Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Oak at Keswick - A Thwaites Inn of Character 4 stars

Main Street, Keswick, CA12 5HZ, United Kingdom

#18 of 21 hotels in Keswick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 886 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very warm at night, something to do with hot water pipes.

    Great stay, friendly, helpful staff, comfy bed and fab breakfast. Decor throughout the building was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked bigger on photo than in person. Restaurant was busy so needed to book for busy periods, although we were accommodated for most of the time!

    Room comfy, although slightly smaller than expected. Staff friendly. Restaurant good quality. Breakfast was nice. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely and cosy and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and perfect location, booked another stay there next month we liked it so much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt realise that there was a festival on at the time we booked, which caused a lot of late night noise, but again the hotel provide us with ear plugs.

    My experience of this hotel was above my expectations, everything we asked for was provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monday morning- early deliveries and binmen! But can't be helped and wouldn't stop me coming again!

    Beautiful decor, lovely atmosphere and staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting woke up at 3.30am by Greggs the bakery across the road. Then bin wagons emptying bins 5am till 6am. We had about 3 hours sleep with a walk to do the following day. We had 4 rooms between us and all got woke with same problems. When we spoke to manager he replied he new about this and will speak with them again. ☹️😴😴😴

    Loverly place nice people clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location made it very noisy with revellers until 4.30am and then woken at 6am by local stall holders/shop owners setting up right underneath the window. No air con so had to sleep with window open so couldn’t cut out the noise. Breakfast beautifully cooked, just not enough of it!

    Lovely staff, beautiful compact room. Newly refurbished. Comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was extremely warm and the sash window had a jammer fitted which restricted its opening to just a few inches. I know this was probably a health & safety thing and I am aware that we stayed in June, but it was nowhere near as warm outside. Just a well-insulated building which traps the heat I guess. Air-con would have been nice in the room but they currently only have it in the public areas downstairs.

    Room was very clean, staff were well-mannered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sash windows so could only open them a little bit, no air con or fans so it was boiling hot in the room. One side of the mattress wasnt right so my other half was hanging on for dear life for fear of falling out of bed ! Bed was really narrow & small too. Felt a little claustrophobic .. Staff lovely & friendly & the breakfast & service was excellent.

    Excellent location, bar & restaurant on site

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wait staff need more training.

    Great check in. Lovely big room with comfortable bed. Good food in pub at reasonable price - had tasty steak (apart from peperco ed n sauce which was just odd). Well located for walking in great lakes town. Would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small but there again it was advertised as a ‘small double’ so it did what it said on the tin. The hotel doesn’t have a car park although there is a pay public car park nearby. Very strange alarm every time the room door is opened.

    Great location, couldn’t get more central. Tastefully decorated with lots of nice touches. Lovely breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking in a town where you have to pay for parking everywhere! Would be good if you don’t have a car. Set us back quite a bit to pay for overnight parking.

    Lovely room, lovely staff, lovely restaurant. Very lovely overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extract fan in bathroom on a motion sensor and kept turning on when walking past the outside of the bathroom when bathroom door open Weather was hot so wanted to leave door open to get air through from open bathroom window but ended up having to shut door Only a double bed when king requested but

    Food excellent Shower excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the bedroom - very uncomfortable heat. No cooling system. This resulted in no sleep and wanting to get out the room as quick as possible. When mentioning it to staff, she just agreed and said the property gets to hot.

    Nice food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! A few details about which car park to use would be useful in the description.

    Really good location near some lovely restaurants/bars, very comfy and well decorated room, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff went above and beyond very very helpful Food was lovely and the rooms were very clean and comfortable, would highly recommend this hotel would definitely return l

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all very pleasant experience -hotel is in middle of town so expect a bit of noise.

    Staff and the managers are hands on great food comfy beds and plenty of pillows - big Thankyou for the scrambled eggs for my dog 🐾

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The establishment has clearly had a major refurbishment recently and it shows. It’s very clean and the facilities/services are very up to date. After reading the comments about the slowness of the service we didn’t eat dinner on site, instead we went to the Pheasant Inn which was very good. It also didn’t help when we arrived late in the afternoon (just when people were beginning to eat in the restaurant) there was a large dog at the bar. But the establishment is dog friendly so I suppose that just comes with the experience, but I can’t help doubting the wisdom of allowing animals so close to an eating area. However, we did breakfast in the hotel and the service was excellent, in fact the ladies serving couldn’t do enough to help. What struck me is as you enter the establishment you struggle to find reception, which is squirrelled away in a corner. Clearly, the bar and restaurant has been given the priority with guests having to disappear round the back to find the stairs to the very comfortable rooms. I’m not sure the balance is right. The hotel is right in the centre of Keswick which is great. We had a street facing window which was very nice, but light sleepers beware in the high season because I imagine it could remain really quite noisy well into the evening. No surprise to find earplugs in the bedside table draws.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As said above the room wasn’t an upgraded room I don’t think and when my partner checked out the price didn’t reflect that! It is expensive but central, friendly clean and Keswick is a beautiful tourist trap!

    We arrived later than planned due to the M6 problems and hadn’t eaten. The lovely girl that met us and showed us our room ran to let the kitchen know to expect 2 more for dinner which was great. Dinner was lovely, lovely that our dog, again who had been in the car for 6 hours, could be with us in the bar and food was good. Our room was lovely we had everything we needed I had paid for an upgrade as we had the dog and I thought space may be tight but our room was definitely not big BUT my partner hates complaining so we didn’t make a fuss and it was late and the room was lovely if snug. Breakfast was lovely we both had porridge made for us. The staff on both shifts were happy and welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife found the bed pillows uncomfortable. There was excess early morning noise from town centre deliveries.

    Comfortable and biju. The complimentary Prosecco was much appreciated and welcome. The room (16) was on the small side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude and welcome by the duty manager was extremely disappointing. If there had been an alternative available in Keswick that evening I would not have stayed.

    The staff in the restaurant were very friendly. Food was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pleasant and courteous, especially Ross (assistant manager) nothing was too much trouble. the room was extremely comfortable and clean. There was a great choice at breakfast and the full English was delicious, can’t wait to visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    With a bad back I prefer a firmer mattress than most people (not that it was super soft, probably ideal for most) and like almost all hotel rooms I end up sleeping on top of the duvet not under it because in spring to autumn I normally sleep under just a sheet. These are personal prefences rather than criticisms.

    Staff very helpful especially the manager. 2 largish dogs accommodated and made to feel v welcome. Cumbrian breakfast excellent. Draught beer v well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants had run out by the time we went for breakfast at 9.00 on the second day and we were told there wouldn’t be any more available

    We enjoyed the breakfast, the choice of cooked items was especially good. Location and town were fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely, the restaurant staff very good but the welcome for cyclists was poor (no where secure to store bikes - the suggestion was to tie bikes to lampposts outside?!). If you're cycling and need somewhere in Keswick I'd suggest The Kings Arms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel, we stayed for 3 nights and the staff were really friendly and the room was really clean, great location, parking wasn't a problem. Our dog was made really welcome, we will be back. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in it is at the end of the bar, there's no real reception. I had to wait 20-30 mins for the manager to arrive to check in, even though I arrived around 3pm, which was inconvenient and a little awkward. There is zero noise protection in the rooms, you can hear someone cough 4 rooms down, so not a good place for couples or if you want to sleep-in. Check-out was 11am which, while I know rooms have to be prepared for the next guests, is far too early for a £129 a night room. Add those things together and it's overpriced.

    Great location, right in the middle of Keswick on the square and a short walk to the lake side. The staff and the manager were polite and friendly. I didn't have food in the hotel but it looked and smelt lovely. There are also lots and lots of cafes, restaurants and coffee shops right on the doorstep, so lots of choice. The room itself was small but comfortable and clean, with a lovely bed, free tea/coffee/water & a small but again, very clean bathroom. Love the clever touch of trays outside rooms for muddy boots for guests who are hikers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small although the beds were very comfortable. The shower cubicle was tiny but at least the actual shower was lovely and hot and had great pressure.

    Breakfasts were very good....a nice variety of food meant we could have a different breakfast each day. The quality of the food was also very good and fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they ran out of baileys so asked for Tia Maria instead and they'd ran out of that too.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming. Very dog friendly. Family room very clean with very comfortable beds . Lovely food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Good sized room with all mod cons save an iron(but available)central location helpful staff. No parking but gave advice on free parking. Fresh milk available from bar for tea etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very compact and lower floor room noise from heating of the building in courtyard made difficult to sleep & very hot.

    Good breakfast. Decor attractive. Good local

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy with people on a night but outside the hotel as central Keswick town

    Fantastic hotel...the manager was really accommodating at breakfast time and ensured we could set off on time for our climb up Scafell Pike. Rooms were all lovely - some larger than others. Just a really lovely feel to while hotel very clean good staff nice modern decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest book said food was served until 9.30pm but when we went to eat we were told the food service had finished at 8.50pm. There wasn’t enough coffee in the pot at breakfast for a cup each which was disappointing. There was loads of noise the first night.. woke at 3am to hear either the pub or the Greggs opposite getting a delivery and then at 5am another lorry and again at 7am when the market was being set up outside .. ear plugs are provided in room but not ideal!

    The room was clean, it was ensuite and dogs were made very welcome throughout. Little touches like the flasks of milk for the room were nice. Location was great! Staff very friendly too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing - everything perfect

    From the moment of arrival staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. Room was excellent , beds very comfy , food & wine fantastic (especially the Steak & Ale Pie:) ) . Great location and will definitely recommend and be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, rooms are slightly small but it's definitely not a deal breaker.

    Central location, really helpful staff, great breakfast, comfortable rooms. It's exactly what you would want from a pub with rooms. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had folding bikes (Bromptons)with us,but there was nowhere secure to store them.Fortunately for us, a friend of a friend let us store them in his garage.

    Everything. The décor was very tasteful and the art work- sculptures and paintings - were beautiful.The porridge was particularly delicious ! The staff were, without exception, friendly, efficient and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rarely post reviews but felt compelled to based upon how brilliant the staff and hotel are. They (in particular the deputy manager) couldn’t do enough for us. The breakfast was beautiful n freshly cooked. The beer was lovely. The room was quiet, modern/classy. The location was perfect and very little if any noise. This is no parking but we parked on a car park 2 minutes away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at tea time seemed to rush us while we ordered our food. We had ony just sat down and she was asking for our order. We sked for 2 more minutes while we looked at h menu and the waitress came back within a minute again to ask for our order.

    the room was warm and welcoming. Bed was comfortable lovely large shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not the one I expected, it was much smaller, there was no room for the sofa pictured in the Booking.com description, they had only one room like that and it could only be booked through the inn itself, this is a gross misrepresentation by Booking.com. I was not happy about this as I wanted a larger room as I was staying for 4 nights, with my husband and dog.

    Croissants eggs benedict

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room- Character
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was an old, and traditional, but the rooms were fully modernised. Clean and comfortable.

    The location was perfect for our visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very small and uncomfortable. Room was small and noisy as was next to the stairs. Husband hit his head on door as very low. Holes in bed sheets

    Good shower and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were excellent. Professional and polite. The managers were very helpful with any problems or questions we had. All the group said what a good laugh they had, with the manager Chris especially. There was 14 people in our group. All said how much they enjoyed the food. Breakfast was great. As was the evening meal we had on the second night. Everything came to us hot and in a timely manner. We loved our time in Keswick, And a big part of that was due to the people at the Royal Oak. Keep up the good work folks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in a bit hurried due to busy afternoon bar and dining - maybe a little pushed for staff. Room a little on the small side with a slightly irritating bathroom door, which required a little manoeuvring to sidle in and out.

    Twin beds were comfy, although a little narrow. Clean room with reasonably sized TV. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality breakfast buffet.Cheap jam,low fat yoghurt a and a fruit salad that consisted mostly of Apple.Not very appetising! Cooked breakfast ok.

    The two managers Chris and Peter were exceptionally good.Nothing was too much trouble,they were very welcoming.They had a few staff problems with the serving of breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of beds-very narrow and very short in length. Size of room . Especially misleading discription on your website. I thought that l was booking a superior twin room!! Apparently the one we got was the biggest twin room that the hotel had ???

    75 percent of the staff , location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I loved all aspects of hotel. Extra detail would have been a biscuit on arrival in the room.

    I loved everything about the hotel! Staff were superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny shower and shower head too big for size of cubicle , sani flo toilet very loud. But, they used the space of en suite the best they could.

    Beautiful character hotel, exceptional friendly staff and service. The best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park for the hotel. Not the hotels fault it's a city centre location. It's not a problem though there is a long stay car park 4 mins away

    Food was amazing. Staff lovely. Spotless hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff exceedingly helpful and friendly. room was toasty warm especially with the poor weather outside. Central location great. Thanks for a lovely stay - breakfast great and supper was lovely, we would be happy to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a choice of rooms but chose the smaller double as the manager said it had the best shower but no view and true to his word it didn’t disappoint. Friendly welcoming and definately stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fairly small and for the price we paid for it I expected a little more room.

    breakfast was great, location excellent. The restaurant is lovely but nothing special for dinner - there are a few authentic pubs around which are lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room with a great view of the fells. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfasts. The location is ideal. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that would have been nice after a long walk is a bath - this may have been available in a larger room?

    Overall the hotel & staff were great. Location was great and luckily we managed to park in the local residential streets which saved the hassle of adding to parking tickets early on. Sausage & mash and Breakast were fab! We’ll be back :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room (6) was quite small for two people and you couldn’t sit at the dressing table as you couldn’t get your legs under it. On the second morning the waitress forgot to order our breakfast and we waited more than half an hour in all after ordering before it was delivered. In the evening, there wasn’t really anywhere to sit unless you were going to eat there as all the tables had reserve on them so we ended up drinking elsewhere.

    The room was very clean and looked to be recently refurbished, it was also lovely and warm and a good supply of tea, coffee and hot chocolate was left also a bottle of water each for my partner and I and some biscuits. There was a good choice of breakfast and the location was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    4th time to the Royal Oak....a very welcoming cosy inn in the heart of Keswick. Stuck for choice regarding nearby pubs and restaurants. Landscape is amazing. We'll be heading back soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our room was onto another building. Room facilities were limited for £110 per night.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm.

    The room was quite small but we expected that as it said when we booked it, beautifully decorated and a great shower also very tastefully done.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad points

    I've stayed in many different rooms and loved them all. They are quirky and cottage like and just my style. It is the best place I have ever stayed and I keep going back without disappointment. Nice service and delicious food. Would recommend snd I often do. THANK YOU ROYAL OAK X

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only downside was the temperature of the bath water - a bit chilly even without adding any cold water

    Friendly staff and modern 'vibe', not at all like the atmosphere in most town centre pubs. I liked the small flask of cold milk that was readily available and the creamy porridge for breakfast. The hotel seemed to know what people would want eg trays to hold muddy boots - and the active encouragement to take home bathroom toiletries. Though I wasn't travelling with a dog it was good to see them made so welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,lovely breakfast,and very comfy room,couldn’t fault it at all,excellent location for pubs,restaurants and walks very near derwent lake

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would criticise would be the evening meal we had during our stay. The menu said chunky chips and traditional mushy peas. The chips were a little underdone and anaemic whilst the mushy peas were obviously straight out of a tin. It really is a shame because the battered cod was beautifully cooked and was delicious, it just let the meal down a bit

    Lovely comfy bed, spotlessly clean room, friendly staff who couldn't be more helpful and a brilliant location handy for everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the food was very good, the restaurant was a little pricey in comparison with the other nearby 'Eatery's'.

    The property was very well decorated in an almost 'Boutique' style. All the public area's followed the theme and the room we had, although not huge, was more than satisfactory and very comfortable. Very good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner was stopping on a child free night but due to a change in circumstances we had to bring our 4 month old son.. On ring to change the booking the hotel change our room to a larger room and placed a travel cot in the room for free.. we had dinner in the restaurant and the food was fantastic.. all the staff we’re friendly and place was spotless throughout.. could not recommend it enough 5*

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was all wonderful

    The staff including the manager were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. I will be recommending it to my sister who will be able to bring her collie in future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little awkward since the hotel has none, being right in the town centre. Thankfully we phoned before arriving and were told how to use loading bay almost outside before removing car to street parking 700 yards away. The town centre carpark, not far behind the hotel, did not allow more than two hours parking at a time and two hours cost £3, 7am till 7pm. Not the hotel's fault and apparently a common problem for hoteliers.

    Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good quality furnishings, excellent breakfast, good bar and dining facilities and friendly, helpful manager and staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a towel behind the bathroom door from previous occupant. The paint was peeling in ceiling above shower

    Excellent breakfast Very comfortable bed Lovely decor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well positioned for the square but parking is a real issue having to constantly top up in the car park +might make us think twice about staying in the town again which would cut our spending in the local shops.

    Nicely decorated +appointed. Serving staff especially at breakfast which was lovely, very helpful +friendly.Dogs welcome+nothing too much trouble

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The new fixed bedside tables means that the twins beds can only be pushed 6" apart, which was disconcerting for some in the group. Had a couple in the group complaining that the scrambled eggs were too dry. Not sure what the "Genius perks" were.

    Very clean, warm and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. The showers are fantastically powerful and the hot water never ran out. Just what you want after a long days walking in the cold and wet. The new TV's are great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 10pm but the leaflet in the room said it was 10:30. We really wanted a night cap to take up to our room so were disappointed at this

    Comfortable & clean hotel. Liked the quirky touches such as a ‘muddy boot tray’ outside each room. Comfortable bed, black out curtains 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot couldn't find a way to cool it down bar opening the window

    The breakfast selection was great and the decor was lovely. The room was comfortable but small.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the assistant Manager keeping us waiting for 20 minutes to check in because he was in a meeting and there was nobody else to check us in. The bedroom although listed as small was a little too small, We had to leave the bathroom to dry off properly after showering.

    The food and service were pretty good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so friendly and nothing was a trouble for them. When our car broke down we were offered a nice warm fire and free coffee to keep us warm. The room was warm and cosy and the food was absolutley amazing. This is the nicest hotel we have stayed in in Keswick and we will be back soon. Thank you for an amazing stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were so helpful and welcoming. Very clean facilities. Felt very personal. Would really recommend this. We stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small!

    Staff where very accommodating and nothing was too much hassle! Also they made our 2 year old beagle very comfortable and made a real fuss over him!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking on site but the long stay is only a 2 minute walk.

    Excellent location in the centre of Keswick. Friendly staff and good breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: