Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kildonan Lodge Hotel 4 stars

27 Craigmillar Park, Newington, Edinburgh, EH16 5PE, United Kingdom

#20 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 359 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed . Great spa bath. Fabulous place to stay for my birthday and they kindly left me a bottle of wine ! Very helpful and accommodating eg gave us access for breakfast early due to going on a trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Four Poster - Family Four Poster
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not as good as one can expect from this type of hotel.

    We didn't really know what to expect from this hotel more than pictures we had seen from Booking.com. We also knew that people were mostly satisfied from staying at the hotel. The pictures of the room were not lying. The superior room we stayed at was really nice. The staff was also really friendly and helpful in every way. The downside was the breakfast. One would expect more from a hotel of this class and price and not serving small packages of many things like serial, marmelade, butter etc. We have had a lot better breakfast on cheaper hotels. The water from the tap in the bathroom came slow, but is most likely due to an old house. During our stay there were warm days and without aircondition and fan, ice to the drink was most welcome, which was provided in the room below. It's easy to take the bus into the center of town and the bus stop is basically outside the hotel. Very conveniant. Over all the expererience from this hotel was very good, with a plus to the staff for their very helpful and serviceminded spirit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kildonan is a beautifully decorated large house in a very convenient area for the city and surrounding country areas near Edinburgh. Buses to the city very close by and very regular with the trip taking about 10 minutes. A cab was £6.85 from Princes Street in the late afternoon. Our room was large and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to speak of.

    This property had everything that we wanted for a 2 night stay. Plenty of towels etc. The staff were helpful. The car parking was excellent - in the back so out of sight of the road, The windows were able to be opened which was a bonus. The breakfast hours were fantastic for a weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing. We liked it all.

    Location relaxing and peaceful, even though sirens go off regularly throughout the day as it is situated on a main road to the hospital but, it does not detract from the ambience of the Hotel. You are greeted straight away by either Shaun or one of his staff and the welcome after a long day travelling is very warm and much needed. It gave us comfort and confidence that we were going to have a great stay. The room was spacious and very very comfortable, the bed large and cozy, the ensuite bath and shower devine, the complimentary sherry and tea making facilities luxurious, the conservatory and garden were a pleasant area to sit , read and watch the squirrels and birds at play. Breakfast was superb and variable. I recommend the black pudding and the fresh home made oat cakes. Delicious. I also ran out of milk in the room and when I asked Shaun for more I found more milk EVERY DAY after had been put there. Much appreciated as I love milky coffee. Staff were all smiles and very friendly. Shaun recommended several places to visit and eat at. We tried them all and was very pleased that we did. If finances allow we will definitely be back, 6x days were just not enough to see everything but we do feel very relaxed from our stay at Kildonan and our batteries completely recharged. Thank you Shaun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that displeased us in any way.

    First of all, the staff was so helpful and friendly, it didn‘t felt at all like going to some unknown place, it was more of a warm and family-like feeling of being more than welcome. The rooms in the hotel are lovely decorated in a traditional british way. The location is ideal, not too far away from the airport, not too far from the city centre. Bus stations are nearby with very frequent connections to the centre. The food was delicious, lovely arranged and served with fresh local ingredients. Generally speaking, the hotel was a marvelous experience, the love to small details made the stay more than pleasant. Definitely a place to come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor & furniture were very dated and old. The bed was huge but lumpy.. Dinner was trying to be good but Chef couldn't manage it, very poor attempt actually considering so quiet. Breakfast was better. Expensive all round stay.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold on the first night. Room was a little small and the window didnt open for fresh air

    Staff were excellent. Even when we were late for dinner they rustled something up and went out especially to get my wife lactose free milk Nice house, lovely fittings water hot

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fittings were very clean but were a tad tired... fabrics were a little faded in areas.

    Lovely place to stay just outside of the city. Nice town house. Enjoyed the breakfast..We stayed two nights and enjoyed our time there. The Bar in the loungeroom was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous lodge in an ideal location. About 1.5 miles walk to the royal mile or plenty of buses passing very regularly. All of the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Our room was gorgeous with a 4 poster bed and spa bath. Very clean with everything we needed. The honesty bar is a nice touch. Amazing breakfasts cooked to order. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Edinburgh again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was excellent.

    Excellent stay. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Access to town centre is a 35 minute walk or a 15 minute bus ride with buses stopping right across the road every couple of minutes. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent customer service by all the staff. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, quiet but easy walking to town center. Great small lounge with fireplace at night time with small bar available. Very nice back garden.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really! One the cups was a bit smudged but other than that perfect :)

    The bed was amazing, super luxurious and comfy and we got a complimentary bottle to celebrate the occasion which was a lovely touch, breakfast was fab too :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a wider choice of wine by the glass (I only wanted one glass of wine) with my evening meal.

    Staff really nice and helpful. We were upgraded to the largest bedroom in the hotel, which had a four poster bed! Room was tastefully decorated and very clean. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Comfortable room, restaurant and open bar were amazing and really cozy. Staff was really friendly and welcoming. The location is really near the center, 10 mins with the bus maximum, really nice dishes from the kitchen as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short bus ride into town was very easy and should not be off putting.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff were very friendly and the room was spacious, clean and very quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floorboards in room were a bit creeky and noisy. That was the only thing we didn't like it could find fault with. We were spoilt at Kildonan Lodge Hotel.

    Staff were so friendly and attentive. Couldn't do enough for us. Room was spotless. Dining are was lovely. Breakfast was fantastic. Free car park, bus stop across the road ir nice walk into town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 8 was huge! but had a creaky bed and floorboards although not a deal breaker

    Service was perfect 👌🏾 really helpful! Breakfast was great and location was ideal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent Hotel , welcoming and friendly, very clean and everything you need for a great stay in Edinburgh. The Breakfast is superb and the staff are very professional warm and friendly. The bed we slept in was so comfortable we just wanted to sleep for longer zzzz. We shall certainly return to this lovely hotel .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four Poster - Family Four Poster
    • Stayed 4 nights

    So near to centre of Edinburgh, bus stops near to hotel on both sides of road. Staff helpful, friendly, good source of information. Food good, especially breakfast, Haggis a must try.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best sticky toffee pudding EVER homemade by sylvia and evening and morning meals were amazing too. Would definitely stay there again and staff could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a real treat to stay in a traditional hotel as opposed to the modern bland boxes that are so commonplace nowadays. The owners clearly take great pride in maintaining their premises, and the staff, without exception were a delight to deal with. Overall, a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t fault anything !!

    It really felt like Home from home with a big roaring fire and a relaxing atmosphere - we are def going back and taking more friends with us next time!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive price for small room; long way from city centre but good if you have business in the University

    Cleanliness and decor, lounge, honesty bar, tea, coffee, and complimentary drinks in room, good wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four Poster - Family Four Poster
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sean and all his staff were so helpful and accommodating they really couldn't do enough! This place is an absolute dream, we couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our honeymoon. The room was absolutely beautiful, spotlessly clean and the bed was one of the comfiest we've ever stayed in! The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was second to none! We honestly cannot wait to return!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to come up with a negative! We've travelled the world and this is among our favorite hotels!

    Stayed two nights upon arrival in Scotland. Wonderful staff, beautiful and comfortable furnishing, excellent restaurant - both food and service! Small hotel with personal attention and service from a very friendly and helpful staff. Went back for our last night in Scotland - welcomed "home" like family!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrival was challenging - having just arrived in the country from USA, it was a bit difficult to find and turn in the driveway to the car park. This is NOT a complaint about the Kildonan Lodge Hotel.... it was similar all over the city, which is to be expected in any unfamiliar city!

    Every staff member was friendly and helpful, going out of their way to assure a pleasant stay. Facility was beautifully decorated and well maintained. Easily accessible from downtown and airport. Wonderful food and service in restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small TV in the room

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The lady chef is really fantastic - nothing is to much- worth her weight in gold. Wine was a good price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bugs in the bathroom - ground floor window left open during the day by cleaners even though my computers were sitting on the desk. No-one told me there was no food service on Sunday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't sleep comfortably on the bed not sure why, a small thing but the jug(cord length and not being base and jug) was annoying

    Really easy to get to for a person from overseas. Access to central Edinburgh really easy, heaps of buses and the reception gave a wallet sized to numbers and cost. Also gave some good advice re pub, all in there guide. Major shopping centre only 10 minutes walk and given its location was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be softer. If you went to bed a bit tipsy after the honesty bar and fell asleep in a weird position your body would be a bit sore waking up. But all the soft pillows and blankets made up for it I think :)

    We chose between two hotels and thank god we chose this one. The rooms were so cozy and clean, and we really enjoyed the amazing breakfast and honesty bar. The area was really calm and quiet but the bus station to the city was right outside so getting to and from the city was a breeze. The staff were exceptional, even one morning when we came 20 minutes before breakfast started (we had to get up really early for a day tour to the Highlands and didn’t know the breakfast was not open until 7.30) they did everything they could to help us get food in our bellies anyway and made us coffee and toast as fast as they could. The whole stay we felt really special and well taken care of.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel was comfortable and the food was gorgeous. Would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good. I just hadn't expected to be downstairs.

    The restaurant was very convenient and the cood and service were good. And I was too tired to go looking for another one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazingly friendly and helpful staff staff, relaxed atmosphere. Great breakfast, and all round value for money! Loved the complimentary sherry in the room, and extremely comfortable bed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Four Poster - Family Four Poster
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not a lot. It is a large Victorian house converted to a hotel so it goes without saying that it has the attractions and drawbacks of such a building. Don't expect air-conditioning. Do expect creaking floors. The building has charm and a very welcoming atmosphere nonetheless.

    Comfortable, spacious room and good location with easy bus access or pleasant walk (on a nice day) to city centre. Friendly hosts provide a tasty breakfast. My family slept soundly for 6 nights. We would happily return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt like more of a friend than a customer .after a very stressful journey was greeted by a Member of staff that made us feel very relaxed Made us feel very welcome a real credit to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms left a bit to be desired for the price payed. Although the bathrooms were clean and fairly modern, he toilet was too close to the wall and the shower pressure was very low. Also there was a wait for the water to warm up and the temperature adjustment was really necessary

    The Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful. The bus stop into the city is right outside and the buses are very regular. They offer services like booking tickets to the castle, and their knowledge of where everything is and how to get there was second to none.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Third floor ( top) attic room was smaller than expected. Very cramped in the bathroom. Should have had price prorated much lower than the full rooms on the lower floors.

    Well treated by all of the waitresses and managers. Were very helpful. Rooms were immaculate. Breakfast was excellent. The living room was beautiful and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was a bit outdated as all doors were opened by one key. There were multiple doors to go through which increases safety but is also annoying having to manually unlock and lock doors every time you come or go.

    The lodge was cute and comfortable. Not a 5 star hotel but a great deal for the money. Bed extremely comfortable and room very nice. Staff left a bottle of wine and huge box of chocolates for our anniversary. It was very much appreciated. Hosts are very knowledgeable about the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom in our Classic room very small, shower took a bit of maneuvering to get in and out.

    Lovely period house Great staff Great Breakfasts Shaun the manager very friendly and helpful Buses into city very good and frequent didn't have to use car all week

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed just ok. Shower above bath did not keep water in right place so floor very wet. Plugs not near enough to mirrors for hair drying

    Honesty bar and quiet lounge area. Great food and lovely place to meet and catch up with friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have been a little bigger. We had 2 suitcases and when on floor not a lot of room to get around. Also not great storage for clothes

    Staff excellent, very helpful. Breakfast cooked fresh and served hot. Good choice for breakfast. We had one evening meal which was also home cooked and very tasty

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The street in front is used by ambulance cars at times. Otherwise little through traffic.

    Very friendly and very helpful staff. Very clean. Rather small room under the roof, but nice atmosphere. The salon and the restaurant in a very high class traditional style (should be in a guide book for architects), warm colours. You feel like in a Georgian mansion. Daily newspaper and magazine. Good honesty bar. The Location is 15 minutes by bus from the City center (start at "the bridges"), frequently running several bus lines. This makes it a very good place to stay if you want to stay away from the tourist crowds. We enjoyed it for four nights. The wonderful breakfast gives you a good start. Convenient and pleasant restaurant if you want avoid the downtown hussel. The restaurant is really nice to sit in (table cloth and cloth napkins fitting the colours of the room (!), no paper), the menu is not too rich but reasonably priced. You would not go there to have a gourmet dinner, but you certainly would enjoy the evening there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where our room was located if you left the window open this is where people stood to smoke

    The good selection of breakfast, the room size and the selection of drinks in the honesty bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 4 stars hotel at leas toilet paper could be mounted on the wall. All very used. Room in cellar. People walking over your head.

    Very friendly and helpful service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It suited our needs well.

    Hotel was close to the bus stop and staff were very helpful. There was a very good breakfast. Staff were helpful with plane check in and printing boarding pass.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room smaller than I wanted but for the price, it worked great.

    Sean. He was very helpful and kind. Went out of his way to make our stay comfortable. Food very good. Right on the bus line into the City Centre (be sure you go the right way or you'll get a free ride into the countryside . . . which really is not a fun trip if you have no time pressure.)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit on the hard side so a mattress topper would have been good.

    All the staff were very helpful, courteous and friendly. The breakfasts were good, though extra fruit would be welcome. The evening meal was less good. The room was comfortable and had everything that was needed. The location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A warm welcome with all the local info required to get your stay off to a great start. Staff couldn't be more helpful, the room was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb. Will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was too hard and uncomfortable. Also the room didn't sound proof well - i.e we could hear everything in the corridor and next door's TV.

    Breakfast was excellent, staff were very friendly, appreciated the compliments in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom door had not latch to shut when unoccupied so door was always open , it had a lock for when occupied

    Complimentary Sherry an shortbread was nice , great breakfasts

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather. Hahahah . There is nothing to don't like . This hotel was very good choice.

    People was very friendly and helpful, room was clean and nice , the location is very good -10 min by walk to the central roads , plenty of busses .All was amazing .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After what was going to be the perfect visit, a member of staff on reception ruined the entire experience with a racial slur. It was extremely disappointing and means I will never be going back to this hotel.

    The bed was super comfy and we loved the little complimentary decanter of sherry and shortbread in our room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, half hour to the city centre. Staff were really friendly and if you wanted something extra then hey would be happy to do so. Would recommend to anyone and will go back with out a doubt.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No blind in the bathroom only frosted glass - right beside the loo.

    Very comfortable bed. Great breakfast options including pancakes, bacon and maple syrup!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reason for our visit was the National Museums and the pubs. We were too far out of town. The £10 taxi fare into town blunted our experience !

    We stayed in Lodge 1 which is behind the hotel in very quiet back garden . There are 4 rooms in a new house . There is easy parking literally outside these rooms . Staff were all pleasant and welcoming - especially reception. Food - we had one dinner as well as breakfast - was well cooked and hot as not far to travel! The lounges , conservatory and gardens are an added bonus .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A beautiful traditional hotel, lovely 4 poster bed, excellent breakfast (best porridge ever) and most of all friendly and helpful team, nothing was too much trouble - can't wait to come back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small criticism, ,a weekly change of evening meal menu would be welcome.

    Fantastic breakfast. Staff extremely helpful, good source of local knowledge, nothing too much trouble .very enjoyable stay. Good bus service to Edinburgh city centre.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my girlfriend and we loved it. Its not a large hotel but its exactly what we wanted. Its very nice inside, the staff are very friendly and it was a much better experience to the usual Premier Inn style hotels

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of negatives..Pillows were a little lumpy, water pressure in shower wasn't great and eggs at breakfast over cooked. Just little things that could easily be improved.

    Beautiful hotel, unfortunately it was only an overnight stay so didn't really get to enjoy it as much as we would have liked. Well appointed rooms and lovely sitting and dining rooms. Friendly informative staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe our room on the ground floor was slightly colder even with the heating on, otherwise we had everything. Super cozy

    Amazing breakfast and the loveliest staff.m

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't made up on one of the days - just an oversight I'm sure.

    Friendly and courteous staff. Excellent breakfast. Very relaxing lounge. Comfy four-poster bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor & bathroom a little dated

    Love the fact that there is on site parking & a bus stop to the centre opposite the hotel. Good room size (no 5) & very comfortable bed. Good character property & lovely breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no complaints

    A truly remarkable place. Less of a hotel feeling, more a stately home ambiance. Staff was on hand and amiably helpful. Excellent value for money. I seriously cannot fathom staying anywhere else in Edinburgh. Expectations well exceeded.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldnt recommend the hotel restaurant for dinner, there are better restaurants in the area.

    The room was really nice and very clean. Comfortable bed, soft bathrobes, complimentary sherry (added everyday!) and shortbread. The breakfast was really tasty, we also enjoyed the honesty bar in the beautiful lounge. The center is 15 mins away by bus, 5 mins by taxi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive and too far from main part of edinburgh to nip back too if needed.

    Staff were lovely and friendly breakfast was good and rooms were nice and cosy beds comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Four Poster - Family Four Poster
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spent 4 nights/5 days in Edinburgh, and we really enjoyed our stay at the KLH! We were greeted warmly, and received a good introduction on breakfast, dinner, transportation to town, and using the bar in the lounge. The KLH is located about 30 minutes from the center of Edinburgh, and can easily be reached by bus (several of them stop almost every 5-10 minutes right across the street. Breakfast is EXCELLENT, with a wide range of choices, including the full Scottish breakfast with the option of Haggis, blood pudding & beans! Dinner in the evening also has a great menu, and we can highly recommend the Sticky Pudding!! There is a wide variety of pubs & restaurants in town as well for lunch or afternoon tea. Took a day trip out to Rosslyn, to visit the Rosslyn Chapel (of Da Vinci Code fame), catching the bus at the stop right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location: not to far from city centre and loads of busses making it easy to get in and out. Mattress was outstandingly good and being upgraded to a room with a four poster was a nice bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, clean, good heating, great shower, delicious breakfast. Parking is on site behind the hotel, the location is good, but a little bit far for walking to the city center, you only need a short bus ride though

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant not available on the two night's we stayed and only notified the day before break so couldn't rearrange. Also bath plug not functioning so couldn't have a bath

    Quiet, comfortable room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Four-Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was heavenly! The most comfortable we had during our 10 day tour. KIldonan Lodge is just enough out of the hub bub of Edinburgh to be quite and relaxing but only a 5 min bus ride to Old Town and it's attractions. We had a car but it never left the lodge once parked. We would stay there again if the opportunity arose.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in the bath did not work (disappointment) as wanted to relax with a glass of wine :( Also the bed was very uncomfortable and kept separating in the middle.

    The guy is very nice and welcoming Nice decor. Clean and overall very nice apart from two things I was disappointed with we had a very nice stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable in garden lodge room and noisy plumbing did get moved after second night but spoilt our 3 night break away for our Silver Wedding Anniversary.

    Lovely main house. Breakfast superb

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parlor meant Was uncomfortable as was our room too small Uncomfortable outlets scarce. Unclear where the kettle was to go. Had to put iron the floor

    Breakfast delicious Location great. Wait staff friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a very well maintained and managed property. Our stay was perfect and we were well cared for. Breakfast was delicious, with ample buffet items and well-prepared hot items. Service was very good. Amenities are nice - Walker shortbread in your room daily to go with your coffee or tea. An honor bar in the lovely sitting room. The room we had, which was downstairs, is more like a 4-star hotel room - if you are looking for the Victorian B&B style, this one wouldn't be for you. That's not necessarily a negative, as it's a lovely room. I believe they have a selection of styles. It was very quiet, though we weren't in the room much more than sleeping. We were attending Fringe shows and had some late nights - the night bus schedule is a bit less manageable than day. It's about a 2-mile walk to the city center, and a nice one during the day, depending on weather. The host was helpful in providing bus information. Prices are higher during the time we visited - no getting around that. The value would be even better during a less busy time - and we would return.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kildonan Lodge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: