Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Invergarry Guest House (Adults Only) 4 stars

3 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere, LA23 2EW, United Kingdom

#17 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Confortable stay in Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water system is a bit noisy, and you can hear it pretty loud when people in other rooms are using it (even for flushing toilet or just running water while brushing your teeth). It didnt bother us but might for sensitive people

    Our room was located on the ground floor, with 2 windows we could open slightly and gave us enough fresh air for the night. We had 2 pieces of homemade cake every day which was very nice. The room is spacious and cosy, confortable bed as well. The owners are very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Great first experience in Lake District
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to point out anything

    We were absolutely delighted by Victoria and Steve's hospitality. Both of them were very kind, helpful and made our first stay in Lake District a pleasant memory, and the whole guest house has got exceptional atmosphere thanks to them. We were offered pieces of delicious welcoming home-made cake and they helped us by storing our luggage after the check-out time. The hosts make great (and cheap :-) breakfasts, including selection of teas and fresh fruits, along with good quality of bread, served in a nice living room of the house. Our bathroom was clean and the room nice and pleasant, bed very comfortable after whole day of Lake District attractions. Location of the house is also a plus as it's only 15 min walk to Bowness centre and around 20 min to Windermere; and there a public bus stop just around the corner. Staying with Victoria and Steve is highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Definitely be back x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hospitality, great location, super breakfast, rooms were tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, and a lovely welcome of home made cake and refreshments in the room. We must certainly would recommend this establishment and hope to be back in the near future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The guesthouse is walking distance between both Windermere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guesthouse is walking distance between both Windermere and Bowness. Spacious room and bathroom however the room was quite hot overnight. Really good continental and cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Superb bed and breakfast a must stay for anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    Steve & Vicky were both very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area, recommending walks, restaurants and things to do. Vicky's ginger cake is amazing. Lovely small touches that make all the difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic would go back tomorrow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault is that in 30 degree heat you really don’t want a winter duvet on your bed!

    The hosts are extremely pleasant and it is clear they care about what they do. Many little touches which make a huge difference.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break in windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location between bowness and windermere Lovely owners nice touches like home made cakes in the room Excellent choice of breakfasts Clean room and good ensure facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Excellent choice of breakfast, home made cake in the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed a little too soft for personal preference

    Excellent choice of breakfast, home made cake in the room, lots of nice touches. Walking book in room which was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Invergarry guest house (stay stay in The Lake District)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal preference, but I found the spring mattress a bit too firm for my comfort level. Perhaps a topper or padding of some sort for those of us used to foam could be an option.

    Great location between Windermere & bownes, 5 mins walk each way. Lovely hosts, very warm & welcoming, made us feel really at ease and personally recommended a couple of places we'd have been sad to miss. Nice breakfadt and delicious home made cake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Splendid.. Worth repeating..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house was very well located, rooms were comfortable, well kept, well lit and very clean. The hosts Steve and Vicky were too good- efficient, friendly and extremely good cooks. We used to wait for the sumptuous breakfast that Vicky used to lay out for us. They helped us by giving us detailed information about the walks that we could undertake to have the greatest experience ever in the lake district. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Had a terrific stay. The Guest House itself is clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really wasn't anything we didn't like. The place was spot on.

    The things we liked best were that the owners Vicky & Steve were great. Very friendly and helpful, we felt really welcome. The location is excellent, as it is positioned well for easy walks to both Windermere and Bowness. I have to also mention the amazing cake that mysteriously appears each day, gorgeous :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Above Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Every thing. You felt you were being welcomed by friends. The breakfast were superior to anything we have had before. And an added bonus there was a bus stop just round the corner, so the car stayed put.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect place, the hosts Steve and Vicky are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Absolutely perfect place, the hosts Steve and Vicky are so kind, gave us maps and information about the area, were interested in our plans. Put in our room fresh orange juice and amazing (!!! )cakes to have in our stay. Breakfast is cozy and tasty, with variety of options and jams. Location is just what you need for exploring Windermere or Bowness/ the other lakes. I really recommend this place:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved how there was hot chocolate and juice in our room, great for people who don't drink tea or coffee! Also loved the breakfast.. There was a nice continental selection and we really appreciated having lots of options to choose from in the cooked section. Location was great as well, a ten Min walk to the windermere township or a ten mins walk down to the lake. The hosts were fantastic and it was the best value for money stay out of our whole month spent in the UK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute wonderful little guesthouse- definite value for money. Hosts were very welcoming and helpful, nothing was ever too much. Our room was great and very clean- lovely decor and provided all the facilities you needed. We particularly liked the little touches with the cake and hot chocolate in the jar. The whole place just felt really homely. Location was ideal, just a short stroll to either end. We shall definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    One word PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better how do you improve perfection

    Steve and Vicky were fantastic hosts very helpful nothing was too much trouble. Vicky is an amazing baker her cakes are to die for we had fresh cake left every day for when we got back from our day out. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of choice. I asked for a cake and some jam and marmalade to take home and sure enough Vicky gave them to me as we left all in all this is a fantastic guest house with fantastic hosts in a perfect location I would highly recommend it. 10/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay will no doubt be back whenever we visit The Lakes again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hosts very welcoming, lovely room & great breakfasts cooked to order. Very clean & nothing too much trouble. Quiet location on a lovely road, ample parking on this road. Would recommend to everyone to book Invergarry Guest House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant accomadation good position for town 10 minutes walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On entering the shower/bathroom was a slight odder of damp, window were open to air the room. Shower basic but working . Was a curtain in the shower room i recon a blind would be better. Curtains above bed a pull cord would of helped as had to stand on bed to close them

    Friendly helpful Steve helped bring cases in and up the stairs . Professional approach mentioned the keys also bell downstairs press for assistance . Top room Penthouse mmmm clean comfortable bed two pieces of cake, and other purchase's could be made framed photos jam etc. Plus tea making facility's , TV Breakfast fresh and plenty of choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful! The owners were absolutely delightful and the location was perfect. Such a lovely atmosphere! My husband and I loved our stay and would love to revisit in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We would definatley stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed well and the breakfast was value for money, we had a nice cozy room and enjoyed our stay there very much. great location too, just a 5 minute walk to the bars and the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Homemade Bliss
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building is a little on the old side, could use a redo. But decor is modern and well done, nothing that would decrease the review.

    A very warm reception from a wonderful host Steve. Property was easy to find. Great breakfast with a wide variety of choice. Very accommodating to dietary requirements with homemade everything and greatly sourced produce. Excellent marmalade, delicious sweet treats in the room and friendly atmosphere!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely stay and would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would prefer a bigger bath towel

    Nicely decorated room, very clean and comfortable bed. Hosts were very friendly. Home made cake a nice touch. Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience. Great memories to take home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been improved.

    Room was excellent. Very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was delicious and there was lots on offer. Owners were great. So helpful and friendly. Location was good. Walking distance to shops and attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything you could expect absolutely fantastic location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside there wasn’t a fridge in the room to keep things ie drinks food nice and fresh

    Everything you could expect absolutely fantastic location polite staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Was like a home away from home, with fresh cakes, amazing bread, lovely owners and comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    Our stay here was brilliant, the decor is fresh, the facilities were lovely (homemade cake every day, can't go wrong!) and the owners were so friendly and helpful. We highly recommend staying here, the location is perfect, the food is great and the beds were so comfortable. Also, the marmalade was AMAZING.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice experience of English cultures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can select own breakfast in several kinds of English style breakfast. It was enjoyable and good taste. There were coffee and tea and some pastries in the room. It was also good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Awesome, friendly, clean place. The location is superb. We would definitely recommend here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved it here and would definitely stay again. Victoria & Steve, the owners, were so lovely & made us feel very welcome. They were just at the end of the phone if we needed them. Perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We will be back...as soon as we can persuade the grandparents to look after our 2 kids again 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. We can't fault any part of our visit. Perhaps I'll take this opportunity to compliment the homemade jam and marmalade at breakfast...yummy!

    Having left our children with their grandparents this weekend, our focus was rest, relaxation and some fun at a friend's wedding. We opted for the Adult-only Invergarry Guesthouse as our accommodation to try and ensure the relaxation part...and we weren't disappointed. Vicky and Steve were the perfect hosts and masters of delivering a relaxed and enjoyable stay. Our room was clean, bright and homely with a super-comfortable bed and mattress. The whole guesthouse was just as clean a pleasure to visit...a home from home. Vicky's fresh homemade bread at breakfast took the tasty and generous breakfast to the next level and her complimentary cake each day in our room was also a welcome treat! At least we think it was Vicky's cake...it may have been Steve's - either way, it was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was really cosy and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really cosy and warm. Both Steve and Victoria were very welcoming and the freshly baked cake in the room on arrival was a lovely touch. Great food and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant location, huge comfortable room! Lovely owner 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed one night!

    Brilliantly located, ten minutes either way to Bowness and Windermere. Steve was very welcoming and great to chat to on arrival. The room was really well decorated, warm, and a lot bigger than we expected! (We were very impressed to be given the ‘best room in the house!’ And it definitely seemed so when we walked in to see the sun shining through the great big window! The bathroom was a great size and lovely shower. We decided not to have breakfast as we were only there one night, but the little treats we found in our room were more than enough to keep us going! The orange juice was lovely, as was the coffee and the biscuits! And of course, Victoria’s homemade ginger was absolutley delicious! We will definitely be staying here next time we visit. Thank you for having us 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Arrive as strangers, leave as friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I chose Invergarry Guest House because I had read about Vicky's homemade jam, marmalade, bread and fresh cakes and our stay certainly didn't disappoint! Vicky and Steve are exceptionally welcoming and we enjoyed the comfort and luxury of staying in their super king room with beautiful bathroom. Vicky bakes scrumptious cakes which she puts on the tea tray every morning. We also bought a gorgeous toffee cake from her for the journey home. Breakfast was excellent with homemade bread for toast, loads of choice for the cooked breakfast, teas/ coffee and Vicky even made a pretty stack with my dippy egg soldiers on our last morning :-) Invergarry is in a great location, 5 min walk to Bowness for restaurants and pubs for an evening meal as well as Beatrix Potter attraction and if you keep walking you get to the lakeside for boat trips. Steve lent us his map and there were leaflets, maps and booklets to make the most of your stay. From here we had days including visits to Hill Top, Hawkshead, Helvellyn, Keswick, Coniston, Buttermere and more. We are already recommending Invergarry to friends and family and hope to come back one Autumn :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Perfect location for Windermere or Bowness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Windermere or Bowness. Was made to feel welcome by the staff. Room was very clean and the bathroom was amazing. Breakfast was a very nice cooked English. Would definitely recommend this to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Lovely night away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay here. Cake in the room on arrival, very clean and spacious room. Also tea, coffee, hot chocolate and orange juice which I really appreciated as I don’t drink hot drinks. Very friendly staff. Only on street parking but we managed to park ok. Great location. Walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Will be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Easter Break at Invergarry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I can think of is the weather could of been better...

    We had a lovely stay at Invergarry and we are coming back again in May! We were greeted on arrival and shown to our newly decorated room which was gorgeous and very clean! The location was great as we were within walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness in Windermere so could pick and choose where we wanted to go...lovely added extras such as toiletries, home made cake everyday, juice and hot chocolate. We did not have breakfast, however the menu looked lovely and we will definitely try next time. Could not fault the hosts and nothing was too much trouble - definitely will recommend to family :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    First visit to Windermere to celebrate 🎉 our 26th wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike really apart from the shower 🚿 water pressure

    Everything was liked about this property from the location to the hosts Steve and vicky

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door knob in the bathroom door didn't particularly work well but that was just a small thing in the scheme of things.

    Room was clean with nice natural light from the window. Steve and Victoria were friendly and sweet and we even had delicious welcome cakes waiting in the room for us! Close to the lake by foot or drive and also close to the main city area with all the eateries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Great hosts Steve & Victoria, very friendly and couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything that we didn’t like!

    Great hosts Steve & Victoria, very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us. From advising us of local walks and attractions in the area to where to eat and drink at night, they were always very helpful. The location is prefect located in between Windermere and Bowness making it easy to walk to either at night time or to the lake in the day. The guess house had lots of special touches such as the homemade breads & jams at breakfast and the homemade cake in the room everyday. Always a good choice of breakfast, the full English is spot on!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Wish we had booked more nights! Location was ideal, walking distance to the town and harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints really. A bath would have been the icing on the cake but we knew when we booked that our room would only have a shower.

    Lovely little welcome gestures like home made cake in the room and fresh milk . Breakfasts were served so quickly and tasted delicious. Hosts were delightful and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, Windermere and bowness walkable in 10mins. Excellent hosts who were attentive but not intrusive. Very comfortable bed and lovely touches, such as homemade cake every day. Couldn't fault it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    As soon as we entered Invergarry Guest House, Steve was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As soon as we entered Invergarry Guest House, Steve was extremely welcoming and was willing to help us with all aspects of our stay. Our bed was very comfortable and breakfast was lovely! There was a good selection of continental and hot food. The location is very good with only a short walk to Bowness and Windermere. I would definitely stay here again and would urge others to stay here too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    4.6
    Go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was extremely business oriented. It seemed, rushed, oppressive and demanding. For an adult only guest house, I felt like there were a lot of rules. We paid 76 pounds to stay and opted out of having breakfast as we needed to leave early in the morning to reach our next destination. We were told by Steve that THEY don't like guests to leave before 6am as it is disruptive to other guests. He advised us not to take a shower so early in the morning and not to make multiple trips up and down the stairs. We ended up changing OUR travel plans to fit around his rules. There is a CAT AT THIS PROPERTY. I have chronic allergies to cats and was not notified on the website that this was the case. If you have allergies, please be aware of this. We were in the small standard room. The bed was mid-firm and uncomfortable for most of the night. The bed was small. I SLEPT ON THE FLOOR as it was better for my back, my partner slept on the bed. The moldings and seal of the shower came off the door when it was opened. The hot chocolate and coffee had not been topped up in the room. Parking is on the street. If you would like a better stay and have a car, may I suggest the YHA down the road. It has amazing views and wonderful service close to town. We will be booking there for all of our future Lake District stays.

    The room was acceptably clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Quiet room and detached room at back of house.
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A shower that had to be turned on outside of the bathroom with no temperature control. A TV that had no or very poor signal. Hangers that could only be used in the wardrobe - no good for hanging wet gear up after a soggy day.

    Quiet room and detached room at back of house.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Altogether a delightful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host was extremely friendly and accommodating, gave us all necessary information to make our stay successful, and even volunteered to wash our clothing. The room was very pretty and comfortable with a pleasant view. Breakfast was full and delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation for our first stay in the lake district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aspects of the stay I didn't like.

    A comfortable clean and friendly guesthouse in a good location and the owners were very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was good and the cakes in the room were a lovely extra added touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay. Comfortable, welcoming, great breakfast, lovely people, we had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like but maybe the parking could have been better.

    We stayed in a lovely room, the bed was really comfy and the en suite was clean and spacious. The hosts were very friendly, welcoming and Very knowledgable about the surrounding areas. Breakfast was superb and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant and welcoming stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy beds, lovely owners who made you feel very welcome, food was fab and the view from room was lovely too as well as only being a short walk to shops and restaurant. Usually stay on a bigger hotel so wasn't sure what to expect but such a lovely little guest house, a home away from home!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    very welcoming and appealing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a thing that we could complain about

    The guest house was lovely a very warm welcome we were in the garden room it was very nice quite and comfortable breakfast was excellent a very good choice of menu and brought to you warm and appealing will be returning to this guest house again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Great stay, we were really lucky with weather and during a couple of short showers we were inside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Steve and Vicky are perfect hosts, the ideal people to run a Guest House! They remember small details which make a real difference. Greeting you by name in the morning and remembering the breakfast orders, etc - as I say small details but definitely makes a difference. This place is really well placed between Windermere & Bowness and both towns are just a 10 minute walk away. Thanks so much to Steve & Vicky for an excellent stay in the Lakes!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Really relaxing stay in comfortable and welcoming surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy going owners who were willing to help with information if you needed it but weren't intrusive. Lovely breakfasts, plenty of supplies in the room - both tea,coffee,etc, plus nice toiletries AND home made cake every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Would use again if staying in Windermere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the garden room, off the main building which was our own little den. This actually worked out well for us as we were travelling from Scotland in the early evening so wouldn't get to Windermere until late on. The owners contacted us day before we arrived to check on our arrival time which was thoughtful. We were able to come and go through the side gate which meant we didn't disturb any other guests in the main house. Hostess left slices of home baked cake in the room every evening and the breakfast was fresh, well cooked, looked like home made bread and delivered with a smile each morning. The couple running the guest house were attentive and gave due care and attention to the facities and seemed keen to ensure that our stay was comfortable. Location couldn't have been better as it was central to Bowness and there were plenty of eating establishments in the area. Good wi-fi connection in the house for those who rely on that service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Steve and Victoria are so friendly and kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Victoria are so friendly and kind! The breakfast they offered is excellent, with a variety of choices. Great location, just ten-minute walk to the town centre and Bowness Pier. My mum and I just had a wonderful time here, definitely will come here another time!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    A relaxing stay with lots of home comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the garden room. It was very comfy, quiet and private. There were lots of nice touches too, such as homemade bread, cake to eat with tea/coffee in the room and bath robes supplied. There was also a good selection of cooked breakfasts, including full Cumbrian, omelette, porridge, saucy mushrooms on toast, beans on toast and more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location, outstanding views and extremely kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, outstanding views and extremely kind hosts. We will definitely recommend Invergarry Guest House to anyone travelling to Windermere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Lovely place and great price. Would definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were a little small. Loose slate on steps outside could be dangerous. Loose bathroom tap.

    Lovely home made cake upon arrival, delicious breakfast. Lovely attentive hosts. Ideal location and beautiful furnishings and furniture. Made to feel very welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    We were overnighting on our way up to Glasgow - PERFECT pit stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only non-smiley face was that the shower pressure left a bit to be desired

    This is a LOVELY LOVELY guest house . Steve and Victoria perfect hosts and the breakfast - YUMMMMMMY. Use the little walk book that they publish and is in the black folder in your room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent property with exceptional service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were very attentative to us as a family. They made our stay a pleasure. Breakfast was amazing and the homemade jams, bread and cake is what makes it extra special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and cosy..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and welcoming, loved it all and no complaints at all. Its easy access to town of wildermere and the lake. Parking is free for cars and suv if you are driving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Lovely homely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host gave us a lift in his car to the hotel from the train station. Breakfast was a selection of delicious homemade options. The room was comfortable and cute. The location is walking from Windermere Lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    11 out of 10!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve and Victoria were great, friendly hosts who really took the time to get to know us the short time we were there! They were extremely helpful; at our disposal; included loads of info in the welcome pack; homemade cake in the room; generous breakfast portions - and good, quality food; modern and cosy furniture! The location is great as it's halfway between Windermere Stn and the Lake!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Amazing little break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast times could be a bit longer (8am-10am would be great)

    Absolutely everything about this place especially hosts, the little details in the room and amazing food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous Lakes District B'nB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steve meet us with a very warm welcome and provided us with helpful directions. Our accommodation was perfect with comfortable beds beautifully decorated room, lovely ensuite and a lovely home cooked breakfast. The location is perfect, short walk to either Windermere or Bowness. Highly recommend this B'nB

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Lovely Guest House for Windermere Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is only a 10 minute walk into Windermere. Both Steve and Vicki are great hosts and make sure that you are well looked after throughout your stay. The room was faultless and the added bonus of cake daily was a welcome treat. Highly recommend if your staying in the Lake District

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Define mate place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing perfect

    Amazing clean friendly helpful place to stay couldn't have asked for better it was our anniversary and we returned back to our room to find a card and chocolates from Steve and Vicky what a lovely gesture would recommend to anyone food was beautiful fresh and hot thankyou steve and Vicky hope to see you soon x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couple who ran the guest house, were very helpful, but were happy to leave you to it, if that's what you preferred. Loved the world map they had up in the breakfast room for the guest to mark where they are from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B a short walk from Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike with this B&B

    The room was lovely and a nice size, and the bathroom was also a good size. It was decorated modernly and tastefully. There is a cafettiere in the room with fresh coffee, orange juice and a slice of home made cake is refreshed each day. This was a very nice touch. There was a very good selection of cooked breakfasts to choose from each day, along with the cereals, fruit and home made jams. All in all this is a lovely B&B run by very friendly people. It is easy walking distance from the nearest bus stop at the end of the road and we walked into Windermere in under 10 minutes. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great stay at Invergarry guest house. Communication with the owners was great, ensuring we arrived safely and retrieved our key as we were arriving late, they're so kind, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was AMAZING, a good choice of food and all delicious! Even homemade jam! The room was of ample size and the comfiness of the bed was welcomed after a long day of walking.. and the homemade cake left in the room of course! Cannot fault this guest house in a single way and hope to return someday!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Lovely B&B - Recommend staying here 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't fault it.

    Steve and Victoria are very welcoming and very helpful and friendly! Breakfast is locally sourced and delicious! We had the small double room but it was bigger than it was in the pictures (so pictures did it no justice) it was comfy enough for two people with a big bathroom which was really clean and you have tea/coffee making facilities in your room for that nice cup of coffee in the morning :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    We loved staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved staying here!! It felt very cosy and homely, the bed was super comfortable and the breakfast fantastic! We could walk to both towns from the location. Would stay again for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Excellent all round,ideal place for seeing the lake district...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round,ideal place for seeing the lake district well situated short walk to Windermere.room was excellent, breakfast was excellent,owners couldn't do enough definitely go again.......

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    A good centre for a break......you will be made very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some stairs but the staff were more than helpful with luggage.

    The breakfast was excellent ...... Staff were efficient and friendly. The room was of good size. Parking was good without charge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that we didn't like!

    My husband and I booked 3 nights in the Superior Double Room and we loved it!! Best B&B either of us has stayed in out of our many travels! Steve and Victoria were the nicest couple, and they offered us top notch service as their guests! Our room was super clean and beautifully appointed, stocked with homemade cakes, orange squash, Kendal mint cake, hot cocoa, coffee, plush robes, etc etc. Breakfast each morning was delicious, made-to-order and served with homemade jams and breads. Loved chatting with Steve and Victoria too :-) The house is in a prime location for going down into Bowness or up to Windermere. Excellently situated right off the main road that runs through both towns and down to Lake Windermere. We cannot recommend this B&B enough. Thank you!! What a lovely time we had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Steve and Victoria are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steve and Victoria are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was yummy. I especially enjoy the stay with the accompany of their lovely cat Spook :-) The WIFI works very well. The location of this guest house is in the middle of Bowness and Windermere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, great hosts, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent bed & breakfast. Beds were extremely comfortable (much more comfortable than my bed in London...) and the facilities were excellent. Location is great as well, as it's within a 15 minute walk to Lake Windermere. Breakfast was also wonderful. For just 5 pounds, we got coffee, toast, fruit, omelettes, and yogurt. Couldn't have asked for a better stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    We had a such a wonderful stay at Invergarry House, we only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a such a wonderful stay at Invergarry House, we only wish we could have stayed longer! The room was stunningly designed and incredibly comfortable but the real shining aspects of our stay were our lovely hosts. Steve and Vicky are two of the kindest people we have met in a while and they truly made our visit to Windermere absolutely perfect. We hope to visit again soon!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay with friendly hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was either very hot or very cold but we managed.

    Steve & Vicky where lovely hosts and the extra touches like homemade cake where special. Delicious breakfasts and friendly atmosphere. Would go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: