Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jessop House 5 stars

65 Church Street, Tewkesbury, GL20 5RZ, United Kingdom

#1 of 13 hotels in Tewkesbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 312 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were OK for parking but it could be a problem if full however, it is in the centre of a medieval town so it is to be expected. At £99.00/nt it's top end pricing for facilities available.

    All areas are extremely clean and well maintained. Made to feel welcome by owners. Situated in the heart of the town opposite the abbey so location gives easy access to bars etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic the attention to detail was amazing such a warm and friendly B/B from walking through the door we were made to feel at home. The room was beautiful the bed really comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor hosting from one of the owners. Quite rude actually!

    Absolutely lovely decor and spotless. Breakfast was fabulous apart from feeling a bit chaotic at times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one night stay could have stopped longer

    You have got to stop there to experience first class customer service the owners really take Pride in what then do and look after all your needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed on top floor and sloping roofline and view from windows not ideal but these were minor matters

    Situation of property its facilities and friendliness of owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chris and Steve are fabulous hosts. Their b&b is just amazing they have created a beautiful ambiance and nothing is too much trouble. Their breakfast was tasty service fabulous. We are looking forward to returning. Thank you for such an amazing stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location in the heart of town, friendly owners, beautifully decorated rooms and lovely food. A really good experience. The house is very old and Chris is very knowledgeable about it, so we enjoyed a good chat after breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few problems with the bathroom in Room 4. The shower door didn’t close properly, the toilet roll holder was loose and slipped down. And the way the shower is designed we found when it came to turning off the shower we both managed to catch our hands on the extremely scolding hot pipe. The breakfast was ok but I would have preferred 2 sausages and I think the sausage quality could be improved. I also was disappointed not to see fried bread on the list of items as it’s my favourite breakfast item and my girlfriend was also annoyed that croissants weren’t part of the cold items buffet as that’s her favourite. The little pot of jam was very pretty but when I took the jam out I noticed mould over the jam. Usually this happens when guests cross contaminate butter with the jam so I would recommend telling guests not to do this. As a result of the mould I didn’t get to try the jam, however the marmalade was good. We really wanted to try the honesty bar but one look at the prices list and we decided it was cheaper to go to the local pubs. A little disappointing as we thought the honesty bar would be much cheaper than the pubs.

    The room was decorated to a very high standard, we liked the little touches like the diamonte eyes on the wallpaper. The bed was comfortable and you were never short of a pillow. The cupboard with the old coat pegs was very cute and we loved the touch of history it brought to the room. Tea/coffee facilities were good also. We looked around for ages for a hairdryer but we didn’t find one until just before we left, perhaps this could be made easier to find? Staff were the real highlight of this property. They were really kind, helpful and chatty and we loved that they had so much time for us. Parking was also a massive bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ensuite toilet was on an outside wall and unheated. Since the weather was bitterly cold, a nighttime trip to the loo was a bit like an Antarctic expedition! That's a very small point though - overall we were very happy.

    The room, and indeed the whole hotel, was exceptionally clean, comfortable and decorated in a unique style. The owners were welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious - a good variety and perfectly cooked. Despite being on a main street, it was very quiet at night, and the bed was lovely and comfy, so no trouble sleeping.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The initial welcome we received was a little cold and unhelpful. The bathroom, although beautiful was not practical when in a hurry and the hot water was boiling and couldn't get a happy medium with temperature.

    The room we were allocated was beautiful and besides the bed and en suite it had a large comfy sofa and footstool which was great after being on your feet all day we just came in and relaxed. The breakfast was very tasty, good quality products.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking space. Having to spend time driving round to find a public car park which offered overnight stay. We had to return to the car later to add more money to cover from 8 am next morning. We usually book trips with on site parking to prevent this.

    Lovely guesthouse, beautifully decorated and very friendly hosts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hosts were very welcoming and chatty.It was my birthday.I was given a card.This was very unexpected.The room was beautifully furnished.The ensuite a little small but this is a listed building.The washroom basin was in the room.A good selection of toiletries to use.The whole building is gorgeous ,decorated and furnished with taste and attention to detail.The parking was appreciated.The honesty bar also added to the evening experience.The location could not be bettered.The breakfast was ordered and perfectly cooked.The dining room is sumptuous.We enjoyed our short stay very much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park was full but the hosts shifted cars around to accommodate us.

    The hosts were incredibly friendly and accommodating, and make a superb breakfast. The building itself is a real beauty, with a mix of medieval and Georgian features; the rooms are well decorated and furnished. We had a great view of the malverns.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues

    We had a large, very pleasant family room at the back of the property so did not suffer any road noise. The beds were comfortable and the shower was fine. The b & b was tastefully decorated to a high standard throughout. There were plenty of options for breakfast & the owners of the place were very accommodating. This place has an excellent rating and I would agree with that

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb accommodation, extra comfy bed, fantastic breakfast, ideal location for town centre. Proprietors very friendly and could not have been more welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely Nothing. Could not be improved in any way.

    The overall condition and ambience of the property was just superb. The history and restoration of the property had been accomplished with such care. The owners could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Everything was faultless. the bedding was jaquard linen. Our 4 Poster bed was huge. Chris and Steve were amazing hosts. Brilliant. Looking to return for my birthday in August ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing immediately comes to mind.

    The Proprietors were very welcoming and attentive. The bedroom was very spacious - good heating, comfortable furniture on which to relax and plenty of cushions. Bathroom included all that one would expect with an excellent shower. Double bed was perfect after a long drive. Breakfast was all freshly prepared and it was good to find smoked salmon/scrambled eggs and kippers on the menu. There were pre-printed order forms to complete and these then went to the kitchen - a very good idea. The majority of the guests were repeat customers and as a result there was a warm atmosphere and plenty of conversation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was superb, lovely room was absolutely spotless with a big 4 poster which was very comfortable nicely furnished and the owners very friendly and helpful, we will definitely go back next year and recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing could have been better, well actually perhaps one of the guests could have been a little more well behaved, but that's not down to the venue. The venue and the owners I can't rate highly enough.

    I stayed here in a double room with my Husband while my brother and his two girls of Six and Eight years stayed in the adjacent family room. From the moment we arrived Steve was friendly and helpful and made sure we were well looked after. The whole place is stunningly decorated and well looked after. Our breakfast the next day was fantastic. I am fussy about my scrambled eggs and they were cooked to absolute perfection. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt well looked after by both Steve and Chris. I would recommend this place highly. We will most definitely be staying here again as long as Steve and Chris still run it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Great position on main road almost opposite the abbey. The house is immaculate. Very comfortable room near the back of the house with skylight windows - so limited view. But a sunny bright room in the morning and blackout blinds at night, and very quiet and private. Staircase to the rooms at the back of the house could be a problem for someone with limited mobility and the ceiling may have felt low for someone very tall, so if either applies to you it's worth mentioning when booking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, but understandable bearing in mind the location, my hubby didn't like all of the cushions and the clutter. Concerns regarding the fire escape as there is a glass shelf under the window where you would need to exit from in an emergency.

    Friendly staff, comfy bed interesting property in a lovely location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the most SPARKLY venues I've stayed at in a long time. Very pleasant hotel, located within easy walking distance from the centre of the town. Well appointed B&B with very welcoming and engaging owners. Note, the car park is very very compact, however the owners were very good at shuffling vehicles so as not to restrict vehicle use.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault it at all

    Beautifully presented. Lovely staff. Excellent accommodation in an historic house Highly recommended. Good location and plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given room 4 and it was quite small. The shower 'room' was small and the washbasin was next to the bed which was not at all ideal. We have stayed at Jessop quite a few times and always had a much better room than this one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ensuite was tiny so that the sink was in the bedroom. It was all kept very clean, though. The dinner room has plush upholstered chairs, which look great (and are comfy to sit on), but are a bit difficult to move about. Free parking can be a bit of a challenge. There are paid car parks nearby, though, if there's no room in the free areas. These are all very, very minor things and we enjoyed our stay.

    This was in the town centre and so easy to walk to everywhere. Lots of eating places nearby - you won't be short of choice! The abbey is just across the road (where they do tower tours on some days). There's a separate lounge for guests with comfy sofas. No TV in this room, but free wifi is available. A place to be quiet, away from the hustle and bustle outside. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. There are a choice of things you can have for breakfast. I had scrambled egg and salmon and really enjoyed it. The quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower/bath looks really elegant but is a bit short on functionality...really hard to get the water temperature right.

    The owners were delightful and made you feel really welcome and the house is really nice. Loved our stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the owners who were extremely helpful on many fronts. The room size was excellent and the whole establishment was welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. The location was ideal for walking easily to all attractions, including the must-see Abbey which was only a 2 minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small car park for only 5 cars, although public pay and display car park was only yards away, with free overnight parking.

    Christine and Steve were friendly welcoming owners and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very comfortable and spacious with views over the Malvern Hills. Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice avaliable. Central town location for restaurants and amenities. Would certainly stay there again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a bit of a shuttle round as only 5 spaces and two these double parked. Had to leave key with owner for them to move as required and insurance aspects unclear.

    Nice room well maintained walk in shower and toilet converted from cupboard but good. Nice location Breakfast excellent and to order house part tudor and part medieval well situated to local restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tight in the dining room, smaller chairs would help.

    Very friendly and accommodating owners. Rooms very clean and well presented. Beautifully decorated throughout, would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a good size and beautifully furnished. The bed was very comfortable and I had a great night's sleep. Exceptionally clean. Wonderful cooked breakfast in the morning. Overall a lovely stay, with delightful hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King-Size Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a bit limited but not difficult to find options nearby. Some of the room layout was a bit odd but it's an old building.

    Very friendly, personal service. Property has plenty of charm and character. Access to the town is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although there was an ensuite with a large shower cubicle and toilet, the washbasin was in the room!

    Generous and spotless room, with all the usual facilities and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I always say you can't improve on perfection.. Only ask for all bob's is bath sheets for us curvy visitors

    Luxury accommodation with comfort and style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Super King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chris was very welcoming and helpful with information for our stay! Lovely property and in the most amazing area of Tewkesbury so close to the Abbey!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a shower built into a cupboard type arrangement which we found quite awkward to use. Parking is very tight with only a limited number of spaces.

    Good breakfast. Owner was very friendly. Nice old building and quite central.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was tight in back yard. owners wanted keys so they could shunt them around if needed. we parked across road in public car park. Floor boards very creaky which is to be expected i guess when got up in night for loo.

    Hightlight of breakfast which was good was the mushrooms full of flavour. place spotless. Lots of character in ye olde building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm welcome from Chris and Steve and I was made to feel at home. My room was spotlessly clean as was everywhere. Breakfast was delicious. Absolutely loved my stay at Jessop House and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting was far from welcoming....despite phoning to say we would be arriving before 4pm, we were informed quite strongly that the room wouldn't be ready. I didn't like the idea of leaving car keys so owners could juggle cars around in the car park. (I put my car in a public carpark instead)

    Very comfortable bed and lots of 'niknaks' that gave a very homely feel. Liked the tick list for breakfast which meant everything was freshly cooked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is tight! But small concern really.

    Jessop House was beautifully decorated with high quality finishes which made it very enjoyable to stay in. Breakfast was great - hot and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a duvet on the bed rather than the sheet and blanket.

    A lovely comfortable room. The owners were very friendly and looked after us well. The decor is very attractive and a tasty, freshly cooked breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to be negative about.

    Very welcoming and great attention to detail, Chris and Steve are lovely host's and make you feel like part of the family with out being over the top, a very warm and inviting feel all round, not a thing out place, In a great location. We would definitely visit again and recommend to everyone

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Room luxuriously furnished; our room was on the side of the building and quiet even with window open. Central to Abbey and historic town. Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only very minor but shower pressure could be better

    Quality presentation and attention to detail was impressive. Excellent breakfast Very friendly hosts

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked twin room but given a double and was not possible to change but this was due to an error on the part of Booking.com not the owners of the property

    Very friendly owners, honesty bar and great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 cushions in the bedroom ( this was extra to the pillows ) made for slightly cluttered room when they had to be put somewhere

    Friendly, helpful hosts and comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to report.

    The whole experience was excellent, accommodation and decor are to a very high standard. I would return again to stay, excellent service provided by the owners.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find fault!

    Beautiful four poster bed recently installed SO comfy and our room was just beautiful. Steve and Chris were fabulous hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious. Absolutely loved our stay and would recommend Jessops House without hesitation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. It was absolutely first class

    Nice friendly owners who made us very welcome on arrival. The room was absolutely spotless and very well equipped. The food was superb. This was a most enjoyable stay. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all perfect

    Rooms were amazing and the staff very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Lovely touches in the room. Fabulous breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The welcome was really warm and friendly. The building is a beautiful old Georgian townhouse which demands extravagant decoration. The attention to detail in the decorating shows that this has been a labour of love - it is a stand out property! We will most definitely visit again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were surprised that room 6 didn't have an en suite bathroom. The toilet and shower were situated separately behind individual doors in the room therefore privacy was an issue.

    The breakfast was lovely. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was very slow and requires a power pump to develop more volume.

    Excellent and staff very friendly, very nice layout with good parking as in town center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be a problem - but wasn't for us. The joys of having a great property in the old part of town!

    The owners are fantastic - very helpful. Breakfast was great. Location fab... really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our hosts: friendly but not gushing; efficient but appearing to have lots of time for you; interested in you but not nosy; made things easy, such as the parking shuffle; I had lots of stuff to attend to in my two days/nights and somehow I found myself with time to spare and I think I can put that down to the accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn't fault our stay.

    Stunning property in a beautiful location. Attention to detail was excellent and breakfast was gorgeous. Lovely place to stay, very central to everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to stay longer at this accommodation I really didn't want to go home !

    The most beautiful English town hotel ,decor outstanding ,my sister and daughter stayed for just one day/night ,so amazing!!!from the crisp white bed sheets to the edging of the wall paper this hotel is so tastefully done the fresh made breakfast is just brilliant The attention to detail is second to none:::The hotel is fit for the Queen We want to thank the owners for a memorable stay,we will be telling all our friends ,family and clients May Godbless you for making our stay so enjoyable J Hurst

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault it in anyway.

    Our suite was really large and well planned, breakfast was very satisfying, and Chris and Steve welcomed us as if we where friends, would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Jessop. Excellent location for the town centre and for visits to other parts of the Cotswolds. Right opposite the fantastic Abbey. The suite was superb, full of character. The owners, Chris and Steve, are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing; Although note that parking was a little awkward as small area & cars have to juggle around if lots of guests.

    The room was very spacious. Bath and shower facility was a luxury. Hosts were very welcoming and informative. Breakfast was first class. Location is ideal for exploring Tewkesbury and beyond.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been better at Jessop House as it was really lovely The car park is small but adequate and there is nothing much they can do about that. Best get there at teatime if poss as we did. Steve shuffled his own cars around to make sure he could accommodate us.

    This couple were the absolute loveliest people you can imagine in charge of Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The room was warm, welcoming, spotless with a very very comfy bed. The decor thro the whole house was beautiful and there were so may items of interest everywhere you care to turn your head, chandeliers etc and all without one speck of dust - how do they do it? The breakfast was fantastic, tasty, and cooked perfectly. They didn't do an evening meal but they did have a mini bar and there was an excellent - I really mean this - an excellent italian next door with the best wine so good I photographed the bottle. What a great place to stay. I can't wait to go again and this is definitely in my top ten or even top two. The house is 900 years old with a beautiful victorian style passageway down the side like in a BBC costume drama. Thanks for a great stay Steve and Christine. You have to visit this place to see how lovely it is. Steve even rang us in advance to offer special milk for my husbands lactose intolerance. We were on our way from Malton in Yorkshire, UK to Newquay, Cornwall and Tewkesbury was exactly halfway. A great stopover at the least. I highly reccommend it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells of the Abbey do ring in the night but that's part of the beauty of Tewkesbury.

    Wonderful property, owners made us feel extremely welcome and were very friendly and even offered to drive us to our venue when we couldn't get a taxi. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was inspirational. Such attention to detail. The Hotel was up to the same high standard thoughout. The breakfast was lovely, fresh good quality. The owners treat every customer with real kindness.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although Tewksbury itself has a lot less to offer than some of the other Cotswold villages/towns. The Abbey is lovely though.

    Beautifully decorated throughout. The host Chris was so friendly and took time to chat to her guests. Beautiful room, absolutely amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked fewer cushions and more towels. (There were far more cushions on the sofa and on the bed than we needed.) But if we'd asked for more towels, I'm sure we'd have been given them.

    The whole guest-house was very clean and luxurious in appearance. The owners were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. I'm glad we paid a little extra and had a suite (with a sofa and a bath - not just a shower) rather than an ordinary room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We couldn't fault anything about Jessop House. Breakfast was superb. The owners were friendly and there was always a smile and welcome when we returned after a day out. The bedroom was beautiful, clean and comfortable, could relax there all day.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was cramped with hardly any space to dress/ undress. The sink was in the bedroom, not ideal.

    Good quality bacon, tasty tomatoes, sausages and black pudding. Warm room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point, but the choice of bedding. A simple duvet with option of an extra coverlet would have been easier to manage than the layers on the bed. And perhaps fewer cushions

    Breafast. Excellent choice and perfectly cooked

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking might be a problem at a busy time

    1) full English breakfast was excellent 2) proper mugs and a teapot in our room- wonderful! 3) beautifully decorated and restored building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a mobility problem at present and the owners went out of their way to help. The hotel is decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good quality bedding,everywhere was spotlessly clean. A great deal of care and investment has been made by the current owners to the property and contents,the photos do not do it justice,we were surprised by the size of the rooms. Dispute full occupancy, we never heard others guests. Very flexible breakfast times. Owners are delightful charming people,can't wait to revisit!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The town itself is not the best but it did have some decent pubs and eating places, it was an excellent base for days out.

    The excellent owners, so friendly and welcoming. The prettiest rooms and the best breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    creaky floors in room was a little annoying. Characteristic of a period property.

    Attention to detail was amazing. The ambience for a b&b was a first class. Have stayed in many b&b establishments before and this was by far the most outstanding. Christine and Steve made you feel valued and very welcome to their home. Elaine and Richard

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The car park is very small but there is other parking nearby. Wasn't a problem to us at all.

    This is a lovely place to stay! Particularly warm,friendly and helpful hosts - a big thank you to you both! An excellent breakfast cooked to order. Our room was spacious, well equipped and absolutely spotlessly clean, Terrific value! We will be back! We ate three times at Salerno which is just next door and found quality, price and service to be excellent too. Was very crowded on each evening that we dined there so booking is essential.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: