Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Invicta Hotel 3 stars

11/12 Osborne Place, Lockyer Street, The Hoe, Plymouth, PL1 2PU, United Kingdom

#8 of 15 hotels in Plymouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 305 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Nice little hotel close to the sea and close to the Barbican where there are plenty of restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb Salmon , kippers , traditional it was all there The bar area was nice and cozy with a well stocked bar The bedroom was well sized with both a tea making facilities and a hair dryer that actually works

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Although it was a lovely hotel, I am a light sleeper and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King or Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was a lovely hotel, I am a light sleeper and my bedroom window was facing the main road, so didn’t get much sleep due to traffic noise. Windows are not double glazed which would have helped with traffic noise..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Great bar and front room area, perfect location.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was the spa bath, quite outdated and bath panel was hanging on.. not affected my stay and would still stay again.. but just wasn’t expecting to see that.

    Great bar and front room area, perfect location.. particularly when graduating. We could see the graduation tent. Beds and bedding were superb, very comfortable. Very polite kind and friendly owners/staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and a bit claustrophobic as it was in effect an attic room as walls slanted in slightly. No lift do last flight of stairs were particularly steep.

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, within walking distance for the theatre, Barbican, the Hoe and shopping. Great to have parking, although very tight if you get the last space so recommend reversing in (Francis was very helpful guiding me in). We didn't eat here purely as we were out and about! We would certainly stay here again when we next visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in a great part of Plymouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Great hotel in a great location! Rooms were small but adequate! We were lucky with the car park as there was limited space and we managed to get a spot for the duration of our stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely friendly hotel - would use again when visiting Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely warm overnight, but the staff provided a fan which helped. The parking was fairly limited and when full a discounted street parking option was available, but this wasn't obvious from information initially provided.

    The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was excellent! Location very central and ideal for our visit. Room was good - opted for top floor which meant a lot of stairs, but this was clearly explained in description before we booked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Location, breakfast was very nice & freshly cooked,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very small at the top of building. It could have been better with the TV being smaller & mounted on the wall. Water pressure on shower was very poor, it was like a trickle. Positives out weighed these negatives, but felt that hotelier would welcome constructive comments.

    Location, breakfast was very nice & freshly cooked, staff very friendly & helpful, a bar on site. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Bed was very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small, toilet right next to the sink. Roof started leaking by the window due to heavy rain. Room was quite hot

    Bed was very comfy Staff were lovely and approachable Lovely hotel and great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, amenable, and spacious! Good food too, lots of choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That booking.com didn't give us an appropriate room! We clearly stated we had a 5 year old with us! But The hotel were very good, and sorted us out. This was prior to our arrival.

    The staff, very, very helpful. The room was very good and large. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Our first stay at the Invicta Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious and very clean, but unfortunately it was so hot! I know this is hard to prevent when the weather is already hot out, but our window kept sliding down which made cooling the room down more difficult.

    The location was just what we needed as we were attending an event on The Hoe. The room was spacious enough for two people both with luggage and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel welcomed. Would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend, especially for how close it's located to The Hoe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was lovely, but the room at the top needs to be addressed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew our room was going to be bijou... but paper coming off the walls isn’t really acceptable.. it said the hotel had been done up, but clearly not this room...

    Lots of choice.. not just the usual fry up.. muffins and crumpets on offer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    End of student year pick-up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the only room in the hotel according to booking.com we were up in the top floor. Great view but very steep stairs on the flight up. Also being very sunny and hot it got very warm. No aircon but a fan was supplied.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts so would recommend it is booked with your package. Very convenient for the Hoe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Poor value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was more metal springs than comfortable material and I was 5 floors up with no lift. Very expensive stay.

    The food was amazing I'd highly recommend eating in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good - slept well, nice comfortable room and excellent breakfast. I will be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King or Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not great - bit slow and dropped out once or twice when e-mailing whilst reviewing large files (drawings & photos).

    Excellent breakfast, nice to have it cooked to order rather than self service from a buffet as most business hotels. Staff really friendly and room nicely refurbished and all good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient for shops, Hoe and Barbican
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our compact double was exactly that, but if you don’t wish to climb three flights of stairs with luggage, make sure you mention this. Staff were very good in helping to get luggage to room however.

    Good location for the Hoe and Barbican. Close to shops. Small car park to rear of hotel, which had spaces. Bar was well stocked and reasonably priced. Good choice of items for breakfast. Evening meals available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and very good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was more of a dribble than a spray and the temperature couldn't be adjusted. Avoiding getting one of the rooms at the top of the hotel might help and will be less exhausting as there's no lift.

    Great staff and very good value in a prime Plymouth location. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly high standard hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clarity about parking arrangements. There are only a few spaces on the premises although on street parking, at a cost, seems easy. For overnight stayers and travellers this should not be a problem.

    The excellent standards of cleanliness and a genuinely friendly relaxed atmosphere, plus a great breakfast. We had a compact room which although small was well designed so this was not a problem. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the Hoe and older parts of town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing but disappointed with menu although food was cooked well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some housekeeping issues, failed to tell me the City bus stop nearby which would've saved some walking. Menus not same as website

    Staff friendly and mostly efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Warm welcome, great location, nice bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    My wife and I stayed here over the Easter bank holiday and we were very pleased and impressed. On arrival we were given a very warm and personal welcome. The bedrooms are a good size, very clean and comfortable, the television has lots of channels- and they provide lots of tea and coffee in the room. There is excellent quality Wi-Fi In the bedrooms. The restaurant is bright and cheery and serves a fantastic breakfast- one of the few places left the days where you get proper table service not only a buffet. The lounge bar is very cosy with a lovely atmosphere- and one evening the owner went and made roast potato snacks for the guests completely free of charge- The location could not be better right by the famous Plymouth Hoe- all this at a very reasonable price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Wet weekend sorting family obligations made bareable by choice of venue.
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were approachable, polite, attentive and helpful. Room was clean, with all the amenities we required, bed was very comfortable. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, perfect staff, what more can be said?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    I would definitely book here again. The staff were so lovely and the hotel was clean, quiet, relaxing and genuinely just the place I was looking for. It was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    A safe warm and welcoming haven at a difficult time.
    • Couple
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Weather!

    Breakfast is grand...beds comfy....staff very friendly and accomodating. A friendly family feel in A great location. Dinner is good value and the burger and fries exceptional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    locations was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was small.

    locations was great. walking distance from the Plymouth pavilions. parking was free and convenient. breakfast was good. friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Good stay looking forward to next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot or cold temperatures for the tap. Cold tap came out hot so it took a while coming cold. We thought it was a bit unfair that one person doing everything eg showing us our seats for breakfast, cooking it all and reception duties. The room me and my other half stayed in had holes in the wall felt like it was punched wall & cracks all up the wall.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Good greeting as soon we arrived and at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location let down by some aspects of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the overall experience was good, it was seriously let down by a dull mechanical droning noise all night making sleep difficult. This was either caused by the 2 units attached the outside of the bedroom wall or the drinks fridge located in the breakfast room against the other side of the toilet wall. Other bad things were the worn chair, peeling paper in the middle of the ceiling. There is no window blind in the toilet. I know it has patterned glass but it is on the ground floor facing the car park. The welcome coffee was tasteless.

    We liked the large bed. The breakfast was great and the lady who served us was very nice and accommodating. The position of the hotel was great for the Hoe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Location, comfy bed, parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water so hot could cause burns, receptionist not particularly friendly bar not available, breakfast indifferent mushrooms swimming in butter, sausage not great ,toaster left toast very well done or burnt

    Location, comfy bed, parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location & value for money ( be quick to secure parking at the hotel though)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the third time we have stayed , and we had a complementary upgrade to a larger room which was a nice surprise . Staff always welcoming , obliging and friendly . Excellent breakfast too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was faultless and we would not hesitate to stay there again

    Good location by The Hoe. Having free parking was a real bonus. Love the breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Just one word 'excellent'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chatted to the owner in the bar the night we stayed and found Roy a very warm and friendly person who had the same sense of humour as ourselves. We could not fault anything. The breakfast was fab! shame we only stayed for 1 night....but we will be back!! Book direct with the hotel and you may find it cheaper.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right at the top of the house and the stairs weren't much fun!

    The staff were really lovely helpful and pleasant the location was fantastic central to everywhere of interest

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Very good will come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a the top floor , which we knew before we booked , with no lift , which we also knew but the climb didn't get any easier

    Very comfortable, very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in Plymouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King or Twin Room - First floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had booked a twin room but were asked to accept a double as staff were unable to change it to twin until the next day. As this was two single beds put together it wasn't too much of a problem - but could have been awkward. The armchair in the room was stained.

    Really delicious breakfast. We ate in the hotel on the first night. The food was great and reasonably priced. The manager and catering staff were really accommodating and friendly. The location was perfect for our stay giving us easy access to all the key attractions and as I stayed with my elderly mother this was brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coat hooks on back of door. Safety evacuation signs not in room. No fire exit sign on secondary staircase door

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent food and drink and staff. Good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy for parking and the bed was uncomfortable but nothing major to complain about.

    Superb award winning breakfast. The owners are wonderful and very friendly helpful and polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, efficient & convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew our room was three stories up - no lift as building is listed - so not a moan really.

    Very convenient and friendly traditional hotel with many nice touches in the room which was spotless and modern. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Thank you for a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could have an issue with parking, as it seemed that the parking area is full. But we checked and found at least few free spots. So there could be a tip - if it looks like there is no free space for your car, just double check the parking area.

    Staff was very good and breakfast was just amazing! The owner of the hotel met us at the reception. He was super friendly and helpful. If I come to Plymouth again, I will definitely choose the same hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Would be very happy to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have any mobility problems request a room on lower floor. There is no lift and the stairs are steep.

    Invicta Hotel was in a great location with easy access to Plymouth Hoe, cafes and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the wait staff were happy to put special requests to the chef and requests were always met. We stayed for three days and would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    A most enjoyable short stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor. Could do with a lift. Stairs could be a problem for the elderly.

    The hotel was nicely situated with walking distance to the Barbican and a great choice of restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient hotel for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bearnaise sauce on my egg benedict was horrible, bright yellow and tasted of salad cream. My husbands full English was fine. Awkward to find a socket in the bedroom to charge my phone. Really hard to reach behind desk. This was also the same place to plug in the kettle. Also cups weren't very clean. There was a very strong smell of air freshener in the room which was a bit overpowering.

    Location excellent. Really helpful to have a secure car park as our car was packed full of my son's stuff which we were moving for him. Bedroom and bathroom clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast and all complementary coffees were amazing.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bigger room for the price.

    Breakfast and all complementary coffees were amazing. Location great. Secure parking great Spotlessly clean room and facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and decor is dated . The breakfast could have been better . There was no sweetener available and the jam selection was poor .

    The room was larger than average & the staff very friendly . The location amazing .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    City centre Georgian hotel with friendly staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and friendly staff, great to have free off-street parking, lovely breakfast and a short walk to either the city centre or the Hoe. I had a single room but it was a fair size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    A nice, freshly decorated hotel with clean rooms and great shower/bathrooms right on the Hoe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs won't suit older customers and maybe some with small children.

    Location is excellent and the room we stayed in had not long been decorated - as had the rest of the hotel from what we could see. All nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for the Hoe, the Barbican, shops, restaurants and theatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 8 parking spaces. If you can’t get into the hotel car park, the street parking is £2.50/hour.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast menu is extensive and is beautifully cooked. I was originally put in a pokey single room but was offered the chance to move to a much better room before I had complained. That’s great service! The second room I had was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Near to Plymouth Hoe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room carpet and facilities in room were a little worn

    the location. the hotel is right next to the hoe, pity it was cordoned off for MTV Crash the weekend we were there. We arrived late so got to street park at £5 but sadly misunderstood the duration and got a parking ticket. staff was warm and allowed us to shift our car into the property carpark the morning we were going to check out but wanted a walk around the hoe park. Bed was very comfy, but no aircon in room so it was a little stuffy if the window was closed. We opened it, and thankfully no rowdy crowd overnight fr the concert because our room was facing the street. There was a little fan in the room in place of aircon. Room was very clean, but a little old so some things are a little worn out. Breakfast was fabulous. There's a tesco an easy short walk downhill

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small lots of stairs to cover with large heavy bags walls very thin bathroom door stiff and awkward very pricey room

    Staff where fab really welcoming and lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    5.8
    Premium price for a very average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like a concreate slab. Myself and my partner couldn't sleep after a ten hour journey it was terribly uncomfortable. I retired on an arm chair in the end! I had a bitter lemon bottles drink from the bar which was out of date? Which I noticed after drinking it.

    The food was great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    4.6
    disappointing stay
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rest of the staff was not helpful and on the border of rude Room was really tiny Shower was bad

    Breakfast was great and the lady service breakfast was helpful and really nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    We would stay again the staff were very friendly but we would book a room on the first floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 30 the stairs were exhausting & the room was very small it really was a single room with a double bed in it.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast good portion size and very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Invicta hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with toilet not flushing when we arrived. It was dealt with immediately we were given another room. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good location and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is close to the centre and in a very quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the centre and in a very quiet location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a small car park which is very helpful if you arrive by car as parking is a problem in Plymouth.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    10
    An excellent relaxing 4 day stay at this family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we needed to complain about.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Excellent selection for breakfast which was nicely cooked. The Evening meals were also very good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Friendly small hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the top floor and the stairs were very steep up the last section - it is an old house and part of the character, but quite awkward to carry large bags up and down. Also, on the second day when we came back in after the day out there was a bit of a drain smell coming from the bathroom but it didn't seem to last for long.

    Friendly and helpful staff - even found a twin room for me as I had mistakenly booked a double for me and my daughter. Very clean and well appointed. Close to the sea and the Hoe, although the weather was so bad we could barely get to see the sea! Breakfast was good and there is a comfortable lounge and bar for guests.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Superbly maintained listed building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs steep especially to the third floor and no lift due to the age and listed nature of the building.

    Large comfortable bed, superb breakfast closeness to the Hoe for views out across the Sound. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So clean, everything look liked it had been newly refurbished, lovely views over the Hoe, lovely staff friendly and helpful fabulous breakfast menu and lovely breakfast hostess and great value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money & would definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Family Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water temperature could have been a bit warmer.

    The staff were really friendly & the hotel was very child friendly. The bed was a super king & comfy. Good & resonably priced evening meal menu available. The choice for breakfast was great & the cooked breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    3.8
    Do not stay in room 30
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirt and used chocolate wrappers under the bed. Radiator broken and not repaired when asked.Room was at the top of the building and was boiling hot. Had to sleep with window open and the fan on. After many emails to they hotel they have not apologised or offered a refund or similar. Car park was small and full so had to park on the road.and pay. The lack of sleep because of the hot room ruined our weekend. We were not offered a room swap.

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to fault. We enjoyed our stay. Had everything in the room and area to hand.

    The welcome was suberb. May to feel like friends returning. The shower was large and comfortable. Breakfast was freshly made. Perfect place for us to stay. A 5 minute walk from the hoe and barbican.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    10
    This Hotel Is a MUST
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    No improvements required

    There was nothing to dislike. The staff were friendly. I was greeted with fresh coffee on arrival. The food was outstanding, and, excellent value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    10
    Comfy grade listed hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact King or Twin Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift as listed building so needed to know in advance. Food was alright but could have been better.

    Homely nature alongside comfort. Very helpful staff. Lovely room and amenities. Marvellous entrance sitting room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Great for the Theatre Royal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't ready for the advertised check-in time of 2pm and though I was warmly welcomed and offered refreshments while I waited (and I appreciated that they had been really busy) I didn't really want to have to sit around in the lounge area. The room heating was a bit of a faff.

    The hosts and staff are really friendly and welcoming - if I'd needed anything extra I'm sure they would have helped me quickly and efficiently. The location is excellent - close to the Theatre Royal and main shopping area. The building is an attractive old one with a bit of a history. The bed was comfortable with clean, lightweight while warm bed linen/duvet etc. Everything was clean. The breakfast is excellent with a varied range of delicious cooked options all included in the nightly rate and is great value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Highly recommended place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a very warm welcome and help to my room. Everyone made me feel at home. The room was comfortable, I had a nice big tv and the wifi was perfect. The food was delicious! I will be coming back.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.6
    We will be back next trip to Plymouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only down side was the weather, but you can't hold that against the hotel, as it was we rounded off a night out with an hour or so in the nice and cosy bar talking to other guests and the owner.

    We booked a room with a large bed, I was expecting a standard king size, it was a super king. Well balance mattress and decent pillows made for a good night of sleep :) The staff were really friendly and attentive, the breakfast was excellent, a perfect poached egg with some really nice tasty sausage.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    A well-located hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A well-located hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfasts were cooked to order, so much better than the standard hotel buffet. I will certainly stay here again when in Plymouth

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.0
    More room for improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Second Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the bathroom floor and dirt at both hall and bathroom windows. Breakfast was cool on my first morning,however the second morning was great, ate all my food.

    Liked the digital TV. My kids were able to watch their favourite catoons on Netflix.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location. Everything in walking distance of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small which was fine for a short stay. I think they would probably give you a larger room if you were staying for a week.

    Location was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Everything we needed to see was in walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Clean and tidy with great bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic King or Twin Room - First floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy with great bar. The restaurant was nice with high quality food, all cooked fresh and very well presented. Great location being 2 minutes walk from the Hoe and 5 minutes from the shopping centre. Parking available at rear.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mug in the bathroom leaked. It was a bit dark in the lounge for reading

    The bed was very comfy. The dinner was excellent and the breakfast very good. The toaster worked to brown the toast properly rather than the usual crisp whiteness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel. Fantastic breakfasts. Lovely position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found climbling up the stairs to an attic bedroom difficult ! I know the reasons why lifts cannot be installed at this hotel but as an old girl of 76 years of age it was a bit of a challenge!!!

    A really guest friendly hotel. From arrival to departure

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Adequate hotel in excellent town centre location, with good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfort of bed. Top floor room was small and there is no lift. Staff initially couldn't find our booking and had 'changed' our name.

    Excellent location and view. Breakfast selection good. Offstreet parking and WiFi available.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An elevator would have been nice

    The staff was really friendly and the room clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King or Twin Room - Second Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast

    Convenient location and walking distance to harbour & Barbican area and the Hoe. On site free parking. Comfortable room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room - Top Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was functional but a bit dated.

    Location was fantastic. Great breakfast with welcoming waitress.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty , filthy room & bathroom no blind in bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: