Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bondend Lane, Upton St Leonards, Gloucester, GL4 8ED, United Kingdom

#9 of 12 hotels in Gloucester

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.1
    Room on top floor (422) was way way too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room on top floor (422) was way way too hot. We almost left at midnight as it was getting too unbearable but myself and girlfriend shared a bottle of wine earlier in the evening so couldn’t drive. Thoroughly recommend for cooler months though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air-con in the rooms. Our stay was during an unusually hot period and the rooms were stiflingly hot. Leaving the window open meant we were disturbed by an extremely noisy wedding party who were celebrating by the hotel main entrance until 3.00am. We needed to have a very early departure the next day and this meant we hardly slept at all. The food and breakfast were OK but not good value for money. Would stay again but only if we were guaranteed that there would be no weddings or large parties in the hotel.

    Location is great. Nice country mansion in an attractive village. Pleasant grounds and large private car park.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Would love to return however the food issues need to be addressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in the restaurant was a bit hit and miss, some dishes were lovely, however others were overcooked and dry i.e the cod. The beef and ale pie was tasty but the pastry was rock hard and I couldn't cut it.

    Beautiful hotel, stunning location, delicious breakfast with great selection, friendly, helpful, lovely staff, fabulous, relaxed ambience, very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    A magnificent find!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    From the moment we arrived until our departure after a stay of 3 nights we were made to feel most welcome and were treated with consideration, as was our dog Ben.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Will be back for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wait for breakfast, waitress's not attentive.

    Beautiful hotel, room was good but no view which was a shame, also up a lot of stairs. No toiletries in bathroom except for one tube We asked bloke on desk if we could have some shampoo and the other things you usually get at a Mercury hotel. He seemed to of made a note of our room, but we did not receive any. Dinner was wonderful, breakfast could of been but as is usual with a buffet breakfast it ran out of a lot of things, and ladies on the floor were to busy setting up for dinner to notice. We did tell them, then another wait ( a good ten minutes for a poached egg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough but won't be tempted to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in the rooms. I think this should be pointed out on the web site. Menu was the same both nights. The quality of the food went up on the second night with a different chef, but still over priced for the meal. Breakfast was poor compared to other places we have stayed.

    Location nice and quiet not close to any noisey roads.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely relaxing visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside was no air conditioning in the room. We were up on the top floor and found it hard to sleep even with the fan you had in the room. However we do appreciate this weather is very exceptional in the uk!

    Lovely location and helpful staff who gave advice on where to visit during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    Gloucester business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, which means carrying luggage for four floors was managable, but will be difficult for the older traveller.

    Spacious room and fantastic view over the English countryside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.1
    Great staff but with No Air conditioning with temperatures at 88 Fahrenheit, Seriously!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO Air con, really in the heat of summer which we do get so maybe should cater for, I had a little fan which hardly impacted. Could not sleep seriously what hotels do not have air conditioning fitted, obviously the ones who don't want to spend money and take care of their guests as they claim they do!!

    Great breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, friendly, enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor but only had one complimentary bottle of water and packet of biscuits (4 people in room-2 adults & 2 children ) and no air conditioning but did have a fan in room so everyone stayed cool. Appreciate air con would be hard to install in a building that size.

    Reception staff extremely helpful and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Even getting us some milk for my son’s nighttime drink. Our room was clean and spacious. Really liked the grounds too. Our two year old had bags of fun rolling down the grassy slopes and playing with the children from the wedding reception that had taken place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Really lovely hotel, our room was excellent, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really lovely hotel, our room was excellent, very clean and spacious. Staff were really nice and friendly. Our meal in the restaurant was very good. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Very helpful sraff would like to give a few names but this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could list some things. But this sort of thing you could do with all hotels. Its called looking for the hair in the soup. Would say drinks were a bit expensive.

    Very helpful sraff would like to give a few names but this would detract from the ones whoose name i cannot remember or all the „ backroom staff we did not see“. Rooms a good size an clean, comfortable bed. Good cooked breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel, the decor in the bar area and restaurant is absolutely lovely!! The lady on the reception desk could not be more helpful! Cannot remember her name but she was brilliant & a credit to the hotel!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    Staff members were friendly and polite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot food/English breakfast selection is disappointing in that it does not have hash browns. Had to remind the staff to bring me coffee at breakfast.

    Love the fried bread, although not sure that it is entirely healthy... :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in a lovely place. First class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside to our stay was the hotel did not have a lift. With rooms on many floors We could see this as a problem for some guests.

    An impressive looking building set in lovely tree lined grounds off the road in a village location with excellent parking near to the building. Check in was a delight with a warm friendly welcome from the receptionist. Indeed all the staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful and were seemingly intent on making our stay as enjoyable as possible which they succeeded in doing. We had a standard double room which was very comfortable with nice decor. The breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of both hot and cold food. There was a nice bar with a large comfortable lounge in which to enjoy coffee, pre dinner drinks or a beer or two to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift, room on 4th floor, attic room, small window, very hot, no air conditioning, fan did not make much difference. Did not get much sleep.

    Public areas were very nice, lounges, bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only issue with our room was that there was no air conditioning resulting in the room becoming very hot at night. Also there was no lift and as we were on the fourth floor this would have been appreciated when carrying luggage to the room.

    This hotel offered comfortable accommodation with lounge and terrace areas where you could relax and read or take a drink. The grounds are well maintained and the hotel was decorated throughout with original artwork rather than chocolate box reproductions. The buffet style breakfast offered all the usual choices and the staff were all very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Very restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet roll was not a new one which was surprisingly as we were in the executive room!Mentioned this to manager.

    The bed very comfortable. We are staying again on our next trip to the North.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long check in time was a bit long winded, 1 member of staff checking everyone in whilst another stood at "looking" at the computer.

    Nice food a very comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room on fourth floor and no lift in building getting luggage to room a bit of chore. Bathroom small and hit head on ceiling many times in bathroom

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    7.1
    A great escape to a beautiful quintessentially English part of the UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Obviously a chain hotel comes with it's downsides - for example the menu is the bog-standard one with little variation. This is fine for a short stay but more than two nights and you are bored.

    We liked the location outside the town centre and the fact that we could walk straight out from the hotel. The garden and outdoor area is pretty and wonderful for sipping an aperitif before dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely setting and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our window was not brilliant - it would be easy to tidy it up.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of choice and food kept hot. We were there for my father's 80th birthday and the staff were lovely. The staff definitely made the stay for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel in a beautiful location but did not feel it was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the menu for evening meal very over priced. Disappointed with room, overlooked the water tank!! Wardrobe was a little odd, had more cupboard space than wardrobe!. No fridge in the room. The outside bays need a little tlc. Did not feel the standard of the hotel was on par with other country hotels we have stayed in. Not sure I like to see staff in jeans when serving in a restaurant.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble attentive in the restaurant at breakfast. Excellent food at breakfast. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar required more staff on the Friday eve. Just one capable waiter though he was serving the brasserie and bar area. Waited some time to get served. Stocks of tea coffee milketc could have been more plentiful. These were provided on request. Can't recall seeing anything pre booking to say that there wasn't a lift.

    Friendly and helpful staff Comfortable room Lovely setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    4.6
    Friendl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A better managed hotel. We arrived late, We had been allocated a room which had not been adequately prepared. The sheets had not been changed and there was a musty smell. Nobody answered the phone, so we decided to wait until the morning. On using the bathroom we found the floor was wet and on stepping on the floor water started seeping through the tiles. The following morning we complained at reception - a table in the main hall, unattended - until a lady appeared from a side room. She was very apologetic. The previous occupant, let the bath run over so the room had be taken off the available list. It had been allocated in error in the same state. She agreed to arrange another room and have our luggage transferred. On our return late in the afternoon a room had been allocated but the luggage had not been transferred,. On checking out the following morning, the lady who appeared at reception was a very competent but firm lady from Latvia. She appeared doubtful at our explanation of the first evenings experience, saying she had been told anything about it. I suggested she call the manage, which she declined to do. After a long discussion, she agreed to amend the final bill. We use the Mercure chain of hotels in France quite a lot. The rest

    The breakfast, apart from the coffee..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    Nice and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is quite dated and could use a revamp. Staff especially at the restaurant despite being very nice and willing are not trained or experienced.

    Surrounding park is really nice and well kept. Breakfast is nice, rooms are clean and quiet and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel in a lovely location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a family room which was very basic, the hotel is a bit of a maze which took a while to get used to. There are no lifts which was a small inconvenience when you are travelling with a baby and lots of belongings.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was really nice. We were attending a wedding, it was a great location for a wedding. The grounds are well looked after and picturesque. The staff were all so friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable surroundings but disappointed with the management service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionists seemed to have continuous problems with the computer system. Also on arrival my room wasn’t ready. On departure they messed up my bill and delayed me and other guests. I also found the continuous ‘Trance’ music increasingly irritating

    The room and the restaurant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice, can be a lot of stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a lot of stairs across the property, and this can be a long walk if you get put at the top of the building.

    The location is nice and the hotel itself is comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.8
    Delightful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff a bit stuffy which goes with luxury hotels.

    A hotel like this is generally above my budget for a five-week visit to the UK, however I was able to buy a prepaid special for siix days last December. The stay was delightful and a nice break during my photo project.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.8
    We liked the common areas, the room at the end of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the bathtub, although clean, would need a serious anti-limescale treatment

    We liked the common areas, the room at the end of the corridor, it was very quiet and of sufficient size. in the complex well furnished. we were aware that there was no elevator and for our room there were about 20/25 steps. the park is very nice and certainly with good weather it would be nice even the dehor. great english breakfast with good choice of sweet food. excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing, embarrassing and over priced. Hotel not aware of disabilities rights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Firstly they said they had not received my comments about my partner with disabilities and request for table eve booking. They questioned my partner why she could not walk upstairs which is very embarrassing and kept proceeding to tell us it's an old building so could not adapt for disabled people. Eventually she did move us but I had to let my partner through fire escape then three steps to get up. The bathroom was unclean public hair on sides, bed uncomfortable light inhallway on all night. Food was over priced small portions and not the standard I expect for that price. Waiting staff for got most peoples drinks orders. At breakfast the woman in charged put staff down in frount of us, started changing tables and carried a chair over our heads.This was surprise a nice 40th surprise for my partner which was embarrassing and disappointed. Also coffee tea in room was inadequate. Could you raise this as a complaint for us?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    relaxing stay in old country house hotel with modern updated decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lift would be helpful

    Peaceful surroundings, beautiful old house but with updated decor - interesting commissioned art pieces. evening dinner was good, as was the breakfast. Staff are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely hotel room very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was OK the bacon very tough and fried eggs not runny felt like the food was pre-cooked especially the dinner as came out very quick prefer it cooked to order.

    The room was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    5.8
    utter tranquillity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - the wifi didn’t work properly (and there was hardly 3/4G recetption) - no nighttime roomservice even though the room menu says there is... - although the restaurant and lounge were super pretty, the room decorations were a bit outdated and therefore seemed (!) only just clean enough

    - downstairs was beautifully decorated - the restaurant served good food (and wine!) - the breakfast buffet was nice and fresh - friendly staff - lots of parking space - total tranquillity

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Spacious and well presented with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More of a booking issue rather than a problem with the hotel. Being an older building, access to the rooms is only by stairs. There is a moveable platform that goes to the first floor but it would have been helpful to know this on booking and would have prevented the need for a room change on arrival.

    Spacious and well presented with friendly, helpful staff. The food was very good and service was excellent throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast spread could have been better

    So we checked in and we didn't like the first room. Our replacement was done within seconds. Staff was very helpful. The location and property is beautiful. There is a stream flowing which is beautiful. Lovely location. The bed was huge and super comfy. The room was also very spacious by UK B&B standards. The breakfast spread could have been better but overall fine. Overall stay was very comfortable and as expected

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.1
    generally very good
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant staff were unfriendly and we received two 250ml glasses of wine instead of 175 at extra cost to us ,breakfast was very poor on cereals, fruit ,no plates for toast. Not up to the standard of other Mecure hotels we have stayed in

    the room was excellent location of hotel great reception staff were superb at fixings things as she seemed to be the only member of staff around.(fetched towels when their was only one set supplied. fetched luggage from room as no one else to to do itas well as checking everybody out still smiling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    10
    Apart from the view over the car park and no lift it was a lovely stay and will be back, maybe in a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs a lift, I have fibromyalgia and found the stairs a bit of a trial, we were in room 445 !!

    Bed and bedding were lovely, liked the duvet so much I looked at the label and have ordered one for myself😀

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely helpful staff, good hotel, but breakfast was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast cooked food tasted bland and chewy. Could not even cut the food with the knife as it was blunt.

    Good country side location, good size rooms, comfortable beds and good pillows.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    5.8
    We were at a wedding and the beef at the meal was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a sloping ceiling and this made it difficult to use the bed, the toilet and the bath/shower. The room was big and it should have been arranged better.

    General ambiance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    lovely hotel nice ambience great setting attentive staff
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rough toilet paper my friend ordered a poached egg for breakfast but it did not arrive . Strange having to go upstairs to get to our ground floor room

    Lovely staff clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    A quirky hotel In lovely grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no lifts- not a problem for us but those with mobility problems need to consider. There is a stair lift (?wheelchair) to 1 st floor so that might work

    This is a quirky hotel in lovely grounds. The rooms and beds are comfortable and quiet. The restaurant serves good and tasty food. Breakfast is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel, staff and food. Everywhere clean and fresh with a lovely room and comfortable bed.
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that I couldn’t stay longer.

    Staff we all very friendly and attentive and informative. The food and service was fabulous. Everywhere was clean and fresh. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. You couldn’t want for anything more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.5
    Clean room and comfy beds. Let down by the expensive and poor quality bar snacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar snacks a little disappointing and expensive. Pizza Ok if a little expensive. Ham sandwich left a lot to be desired for the price. Certainly not hand carved and if it was the chef can certainly cut very very thinly. I could do better with supermarket bought bread and ham. Certainly not value for money

    Plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.9
    Not the quiet night I had hoped for
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar drinks prices (soft drinks are extortionate!) The shower was less than standing under a watering can My room 222 was extremely noisy with guests coming and going and the cleaning staff setting up outside in the morning The odd kitchen noise

    The bedroom was warm and the bed was comfortable The room was clean The meals were lovely The maitre d' was helpful and attentive

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    6.7
    Average - just
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed just one night to break journey, the bedroom was of a good standard and clean but it only had one bedside table. Something I was informed is down to the designers. Most double room have a bedside table on both sides. Perhaps this is an Accor cutback. We had to move the occasional table and use that as a replacement. Tea and coffee making facilities were poorly stocked. Just 2 tea bags and no hot chocolate. No internet access code in bedroom meant not able to access internet. It was only on checkout that reception pointed out the code in a sign at the front desk. Would have helped if we had been told that upon check in. The receptionist on checkout was more than helpful when we pointed out these shortcomings and did what she felt was necessary to put things right. Well done for taking the action she did. The hotel was over all clean and relaxing and acceptable for the one night. I fear though that other chains can offer the overnight traveller more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely building, great breakfast amazing value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Radiator made the spookiest banging at 2am. I'd say i'm 75% sure this place is haunted but they didn't charge extra for that so happy days.

    Lovely building, great breakfast amazing value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    5.4
    A beautiful building set in spacious grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service in bar area was poor, food was basic for the type of establishment- very weak tea.

    A beautiful building set in spacious grounds. Comfortable room but minimal hospitality tray.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could maybe fo with a lift.

    Good value for money and very friendly staff. Also took our gourmet cards So had a 2 for 1 meal. Breakfast freshly cooked for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    6.7
    Nice hideaway in the hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The trees in the park are in bad shape. Huge branches felt off posing danger to cars and people. Some of the staff seem to have limited training or experience.

    The room itself was cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.1
    I was happy to accept a few difficulties but my wife was most certainly not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the 4th floor and there was no lift. There were multiple corridors and staircases to reach our room and the directions were not easy to follow. We got lost on every occasion when seeking the restaurant and the exit.

    Well furnished, modern and comfortable..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable visit in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    From Reception to departure the experience was most enjoyable. In particular the staff were knowledgeable and helpful. I dine there frequently and rate it as first class.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Good and bad however would not stay over again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The evening meal on New Year's Day. There was certain foods on that night unavailable. What we did have was not of a great standard to sum it up the chef that evening I would say has no pride in his work. The heater in the room was very noises when turned up to high tempreture. Certainly not worth the money at this time for a New Year celebration, really disappionted with the above elements of this hotel.

    Nice, clean, friendly as stayed for New Year's Eve which was good fun however thought it was over priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very average room, no wardrobe, limited menu in restaurant which was noisy. Breakfast good but self service. Could do with pictures, curtains, more homely feel.

    Beautiful building and setting, friendly staff, rooms clean, meals good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing away from the main hustle of Gloucester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More storage space for clothes would be needed by anyone staying longer than one night in the room we had.

    We only stayed one night and found a good size room, food very good and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    9.6
    Great stay but some basics lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was only one hand towel and one bath towel in the bathroom - so we had to share. Had to ask for teaspoons, fork and milk at the breakfast table.

    Lovely decor and friendly staff. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    9.2
    Country house with modern decoration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to leave early so missed breakfast

    A beautiful hotel in fabulous condition. I couldn't see any blemish in the decoration which is a perfect combination of modern elegence and country house. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Our stay was booked for Business 1 hour before we turned up...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was booked for Business 1 hour before we turned up at the Hotel and was £5 more than a previous Hotel we stayed at the night before, But was 100percent better. I will be staying at this hotel in the future if needed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay, but you need your car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is set some way from the city centre, so a car is a must. There is not much around if you don't want to eat at the hotel, the local pub was fully booked, so we ended up driving to the Gloucester Quays for our evening meal.

    Lovely hotel, set In beautiful surroundings in the countryside. The room was very clean, large and beautifully decorated and furnished. The staff were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel, excellent bar staff who were happy to give the history of the hotel & were very a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit firm but that’s down to personal preference. I still slept quite well. Unusual not to have a book/leaflet in the room about hotel facilities.

    More Information regarding parking facilities would have been useful. Also general info re facilities in the local area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and would certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that when booking the advert inferred that breakfast was included. As it was last minute I just ticked what I wanted and it was not unitl the confirmation e mail arrived that I was aware that this was not the case. Discussed with hotel who agreed that the advert was misleading and they kindly only charged for one breakfast. Advice is to read more carefully when booking as I felt duped.

    Whole place had been refurbished and was stylish.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    7.5
    It was good for the purpose of my stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was a bit dirty and I spotted a dirty plate in the breakfast bar. I requested for an iron and staff said they would bring it to me but didn’t so I had to wear an Unironed blouse after over 30 minutes of waiting for an iron

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is beautiful and gorgeous interior
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff wasn't helpful, mess the bar food order up and gave our food to others customers who were behind us in the que. then when the food come out 45 mins later with no chips that website gave up. The restaurant staff were amazing in the evening. The English lady working at lunch was rude and unhelpful we felt like we were putting her out. We wouldn't stay again the place we beautiful. Just a shame on staff.

    The hotel is beautiful and gorgeous interior

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    5.4
    Overall a very over priced hotel for what you actually get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift only stairs, there is a stair lift to the first floor. Not sure if it it suitable for a disabled user. The bed was quite uncomfortable, it was 2 singles pushed together to make a double and the edges of the mattress were in the middle of the bed and they were softer than the other parts of the bed, this made it very uncomfortable to sleep on because me and my partner always sleep very close to each other and we were sinking in the middle of the bed as it was the edge of the singles pushed together. There was a very limited amount of tea and coffee in the room with only 2 sugars between us. The bathroom was not as clean as I would expect at the price of the room. It was a special occasion for my husband and myself so we just let the small stuff slide and enjoyed our time together. But for other travellers looking for a special location in the area I would highly recommend Hatton Court Hotel, which is just up the road from this hotel, much nicer feel to the hotel, the staff can not do enough for you and it's on top of the hill will lovely views (ask for the room with the hot tub, it comes with a 4 poster bed and it is gorgeous - also is the same price as what we paid for this property)

    Lovely view out of the window over the hills and a lake.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay with dogs
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here twice 10 days apart and the quality of the food and service varied tremendously between the two stays, mediocre on the first visit and excellent on the second.

    I stayed here because they allowed dogs, I was travelling with two large dogs, and we were made very welcome. The dogs were allowed in all rooms except the restaurant, so I ate in the bar where I could eat off the restaurant menu. There is a 2.5 mile walk around the hotel excellent for dogs , some along the road, some bridle path and some open fields. Ask at reception for a map.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay in a hotel which is on the up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Chaotic breakfast arrangements. Noise from adjoining rooms was considerable. No lift.

    Comfortable bed in a spacious and well furnished room Obviously refurbished recently, to a high standard

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    5.0
    Poor and a disapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dead flies in room towels in superior room of low quality. Nothing superior about room very basic. Seating uncomfortable. Afternoon tea was basic and considering was a birthday tea was pathetic

    Pleasant staff when seen. Grounds lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel for a relaxing weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a little too firm. Restaurant was very good but a little too expensive.

    Spacious, well-appointed rooms. First rate breakfast facilities. Beautiful location and grounds. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    5.0
    The building and room we stayed in were very tired, I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The building and room we stayed in were very tired, I had better impressions from the photos on the website. Although we did sleep well, a building with that many rooms should have lift. A room right at the top and back of hotel is rather long to get to. Wasn’t worth what we paid for the room, felt almost like we were shoved in the back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay in a lovely grand building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was a little bit disappointing - not much available on the continent option, and no toast. Couldn’t see any way to walk around the grounds - except across wet grass (no footpaths).

    Nicely refurbished rooms. Excellent dinner and fantastic staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was charged for a meal which I did not purchase. The copy of the invoice I was given on checkout was very small and I did not pick up the mistake straight away. However, the hotel was happy to refund the error.

    It's in a very nice secluded location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    6.3
    Irritating room noise and poor quality bar snack after finding there were no tables for dinner.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Annoying room noise possibly from a generator. For this I was offered and accepted a small token discount. No AC. No tables for dinner. Hand carved ham sandwich in the bar that was expensive and certainly not hand carved.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel was convenient for the M5.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    6.7
    They charge your credit card more than your total as a cover for anything you would consume.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area so quiet nd peacfull. Disappointed as for a 4 story building no lift is available. Only a disabled lift which goes only one floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    The staff makes the hotel good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning

    Brilliant staff at reception could not have been more helpful absolutely brilliant 5 star service

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: