Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kenmore Hotel 3 stars

The Square, Kenmore, PH15 2NU, United Kingdom

#6 of 6 hotels in Kenmore

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 295 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The downstairs bar overlooked the river with local people playing pool etc and was very very noisy and would have been a lovely setting if used for residents only. White wine was £30.00 a bottle!

    Hotel needs refurbishing. Room had broken shower tray, fixed with white tape!! Its a beautiful location; staff were efficient and friendly; rooms were a good size. Breakfast and dinner very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that the staff needed training in the bar as to products they were selling and measures. Same applies to the food. One restaurant manager was quite rude and was very unhelpful. When asked if they did waiter service to the garden like in Europe he said “p..s off you got to be joking!” Very arrogant and not typical of the other staff.

    We loved the area and the ambiance of the hotel. Most of the staff were delightful but not very knowledgeable Martin in the bar was most helpful and a delight to be served by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t in hotel also I asked for evening meal but was told wasn’t included & this was for special occasion husband 60th birthday surprise the toilets in hotel were very disappointing won’t go back 😡which is a shame as beautiful setting

    Big spacious room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the superior room which was spacious and comfortable. Restaurant was very good, excellent menu. Breakfast in the same room was just as good. Comfortable lounges and bars around the hotel. Picturesque setting with views over loch and old bridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was chaos on arrival. No spaces outside hotel or in the square. Eventually got a space but many motorcycles in close proximity. Selection and choice at breakfast was bland. Two slices of toast made for me. Not asked if I would like any more. No other breads, croissants, crackers, cheeses available. Selection of cereals and small fruit platter. Usual hot fare. Basic compared to most buffet breakfasts I have experienced.

    Terrace on restaurant and level below for drinks. Fantastic setting and beautiful views. Lovely evening meal outside on terrace. Would come back to the hotel without hesitation. Several nice walks on doorstep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was small, undercooked and expensive for the little amount that was offered.

    The village of Kenmore was adorable, the staff was helpful and friendly and our family room was large, comfortable and clean. We would definitely come back and stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The creaky floorboards in the bedroom but, as they pointed out, the property was build in 1592 (or thereabouts). Otherwise we cannot fault them.

    We had a fine big room on the second floor with an excellent bathroom off it, and a very comfortable king-size bed. The late afternoon was pleasant enough to have a drink outside. We did not eat dinner because we had other plans that evening but the breakfast next morning was excellent with a lovely view of the River Tay from the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms need refurbished heater in first room on high constantly window cracked shower poor had to change room to no walk in shower decor awful

    view from rooms great breakfast good staff helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room could do with a facelift, scuffed skirtings, grout around the bath needs replacing. Had dinner in the bar first night, very disappointing, cold food, steak pie almost inedible with tough pastry. Long wait at the bar to be served, though the bar personnel were charming, though understaffed.

    Location, comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not informed that a wedding was taking place and therefore turned up for a quiet and special weekend (NOT)! When we arrived, we were told we couldn't dine in the hotel dining room, but would have to eat in the bar. We were informed by reception we could come down any time and a table would be free. We went down at 7.25pm and the bar was full of wedding guests, therefore no table available! Band apparently late in setting up (not a paying guests problem) and to cut a long story short, we finally managed to eat in the bar at 8.50pm, nearly an hour and a half later! (Full restaurant prices and NO bar menu). They had run out of napkins and only had 1 left, which we had to rip in two and share! Wrong ice cream was served, but by this time we were so tired of things going wrong, we just ate it. Meal, sadly, was mediocre. Manager agreed our meal should be paid for by the hotel, although he blamed Booking.com for not informing us of the wedding! Had we known that a wedding was taking place and we would have had to eat in the bar at full restaurant prices, we would have booked elsewhere. WHOSE FAULT WAS THIS?

    Room with a view, indeed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were there in silent season which meant nothing was open. Would have like to popped into the bar down by the water. Need to be next time!

    Beautiful old hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom for a Superior is dated and not reflective of photos online, needing the Hotel Inspector to help with decor which felt 1980s so actually expensive for a dated room. Dogs barking in room adjacent not ideal and noise overhead from room above/time for sound proofing - try Rosewood in Fife!! The staff are hit and miss but the head waiter at the Grill room was very good. Soup like wallpaper paste and cool, main meal ok but sweet not great either. Freezing cold in Grill room. Luke warm buffet hot breakfast...Website and experience don't match which is a shame. Would return after the refurb...

    The bedroom was spacious and the bed was comfortable enough and some staff were friendly. Nice to have the open fires in the reception and bar area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    feel the hotel could have opened the boars head bar for at least the day before the opening on the river tay - but we were quite happy to go and spend our money in aberfeldy if the hotel didn't want it. Feel the pricing on the menu is excessive and a bar type menu would generate a lot more interest.

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for breakfast on both days. The breakfast has gone down hill as it was cold due to it now being a buffet service. The food was cold and under cooked. I sent booking.com an e-mail to say I was celiac and booking.com sent the hotel an e-mail to make them aware. I received an e-mail back from the hotel to say they could cater for me and all I was offered was toast. This for me was a waste of money for the breakfast. We did not go down for breakfast the second morning as we did not want to have another cold under cooked breakfast. I think the hotel should bring back table service as you are guaranteed a hot breakfast. We were due to go back on the 2nd and 3rd of January but cancelled as to our reviews above.

    We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and visit regularly. The rooms have been upgraded which is very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On viewing the hotel website before booking the rooms looked very nice .they say they have 40 charming rooms with warm furnishings go and luxurious linens, comfortable elegant rooms and lovely bathrooms....I must have got the room that they forgot they had. Very poor quality, desperately needing something luxurious in it as they said it had. False advertising as far as I can see. No curtains s just an old cheap black roller blind that doesn't fit the window. Furnishings all scratched and bathroom needing upgraded. Waited ten minutes for hot water to come through shower. Very very dissapointed. Won't be going back

    Nice and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.. Very quaint inside. Friendly staff. Unfortunately there was a problem with heating but we were moved to the annex which was super warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing but the ride I took to get there and was not the Hotel's fault. IMPORTANT make sure you get there via A827 from A9 at Ballinluig and via Aberfeldy. my gps took me down a road, not for the squeamish, and I was told later it is a very dangerous road. For the uninitiated, "B" roads can be nothing more than a path through fields, wood and other great places with great views, but can be terrifying as well.

    This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful area. Only stayed one night but could stay there forever. The staff was friendly and eager to please. Spent a good amount of time talking with the night porter, what a wealth of local information. The Pub has an authentic rustic feel and the food was delicious. Breakfast in the restaurant was also very good, and the restaurant offers incredible views. And the picturesque village of 39 residents is like going back in time. The hotel boasts being the oldest inn in Scotland, established in 1572, yet has all needed conveniences, including en suite bathrooms and even a lift. Stay here and explore all the Scottish Highlands has to offer. My favorite hotel of the six I stayed at on this trip. I plan to return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the main hotel. The room we stayed in was tired and badly needing redecorated and modernised. The room itself was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable but we felt disappointed about the standard. Some of the photographs show modern rooms but this was certainly not what we were given.

    Food was excellent - we ate dinner in the bar. It offers the same menu as the restaurant - but a more relaxed atmosphere we felt. Breakfast again was excellent. Rooms were clean. Staff polite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 19 was dirty , dated and of a very poor standard. Breakfast was poor, service was poor. Could be a beautiful hotel, if they spent as much on the hotel as they have on the lodges it would be a gem. They might then be able to attract the quality of staff the hotel needs.

    The location is the only thing going for this hotel at the moment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the square room, which was lovely, only thing was my partner is fairly tall and there isn't a lot of head room in the shower.

    Lovely friendly cosy hotel and pet friendly, good food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pipes started vibrating extremely loudly at 6AM on the first night, which woke me up and thus I was tired on the 2nd day.

    very nice hotel, outstanding features, beautiful location. friendly staff. dogs allowed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impressions of the hotel could have been better. The fire was lovely but the front of the hotel could do with a bit upgrading to make it more welcoming and cosy, as doesn’t reflect the work that has been carried out to the rear of the hotel. Also somewhere to store luggage.

    Staff really friendly. Food was delicious. Beautiful location overlooking Loch Tay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but countered strangely with a poor breakfast. The self service English breakfast was not good with overcooked scrambled eggs (no other eggs were available) with under cooked sausages.

    Excellent Dinner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As being disabled I did not find the hotel suitable for my needs. I had requested a ground floor room. Their idea of ground floor was having 4 different flights of stairs to climb!! Not my idea of ground floor. They did give us a room on the second floor but with a double bed & we had requested a twin room!!! Also I had asked for a free standing shower which they could not supple, although on your site it made me feel that there were rooms with free standing shower.

    The food was excellent. Staff very helpful. Hotel setting stunning. The autumn colours of the trees were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor. Very stingy in room e.g... one very small biscuit per person per day. Not much coffee/milk. Very little cold water pressure in room..shower poor. Breakfast poor...scottish hotel and no black pudding or potato scones!...toast soggy..coffee weak..

    The views and location. Out side of hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    About four items were 'unavailable' from the mains on the menu for dinner,and then they 'ran out' of our next choice, but the food we did have was excellent, although not always as described on the menu.

    Large room in annexe, well furnished and large bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really poor flow from the cold water taps both in room and downstair toilets, atmosphere felt dusty and friend had allergic reaction.

    Old worldy feel, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives come to mind-- lovely place. At first we were concerned that our room was in the annex across the little street and not on the river, but the room was large, bright, quiet and beautifully appointed.

    Beauty of the area, hospitable staff, commodious room, ease of getting around, picturesque setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about this historic hotel; our spacious room was absolutely wonderful (in an annex to the main building) with beautiful furnishings, comfy bed, etc. The setting is glorious and views from the dining room, over the river and to the hills beyond, are spectacular. We found the staff professional, friendly and helpful. Both breakfasts and evenings meals were delicious with ample choices to suit most tastes. It's one of the nicest places we've stayed and, in our opinion, represents excellent value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is extremely dog friendly, particularly the bar. The dog friendly rooms are not in the main hotel, but in rooms in separate accommodation across the road, with an enclosed garden. This worked well. The view from the dining room (and breakfast) is fantastic - and the food is pretty good too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some decorative upgrades as it is an older facility (i.e. Carpeting in halls is worn, some painting etc.)

    Friendly staff, lovely big bathroom and quiet room and village setting. Beautiful views in dining room with delicious food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was lovely but the cottage was a little too small x really beautiful scenery x we were upgraded supposedly but the vitrage was actually smaller than the one had booked x

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed to learn, upon arrival that my Booking.com booking was "Room Only". No breakfast included This was not at all clear, Very unusual, very tacky!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to dark only 3 side lights poor lighting. Mirror at dressing table to low to use .bathroom could have done with a revamped was comfortable

    Meal was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Holiday Home
    • Stayed 1 night

    Salt and pepper were only things missing!!

    Spotlessly clean, everything set up and ready to go including log fire. Comfy beds, excellent shower and very modern facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room on 3rd floor could do with a bit of attention- bathroom floor badly marked; towel rail had been removed with holes left in the wall; shower did not work too well; low ceilings. Door lock not great; door got stuck on opening due to faulty floor strip; no stairs-only lift to 3rd floor and when lift opens you are met with a blank wall very close to the lift

    Comfy bed; nice breakfast; reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not overly friendly. Dinner on second night - waited 15 minutes from sitting down to having order taken and then another 25 minutes for starter to arrive. Personally I hate main courses that come in three different dishes i.e. wooden platter, coleslaw in ramekin & chips in a metal container. At following breakfast, there was no fruit out and we had to ask for it, there were no plates either. Staff seemed more interested in clearing tables than ensuring guests had what they needed. Water pressure in room was pathetic - a power shower was really needed. There was no explanation on booking site that the dinner allowance included in price was only £20. That could only get you the very cheapest starter & main course. It would have been good if that had been explained at check in.

    Wonderful location. Room was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the shower could be a bit hit or miss and pressure was a trickle but this was an attic room so maybe it was just timing.

    Amazing range of meals, stretching your taste buds! Great location for walking and fishing in the area. Helpful staff and rooms are clean, bathrooms basic but functional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures and fittings were old and dated The shower head was dirty The wallpaper was peeling off of the walls and in some places the black mould was clearly visible The only mirror in the room was obscured by a large old fashioned tv The single beds had no headboards Out of the 4 wall lights only 2 worked The carpet was filthy in numerous places The two chairs in the bedroom were dirty and ragged There was a tangle of cables leading to a socket which was not secure in the wall There were holes all over the walls where previously there must have been things hung The lock on the window was broken therefore security not good Bitterly disappointed in this hotel as we certainly never saw this on their website photographs We were in rooms 35 and 36 At end of stay when we checked out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, I wonder why!!!! We did speak to the manager how so ever, and to our utter surprise he told us he thought it was an acceptable room for what we had paid!!!!! By my standards this room would never be acceptable!!! However after a short discussion he agreed he to would not have paid what we paid to stay there and he apologised....offering us a one night break back at hotel as compensation ( hopefully not the same rooms) We parted on friendly terms

    The location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst one room had a picturesque view of the river the other looked out over a dirty concrete flat roof and a noisy extractor fan unit. We were offered the use of a lovely self catering cottage 2 mins walk from the hotel and although this was excellent for a family it was unsuitable for two couples as, again, one bedroom had a lovely view whilst the other was at the rear with no view. Unfortunately service in the lovely restaurant overlooking the river was extremely poor and the food very disappointing.

    Excellent location beside very picturesque river

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fabric of the building itself shows its age a bit but this is offset by everything being so clean and well turned out.

    Staff really friendly with a broad mix of facilities e.g. Restaurant with lovely view and also sports bar with pool table and terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed full price for two rooms. But on arrival we were given cheap rooms in another building because of our dog. We were not refounded.

    Dogs welcome. Vegetarian options in restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom sanitary ware was cracked, there were screws protruding from the door frame access to the bathroom.

    Quality of all meals was excellent. Staff were generally helpful but service in the bar area could definitely be improved.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit tired but did not interfere with lovely stay!!

    Lovely setting, dog friendly, great place to explore!! Nearby facilities also dog friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was poor and the veranda could use a facelift, but in fairness it was good value for money for the size of room

    The veranda room was a pleasant surprise as I was expecting a basic double

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will never return until rooms are updated. White gum-taped patched shower base, chipped paintwork, threadbare carpets, peeling wallpaper... Clear view of the bins! So sad to experience this as we love Kenmore and did enjoy the hotel previously on numerous occasions.

    Location is a winner! Bed linen ****

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was extremely unwelcoming ,no parking on site as it states on booking .room in the atic ---the desk lights didn't work ,the bedside telephone was stuck half way up the wall ,shower was a bit of hit or miss trying to get it to work and laslly the dinner was probably the worst i have had in any hotel .

    Lovely riverside location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IT was a bit cold in the public areas. Lacked entertainment. Some staff members could have been a little more friendly.

    The location was nice for a short break. The breakfast was good as was the evening dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property very dated, badly needs refurbishment, inside and out Poor selection of cereal and fruit at breakfast Shower very insufficient, just a dribble of water! For the price we paid, not value for money

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired looking carpets threadbare and on the stairs totally worn in place The walls needed painting as were marked and scuffed We had a verandah but it was neither tidy and there weeds and moss were growing out everywhere . The outside doors to the balcony were in desperate need of painting flaking paint everywhere. We paid £280 for 2 nights which to sit on the balcony with weeds and moss was not acceptable . It wouldnt take much to smarten the place up . The room itself was acceptable but you couldnt turn the heating down or off . The thermastatic valve was not working (my partner a heating engineer) its June and it was 20 degrees during the day but we were even hotter. So perhaps they could save money on their heating bills and spend it on a gardener and a painter

    Nice big room although we did pay for executive suite Staff were friendly Great views

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower - no pressure. For dinner, starter came on a slate and main course came on a board - I presume someone thinks it's artistic - however it is not practice - plates have been successful for several centuries - let's stick with them. No aircon.

    Location, view from bedroom, good dining room, good breakfast and dinner, nice room and comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Lovely place.

    We cycled here from Pitlochry and decided to stay an extra night, so we could cycle around Loch Tay, to Killen and back. A lovely stay, with friendly, helpful staff, lovely restaurant. A great way to begin our Scottish cycling trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had terrible pressure and was either roasting hot or freezing cold and the toilet constantly dripped. Meals were very pricey.

    Bed was lovely, big and comfy, very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had an "unloved" appearance. For instance, there was loose wallpaper on the walls that could have been fixed for a few pence, if anybody cared enough to do so. For a hotel in such an area,(frequented by walkers and climbers), I was surprised the bar had only keg beers, no real ale.

    The dinner was excellent and the service good, the lighting in the bedroom was good, unusual in hotels! The room (no.4) was small.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the breakfast was very poor, we also had dinner in the restaurant in the evening again this wasn't good. The batter on the fish was soggy and my beef had to be sent back as it was cold and was very hard to cut through. We visited this hotel last year for meals and had a great experience but unfortunately very disappointed this year.

    The hotel is in a beautiful place, cosy lounge bar with great staff.The rooms were good, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in general. 1st breakfast was cool and fried eggs were hard,toast cold. Next day after asking for a hot plate and food was a little better but the poached eggs again were hard. We were 1st in the restaurant so should have been easy to get a simple breakfast right. The dinners were over priced and not that tasty either.

    The bed was really comfortable so getting a good sleep was a treat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt shabby. Shower did not have enough water power. Carpet needs cleaning. Poor wi fi. Coffee table needs a resurface.

    Lovely location with trees turning colour. Beautiful views from dinning room. Lovely log fires in hotel.Helpful staff. Having a veranda to enjoy views.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception manageress could have been more gracious when I mentioned that my bill was wrong. The public area through from the restaurant was decidedly chilly

    Lift to room , food easily available, beautiful setting, ease of parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all.

    From start to finish we enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the Kenmore Hotel. The staff were lovely and accommodating. A beautiful place to relax and take time out from the world.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need upgrading;

    Good breakfasts and very good evening meals. Excellent waitress-Megan; wonderful views of river Tay and easily accessible to surrounding countryside.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic fare not up to other places we stayed in the Highlands. Fresh fruit on buffet was poor. Had one evening meal which was average so we ate out after that. Dining room ok, but generally hotel is looking tired.

    A beautiful location, room was a good size.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The menu was restricted on some occasions and even ran out of marmalade on one morning. It seemed that they tried to cater for far too many people in some cases.

    The general atmosphere was excellent and the staff very helpful within some constraints.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfasts could have been much better especially paying £125 per night for bed and breakfast . OAP'S in hotel were paying that for dinner too, not fair everyone should pay the same, and their tv worked

    we loved the place Kenmore, but hotel very tired, no croissants or muffins, black pudding, potato scones, it is a scottish hotel no jam, one of the wall lights in our room was broke and the TV was very old style not a flat screen with very bad reception, infact we had to keep it off.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp with a broken bed and other issues. Hotel staff were unapproachable and did not even ask if we were enjoying our stay (not even on check out) manager has been contacted to deal with the complaint but has not answered. Our stay was appalling due to the conditions of the room.

    Restaurant staff were nice as was the food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to book dinner when we checked in and this wasn't made clear. we were lucky to get a table on a busy Saturday night.

    An excellent room in the gatehouse so perfect with the dog. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the building from the outside seems very quaint we feel very disappointed in our stay at the hotel and really not anything to like regarding the overall experience - sadly, welcome was brusque, room decoration awful, wallpaper border peeling off wall, gloss paint flaking around windows, no privacy glass in front facing bathroom, shower likened to Russian Roulette and standard size of room was no more than a box room. Advertised as having telephone, radio and TV, alas only working item of the three was the telephone, no radio in room and TV was an analogue TV which provided only a "snow storm". Wi fi very intermittent. Wash hand basin - hot water scalding hot and no apology for daughter actually scalding her hand! Breakfast was undercooked, barely warm and underwhelming.

    Not wishing to reflect total negativity on our experience at the Kenmore Hotel, I will conceded that the room and en-suite was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs an overhaul (No 6). Bath panel hanging off, flooring water damaged, shower temperature fluctuating widely, cooking fans on at 6:45am woke us up. TV channels limited.

    Breakfast room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This run down, overpriced hotel depends solely on its attractive location and needs sprussing up. The staff were attentive and lovely and the views are nice but other than that the hotel is dated and not value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better to have a set of keys each to our room and the front door instead of having to share, so that when one person has to go out the other doesn't have to stay in to let them in as the other can't go out and get back in unless they have keys. There should be enough toiletries for two people if there are two people on the booking eg shower gel Would be nice to have hash browns for the cooked breakfast and the bacon did not seem so well cooked, the breakfast did not match the quality of the outstanding evening meal but overall fine.

    The hotel is set in a stunning location, the staff could not be more helpful and considerate, it is truly pet friendly, from arrival we were able to sit and eat in the bar with our elderly newfoundland, and it was easy to access our spacious ground floor room with a view of one end of the lake, the evening meal and desserts were the best we have ever had anywhere and we think you should enter your chef in the best chef in UK contest as the food was outstanding. We are well travelled and we have not seen better presented food nor tasted better. We would recommend the Kenmore Hotel to anybody, and we would love to come back again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower curtain falling down in a superior room, balcony rotting away in front of bedroom window, only their one night asked for window table when we booked dinner, one was available but was told we could not reserve it. only 1 packet of biscuits, no shower cap, no glasses in room had to request them from bar

    the location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is needing refurbished quite dated, little things like hand wash in the toilet of the main hotel missing

    Really helpful staff very accommodating

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a full refurbishment of the .property. it is run down i.e. the corner of the front verandah is rotten and held up by a temporary metal pole. the guttering outside my window had rotted away and just left lying where it fell off. the carpet is thread bear and possibly has not had a shampoo since it was laid. the floors are creaky and squickey and hard to sleep when people are moving around the pictures of the hotel on the site are not a true reflection of the real situation. most likely taken a long time ago

    the site was good. the environment good. the new dining room was very good and in an excellent position overlooking the river.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accommodation across the road from hotel. Frayed carpets. Chipped paintwork. Shower - cold or scalding hot! TV poor reception. Furniture tired.

    Beds were clean. Food in the bar was good. Breakfast mediocre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful restaurant with excellent views! Perfectly located for horseriding and other nature adventures - stunning countryside. Beautiful little shopping area and close to nice villages such as Aberfeldy and Pitlochry.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic rooms, old fashioned tv and we were lucky to have a tv. The food in the restaurant was horrendous, we were there for our honeymoon and the restaurant was full and people came in and changed the atmosphere and it emptied in minutes they were all drunk going from table to table complaining and asking how much people had paid for a room, the staff couldn't care less. Breakfast was horrendous made us ill all day. I would not hesitate to go back if they upgraded and got good staff

    The beds were comfy and the bath tub was big with lots of hot water even at the check in after 7pm. Fantastic location !!!

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: