Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kantara Guest House

8 Gardens View, Derby Road, Bournemouth, BH1 3QA, United Kingdom

#36 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 47 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice little guest house between Bournemouth and Boscombe
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers and toilets were shared with other guests and on a different floor

    The showers and toilets were very clean. Room was small but comfortable. Had a good sleep. Very nice guest house. About half mile from sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    A delightful place to stay in Bournemouth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was not easy but quickly resolved by the owner.

    The location was good, the owner Rose very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The accommodation was extremely clean, well maintained and our room and en-suite spotless. The room was light and airy and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight point was location, was further out than we thought but a cab ride to Bournemouth center for just over a fiver sorted that.

    Very friendly and helpful, we stayed when there was snow and we were asked if we wanted anything for the journey home which was a lovely touch. Fantastic breakfast, lovely clean room with all that was required.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous guest house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was my second stay at this super guesthouse. The house and bedroom were comfortable, stylish and warm. Bedding and towels great quality. Service was friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious. Great quality ingredients and beautifully prepared and presented.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    We felt very welcomed and the room was a good size, Clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could maybe fault was that the toilet flusher wasn't very strong and took more then 1 attempt to flush away

    We felt very welcomed and the room was a good size, Clean and really modern

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic guest house offering quality and comfort at great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic guest house offering quality and comfort at great price. I arrived on a cold rainy evening and was given a friendly welcome and shown to my spacious, warm and stylish room. The shower room was very modern and sleek. I had a king size bed and large TV. Also a large wardrobe and arm chair. They provided tea and coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. I loved the little bottles for juice and milk. Fresh coffee in a cafetière. Cereal and toast plus full English using quality ingredients They even let me leave my case there until after I'd explored the town. Very helpful and accommodating. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable guest house. I'll be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, comfortable rooms. The little touches made the difference. Very friendly staff!! Would book again, thank you for making our stay perfect. Loved breakfast with all the little pots and bottles :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find a reason to criticise

    This was a late booking for us and we were very satisfied with choice , very easy parking on arrival. We had a warm welcome from the owner who showed us to our room. The room was warm , clean and tidy. En-suite was snug but very clean and shower was excellent. Hotel was quiet in the evening and we slept very well. Woke up to a lovely relaxed breakfast that set us up for the day. A ten minute walk to town centre and 5 minutes from seafront wasn't a problem . We would have no hesitation in returning to the Kantara Guest House again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The Jewel in the Crown
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jewel in the crown. This is probably the best accommodation that I have stayed at in terms of value, comfort and cleanliness. They also included a full breakfast which was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Good for the train station, not for a real holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't near the seafront or any shops. I was told by a local later that the area is Bournemouth's red light district. The building was covered in scaffolding which wasn't mentioned when I booked or upon arrival. I arrived in the evening and was taken to my room but not told about breakfast or anywhere I could get food/supplies from. There were no toiletries in the ensuite except for soap and when we ate the biscuits left with the tea/coffee, they weren't replaced when the room was cleaned the next day.

    The location was good in that it was a five minute walk from Bournemouth train station. The owner was lovely and chatty, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    4.2
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room were dusty, beds awful to sleep on. The wall paper 70's deco were peeling off, if you dont mind sleeping in bug infested, dusty, rooms then its ur place.

    its close to beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely guest house in a very nice area of Bournemouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and efficient hostess!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing!

    bed was comfy, the room and bathroom were very clean, Rose was wonderful and very helpful with our questions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Definitely o will come back again
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente place if want something cheap, clean and comfortable !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge to put chillied drinks (mini fridge)

    Shower was very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Rose very friendly and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities such as shampoo etc

    Rose very friendly and accommodating Very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Pleasent reception,very kind landlady.A perfect stay totally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!!

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Very clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.1
    Short stay but enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could of been warmer

    Breakfast was nice Bed comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    A warm welcome by the owner and the room was clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A warm welcome by the owner and the room was clean and comfortable. Also very close to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Warm Cosy , great value , very friendly owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Warm . Spotless . And bright room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The water pressure was a little dubious which meant having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was a little dubious which meant having to change to a different shower mid-wash! but all round the property was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Staff was rude, didn't make conversation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude, didn't make conversation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    We were woken up at 7.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were woken up at 7.50 as there were builders right outside our bedroom window scaffolding. Luckily we had the curtains shut.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Good location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    Good location 8min walk to the beach, 20 min walk into town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location 8min walk to the beach, 20 min walk into town along the front , ideal base to visit other places in the area and of course the wonderful weather

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    It was a very enjoyable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I was unaware that there were three flights of stairs to the rooms. A member of our party has heart condition and found it a bit difficult to climb up the stairs as there are no lifts.

    It was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    This bed & breakfast is very good located 5min walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately,breakfast is not included! Bed was little uncomfortable, despite it was large enough for two people!

    This bed & breakfast is very good located 5min walk from train station, 10min to town center, 1min from avis/budget and compared to others affordable at a good price! The shared bathrooms were really clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We travelled with my grandparents and their room had a step up to the bathroom. In the middle of the night my grandad who is 85 fell up this step and fell over :( he was fine apart from cuts and bruises but maybe this needs to be more accessible for older people?

    Friendly staff. Quiet B & B. Nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.1
    the decoration quite nice in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We were wondering why it has just only hot water in bathroom so we couldn't wash our hair during stay

    the decoration quite nice in the room. Staff are friendly, they help me to find sunglasses.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    4.6
    The room was generally clean and the shower was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    First of all, the most fundamental requirement of a B&B is that it enables guests to get a decent night's sleep. Kantara put me in a room at the top of the building, where the property's water tank ran loudly through the night directly above where I tried and failed to sleep. I am not even a light sleeper but this would keep anybody awake and eight hours is a long time to toss and turn while listening to constantly running water. The room is entirely and utterly unsuitable to housing guests. The room is up several flights of stairs and the owner who accompanied me up there looked like he was about to collapse when we got there. There was no shower gel (there was a hand wash) and no shampoo in the shower, which is simply inexcusable. This type of petty penny-pinching is symptomatic of the worst B&Bs. Above all, the place was just grim and depressing. It is in an area of Bournemouth where I would worry about parking a car overnight. If you ever get the chance to go to Bournemouth, don't. It is indescribably, staggeringly awful and reminded me of those BBC films from the 1970s about life behind the Iron Curtain. Think of Bournemouth not just as a seaside resort from the soviet era, but one reserved for people who have fallen foul of the Party. How on earth this B&B scores 8.6 is beyond me.

    The room was generally clean and the shower was good. That is about it, I'm afraid. I didn't have the breakfast, so can't comment. The wifi worked.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    7.5
    Excellent customer service, I was shown to my room on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - No WiFi. - Bed was not very comfortable, 2 beds push together to create a double bed. Could feel the crease down the middle so ended up sleeping on one side. - Not very powerful shower.

    Excellent customer service, I was shown to my room on arrival. Big room, biggest I've been in. Quiet at night. Nice to have a kettle and tea available in the morning in the room. Good location and lots of parking available opposite the guest house.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.3
    Excellent bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small room, small bed, but great value for money

    Excellent bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    7.9
    Bathroom nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Bathroom nicely decorated. Bed comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    Our room was clean and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was difficult to find parking near the hotel.

    Our room was clean and very comfortable. For the price we paid we got more than we were expecting.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Everything was sorted quickly with a friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit of a mix up

    Everything was sorted quickly with a friendly service

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic guest house

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Owner very friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Needed somewhere to hang towels in the bathroom.

    Owner very friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    The breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast! The owner was very accommodating!

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: