Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilcamb Lodge Hotel 4 stars

Strontian, Strontian, PH36 4HY, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Strontian

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Hotel had been in touch to see if there was anything we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just great

    Hotel had been in touch to see if there was anything we could provide when we arrived . I let them know it was my wife’s birthday and they provided a lovely suit with a view of the loch and some lovely chocolate truffles . Excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Hidden highland jem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top of the list the staff, very friendly and attentive. Location is excellent, on the shore of the loch with stunning views. Hotel overall was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant find for a wintery get away. Cannot recommend enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a little more discretion when discussing the final bill at checkout wouldn't go amiss. We overheard several times the figures on people's bills and didn't think it appropriate.

    Ambience. Staff attentiveness and overwhelming friendliness from staff. The place is brilliant and we would go back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Just the experience we wanted from a visit to this area of Scotland. STaff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to say

    The room was warm and tidy easy to enjoy restful environment we lookforward to returning next year. Staff engage easily with finding information or the right whisky. Dining room is comfortable and menu easy to follow

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The hotel has a lovely cosy feel to it, and the provisions...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a lovely cosy feel to it, and the provisions for our dog were truly excellent. The food was great too, although the tasting menu portion sizes were a bit on the large side!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    a perfect honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food was incredible - loved the wasabi sorbet! - and the service fantastic. Paul made sure that we had everything we wanted. Would go back in a heartbeat :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Dining room is grand & lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room is grand & lovely. Our favorite place for breakfast in the bay window. Drawing room is delightful spot to curl up with a book on a rainy afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Kilcamb Lodge staff made us very welcome, we enjoyed our visit very much and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner, bed and breakfast cost £370 for 2 people which is fine. It was a little disconcerting to be invited to pay a gratuity as well. Other places do it but some don't because they pay staff well.

    Warm welcome, comfortable room, inviting menu, excellent food, beautifully presented, cooked perfectly, light croissants for breakfast, enjoyable walk through Strontian despite drizzle. All staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lovely view and ample sitting room space. It is a convenient base for exploring beautiful countryside. We will return with pleasure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    A stunning property in an enchanting place with marvelous staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can understand the dining room given the culture in the UK but with two living rooms, dogs aren't allowed in either. If the weather isn't good, this is not a good place to visit with a dog. In the UK, a hotel with policies such as this may be considered dog friendly but for a visitor from mainland Europe used to travelling far more freely with a dog, the rules here are downright restrictive. We were lucky with the weather.

    The property is stunning with an enormous lawn and a fantastic view of the winsome loch which itself is at times enchantingly welcoming and at others pensive. We only interacted with Paul and he was a pleasure. The rooms are charmingly cosy, the living rooms hark to a time when time didn't constantly reprimand every moment unproductive. The bathroom was clean and the towels fluffy. The breakfast was good. Tea in Scotland is always a guilty desire and the tea here with sandwiches and scones did well to satiate that temptation. A walk along the beach with its invitingly eerie atmosphere is an absolute must.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Kilcamb Lodge Hotel: a great place to sit back & be pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - except our timetable didn't allow us to stay longer.

    The staff were professional and attentive but not in your face. Paul leads an extremely good team, they all know their job and do everything efficiently. We ate there both nights, excellent menu especially the "tasting menu" - tip: don't eat lunch! Would we stay there again - most definitely. Thank you so much for making our visit so memorable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    A true getaway from the hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Loch View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The last night of our stay we felt the service dropped a notch and at those prices it hurts. Our canapes came with dinner vs previous nights they had been served with our pre dinner drinks. We had to seek out our second pre dinner drink in the lounge after waiting some time to be served and we were not served any chocolates to go with our coffee before bed. In the morning we requested our toast to be served with our breakfast and we received no toast at all. Small but significant.

    The staff , especially Paul , were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. The location is special.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    An amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds are just beautiful. You can lay in the sun or take a walk along the water or theough the grounds. We heard that the food was amazing, and it definitely met our expectations. It was the perfect way to end our 4 week holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I couldn't fault anything

    The food and the service were both excellent. The log fire in the lounge was wonderful and the staff were very pleasant and welcoming at all times.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent country house hotel in suuperb setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Loch View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea making facilities in room but could requiest tea at any time from room service

    Service was excellent so was the food. Lovely little touches in the room. Set in beautiful grounds overlooking the Loch

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing and friendly helpful staff with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Weather could have been better but can't help that!

    The food was the star excellent in all respects. Setting and helpfulness of the staff was very good. Given a tray with free milk for tea in the room was a nice touch and the home made shortbread, which was replenished each day was also nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Sadly an overnight break only but the sheer excellence of the place meant it was really beneficial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Loch View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The thing that particularly marks it out is the friendliness and commitment if the fist class staff.Very impressed with the manager.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    One of the best Scottish hotels we have stayed in.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bigger room

    Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing place. Great food. Lovely staff. Very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't say their names or wear name badges.

    The staff. The lovely sitting rooms, Views, food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    A bit of pampering!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing Tasteful style. Well appointed and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    Foodies hidden delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food fantastic, stunning. Staff great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Superb all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed was a bit on the soft side.

    Public rooms, staff and food absolutely superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    The room, overlooking the loch, was comfortable, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been better to have coffee/tea making facilities in the room - something found in most hotels and B&Bs now.

    The room, overlooking the loch, was comfortable, clean and spacious. The food for breakfast and dinner was always excellent. The staff were most attentive and made us feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    10
    The location is fantastic, our room was excellent, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What is there not to like????

    The location is fantastic, our room was excellent, food was superb and service could not have been any better! Altogether 10/10 from us!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.6
    excellent food and friendly efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked one plainer option at dinner as the food was lovely but very rich - fine for two nights but a bit much for three.

    excellent food and friendly efficient staff. Pleasant spacious room - appreciated the upgrade. Stunning location by the loch. Excellently managed hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    9.2
    The room, service and location were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The chef was great but the portion sizes were huge for a tasting menu. I would liked to have seen the menu updated more recently to let the skill in the kitchen and local ingredients shine. For a premium price things should be a little more spontaneous.

    The room, service and location were lovely. The hotel is very well presented and the staff could not have been nicer.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.9
    Postion superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No luggage rack in bedroom or kettle til,asked for. Smallish room with little light and a view only by going to window and looking left. Said garden view, but wasn't really... There is no garden as such, just trees. I would not expect to pay this excessve rate for this quality room. Little outside seating.

    Postion superb. Quiet restaurant. Great staff.,

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    9.6
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None!

    Location is perfect. Idyllic setting on the loch side. Staff could not have done more to make sure our stay was a wonderful and relaxing experience. Food was excellent. Rooms were clean and well serviced with newly refurbished bathroom. Overall excellent hotel which I would recommend.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    All round luxury 'lodge' hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing comes to mind

    All round luxury 'lodge' hotel. Food excellent. Service excellent. Situation , very scenic. Ask for lock view

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.8
    The manager was so friendly and the breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room smelt a little musty when we first arrived.

    The manager was so friendly and the breakfast was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    Just wonderful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just wonderful; location, staff, food, everything

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful comfortable rooms, cosy lounge with log fire, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful comfortable rooms, cosy lounge with log fire, and food to die for. Very friendly and attentive hosts and staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    A perfect retreat for a rest with modern yet Scottish decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A perfect retreat for a rest with modern yet Scottish decor. The food was sublime

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Best desserts I've tasted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best desserts I've tasted! I loved to relax in the lounge after drinks. Staff made you feel at home.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: