Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kemp Townhouse 4 stars

Atlingworth Street, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1PL, United Kingdom

#42 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 292 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good value for money, especially because the free breakfast (we had eggs royale) was incredible. We had the king room, which was roomier than we were expecting after reading some of the other reviews. The location is perfect, being a short walk from the pier, and the staff were friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service was excellent, breakfast options were satisfactory and delicious, location was good, and the room was comfortable, bright and well maintained!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t provided with towels so we had to go and ask for them ourselves and the room was a little small.

    We stayed in the cosy double room, the breakfast was delicious & the parking was convenient & relatively cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower just didn't work as explained by the staff. I tried every combination of turning both handles but it either came out cold, or hot with 1% pressure. Kind of ruined the experience as I ended up having a cold shower both days.

    Staff were friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kemp Townhouse is an absolute gem. The staff were wonderful, the room was great and included lovely touches like complimentary port, breakfasts were some of the best I’ve had. I will certainly be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    single room was very small with tiny bathroom (which I knew at time of booking), pigeons living outside the window were noisy in the morning

    clean room, modern bathroom, good breakfast, friendly staff, easy 5-10 minute walk to the beach and Brighton center, tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a tall narrow C19th town house so inevitably the rooms are rather small, For my one night stay my room was too warm, but I think there may have been air conditioning - if so, perhaps this could have been pointed out.

    A stylish hotel, tasteful, well appointed. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. I was lucky to find a parking space outside, £10 for 24 hours very reasonable. As a professional musician I am usually averse to any sort of background music, but the quiet jazz soundtrack in the reception and dining area was great, well chosen to enhance the atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival the bottom of the road was blocked off - not the fault of the hotel - but it meant i had to back up the narrow road in the rain when i was already very tired and this was not the best start after a long journey. There was no parking and, after leaving my car in the middle of the road to unload, i then had to drive around until i found a space on the sea front approx 5 min walk from the hotel. There is FREE parking on the sea- front AFTER 8pm and before 9am. This was fine for me but would not suit everyone. in the day time parking is very expensive eg £6.00 for 2 hours. However you can purchase a day pass from the hotel for £10.00. My room- My room was perfect in every way with one exception. It was VERY hot - even with the window open ( stayed in April) I asked the lady on duty if there was a way to turn the heating down and - although she tried (played around with the buttons on the wall ) - nothing changed and the temp. gage read 30 degrees! This made for a very uncomfortable couple of nights. Perhaps there is something the hotel can do to rectify this. I had the fan on all night - but this was noisy. Apart from the heating issue the room was lovely - as mentioned before - small but well designed. It would not put me off staying here again. The parking might though!

    This is a small but perfectly formed Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was very clean. There was good attention to detail. I loved all the little extras in my room. The bed was comfortable. The breakfasts, in my opinion, were of a very high standard. Lovely waitress and great chef.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was great but the small bathroom floor got all soaked up leaving you with wet feet if you come back in.

    The breakfast was great, cooked fresh from menu. Avoiding all food wastes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated and worn out

    The staff was really helpful and great but the facilities just let it all down. Very warn out and dated, limited stock on drinks and availability was a little shocked by it all really.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is located in a street which is a bit dismal and full of student bedsits, it was let down by the reception, when we first arrived there was only a cleaner there. Breakfast took an hour from order to arrive. I would say this is more of a nice guest house than a hotel. It was far too small for our taste.

    The room was lovely, bed very comfortable, linen, towels and everything in the room was good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointing... would not rate as a 5 star... the room we chose the best room with the four poster bed and bath in the bedroom, paid £400 for two nights. The bath plug was faulty so the water kept draining away once in it, the room was extremely hot even when we turned off the radiator and had the windows opened, the room was really dark as one of the two lights in in the ceiling was not working so I had to get ready to go out in the dark, the wet room/ shower was tiny and the water leaked out of the door, there was no milk supplied with the tea and coffee, we asked for some on the first day then it wasn't replenished on the second morning. Lastly the room was on the top floor so several flights of stairs which is fine but there was no phone in the room and reception was not always manned so we could not speak to anyone about our issues. I had to keep using my mobile and no one answered. Breakfast was excellent but waited nearly an hour...

    Good breakfast but very slow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no phone in the room and I booked a king deluxe room, I complained but no explanation was given or phone provided. Breakfast was served at 9am on Bank Holiday Weekend, this is late when you want to get out and about on holiday, also it took 1hr 15minutes to be served, so we did not get out of hotel until 10.30am. The explanation to this was that they cooked each persons breakfast individually one after the other, rather than cooking more than one breakfast at a time. This i found very strange and when notified, no appreciation to change or to acknowledge that the customer may have a point was recognised "This is the way we do it here". Quite odd when there are only 9 rooms.

    The B&B was of a high standard for the bedrooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable and bathroom was small and more of a wet room so water went everywhere.

    The room was very cute and nice. I enjoyed the little touches of a decanter of port and hot chocolate and marshmellows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wish there had been a bath! But that’s hardly a criticism.

    The facilities were exceptional, everything was so clean and the attention to detail in the room was outstanding. Plus the bed was huge! And especially comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn't anything to not like about Kemp Townhouse. It is in a great location on a very quiet street.

    Very good breakfast and friendly staff. This is my second visit to the hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very compact, view not great but forgivable.

    Complimentary port, excellent standard of continental breakfast, perfect location to explore Brighton's nightlife!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too small and very overpriced - checked again today and the Brighton Grand Hotel was only £30 more for a double. The wet room was tiny and the whole room gets soaked from the shower, including the toilet. The sink was too narrow and splashed down your clothes when you used it.

    The decanter of port

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room felt a little pokey, and tired. in the pictures the rooms appear all shiney and finished to a high spec. in reality they have cracked tiles and all needed a little refresh. Was it value for money. maybe... i would probably expect a little more in the way of space for £175 a night.

    Breakfast and Staff were first class. Location is good also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get hot water to work in the shower and no one on site to ask for help. Very difficult to find parking - was charged £10 per day permit and ended up having to park in a parking space where pay & display is only £5.50 per day.

    Great location, clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection not extensive but probably due to time of year, no soya milk available either but I didn't make a request for this beforehand so perhaps it's not something that is stocked regualrly.

    Comfortable bed! I usually stay here when I come to Brighton for business reasons; I love the little single room - it's cosy and very warm and quiet. The location is excellent too and walkable to any main attraction.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't look as nice in the picture and was very small. I wouldn't describe it as a Luxury Boutique hotel.

    Friendly Staff, nice breakfast, close to the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower cupboard was a disgrace. We booked the high end room but got stuck with a tiny cupboard with a loo, shower that did not work and basin. I guess this was supposed to be a wet room, but I have had better facilities in a Travel Lodge. Expensive but poor - don't go if you want to be clean.

    Nothing to rave about

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small and compact. Not much storage space, but perfect for a short weekend break.

    The breakfast was amazing. Worth getting up early to enjoy. The bed was very comfortable and the wet room shower was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast took a while to come out, even though we only wanted toast. Fan in the bathroom came on with light switch and stayed on for a good 5-10 minutes, not ideal at 3am!

    Rooms had everything you needed, staff were quick to help. Shower was lovely!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel felt unmanned Room and breakfast room were a little chilly Didn't think it was good value for money

    Very spacious comfortable and individual room. Loved the port, the comfy dressing gowns Delicious breakfast with lots of choice - chef very friendly and nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to make our bed, untouched when we got back at 11.30 first full day. Had to remind them to bring towels on day 2,none in room. Dirty glasses not replaced, teabags not topped up. Heating broke down.

    Breakfasts were delicious. Receptionist very helpful and friendly. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    £185 for one night is excessive for what amounts to a beautiful room in a dowdy street. A full English breakfast was promised on booking but only a continental breakfast was available. Would not consider this hotel again.

    Bedroom was lovely. Very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is awful DO NOT DRIVE THERE. Although the radius for parking is very big there is hardly anywhere to park at all.

    Bed was very comfortable and although the room was very small and bathroom very small it was all clean and what was required. Flowers or something on the fire escape would of been lovely and perhaps some drinks in the room ? Lovely kept building and staff were very friendly. Nice style in the rooms also.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin crack along entire vertical frame of door potentially allowed passers-by to see in to room. Shower was awkward to operate (but great once functioning). Tiny washbasin.

    Room was very clean & pleasant, comfortable bed & tastefully decorated, with good facilities & toiletries. Relatively quiet compared to other places I have stayed in Brighton, & overall a nice standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot chocolate and mini marshmallows in the room was a nice touch! Staff was really lovely and welcoming and the room was just so homely and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small but it is difficult to find larger rooms in Brighton at a reasonable price. The basin was too small and it was hard to wash the face.

    Nice room with a confortable bed in a quite area. The Palace Pier is closer then expected and it is easy to reach the shops and the amusement areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view.requested breakfast downstairs but it was brought to room. Need to. arrive early to get parking space.

    Very comfortable bed nicely decorated though.The

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room turned out to be extremely tiny. The main problem it was too warm in the room even in the night and with all the windows open. Full English breakfast was only served on a Sunday.

    Very clean, friendly staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drainage problems. Sometimes cold water only.

    Staff was really nice and helpful. We had some minor problem, but all sorted out. Breakfast was superb. Small room as most of them in Brighton, but the bed was comfy. We had relaxing nights here. Perfect location, the sea is right at the end of the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful with my late arrival. single room tiny but well fitted out, good toiletries, comfy bed. breakfast was exceptional, nice different touches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very small and very hotel. The bathroom was more like a wet room with water pouring over a very small bathroom. The hotel was not great value for money and although staff were keen to resolve issues, my colleagues shower broke and the room was so small he could touch both walls!

    The staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to the beach. It's just across the street. City is a 5 min walk. Solo room was small but had everything. It was neat and cosy. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    RUDE STAFF, Really small 'king room', way too small for two people do not fall for the pictures. It was not what I expected and looks very small compared to its pictures. It was a grade 2 listed building and therefore there was no AC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about to be honest.

    They went out of their way to make me breakfast well after 10:00am as I had forgotten to mention to them that I wanted breakfast on my second day...Nothing was too hard for the staff. Everywhere very clean. Kenny was very professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small which we knew through the website but it really would be very difficult for a larger person to use the bathroom facilities comfortably. The shower pressure was poor, little more than a dribble unfortunately. The hand basin design was such that when the tap was turned on the water went over the side of the sink and onto the person using the tap. We only had 1 x bath towel on arrival and when we started to shower we only realised then so just got on with it. The blind in the room let in light all the way round the border of the blind.

    On arrival we were upgraded. Breakfast was very tasty with a good variety of food & choices. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Great location for what we wanted to do in Brighton. Lovely king size bed in a fairly spacious room with good décor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the parking is limited we were lucky enough to park the car during our stay. The room was also a little too hot and we had to keep the window open and subsequently the seagulls kept us awake!

    The staff were extremely helpful, the room was modern and clean and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blind let in light - needs a curtain Bathroom is too small Not enough plugs Look out of window was messy - awful Parking poor and difficult

    Bed comfy Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived after a long train trip Friday night we were shown to the room we were booked into - which wasn't cheap and was no larger than a postage stamp, on the ground floor next to the front door and main stairs where every guest would walk past. We were told they had another room available but we'd have to pay more, which we agreed to do as it was a larger room on the top floor. What we didn't realise was that as the room was so hot (even with a fan on), we had to leave the windows open and the seagulls kept us awake most of the night. It also had a tiny 'wet room' style bathroom, which was not in good condition and so small that everything got wet when you had a shower. The breakfast room was lovely but unfortunately looked out to a very sad looking courtyard, covered in bird poo and looking straight into what looked like the hotel laundry off the kitchen. Breakfast was ok and the staff helpful, but English wasn't their first language and got our order wrong. Also not many herbal tea options, not even peppermint which is fairly standard these days. I stay in a lot of hotels in London and abroad and there are a few minor, inexpensive things they could do to improve the customer experience.

    Liked that they provided bathrobes and slippers...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The member of staff was in a rush to leave and just got there there in time for checking, but they didn't explain about the parking permit and what to fill in and ended up getting a parking ticket.

    The standard of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little further out than I expected but got extra exercise on the plus side. I had a single which although beautifully decorated, was quite small.

    The bed was SO comfortable & I loved the high thread count quality sheets ... just sank into bed at night 💕 The decor, attention to detail & the little finishing touches ... felt pampered :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was sometimes a bit much, thankfully I found the fan in the closet to cool down a little

    The staff were warm, friendly and very attentive! The breakfast offer was both eye catching and mouth watering. The bed was very comfortable with nice puffy pillows! Also the Smart TV in the room had access to Netflix and other on demand services which many places I have stayed didn’t have.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long hike to a cramped bedroom with a shower that would have flooded the room if a towel hadn't been placed by the door. The bathroom was described as a wet room. More like a river room. Won't be on my list to stay again.

    The staff were friendly and breakfasts were freshly cooked.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good choice of breakfast and served fresh to your table. Excellent room facilities with nice little extra touches like bathrobe slippers port water

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too hot to sleep due to being 29 degrees during the day, no air conditioning, the fan wasn't able to keep us cool unfortunately through the night. More the weather's fault than the facility's.

    The room was well appointed, nicely decorated, bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot. There was s fan in the cupboard but it didn't do much!

    Quiet location which was great Lovely and clean property with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better, eggs were over cooked, the spinach in my eggs florentine wasn't washed so had a gritty texture, overall was over cooked, unfortunately we were really disappointed

    Staff were lovely, room was nice and clean, bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over priced and definitely not 5 star quality. Guests should be warned by hotel that if your room is on the top floor you will have to walk up 5+ flights of stairs. Room very small and very close to other room. Felt like I was staying in someone's home not a hotel! Extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work and the drain was slightly blocked so after having a shower in the small ensuite- the floor resembled a small lake. Room on top floor was very hot! Even with windows and fan on, then realised the radiator was on when it is 22 degrees outside! Breakfast was very bland but staff were friendly. I would give it 3 stars at best.

    The quietness of hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room was very small with only a standard double bed. Would definitely stay here again but would book a larger room next time.

    Staff were great! Breakfast was very good. Very smart small hotel in a great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, could have got more for money elsewhere.

    Very conviniently located. Close to Brighton centre and the seaside. Room was very clean and tidy but also tiny.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was actually not as new or bright as it seems in the website photos (we went for the Four Poster Feature because we wanted to treat ourselves in Brighton)...It was a little strange to have the toilet bowl and shower separated, if you are used to having a bathroom with all in one. And their doors were just next to the main door. We had to catch an early train at 5.35am so we could not enjoy the breakfast. A little disappointed that we were only offered fruits and cornflakes. I suppose it was too early for staff to be around to prepare...

    We loved the bed as it was comfortable and large. There were fresh towels and bathrobes too. It was nice that they had water and drinks to offer in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful when they received us or when we had questions. The guesthouse is quite centrally located and convenient as it was near the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking wasn't easy it's a drive round and pot luck. The area is a bit tired.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming, lovely breakfast and nice clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was tiny however it was advertised as a cosy single so it was as described. One minor niggle was I arrived at 4 minutes to 3 but could not check in until 3 so had to stand outside for the 4 minutes. No view but that was ok as spent very little time in the room.

    Breakfast was lovely. Good choices and friendly staff. Toiletries in the room were nice. Very clean hotel. Well located Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 5 star in my opinion. I stay 5 star and this is far from it. The rooms are not sound proof, room decor not the best, forget trying to apply your make up infront of a mirror as the table and chair was too low, sockets were over loaded in my opinion thus a hazard, smell was not inviting, lucky I did not drive here else parking would have been a nightmare...you won't find it. It's over priced for what it is. You can't notice the guest house when you approach it.

    The location was great and primarily this is what you are paying for. Hotel staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and the cushions were foam, don't get a room to the front as it was quite loud with passers by and a streetlight that shutters just weren't able to keep out.

    Really good location, close to the pier but not too near main roads. The staff were very accommodating and as a bonus the room was tastefully decorated, loved the toiletries and drinks facilities provided.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the area is a nightmare. The hotel provides permits, but it still means driving round ad nauseam until you are lucky enough to find a space, which in Brighton is a challenge ! Whilst the room was very comfortable it was small and given the tariff, it was significantly overpriced in our opinion

    Comfortable and clean room, very friendly and helpful staff. Good location away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though there was no heating on the rooms were incredibly warm (weather outside freezing cold so not like it was a summers day) - there were fans provided but they didn't really cool it down much - also, bathrooms were tiny, even though the owners have used the space well the bathrooms are too small to be able to do anything other than shower, we had to come out into the bedroom to dry off.

    Lovely and clean, breakfast was fantastic and location is excellent for visiting Brighton

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable stay. Beautiful room with lovely shower and great amenities. The breakfast was delicious and with a good choice. The staff were most welcoming and could not do enough for us. Very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like a perfect stay.

    Amazing Breakfast! The room had really lovely finishing touches such as French press for coffee an robes and slippers.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water and builders were in the property which we wasn't told about before we arrived. Breakfast was poor due to burned bacon and cold coffee.

    Good location and nice decoration in room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergoing a bit of decoration at the moment, but will be good when done. Not intrusive though. Water very hot.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Quiet and relaxed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, bathroom v small no bath in bathroom Although lovely cooked breakfast they ran out of sausages and orange juice on the Sunday morning, like they couldn't cope with amount of guests

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very badly trained staff who didn't seem to read like they were delivering a service. No proper welcome and breakfast delivery badly organised. Tiny wet room bathroom didn't suit room. Rather than answer my questions, the person checking us in simply referred me to a leaflet. Full English Breakfast included wierd chipolata-type sausages and no toast. Suggest that proper English sausages are used and side-toast offered.

    Reasonable location and pleasant room. Breakfast OK, but see didn't likes. Good facilities in room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiator in the room was permanently switched on (white knobs missing); this made for an unbearably hot night, even with windows open. I complained and managers response was to turn off central heating in whole hotel! Trouble is, another mos turned it back on again!

    Bed v comfortable, breakfast delicious!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room was tiny and although the the shower itself was great - the floor floods which means you couldn't go back in there with your shoes on! Other hotels such as Hotel du Vin are similar price and more central so they need to be able to offer something different.

    Super comfy bed - nice touches in the room I.e. Noble isle products, Nespresso machine as well as freshly ground coffee. Nice breakfast menu b

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a cozy room for £150 and to be honest it was so small it was difficult to manage to two nights. The young lady who welcomed us didn't take the lead in the conversation and we bumbled around not knowing where the reception was. Not a great start. she seemed new or had no experience. we were left asking all the questions, like when is breakfast, what do we do about parking etc. We had fun whilst we were there but I guess her reception of us and the tiny room spoiled it somewhat. The flower tubs outside the first floor were full of weeds and the balcony was dusty, I certainly would not rate this a 5 star boutique hotel. It feels jaded

    The food was lovely, and the morning staff were so welcoming and accommodating. Its in a great location to the sea front and town. The bathroom accessories were lovely and the towels were fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor conditions of room, tired looking hotel and lack of attention to detail with cleanliness. Room - broken furniture, no ventilation as windows did not open. Bathroom - dirty with gunge hanging from shower head (was cleaned when I pointed it out as it put me off from having a shower. Usually I wouldnt say anything and just clean it myself but this was quite sickening to look at!) Broken shower tap...struggled to turn hot/cold mixer. Bathroom was a small wetroom which meant it was difficult to keep water from going everywhere during a shower Mattress was the worst Ive slept on. A competitor few doors up just look so much cleaner and neater from outside.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike at all.

    The room was excellent and very comfortable, the port in the room was a nice touch. The breakfasts were very nice with lots of choice and lastly the staff were lovely, very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Staff were very professional whilst also friendly. Room was amazing very comfortable attention to detail was excellent. Decanter of port, homemade biscuits, good coffee in room. Lovely selection of bath products. Breakfast was great can't wait to stay again well done Kth

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole bathroom gets wet when showering.

    Great location; close to the beach and with lots of great coffee shops, shops and restaurants around the corner. Friendly staff and wonderful breakfast cooked to order in addition to a small and well presented buffet.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: