Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western PLUS Kenwood Hall Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Kenwood Road, Sheffield, S7 1NQ, United Kingdom

#17 of 28 hotels in Sheffield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2717 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Def not 4 star. Room wasn't properly cleaned. No top sheet in bed. Very tired room. Very disappointed in hotel. Would stay again but only if desperate.

    It is a beautiful building and gardens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    At the discounted rate it was ok for an overnight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a bit dated and NO hot water in morning, although when pressed , cost of meal was deducted from bill.

    Evening meal in restaurant was fine. Beer a little pricey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Crap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's a lot!! The bathroom door didn't close properly at all. The bath was too small for my man to get into. The shower was also rather small for him to turn anywhere. There was a gap in the shower screen, therefore the floor got a soaking every morning. The cupboard door didn't fit properly. The breakfast was over-cooked and we all had to wait for varies items to come out, therefore the rest of the breakfast got very cold. The coffee was always just warm. There was not enough car parking for the size of hotel, we had to park in the road on a couple of occasions. Other than that it was ok!!

    The beds were comfortable. There were tea/coffee facilities. It was a good size and there were plenty of drawer space. Entry to the Hotel was lovely so was the ground. There was a lovely view of the wildlife from our room and the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is old and tatty. I booked what I thought was a lovely country house hotel but was extremely disappointed. For the cost of the two rooms I booked I expected much more. In fact, we asked for and received a partial refund on my son's single room which had a broken tiny single bed in a tiny box room which was freezing. The corridors and lighting in the public areas are more like a care home than a hotel. Our double room looked like it hadn't had a refurb since the 80s with old scuffed furniture and a bathroom in serious need of redecorating. Put me off going anywhere near the spa or swimming pool.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice place let down by silly issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special menu board showed steak this was at 5pm, by 7.45 all steak and other food was sold out. Starter of humus not worth th £5.00 price,very minuscule amount Jaipur beer ( draught) was on offer in the main bar , every time it was asked for I had to wait due to gas problems & cask problems and I mean every time Asked for a Guinness as the Jaipur problems went on , and the bar man give me a Guinness served without the tap sparkler , this is a problem as the Guinness would not hold its head.having complained was told that he did not know when the sparklers were located. Not enough staff on the bar waiting times were horrendous. We was there for a wedding and found out out that the bridal suite had ripped voiles above the bed , which they found acceptable to give to the bride and groom😩 The old part of the hotel suffers from a lack of heating, room sinks blocked ( which I reported twice) Bar in the old part managed to serve oyster stout ale which had a acid taste , in my opinion the bottom of the barrel complained and got another drink

    The grounds and amenity were good, very clean.spa facility’s very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Repeated loss of power and repeated fire alarms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Repeated loss of power and repeated fire alarms. Staff followed procedures, however, staff could not see that there was a fault which did not merit repeated fire evacuation - more training required.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    A really beautiful building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired and in need of refurb or some fresh silicone at least. Unfortunately the cleaner hadn’t spotted a piece of tissue on the floor near the tv and I certainly wasn’t going to touch it.

    A really beautiful building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not very good. Hardly any water. Tap in the sink dribbled out. Breakfast was only average. When I complained about the bathroom the manager did give me a 20% reduction in the bill which was good but I would have preferred to have had a decent bathroom. The room needed some tlc.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    The rooms were large the bar was good and facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception never asked if we wanted assistance with heavy baggage and put us in a room that was the furthest away as you they could give us and what made it worse was the ‘key’s’ never worked more than once so up and down all the time. The restaurant and bar was exceptionally cold as people were complaining all night plus the dinner was without a doubt second rate bordering on bad BUT breakfast was very good. There were no power points next to the bed and a pet hate of mine involving most UK hotels NO small fridge as most elderly people require a fridge for their tablets, get in the 21st century you hoteliers and also teach receptionist’s to think ahead and ask their clients if they can help.

    The rooms were large the bar was good and facilities were good. Car parking free and good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Parking, facilities, staff, restaurant, bar were all good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little bit tired, but clean and tidy with good facilities. Not enough sockets in the room, as many were a very old type and not usable with modern plugs.

    Parking, facilities, staff, restaurant, bar were all good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Reception bar area was bright and inviting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms can be expensive. The Pool area is dated and very small and the rooms are extremely dated.

    Reception bar area was bright and inviting. Surrounding area was great, good little gym facility when quiet for a quick work out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is quiet and gardens pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was grim. Long wait to be seated, cold plates, no sausages, thin orange juice. The coffe machine was filthy on the outside and I dread to think what the inside was like. Breakfast staff did not seem to understand the term customer service. Was not asked on checking out about the stay. Shame other than breakfast it was good.

    Location is quiet and gardens pleasant. The room was good, clean and the bed comfortable. The evening meal was good as were the reception and evening restaurant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    I arrived late on the Friday after a 6 hour drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window to the room needs to be replaced. It overlooks woods which is good. The litter needs to be cleared. The bathroom was spotlessly clean but there was mould on the ceiling and the sealant around the bath needs to be replaced. I am stating these things to be helpful and not to complain. I would stay here again.

    I arrived late on the Friday after a 6 hour drive. The staff on reception and in the bar were lovely and welcoming. The room was comfortable and had everything you could wish for. The location was good and the surroundings with the garden etc totally wonderful and serene.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Spacious and gracious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant was a little basic, and for some reason all the vegetables were sweet (including chips). Have no idea why.

    Beautiful setting in the most attractive part of Sheffield. Close to good restaurants and bars, and with easy access to the Peak District. The hotel itself is bright and comfortable.,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    quiet area,lovely grounds amusing squirrels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disabled toilet not working,disable lift not working there fore,as changing room was on 3rd floor and spa and pool wer down 18 stairs,had to walk corridors use main lift and walk through dining room!!!!!!!. day 3 fire alarms and 1 power outage therefore WiFi out!!!

    quiet area,lovely grounds amusing squirrels.great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Short overnight stay as we were visiting the area for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Short overnight stay as we were visiting the area for a family wedding. Didn't make use of the facilities but location was a key factor for us, and room and breakfast were fine and met our needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were quite hard and although not the hotels fault after 3 power cuts one causing a continual fire alarm we were extremely tired.

    The grounds are amazing and the staff are lovely.. couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great place, Great people with great food & drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, I wouldn't fault the place. My wife and I have a 15 bedroom B&B in York and we come across lots of really nice people who are happy just to be happy. While some would make a hell out of a heaven. In my 30 years in this business I have learned one thing. You can't please all the people all the time. Some just don't want to be happy.

    The staff were very friendly, especially the older lady on breakfast duty. The breakfast was faultless. Enough for everyones tastes. The way the waitress handled the miserable whinging customer was excellent. Professional without being rude. The customer was really out of order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    It was okay, but as I used to work at a Best Western I expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of my room service order did not turn up but they still charged me the service charge, the staff at the reception did not on any occasion make me feel welcome.

    The breakfast and bar staff were very good. And the shower in the bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel ...wouldn't book treatments in spa and wouldn't recommend the beauty service to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had back neck and shoulder massages. The therapist had a fan on in room because she was hot so we were both cold. She never asked if the pressure was ok and we only got 17 minutes instead of 25. My friend runs her beauty salon.and if she lived local she would have complained but didn't think it worth it as only staying for a break. She would probably have more to say on how disappointed she felt about the treatment.

    Great location...beautiful grounds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Had looked forward to it but disappointed for the reasons set out above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom efficient but in need of upgrade. Leisure centre not available (the only key(!) had by mistake been taken home the previous night by member of staff), but no discount offered. Our bedroom was an interconnecting one, and we could hear couple next door through the doors. There can be considerable noise from people in the garden. Television did not function properly - ie, text function.

    Room spacious Bed was comfortable. Grounds very attractive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Yes, it's our stay when in Sheffield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of urgency amongst staff. Staff very young and there appeared to be a lack of supervision and training. An issue reported upon check-in was still unresolved on departure three days later. Please have staff trained to stop saying "no problem" when there IS a problem - and to NOT respond with "no problem" when they are thanked. "Your welcome" is far more courteous and would reflect the image the hotel is trying to demonstrate. Shower door sweep broken so removed and left for housekeeping who left it in the bathroom the entire visit. Incidentally, the sweep was grungy and needed replacement. Menu okay and food tasty but uninspired.

    The grounds. The beds and linens. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn’t great, Very bland and just about warm, this was the same for breakfast, everything was just about warm, Dirty glasses and empty bottles still left outside my room from previous guests even though the room had been cleaned,

    Location, Gym,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel. Monumentally long corridors. Not as many toiletries and drinks in the rooms as before.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering that this was one of their most expensive rooms, it was disappointing to see that quite a few things were no longer in the room. The fridge having been removed was the most obvious. On previous visits, there were also bottles of water and a couple of bottles of soft drinks in the room. These weren't there either. In the bathroom, there also used to be toothbrush kits and shaving kits. Now, it's just some soap, shampoo and cotton buds. I often have to book last minute stays and am unable to get home in time to pack for the night. A shaving kit and toothbrush in the room is ideal. When you pay for a one of their best rooms for the night, it's sad to see them skimping on the little things. Most people have time to pack before a trip, but for some of us.... those little 'extras' make a big difference.

    Great room. I'very stayed before and usually request the same room. I like the four poster bed and the view from the balcony. The staff are always helpful and the hotel is clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    The staff's attitude and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ground floor rooms don't have privacy lace curtains meaning if you want some privacy in the afternoon you need to close the main curtains leaving you in the dark. Room service food was very disgusting over cooked and soaked in fat

    The staff's attitude and service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was mediocre. Restaurant featureless. Short staffed . Bar staff couldn't/wouldn't make listed cocktails. Reception wanted to charge per hour for a late check out.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    One night stay, good value for money.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing major, minor problems like flickering bathroom light and kettle which did not auto switch off. Reported both and assume fixed but wasn't there long enough to find out. Only two disability parking spaces.

    clean comfortable room. spa facilities. grounds were attractive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location and beautiful building and grounds, staff just need to cheer up a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a suite which was a birthday present for partner but when checking in were told it has been overbooked so had to downgrade room :/ Lady on check in wasn’t very apologetic and didn’t seem like she was bothered. We were given free breakfast which was nice but upon checking out the same lady was confused and asked us to pay, had to then explain she had promised us free breakfast the night before.

    Perfect location, excellent grounds to explore and lovely feel to the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    It looked nice from the outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable and the room smelt horrible! the pool area only had a couple of chairs and there was a few people in there so couldn't sit down, there wasn't much food choice so we went to a local pub

    It looked nice from the outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating Reception need to answer the phone Arfternoon tea needs to be better organised when wedding receptions are being held

    The outlook from our room over looking the lake. Breakfast was lovely buffet nice and hot

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Room was good, very comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding on that day so it was quite noisy and the restaurant was closed for the occasion (which wasn't ideal as we were planning on eating in that day). Probably would have been good to notify people of this.

    Room was good, very comfy bed. The property looks nice and is well located. Super cheap too so overall good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Great staff and location but the rooms need a refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very ‘tired’ and in need of a refurb Strange noises (from the pipes.?) kept us awake at night.

    Excellent breakfast Lovely location Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Close to Sheffield Centre but surroundings were very tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No the croissants were not extra flakey - because there were none! Even upon asking the reply was "all gone". Admittedly we did arrive towards the end of the breakfast period - but it was extremely busy. I doubt enough staff were present to keep everyone happy. we had to wait for several items to be refreshed and - as said before - choice became limited. The spa male changing rooms were "messy" and no robes available.

    The room was big and had a decent view over the lake. The bathroom was fine and all accessories provided. we requested a heater for the room and it was delivered within 10 minutes. The spa / pool area was OK but for the size of your hotel could have been a bit bigger. I would suggest you put a time constraint for children's use ie last hour adults only. Check in was good - as was check out - although there were two weddings on there was no noise to keep us awake. The radiator in the room did, however, make some strange noises in the night and disturbed our sleep a little.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    3.8
    Not very relaxing or pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level, we were not informed of a wedding party taking place underneath our room. Also my partner had just ran the dig deep 60 mile across the peak district, we were given a room on the 6th floor, the lift only went to the 3rd so we have 3 flights of double stairs to go up and a few very long corridors. The staff could have told us that there was a quicker and easier route to the room which was a 1 minute walk around the site of the hotel instead of the long route inside. It took 2 hours of constant ringing for room service and the mildue/mould in the bathroom wasn't pleasant, also a previous guests contact lenses was on top of a brochure in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    This is usually a fabulous experience .. my first choice hotel in Sheffield but this time was awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t watch tv from bed. View Miles of corridors and steps from reception to room.

    View from room appalling .. just flat roof top, fire escape and ac units.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Not a relaxing time away as we had hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were major problems during our stay. Firstly, the room we were allocated (204) was overlooked by the window in the bar and the patio because it was sub ground level. We had to have the curtains closed at all times. No other room was available on request. Secondly, problems with the hotels electricity meant that there was only intermittent WiFi and many occasions of the fire alarm going off throughout our stay including at 11:30pm. We were expecting to be offered a discount on departure but staff were not even interested in making an apology.

    The location and the breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Good staff unfortunate events
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off a lot due to issues with power and had to wait to get a key as no one dropped one off after the systems came back on. The room wasn’t amazing bathroom looking worn and not that clean, the bed wasn’t that comfy and felt a little dated.

    Staff nice dispite then having a bad day with a power cut and no systems

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and will most definitely be coming back very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more choice on the children's menu in the restaurant but the meal me and my husband had was really nice👍

    The pool was a definite hit with my two children and the family room was very spacious too 👍 The grounds are lovely to walk around

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Complimentary dinner to make up for the disruption
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power cut resulted in no electronic key card for room, a long delay for dinner and the fire alarm going off repeatedly throughout the evening up to 23.30 hours !!.

    Complimentary dinner to make up for the disruption

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Central, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated.

    Central location, large attractive garden estate setting. Good sized comfortable rooms with basic facilities. Very good breakfast and pleasant, efficient wait staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed the one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom light wasn’t working we asked but no one arrived to fix it Phone didn’t work Bar had no gin classes that they could use Stock was low at the bar but noone seemed worried they run out of stuff. Very odd for a big hotel

    Friendly staff Food was amazing Grounds beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    Good location. Bad that we couldn’t check in before the wedding so had to go through the process at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really noisy at night and I was kept awake until 3am with people walking down the corridor shouting and banging doors. We had an adjoining door (we didn’t know the other room) who came in at 2am and talked loudly and boiled kettle. Very noisy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Well worth a visit or two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a search for light switches before I realised they were individually switched lamps! That said, not a problem...

    Room, environment, gym, spa, breakfast, staff, everything was excellent and fantastic value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Was just OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could not be bothered to go and get either baileys or port because he wasn't allowed to leave the bar area. Yet when his colleague arrived, the new guy did go to re-stock! That just didn't seem right. So, service was poor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bat was understaffed on the Friday evening and found it difficult in meeting the demands of the wedding party and other hotel guests.

    Welcome and the way the staff made us feel special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    We had an excellent day and night and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lockers did not work in the changing rooms. The steps down to the pool area were slightly dirty.

    The food was superb. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Quiet location but still close enough to access the city centre and train station Staff was very friendly and helpful Room was clean and enjoyed the view from our balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Lovely grounds and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 604 was located on top floor and windows were high up so was clostaphoebic in bedroom glad it was for 1 night and was told breakfast was £10 if we book befor 12 midnight but if we went in morning it would £13.95 each overpriced I would say

    Lovely grounds and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.8
    Booked an executive double room the location was much too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked an executive double room the location was much too far away as one member of the party was disabled, changed rooms which was a slightly better location but the room was not clean the Windows and in general was very shabby,the overall stay was ok but nothing special but in its defence the staff were good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Good, aside from the early 'alarm call' provided by yapping dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Woken early (0630) by 30 minutes of a yapping, uncontrolled dog in next room. This is not an ideal way to have a 'break' and, while I know that pets are welcomed in many hotels, some guests are less than fond of their noise.

    Optional omlette at breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.1
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking. The hotel decor is aging and the corridors smelt musty it’s in desperate need of tender love and care.

    Location excellent good for visiting the Peak District

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable as always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room , as usual, too warm, and lacking adequate ventilation during a hot summer. Lots of empty space in the rooms, but no air con.

    Refurbished breakfast room a success, and as always, a warm Sheffield welcome from breakfast staff. Great central location. Wonderful grounds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    Ok ish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room, no refills on water, room not as clean as it should be. Overall the hotel needs some tender loving care.

    Good area of Sheffield, staff were helpful and friendly. Grounds were pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    Pleasant grounds
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was uncomfortably hot, 29c even though it was cool outside at night. No aircon and windows were screwed shut. Ironically the sauna was out of service.

    Pleasant grounds

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff are awful and food is way too overpriced for it's value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have visited and the same staff were there, absolutely shocking service and SO rude. The food is way overpriced and they charged us then informed us they didn't have what we ordered after they'd taken our money off our cards. We won't return which is a shame as the hall itself and the grounds are beautiful.

    The scenery and location is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Delighted - the staff were welcoming, the breakfast was pretty good and my family as non-residents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I suppose it could do with some refurbishment but then it would be well posh and probably out of my league.

    Wouldn't suit the design conscious but for an overnight bargain deal it was brilliant AND my family I was visiting were able to use the pool for a fiver and they came to breakfast and staff could not have been more helpful. I had a Large room with a comfy bed. There were a few tell tale things like. Bad filling round the bath, but it was all perfectly clean with all facilities. The grounds and the lake are excellent. Probably needs another gardner but not a big deal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Lovely short break. Chilled out and relaxing. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service a little slow but nothing to spoil our time there.

    The room was lovely. Large and spacious. We had our own terrace over looking the lake. Perfect location for us. Quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was good. Nice selection of cereals and pastries. Good full English breakfast with a choice to order other items off the menu. The evening meals were very good although sometimes they had run out of certain dishes. The spa facilities were good and we could use them all day. I paid to have a treatment and it was discounted as I was a guest. Worth every penny. The setting of the hotel is lovely and we will return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Shabby and outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Room definitely needs a re vamp was actually shabby. After leaving behind 4 children for a much needed break to celebrate our wedding anniversary we were really annoyed to be woken by gardeners right outside our window with hedge cutters and loud music !!! The outside light was attached to the wall right outside our window and so at night the room was pretty well lit up !! After requesting a late checkout which we were charged £10 an hour for @ 11-15am we were disturbed by one of the receptionist to ask if we were checking out or not !!! When I said we had a late check out she said “oh ok” again very annoyed !!!!

    The bed was comfortable and the shower was great.. Lovely food Great location Nice pool and spa area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    unsatisfied
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty, stinky carpets, old windows impossible to open, we left 3 new men's shirts. never get back, bad communication with personnel, untasty food at the restaurant, bad fish and chips and hamburger

    quiet location, nice graden, nice old lady at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed today
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel at the sink and the flore of the bathroom was dirty. The light in my he bathroom was flickering and I had no hot water.

    The outside is really pretty. We were there on Tuesday and everything was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Our stay
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint work could do with a update , internet is only good if near reception when in room it disconnects

    Staff are excellent couldn’t do enough for you , Food is amazing , the grounds are beautiful the rooms are very big and the bed is so comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.1
    The grounds are beautiful, staff (although in short supply)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated in places, especially the bedroom and spa area. The changing rooms really needed a re-vamp.

    The grounds are beautiful, staff (although in short supply) were friendly and helpful! Food in the restaurant was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.5
    room furthest away from reception on the top floor with no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room furthest away from reception on the top floor with no lift (awkward with large case - although the receptionist did offer to help take it up) dirty tray outside room door, plastic packaging left on the windowsill in the bathroom, told restaurant was open until 10 but then told it wasn't and had to eat in the bar :( .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t realise that we would be staying in a different building to the photos in the advert. The room and hotel felt dated.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.0
    Not satisfied
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms require renovation. Old Windows and bathroom facilities, smelly carpets. Very hot room, imposible to open the window. Untasty food in the Restaurant. Awfull fish and chips and Burger. We left 3 man’s shirts in the warderobe and never get answer where they are and any Feedback how to get them back. I do not recommend this place.

    Location, surounding, garden, comfortable beds. Quite tasty breakfast. Nice old lady there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Had everything you needed there lovely grounds and lake nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know we only booked a standard room but the room we had was a throw back to the 70 looked like they had done nothing to room 336 since the smoking ban was introduced as the ceiling and door, and heater control had that yellow tinge, all in all need a really good refurbished job done, it is such a shame as it is in lovely grounds and could have everything going for it.

    Had everything you needed there lovely grounds and lake nice walks , staff where very helpful nothing was to much trouble, close to the city centre only a £4.50 taxi ride away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.8
    WE HAD PEOPLE COME IN TO OUR ROOM IN THE MIDDLE OFTHE NIGHT...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WE HAD PEOPLE COME IN TO OUR ROOM IN THE MIDDLE OFTHE NIGHT (KEYS NOT ALLOCATED PROPERLY) BAR WOULD ONLY TAKE CASH ! KEYS OFTEN DIDNT WORK IN DORR MEANING HAVING TO GO TO RECEPTION NO AIR CONDITIONING ON A HOT NIGHT

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Kenwood Hall Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding reception so the lobby was very busy. Also a strong smell of smoke within the main hotel reception area. Room service was not answering although the lady on reception was very helpful and dealt with our request.

    Location and the grounds are lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Too many small inconveniences at that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very tired and poorly cleaned.Being locked out of our room on the 2nd day ! trek to reception to revalidate. Signage to our room missing.Wifi stopped working am before departure. Being questioned at the breakfast desk despite booking the day before. Poor parking regime. Too many small inconveniences.

    Pleasant grounds.Polite staff.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing, over priced and will not be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dirty dated room, stained carpet, narrow bath, arm chairs sunken and uncomfortable. Breakfast buffet had a poor selection of cheap low quality food, no bread other than sliced toasting bread, restaurant filthy

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    The Jacuzzi was not working and the main reason we came to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Jacuzzi was not working and the main reason we came to this hotel was because of the jacuzzi. My niece caught a cold because the air con was on in the changing room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Great stay in a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads leading up to the hotel very bumpy.

    Freindly atmosphere and clean room. Great family room. Lovely grounds. Good pool and gym. Despite wedding going on at the same time we were at the other end of the hotel and it didn't disrupt our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    One down on previous stays
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had 'room only' this time. We think breakfast is expensive as an optional extra, especially when you don't always feel like much to eat. A greater variety of tea bags to include decaffeinated and herbal would have been appreciated. A mini fridge to keep drinks cool would be lovely. No air con and limited numbers of fans available. It was SO hot and stuffy in the room. Had to ask for more shower gel as it was not renewed when used up. Not sure what was going on this time but the car park was rammed.

    Staff are friendly and helpful, late night especially. Found a fan/put one back together for us when it was so very hot. Toiletries are a good make. Towels are large and soft. Water for showers/bath was always hot and plentiful. Shower is a good strong one too. Choice of pillows, comfortable bed. Use of (small), swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Good for one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    suasages at breakfast, rather fatty, probably baked not grilled

    We wanted space to work and sleep so had a good sized executive room . Large bed, good WiFi and space for us to relax

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.8
    Location and size of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiling hot rooms and no air con. Unhelpful lad on reception - no smiles. No chat. Gave us wrong room keys. No apologies. He needs a bit of training in front of house

    Location and size of rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: