Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kilkerran Guest House 2 stars

15 Prestwick Rd, Ayr, KA8 8LD, United Kingdom

#29 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Ayr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Single room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your over 6 foot tall the bed was a little small. The bed it's self squeeks and cracks when you move about.

    Tidy little room, only stayed 2 night, nice an quiet. Only 2 minutes drive from town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Super wee spot for a night's rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get WiFi connection, perhaps because I was upstairs.. Wasn't a disaster as I was only there one night to rest before returning home after a Bike trip...

    Everything else... Near petrol station, train station, on main road into Ayr and fast food establishments nd suoermarkets are not fast away. Staff excellent, accommodation perfect for a stop over.... Short notice available luckily as I needed somewhere last minute and had stayed here before when I needed to book months in advance because of high demand, especially over weekends when there was something on in Ayr. Breakfast very good and never made to feel anything but at home and welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Close to airport, only 9 pounds by taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, but in the kitchen where it was prepared everywhere was dog hair.

    Close to airport, only 9 pounds by taxi. You can come at night, what is important if you have night flight. Bus stop to Glasgow is just few minutes from guesthouse. In room was everything what you need, just without shower gel. Possible pay by card.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    I would not stay there again and i would not recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where do i start.The carpets were filthy,the bedrooms are falling to bits,the bedroom door handle fell off,the other bedroom door frame was badly cracked,The shower had alot of mildew arround the shower door.Got woken up with a man coming in the bedroom.He had just arrived with his wife and the owner was too drunk to find a bedroom door key,so they tried ours.They ended up sleeping in the sitting room on couches.The list could go on,but i will finish it there.

    All i can say is the breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.3
    Beware.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I travelled with my mum who is in her late 60's and my Aunty in her mid 70's. We had a set budget for our accommodation and food. This price was the bargain of the century. It was going to allow us to be more flexible with the purse strings. We stayed 1 night which was fine, then the next day we returned to find the room flooded. Water was pouring in from the light, all 3 beds were soaked right through, my 74 year old aunt and my clothes were drenched inside their cases. I rang the bell for assistance, no answer, I phoned the emergency room, the phone had been switched off. It was impossible to stay. Had to find other accommodation which whacked out our spending money and had to return home 1 day earlier. It took 2/3wks for a response from them, said they would look into it. Have not heard anything back, I have contacted my solicitor as I am seeking compensation for this shambles of what was to be a nice few days away.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.5
    Worst place I’ve ever been to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst place I’ve ever been to. We arrived and the room was very cold, the sink is beside the bed. Everything was dirty or broken. The sheets were dirty and full of hair (cat’s or dog’s, I dont know). The shower was broken as well and the wifi didn’t work. Dirty curtains, on the wardrobe there was dust and old food. The mattress was broken, we could feel the tongs inside it. We couldn’t sleep an hour, it was awful.

    Cant find anything good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Staff good ,but if you pay cash£35, don't try to take another £35 out of you card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't pay attention ,when you pay cash on arrival ,then a few days later try to get another payment out of your card debit card???James gold

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not available on arrival went away for a few hours room still not available had to be moved to another great house television not working kettle didn’t reach sockets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lovely staff, just needs some TLC.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place does need a lot of TLC. If it was decorated and brought up to date it would be top notch. There was no En Suite facilities, and the area we were in there were only two bathrooms to accommodate 4 rooms, however with saying that we didn't have to wait to use any of them at any time.

    The staff were very friendly. The breakfast was great with choices from cereal, toast, porridge and a full English breakfast. The location was perfect for our visit to watch the bowling as it was only a five minute walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Visit to Ayr to meet up with a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms badly need upgrading. Toilet/shower could have been cleaner. Creaky uncomfy bed. Was in downstairs room next to main entrance so a bit noisy with doorbell and phone ringing and people coming and going.

    Breakfasr was nice and the woman who spoke to me from the kitchen was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    The property was situated in a good location and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and we had to clean all the cups and sink before we used them. There was also cobwebs hanging from the ceiling.

    The property was situated in a good location and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.0
    Good value for money but would not stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could use some general maintenance - loo seat on both loos was not attached properly, door locks on bathrooms patch job, carpets stained in hall, smoking area outside by front door.

    Room reasonable size and it was a last minute booking so good value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent cleanliness,facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your confirmation stated clearly that breakfast was included.However the owner's confirmation stated 'Room only'.We therefore had to pay for the breakfast and only through the fault of booking.com. The landlady and staff were friendly and excellent hosts.The breakfast was lovely as was the accommodation. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Mini moon to ayr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, very clean & comfy. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was banging!! Full Scottish with tea, toast & juices for £5 canny whack it!! My son got his breakfast for free, great selection of cereal etc will be back!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay, met all expectations. Would happily stay here again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathroom.........but I knew this when I booked the room so it's nothing to complain about at all.

    Great location, friendly welcome. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Not the best choice, disappointing standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled of cigarette smoke, and we found a bag of mouldy food in the wardrobe. The bed was very soggy, and we rolled into the middle. The headboard especially was rather skanky and the room generally felt grimy and in need of some TLC, and a freshen up. The dining room was tidy enough but there were a few flies present.

    Within walking distance to Ayr town centre. Room for parking outside the guest house. The lady who served breakfast was friendly and chatty, and the breakfast was hot, tasty and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    It was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost every thing was all right. Except the cup, glass and water kettle were not clean enough for me to use.

    It was quiet. And my host was kind and lively. Also at three minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice decor which tastefully updates the bedroom interiors.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi only provided in the common areas, not all the rooms (though this is noted in the description).

    Nice decor which tastefully updates the bedroom interiors. Pleasant bathroom. Good TV and radio selection in the rooms. Helpful and understanding people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The location is great, just next to the train station, only...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, just next to the train station, only a few minutes from the Prestwick Airport if you take taxi or train. Easy to reach the city center and the Ayrshire Costal Path, restaurant and Tesco, there's an bus station right in the corner as well. The bathroom is big and clean, very beautiful as well! The breakfast is amazing, they even got menu! very delicious and local. They bed is comfortable and soft, and the room is big as one girl staying, the closet is good with loads is hangers. The hosts is very kind and warm, I lost my card and with no cash on me, she kindly paid for my taxi and gave me extra £10 for eat.... this means a lot for a girl who travel by herself, the best person I met in Britain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    good, happy, homely
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    not sure, good price for breakfast.

    This B&B does what it says on the tin, lovely welcome from Margaret, shows you to your room. If you require anything just call. Comfortable room. Clean. TV, the price for the room is excellent. If you want and like the basic, this is perfect. If you want all singing and dancing. Find it yourself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    3 star stay for a 1 star price tag... Highly recommended and I will be back hopefully later this yea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a slight dislike. A firmer mattress in the double bed although the single bed was spot on so used that as it was a family room. Wouldn't let it bother me again as I usually stay alone and the en suite in Room 1 was great.

    En suite shower was perfect after a day on the motorbike... Pleasant welcome and nice to be remembered as I have stayed a few times here. Tv in my Room meant that I could watch a movie while having my takeaway food. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value stay in a very good location. 0
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for Security reasons I would like to see the front door to the property locked after 8pm and keys issued to guests. This is just personal preference.

    Even though my rate didn’t include breakfast this was only £5 extra and it was well worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed was given dowm stairs room as had heavy luggage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated but suppose for price was good

    Comfy bed was given dowm stairs room as had heavy luggage and travelling alone so was appreciated, friendly owner .not far from prestwick airport

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room, good clean bathroom. Amazingly good value breakfast & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really being picky but my pillows were quite flat & not comfortable for me, but Mum was fine with hers.

    Staff so friendly & nothing too much trouble, breakfast AMAZING choice (& value) & good location with parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trolley at the bedside with the lamp and tea/coffee was a bit awkward and high. A lower table or unit would maybe work better

    Comfortable room. Ideal for a single person for an overnight quick stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    GREAT WEE PLACE WILL DEFINATELY BE BACK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ONLY SLIGHT FAULT WITH SLOW INTERNET IN ROOM

    NICE STAY OVERALL LANDLADY WAS GREAT - BED WAS COMFY IN A BIGGER THAN STANDARD ROOM ENSUITE, BREAKFAST WAS GOOD TOO ,PARKING WAS EASY AND NICE WEE PUB ON WAY BACK CALLED THE WALLACE ,FROM CITY CENTRE-WILL RETURN HERE ON NEXT BREAK

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Would book to stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about the Kilkerran. I had a very pleasant stay.

    Room was very clean and beds were very comfy. The landlady was very welcoming and helpful and friendly. Can't rate the breakfast because we left too early to sample it due to a very tight schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Super staff and establishment for a convenient and value break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the Kilkerran Guest House a few times and I am very fond of it and I will do so again in the future. My wee niggles in this occasion are minor, but just so you know for future... I was expecting to be at the usual property but because the Air Show was on, rooms everywhere in AYR where booked up early, so they had booked me into a room in their property next door and whilst it worked out well for most things, it was just a little inconvenient when wishing to use the free WiFi as I had to go back next door each time, as well as for breakfast... would have been more of an issue had it been raining...lol Only other thing was the side table lamps didn't work but no big deal to me as I just used main light. I am also sure the excellent staff will sort it.

    At the Kilkerran Guest House, you will get a Great shower after a tiring trip to feel alive again, plenty of fresh towels in the room and a tv to watch while enjoying a tea/coffee with biscuits left for your convenience. The super friendly staff make You welcome and trust and respect of your privacy are very evident. Many of the guests are returning guests as they know the staff by name and even if they are not, it's clear how welcome they are and appreciated. There is sufficient and good private off street parking directly in front of the property. Because the property is located on a main road, the Prestwick Road, it makes it very easy to locate. Breakfast options are quite varied and I can say the cooked one's aftertaste and give a good start to the day... I use the Kilkerran Guest House as an overnight stay to break up my journey back home to Ireland and will continue to do so on coming trips... I may even book a wee break for a couple of days at the Kilkerran Guest House just for a break in itself as it is super value. Use of the living room is encouraged and it is lovely and bright. The Kilkerran Guest House is ideally situated, as it is near supermarkets, convenience stores, takeaways and petrol stations. For those using public transport, the train station is within 5 minute walk as well and again easily found. There is a public bar at a Hotel just a few doors up from this property if You wish to grab a drink or watch sport on the larger screen...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    Double room with ensuite was perfect and the location is only 5mins from Prestwick airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a little limited for only around 6 vehicles but we were informed by the pleasant wonders that we could park at the neighbouring premises without any problems.

    Excellent value for money with really friendly staff (and rolly the chocolate Labrador too). Double room with ensuite was just what we needed prior to the early flight from Prestwick airport which is only 5minutes down the road (which we also could not hear any of the flights departing throughout the night as well).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to airport only £6.90 in a taxi and round the corner from the train station. Lovely room with comfortable bed. Freshly cooked full breakfast. Friendly staff. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Ok for overnight but would not be back in a hurry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners and staff Not clear arrangements re breakfast which is according to booking.com description was complimentary and was not Rooms needed updating Parking was tight Poor signage Nobody came when rang bell and left us and another guest waiting

    Poor b&b staff didn't know about our booking and queried who we were room was ok and clean for overnight stay I was told I had breakfast then said was not provided but then offered it for a fee. The staff were poor and the owner did little to make us feel welcome and was quite gruff nobody answered the bell for a while The only saving grace was that kilkerran in a good location near Ayr and Prestwick and lots of options for meals nearby and the seafront and Robert Burns village of Alloway nearby too which I recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.8
    Nice area , Rude welcoming , Hand soap for sink was about 24 months old and solid .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman who gave us the keys was very rude / ignorant and not very welcoming when we arrived turning her nose up at an 18 month old child even though she had been told months in advance that we had booked with my daughter included , myself and my girlfriends brother were waiting for a takeaway to arrive at 9:30 and the property owner was shouting at us saying she needs to go to her bed even though i had my own set of keys , then also telling me to calm down when all I said was we were waiting for a takeaway which again I found extremely rude.

    Close b&b from prestwick airport for the morning is the best thing about it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at guest house at midnight for a late flight, we just found a note on the door with details about our room. The room was small and dirty, with cobwebs and dust pending from the ceiling. The sheets also were dirty (I assume from the previous guests), full of stains and hairs. Also the bathroom seemed not so clean, my suspect was the room maybe had not been cleaned at all. I had to ring the bell in the hall to call the host (she was sleeping) and to ask for a change of sheets. She apologized a lot and she made a 5 pounds (!) discount for the inconvenient.

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    Ayr August 2017
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private bathroom despite online description Tv broken No wi fi as advertised clearly did mot worl even in dining area no smoke alarms in section of house we were shown to which is next door to main property

    Clean Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    A great nights sleep, a hearty breakfast and a great host. What more could you want?
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing that I could fault

    My friend and I spent a very comfortable night at Kilkerran Guest House, our room was huge and the breakfast was cooked to order and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    All that was needed was a bit of good cleaning, and everything else would have been great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not clean. there were cobwebs around the lights. behind the beds had not be cleaned or hovered. the toilet seat was not stable and inside the toilet basin was a small 'poo'stained, it had not been cleaned properly. some of the towels were dirty. my friend found hair on the sheets - not sure whether the sheets had been cleaned/changed or not. You open the bottom window and you seen green stuff on the window ledge.

    quiet location. nice building. breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money adjacent to public transport and Northfield LBC
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The premises is undergoing improvements which require to be tolerated.

    The flexibility of management to accommodate changing requirements . In particular, updating date, providing breakfast , permitting me to leave luggage , which facilitated shopping in evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    good price of a night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is carpeted I personally found it weired. It gives me a dirty feeling. Toilet seat was broken,very uncomfortable to seat on.

    The lady there, Margaret was very very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    I only stayed as a late night airport stopover and I really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain, it was cheap so it was never going to be luxurious. It was spotlessly clean and plenty of tea and coffee supplied. Could hear dig in next room barking early morning though.

    I only stayed as a late night airport stopover and I really appreciated that they accommodated a late check in. The breakfast was fabulous. Bus to Glasgow almost right outside for my connection home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    value for money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    more comfortable mattress

    basic but comfortable - had all I needed for an overnight stay - very good value and breakfast was freshly cooked and a good start for the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Give this pace a wide berth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The business was split over two properties which were both in a state of extension and refurbishment which is much needed. The business should be on hold whilst this is happening. The room was dirty in that corners were full of dust and some rubbish left by previous guests was still left. The shower was luke warm to say the least and the damp spots on the bedroom walls was a right put off. We booked two nights but only stayed one due to the problems I have stated. Sorry, the place needs a right good clean to say the least.

    Location was good. Not far from all things we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    Good breakfast, room could do with at least a sink.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no sink in the room and a shared bathroom at the end. A sink in the room would help a bit although I appreciate that would cost a bit to install and they were in the middle of adding another building out the back.

    I have nothing against this B&B as the lady was helpful and for the price I paid, the accommodation is what you would expect. The breakfast provided was very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Excellent value and great breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value accommodation. Nice room with in room facilities for tea/coffee making etc. Very good breakfast and friendly owner/staff. Will be back :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.0
    Insecure at night as the main door was left unlocked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insecure at night as the main door was left unlocked. A little bit of dusting wouldn't have went a miss. Dust inside the wardrobe, empty wine bottles in the bedside table. Stains on the bed and bedding. Safe to say I won't be going back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The signs for the place could be clearer and it is easier to park on the street than in the property's parking

    The breakfast was nice, the staff were great and the beds comfortable. If you're not too spoiled, this place is great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Great spacious family room, good tv choices, delicious breakfast, very affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a slight dip so my partner didn't sleep too well. Slight mould in shower so we were put off using it.

    The breakfast was lovely in the morning and staff were great. Great central location and parking in front of building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn´t like it city itself especially beachside. We had a walk along the beach and greenery and they been full of waste. The people don´t care for their own city and environment. That is very sad.

    Nice, clean room, quiet neighborhood. Close to big shops like Sainsbury and close to city town, 20 minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.9
    Desireable stay may use in future if need arise's.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the other guests were a little noisy in the morning.

    breakfast was fine. Convenient access on check in, and later evening return. Fairley close to waterside for nice fresh air.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.2
    3 star stay for a 1 star price tag...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be really critical... a stronger WiFi signal would be nice... Also the bed linen and towels looked tired and soiled, but I would like to emphasise that they were definitely clean and fresh. I am only being honest here as it might put some folk off, but take it from me that everything is perfectly reasonable here and I can't imagine how anyone could complain for the money... My experiences here have shown that You definitely get a lot more than You expect for the price...😁

    I travel by motorcycle and although AYR is quite large, the location f this property makes it a doddle to find... I particularly like the convenience of having supermarkets as well as local shops all within a 2 minute walk... Everything You need is within a 10 minute walk, Tesco Extra, ALDI, a Petrol station, Chinese takeaways, etc... The train station is also a short walk away if you happen to be travelling by public transport. Although the property is situated on a main road, it is set back from the road (which allows private parking on level ground) and reduced noise levels from traffic as a result of this short distance... The road has a 30 mph speed limit and as there is a speed camera just on up the road, speed limits seem adhered to... I stayed here last September as well and intend to again, with friendly staff and at great value, I have enjoyed a peaceful stay on both occasions. I would recommend this property to those who, like me, appreciate value and bearing in mind the price, can relax in a comfortable room, with welcome shower and a decent breakfast...😇 I have found it to be a perfect stop off point on my return home to Northern Ireland, only 45 miles from Cairnryan Port, I still love to stop here overnight and enjoy one night winding down before returning.... Thanks to the staff for another pleasant stay...😉 (Please note that whilst the WiFi isn't powerful, it is free and with a little patience it will work well enough.)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Margaret and the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Excellent breakfast and comfortable room and bed. Like home to home. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.2
    A great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived about 6pm but there was no place nearby where I could eat. Went without dinner as I was too tired to get on a bus and go elsewhere. I don't know what the answer to this might be. Sell simple sandwiches and crisps at the venue for people in this dilemma.

    Everything was good and I sat in the lounge with coffee and biscuits provided after check-out.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.0
    Would quite like to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't really find any fault concerning my stay, but I was only there for a short while after checking in and then started my leisure activities returning about 10.35 pm.

    breakfast was adequate. Access to and from premises convenient

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.3
    Good value. Cooked breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money. The included cooked breakfast was good and staff asked when I wanted it ready so there was little waiting . Bed was comfy and the room had a decent TV.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Fab place to stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry couldn't fault anything.

    It's just like home from home very warm and comfortable had a great sleep and breakfast was great I would certainly recommend your B&B lovely people.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    4.2
    very bad service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we (2people) arrived they told us that there was a mix up. they gave us a single room with a mattress instead of a twin.we had to prepare the mattress with the bed sheets and the pilow cases.also the toilet didn't have any light and it wasn't clear from the website that the toilet/bathroom is shared.

    quite friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    A warm comfortable guesthouse which suited us fine.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot - suited us fine thanks. Everyone we met was friendly and patted Bonnie which pleased her.

    A lovely large king size bed & cosy too. Our dog bonnie slept at the side in her own bed. You could come and go when you wanted as you were given your key to your room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Very reasonably priced and close to airport, with good links to train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi password didn't work but hey, it doesn't really matter as I had a very comfy bed!

    The location is on the main road, a few houses down from the train station. The taxi fare was reasonable - about £8.50 from Prestwick Airport (important to know if your flight arrives out of hours). I arrived about 2:30am and the light was left on with a note with instructions and a key - very helpful, informative and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more attention to detail needed to inside drawers and wardrobes for cleanliness

    Great location for all local amenities. Very friendly staff. Breakfast amazing choice and delicious. Excellent value for money. Will be booking again for sure

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be difficult Small Television in the room but there was a big one in the lounge.

    Quietness of our room Comfortable bed Good shower facilities Good cupboard space Free wi fi Free parking Good value breakfast Nice people

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too cramped, the washbasin was in the bedroom, and getting in and out of the location was dicey, it is on a main road with major traffic.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    connection for razor in room 9 did not work.

    parking facilities were very good. food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    A good choice in Ayr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Genial host. Easy parking. Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Very friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good and value for money

    Breakfast was value for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Really friendly, made you feel really welcome, breakfast...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly, made you feel really welcome, breakfast faultless, will go back again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the stay and would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful, friendly people and good location. Good off street parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Nothing is perfect like that
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is perfect like that

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service friendly staff room very comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service friendly staff room very comfortable although toilet door was very difficult to lock and unlock

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal toilet door doesn't close without banging .... Toilet seat needs tightening

    Great value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great wee guest house in the ideal location, I would definitely use again :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes :-)

    Great central location to close by town centre :-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Owner lovely, food good place spotless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much around but was OK as a central point

    Owner lovely, food good place spotless

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Although amenities were shared everywhere was spotless

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Did the job.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decorating

    Breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was satisfactory.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: