Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kempfield House

18 Madeira Place, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1TN, United Kingdom

#30 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1687 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem I had was the poor WiFi

    Truly excellent stay wonderful hosts, great location, very comfortable, lovely breakfast, value for money. Wish I could take this guest house with me on every trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived for the check in, we realized that the system had only 1 day reserved, whereas it should have been 5 days. After the first shocking minutes, the lady at the reception helped us sorting out the situation and calling Booking.com.

    The room was perfect, elegant and new furniture, with all we needed. The guy serving the breakfast has been really friendly and tried his best to make everyone happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! Beautiful and cozy room, very good sleep, cookies and tea in the room, amazing breakfast, easy and fast check-in and check-out, friendly staff and the owner, good vibes all around the hotel. And location - very close to the sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy outside until early hours. Needs a bit of a spruce up. Breakfast very good but took over half an hour to arrive. I k ow it’s cooked to order but it was incredibly slow.

    Great staff, location brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from the actual cost of a night being massively inflated, the price I am referring to is the lack of sleep!! The noise didn’t stop until around 5am. Window had to remain open as it was warm so zero chance of escape. I asked for a quieter room as noise is no good for me but that was not possible. Only book if you can sleep through a hurricane!

    Location and easy access. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant hotel with friendly staff who go the extra mile. brilliant breakfast. Location is perfect, everything is within walking distance and only about a minute walk to the pier. Couldn’t recommend this place enough, only place we ever stay when we visit Brighton!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift and room could be several flights of stairs up. Parking bit of a problem but Brighton is the same all over.

    Basic but clean. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was overlooking Madeira Place and hot in the afternoon --- the trash guys woke me up in the morning tipping the dumpsters into their truck very early.

    Very near the beach, friendly staff (although not around all the time during reception hours)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really nice experience. We've booked in the last minute and we got room with jacuzzi which was amazing! Everything really clean and staff really nice! Highly recommend! Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were slow and not properly organised except on the last morning when there were only 4 eating. One morning we did not have cups and not one singled member of staff spoke to us.

    The premises were clean and tidy and the owner was polite and interested in us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy at night, but this was more to do with external noise from late night revellers, which seems to be the case wherever you stay within Brighton.

    Received a warm welcome, breakfast was good, room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm, the room was as described small double. Central location excellent

    Text message re entry Accommodating my daughter for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any running water at least some of the morning when we were checking out. Also on first day when it was very hot outside, our room was uncomfortably hot (my partner felt ill). There is a little fan in our attic room but it didn't help much.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wait for breakfast was quite long, and had to ask a few times for cups, mugs and glasses.

    Brilliant communication and super helpful staff! Comfortable stay in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole stay was lovely, room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was fresh and very tasty. The staff excelled themselves, helpful, polite and went out of her way to make the stay even better, we was given a phone charger at 11pm when I had forgotten my own, they gave the impression like nothing was a problem, we will use this hotel again and definitely recommend to others!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great owners, excellent location. Close to everything with a fabulous coffee shop opposite. Good breakfast with an excellent choice.

    As previous reviewers have said some work needs doing but you can see it's under way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was clearly some work that needed doing in the property. For example, my room ceiling was peeling possibly due to a water leak. That would need patching and repairing. I know the building is older, however the windows were single pane and you could hear motorcycles etc roaring passed late at night. They are currently renovating so I know that they'll have it sorted by the time I return! :) Thanks so much guys!

    The bed was incredibly comfy, the staff couldn't do enough for you! Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Was so friendly but professional and I couldn't have asked for better hosts. The breakfast was to die for! You have not had a decent Full English until to you've eaten here. Absolutely spot on! Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin, I heard every word spoken at the front desk (my room was next to the desk). The bathroom was just as difficult for the price of this place. It's a wet room, so there is a shower without any curtain, or divider, or even ridges on the floor to direct the water into the drain. Also a little uncomfortable with the small bottle of complementary wine because the seal was already broken on it...

    The location was fantastic and the staff was really polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was exactly as advertised - small, but comfortable. The hotel is located in a quiet part of the city center and close to the sea. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Wonderful breakfast. Great value for money! Many thanks for your work!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is work being completed on the property at the moment, which I am sure will benefit all guests, however, it would have been nice to be informed beforehand. There was a significant amount of dust around the building, in particular at the breakfast bar the following morning.

    The room was a nice size and bed quite comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was also the lady who owns the hotel with her partner... enthusiastic, friendly. They are obviously working on the place so it will only get better. It's directly opposite a tea room and an Italian restaurant and a short walk from the sea front and pier, yet quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had 'parking' as a filter for my hotel search through travago / booking.com and there is indeed parking, however on the road at a cost of a tenner..that's actually ok for 24 hours of parking but it could have been clearer what and how the parking works on the website. Other than a de-limescaling of the shower head, everything else was fantastic!

    Really friendly and helpful staff. The room was excellent with some nice touches. The room we had was very spacious and comfy. We arrived late, which they accommodated. Breakfast was excellent with a friendly and competent server. Big TV in the room and a really lovely four poster bed. Our room was tastefully decorated, the bathroom was good and clean. The location is excellent for us. Kempton has become pretty gentrified since my last stay there, but there are good bars and restaurants close by, as well as the usual good things to see and do nearer the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the Madeira Room on the third floor. The room was decently sized but really badly kept. The carpet was stained and the bathroom's tiles were craked and chipped and the paint on the door was peeling. There were stains on the bathroom shelf and overall it looked like it had not been cleaned in a while. When I asked the management they said they are in the middle of a renovation so that was just a room that still needs to be done… this unfortunately does not explain why the bathroom was not clean but they said that if I ever come back I will get an upgrade. I haven't seen any other room so I cannot comment on that but other reviewers seem happy- I probably just have been very unlucky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looked rundown inside. Breakfast room had a large damp patch on the ceiling with flaking paint. Our room was clean but again in need of a lick of paint.

    Service was excellent. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a big selection Inc eggs Benedict and skippers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The recent new owners have gone above and beyond to take an old worn property and really make it a great place to stay. Chocolates, cookies and a small bottle of wine were a nice touch; a request for a room with a better view was cheerfully met. In 14 nights in England and Wales, this was our best experience overall, and the best value. The breakfast was as good as any.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room basic and very warm as in loft space. Bathroom scruffy.Breakfast chaotic running out of croissants and sausages.

    Staff friendly and great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the shower. Wet rooms are rather inconvenient and it also took a while for the water to warm up

    I liked how there was plenty of storage space within the room and the having armchairs in the room was an added touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom need's to be cleaner, also cracked sink replaced.

    Have been visiting Kempfield house for past few years, I love it. Not sure if changed hand's, but seemed a little run down this time ceiling's cracked in need of repair. Dining room not as clean, dust above dado rail also sauce on wall. Wall's quite thin, had a major snorer next door kept me awake most of the night. Saying this the people are lovely also staff, would still visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very clean, new and recently done up - they are very cosy. communication was great and you even get a parking permit to place on the car. Breakfast was included so is s little gem and was a great find. Location is also great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great four poster bed and large room . Very clean and with everything you need even chocolate and wine on the bed when arriving and vicky the manager is very nice and welcoming. Thank you. Jamie

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice , but unfortunately everything was a bit rushed and coffee wasn’t great .

    The host went out of their way to make our stay as good as it can get .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are narrow stairs to negotiate.

    The staff were very friendly, and it is located very close to the beach boardwalk and interesting sites in town. The rooms were clean and compact. They serve a delicious breakfast that is included in the price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Backs onto a nearby pub garden meaning it was a little noisy for the first part of the evening, but quiet after closing time

    Absolutely fantastic price. Mints on the pillow. Well stocked room with everything you could need

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly welcome and assisted us with parking regs as we never been to Brighton before!! Our room was clean and spacious and bright. Bed was comfortable too! The breakfast was superb and hot food cooked to your specifications,,friendly and helpful breakfast staff!! Can’t fault this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff were friendly and always with a smile on their face.They offered us a complimentary drink on our arrival which made us feel very comfortable and nice.I totally recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location. Staff were very helpful but not always around to answer questions. Our rooms were great and very comfortable. There was an excellent breakfast served by excellent staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy. Narrow street with tall buildings both sides. Every little noise was amplified. People outside very near pub, traffic using road, sirens and bins being emptied very early in the morning meant we had very little sleep. The room was very warm but having the window open made the noise worse. It might have been better if we had been in a room at the back.

    Comfortable bed lovely white fresh bedlinen . Good coffee breakfast ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have done with a simple shelf inside the open wardrobe. Because it is so small, there really is nowhere to put folded clothes. The same goes for a the bathroom.

    Victoria and Zac were key to making my stay amazing. Helpful, friendly and happy to go the extra mile. Thanks ever so much. My single room was very cozy, but was all I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy. Heard everything in the next room. Couple had a bit of an argument so was kept awake. Otherwise it was ok. We were on the 3rd floor and there are no lifts, but it does say in the description. So kept us quite fit.

    Staff were lovely, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are lots of stairs. I have osteoarthritis and there were four flights of stairs to our room but this is how houses were build in the 18th century.

    The owners of Kempfield House only moved in last November so have a lot of work to do. They were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. It is very difficult to park in Brighton but we were very lucky to find a space opposite the hotel and they provided a parking permit for £10 a day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Best location even without sea views - cool when its warm and warm when its cold. - Tea making facilities with chocolate & biscuits! - Good size bathroom/wetroom. - Fast, cheerful & helpful staff. - Literally a 4 min walk from coach station, 20mins from trains station, 8mins from the Lanes, 2mins from shop (suppermarkets too) And 20min from open market - Towels provided - Lovely breakfast area in the basement - THIS IS NOT A NEGATIVE but there are a few floor with stair access only We was on the top floor and had no problem but it might not suit ALL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building needs a bit of work, but site and welcome made up for a little shabbiness.

    The welcome items in our room were great; tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, wine & chocolates. We felt pampered. Remote check-in friendly and parking advice helpful. Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In one room the shower always leaked because the slope to the drain was not enough which was irritating. Generally not enough attention to detail.

    Very good breakfast, nice airy and large rooms, really convenient for all things Brighton, good supplies in rooms and fridges.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a good location about ten minute walk to the concert venue and a few minutes from the sea front. The bedroom was clean, bed was ok and a decent shower etc. Please be aware that this is a tall town house building so you may have to climb a number of stairs to the upper rooms and if you are tall watch your head! Breakfast was very nice, all the staff we encountered we very helpful. Overall very good value for the date we stayed compared with chain hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure was very weak.

    The complimentary wine and chocolate in the room on arrival was lovely, the four-poster bed was comfortable and the room very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a bit of a nightmare I must admit. I did manage to get a parking space near to the guest house thanks to the lovely owner who spent 10 mins helping me to squeeze into the space. Having said that, you really don't need a car as everything is within walking distance including the train station.

    The owners were really lovely and so friendly and welcoming. Although some of the rooms were in need of a little TLC,I think that they were still lovely and the new owners are rectifying that very quickly.The rooms they have worked on are wonderful. Every room is spotlessly clean. I can't rate them highly enough. You don't need a car as everything is literally within 5 -10 mins walk. I would absolutely recommend them and hope to return shortly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    on check in we could not get hold of anyone for about 30 minutes - kept going to voice mail

    the location was great and the staff very friendly once we managed to get them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful, and made us feel really welcome. The hotel was excellent value for money and well-placed for easy exploring of Brighton.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud water pump in bathroom (patching room). Not an issue for us but imagine it would be for others

    Communication from the owners was good prior to arrival and check in

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The establishement is generally tired. The restaurant, however nicely arranged, is actually located in the basement, and the bedroom is quiet noisy (next rooms, nearby nightclub, seagulls)

    The location was perfect next to the pier, the bed was confortable and the bedroom cosy. We were warmly welcomed and the staff is cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a pain but that is Brighton for you not the hotel’s fault - difficult and relatively expensive unless you can use the “Hotel Visitors” pass at £10.00 street parking for 24hours - but good luck finding a space.

    Excellent location for exploring Brighton seafront and the Lanes. The room was small but we were advised of this in advance but immaculate. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was first class with a multiple choice. Amazing value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for no beans at breakfast unfortunately we got them asked to have them removed and they did but obviously the other contents of English breakfast was dabbed off of bean juice ! We didn't moan just ate it otherwise it would of been a waste of food. Needs new carpet as it didn't quite fit and paint on it. But I'm sure they will sort as they are new owners and are decorating.

    Friendly, central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff were excellent, breakfast was very good,bed comfy and clean ,but the room needed attention ,paper stuffed in light holder bathroom door did not close properly ,some grouting needed renewing ..small jobs that should be put right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an observation, not complaint - the rooms are for sleeping in ;-) Very compact, but comfortable and well equipped. If staying for work, as I have previously, breakfast from 8am doesn't always work.

    The hotel is perfectly located for the pier, beach, Concorde 2 and Kemptown. Parking is not too stressful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in upstairs (3rd floor) shower was a bit of an issue at times.

    Great location and value! And such unbeatable prices. Breakfast was just delicious and cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are relatively new and are refreshing the decor as necessary. There is a little to do in the bathroom of the room we stayed in. The staff were keen to hear our comments on this. We saw a workman arrive to continue the ongoing improvements and feel confident to stay again.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable stay. Excellent breakfast including vegan option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comment on this,after having spoken to the hosts and the property and its environs are ongoing projects gradually being upgraded,suffice to say we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days.

    Shower big,fine spray,slight leakage of water but attended to immediately.Big room.Great breakfast.We had to book 1 extra night due to circumstances ,and that was no trouble.Thank you too Victoria and Zak,the hosts we had a great 3 days and will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling in restaurant had a bit of damage.

    The bed was comfy. Loved the little welcome pack of chocs and wine - nice touch. English Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything to complain about. We had a fantastic stay, would absolutely stay again.

    Perfect location, fantastic staff, lovely room,huge comfortable bed, delicious breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was generally tired. There was flaking ceiling paint. The bed linen was polyester type and washed many times so it didn't feel or smell fresh or nice on your skin. Same with the towels - they were clean, but bit tired and dull. As are the curtains. I didn't sleep well. I didn't see any staff though I had received a friendly text before I arrived. I decided not to stay for breakfast as I just didn't feel comfortable so left at 8am and found breakfast elsewhere. Just not for me.

    The room had everything in it you needed, such as hairdryer, hot shower and some little extras like a small wine and some mints and it was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way overpriced for what it was. Cramped single room, paper thin walls, and a cheap almost camp bed with a poor mattress. It was hostel quality for hotel prices. No breakfast available before 8.30am on Sundays and nobody on duty onsite Saturday evening or Sunday morning. I wrote to the hotel on my return to give feedback privately and said I would not post a public review, but as I received no response I'd like to give others fair warning. Very poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, but Brighton is a nightmare and no fault of the hotel!

    Breakfast was great. The room was clean and the bed was good! Very helpful with regards to parking. Check in/out couldn't have been easier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking limited to none.

    Excellent location. Great staff. Easy access to building. Excellent room and large bed. Even wine on arrival which was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely guest house! Really personal touch with wine and chocolates upon arrival to room. Mini fridge with refreshments also! Location was excellent, walking distance to everything. Breakfast was really nice and all included in the great price. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little too soft for me. Under new ownership. Work in progress. Needs updating completed. Tiles in bathroom cracked

    Very friendly owners. Great breskfst

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The top floor room was quite narrow as we paid for a small room , bathroom very small impossible to wash yourself properly , small window, noisy on the back of the building, old doors you could hear the neighboors walking in the next room, I wouldn t recommend to stay more than 1-2 nights ,

    Very good location, within minutes walking to Pier , center, restaurant and shops. Clean place, plenty of hot drinks provided (free), for me it was good staying just 1 night .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was right by reception so I was woken up early. It would be good with better lighting in the Regency room, a new carpet and warm bathroom floor. They have only just taken over this hotel so I think this will be happening anyway. Room was lovely and warm but bathroom freezing. Put me off having a shower. But they did say they would be replacing the floor. Under floor heating would be better.

    Victoria and her family were gorgeous. She went out of her way to help and i even got chocolates and a small bottle of wine left on the bed. Lovely big room. The mattress was super comfortable. No parking but you can purchase a £10 24 hour pass and park anywhere in area C in Brighton.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room we were in this time was very, very small and the bed wasn’t very comfortable either.....in addition the ensuite was tiny with a macerator toilet that seemed to activate itself through the night making quite a lot of noise

    The staff are really lovely - super friendly and attentive. The rooms are always spotless let clean. Breakfast is great and the location superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and genuinely helpful. The single room I had still had everything you needed and was well planned out. It was snowing and the room was still at a comfortable temperature. The hotel was also nicely decorated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great. Very helpful accommodating staff. Happy to let us have the room for an extra hour as the half marathon was on and family running came back for a shower. Good breakfast. Plenty of choice. Spacious room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having no table ready for us when we went down to breakfast..done our own table in the end...then had to ask a number of times for cups or plates, when asking the waiter for equipement, he just said sorry I will sort it...Its been busy

    the location and the room with all the nice touches were good...plus the breakfast was good..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is obviously a problem in the area, but we received help and advice. It was noisy outside occasionally, but that can't really be helped.

    The lovely warm welcome in every sense. Victoria and Zak were really friendly and helpful. The room was really warm (the weather was freezing). We had everything we needed, and more, close to the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be an issue if you had a car but fortunately we travelled by train, and public transport is easy to find and use.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Would definitely stay there when traveling to Brighton again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely welcome from the owners. Fab room (number 5) on 1st floor. Comfy bed and large bathroom. Great position for The Lanes, pier, and restaurants. Excellent indian restaurant around the corner. Permit parking is quite difficult to find. We found a space 10 minutes walk away. Can't imagine what it would be like in the summer. Friends parked just around the corner, 18 pounds for 24 hours.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was lovely, spacious & clean. Even had a four poster bed which was a lovely suprize! Fridge had water and coke in and a complimentary mini bottle of wine on the bed with 2 glasses was a lovely touch. Hotel was ideally situated 5 mins walk to pier, town, shops, bars and concert venues. Staff were lovely & friendly and breakfast was AMAZING!! Highly recommend, we will definitely stay there again .

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: