Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Greater London hotel reviews
  4. London hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Venture Hostel

Reviews of Venture Hostel

86 Tanners Hill, Deptford, Lewisham, London, SE8 4PN, United Kingdom

#739 of 1,066 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 693 hostel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    Beds are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that is little bit uncomfortable is that the toilet and bathroom are on the different floors. Everything else is very good!

    Beds are comfortable. There is heating in the night, so you won't get cold. Breakfast is very good. Staff is very nice and helpful. They will find for you and explain everything you want. Bar and restaurant is a lovely, relaxing place. Location is also very good if you have some job/study nearby. I liked it, and would highly recommend this hostel for every traveler with any purpose. Thank you Venture Hostel! ☺️

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    7.5
    Nice stay, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -bed is hard but is okay -sheets have some stains but generally clean -metal luggage storage at the bottom of the room is very hard to use. The metal cage make a lot of noises and so it is hard to take your stuff at night or in the morning without disturbing others. (Bring your own lock) -luggage storage cost 2 pound

    -staffs are very friendly and easy to communicate to -good location, the train, bus and tube station is within walking distance about 10-15min -easy to get to Westminster by bus 453 or 53 from the bus stop in front of the hostel -clean toilet and shower, the cleaner is very hardworking and diligent in maintaining the cleanliness -friendly people who stay often at the accommodation -reasonable price -safe environment -many affordable convenient store around the area and open till late

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    8.8
    Nice clean place, clean bed, regular cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They don't have kitchen only a refrigerator and a microwave on the floor.

    Nice clean place, clean bed, regular cleaning. Bathrooms, toilets are in good condition and clean.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    8.3
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think you get what you pay for.

    The stuffs are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome, I was so full that I need to return two eggs back.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    7.9
    It was £20 for the night, I guess you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other staff shrugged off complaint when items went missing from my locker, discussed the matter in front of me but not in English, then just shrugged it off

    Convenient location, cheap & cheerful, comfortable bed & warm enough Jonathan was very nice, polite, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    5.4
    Free drink voucher, friendly staff, charging port by your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ants on the floor, beds very small, difficult for tall person to get in and out as banging head all the time.

    Free drink voucher, friendly staff, charging port by your bed. Close to a DLR and shops.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2019

    9.6
    A hostel oasis in the middle of Deptford. I will exceed your expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like. Maybe the only thing that needs work are the door locks for the showers, but otherwise they got it spot on.

    Chilled funky lounge, where you can connect and work with a capuccino. Showers were very clean and easy to use. Staff were nice and always open to help.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2019

    8.3
    Room was big enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The thing to lock my stuff was under the bed and the floor wasn't even so The lid kept falling on me. Booked a room for 6 persons, but got a room for 8. In one shower the water was way too hot and it didn't get colder.

    Room was big enough. Toilets and showers were cleaned every morning.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    6.7
    It’s ok, not bad
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit noisy and the heater doesn’t work well in my room, was cold a little bit in the night

    It’s ok, not bad. Clean, near transportation and supermarkets

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    7.9
    Got a coupon for a free beer at checkin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no kitchen to make meals although there was a restaurant/bar below the rooms. No common area to sit besides the bar. Only one sink on the floor for many people.

    Got a coupon for a free beer at checkin. At night was quiet. Beds were alright.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2019

    5.4
    Very expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very loud. People outside the window until 3am and music outdoors. There were also people gathered outside our door all night which made us feel uncomfortable

    The room itself was lovely, decorated nicely and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    9.2
    Saved my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A couple of the plugs were a bit loose and didn't fit right in the rooms. The hostel is a little far from central london but that is easy to solve if you use new cross station which the staff explained how to get to and was easy to use.

    Traveling alone as an 18 year old girl internationally is scary. On top of the usual stresses my phones data stopped working which i rely on a lot to look up locations and call ubers. The gentleman at the bar helped me connect to the wifi (it wasnt hard i was just dumb and stressed) and ordered me a taxi and told me to how to use the overground system nearby. The next night after a few major stresses in the day (which already had me feeling bad) i found out my grandma died. I then proceeded to eat a very large bag of fries while crying on the couch in the bar. The staff didn't mind (or notice? Sorry if you did) but asked if i wanted to join a bar game happening and were very friendly and cleaned up after me as i was making quite a mess. The hostel was very nice overall and their staff kept me from having a full on breakdown which i appreciate a lot. The beds were comfortable and clean and the privacy curtains were nice. The staff was super helpful and patient even when i was super dumb and stressed. The overground was very close by which the staff helped me figure out how to get to. Overall a great experience.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    9.6
    Great value for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems at all, just worth noting to watch your head if you’re on a third bunk!

    Brill staff - Jas was amazing, really friendly and a truly nice guy. Location is good - two train stations a 5 minute walk away for central London. Beds are comfy with plugs, USB connections and small compartments to keep bedside items. Bar downstairs is cheap with good beer and breakfast set up looked great. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    6.7
    Nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Communal showers and toilets - just a preference but would have preferred gendered facilities or at the very least more than five showers for the entire building. No lift - not a biggie if you're a backpacker but just be aware. Corridors were filthy but to be expected in hostels, still, I stayed four nights and the same bits of rubbish was on the floor from when I arrived to when I checked out.

    Good wifi in my room. Check in and out was easy. Staff friendly. Greenwich is a nice place - good location outside of main hub.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2019

    8.3
    Good value for money, functional, if you're a happy bunk bed sleeper you'll be happy here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were so many different staff working there you never really saw a familiar face.

    The breakfast was simple, fruit, bread for toast/toasties, cereal and fruit juice, tea etc. But for 3quid50 can't fo wrong. The location was good, 8 minute walk from deptford station.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    8.3
    London Trip Feb 2019
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    * we asked them not to charge our credit card as we wanted to pay in cash, this request was missed however rectified when we arrived.

    * very helpful & friendly staff * the property was near to public transportation (bus & train to the city center) * the bus service to/from the hotel to the city center operates 24/7 * near to aldi

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    7.5
    Good stay, nice people, wide variety of people. Good bar but not so good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The communal shower could be a bit more private and practical.

    People were welcoming, the bar is quite comfortable, the facilities were value for money. Didn’t like the communal showers but overall was value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2019

    7.1
    Location is close to shops like Tesco, ASDA, and 2 rail...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Was small common room with big TV, when buillder put plaster on the top, board colapsed on the floor, so they started renovation, and makiing another bed room. There's no more kettle, only microwave on the floor, if you ask black man for hot wather, he will say he selling coffee (in the bar). If you want to change the room after paying, they will say they can't (or they don't want to). Internet is very slow. Only for browsing websites. Prices only going all the time up.

    Location is close to shops like Tesco, ASDA, and 2 rail stations and one DLR. On the walls are big Rail London maps and many info for travellers with discounts.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2019

    10
    Best hostel bathroom I’ve ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room itself was a little too dark even with the lighting so it was difficult to put makeup on and there was only one small mirror.

    Honestly this hostel had the nicest bathrooms I’ve ever seen in a hostel and that is the main reason I’d go back. The staff were above and beyond with recommending local attractions and just overall accommodating. Really great service!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    7.0
    Staff is great, also the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a 3-person bunk bed is too much. also need more space or a hanger in the shower.

    Staff is great, also the bar. Beds ok, bathroom lacks of space and there is just one available.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.9
    sensery people are check in same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    sensery people are check in same room. i’m so angry my bottom bed’s her who told “fuxx don’t shading bad” BUT i just get up early. what should i do for her? :((

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    7.5
    Cheap, clean and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The plugs on our beds weren’t working so we couldn’t charged our phones and it was very hot in side the room

    They had a very cool bar, the staff was so nice, room confy with courtains, and in general everything clean

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    8.3
    Attention!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Really noisy (there is a restaurant downstairs which is super convenient for unplanned parties) and overcrowded on Friday night when a lot of people are checking in.

    Attention! Extremely clean hostel. The bed is equipped with the lamp and sockets (even European type). There are hair dryers in toilet and shower areas. Common area exists but it's very small and impossible to cook but there is a fridge, kettle and microwave. The location is good and the area is quite but with supermarkets and cafes.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.2
    Was decent location, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was decent location, clean. Cheap and cheerful really! We used it for the o2 and it was ideal. Approx 10 mins from there in a taxi. About 10 min walk to the nearest tube which again was accessible to everywhere really. We booked the whole room out so never needed to share

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    8.3
    Overall, a very clean & comfortable hostel. Quite hip & trendy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signs for toilets / showers point to the wrong floor.

    Comfortable beds, bar downstairs is trendy. Food looks good, though I didn't try it. To clarify, bedsheets / duvet is included free, as the listing isn't quite clear.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    4.0
    Cozy-looking at check-in, Available for check-in at any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stinky smell in the kitchen, weak hot water stream in a shower. There are no plates, no oven, no plastic spoons, no sink in the kitchen room. Also there are no lockers.

    Cozy-looking at check-in, Available for check-in at any time. Has a lot of rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the boiler wasn't working properly during my stay, but the staff tried to fix the issue straight away. Their continental breakfast was good but I would have loved if they had at least one alternative milk option. Their reading lights aren't very powerful so they're not very useful.

    Bed and pillow were very comfortable. There's a common room with a kettle and a microwave that I found very useful. The place was pretty clean and sheets are changed regularly. The heating is on all day so the place was nice and warm despite the cold weather. New cross station is just a few minutes away! :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.8
    The location is 30 min by subway and is not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During weekedins music from the pub could be annoying but it is a really good hostel for the price !

    The location is 30 min by subway and is not bad. The bed is comfortable and it is very clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.7
    it's a ok hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the only two criticism is the lights my dormroom didn't seen to work and one of the showers was scorching hot

    the staff were friendly, the rooms were nice and place was pretty good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.2
    Really nice place, comfortable beds with the curtains giving...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could be a little bit cheaper

    Really nice place, comfortable beds with the curtains giving some privacy, plugs by each bed, friendly helpful staff) good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.3
    the staff was amazing very kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the kitchen you can find a microwave, a kettle and a fridge. But no cups, no glasses, no knife or forks, spoons nothing.... although there wasnt any problem to go and borrow down at the restaurant,but every day we felt a little bit disturbing

    the staff was amazing very kind and nice. The beds were very confortable !! Toilets and showers were cleaned twice a day, means very clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.6
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff learning didn’t know how to proceed for check in and check out. People in the room putting music at 4am and drinking beer, horrible, never going to stay here again

    Good Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    3.3
    This is the worse hotels ever, I was having my breakfast...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the worse hotels ever, I was having my breakfast which I paid for and the workers were watching us constantly. There is no kitchen to cook a meal or to make a drink water. And the food was over priced.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable, friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Separate male/ females bathrooms would have been great. But it's my only criticism.

    This place has a great vibe. Perhaps because of the mix of people I saw come and go - and not only backpackers. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and it was quiet ( female dorm). Safe area, close to shops, transport and local markets. Manager and staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly and made all the difference - much appreciated when I arrived late at night after a long day of travelling and was tired and disoriented - fed me even though the kitchen was closed! I recommend the goat curry!! I'd have no issue straying here again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.1
    For the price it was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On the weekend the music in the pub downstairs was so loud that nobody could sleep. There are cages where you can store your suitcase and lock it. One evening when I came back my cage was in another room! I just had a key for my own room. I was lucky that I had a friend staying in the other one. Otherwise I would've never found out where my cage went!!!! That was unacceptable.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i do not know if the fact there is no lift is mentioned in the description of the hotel. If i am not wrong, there were only three sinks for everybody, that is too few considering there are a lot of people in dormitories

    Extra clean. Place is very well taken care of.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Ideal for my needs. One night stop over
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All meals were £10 which was a bit out of my price range, being a student. Would be great to see a cheaper option

    Very friendly staff. Nice food on offer. Good atmosphere. Very close to New Cross station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.1
    Okay for a short stay and travelling to the O2
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed were comfy but very shaky so when the person below you move the whole bed shake. The toilet and shower facilities were clean but the shower room didn’t felt very private since there were gap between the shower stalls

    We were travelling to London for a 2 days concert so the location was perfect for us since it wasn’t too far from the O2 arena. The price for 2 days was super cheap. Also, the staffs was super friendly and very helpful :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.7
    Each bed space has own plugs so I could put my phone beside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hostel has a bar in ground floor. In mid night(2-3am), those people who got drunk were so noisy outside. Even they had been shouting for long time, staff never came out to make them silent.

    Each bed space has own plugs so I could put my phone beside me while sleeping. Every staff member was nice and kind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    6.3
    It was an average sort of facility and cheaper option on other hand.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 26 nights

    No attached bathroom was very problematic especially for females. plus there was no area where one could stay, read, use laptop or even call somebody.

    It was a cheaper option for me. Like the wifi and staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.9
    The hostel was clean and the curtains around the bunk beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The showers and toilets could be in better condition.

    The hostel was clean and the curtains around the bunk beds are a fantastic help with privacy. The staff are helpful and the downstairs pub is excellent for food and drink at affordable prices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    Simply Brilliant highly recomended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be careful not to get you towel wet in the showers.

    Exceptional accommodation close to Underground, Southwestern Railway, DLR and Busses. Full set of facilities including quiet lounge upstairs and the very welcoming pub downstairs. Individual Electric and USB points and storage at all beds. Private lounge with kettle and microwave. Free Iron and Ironing board and paid laundry, nicely furnished and decorated communal areas. Good sized comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Getting in to middle bunk. But it got sorted. Next visit I'll have to stipulate bottom.bunk. couldn't get in. Not a dislike just me couldn't get.in. how someone got in there is beyond me.

    Location. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    There was a problem with processing my card before I came to London so I was given a free upgrade in a 6-bed female room, which was really appreciated. The beds were comfortable and this was the first of many hostels I've stayed in which actually had curtains around the beds for privacy which made the stay more comfortable. Overall my stay here was very positive, in a convenient location for where I needed to be in London, and a great price. The staff were also very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Hostel is clean and accommodating , staff are friendly ,...
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hostel is clean and accommodating , staff are friendly , good for short and long stay with breakfast and laundry place ,George was very helpful when I had to do the laundry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    6.3
    The staff members were extremely rude and disrespectful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were wobbly and the mattresses were too small for the bed frames. The curtains over the beds also had massive gaps at the top, which lead to quite a few creepy people (including staff members) to believe that it was acceptable to peer in and stare at me. The staff members were incredibly rude: four of them barged into my dormitory at quarter past 8 in the morning talking at full volume with complete disregard to the fact that people in the room were sleeping. They kept saying that someone in the room had stinky shoes, repeating over and over again that it was really bad and that they didn't know how they expected anyone to sleep with the smell. Well I don't know how they expected anyone to sleep with all the noise they were making. I don't plan on ever staying there again. Also the shower was cold.

    The lockers were big and there were USB ports by each bed so you could charge your phone overnight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Thanks for an excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a very nice and friendly place to stay Ade the staff member who I dealt with could not do enough for his customers he is very knowledgeable about the area and all public transport. I have stayed in high end hotel that would not come near the level of service provided here. Next time I'm in London have absolutely no doubt I'll be staying here

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    7.1
    It was a good experience. I like Jordan, the guy With braces in his teeth and the cleaners.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners are doing a job but clients should be ask after few days or a week to change their linens for them or not.

    Some females uses their personal life to disturb others forgetting the fact that it's a hostel, you might want to read in the evening or at night but a woman could command you to switch off the lights, neither can you receive calls freely in a female room, guys are more reasonable than some women in that hostel. Thank you so much for your concern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sharing a dorm you can be disturbed by others coming into the room later. Not a problem just a consideration

    The friendliness, the location, the facilities. Great pub and atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    Best in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is amazing. They made the stay wonderful. There is a new owner in this Hostel. I believe they will continue to improve on all areas. Thank you to your whole staff for making it a stay I will always remember.

    Again, the staff was amazing. Which tells me the owner cares enough to hire only the best for their guest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.1
    Good short stay at a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator, the staircase is tough if you have bulk luggage. Kind of noisy at night as the window needs to be opened in summer. But totally acceptable due to the low price.

    The staffs are really friendly and helpful. Discount in the pub. Downstairs. Everything is clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    Affordable and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness could be better in the shower rooms, since the toilets are above the shower room (2nd floor), the smell travels through the pipeline. I suggest dumping some clorox regularly.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.8
    Fit for purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds aren't very comfortable and the big metal bunk beds are noisey! Only one tiny fan in the room by one bed.

    Loved the curtains around the bunk beds and plugs by every bed. Staff were really nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    8.3
    The mattress and the pillow were really comfortable and, for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was sent an email telling me that I would be given a bottom bed (I wrote in booking notes that I would prefer one), so I was looking forward to that. But then I found out I got the top bed. I'd definitely prefer not to get any email, so that I wouldn't get my hopes up for nothing.

    The mattress and the pillow were really comfortable and, for a hostel, the room wasn't too cramped. It's close to train and DLR stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.9
    Did what I came to do, no unpleasant experiences so overall OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    People snoring and slamming the door at 6am.

    Good location close to shops, value for money, rooms big but at the same time with 12 beds so a little crowdy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    8.3
    In all it was good value for the money and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The design of the stairs on the bunk beds. It was difficult to climb over the stairs to the top bunk and the metal stairs were hard on one's feet. Wooden stairs would have been better. A coffee pot would be nice for the coffee drinkers as instant coffee is not too exciting.

    The staff was very friendly and informative. It was very clean and although a little far from the city, it was convenient to get the bus or train from the hotel. It was also close to many restaurants and market area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.0
    Would not repeat. Left early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roommate found bedbugs in her bed, hostel is a mess due to renovation. Bathrooms and showers could have been cleaner. Too cramped in rooms.

    There were locker and laundry in the premises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good

    Dear Team, My stay at Venture Hostel was an absolute pleasure. My fears before staying there, such as safety, being a woman on my own , were completely vanished, because the Hostel Manager Adi reassured me of the Hostel's high safetyrecord and implementations to safeguard its clients. Adi was very helpful in preparing breakfast, and answered many questions I had to make my stay more enjoyable. The cleaner was thorough and paid Attention to my room's cleaniness, always with a smile and willing to go the extra mile. Other staff were also excellent at their duties. I felt completely safe, and throughly enjoyed myself there, so much so that I've rebooked for August for a friends wedding, also The Groom's Family will be booking to stay pre wedding. With regards Ruth Züfle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was just a very small window in our room but since we were in the city most of the day, it wasn't really a problem.

    Everything was perfect. Breakfast was very tasty, our room was cosy and clean. I would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was incredible. They knew me by name and greeted me each and every time they saw me. They gave me great advice about places to visit and landmarks, closest public transportation and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    4.6
    I chose this hostel because it was cheap but I spent as little time as I could there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not a hostel for young travellers staying for a week, more like a hostel for middle-aged men staying for a whole month. There's a pub on the ground floor so it gets really noisy on the weekends. People in the rooms are noisy too, even in the middle of the night. Most of them are not tourists, they just live there. The showers are located on the first floor and the toilets on the second floor which I found really uncomfortable and inconvenient. There is no common room to relax, only a small room with computers. The Wi-Fi login system is unintuitive.

    Cheap price. The one member of the staff I knew was nice. The bed was comfortable enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    3.8
    Nope! Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to check in at around mid nite which i appreciate is late but not for a hostel. The door to the check in area (which was a guy with a laptop at a table in a hallway landing) was locked and we had to fight through a packed bar of Caribbean/African party nature and ask to be let in by a barman who had better things to do. The sheets on the bed were ok but the showers in the morning were cold and room was tidy considering 3 people had to administer themselves in there in the morning. Turned out to be a £25 taxi ride from the centre of london as well. Overall not a good choice. Had to get the DLR back into the city as tube was also closed.

    I liked that it was cheap. Which was its only saving grace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good option for the price you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes you ran out of hot water. Some parts looked a little bit careless, for example, the stairs.

    Jazz's attention was really really good, he gave us lots of advice. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    The staff especially Merlin and Ade ho are really friendly.
    • Couple
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff especially Merlin and Ade ho are really friendly. I Thank them for their hospitality. Definitely going back to see them. And I love the Bar. It's a nice place to have a drink while listening to good music and meet other people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    8.3
    Brilliantly affordable and a whole lot of fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated the bunk beds. But this is what a hostel is all about, so my gripe is based purely on many, many years of hotel stays.

    My daughter was running the London Marathon so this was the perfect location. The staff were beyond perfection. You became a friend as soon as you walked through the door. Big up Addy. The design of the pub is really cool. I will definitely call in here again for a drink, even if I'm not staying there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Great Location, Great Staff, you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com suggested there was an ensuite - shared bathrooms only. We only had a sky light instead of a proper window and the room was stifling hot - very uncomfortable.

    Staff were friendly. Location was quiet - much needed prior to the marathon the following day for one of my friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.5
    It’s not perfect, but great for few nights, if i had no better option i’d come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - there were no lockers in the room, they give you metal cage and you have to buy yourself a locker if you want to lock your stuff - i was supposed to stay in 6-girls room but it was somehow taken and i ended up in 8-girls room when i paid for sth else - i got money stolen in my room in the last day of my stay, i don’t know if i should mention this because it’s partly my fault as i should hide it better but still it was very disappointing that somebody took my wallet stole the cash and put wallet back in my pocket - spooky people in the room, but it’s not hostels fault i guess - great communication with city BUT it’s pretty far from city of london, over one hour in a bus every day is not what you consider fun - i just didn’t feel safe in general, i think that multibed rooms are not made for people who travel alone

    - price wasn’t high - the rooms were very clean - bathrooms were extra clean and i’ve seen sbd cleaning them almost all day long - i’d say that it’s quiet place, on Friday there was some party in the bar but it didn’t bother me -bed was comfortable, sheets were clean and they looked great in general - two usb ports near your bed and shelf to put phone in it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.1
    great citytrip stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs could to with some new vinyl. More windows open or some fans would help with the dampy air around the hallways in between the rooms sometimes. Smells a bit odd because of that. I'm happy we weren't in one of the rooms directly next to the showers. Would wish the overground station (new cross) was a bit closer.

    One of the employees Ade was very helpful, friendly and cheerful. Breakfast with him around was a great start of the day. The breakfast itself was good too. The rooms and bathroom where clean and the showers hot. Deptford market is very nice and closeby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    I booked the hostel 20 minutes before I arrive since the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked the hostel 20 minutes before I arrive since the other hostel that I was supposed to stay said that I'm underage to stay in theirs. Efficient, effective, nice and friendly staff. Made my worries disappeared. No disappointment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    8.3
    warm, good value and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the showers and toilets could have been on the same floor.

    the owner/landlord had a friendly welcoming manner and the pub was an additional feature with a discount of 15% as a guest. lovely and warm even when outside temperatures were low.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.1
    Positive things first: the receptor was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 9-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are not very comfortable, but they are okay for the price (be very careful when climbing down the bunk bed, because the ladder is very slippery). We had a feeling that some windows couldn't be properly closed.

    Positive things first: the receptor was great. He was very nice - smiley, helpful and always there for our questions and requests. The breakfast was good as well, and so was the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    10
    The place was clean and like a little gem.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 3-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit annoying to ask for things at breakfast, instead of having a free buffet.

    The place was clean and like a little gem. I was in a 3-bed room, all on a bunk bed. Each of them had small curtains plus international power plugs. Wi-Fi worked fine and an iron was freely available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    5.0
    Good heating, bar, easy access charging
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were more interested in serving drinks and talking to people in the bar instead of hostel guests; limited bathrooms with luke warm showers; wobbly beds with hard to access storage

    Good heating, bar, easy access charging

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    3.8
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost everything. Dirty, old furniture, uncomfortable beds, no chair in a room, cold rooms, weird people (homeless?) Staying at hostel at night, no kitchen, only microwave and a kettle, no cutlery, no cups, no plates, broken, old chairs in *kitchen room*, small bathroom with old showers, no curtain so all your stuff gets wet. Cleaning done properly but whole building needs renovation. You cannot sit down in the bar without ordering something and you can't get extra blanket. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone

    Friendly staff, cheap hostel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to sleep for young travelers and for hard workers
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 12-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common area needs to be renovated and furniture to changed

    I like bath space and showers. Beds are comfortable. Very good that everybody can charge his or her units sitting in a bed

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: