Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Bristol Hotel 4 stars

Prince Street, Bristol, BS1 4QF, United Kingdom

#6 of 48 hotels in Bristol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2112 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in a good spot but wish I'd skipped breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was appalling. Fried eggs look like they'd been bought from a joke shop and the scrambled eggs had the texture and (I'd guess) flavour of wallpaper paste. Requested toast never came two days in succession. This is all easy to get right and I'd expect better from a 2* hotel, let alone one claiming 4*!

    Comfortable room, helpful reception staff, great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Good location on quay but not noisy, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member of staff at checkout said my credit card was denied when I tried to pay for room however I used the same card at the airport an hour later with no problems.

    It was a nice, clean, central hotel with friendly staff and great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Perfect 2 Night stay at The Bristol Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Welcomed upon arrival and given a room on the top floor. A large room with a very nice view overlooking the river. All facilities such as coffee machine, tv, WiFi, bed was all excellent. Hot cooked breakfast with the staff bringing extra food and drinks to the table. Parking is very good with 3 days only costing £5. Absolutely nothing to fault with the hotel and would defiantly recommend. Overall, exceptional experience and, upon returning to Bristol, we will defiantly be staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel service and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel ! Room was upgraded as we were celebrating a birthday,also received gifts in room and cocktails !All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Excellent location loved everything about my stay ! Thank you Bristol Hotel 😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Parking was convenient and inexpensive, room was upgraded on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little small and the stairwell between the hotel and car park was a little smelly ....small niggles as i would definitely recommend The Bristol.

    Parking was convenient and inexpensive, room was upgraded on arrival and was well appointed and exceptionally clean and comfortable. The WiFi was good and the TV was a good size. Staff were welcoming and very professional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location and smart hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a basic double on the sixth floor which involved going up in the lift then quite a walk along a corridor including several steps to negotiate. It was a good sized room and very comfortable and quiet. We had a breakfast included which offered a very good selection of food. although we had variable service and long waits for items such as milk, butter and sausages and on the third morning we were half way through our breakfast before our hot drinks arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    I ordered room service and the person I spoke to was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered room service and the person I spoke to was incredibly rude and acted like I had inconvenienced him. When my room service finally arrived it was cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Quiet, comfortable and well decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As above the view and the loo!

    We were upgraded, which was nice and although the view was dreadful the room was a good size and the manager was very friendly and helpful. The parking is good and cheap and the hotel is well decorated inside (ugly outside). The only problem we had was that the toilet was crammed into the smallest of spaces and very difficult to access. The biggest TV I've ever seen!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Very highly recommend for business and pleasure use. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of main courses acceptable if side orders included ie chips and 1 veg. Payong £4 per side order makes one main meal £27 plus which is not competitive to local restaurants ie expensive. Beds are too soft.

    Incredibly warm welcome, staff attention and professionalism outstanding. Very friendly. Room size was great with fantastic views and right in centre. Great breakfast. £5 parking next to hotel per night is a massive benefit and great price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Had a fab time and will definitely be going back to the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is excellent and very secure. Hotel is in a perfect position to explore Bristol. Lovely hotel room and excellent breakfast ! The staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to base yourself in the heart of Bristol for a weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows don't appear to really block out street noise which on a Saturday night can be rather raucous! Also could hear rooms next to us. If you are a sensitive sleeper this may not be the hotel for you. The rooms were nicely designed and spacious but was looking tired in some areas. Also, if you wanted to have a shower you had to clamber into a bathtub. For my elderly mother that was too difficult. I haven't been to a hotel in ages that didn't have a straightforward walk in shower! Also the views are nothing special - booked for a riverside view but 2nd floor has just trees and 1st floor has trees and you can kind of glimpse the water through the leaves! Didn't have breakfast here as there was a very long queuing system! So popped out to a cafe instead.

    The hotel has a glamorous feel to it and the staff are very friendly and helpful. They had a pianist playing in the breakfast lounge area which was a nice surprise! It's also in a great location right by the harbour in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    staff was generally approachable and pleasant, it was quite clean and cosy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bigger room had a very small shower room, had to squeeze in. Also i felt the lady that checked me in was a little snappy and impatient, it had been a long day with meeting and getting lost finding the hotel i was very tired and had a migraine, she could have been a bit more understanding.

    I loved my room it was small and cosy, bathroom was a good size for the room, unfortunately it got quite cold, reception were very understanding explained that room was covered by the central system and moved me to a room with its on air conditioning. It was huge in comparison to the first room, very comfortable bed lost of space! Staff were always happy to help and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location, very comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, great location, very comfortable and fashionably decorated, good location by the river. Parking was great at a cheap discount rate, was able to leave the car there for the full day after checking out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Overall very good and would both recommend and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one person serving at the bar meant for a longer wait than it should have been.

    Excellent customer service when it was discovered the room key did not work. A member of staff personally joined me with a replacement key

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey for the size of the room (standard double room) and also very pricey breakfast considering Wetherspoons is £4 for breakfast a one minute walk away. Should be £10 maximum. Also walls are so thin you can hear everything!!

    Convenience, comfy beds, overall good room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    A pleaure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions. Each time there has been a happy friendly welcome. The rooms have been clean quite and comfortable. Look forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Excellent would go again breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main meal in the restaurant was not up to the standards I had expected the potatoes were cold I asked the waiter to take it back, he did no problem but they came back just as cold and the sauce was congealed. They took this off my I’ll and gave complementary drinks so not all bad.

    Friendly staff location is perfect for all your needs. All the staff couldn’t do enough for you nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Everything excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful from front door to restaurant to rooms. So clean and you won’t want to leave your bed. Food is perfect too. Excellent hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, room upgade was much appreciated, breakfast awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast ( full English) we received a discount rate of ONLY £10 per person instead of £14:50 , eggs were awful, cold & jellied, tomatoes tasteless, bacon over cooked , toast a disgrace must have been the cheapest sliced bread they could have bought, tea was OK just, would not recommend breakfast here at all, much better can be purchased at other venues.

    The free room upgrade was fantastic, quiet , overlooked the harbour, bed was great, bathroom whilst for handicapped. was really enormous, all facilities worked fine, front desk & chambermaids were really pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely for both water front and city of Bristol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was super tiny and there was only 1 available socket to use for charging 3 items

    Room was comfy and quiet. staff nice and whole place clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Sadly breakfast let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, very badly organised, queuing for a very long time. Food was average, nothing special and it felt as if they were short staffed as tables not cleared properly or laid properly as they were so rushed.

    Lovely rooms, clean, nice linen, tea/ coffee and water replenished daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath instead of a shower but that's personal choice

    Made to feel welcome from the moment that we arrived until we left. Room upgrade on arrival, excellent breakfast with a choice of English or continental, friendly staff. Right in the heart of Bristol with lots to see and do much of which is in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    This was my second stay, somehow it wasn't even close to my first experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lock to our room was broken. Several times we had to get someone from reception to come with special device to open the door because their master key didn't work. No try to fix that, no offer to change rooms. We got two parking tickets for free as an apology for inconvenience...

    The location is why you may want to choose this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small. Bit chaotic at breakfast. Too many people not enough tables. Thin walls, could hear everything next door

    Lovely room. Breakfast was tasty. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    The receptionist was excellent, provided us with a brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the shower door was too small for the frame so it opened too far, only complaint.

    The receptionist was excellent, provided us with a brilliant first impression on the hotel. The beds were comfy, the bathroom was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Perfect! Fabulous & the staff couldn’t do enough for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no much to improve on really, the slight issue was our room wasn’t ready when we arrived however by the time we enjoyed our free drink it was all sorted !

    The hotel was amazing! It was in the perfect location and the staff couldn’t do enough for us! We celebrated our 3 year anniversary here and they made it extra special with a free upgrade & a little chocolate surprise in the room. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Bristol!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were was a large queue for a table for breakfast and again at reception when checking out - but it was the Monday of a bank holiday weekend so it's probably to be expected

    Very nice hotel in a very convenient location. Room was quite big and bed was comfortable. Staff were very nice and helpful at all times

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was superb and the hotel was clean and nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait for are room from 2pm untill 3pm, i complained that they hadnt even offered us a refreshment or a drink whilst sat waiting. Ok they were busy but if you cant staff a hotel of that size dont run one, also around 5 6 am there was a noise of a washing machine rumbling that sounded like it had bricks in it so i had to ring the reception ask them to stop the noise.

    The location was superb and the hotel was clean and nice, also the parking was only 5£ and we left it on there for over 28 hrs so it should have been a great deal more

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    clean, at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    during breakfast, you can not make coffee or tea yourself, and the waiting time is expected for a long time; not enough places to sit for guests in the evening; you could not sit to drink coffee;

    close to restaurants, in the very center of the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The NCP carpark attached to the hotel is cheap if you are staying overnight. The only issue is the winding entrance rams which are difficult to negotiate with a large car and the alloys were scraped because it was very tight and difficult to see the kerbs whilst entering and exiting.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    I regularly stay at the Bristol when I attend monthly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I regularly stay at the Bristol when I attend monthly meetings in Bristol. Friendly staff, good facilities and extremely well located for access to the airport etc. Ate in the restaurant this week. Excellent cod dish.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    The staff were lovely and knowledgeable of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and knowledgeable of the area. We received an upgrade of our room upon check in which was a pleasant surprise! Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel was in a great location surrounded by pubs, bars and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Beware to not trust everything some people at reception tell you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff at reception, at check in. They give you words that would please you but in real nothing. I asked for extra towels on my way out for dinner, I was told not to worry and they would be dropped in the room when I get back. Nothing of that happened. I was told I was upgraded to a premium room, it was very similar to the one I booked, didn't look premium at all. I'm not complaining about the room, the room was great, I just didn't like being told lies by the person at reception

    The room was clean, double glazing meant you don't hear much of the loud music in the bars by the lovely river side nearby.. perfect for a good night sleep. Location is great, really good stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Leaving really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty poor breakfast for what they charge. We had vouchers for one day then went elsewhere for the second day and get a much better breakfast that was cooked fresh rather than a buffet. Juice choice was poor. No fresh orange. The staff were pretty slow both at breakfast and the front desk.

    Leaving really. Bristol is pretty run-down. We were there for a wedding, but won’t be returning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Location- onsite parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service in restaurant-surly duty manager who was off hand with us when we pointed out the pork wasn’t cooked enough (decidedly pink !!) hotel reception staff on check out very apologetic and putting things right but restaurant duty manager needs some customer service training!.

    Location- onsite parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room was next to the Fitness Centre which must open very early as we could hear the machines going at 6 a.m.! They managed to find us a different room for our 2nd and 3rd nights which was much quieter. One minor quibble - nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom.

    Very handy location. Nice breakfast. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, comfort and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very warm welcome at reception, the staff making the effort to find an available room for an early check in and also providing a room upgrade all made a great first impression. The hotel is in a wonderful location on the waterfront in the centre of the city. The room was spacious and the large bed very comfortable. The Bristol Hotel gets a big tick from us. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, can walk to most local attractions, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really good, enjoyed the stay. Two things that spoilt it was: 1) service in restaurant. Had to wait ages for starters then they didn't all come, had to ask. Then while still eating starters main courses appeared. 2) checking out. I had pre-paid for the stay for ourselves and friends. At checkout I expected to pay for meal and some drinks but was asked to pay for stay as well. Informed receptionist I had pre-paid but she said it's showing I had to pay. Also explained on checking in receptionist confirmed I had pre-paid. I informed her she had checked out our friends just before us and had not asked them to pay for the stay. She replied she couldn't remember but it was showing I had to pay. I then accessed the email on my phone and showed her I had paid, at the same time her colleague came over and solved the problem. Somewhat embarrassing with other guests nearby waiting to check out and no apology at the end.

    Location, can walk to most local attractions, restaurants close by and cheap parking at NCP next door

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great apart form the car park exit .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car park is dreadful , not suitable for long wheel base cars. It is a sprial entrance and exit. It has 8 inch concrete kerb edges. This means you have great difficulty entering the car park without kerbing your wheels. On the exit you have no choice but to kerb your wheels as you leave on the inside lane. Range Rover diamond cut wheel £200 repair.

    Hotel location and more importantly the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The wonderful welcome and upgrade on arrival. Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Parking was far more convenient, secure and much better value than other hotels. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for waterside with lovely facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was very small

    We had booked a standard room but found it very cramped for two, I immediately rang reception and we were upgraded to a classic room. This was large and very comfortable as are all other facilities in this hotel. Staff extremely polite and friendly, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast in the pleasant dining room was lovely with a good selection of fresh fruit and cereals etc. We had cooked breakfast which was very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great location and super breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the coffee.

    Breakfast was well catered for and was delicious. We didn't like the coffee but maybe that's just personal taste. Our standard room was small but very adequate for our one night stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    First time in Bristol fantastic location and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom difficult for older people to get in and out for shower.

    Was easy to book, staff very friendly and helpful, would highly recommend this hotel, bed was so comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    One night stay over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little on the small side but adequate for a single night stay.

    Staff excellent as was the bar and breakfast. Location is perfect for exploring.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was slightly smaller than expected and hard to dry yourself in there. We also arrived late so went to the restaurant at 9.45pm to be told that we could not be served as the kitchen was closed although the website states they are open until 10pm.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location; quiet; small room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A central hotel, just a few steps from the Bristol docks (and nightlife), excellent staff, room was small but with a large desk. Convenient location for many restaurants. There is also a nice bar at the rear of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Not very good customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There must be more exact information about car parking. Person in check-in was unfriendly and snappish. Payment procedure not understandable. Not very good breakfast.

    Comfortable beds and big room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great centrally located friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we had hot weather, suggest a room on 5th floor not 6th floor. 6th floor was added later to hotel & not as well insulated. Air-con struggled to keep cool.

    Large room. Parking in multi-storey connected to hotel and only £5 per drive out. Hotel extremely central with everything in walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff, No air conditioning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in my room. Realise it was a standard room without a view, but would expect air-conditioning to be standard in all rooms at 4-star hotels.This may not be a problem at many times of year, but this was one of the hottest nights of the yearsnd all the windows in the room were closed when I entered the room. From recollection, it was not stated in the room facilities information on Booking.com that this room did not have air conditioning. There was a small fan in my room, whilst this was better than nothing it was quite loud and meant it took me longer to get to sleep. Apart from this all the facilities in the room were great, so unfortunate that one major thing detracted from my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, spacious and well positioned for the centre of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and food prices a little high.

    Clean, spacious and well positioned for the centre of the city and harbour. Big plus is the parking fee which is vg value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The little things disappointed. Just as the receptionist allocated us two adjacent rooms at check-in a colleague came out of the back office and took one of the rooms. She apologized but was clearly embarrassed. There was only one towel in a room for two, there was no fridge, the walls were very thin and we could clearly hear the people talking next door. Not the high standards that we had anticipated. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant.

    Excellent location in the centre of the city. Parking next door was also very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Overall get place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft for me as I'm used to a firmer mattress

    Location perfect for seeing all Bristol offers and great breakfast very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very “compact”! No where to put luggage - so on floor. Then cases in way of desk door to access tea tray. No air con and therefore pleased a fan was provided which was used. However had to move it for the tea tray ! So a bit of juggling due to the lack of space. One set of towels in bathroom. Asked for a second set and later realised they are kept in the storage cupboard!!

    Location ideal. Excellent breakfast. Very clean hotel including rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Would never stay again unless the rooms had air con and if they did my rating would be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had no air con and windows that barely opened meaning it was unbearably hot in the room. One fan was provided but that was not enough and only served to blow hot hair around an extremely hot room which made sleeping inporssible.

    The hotel is nicely decorated and is in a great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Awesome Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel. The room was really clean and really well presented and a great size. Really near a whole range of restaurants next to the water as well, I was also surprised with a really nice gift and card from the staff delivered to my room for my birthday. I'll be staying here again next time in Bristol!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Anniversary Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most attractive looking hotel, but only from the outside. Parking has to be paid for, although it is heavily subsidised so very cheap.

    Hotel is in a good location with good facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spot on (standard room).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for two people. No room for suitcase, no aircon (it was very hot!), no fridge in room

    Great location, convenient parking, good facilities, excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets in the room were limited and were hard to find. Couldn’t plug laptop charger into desk plug as socket in casing. This is not normal. Also no air con in this room. Again, not the norm.

    Staff are polite. Beds are comfortable. Nice toiletry brand.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    2.5
    Did not stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    E mail from Hotel Bristol advising that the Bristol Harbour Festival was taking place all over the weekend. Parking at the adjacent NCP could not be guaranteed and most city centre roads were closed. In the event the M20/M26 and M25 were gridlocked for hours and we aborted our stay. No refund applicable. Very disappointing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.0
    The room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unbearably hot even with air con on. I was poorly with a virus and hardly slept. During breakfast when we went up for our cooked ie eggs bacon (half way through our breakfast), our table was cleared away.... in all the years I've been using hotels I don't think that has ever happened before. On top of feeling ill and the fact it was my birthday I felt disappointed.

    The room was lovely. Bed comfortable. Lovely view. Good reception and bar staff. Fab location. Great location for harbour festival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Our Bristol hotel of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a standard room and my only small criticism is that when seated on the loo there was very little room for manoeuvre - well for a 6'2'' person at 16.5 stone that is.

    This a genuinely good place to stay with friendly helpful staff that have time for you and a brilliant location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.5
    Car park adjacent at hotel price is small but good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little overpriced , but this was a festival week-end so I guess that is what happens...

    Car park adjacent at hotel price is small but good. Easy to walk around waterfront and centre from this hotel. Good food award!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Juice in the entrance lobby on arrival!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, we had quite a small room but comfy

    Juice in the entrance lobby on arrival! Helpful staff, asked for sheet not duvet and got it (it was very hot)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect spot, lovely hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly old fashioned decor in the bedroom but nothing to grumble about.

    Pretty location, lovely landlord and staff, fantastic food and perfectly clean and equipped bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    BRISTOL BREAK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Very pleasant hotel and staff very welcoming and helpful. Needs of guests well considered. Room and breakfast first class.

    The room was modern and well equipped. Food was excellent and staff were keen to ensure guests were looked after.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. A comfortable and well appointed hotel in a very convenient and central location for visiting the city, and for waterfront walks, bars, restaurants and shops. Convenient, reasonably priced parking is another plus point for this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we stayed for several days, room cleaning was too late in afternoon. One day it was so late, we were back and so had to be cancelled.

    Location is excellent. All staff friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Dissappointed. Didn't even get an apology.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paper thin walls, we could hear everything happening, talked abut and television in the rooms either side. If we could hear them then they could hear us. Also being woken up just after 7am by road works directly outside our room was very bad. We should have either been told of the works upon booking or put on the other side of the hotel. We were not informed that they would start as early as that. We were only staying one night so it was very disappointing.

    hotel position, parking facilities, room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    Good location. Loved Bristol but room was too stuffy and warm. Would expect air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room DID NOT have air conditioning& it was baking hot. Not all windows had been opened either. Breakfast was expensive.

    Restaurant was good. Great food & service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Hotel was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. One of the best hotels we have stayed in

    Hotel was brilliant. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff great location. We will be coming back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    we had a splendid stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was an extreme amount of roadworks and the hotel appeared to be in the middle of it.

    the property was extremely well laid out and there were always a large number of staff available to help with any questions that we had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Mixed opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room was tiny. Nowhere to even put your case. No cupboard due to lack of space. No air conditioning. Bathroom so tiny only one person could physically stand in it. Then you have to wriggle to shut the door. No mirror in bedroom. So if your a couple the female has to wash, and do hair and make up in the tiny bathroom. While the other person waits. So don’t be in a rush! Hair drying has to be done in bedroom with no mirror to see what your doing. You do a wee dance to get by each other each time you get up from the bed and move around. It was over £100 a night for this with breakfast on top at £14.95. Go somewhere else if you can.

    I liked the public areas and it’s location in the centre of Bristol.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, really helpful staff and a great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in an excellent location, the evening meal was AMAZING, breakfast was great. The rooms were really lovely but the classic double room is a little tight for space. Would definitely stay here again. I had traveled a good 4 hours to get to the hotel and was tight for time with my dinner reservation - the reception staff were exceptionally helpful and took my bags to my room for me :-) There was no air conditioning in the room and it was an exceptionally hot day but the windows opened and there was a fan so this didn't effect my comfort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Ticked every tickable box.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner gnocchi not the best, otherwise, a la carte, just so right. More locally grown food and marked as such, and menus seasonal for Bristol, will send the River Grille into a superlative experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely rest. Was a trip to celebrate my husband's birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could have be a little bigger, that's is due to someone designing for looks and not practicality.

    Friendly, excellent food, close to all amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: