Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cottonwood Boutique Hotel 3 stars

East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AP, United Kingdom

#33 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1090 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Location is not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception refused me to check in early while room was available/ I booked two adults including breakfast in booking, but they first only allow one on file/ no sea view/ room is upstair of bin and not in mainbuilding

    Location is not bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Not only was the beach on the doorstep but the town was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not only was the beach on the doorstep but the town was a quick walk away. The room beat my expectations! Very modern, comfy and also the hotel staff went out their way to be friendly and offer their services! Safe car parking as well. Couldn't fault the place and at such an affordable price! Worth every penny, would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Would !liked to have stayed longer, in town for a Concert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature control on bath/shower not working, but only one night stay, so we coped...reported it next morning and sure it was fixed.

    Ideal location, Hotel was recommended to us and we weren't disappointed, shame it was a flying visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable easy going and pleasant Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bar stocks were a bit limited.

    Our room, a family was both spacious and clean. A very good welcome from reception. Ideal location for Bournemouth and Boscombe. The breakfasts were the usual buffet style and adequate. The sandwiches were excellent and from the small amount of food we ordered I would say the kitchen (food) was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed stay. My Breakfast excellent but some cross contamination for my coeliac partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar did not have full selection of drinks after and looked closed at 10 pm. No air conditioning and noisy because of having to open windows to keep cool

    Space in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel -fine ,nice bedroom ,lovely staff ,would stay here again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower.......very small +quite shabby compared to the bedroom . Breakfast was ok'ish ,self serve buffet , I have had better at less expensive hotels ,but didn't spoil the stay .

    Big comfy bed ,plenty of pillows , Staff on Reception -fantastic ,extremely helpful and friendly .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant stay and location, lovely scenery with the beach just across the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although very clean did smell very damp and you could tell there was a damp problem, especially in the bathroom. The parking at the hotel was not included in the price!!

    Staff very welcoming and hotel had a welcoming ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Basic £50 a night hotel masquerading as boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shoe box room with no fan or air conditioning. Avoid room 12 Room temp was over 30 degrees. Bathroom was a joke any bigger than a size 10 then forget it. Beautiful view of a flat roof and the lovely sound of water running down the waste pipe every 5 minutes. Hard to know who the staff are and who are guests. Breakfast wasn't much to write home about.

    Smart friendly barman

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.0
    Next time will stay in a hotel with a decent shower and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a hand held shower over the bath. Hot breakfast was limited to bacon, sausage, fried egg, tomato and baked beans. There was no black pudding, mushrooms or hash browns. Breakfast cost extra. Wish we hadn’t paid upfront would of rather have gone into town for breakfast. I know it would of been cheaper and better.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    adequate but not brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place a bit tired, bathrooms very much in need of upgrading, shower dodgy, could have been scalded with poor temperature control, also unable to secure shower on pole, did report it

    Good position, extensive views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant worth it for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel breakfast not too good room was small ad the shower was very small. It could do with a little tlc

    The staff were friendly especially the receptionist and the night Porter

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfort, views and perfect weather. A great stay. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only moan was that at times staff seemed to be scarce.

    The room was very large and perfectly furnished. The view of the sea from the large windows was breath taking. The restaurant food was very nice and the beer well maintained!! Because of it's position on the cliffs above the coastline the value was excellent. To top it all off the weather was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    A lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with a lovely view overlooking the sea. Nice and clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice restaurant/bar with evening entertainment. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Bournemouth again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Decent stay with sea front view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no Sainsbury’s or Tesco around. If you need to buy anything, better get them while you’re in town.

    The staff were really helpful. It’s not close to city centre but it has got amazing view and peace from the hustle bustle crowd.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Quirky, colourful and comfy. :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone in the room... :( everything else was great.

    Really enjoyed my overnight stay here. I had a training event in Bournemouth and the room and hotel were perfect. Great staff, super comfy bed, amazing sea views and a very snazzy bar area. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Definite recommendation. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No berries with the fruit at breakfast but otherwise a good selection and croissants were huge! A full length mirror in the bedroom would have been useful

    Very friendly and helpful staff Substantial breakfast Well positioned along the coastal road, we had a great sea view room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Very small room , with no view at all😔 breakfast was self...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room , with no view at all😔 breakfast was self service, and not very tasty , me and my wife have had much better stays, for a much better price , we paid £139 for a double room and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although we were in the south of England I felt we were somewhere in Europe. We stayed 2 nights. Had a room at the front with a balcony/patio which had sea views. Room wasn't huge, but it was comfortable. We sat out in the afternoon for drinks. Reception is a very small space and we had to wait quite a long time to check-in. This was largely due, I think, to a private function going on at the Hotel. The Hotel decor is bright and interesting. If you like pink, you will love it. We had dinner 1 night at the Hotel Restaurant and the meal was excellent. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and efficient. An interesting and pleasant experience. Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice boutique hotel ,clean with good service and view makes it great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is limited ,small but adequate bathroom Parking is not free (advertised as charges may be applicable !!!)

    Location is excellent,room had a sea view which was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was drab needed some colour accents in room .There were no pictures . Breakfast request ignored by staff .

    clean . Lovely comfortable bed . Shower was great .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Would think twice before going again. But all the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very narrow, when sitting on toilet knees jammed against the bath. The extractor fan in toilet was very noisy. My husband and I are in our seventies and you had to step in bath to use the shower and their where no grab rails to hold on too. Not really much choice on menu. Bar menu was better.

    The beds very comfortable, nice view over the sea. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Bargain hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great (very low pressure) but the beds were comfy and room spotless.

    Great location,good breakfast,helpful and friendly staff. The price was amazing bearing in kind it included breakfast AND parking. We were even able to at our breakfast on the terrace thanks to the lovely staff sorting it out for us. Very helpful and lovely people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for a celebration in the garden room, great time. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm, no air conditioning or fan. Shabby carpet and very noisy unit outside that comes on at 6.15 am (room 36)

    A good buffet breakfast and friendly staff. Great refurbished bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Loved the hotel. Staff were all so friendly, room was fantastic with a queen size bed. Breakfast was very good and catered for my husband who is gluten intolerant. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good value hotel...will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bit noisy ...room next to lift shaft (No 11)...room above people noise, suppose can't be helped. could'nt get overhead shower to work , only hand set. small bathroom but no problem

    Value for money...bed was comfy...very clean...change of towels each day...enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable staff very good but will not return due to disturbed nights sleep and no proper sho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating waking us up at 4am in the morning very loud constant knocking of pipes and no shower in the room only a hand held one attached to bath

    A big comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Good experience, I will stay with the hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A nice and clean boutique hotel. I love the quiet environment. A very nice yard in front of the hotel. If I had time, I would stare blankly to the sea whole day. Breakfast is more than enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Very pleasant indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs redoration looking a little tired. Probably worth no more than paying £60-70 a night. Breakfast wasn’t included.

    I liked the location and the view of the sea from my too. It was also very quiet which was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little shabby. Shower head was loose and toilet seat was also loose.

    Room was tastefully decorated and bed was comfy. Light and airy with plenty of power points.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    My stay was very pleasant garden and grounds could do with a bit more t.l.c. Rooms very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 Parking charging having to pay for parking on site when you are a guest not good

    We paid for dinner all 3 nights we stayed there. value excellent, food excellent, presentations excellent, waitress excellent, A special complement to the chef

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    i wouldnt stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bath was too small the lighting was poor in the bathroom. i expected water for the kettle not to use the bathroom sink. The breakfast was inedible. it was luke warm. sausages so salty and hard. bacon limp. eggs oily and cold. tea cold.

    the bed was really comfortable even though it was two beds put together.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The properties either side of it being so run down, not your fault though.

    Fabulous staff, all very polite and came across interested in me and why I was staying in Bournemouth. The room and view were absolutely superb. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, drinks prices...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, drinks prices were reasonable for a hotel. The included breakfast offered was a full English as well as continental. The location was amazing - just at the top of chine gardens and right in between boscombe pier and Bournemouth pier so you have easy access to the best of both worlds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Lovely stay and great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home.

    Everything, petfect setting, clean room,great shower, lovely views, breakfast included was great value and staff were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    overall, the hotel has a nice atmosphere and the location is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even for a standard room the bathroom was far to small

    The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a reasonable choice. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Simply delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were down to visit friends , so didn’t get time to take advantage of the facilities ! But the place was wonderfully creative. Also for reasons beyond our control, we had to make a couple of very last minute changes to our booking. The staff were an absolute delight, they went far above and beyond to accommodate us. Can’t thank them enough. Looking forward to visiting the cottonwood again . Simply

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Odd and awful decor and rude and unhelpful breakfast service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very odd décor. It takes a lot more than a lot of odd bits of decoration to earn the title "Boutique". Staff either over familiar or indifferent. We ordered two lots of sandwiches but had to repeat the straightforward order three times before the barman understood. The breakfast experience was a shambles. Poor service and poor choice of food. I chose the continental option. Unfortunately there was no cheese or cold meat. Although there were croissants there were no bead rolls. I asked the staff member if I could have a couple of bread rolls but was told the hotel does not provide them ! When I asked why not I was told the hotel has to keep an eye on their costs ! I again said I wanted some rolls ( not unreasonably ) and was told I would need to speak to the manager. I asked the waitress again to sort it. She eventually came back and told me the chef was doing me a bread roll and it would be ready in four minutes. Ten minutes later there was no sign of the roll making an appearance and we left. There were other problems regarding the rubbish service and mean choices on offer. Eg my partner ordered two poached eggs. Only one arrived.

    Not a lot to like - free parking and good location and a room with nice sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Our second stay here, it’s a lovely hotel and the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room above disturbed us but it didn’t ruin our stay. This wasn’t a problem when we stayed before so luck of the draw I guess.

    Our second stay here, it’s a lovely hotel and the staff are wonderful, great location you can walk into Bournemouth or Boscome, modern bedrooms with good beds and a great breakfast. We really enjoy staying here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, great sea views and easy access to town, cliffs and beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding service made to feel very welcome Very good breakfast Great sea views Easy to park Buses every few minutes to Bournemouth town centre from st swithans roundabout Other buses go all around the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very clean hotel. Room view out to the front lawn and sea lovely. Our breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really to dislike. It would have been nice if you could get a lunch time snack from the bar, but obviously if you are out sightseeing or down on the beach you would still have to find somewhere to eat.

    The beds and pillows were comfy. We liked having the sea view twin bedroom (no.20) with shower cubicle on the 1st floor. Fairly quiet, as the hotel lays back from the seafront with a long lawn on front view. Free parking, which is very beneficial as there are meters in situ on the sea front. I have a walking stick and i could get up the stairs to the reception area with help with the handrail. There is a lift to the two upper floors. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.5
    Wonderful Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given rooms 19/ 21, on the first floor, the view was lovely. The beds really comfy and room and bathroom clean. I am please to say that the room was nice and quiet and we had a good night sleep. In the morning we had enjoyed the outside tables in the garden very much English Breakfast, was delicious, just the Continental one was missing a little ham or some cheese, and fresh bread, not sliced bread for the price we paid. At the Restaurant we had a family dinner, we even invited a couple of friend to come over to join us for dinner, and the food- a la carte or the menu from the bar which we ask to order a few Burgers. Every one agreed that all dish were good value for money. I Definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Location Staff and Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell of Dettol in the hallway outside bedroom Very Strong!! Some areas looking a little tired and in need of decoration. Whilst the Bedroom had been refurbished The Bathroom appeared to not have to been done fully Bath Panel split Shower Screen leaked

    Lovely Hotel in a great location. Views were superb. Staff were excellent and very attentive. Food was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room size was very good for 2 people and we had a lovely sea view...it's just the right distance out of town(quiet) but central to Boscombe and Bournemouth which was good for us as we like walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay in the fantastic Cottonwood Boutique Hotel! Will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full length mirror in room. Also with a 1 year old we find it much easier to bath him rather than shower, having said that, the shower and bathroom in general was very nice. Except the shower ran hot and cold. Room was rather cold especially at night but the spare heater found in the cupboard soon sorted that out.

    Massive bed. Bunk beds. Bathroom. Lovely big towels! Good TV although some channels couldn’t watch due to poor reception. Size of room. Location of hotel. Ease of access to room (not far to walk from reception/car park/bar/breakfast room). Staff friendly and helpful. Reasonable prices. Room & bathroom decor. General decor and vibe of hotel is very unique, quirky & cool. Bar area (although we did not get to use it except for ordering teas and coffees of an evening!) is very nice and felt relaxing with a lovely terrace area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value but don't expect luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap fittings to bathroom - newish but already showing signs of wear/breakage. Bedroom curtains very thin so you will wake early if light disturbs you.

    Clean room, stylish and quirky decor common areas. Plenty of tea/coffee/etc supplies in the room. Bed was comfortable. Buffet style breakfast was ok for choice and quality. Plenty of private parking available. Good seafront location. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location. Short walk to Russel cotes museum and pier. Nice quiet part of Bournemouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small. Poor shower over bath and the cold tap at sink ran hot and cold. Also no full size mirror which I recommend as there was plenty of wall space. The fancy wee mirror on dressing table was hopeless for seeing your self due to facing window.

    Lovely sea views. Big fluffy towels. Good food. Plenty of electrical sockets in bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Bed was huge very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was huge very comfortable. Breakfast was great lots of choice! Close to all the amenities in Bournemouth & Boscombe & not far from Monkey World! View Swanage to Hengistbury Head & IoW from room window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaints that didn’t affect our enjoyment - Shower pressure could have been better. All the hot food ran out at breakfast on the first morning, but this was due to a hen party of 18 all having breakfast at the same time. It was replenished fairly quickly, but the hotel could have anticipated this and been better prepared.

    Staff were excellent, all very friendly and welcoming. We had a beautiful sea view at the front of the property. The room was nicely decorated in grey and white. The beds were very comfortable, with good bedding. Shower room was very small, but again nicely decorated and with big fluffy towels, changed every day. Loved the bold wallpaper in the downstairs rooms, and the suits of armour in the reception hallway. Good breakfast. Evening meal and bar snacks available, the ones we tried were very good. Location convenient for the beach and town, about 20 mins walk. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok not sure we would rush back?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn’t great, difficult to get to a good temperature.

    Staff were very friendly, nice view from bar / garden, although we weren’t given a sea view room. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    There has been more work done to the communal areas rather than the bedrooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dated and the view out the window was awful and grubby!!!! The staff was nice and helpful and polite though!

    We were upgraded to a family room so more space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Vintage perfection!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem was that in my room it was a little warm and I couldn't work out how to turn down the heating!

    This is the perfect place for anyone who loves a bit of vintage styling. The decor really tickled my fancy - especially the suit of armour concierges and the library styling. Really beautiful shabby chic with a touch of bling! I had a terrific room with a sun terrace facing the sea for a bargain price, with a great breakfast in the morning and plenty of parking on site. The staff simply couldn't do enough for you, being super friendly and helpful, and there's a lovely little dining room that does great value dinners and afternoon teas. Perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant and welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a la Carter menu was quite limited and they didn’t serve food on a Sunday night.

    It was a very pleasant hotel. The staff were very friendly. We came back one day to find 2 swans (made out of bath towels) and flower petals on our bed to celebrate our anniversary. A very nice touch

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Extra friendly staff, quick service and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chocolate afternoon tea was lovely but not many sandwiches for almost £17 per head! I’ve had lots of afternoon tea in various places and it didn’t compare for value of money for some.

    Extra friendly staff, quick service and very helpful. The room was immaculate. Definitely worth a stay. Highly recommended, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was terrible both shower heads were broken and the water was either really hot or really cold which is unacceptable when a child is involved. I would of thought a room with a bath would’ve of been allocated as I had a child with me.

    Staff and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Calm, relaxing room within a funky, bustling hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying on arrival, rather than at checkout felt abrupt. The staff member who checked us in seemed surprised that we didn't already know our way around and our orientation felt hurried. When asking a question we were treated like we were interrupting (We later wondered how non English speaking guests might have fared). Breakfast was included in our booking but eggs benedict carry a surcharge of £4. It was delicious, but twice as large a portion as it needs to be. We recommend reducing the portion thereby offsetting the need for the fee - which all staff then seemed overly concerned about tracking.

    Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and conveniently located within the building though it did not include a sea view. However, the view from the lounge was lovely and the glamourized interiors lend a real sense of the exotic. Very nice location within easy walking distance of attractions and the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    convenient, lovely surroundings, helpful and pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult to regulate shower noisy tv somewhere in very early morning would have liked a easy chair in the room

    spacious room and comfortable bed evening cabaret in the bar decor lovely views parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift was vintage and if other guests had not closed the gate properly it would not come when called! Shower room/toilet was very small but adequate

    Good standard 3 star hotel with exceptionally helpful and courteous staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Our family had a nice stay & the room was comfortable & hotel quirky and cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few bits that maybe needed maintenance such as gap in window, bathroom could have been a bit more modern and water was so hot! But every hotel has something needing changing / tweaking

    Liked the different decor at the hotel and the family room was huge!!! The staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Wonderfully quirky hotel with hard working staff, we would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a fantastic find! The staff were lovely and interesting to talk to. Stunning clean and contemporary room with huge bed, loads of storage space and beautiful view of the sea. Downstairs has fabulous quirky decor, and the breakfast had enough choice for meat eaters and vegetarians. Bournemouth town centre (about a 15/20 minute walk) had plenty of choice when it came to bars and restaurants and the beach was beautiful and clean. Free parking is a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had run out of the one ale they did and there were no bottled alternatives, so we had to go to a different hotel to have a beer. This was a shame as the bar has a good atmosphere and is a comfortable place to relax.

    Excellent view of the garden and sea. Enjoyed the breakfasts including the vegetarian sausages. The breakfast room has a good view of the garden and is light and bright to start your day. Good welcome at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    All in all l was happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in shower didn't work properly. I told reception but no-one came to have a look at it. Restaurant closed Sunday and Monday. Cream tea for two pricey at £ 18.

    First single room small, no desk or chair and the noise of the kitchen fan woke me at 6am every morning. Moved to another single room in annexe which was bigger and nicer. Nice sandwiches and nachos on bar menu. Staff lovely !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Great time had by all! What else can I say.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    6 Inner Wheel ladies there for 3 nights for Conference. We had a wonderful stay there. All staff so friendly & very helpful. Nothing too much bother 😆 We had 3 rooms - all with a lovely seaview. Breakfast & evening meals were great. Wanted to stay longer & will CERTAINLY go back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Great stay and great value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The food in the restaurant was freshly cooked, beautifully served and delicious. The room was clean and comfortable with a lovely sea view. The bar served a lovely house Chardonnay which was very reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    The staff were lovely and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our bathroom wasn't very stable and moved around on its own too much when we tried to shower. Otherwise water lovely and hot, and bathroom fine

    The staff were lovely and the room perfect for 3 friends to catch up in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not serve dinner on Sunday & Monday night & that's when we stayed

    Nice room, nice breakfast, close to beach. Friendly staff. Great view of the sea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t not like anything, the only thing I would of liked is to add hot chocolate as a option in the room

    The bed was amazing! So comfortable and large... I’m looking into buying a bigger bed now!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Sea view makes this a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial offer of the room - because of the wind direction the room was extremely draughty. Luckily the hotel had another sea-view room so we were upgraded. This more than made up for the initial disappointment.

    The sea view from the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar food was a little basic for the price and the bathroom was a a little dated, but these were minor things.

    Very welcoming staff. Excellent service all round, particularly by the staff in the breakfast room. Receptionists and cleaners were friendly and chatty. Bar staff took time to find us some glasses for use in the room. Very relaxing stay with everything we needed. Clean and cosy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    We asked for a family room with sea view, which is exactly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit pricey.

    We asked for a family room with sea view, which is exactly what we had. The hotel provided a travel cot and the room was a great size to accommodate a family. Staff were very helpful, would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ordered some sandwhiches they took an incredibly long time my small grandson asked for bread and butter so they asked would he like the bread toasted I replied yes please only to be told a few minutes later there was no Chef to pop the bread in the toaster , my granddaughter asked for crème fraish and smoked salmon only to be told no sorry no crème fraish so okay just smoked salmon which was inedible several appologies and our sandwhiches arrived over an hour later .

    the room was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in a sea view room right across the front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a sea view room right across the front. Amazing views and certainly did not disappoint. Staff were most welcoming. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. Rooms were of good size especially the super king size room. Would most certainly stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, very friendly staff and well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was quiet even though they had quite a lot of guests. The kitchen was not open enough although sandwiches were always on offer and they were lovely. Our bedroom could have done with a bit of an update, especially the bathroom, however, it was quite adequate especially considering the cost.

    The view is fantastic. The public areas are decorated in a quirky, bold style. The garden area in front of the hotel is very well kept and looks lovely. It will be a joy to sit out there in the summer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    For the price we had a lovely room with a central sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we had a lovely room with a central sea view and the comfort of the room was very nice the television had internet facilities and Netflix. It was was by far the best hotel i have stayed in and for under £40 it was a lot cheaper than some and in another league overall me and my partner were very impressed and looking forward to when we can stay again thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.2
    The room decoration was nice but tired in areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far to hot and dusty only one window would open and couldnt even have it open as the wind was terrible and even with the windows shut you could still hear it all night need to invest in some double glazing especially being sat by the sea and the hot water pipe was rattling all night and the breakfast was standard lack quantity and quality wouldn't stay here again lovely location just wrong hotel!

    The room decoration was nice but tired in areas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxing, lovely breakfast. Helpful happy staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was perfect size, bed was huge and six pillows! Very comfortable. Very clean. Everthing we needed. Breakfast was delicious and plentyful! All very good. Lovely. Thank you. Would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cottonwood Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: