Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jolly Brewers Free House Inn 3 stars

170 South Street, Bishops Stortford, CM23 3BQ, United Kingdom

#11 of 16 hotels in Bishops Stortford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 388 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Bishops Stortford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to stay in Bishops Stortford. Close to train station, restaurants and bars. Great value for money. I always stay here when I'm in Bishops Stortford.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value, easy to find, plus clean and comfy, ticked all the boxes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room clean and bed very comfy. Also given WiFi details. Usual TV and tea or coffee making facilities. Close to centre of Bishops Stortford. Landlord really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    accomodation fits to the needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner ten minutes away in the city. No breakfast in the pub.

    Motel kind of accomodation neare the street. But quiet and suitable for the needs. Near railway station to Stansted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Ideal for over night stay and value for money.
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included although there was. a Wetherspoons 5 minutes walk away.

    Close to Town Centre. Bed very comfy. Easy parking outside of room. Easy booking in and out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Just a few Niggles but we would stay again Highly recommend the Star Pub the Steak was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not connect to the WiFi There was a Issue with the Shower tried the phone Number provided no response Tried knocking on the door of the Pub no response. When the Pub did open it was to late to have a Shower as we had to be out of the room at 11am

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    A friendly, helpful welcome and a clean, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately in the morning we discovered the shower was broken and not working, nor was there any hot water though there had been when we arrived. (Room 4)

    A friendly, helpful welcome and a clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is very convenient for both the centre of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with more power sockets. The only socket I found was under the desk and difficult to get to. The shaving socket in the shower room also didn’t work. The shower cubicle needs a thorough clean. There is mould growing in the corners .

    The location is very convenient for both the centre of the town and the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful. Th room was basic, but functional

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    You get what you pay for (but single women, there's no indoor padlock or bolt)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main thing I didn't like was that there wasn't any kind of indoor padlock. I am a woman traveling alone, and the pub gets noisy with lots of drunk people. The only lock was an electric keypad from the outside, and that didn't look very secure at all, and I felt kind of unsafe there. I wound up putting a chair in front of the door. Also, there wasn't any kind of desk, and there was only one extra outlet for charging devices, underneath the small counter on the wall where the TV was. The shower was kind of scruffy, no tub. No electric outlet in the bathroom. But it's cheap, so I guess you can't really complain that much? Though seriously, I was bothered by the lack of an indoor bolt. That shouldn't cost that much to put in.

    The location was really good - close to the station, shops, restaurants, etc. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Good option when you are using Stanstead Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked four rooms. Two have them had problems with the shower being to hot. Also now started charging for £3 per day for car parking which used to be free.

    Rooms are accessable from the car park. Buss stop right outside that will take you to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tricky to set the water in the shower to the right temperature. Only managed to get anything but piping hot water after several attempts.

    Cozy rooms! Very good beds! Nice pub!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    A nice, well located pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, and a road right outside meant it was rather loud. The room got incredibly hot, but to be fair most of that was this heatwave.

    Comfortable, incredibly convenient, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice pub, basic but clean accommodation, welcoming staff, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay over for flying from Stansted. Basic but clean accommodation. Five mins walk to the station then one stop on the train to the terminal! They let me leave my car in the car Park for a very reasonable price. A proper pub with a good beer selection. Overall a great alternative to airport hotels and parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Good. Enjoyable and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food on site, and limited space for parking.

    Friendly and considerate. The Inn has some good beers and lagers. It’s not a long walk to the restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a complaint, but I found it difficult to open the door as I have poor grip in my hands. The staff did come to my rescue on several occasions

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. Good facilities, quiet and private.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    beds really comfortable had a good sleep
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was not anything to dislike

    Adam the land lord of the pub was cheerful very polite we did not have to wait long to get into the room the only thing was advert said lovely pub food which is no longer on offer but Adam explained where everything was in the town which was only a short walk away room lovely we only used it as a stop over on the way to Stanstead airport which was only up the road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    The Jolly Brewer pub and its rooms which are outside of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms suffer from a lot of road noise, as they are within feet of a main road, but this does have advantages as your car is next to your room. The duvet wasn’t the warmest but for summer months is adequate.

    The Jolly Brewer pub and its rooms which are outside of the pub in an annex are within minutes of the town centre and its shops. My room was of a very good size as was the bathroom which is actually too big for what you might require. It was very basic but for a few nights stay was perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too hot couldn't turn it down even burnt my self and ended up washing at sink . Main door handle difficult to use .

    Nice to have shopping center near by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    It has parking and is easy walking distance from town, however, would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got the impression that the accommodation side of this Hotel operation was seen by the owners as purely a cash cow. We were a four-night stay but were treated barely adequately buy hotel registry staff. Showing us the room took about two minutes – he was not at all interested! Apart from us pointing out various room inadequacies: bathroom * showerhead connection fell apart and needed replacement – it was not. * the water pressure was too high splashing out of bathroom sink – nothing done. * the bathroom taps needed replacement and were not. Bedroom * the bed had two overhead reading lights – only one worked. * coded door lock was too stiff, my wife cold not open it. This was not a good stay!

    We were a four-night stay for what the UK would call a three-star type of accommodation. I would think it is reasonably supported by one stay only tenants, as a consequence rooms are only of ordinary cleanliness and tidiness. The beds were made each day as were the rooms. The parking was excellent and shopping and restaurants of Bishops Stortford were only a five to ten-minute walk away. This is a local hotel that trades to locals so noise is not an issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    The room was spacious and had all amenities needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints, very easy and pleasant.

    The room was spacious and had all amenities needed. Situation was close to a main road but we were not disturbed by any traffic noise. Location is close to the centre of town and restaurants and bars. Also parking was available in front of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Central & clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hairdryer in room (though supplied on request)

    Basic, clean accommodation conveniently located, minutes' walk from great restaurants, cafes and the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.0
    Exactly what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet could have been a bit cleaner. The mixer tap in the shower was stiff and difficult to operate.

    Simple check-in and check-out, friendly staff, comfortable beds. TV and tea-making equipment all fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Stopover for flight,convenient for bus and train early in the mooooorning
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to the street,motel like hotel,drive upto the front door.Good for a stopover for Stansted airport.

    The owners were great,invited me to play Sunday pub quiz,very helpful.Room was spotless,bedding nice,tv good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good value, clean, convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grubby chair, tired carpet, too few sockets, loose toilet seat.

    Comfortable beds, clean room, friendly welcome, fan, free parking outside room, white linen and towels, free toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water, great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The venue was very comfortable and met our requirements.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The men's shaver point could have been better, one with a better light incorporated into it.

    We did not have brakefast as it was a bed only booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Good place to stopover or possibly longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in a block adjacent to the pub and although on the main road are set back enough not to be noisy. The pub is a traditional English inn with friendly staff and good beer selection and close enough to the town and local facilities. Ideal for stopover on the way to or from Stansted Airport. One tip is to get the frequent bus service instead of the train. It stops nearly outside and is cheaper, probably quicker and certainly more pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy right by the road Very thin walls heard all the other guests Took a long time to get hot water and shower taps broken Quite expensive with no breakfast

    Close to town Beds ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with parking and nice clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very very warm- all heaters were on so had to open the door to let in some air- the weather was a bit horrible so understand why it was on but was too warm for us

    The welcome was very nice they took us to the room and showed us around explained everything. They were very welcoming and the room was exactly what we needed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    All fine, comfortable room,helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame about the noisy neighbours who had a loud conversation right outside our bedroom window at 5am!

    All fine, comfortable room,helpful staff. Very convenient for Stansted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.4
    😞😞😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets did not work in any of the rooms. Paid a high price just to sleep in a bed. No TV & not able to have a hot drink when we wanted one or charge phone. Poor outcome to this accommodation was informed there was no inconvenience caused 😳😳😳

    Clean & comfy rooms. Staff helpful & accommodating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Cosy room, friendly helpful people. Bed was very comfy and we slept well. Great location for town centre, amenities and my daughters home. Enjoyed our stay. N

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.1
    n/a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the idea it's called a Bed and Breakfast when you don't get a breakfast. The wifi didn't connect after typing in the code from the card i was given from the man in the public house

    I liked the room with double bed, shower,kettle and tv. I also liked how quiet it was being smack bang right next to the pub and not hearing any revellers or chatty people coming out at closing time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Champion!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. If I was picky I would say the bathroom is dated but functional.

    We travelled down to surprise our friend who was celebrating her 50th birthday at Skew. Warm room on arrival. Bottled water. Clean, tidy room a very short walk to the centre of Bishop's Stortford. Free parking was a bonus. Adam was courteous on arrival and directed us to our room. What more could you ask for? We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient for town centre, friendly staff . Nice hot water for showers and bed comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were late back one night and had difficulty opening the room door (key pad entry). We couldn’t raise anyone in the pub as it was closed and were thinking we might be spending the night in the car. After an hour of trying we eventually gained access. The car park needs to be monitored as it was being used by locals who have no connection with the hotel. On the morning we were leaving there was an ambulance parked across the rear of our car. We were walking the streets for an hour trying to find the ambulance driver who was eventually found in a neighbouring house probably awaiting his next call. Had the car park not been occupied by people with no connection to the hotel we would have been able to exit our parking bay.

    The location is very close to the town and within walking distance

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Cheap and cheerful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like.

    It was a comfortable place to stay before our flight. Nice shower, tea and coffee and bottled water in the room. The rooms are just outside the pub so convenient for a drink but there is no food at the pub. Walking distance into the centre where you can find places to eat. We are staying again in February.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    I didn't really sleep, but the room was furnished OK and things worked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper-thin walls; noise from road and even quiet fellow-guests. Plug sockets are UNDER the table/worktop. Bedside light-switch high out of reach. Bathroom smelt of urine, although it seemed clean.

    Perfectly OK for a work pit-stop, but not worth £59 without food. Nice welcome from landlord at pub. Door-code worked. Both roller-blind and venetian blind help exclude lights. Good bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't think there was a hair dryer, but didn't check thoroughly.

    We arrived really late, so I was able to call up earlier in the day to get the code for the room, rather than have to collect a key from somewhere. Very easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    No frills, good value for money accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Simple, clean and fairly modern accommodation, located just on the out skirts of the town short walking distance to rail, shops, restaurants and bars. Staff were pleasant and helpful, very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, good value for money, room had everything that you needed. There are limited parks and very limited off street parking if these are full.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Warm, clean, cheap with very helpful staff and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could have been a 5* room but then we would have to have paid a lot more.

    Warm, clean, cheap with very helpful staff and close to where we wanted to be. Exactly what we expected for the money. No complaints at all. Special mention to Adam, the manager, who couldn't have been more helpful and immediately sorted a problem with the free Wi\Fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    cheap, pleasant and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very basic, which is what you should expect given the cost. I'd say very good value for money but if you're looking for something romantic and cosy then you should look elsewhere.

    Cheap and cheerful. Had what we needed (minus a hairdryer but I'm pretty sure that if I'd asked for one I would have got one!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.9
    Ideal for staying before flying if the road noise doesn't bother you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right by a main road so is noisy.

    10 mins drive to Stansted & cheaper than hotels at the airport. Nice pub next door. Accommodation is in separate unit from the pub, with parking right by the door. Comfortable bed. Ideal for us as we had to drive to the airport at 4am.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean tidy room, good size, very good location, some minor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly no breakfast, but there are cafes close by, 15-20 minutes walk

    Clean tidy room, good size, very good location, some minor traffic noise but then it is on a main road, quiet after about 23:00. Parking outside the rooms, but it is also the pub car park so can fill up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lady who looked after the rooms was excellent and so helpful (ordered taxi when we could not get one) as we was flying from Stansted for a holiday our flight was not until later but she allowed us to stay in the room until it was time to clean it, 10/10 for her.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame you can't get dinner at the pub. But not a big deal to walk.

    Liked the motel style layout with own external door. Room was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Good value stop over with good local amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not connect to the wifi, this could have been my fault and I did not pursue the matter with the staff. The carpets needed a good clean. The pub did not do food.

    Very close to town and within walking distance of lots of restaurants. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean. This was an overnight stop and good value for money. Only one member of staff, who was lovely and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Our room was perfectly adequate for our needs, apart from the blinds letting in light when closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was at street level and the Venetian blinds on the window when closed did not completely block out the outside lights which were quite bright. Perhaps some curtains to pull across the blinds would solve this problem?

    The property was convenient for the town centre and although we did not park at the property, I believe parking was available outside the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some new windows as you do get a fair bit of road noise, but it did not spoil my stay

    Very warm check in, Great room for the money, lovely comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable room, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff need to check that facilities are working when previous occupants have vacated. The shower wasn't working, we didn't find out until the morning when we needed to use it. No staff are on site when the pub is closed, you can only leave a message on the service. However, when staff did eventually get to us, they swiftly changed our room. Would be good if food was available at the pub. Basin taps need updating.

    Comfortable room with adequate space for short stay, friendly staff, good location. Plenty of hot water, tea & coffee facilities with bottled water, which was a nice touch. Included in the shower room were complementary toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Not our favourite stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, so went to local café at 8am. On return found door opening code did not function. All belongings locked in room. No-one present in pub to help. Constant 'phone messages to pub went to voicemail. Sat on step until 10-30 when someone arrived. Not good when you have a plane to catch. More a motel than a hotel. Acommodation building a little disappointing.

    Staff pleasant and helpful when present.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    This room was perfect for our needs and Jackie and her staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brighter lighting

    This room was perfect for our needs and Jackie and her staff put themselves out to allow us to have our room earlier as we were going to a wedding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Standard room with all the usual facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a chain style lock on the inside of the door.

    Standard room with all the usual facilities. On arrival the owner was lovely and friendly, nothing seemed like too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Very satisfactory for a short stay, with easy access to town centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a bit too near the main road.

    Friendly and very helpful small staff. Good selection of beers, even non-alcoholic beers. Pleasant local feel to the pub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.3
    Staff open the door without any questions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff open the door without any questions!!! Staff hit the door to make you live , even they are busy with the rest of the rooms . Never come back there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Ideal as a place to sleep during the night before the flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like the location of rooms quite close to the main road. Because of the cars' noise I couldn't sleep very well. On the other side, we just need a place to stay really close to the airport and for that purpose it is perfect.

    Really close to the Stansted Airport. Just 10 minutes wals from the train station, from which it is just 1 stop (12 minutes) to the airport. The gentleman that showed us our room was also very polite and willing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    the bed was comfy the room clean and there was parking at...
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place does not do food although they own the pub next door it would be niice to have been able to get a full English to start the day,when we asked we were told that there were plenty of cafes down the road which there were put if you visted then parking was a problem.

    the bed was comfy the room clean and there was parking at the property however we had to call the proprietor each evening to open the door although we used the code they gave us we couldnt open the door they told us that it was just very stiff not good, customers don't want that kind of trouble.All in all not bad accommodationbut we have stayed at better

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although excellent location for airport and local party, noisy road and patrons of the pub

    Complimentary bottles of water & tea/coffee facilities in room . Landlady Jackie was so lovely and friendly and very accommodating with luggage storing and late check out. Even got a lift to retrieve our car 😘

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Very pleasant stay but parking is an issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at the property after a 6 hour drive to find there were no available car parking spaces at the front or rear of the property. All the surrounding roads were double yellow or permit holder parking. I found this rather distressing. I had to park about half a mile away and then hope a space became available once the pub customers left, which one did at about 11.30pm. I could then park outside. If traveling by car I would recommend contacting the pub first and arrange car parking if possible.

    Comfortable, clean, spacious, simple, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money and very convenient to public/train transport.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not sound proofed enough and the traffic noise, being near to the main road into Bishop Stortford, made our first night's sleep rather poor. Our return two weeks later we were armed with ear plugs and heard almost nothing. Do not arrive without these necessary accessories.

    Staff were very attentive and were good enough to text on the day with an access code knowing that we were going to arrive late -after midnight. All went well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    An overnight stay in Bishops Stortford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went to visit family in Bishops Stortford and the Jolly Brewers is only a 20 minute walk from their house. It is also minutes away from the centre of Bishops Stortford so the location is excellent for us. The welcome was warm and helpful. The accommodation was basic but clean and perfect for a value for money overnight stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    As we were arriving very late 00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's nearness to the road and poor sound insulation did not result in a good night sleep on our first visit due to traffic through the night. I slept better with earplugs on the second stay- customers need to know this, or the rooms better guarded against the road noises.

    As we were arriving very late 00.30 hrs we made arrangements with Alan who kindly texted the self-access code to get to our accommodation. He did this without a prompt from me as a result of our discussion about the matter 14 days before when we stayed there on our outward journey. This was very kind and considerate of him.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Duxford visit Base
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited the Duxford air show, short drive to Duxford on M11. Nice pub, friendly staff. Many restaurants near by. Clean basic room, a little traffic and noise, did not disturb us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 1 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good for train station. Friendly member staff checked us in. Very helpful. Would recommend for overnight stay if heading to Stansted airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcome! Hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lot pf trouble using the shower. It is certain they have hot water, but temperature was savage! Too hot, almost boiling water. Handle to regulate temperature was stuck so it was very difficult to turn it.

    I liked the flexible check out time. The location is far from London but near a train station and Stansted. Satellite TV service was available, so you can only arrive to the spot and lay down and watch some TV, it was great. Bed was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Great value, great location, helpful friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was very dirty and the chair in the bathroom could do with being taken out as it was very stained. Bit of road noise, Other than that though the place was great.

    Loved that the rooms were separate to the pub rather than being above as so many others. Great location, very helpful friendly staff. Had everything we needed. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 3 rooms 1, 2,& 3 the shower in room 1 was fine however rooms 2 and 3 were too hot and could not be adjusted to make it comfortable.

    We booked 3 rooms 1, 2,& 3 the shower in room 1 was fine however rooms 2 and 3 were too hot and could not be adjusted to make it comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    A grate place to stay. Warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The taps in the bathroom were on a timer, making it difficult for washing.

    Although close to the main road traffic noise was minimal. It was ideally situated for a wide range of cafes and restaurants and the town centre. Bus stops were very close. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlord who was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.5
    Motel style rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 3 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast.

    Bedroom nice and warm, bed comfy. Even though it's next to a busy road, it quitened down during the night - so I had a good nights sleep. Could do with a little bit of TLC e.g. carpets fraying etc, but would I stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant running/flushing of the toilet (as we discovered it was broken) for approx 9 hours. Kept us awake all night so we didn't need the alarm after all !!!

    comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal prefence for bath as well as shower. Proximity to road - although not personally bothered by traffic noise, some people might be disturbed by this

    Friendly welcome, clean accommodation, comfy beds, good location for airport and restaurants. ease of checkout

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 4 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We used this as a stopover to go to Stanstead Airport the following morning so it was very convenient. The walk into the town centre was also very close so we could get a meal in the evening. Staff were very helpful. Will definately use again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.1
    Staff were very good, only had cold water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room 5 - Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is near to a main thorough fair, I was unable to sleep due to the amount of road traffic passing by. One vehicle had music playing in it I heard the music before I heard the engine noise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat was on all night in the room and we couldn't switch it off so had to open the window which meant we could hear any noise outside.

    Beds were very comfortable, free water and tea/coffee facilities were much appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    5.8
    Cheap but take ear plugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 2 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of noise from the road and neighbouring rooms through to the earlier hours, a very bad night's sleep.

    Close to the station and the town centre

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    Rooms were clean and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not work. Only very hot water coming out. This needs to be fixed! Could not have a shower during duration of stay.

    Rooms were clean and basic. Very close to town center.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location for visiting family and going to places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room 6 - Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spotlights in room and bathroom could have worked. Towel rail in bathroom was not heated and could not turn it on.

    Close to town but noisy at night. Beds comfy.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: