Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Derby hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of The Continental Hotel, Derby

Reviews of The Continental Hotel, Derby 3 stars

288 Burton Rd, Derby, DE23 6AD, United Kingdom

#25 of 27 hotels in Derby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 768 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2024

    8.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the breakfast on weekend a cording to their fliers in the rooms is 7am to 9am however when a few of us guest went down we were sent back told its 7.30am,secondly the lift was out of order and the room was 2floors up I struggled to get to the room.

    The hotel is good and facilities are good including the comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2024

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress not comfy

    Very clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2024

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    No

    Stayed in July 2024

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2024

    8.0
    great hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the decorating is a bit outdated

    staff were very friendly, place has everything you expect, breakfast was nice!

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2024

    7.0
    Very helpful pleasant and polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift out of order - however they said if they had known it would be a problem they would have given us a ground floor room Low water pressure

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2024

    7.0
    Nice little hotel for an overnight stay. Restaurant was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Front of house man a bit abrupt and not the most customer friendly person - Room itself was a bit small - No iron/ironing board in room

    - Free breakfast was great, really appreciated that! - Restaurant staff very friendly - Comfy bed - Spacious bathroom - Restaurant food amazing!

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2024

    7.0
    I was very satisfied with my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was fairly warm, despite it being a fairly mild June. I was comfortable, but I suspect in high summer it could get quite hot, but a fan was provided.

    They were well set up for a large event. I stayed during Download Festival and they ensured the desk was open until late for people coming back late at night, and even had someone greeting us with bags for our muddy boots. Breakfast was very good, and nice to see that included at such a reasonable price. It was manageable to walk from Derby station, or only £7 in a taxi from the station.

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2024

    8.0
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was out of action and the bath was dirty

    The breakfast was really good and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit temperamental and kept burning me

    Location was walking distance to work

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2024

    7.0
    Delightful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unhelpful when my pizza arrived and remained in the reception area for an hour.

    Value for money

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice restaurant and comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2024

    6.0
    Stay wasn't bad just the breakfast let's this place down and for that reason I wouldn't stay again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast.....was so poor and horrible no flavour or taste ....gave me a bad stomach after .....

    Friendly staff and so peaceful

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2024

    6.0
    Hotel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not like they looked on booking.com.They were smaller rooms and not as up to date. Cooked breakfast was not nice either, tasteless,cheap sausage and bacon.

    Reception was clean and looked good

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2024

    7.0
    Fabulous weekend but limited access with my current health condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park and no lift, ruined it as currently have a knee problem so stairs and location of parking on the sloop made access difficult.

    The staff, management and restaurant was good.

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2024

    7.0
    Somewhere to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on which we were not informed of. The toilets at breakfast were disgusting, obviously not cleaned from the night before. The access card was a pain, I had to get it re-programmed 3 times.

    It was ok, basic, tired looking, but ok.

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2024

    8.0
    Good hotel - good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself was slightly tired but adequate in terms of price bracket.

    Very clean - Bathroom was very clean and well stocked.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2024

    6.0
    The bed was not comfortable, the WiFi didn’t work at all. The lift wasn’t working and we were not in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable, the WiFi didn’t work at all. The lift wasn’t working and we were not informed about that prior to arrival.

    The parking facility was good

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2024

    6.0
    Great restaurant right next door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms, one of which desperately in need of better maintenance and some improvement. Wish the rooms were a little more clean, and a couple of additional facilities listed were not available in our rooms. That being said, for the one night and the price we paid, it was not too bad.

    Decent stay for one night. Clean bathrooms, quiet location, friendly staff. The hotel’s new restaurant ‘Amad’ was the best part - North Indian cuisine. We had a very delicious dinner, food was cooked beautifully and large portion sizes.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2024

    8.0
    Lovely place nice staff nice rooms lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit uncomfortable maybe needs mattress checking ? Also lift needs fixing please

    Had to book quickly as a other hotel we had booked was disappointing lovely staff nice room lovely breakfast

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2024

    7.0
    As above clean tidy and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The car park was rather steep and no disabled parking near the front of the hotel.

    Breakfast was very good value, Bedroom was clean and tidy with tea coffee making facility, bathroom was very clean with plenty of hot water,

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine didn’t work, no fan in room to start, breakfast was poor.

    Good location. Had a refurbed suite which was nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2024

    8.0
    On the whole, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    USB charger on wall by bed did not work. It would have been great if there was a charger on loan at reception desk.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2024

    8.0
    Value for money. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon at breakfast wasn't nice.

    Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The should replace room carpet, need tap mixture also, they are using old taps in bathroom.

    Good and free car parking area, easy access, good staff.

    Stayed in May 2024

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: