Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Inn On The Wye 3 stars

Kerne Bridge Goodrich, Ross on Wye, HR9 5QS, United Kingdom

#22 of 23 hotels in Ross on Wye

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 971 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    2.5
    There was no positives or enthusiasm in the stay at all was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience of our stay was sadly regrettable and not what we expect for the price we paid or the standards we expect of politeness and hospitality. We were there on business and had to leave hotel by 7.45 and breakfast was not available when they said it would be. The chef was by the bar at 9pm in his cook uniform half way down his bottom with the manager drinking and eating crisps and bar staff rude and made us feel very uncomfortable. The bedside lights did not work for us to read and when asked a boy came along with 10 different bulbs which none worked then after an hour said prob fuse and he never returned. The bed knobs on end bed ere missing and covered in celotape

    There was no positives or enthusiasm in the stay at all was very angry that its on offer to stay with booking .com we have always used booking .com and had great stays . This stay made us very disappointed and scared to book again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice place let down by not so nice welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The member of the team who greeted us on arrival let down the whole experience , we were greeted with a stony face and it appeared she didn't wish to be there or else just doesn't like interacting customers. After me querying the room cost in a polite way with a smile on my face ( incidentally she got it wrong not me) she barked at me that I had it wrong and just turned her back on us - even the young lad behind the bar looked embarrassed by her actions, we were given no information about checkout or breakfast times I had to seek out a member of staff to find this out. Later on I and my party tried to interact with this woman when ordering drinks and our meal thinking perhaps we had caught her at a bad moment but, to no avail. The lady working the breakfast room however was lovely, very welcoming and bubbly. We will be staying at YHA next time.

    It's all about location, we like the close proximity the river as we had done a days kayaking , the room was really nice and comfy beds with lovely views from the front bedroom over to the castle . The lady running breakfast service was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite tired. The evening staff in the bar and restaurant were a bit disorganised.

    Good location. Free parking. Nice bar and restaurant. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Peaceful & quiet nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very much in need of re-decorating. Room was very old & needed an update.

    Peaceful & quiet nice location. The restaurant was excellent. Good food & lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Fishing break at Inn-on-the Wye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decoration and fittings were tired.Bathroom needed urgent attention, although everything worked ok.

    The food was good.Excellent breakfast and evening meal.Good selection of beers. Good service at bar and in restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Generally good but ruined by lack of sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room being located right next to the laundry and the washing machine keeping us awake until 1am

    Great staff. Good value. Good food (apart from the bacon at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.5
    Dirty and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet rooms were dirty,bedding was not clean, complimentary shampoo already opened, carpets filthy, curtains filthy, rooms were musty and smelly. Not all staff were helpful

    Scenery was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Quaint little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely little chalet room. Was clean and modern and very comfortable for an overnight stay on route to Wales. Breakfast was excellent and was able to get a vegetarian full English which was even better! The location was lovely. Quiet and right next to a castle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Our stay was not long enough,we would stay there again and explore more of this lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is tired in places as I am sure they are aware of and the car park &. Garden area could do with a bit of tlc, which would make the approach more appealing.There are some steep steps also but overall a nice visit made all the better by the very pleasant staff.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful, better than a lot of higher rated hotels. Breakfast and evening meals were also good and in a nice setting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Good value accommodation and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation was in a separate block across the car park with a long staircase leading to the restaurant, ok for guests with no difficulties but any one with walking problems should beware. Food in the evening and at breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't really like, the only thing was that the chalet was slightly in need of a refresh and little jobs needed attention ie: handles missing from drawers/cupboard, plug needed re attaching to sink and maybe a deep clean in the bathroom would be needed although it was perfectly hygienic.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pub had a welcoming atmosphere. The food was well presented and delicious, and reasonably priced, all served by friendly helpful staff. The bed was comfortable and had a good nights sleep. We had a nice relaxing stay and will stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and look forward to returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff and very good food which came in generous portions. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff to meet our needs. The Inn was very accessible to good walking areas. It was a very relaxing place with no one causing stress of any sort. It felt like ‘home away from home’.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    A great inn in a wonderfull location, excellent value for money we would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only down side was the road traffic noise, although not constant I am a light sleeper and found it difficult to sleep. The bathroom was a little tired and in need of repair (skirting board by shower)

    nice room with comfortable beds, good bathroom facilities and brilliant shower. wonderful location with great views. Breakfasts were very good with a fair selection of foods.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Good value, basic accommodation with a nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the annexe did have a slight damp smell but were clean and number 10 was refurbished . Number 16 was dated in decor but again clean.

    Good value for money. The breakfast was included and there was a good choice of cereals , juice and hot selection. Basic accommodation but clean and fine for a night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    At the end of the day you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole general appearance of the place could do with refurbishing. Nothing overly major , mainly paint work.

    Location was great , the food was excellent. The staff were all very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional stay at Inn on the Wye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We were upgraded from a chalet to a room, with a wonderful view, in the main building, at no extra cost. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was exceptional. There was a good choice with full English and even kippers included. The communal rooms were very comfy and cosy and well presented. Some of the rooms had been refurbished and although ours hadn’t, the bed was comfy. Dinner was very good, with plenty of well cooked food. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay again or recommend to others. Close to Symonds Yat and Goodrich.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here a number of times in the chalets as we have dogs. Unfortunately the rooms are now looking a little tired, but still clean and comfy.

    Value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy coffee cups in room dirty no milk no phone to communicate our problem room was remote from reception carpets filthy shower difficult to operate my wife could not move control lever will not stay again and Booking .com should reimburse our money

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu was full meals and they don't offer lighter bites. I wasnt hungry enough for a full meal but there wasn't much else on offer. Another resident asked for cheese toastie and was told no can do.

    Lovely setting,friendly staff and lovely areas for relaxing. Room was good size although shower quite small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Would stay again but ask for better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needed redecorating and new carpet Bathroom needed repairs around shower and redecorating

    all staff were lovely and so helpful Food good and pleasant atmosphere Beds very comfortable and nice linen Beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    The bar and restaurant were busy at about 8 o’clock and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grouting in the shower could have done with Astonish Mould and Mildew spray.

    The bar and restaurant were busy at about 8 o’clock and the staff were stressed. Once we got our meal it was very nice. Breakfast was a disappointment. We were told it was a continental buffet and to help ourselves although other guests were offered scrambled eggs 🤔. We didn’t see the staff again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing as this was the final evening to our anniversary break away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inn itself was tired looking as was our chalet room inside, outside chalet the hanging baskets were dead despite the water dripping into them, there was vomit in the car park outside our chalet. There was rubbish outside where renovations ? We’re taking place in end chalet. Limited food on evening with no vegetarian option due to chef not turning up, staff didn’t explain despite being there for three hours and going to the bar initially to order drinks. No senior staff came to apologise when we said we wouldn’t stay, as remote location nowhere nearby to eat. Would of been an ok one night stay if there had been food.

    Pretty location near to Goodrich and Ross on wye

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness in the chalets were poor, we are regulars, and will be returning again hopefully the hotel and in particular the outside chalets will have had a makeover by the time we visit again

    Evening meal was very good, the staff albeit fairly new tried very hard to make our stay pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in evening awful....a child of 10 could have produced a better meal!

    Steaks inedible. Pie likewise. Would eat elsewhere if I were you. Egg at breakfast overcooked with crispy edges...not nice. Bacon hard and overcooked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Stay somewhere else. Its not for business travellers and to be avoided
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast didnt start till 8am, so although included needed to be away for training course before it started so got nothing. Room had to be changed 3 times. First time window damaged, second time lock on door didnt work. Evening meal arrived undercooked chicken so was sent back.

    Easy to find

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Restaurant food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shalet Rooms needed a complete refurb. Carpet was dirty bathroom needed painting and a thorough clean. If you were a bigger person you would never fit in the shower. The bathroom was a squeeze for anyone bigger than 5 foot!

    Restaurant food was great. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Would never return though staff pleasant. We were offered another room but for one night didn't bot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet was very poor. Tiny dark room. Mould in shower, broken soap dish in shower, tv remote fell apart, tv reception poor, toilet seat not fixed properly. Laundry next door working after hours. Laundry door had no lock so banged constantly.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.0
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign in the bathroom said leave towels in the bath to get them changed or leave them on the rail if not Funny no rail and no bath

    Welcome was great food excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    A lovely lovely break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, even the weather was glorious..

    Everything was perfect..staff happy and friendly..weng out of their way to make the stay perfect..gave directions to a lovely day out, manager up graded our room.food was excellent beautiful, scenery...look forward to going back soon

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to be really picky, the bathroom needed a lick of pant

    Excellent friendly staff. Amazing value accommodation price. Good quality breakfast made to order. Delicious restaurant meals. Nice comfy bed. Powerful shower. Excellent WiFi strength.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Inn on the Wye for a lovely weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like to leave. Nice place to relax.

    The staff were excellent. Friendly and helpful and always cheerful. Breakfast was good value and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for a night and if you don't plan on spending much time in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit run down and could use a revamp - hooks were missing from the wall mount, bathroom smelt a bit damp and the carpet was well worn.

    The room was well sized, staff were friendly and it was easy to get to.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect accommodation for family of 4 with grandparent in tow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Family 'room' exceeded expectations - it was like having our own apartment! Great space with 3 bedrooms (king size bed, double bed with single, and twin room). TVs and fans in rooms were a bonus. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to cancel extra double room at that we didn't need at no cost as the family room fitted us all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is definitely very tired which affects first impression of the rooms. A professional decorating job and some new fitments would make a huge difference - but then the price probably did reflect the condition of property.

    Friendly staff. Basic accommodation but everything we needed. Good breakfast and most of all excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    the food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room 9 noisy from kitchen below and delivery lorry 6.45 am and noisy from road issue with bed reported to management a bit annoyed as they knew about broken bed then still allocated us that room the shower was covered in black mold

    the food was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    The welcome was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Inn on the Wye". But the river was nowhere to be seen!! Very disappointing. The carpet in the room was old and stale smelling. The food was frankly appalling + wine from a bottle that must have been open for days. Not good!

    The welcome was very friendly. The 'chalet'room at the back of the hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Most things were good , lovely view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one night staff service was poor waited an hour before i had to stop a staff member to order my drink and pudding after he passed me at least 6 times

    Most things were good , lovely view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eclectic decor not to everyone's taste.

    I was very worried on reading some terrible reviews after I had booked it but overall I found it to be good value , friendly staff, good food and nice room considering the age of the property. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast each morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    Great Pub and Dinner. The accommodation and breakfast was a disaster. So, eat their but don't stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The web site showed these lovely bedrooms and 4 poster beds etc. There were no pictures of the “Annex” which was more like something from Butlins in the 1970s. Yes, we were put in the annex. A couple staying next door asked if our room was ok, I said it was adequate. They showed me their room which had extensive mould in the room and bathroom. They were going off to ask for another room. After trying to have a shower and only getting cold water, I went to see the manager who said they had a man coming in at 6pm that would sort it out. We sat in the bar and had some great beer and were told that the water had been fixed. We stayed in the bar and booked a table for dinner (4 people). The dinner was great, the best I had on a month-long trip to the UK. I wish I could get their Beef pie topped with Suet and cheddar pastry in Australia. We went back to the room and I tried the shower again, it was still cold. I went to complain to the manager who then tried to tell me it was me not knowing how to turn a shower on, but also admitted they had not actually fixed anything. The manager then offered me an alternative room, yes, you’ve guessed it, she offered the mouldy room the other guests would not stay in. When I told her, I knew the other guests had moved out she gave me another room in the main building, which was adequate. The upstairs (unlike the pub area) was run down, dirty with old smelly carpets and bits of unused old kitchen equipment in communal areas. I asked the staff member showing me to my room why the fire door was propped open with the fire extinguisher and he said we always keep it like that.

    We sat in the bar and had some great beer. We stayed in the bar and booked a table for dinner (4 people). The dinner was great, the best I had on a month-long trip to the UK. I wish I could get their Beef pie topped with Suet and cheddar pastry in Australia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    V friendly welcome, clean, good value for money and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that it overlooks a busy main road rather than the Wye! Which is the reason I chose the inn.

    V friendly welcome, clean, good value for money and good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. The chalet rooms smell of damp and the whole place has a “tired”look about it. The Manageress did everything to make our stay comfortable but, no matter the price you pay, you don’t expect to find a broken toilet seat and black mould around the shower door. There was damp and mould in the built in wardrobe. We were given a room in the main part of the hotel and although the bed was comfortable, again the bathroom was very dated and again had black mould around the door seal. We cut our visit to 3 days as the “better” room was reserved for a disabled guest and we refused to return to a chalet room. A lovely hotel in a wonderful setting, such a shame that it has been so neglected over many years. The owners need to spend a lot of money in bringing it up to date. The management are fighting a loosing battle and will continue to receive bad reviews until a re-vamp takes place.

    The friendly staff who were always obliging. The location of the hotel is stunning set amidst rolling countryside and with a superb view of Goodrich Castle from the front terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The warm welcome, clean & tidy room, plenty of wardrobe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps from the chalets to the bar although we did appreciate the signs that said to check in before carrying your luggage down the steps as we were in a chalet room & not the main building.

    The warm welcome, clean & tidy room, plenty of wardrobe space and thoroughly enjoyed both our evening meal and the generous breakfast. Good for exploring the local area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Good company from the staff and good food id highly recomend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem were the stairs. The person that was with me had a leg in a cast and had a bit of a problem

    It was a greagt night. The bar staff were a goid laugh and we got on well. Would go again. The breakfast was excelent . freshly made to order with fresh local produce.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great nights sleep and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable and I found the pillows to be perfect. Had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was free and really good too! Staff were very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant short break in very pretty surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet room needed a lot of updating. Not ideal for someone with mobility issues.

    The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, chalet rooms do require modernising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chalet rooms are a little dated and require modernisation, unfortunately no remote control for the TV for room 16 was available for both nights that I stayed, this was reported to the staff shortly after arrival.

    The staff were very friendly and offered alternatives to breakfast (packed lunch) as I was leaving the premises for the day before breakfast commenced. Shower was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Amazing place and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was amazing. Reasonable priced, the staff and management were so friendly and helpful! We stayed for the purpose of going to Goodrich castle and it was only 3 minutes away with Ross On Wye city centre being a 10 minute drive. As we were staying for Fathers day dinner on the Sunday and there were no new guests checking into our rooms management let us check out later too! They honestly couldn't do enough for us! We stayed there for food and drinks on every night and we wasn't dissapointed once! We were well happy with being in the chalets too! It was just an amazing stay and we are already planning to come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Loverly Location. Prices good. Hotel nice. Chalet grubby. Staff / service very indifferent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in one of the six Chalet rooms set in the upper Car park. They are very dated. and look grubby, yet all they need is a good coat of paint. Beds just ok. All guests were asked to leave the restaurant / bar area at 10:30 pm as they were shutting it down. Only option is to go to your room. In our case the grubby chalet. My meal starter of fishcakes was very nice. However both my wife and I chose one of the burger options from the menu. Average at best, chips looked like they were the chunky type oven chips cooked from frozen. My wife asked to see the dessert options board. The staff forgot and it didn't arrived before everybody being asked to go to our rooms because they were shutting up at 10:30. Breakfast service no better. Waiter sat us down and got us a pot of tea and then disappeared for about 15 mins checking people out of the hotel. The tea was only just warm and had to ask for a fresh pot. Breakfast food when we eventually got it was nice. Staff seem disinterested in their attitude and just seem to go through the motions doing the minimum.

    The Inn is in a beautiful setting at the end of a bridge crossing the Wye River. Lovely views from the hotel at the rolling hills of the forest of dean and the castle. The lounge and restaurant area are very comfortable and decorated nicely. nice real ales at the bar. Wine list at very reasonable prices. Hotel seems well used by walkers and cyclists touring to Forest of Dean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    2.5
    most disappointing and very stressful due to the mess up with room bookings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this for friends and family attending my daughter's wedding nearby. The rooms were over booked and where I requested rooms together this was not delivered. The rooms were very cramped and poorly ventilated. The chalet rooms particularly were in dire need of upgrade and thorough going refurbishment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to not like.

    Staff were friendly and helpful the room was clean and comfortable the food superb and the location was perfect. Will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Adequate but tired room
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chalet room we stayed in was very jaded and in need of a lot of TLC. A lick of paint and a few pounds spent would go a long way to brightening the place up.

    The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely! Great location too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.6
    Dismal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no mobile signal there. There is no WiFi either, for at least two weeks. As far as I was concerned because of the above I would not go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and decor past it’s prime, but still comfortable, and good value.

    Friendly staff, good value for money. Good basic food. Good for a no frills place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    The service was slow in the restaurant, but the manager that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a bit picky - but the beds in the chalets are soft as jello :) some love that, I did not. But No complaints otherwise

    The service was slow in the restaurant, but the manager that took care of us took the time to explain the situation - we were fine - we were not in a rush and understood their problem. Food was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    A pretty and comfortable stop off point enroute to Wales.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband was disappointed that the real ale was cloudy.

    The setting is scenic. I liked the style, cosiness and feel of privacy of the chalet. The food was tasty with good sized portions. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is in close proximity to places of interest such as Goodrich Castle, Symonds Yat and Symonds Yat Rock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good, comfortable stay. Nice staff. Slightly remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected the hotel to be in Ross on Wye but it was a few miles out. Not a huge problem but probably would have chosen something in the town if we'd realised.

    Comfortable chalet, clean and tidy. Very helpful, friendly staff, especially the lady who was a local.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe did smell damp, so not used it as there were plenty of drawer space.

    Good location,very friendly obliging staff, good breakfast, had steak on steak night - excellent! We liked the fact that the chalets were away from the main pub.Plenty of tea and coffee and biscuits in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The staff were super-friendly, pleasant and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage from the road as you drive past was very poor, to the extent that we actually drove past it several times before we realised we had actually reached our destination!

    The staff were super-friendly, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    The staff are very nice, but everything else is very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower had pubic hairs in it - clearly not cleaned properly. Room décor is tatty. Menu is very limited and the food riddled with too much salt. Frankly, despite the price I will not be returning.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The beds are really comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space between the sink and toilet in our room was very small for a person like myself.

    The beds are really comfortable and clean. Everything is in the room that you may need. All the staff are lovely and do everything to ensure your stay is pleasurable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A great little find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated rooms, but very functional. Especially for the price!

    Superb value for money. Quiet in the evening even with a function taking place. Excellent food and many vegetarian choices. Ample portions. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff at the hotel made our stay special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was the tired bedroom and the shower tray that didn't drain properly. Room needs updating. We would have expected an up to date bedroom and a shower that drained for the price we paid.

    The staff were brilliant, really lovely and helpful. The location is ideal. Food was great too and not expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was adequate but could have been better showcasing local products, like good meaty sausages and smoked bacon.

    Value for money. Suited us as we were attending a party at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Fab weekend celebrating husbands 50th birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a couple of small points which would easily be sorted - lock on the room door - v v difficult to lock - really wouldnt take much to change. Couple of items left on table in room on arrival - clearing not 100% - but when reported to staff was dealt with

    location can't be beaten. Staff friendly. Food good. Family room excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and great location. We have booked to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast tea and coffee. Need some work on it.

    Lovely staff very welcoming. the breakfast was very good as well. We were in a chalet at the back of the hotel. They were like a tardis you got more than they looked on the outside!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Adequate accommodation for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls between the bedrooms were rather thin - I could hear the next-door conversation. Also the decorations were rather tired. The room was a good size for a single person but might prove a bit cramped for two.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening meal was very nice as was the wine. There were lots of nice beers on offer. It is set in a beautiful area with adequate parking close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was beautiful. Value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chalet I stayed in was a little out dated, could do with a new coat of paint all over ( but the room was comfortable for the night)

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, the location was beautiful and good home cooked food, both in the evening (spicy veg soup 👍) and breakfast . Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.5
    This Inn is really mainly focused on food, in need of refurb but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet - Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The comments about paper thin walls and the general tiredness of the decor are true, it is in a desperate need of refurb, but it is serviceable and good value for money. Both the room and more worryingly the inn were too cool and a little drafty. It would help if the heating was turned on in the room before you arrived. Really annoying on Sunday evening that the tables in the conservatory (the ones with the best views) were not available as they had been laid out for Breakfast before 8pm, crazy! The view is best assert. The drinking only area is a shabby (hole in the ceiling) dark alcove round an artificial fire with no views and uncomfortable soft seat..

    Great yogurt among the decent selection for breakfast. The food and beer was generally better than expected and reasonable value. The location is good for walking and the view are good, although you are a about 100 yards from the Wye which we couldn't see from room or inn. Generally everything is serviceable and good value for money. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money stay in a very picturesque location. Great deal ale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drainage in shower.

    Lovely cost chalet room, comfy bed and excellent heating. Little extras such as biscuits with tea and coffee, toiletries in bathroom and box of tissues. Big tv on wall and an excellent light in bathroom mirror. I could actually see to put my make up on which i find quite difficult in a lot of hotel rooms. Great menu for evening meal, good choice for breakfast and all served with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Bday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs could be a problem but staff allowed us drive round from chalet to front property for meals as mu husband uses 2sticks Even put a candle on his pudding as was his bday

    Lovely location , nice cosy room ,staff extremely helpful , food really good had eve meal & breakfast .good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, amazing , perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and accommodation were the nicest people nothing was too much trouble , all the staff here were amazing , I would highly recommend this inn they made our holiday extra special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Our experience at The Inn on the Wye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was really excellent, all staff very friendly, couldn't do enough for us. Everything clean and comfortable, all meals brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.0
    Stopgap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very noisy, the room was in need of modifications and updating and a deep clean,luckily we we're only stopping for 1 night

    The location was a factor of picking this pub

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Stayed on a Friday night within a short drive of Cardiff for a Saturday rugby match - blissful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is beautiful, evening meal in the bar was of high quality - really good value for money. Sitting outside with a drink as the sun went down followed by a lovely meal set the weekend off to a great start.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.8
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermostat button on the shower was missing resulting in a luke warm shower. Also the drainage was extremely slow, the water in the shower tray was starting to overlap and spill onto the floor therefore I had to terminate my shower early and finish washing in the sink. I told the staff at checkout who said they'd get someone to look at it. Which didn't help me any. Neither was I offered a discount for the inconvenience.

    Room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast good.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: