Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kew House and Apartments 5 stars

1 Kew Terrace, Edinburgh, EH12 5JE, United Kingdom

#10 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming hosts - extremely happy to help. recommended local eateries for us. Rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard. The breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing that could be added is an anti-slip mat for putting in the shower.

    Excellent service - able to give me a small breakfast when I required it at 0530.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - very happy with our stay.

    Our stay was faultless. Great service, very friendly people running the place, lovely veggie breakfast, good location. The room was spacious with a good shower and wardrobe space. We would love to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, this was a perfect stay.

    We checked in on Friday and received great service from the guys. The rooms were very clean, cosy and tidy. The breakfast was perfect and the hospitality received was great. I would recommend this place to stay to all friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing..a 10 out of 10 stay

    We liked everything about our stay. The hosts were wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help us throughout our stay. We had driven and arrived early on our day of our arrival and wanted to leave late on our departure date, but they were only to happy to let us park at the accommodation, which was a great help to us and allowed us to see as much of Edinburgh as we could. It was clean, comfy and we would happily stay again and again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect: the room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was superb and Ian and Alan were very kind and helpful! But the thing I enjoyed most is the positive and, at the same time, relaxed atmosphere you feel at Kew House. I felt like I was at home!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near the airport, staff were excellent, had to skip breakfast because we had to get to airport but they prepared a very nice selection of fruit and sandwiches we could put in the fridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't complain about anything

    The bed was comfy, the hospitality was great, the breakfasts were lovely, the walk to town was short, the property was extremely clean, the owners were very helpful and friendly, there was tea, coffee, hot chocolate, cake, sherry, chocolate, toiletries provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints or recommendations.

    We had a small house for the three of us. Two bedrooms, a bath, a living space, kitchen and porch. It was absolutely perfect. Located an easy walk to the center of Edinburgh and a quick drive to the airport, this is a perfect base from which to travel. The staff was wonderfully friendly. The kitchen was stocked with some fruit, yogurt and pastries. We only have great things to say about Kew House.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, it was exactly what I needed.

    Charming old house, helpfulness and welcome of staff, clean rooms, comfy bed, easiness to get into town and to the sites. Very good breakfasts made to your choice on the menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 2nd night cost more as there was a Robbie Williams concert on Friday night....we left Friday morning😒

    Breakfast was brilliant and hosts were excellent, helpful and knowledgable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a nice warm welcome from Ian after a short walk from the train station in the rain . Can't fault the place breakfast was really nice as well everything cooked to perfection and served straight away,so nice and hot. Will book again on our next Edinburgh trip .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - But it was a little difficult to locate at first -

    Breakfast was wonderful. Ian and Allen are very gracious and kind hosts. Good location -out of the hub-bub but walkable to everything. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have stayed an extra day

    Ian and Alan are both friendly and attentive. They know what travellers need and have put every effort into anticipating comfort and information to make our introduction to Edinburgh wonderful. Beds were really comfy. Rooms were a lovely warm temp. Bathrooms fresh and with fluffy towels. Best part is the breakfast - everyone catered for vegan to meat-a-saurus. Brilliant organisation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative about Kew House is that I wasn't able to enjoy it for longer!

    Where do I start with the positives....gorgeous room with lovely high ceilings. Really comfy bed, very tasteful decor and a high attention to detail. Everything you could possibly want was provided down to the very kind welcome gift of Thorntons chocolates in your room. There was a little fridge in the room and because I had to leave very early in the morning before breakfast was served, they had put some fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice and bottled water in here so that I could have something to eat when I got up. On top of this the friendly welcome was more than appreciated after arriving late due to a delayed flight. There is nowhere else I would rather stay if I was going back to Edinburgh - Kew House is number 1 for me.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and shower v. small. Parking a little challenging but owners very helpful

    Breakfast was fab. Room quiet, comfortable. Very helpful owners - would stay again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The whole house was spotless. Didn't make breakfast as I was a bit under the weather. The small decanter of sherry was just a lovely touch

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was really welcoming & helpful,giving us bus numbers to get around Edinburgh. The room was great with sherry & chocs to warm us up from the cold winter air. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Would recommend & will stay again. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Great location, free parking, friendly people, very helpful with local information, spotlessly clean, comfortable and extremely quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location even if I was a little bit afraid befiore my stay. Such a warm reception with a lot a suggestions and ideas of visitng. They always try to help us. Finally I highly recommand this place for visting tour of Edimburg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant hosts, beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean. Great choice of breakfast cooked to order. Chocolates in room with good quality toiletries

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet room at the back of the property with a fantastic view! Very welcoming owners, gave helpful hints on bus service into city and places to eat. 🙂

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is an excellent b and b but if we visit again we would book one of the larger rooms because if you had a lot of luggage, the small room could be a difficulty.

    Ian welcomed us warmly and helped us with the parking even though we arrived early. The location was very good - in 15 minutes, we could walk to the central part of town but despite the proximity to the city centre our room was quiet. The room was very small but well designed and very tastefully furnished. The bed was comfortable and the very small bathroom was so well designed that it was completely adequate. Breakfast was amazing with loads of options and beautifully cooked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Kew House suited us perfectly. It is just 20 minutes from the airport with frequent buses for the short trip to the city centre. The hotel is beautifully presented, spotlessly clean with a real attention to detail. Our room had everything you could need for a stay plus a welcome tray with a decanter of sherry, chocolates and cake! The hosts Ian and Alan were charming and very helpful. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe option to buy full English. Wasn't offered. 2 of us got it included. 3 of us had to find somewhere after.

    Ideal location and walking distance to the city. Free WiFi. Very clean and friendly staff. We were made very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the 5* rating is well deserved: superb breakfast, freshly cooked, gr8 host (Ian and Alan), cozy room, bus stop just in front of the house, half an hour walking distance to City Center. not the cheapest B&B but worth the Price. can absolutely recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owners pay great attention to detail at this exceptional guest house. Each room has fresh flowers, a small decanter of sherry and chocolates, iced water in the fridge and The White Company toiletries as well as the usual tea and coffee making facilities (excellent blended coffee bags) The house looks freshly decorated and is spotless. The breakfast menu was superb, supplying good quality food - in quantity. It is on a good bus route but is only a 20 minute walk from Princes Street. Nothing appears to be too much trouble for the hosts who go the extra mile to make sure their guests have a 5 star experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is very small, only big enough for one person, but apart from that excellent facilities.

    Our hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and gave excellent service. Well maintained rooms etc. Location for the city centre is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really.

    Everything was as advertised. Having secure car parking was excellent although city is walking distance or easy to reach by bus. Staff were very helpful in every respect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place is really nice and well run by friendly staff. If it were half a mile closer to town it would still be value for money at double the price!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn’t stay longer

    Highly recommended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues with property

    The breakfast being cooked in the morning was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sherry and chocolates in my room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were excellent and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Immaculately clean, Ian and Alan were very friendly and happy to help at anytime. The location is only 15 mins walk from Edinburgh centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely welcoming and helpful hosts, and the breakfast was incredible! Thank you for a wonderful stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Dry good freshly prepared breakfast and extra services and help

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts,great location,lovely room,great breakfast choice would certainly stay again and recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff was very helpful and nice, they gave us a lot of useful informations. Everything was perfect. Good breakfast. We recommend this structure

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful room and the whole house was clean ance quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small shower, cab drivers had difficulty finding the location

    Great bed, excellent breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and comfy, and the breakfast amazing. It was very convenient to reach from the airport via an express bus service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of bathroom and bed

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and hosts!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    Service was fantastic. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of service was great. The owners are incredibly helpdul.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oustanding in every way, with amazing hosts for that personal touch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb extras, breakfast delicious. Proprietors couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor tasteful, in bedroom. The bed linen was gorgeous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were first class and very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful hosts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly proprietar, fantastic location very clean snd well appointed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room and facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice and close to town centre 10-15 minute walk

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place! Very clean and close to the centre. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ian and Paul were lovely and we will be back we needed to be off quickly in Sunday they were really helpful send our love Jan and Steve hallxxx

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra comfy beds Delicious breakfast Accommodating owners Lovely area Perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good

    Very nice and very kind,good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was excellent

    everything was brilliant the hosts were friendly and very helpful thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation with great hosts Recommend to anyone

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was brill

    So clean nice decor room great nice owner can't fault it defo go again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say other than brilliant. Best B&B on our trip so far without a doubt

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iain and Alan gave us a great welcome and were attentive throughout. The standard and quality of Kew House was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed & the breakfast was unreal, very friendly owners, very informative of the local area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very nice like at home

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent breakfast. Room was spacious, spotless and bed super comfortable. Owners are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a true GEM! Location is fantastic and out hosts could not have done more for us. Fantastic!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ian was very helpful and provided a beautiful place to stay. Breakfast was top notch and the location is great for using the bus system.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite possibly the neatest, tidiest, best-kept guest house we've ever stayed in. Attention to detail at breakfast was particularly impressive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were Perfect.The cleanliness was Perfection. The Food Was First Class. I Would Recommend To Friends And Family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    fab b and b...great staff and breakfast superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and ease of access from airport and then to other places in Edinburgh. Attention to detail and quality; congeniality and helpfulness of staff before and during my stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was amazing and cooked to perfection, especially the oats porridge! The room was clean, with fresh décor and the en-suite was a good size. The hosts were friendly and helpful, very informative re Edinburgh. The accommodation is not far at all from centre of Edinburgh, a number of buses stop outside the premises plus you have Haymarket train/tram station about a 10 min walk from the accommodation. You can catch a bus from this stop to Glasgow (need to book tickets on line first) or you can take the tram/bus direct to Edinburgh airport. Wifi was good in the room. The complimentary gifts, sherry/chocolate in the room were yummy and added a nice touch. Would definitely recommend to others and stay here again.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: