Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Hampshire hotel reviews
  4. Portsmouth hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Keppels Head Hotel

Reviews of Keppels Head Hotel

24-26 The Hard, Portsmouth, PO1 3DT, United Kingdom

#28 of 28 hotels in Portsmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1772 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    7.1
    Enjoyable, comfortable and would recommend for a short stay as ideal for the historical dockyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was dated and worn out and could do with updating.

    The room facilities were good and it was clean. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. The location was great - ideal for the historical dockyard The lift was an experience - 1940s

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2019

    8.8
    Convenient location for me for what I wanted to do in Portsmouth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room surprisingly large, good view. Couldn't fault staff,breakfast, chambermaid. Hotel just rather shabby , scuffed paintwork, worn stair carpet, and peeling wallpaper in places.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2019

    5.4
    It was not what I expected from the discription of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thread bare stair carpets Dirty walls . Pealing wallpaper Tired furniture. No complimentary toiletries. No bath mat. Insufficient information on fire exits instructions. I'll fitting double glazing in room which made VERY noisy sound 24/7. Stapled rug to floor carpet in room,staples kept coming out to be walked on.Bathroom flooring around toilet coming away from walls. Have photos but they are on my phone

    The view .Breakfast was ok.Towels and sheets where clean.Car parking was good.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2019

    10
    When I am travelling with my dogs and have to catch the...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I am travelling with my dogs and have to catch the ferry from Portsmouth, then Kepples Head Hotel is the first place I think about. The staff are great and the breakfast is excellent (if you have time to eat it before the ferry leaves). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I will be there again in December.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2019

    4.6
    Grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel requires a complete refurbishment. The bathroom was in a very poor state with a dirty toilet seat and many tiles coming away from the wall. There was mould on the ceiling and the furniture in the room left a lot to be desired. The toilet did not flush properly and the bed has a thermostatic valve for the radiator as a headboard! It could be a lovely hotel but in its present dilapidated state it is just not worth the £89 a night charged.

    The hotel is ideally located on the hard, opposite the station and the staff were very pleasant. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2019

    2.9
    Filthy unpleasant disgusting dissaster of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like anything. Everything is so old, full of smelled humidity, stains and holes all around carpet, broken bath tub without shower and with separated pipes for hot and cold water it was impossible to take a shower and to filthy to take a bath. Lights in bathroom one didn’t work, heating in room wasn’t working, stains all over the floor, humidity and fungus stains on the ceiling in room, holoways and dinning room. It was really way bellow any standard of hotel and for The price of 80£ it was really shameful to spend that amount of money per night for this kind of accommodation. I can’t believe that that hotel Has 4 star category.

    The only positive thing Is Location close to Naval museum.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2019

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a disgusting state of repair. Hardly slept because of the awful bed. Hotel should in my opinion be removed from your website.

    Nothing. Didn't stay for my booking.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2019

    10
    The location is perfect with a beautiful view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was lovely

    The location is perfect with a beautiful view of the spinnika tower,free parking lovely breakfast and clean white fluffy towels.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2019

    8.3
    Look past the shabby appearance, it's well worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Threadbare, needed a refit 20 years ago by the looks of it

    Quirky and charming in its way, brilliant location, superb staff , huge room with a direct view of the harbour, great shower, brilliant free private parking, superb breakfast and great value for money

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2019

    7.5
    Pleasant short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in great need of redecoration. It is such a shame that the old décor is not being kept up to the standard which it deserves. Our mattress was quite lumpy and although we were lucky to have a room overlooking the sea,, you must expect to hear the sounds of the trains at the station across the road.

    Great location with free parking. Building has lots of historical features which creates lovely atmosphere. Very good breakfast. Our room, the Victory, was huge with plenty of storage and overlooked the Spinaker Tower/Warrior etc. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2019

    5.0
    Disgraceful dirty hovel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was a complete and utter dump….dirty, tatty and smelly are terms too positive to describe it. We slept fully clothed on the bed as we didn't want to sleep on the sheets. It appeared as though it was a hostel for long term résidents. It is disgraceful that it is marketed as a hotel. The advertised wi fi did not work at all. Fortunately, we arrived very late and left early the next Morning…...could not wait to get out of the place. We would never return and would urge everybody to avoid this place at all costs.

    The breakfast was ok and the staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2019

    6.7
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a complete mess it would need a couple of million to put it right,the lift was like a goods lift from the 70’s. More like a hostel than a hotel

    The staff were friendly,the breakfast was ok and the room was clean

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2019

    3.8
    Way over priced for what was provided, overall very poor standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire hotel was dirty, in a very poor state of repair and in need of significant modernisation. The windows in the room did not shut properly allowing water to puddle on the floor and the wind to blow through, there were no where near enough plug sockets in the room, only one bedside lamp (the main light could not be controlled from the bed. Staff were friendly but service at breakfast was poor.

    The room had a nice view over the harbour and breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    3.8
    Think it's the worst hotel we've ever stayed in.☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Decor is dated, needs major improvements and makeover. Our room was not nice, with flaking wallpaper, stains on the walls, mismatched dirty curtains, threadbare carpets, creaking floorboards. Musty smell. Thick dust on the lampshade. Whichever way we turned it, our radiator wouldn't turn off so was very hot at night, we opened the window to wind and rain. The banister leading to the lift from reception was loose and could be dangerous. We didn't bother to stay for breakfast so can't comment on that, just wanted to get out of there. Hotel employee listened to my comments and gave a small reduction.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2019

    7.5
    In desperate need of refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling state of disrepair in room; holes in walls, curtains and wallpaper which probably dated from 1970s. Window opened onto filthy service duct area blocked with fire escape covered in thick pigeon guano. Pigeons proving early alarm calls. Shower room lino lifting with flimsy shower rail allowing flooding. Bar was a joke; no beer taps working and one choice of wine

    Staff were superb, bed quite comfy. Good WiFi. Splendid breakfast room in marked contrast to other areas which were badly dilapidated

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2019

    7.9
    Good value for money, location is excellent for the Naval dockyards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel really needs re-furbishing carpets, furniture etc very tired and worn. A little TLC would go a long way as the building is quite lovely. Although everything is very clean.

    Central location, free parking. Beautiful old building.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    7.1
    A good stay, and we'll return. But a bit of TLC and some investment would make this place great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'shabby/chic' is getting even more shabby. The dull and basic full English breakfast does not live up to its pretty surroundings. The sausage and the coffee were particularly nasty and the fried slice was cooked in very old oil.

    We returned because we like the historic 'feel' of the place. Its VFM and has a useful car park . The staff have always been very friendly. And on Portsmouth Hard the location is excellent. Our back bedroom didn't have a view but it was clean and the bed very comfortable. The avocado bathroom was a blast from the 70's but again it was clean and the bath was big and the water hot.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    8.8
    Homely and dog friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the third time we have stayed at Keppels Head hotel so that speaks for itself. The staff are very friendly and dogs are welcome which is great. We stayed in a large front room with armchairs and views of the Spinnaker tower and historic dockyard. The room was warm and cosy and the beds were comfortable. The dining room is stunning and of another age and the breakfasts were very good. Having secure parking is a real bonus. I do agree the hotel could do with major updating but that in no way detracted from our visit. I expect we shall be back for our fourth visit in the near future!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    7.9
    Fantastic location and price - would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is faded and a bit shabby in places but we knew that in advance and the good stuff made up for that. It isn't sparkling clean but it does have character. My husband got woken up by the noise of the trains (I didn't hear them).

    The location is brilliant - less than 5 minutes walk to the station, dockyard and the shopping outlet. Lots of restaurants/pubs closeby to choose from. We got a cooked traditional breakfast included in the price. Our room was spacious and had a great view over the harbour.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    5.4
    One night and happy it was no longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby, not very clean.

    The Kepples Head is a lovely Georgian period building overlooking the Hard and HMS Warrior. It is a 5 mins walk to Gunwharf Quays. I can remember being taken there for lunch as a boy, it was very nice then. Sadly it's in a poor state of repair and in need of a complete renovation. Worth doing for sure it's a great building.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    9.2
    we always have an excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was uncomfortable, the springs kept poking into side. some seem to be really old

    Staff s usual very polite and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    7.5
    Good value for what we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the tired decor very creaky floorboards do went to bathroom in night and woke up my husband.

    Lovely clean linen and towels. Staff nice and friendly and helpful. Had to ask for basics like hairdryer and bathmat. All in all good value for money. Very tired decor needs refurbishing.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    8.0
    Paint and breakfast! Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaners, didn't respect guests blaring music early on a sunday morning and moaning about the guests not checking early was not a welcome start to our sunday morning. I know it was free, however cooked breakfast was very poor quality, bacon was the only edible bit, please change the sausages(they were like cardboard) and use fresher ingredients, the mushrooms were clearly passed their best. Coffee and toast were fine. The hotel is very tired looking and clearly needs a good coat of paint.

    We loved the room sizes and view, bed was comfy and location was superb. The dining room was fabulous and had oodles of character. Staff were very good and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2018

    3.3
    Filthy dirty unkept damp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything not fit for animals. Health hazard

    The hotel with dirty falling apart water leaking through the roof curtains with damp the carpets were filthy the beds didn’t even have headboards I have stayed in some hotels in my time but this was the worst it should be knocked down it is disgusting .I’d even go as far to say it’s a fire risk nothing was pat tested the switches were dodgy and unsafe.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    9.2
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and decoration shabby but it was clean and comfortable and overall good value.

    Excellent breakfast. Great location, a short walk from both Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf Quays. Free ample parking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2018

    5.8
    Location is brilliant although there was some noise from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and dated decor in desperate need of modernising like going back to the 1960's. The lift is as old as the building. Shame really could be a really nice hotel.

    Location is brilliant although there was some noise from the station. Breakfast was good a little basic though

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    8.8
    A little gem great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the decor is a little dated, this added hugely to the charm.

    Wonderful friendly welcoming staff, delishious breakfast and comfy room. Excellent location close to great shops and historical boatyard.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    10
    Excellent, comfortable, relaxing stay in this beautiful old Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There really is nothing I disliked about it apart from the rumbling of the trains from about 6oc in the morning, and the bus station across the road too where the daily activity starts. Only staying two nights didn't really bother me. I knew about it before I booked after reading reviews so I knew what to expect but only fair to pass on the information.

    The location was excellent. This Hotel is very old and antiquated but will have some interesting history due to it's location and does need some money spent on it, but look beyond that, and you will find warmth, comfort and cleanliness at an excellent price. I was fortunate to be given a front bedroom and the views were amazing. Gunwharfe Quays Shopping Outlet with loads of eateries too, looking beautiful at Christmas, and only two minutes away was an added bonus. Private, free, safe car parking available less than a minute away.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2018

    9.2
    Location/Value for money . Totally worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    With the location / parking / personal service from staff /Good Breakfast . And the ( admittedly slightly tired) character of the interior. Best Value City Hotel I've ever stayed in . The hotel itself doesn't have a wow factor. But it delivers so much for all of the above reasons. Unbelievable value.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    7.9
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location helpful staff Good breakfast

    The staff were friendly and helpful the bed was comfortable the hotel in general could do with some TLC with regards to decorations and carpets and the rooms Lacking fridges

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2018

    8.3
    Very convenient for all we wanted to do in Portsmouth, good views, car parking was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very dated and tired, but we knew this when we booked from the pictures we had seen, this would not deter us from staying there again.

    The view from our front window was very good. The hotel was in a convenient place for all we wanted to do in Portsmouth. We liked having a parking space, this was a bonus. The staff were very pleasant and helpful during our stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2018

    9.2
    Location excellent, secure carpark,friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kerb appeal, scruffy appearance from outside. Inside is dated and in need of decorating window leaking during rainfall leaving a puddle on the floor. Bath and shower not really fit for purpose, water flow far too slow.

    Location excellent, secure carpark,friendly staff.lift to all floors. Fresh white towels, changed daily. Super breakfast and clean comfy beds.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    3.3
    Very friendly and accommodating staff regarding early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location very noisy opposite train station, bus station, loud noise at 3 in the morning. Hotel shabby, in need of major renovation and deep clean. Damp patches in rooms peeling wallpaper threadbare carpets throughout. Bathroom mouldy, unsanitary, bedroom generally unsavoury! Definitely not worth the money.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff regarding early breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location for our visit to docklands and gunwharf ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in need of decoration from top to bottom and to upgrade in facilities.

    Excellent location for our visit to docklands and gunwharf quays breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2018

    6.3
    Appropriate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in massive need of refurbishment, sadly the state of the decor makes the hotel appear dirty but I don't think this was the case. There was also an unpleasant musty smell lingering throughout the hotel and in the room. The en suite had a vinyl floor which was possibly one of the sources of smells.

    Parking was good, staff friendly and location was superb.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2018

    3.8
    Good job we had a sense of humour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, wallpaper was from the 60's the ceiling looked as though it was about to collapse . The radio/light switch was above the bed where my friend slept and she hit her head on it. The bathroom was very dated the net curtain was filthy and so was the shower. I have taken pictures.

    The only thing that was good at the hotel was the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2018

    9.2
    Fab time lovely manager
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old but very good value for money. A bit tricky to find but once you have great location.

    View from window out towards port lovely. Bus station just outside. Port 5 minutes away. Arrived late 9pm but the gentleman on reception couldn't be more helpful a real star. Next day early start and breakfast was no problem as we needed to leave prior to restaurant time full English breakfast all the extras and well cooked. Thank you for a lovely time. will use this hotel again as perfect for ferry crossing. Xxx

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    9.6
    Location/Value for money . Totally worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe slightly bigger tv . But that's me just being picky

    . I may well regret saying this . But I would honestly expect to pay £30 / £40 more per night. Mainly because of its location/parking etc. It's NOT a swanky luxurious hotel. But it's a comfortable friendly charming 'old school' hotel .Good breakfast. Great coffee. Staff everso helpful/Attentive Fabulously good value .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs majorly cosmetically improving, everything is worn out. The breakfast selection the rolls were hard, the fry ups cheap and microwaved.

    Staff fab,location fab

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    4.6
    Good location, friendly personel, bad standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard of hotel was not good. The room and all facilities were completely rundown and the hotel is in desperate need of a complete renovation.

    Friendly personell, nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2018

    6.7
    Great location but a bit run down and old fashioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is very old and has a lot of history but is in dire need of some refurbishment. The bathroom was big but very tatty. Mouldy grout, lime scaled taps and shower, thick dust on the pelmet above the sink and the flooring was coming away round the edges. The full English breakfast was not great in that it had a tinned tomato, not very nice sausages, fried bread and was swimming in liquid from the mushrooms. It’s a shame as it could be a fantastic hotel but I appreciate it would need a lot of money spent on it. For 1 night it was acceptable.

    It’s in an excellent location on the seafront, opposite the train and bus station, the Gunwharf quays shopping centre and the Spinnaker Tower. It is 2 minutes walk to the Mary Rose and HMS Victory and the other attractions in the historic dockyard. It has its own free car park which is a big plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge with big windows overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2018

    9.6
    Will return hopefully soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    struggling here- but some bar snacks like crisps and peanuts could have been available for sale

    Overall service and welcome superb-Great room with great view room comfortable and clean great bar and service breakfast good choice and served hot with friendly service nearby parking to hotel entrance

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    6.3
    Bareable for a one night stay but would not recommend it for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In bad need of a refurbishment!!! The room smelt rather musty and the bathroom ceiling was mouldy. The stair carpet was very worn. We had to leave before 7am so were offered the continental breakfast which was very poor. This was also available as part of the full breakfast so I feel we were overcharged

    Bed was comfy and clean. Towels were clean and white

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2018

    10
    Kepples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in need of a total refurbishment.

    Despite the shabby state of the property the room was large and the bed comfortable. The view was amazing. Breakfast room wonderfully ornate. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    8.3
    Good value for such a great location, especially with parking included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and furnishings are rather shabby.

    The hotel's location was perfect for our visit to the Historic Dockyard, and our room overlooked the harbour with great views of HIS Warrior, and the Spinnaker tower. Excellent breakfast, plus free parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.2
    for a quick visit it is perfect for all the attractions and ferry to Isle of Wight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell as you enter, it was a strange smell and it was everywhere, also a bike in the main reception was a little off putting if we hadn't booked we might not have stayed, although happy that we did.

    Although a little run down this is a very old building, so, our room was huge and overlooked the harbour, wasn't noisy although on the main road of the harbour, but a bit shabby the bed and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was very good and the staff all very friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2018

    9.2
    Great value, fabulous location, friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some repair but clean. If you like history and accept that this is not the shiny IBIS then it’s a good choice..

    Lovely breakfast and staff, fabulous location for travel Gunwharf Quays and walking to Portsmouth and Southsea. It was clean but as old needs some repairs. On site parking which was secure too, a real bonus.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    5.0
    Very good breakfast, lovely staff, excellent location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately in desperate need of a refurb. Very dated decor, hall and stairs carpeting worn bare in places. Room was spacious but smelt badly of urine. Bathroom very old and felt unclean.

    Very good breakfast, lovely staff, excellent location and comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.Location,staff,parking,room,food,double glazing, bed spot on.Decor tired but great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location with free parking.Staff were very friendly and helpful.Room was large with a great view overlooking train station and HMS Warrior.Though it was busy outside the double glazing was very good so you didn't hear much.The radiators and hot water from the shower worked almost instantly.Cleaniness was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    4.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a tired & out dated Hotel, shame as it really has great potential to do better. Mattress just full of springs & duvet & pillows are paper thin, very basic room/bathroom with nothing to offer. Has a Bar area but NO beer on any taps as presented & even the coke out of the glass bottles were flat, night gentlemen was very embarrassed! All staff were very nice & breakfast was good with lots on offer even lovely warm baked bread, a great location & nice view from room

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    5.0
    Cannot recommend.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a very early morning call. This did not happen. Fortunately mobile phone alert did work. Poor wi-fi in room, though was advised of this. Ancient and creaking old lift, which did not inspire confidence, plus other stairs to climb, too. Room on 2nd floor shabby. Carpet dirty and frayed, and base of bed also frayed. Faint unpleasant smell, which was rather similar to body odour. No shower, not even hose on bath taps. No hairdryer. Paintwork peeling and dusty and ceiling paper coming away in bathroom. Dim bathroom light. Probably a lightbulb needed replacing.. Sink cracked. No armchair. Very elderly furniture. No bedside lamp. Carpets throughout public areas are also worn and frayed in places. Does not look suitable for anyone with reduced mobility or in wheelchair, though best to ask specifically when booking. Cannot recommend for a stay of more than 1 night, and if other rooms are similar, do not recommend at all. This historic building could be made so much nicer with a massive overhaul.

    Friendly and polite and helpful staff who must be embarrassed at times with what is on offer and must often suffer complaints, though not their fault. Breakfast good and included in the room price. Main dining room has aura of faded grandeur but was probably once rather splendid. No facility for evening meals, though not relevant for us. There is a bar and sitting area too, though not used by us. Secure car park, if gates are locked overnight, as advertised. Bed linen and towels fresh and clean, and soap and shower gel supplied. Also tea and coffee making facilities. No biscuits though. Well placed for the rail and bus stations and Gosport ferry, RN Dockyard and all its attractions, Gunwharf Quays and shopping area in Commercial Road. Price for 1 night reasonable, though have paid similar for a much nicer room and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was close to the Historic Dockyards and ferry to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was a little thin, so was not as comfortable as it could be.

    The hotel was close to the Historic Dockyards and ferry to the Isle of Wight so there was no need to use the car. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great old hotel of a previous Age.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    7.5
    Very quirky, massive room, excellent view and location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress wasn’t very comfortable, accommodation could do with a lick of paint and Decent carpets.

    Very quirky, massive room, excellent view and location, beautiful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    7.9
    Location, location location and best value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location for Naval Historic Docks and shops/restaurants on Gunwharf Docks. Had my 12 year old grandson with me and we were very well looked after including a superb breakfast. Had a bedroom with wonderful view over the ships etc. Thankyou

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    8.8
    A quirky hotel in Portsmouth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a quirky hotel in old town houses, and you could imagine ghosts appearing at night. The floors creek as you move about on the upper floors, which are accessed on an ancient ascenseur plucked out of a horror film. An ideal place to spend Halloween, you could have so much fun... The breakfast choices are amazing, from a continental style offering to full English breakfast that’s huge... I arrived late at night but the staff were really friendly and helpful, and the next morning was the same from the man in the reception to the young ladies in the breakfast room...the man in reception, even kept an eye on my cat Amélie while I went out...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay in spite of the hotels condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was very tired. The carpet was thread bare. The bed had springs sticking up. Generally it is in need of a makeover.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The location, with parking, was perfect for the dock yard.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    4.2
    Mary rose experience, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No I would not recommend Keppels Head Hotel. Absolutely dreadfull. The double room was poorly furnished. Extremly old furniture. Only one bedside table. two green chairs, seat sunk, not able to sit on them. Bathroom, back from the sixties, avocado. shower over the bath, just about worked. The bed squeaked with every move. The room also smelt. We had to obtain an air freshner to alleviate, the odour.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    7.9
    Room was big shower was hot and powerfull.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy but not a big problem

    Room was big shower was hot and powerfull. The man that service breakfast was helpfull and happy i would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    7.5
    Met our expectations for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in need of some investment in decoration and furnishing. Quite dated and looking tired.

    Location excellent. Friendly staff and a VG breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    10
    Great location, right next to the port ie across the road...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good, nothing to dislike.

    Great location, right next to the port ie across the road from the port! Very good breakfast and service. A friendly welcome when I arrived late.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    6.5
    IT SERVED ITS PURPOSE FOR THE WEEKEND BUT WE WOULDN'T STAY AGAIN UNTIL IT HAD SOME IMPROVEMENTS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OLD AND OUTDATED, MOULD ABOVE WINDOW IN ROOM, NO BATH MAT FOR SHOWER/BATH, WALLPAPER COMING OFF, ROOM FREEZING WHEN WE ARRIVED, THE THINEST PILLOWS I HAVE EVER SEEN! ALTHOUGHT THERE IS A LOT OF HISTORY ASSOCIATED WITH THE KEPPALS, IT IS IN DESPERATE NEED OF UPDATING AND RENOVATION. IF IT HAD THAT IT WOULD BE A LOVELY HOTEL. THE PICTURES ON YOUR SITE ARE NOT A TRUE REFLECTION OF THE HOTEL. THEY MAKE IT LOOK BETTER THAN WHAT IT IS.

    I WOULD ONLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR ITS LOCATION, FRIENDLY STAFF, THE BREAKFAST AND PARKING.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money and the breakfast and service were excellent. Top location for the dockyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower. Just a bath.

    Superb location for visiting the Naval Dockyards. Good pub for dinner within 100m. Superb breakfast provided by the hotel. Staff - well done to reception and waiting staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location near all attractions,nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel tired and rather tatty.... desperately needs updating

    Excellent location near all attractions,nice views....staff very friendly....car park.....very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    7.5
    Portsmouth short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel desperately needs updating throughout. Hotel clean but tatty in areas.

    Fantastic location for Gunwharf & Naval dockyard. Free car parking. Friendly staff. Large Comfortable room with high ceiling & view of harbour. Good breakfast. Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    5.4
    Not good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not good value for this, too expensive, the hotel needs an overall upgrade. Offensive smell in the halls and reception. Toilet was not up to standard.

    The staff were nice and friendly and the breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    6.7
    Great location for the ferry and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old, tired and in need of sprucing up. However it does have character.

    Great location for the ferry and train station. We had a large suite which was comfortable and suited our needs for one night. With renovation this hotel could be brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.2
    Was better than thought . The door in reception entrance was hard to open at entrance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent . Felt bit of updating might help , general painting . Liked the feel of hotel . Location was perfect . Was impressed with Portsmouth generally . Enjoyable stay all best

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    If/when I return to Portsmouth I willalways stay at KHH. Evenimg meal would be a nice option!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room adjacent to mine had a dog. I have no problems with dogs but it was quite disturbing when I left/entered/moved around my ro would have been greatly disturbedom the dog went quite frantic barking and growling. The dog owner should not have brought the animal if thats how he behaves. Any guest or child who felt nervous around dogs

    Great breakfast. I regularly stayed at KHH when I lived on the IoW and regularly met a friend down from Essex. It is very old, some might say "tacky" but I disagree. It has charm, like stepping back in time not all modern and clinical like, say, Ibis in town where I stayed only once. On this occasion I had driven down from North Yorkshire to pick up a young passenger from the IoW and take him to Gatwick for a tripto Italy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable four night stay. We would definitely stay ther again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Every where was immaculately clean. All the staff we met were friendly. Value for money was excellent. The breakfasts were cooked to a very high level. Having read previous reviews we were aware of the downsides, but the upsides beat them.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    3.8
    worth spending a little more for a cleaner more comfortable venue until this place gets renovated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor soundproofing in the rooms due to tired windows means that you hear all the trains and buses coming an going so expect a regular rumble from about 6am every morning the hotel is very very tired, worn threadbare carpets, dirty windows, water marks in ceiling, lights not working, holes in wall decor, bar ceiling looks like it could collapse at any time. woeful bathroom facilities, toilet hard to flush, shower curtain you stand on in the bath, poor state of repair, shower difficult to control and generally needs a good clean sprung bed lumpy but clean, tv -first one broke and reception replaced it for functional one albeit only 14inch screen! i asked reception to take a look at the toilet and the response was that all the rooms are all like that, also to replace the light in the room foyer that was out but they said it's probably not the lamp and more likely the wiring! lighting in the room was very dim and difficult to read a book in the room without your own torch breakfast service was prompt, but croissants and bread rolls not fresh and not the best traditional breakfast we have ever had. a real shame due to the lack of upkeep as this hotel has great character, high ceilings, quirky stairs and great location

    location is great for transport links, close to trains, ferries, buses. also for naval museum and gunwharf quays designer shopping centre. reception is manned 24hrs a day and free parking within close proximity bar open til late great character and potential for great hotel price cheaper than other hotels in the area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building is quite run down..but being old is full of character ..unfortunately needs a lot of repairs, but I will use it again

    Excellent location..Excellent staff..fantastic breakfast and parking..a little noisy out front but the views over the harbour make up for that

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.1
    Great choice of breakfast and hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was very dated and in need of modernisation. The shower was very hit and miss had to wait a long time to get water at correct temperature

    Great choice of breakfast and hot. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    4.6
    VERY poor state of decor/repair. Poor value. But friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY tired décor - threadbare carpets, VERY poor state of decoration/repair. Noise from bus/train/ferry terminal due to very close proximity. Yappy dogs barking in the room next door.

    Night porter Steve was VERY welcoming, polite, attentive and informative. Secure car parking Breakfast staff polite and attentive, good breakfast offering.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People coming for breakfast in vests Eating at breakfast bar while getting cereals etc.

    Staff friendly. Manager helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Great, well priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel could not have been better. Within a short walking distance you are in the centre of Gunwharf Quays, our view was of the Spinneker tower. The decor is tired but do not let this put you off booking a stay here.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: