosy restaurant for dinner, drinking warm beer and playing cards with our children after a long walk through the village and along the Loch at sunset. The dinner was one of the best meals we had in our 3 week trip (I think the Chef was from Germany). The food was seriously good for a small Inn in this remote spot. The car ferry trip across the Loch was a highlight for my children. It was fun, quirky and unique.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could do with updating and the family room would be improved with a bath as taking a 9 month old into the shower was not a fun experience!

    The view was stunning! The family room was large and comfy and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had found the guest lounge on the night we arrived rather than the next morning. Would have been lovely to sit in the warm and play some games with the kids.

    Even thought the inn is older than other places we have stayed on our trip the facilities are lovely, the showers are surprisingly modern and fresh. Location and having to catch the ferry across the loch added to the ambiance of the whole place. Regular ferry schedule meant that we were able to get in and out quickly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with the ferry but we were facing it.

    Really friendly staff excellent food both dinner and breakfast. Great location next to the ferry and a good drive around the area. Breakfast was exceptionally good for a meat eater farmer and the hot chocolate was so good I could stay again for another!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was down

    Fabulous location on edge of loch. Spacious guest room with good facilities. Cosy bar with good food and excellent collection of single malts. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    For many routes arriving to the inn, one should take a short ferry (couple of minutes), which was around £9 pounds. We wish we knew this before so that we would have cash. The ferry ride shouldn't deter you though as the place is well worth it!

    The location of the inn is amazing. You can reach the Loch in a couple of metres after stepping out of the front door and some of the rooms have a Loch view. The rooms were well equipped and the breakfast was lovely. The restaurant also had a good selection of food and drink for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything .

    The scrambled eggs were amazing. The food was wonderful. The hosts were friendly, helpful and made our stay very memorable. The location is just so picturesque and beautiful. On the edge of Loch Linnie with views down the fjord. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellant location .Accommodation. good .Breakfast delicious and plenty of it .I would highly recommend this hotel .Very good atomsphere in the bar .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it's an old Inn you can pretty much hear everything to the other rooms and every time someone takes a step on the floor above. Someone on the next door room snore like there was no tomorrow and we can hear all the squeaky floor from people in the corridor and above. Not sure how fixable it is on this type of buildings.

    The location is brilliant right by the loch. We had one of the ground floor rooms and were a bit apprehensive of the noise of the ferry right in front and the main road but had no issues. The staff was super nice and the dinner food really delicious. We had the veggie options and it was really good also the fact that we can be with the dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs serious upgrading. I didn't expect 5star but for the price I expected a lot more. Bed were uncomfortable and pillows gave me sore neck. Paint is peeling, carpets stained, curtains ripped. I can deal with all that but only if I paid a lot less.

    Staff was really friendly and prompt. Decent breakfast. Clean bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the WiFi didn't work when we were there but it didn't detract from the holiday

    The Inn is very good set right on the Loch and perfect for walking or running-the staff were friendly and helpful I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A slightly larger room

    The welcoming nature of the staff nothing was to much for them to make our stay pleasant and comfortable . For the budget price of this accommodation I consider the overall package, food cleanliness and location especially to be outstanding . A special note to pet owners how often have you been charged an exorbitant amount for your dog only to find all sorts of rules and restrictions placed upon you not so at the Ardgour your dog is accepted as an integral part of your party the only restriction is the main dining area .You may take your dog into all author areas . In conclusion anyone considering staying in Fort William area should place this establishment high on their accommodation list . The short ferry journey 3 to 4 Min duration only enhances the overall experience Excellent Establishment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    property needs upgraded.....noisy at night with people leaving the pub...noisy in the morning with ferry which is just outside bedroom window starting up at 6 am..

    bar food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old place, very Scottish highlands right on the loch. Rooms clean and comfy, staff lovely and the dinner was really nice too. Breakfast was really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge quite a bit for somewhere that gives very little. The children's beds had cot douvet's on them 3/4 size not much use for my 14 year old who is 172cm tall. They have a liquid soap dispenser attached to the wall, no toiletries. The little things are just not there. It could so easily be a charming place to stay, yet they seem to have cut all the corners. A real shame.

    Charming character and beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor a little dated and no chair, though may have been removed to make way for our travel cot.

    Friendly staff who were very welcoming to us and our 1 year old. Great breakfast. Clean and tidy room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with an extractor fan in en suite that worked...very minor issue

    Lovely big breakfast, great staff, amazingly beautiful location and view from room. Good bar and food. Room was very comfortable and terrific shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. Great location for everything we wanted to do e.g. Arisaig, Glengarry, Ben Nevis. And set in a lovely location of its own too. Food was very good. Parking easy. WiFi worked. Everyone happy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Complaints

    Very quaint, a pub environment, it is what it is, good home cooked food dishes, it is a little expensive (in relation to it's facilities) compared to some of the other similar priced properties we stayed at on our Scottish Tour, but it was friendly, the location was where we wanted to be, no complaints. Lovely Lochside location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's like a rabbit warren and unsafe. No fire exit signs and too many doors in the corridors. I believe it has not been approved for fire emergency as no drill was indicated, no muster station and the fire alarm went off twice and no one checked if everything was ok. In fact when the fire alarm went of at 3.30am none from the staff responded or even knew it went off.... Dangerous!

    The location was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was creaky so hard to not disturb others in room. Also, there wasn't a separate soap holder in the shower (inn provides a soap dispenser).

    We had a spectacular view of the water and our room was very spacious for a family of 4. Kids loved the bunk bed and rooms were all clean and tidy though a little worn. Kids also loved the short car ferry ride to the inn ( it is on an island). 8.20 pounds to cross by car every 20 minutes with good hours. Very peaceful and scenic location and we would have liked to stay longer though we only stopped overnight. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast, dinner, and selection of food was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somewhat expensive.

    Lovely comfortable family room. Absolutely stunning location with fabulous view from the room. Excellent dinner and breakfast served by friendly personnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything not to like about this lovely old hotel. Even the ferry Nearby did not impact in anyway to our stay.

    Warm welcome, friendly staff lovely food clean and well equipped room great location, what more could you ask for. Will certainly return in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink light in bathroom flickered and not Clear how to switch off. Waste bin had not been emptied. Kettle Switch was broken.

    Breakfast was good. Location brilliant. Kitchen only Closed after we informed them we had already eaten.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is a bit old now . Internal Refurbishment is required . the bathrooms also need some repairs .

    Isolated location which is ideal to cut off and relax . No worries of the city on the other side, We went for a quite walk and enjoyed the natural surroundings

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very tired the beds were hard and the gluten-free food was almost non-existent and the ferry was been mended all night

    The view but not much alas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the window was wonderful, - the house is straight at the water. It was convenient to go from the ferry directly in to the parking. Brekfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Inn at Ardgour traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: