Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of J.D.Young

2-4 Market Place, Harleston, Harleston, IP20 9AD, United Kingdom

#3 of 5 hotels in Harleston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 109 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Area around the hotel, was full of noise, especially early morning, but that was the only problem.

    Food was really nice, staff very friendly, over all we had a nice stay, would go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor detail, Bath towels should be a bit bigger bath sheets would be great as ones supplied did not go round a larger person.

    The room and bed was very clean and comfortable and as it is my second visit now I will be back in the very near future for some more of that lovely hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would give this hotel 5 stars! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and restaurant and bar had a relaxing atmosphere. Great room and lovely, comfy bed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the menu choices looked great for a meal out, quite adventurous and interesting, but the choice of simple food was limited. The room was good and clean, but it backed onto a road and was quite noisy till quite late and started around 5 am.

    Nice hotel in a good location, the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms overheated. Food in the evening was a little disappointing but as it was January there was 25% off which was good.

    Comfortable if dated room but had everything we needed. Staff were wonderful. Location great. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and floor space in room too limited.

    A well located hotel with excellent bar facilities. We enjoyed our overnight stay, but as I explained to the receptionist we consider the room we were given to be a small double, which was fine for one night but we couldn't have remained there for a week. Both bed and floor space too confined.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generator right outside bedroom window from 7am to 10pm. TOO hot and had to take off radiator cover to turn it down, no decent mirror. Huge one over bed which was useless. Need a full length one. Internet password should be on a card in bedroom or given to guests on arrival. Lighting poor and all plug sockets not working in the morning so no early tea /coffee until I rang Reception. They responded quickly.

    Comfy bed, nice bathroom, positioned well, good supplies of tea/ coffee but only one biscuit each!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled egg was the least good part of breakfast - a bit overcooked and better to serve the salmon not mixed in with the egg

    Friendly staff Convenient location in interesting small town Generally very good breakfasts - English and continental Comfortable room and bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We personally found the room a bit warm so mentioned it to the staff and suggested they invest in an air cooling unit - they were very grateful our feedback (some rooms do have air-con but I didn't think to check beforehand)

    Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. This is a Restaurant/Sports Bar - the bar was busy and noisy (as you would expect - but this was not heard in our bedroom) a good atmosphere - the Restaurant has additional seating/drinking areas that were quiet and more relaxing. Food/drinks very reasonable. Full English Breakfast was excellent, even fried bread! Located in the town centre/main road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred to have the continental breakfast options available on a buffet basis. i.e. Have the yogurt, fruit and pastries available to help yourself, rather than having to wait for service. Breakfast service quite slow on at least one morning. Some fittings a bit tired in rooms. Not adequate dressing table / mirror near a socket for hair drying etc.

    Convenient for town centre. Large room. Pleasant furnishings. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't really enjoy the bar - too noisy, not very comfortable, constant loud sports coverage on several TV screens; therefore not very relaxing.

    Room well appointed and very comfortable; food excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was a real disappointment, maybe as it was for 16 people they struggled. We have eaten here many times before and it was always great.

    Room and Breakfast were great. Staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only comment is that the bedrooms are a little dated!

    The staff were all lovely! Very happy & very smiley. The young lady on reception was very welcoming & professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were full of old brown furniture and very cluttered. Areas in the room had not been cleaned properly, this was more evident in the bathroom.

    Breakfast Well cooked and a good choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms far to hot. We were put in a street facing room with no air con with our dog. We couldn't have window open to far in case he tried to jump out and the noise outside was horrendous. None of us got any sleep. We were charged £25 for our dog to stay and no bed or water bowl in room!!!

    Good full English breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were at the back of the hotel and the fan from the kitchens was noisy.

    The full English breakfast was delicious, local bacon and sausages and a perfectly cooked poached egg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two minor things; the bar can be quite noisy and clearly heard from the bedrooms. However, on the plus side it quietens down by 22:30 and shuts at 23:00. It does take quite a time for the shower to get hot water. There is a note warning about this, placed in the bathroom, which advises leaving the bath tap running until the water runs hot. I guess it took around 3 minutes, but it felt like an age.

    Located in the town centre with limited parking to rear of hotel and town square parking to front. Note; you cannot park on the market square paring area Tuesday nights as a local market is set-up early Wednesday morning. Downstairs is a recently refurbished bar and restaurant. All the rooms (to the best of my knowledge) are on the first floor with access via several staircases. The room was large with a comfy bed and plenty of storage. There was a tea/coffee tray with a kettle and a good size flat screen TV. A trouser press was housed in one of the wardrobes. An ensuite bathroom contained the loo, washbasin and overbath shower. Toiletries were provided as were two sets of towels. Both the rooms were clean and well decorated. Staff were pleasant and helpful, even calling me on the night of arrival to ask if I wanted anything to eat upon arrival as I was running late. Most welcome couple of filled baguettes waiting for me when I got there. Meals at the bar were reasonably priced, well presented and well cooked. Good range of draught and bottled beers with reasonable prices. Breakfast was really good. Served from 7am (weekdays) choice of cereals followed by full English or scrambled eggs on toast served with smoked salmon etc. Bacon and sausage on the full English were the best I've had in a long time. In answer to the question, would I stay there again? Unreserved; yes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything in particular that I would say I didn't like.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly. Good to be able to park outside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels are of no use to anyone! Not big enough to wrap round you - would ALL hotels please provide bath SHEETS!

    Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff who couldn't have been more welcoming, lovely bar and great food (bonus points for having a gluten free option for the sandwiches) Room was clean and comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little 3" x 1" notice on the side of the shower said that if the shower water stayed cold please run the sink tap in order to clear the airlock. Worrying?....yes (in fact the shower worked very well with lots of unvaryingly good temperature water) The ensuite bathroom window of our first floor room looked out across a road to a house opposite. The window had plain glass panes and no net curtains, only a blind that would not usually be down during the day. The toilet bowl was directly behind this window. Call me a prig if you wish but sitting as one might in full view of imagined onlookers does tend to make the job difficult

    We liked the genuinely friendly yet professional staff My full English breakfast had all the usual bits cooked to perfection. Mushrooms with real fresh flavour. Decent size TV

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the age of the building, the windows were not sound proofed....but ear plugs were thoughtfully placed in our room!!

    Good location in centre of village, atmospheric building and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast closes too early ! The bar area could be more cosy. Gone a bit too far to be just an eating area. No nice place to sit outside when weather permits would be nice. A change of menu. Becomes a little boring when staying s few nights.

    Good breakfast. Nice restaurant with good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely could not fault anything. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Had an evening meal and was very impressed with the service and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in bedroom a little dated and potentially dangerous. i.e drawers of dressing table were heavy and liable to topple out. The Kettle lead disappeared behind the same dressing table once the kettle was removed. Could have done with an additional chair as one of us had to sit on the bed

    Comfortable Hotel with excellent service and good food. Staff were always friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really pappy bread at breakfast and shut too early for us. Midnight on a Saturday was too early and we had been at an evening wedding reception.

    Superb breakfast - wonderful poached eggs and delicious bacon for my partner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Super, friendly staff. Lovely bedroom with a new bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite hot

    The food was incredible and the staff were very attentive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and needed air-conditioning at night if window closed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dated bedroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too hard

    Nice room restaurant and bar area, staff very nice and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frames of Windows need attention as very loose & rattled all night because of wind.

    Excellent & friendly service from all staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non feather pillows

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a bit 'snug' and quite a limited menu in the restaurant.

    Good location, friendly staff, off road parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly place and people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent in every way

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot and very noisy. Bed was comfortable but the room was too hot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Always a warm and friendly welcome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible burnt and dripping in grease Room extremely noisy and stuffy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and efficient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff. Great food. Perfect relaxing hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a very old building. Narrow creaky stairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For one night it was o/k

    Quite happy all round

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Everything was first class.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect lovely pub accommodation was nice friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is limited on site.

    Really pleasant staff, good breakfast, comfy bed and good bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in was quite noisy at night even with earplugs in we would stay again but not in that room

    The breakfast was really tasty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very poor

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a problem. Kept cutting off

    The food was top class

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great, only stayed one night.

    Nice bathroom and shower, staff super helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    great little hotel with great food, staff are extremely happy and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didnt like.

    We liked everything about the hotel .the bed was really comfy. T

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tired, decor needs a lot of work

    limited choice and very run of the mill

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was comfortable with aircon. Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Nice atmosphere and extra friendly staff. Also great sunday roast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in November and room and restaurant a little too hot. Minor criticism

    Friendly atmosphere very good food and staff in restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in the short time we were there

    just an all round good experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Crack in hand basin Bath towels rather small

    Friendly staff Right in the town centre Good Menu

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Nice room now with air con. Choice of restaurant or bar to eat. Great as they have Sky sports to eat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed nice room friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food, reasonably priced and couldn't fault the service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been larger

    Great food, good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road & market and very warm in the room

    Good food, nice pint of San Miguel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No dislikes at all.

    Fabulous accommodation and exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Food was great too. Our second stay and without a doubt would stay again whenever we visit this location.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing and if the was I would tell you.

    Just every thing about this hotel. One of the main things is the water pressure even the hot it is just mega power.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very cold. There was a heater, however would have been nice to walk into a warm room rather than have to wait a few minutes for the heater to do its job.

    Lovely clean room, which was huge. Staff were incredibly helpful, and the options for breakfast were great - I am gluten free and they catered for this with no issues.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downfall, stayed one Saturday night and all local village shops are shut on Sunday :-( done some window shopping and saw a few bits I so wanted to buy !!!!!! Only co-op open but wasn't in need of bread or milk !

    This place is exceptional, great hotel, food and fantastic staff. Will no doubt always book this place when visiting surrounding areas.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    food was disappointing- lunch and breakfast - not hot and chips very strange! limp and greasy Refill of coffee slow- same cup used? Not sure but lipstick visible however I didnt complain. Carparking could be an issue.

    Service was excellent - throughout stay by very hardworking young lady! What an asset she is!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't get the wifi to work with the password they gave us. No full length mirror and not many easy access plug sockets

    We could check in earlier which was very useful as we had a wedding to get ready for. Breakfast was very tasty! Room was really nice. Staff very friendly too.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room OK only thing was the room was too hot and when using the fan it was too noisy so had to turn it off. Quilt was too heavy so slept on top of bed!

    excellent breakfast and staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little dry. Bed was not overly comfortable and the room was full of bulky furniture. There is no air conditioning in the room except for a ceiling fan. Outside noise starts very early and is fairly loud.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was not great nor were the toiletries provided.

    Hotel especially dining room very nice. Pleasant staff willing to accommodate individual requests. Flexibility with menu changes. Friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room.was warmer than I normally like, but didn't realise that I had air con in the room.

    Staff were so helpful. I had misplaced my key and would be arriving back later than usual. The staff stayed late and gave me a key so I could enter my room.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's right on the road and noisy, bathroom tiny and towels are very small far too small for adults. Just under £100 a night is steep.

    We stayed as a friend was having a party local to the hotel. We are lunch here which was nice and good value, staff helpful and polite, room in keeping with the age of hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No big deal, but could have done with tissues in bedroom/bathroom. Big furniture a bit tight for our room.

    Everything. It was a great weekend . Staff were very friendly and most helpful.

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: