Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Killin Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Killin, FK21 8TP, United Kingdom

#9 of 9 hotels in Killin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1102 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a small double and linen clean etc. The toilet and bedroom are very much in need of an overhaul. Hair drier fixed to the wall with no useable mirror. Large black cobwebs hanging from ceiling having been there for quite some time.

    Food and service was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and dimly lit. Could have done with an extra light in the shower cubicle

    Nice hotel/location. Bed was a comfortable four poster. 'Nice'.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner, I did find someone else’s medication on the floor when I dropped something down the side of the bed.

    The hotel was large with plenty of dining space so you didn’t feel like you were sitting too close to others. The twin room I stayed in had a lovely view of the lake. The staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us getting back late one evening and therefor missing meal times, they served us up a sandwich with a little salad ready for our hungry return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived quite late and told them I would have to leave early the next morning so couldn't stay for the breakfast I'd paid for. They insisted on producing a packed breakfast there and then so I didn't lose out. I was very impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have just spent 3 nights in the Killin Hotel. The hotel is in a lovely spot but we were very disappointed with the room we had. (Room 27). The bathroom is so small with very poor lighting. The toilet seat is loose and if you are sat on the toilet I was burning my leg on the electric towel rail. The lighting in the room is wrong, light over by window means if your in bed wanting to read you can’t with the bedside lights. The two seater sofa as no support and it is very difficult to get up from it. The food was generally ok and the staff. It was our first trip to Central Scotland. We love Scotland but your hotel room spoilt it for us.

    The Location is good..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress & pillows were horribly uncomfortable, huge dips in the mattress - definitely needs replacing. Decor was weird and bathroom lighting and decor was terrible.

    Beautiful riverside hotel with helpful, cheerful staff. Shower was very good pressure. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that my husband didn't like its not big choice of beer in the bar. However, it didn't bothered me.

    The location of Killin hotel is great, you could walk to waterfalls and enjoy walking to Loch Tay. Room was nice and we had river view. Our breakfast and dinner at hotel was beautiful. You can rent kayak or cycle in the outdoor shop near the hotel, that's what we did to add a little bit adventure to your stay in Killin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was the bed mattress which in my view is overdue replacement

    Full of character, great location and outlook across to the Tarmachen ridge. Friendly staff, good food, real beer, fair pricing. The best shower I've had in the West Highlands!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room conditions

    Location and food were amazing Staff were friendly apart from one waitress We were travelling in a group of 10 We were very well catered for The room was clean however there was paint peeling off the wall in the room from damp Not value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs upgrading and modernising. My partner thought the bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were too thin.

    The best parts of this hotel were the location and the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we were in was room 12. Very basic and really noisy , toilet too small , shower door wouldnt open until you opened the toilet door fully , tv was poor. as we booked late the evening before i think we got the last room availiable and i can see why it was the last. the Hotel itself was really good and the location was superb.

    the self service , cerial , juisce toast , tea etc was really good , the cooked breakfast was also good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food mediocre, grumpy staff, breakfast kept asking for simple things like utensils and sat for quite a while before order taken - had to ask a passing staff member.

    Previous visit was a lot better than this one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small gripe was the very dull light in the bathroom. I understand the need for low energy bulbs, but even after waiting for it to brighten it was so dark that safely putting on make-up was impossible!!

    Fabulous location, friendly helpful staff, wonderful food. The view from our window was breathtaking, and we awoke to beautiful birdsong. We watched a newly hatched brood of tiny ducklings out for swimming lessons!! Magical.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult at time of our arrival

    Breakfast was cooked to order and was speedily delivered to our table Evening meal was very nice and mid price range.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting not so good, especially poor in bathroom. Hotel fixtures and fittings getting a bit tired.

    Good staff, breakfast, location, old world atmosphere. Loved the old fashioned lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't heat up even after the 10+ minutes you are advised to wait. Also shower head needs fixed in room 24 as doesn't run right.

    The restaurant and food were lovely and very filling. The views from the hotel are wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy guests that don’t think of others staying there banging doors and talking loudly but not hotels fault just bad manners from other guests

    Found it was in a nice location next to water and not far from the village

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress a little "plasticie". Always noisy. Walls thin and lots of children. Breakfast was good but not up to the standard experienced (no croissants, coffee cold first morning, beans cold so never repeated) during my stay two years ago.

    I stay at Killin Hotel mainly for its location (walking distance for most things in village), history, view of Loch Tay and hills, parking, and reasonable rates.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lukewarm coffee from the urn at breakfast Also coffee from the bar had to be returned as it was so weak This trip the open fire in the bar was never lit considering the chilly weather

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel decor good do with a bit of updating.

    .the food was excellent reasonably priced menu and the freshly cooked breakfast was great.the scenic location was spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant closed when we arrived - with no food available. I would expect that in the hospitality industry that even a limited option of food would be available at a hotel - at least until close of the check in deadline. We arrived shortly after 9pm on a Friday night, to be told that the hotel kitchen had closed. Just seems surprising really.

    Very comfortable bed! Lovely location. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's not much to moan about, toaster could have been better, the side window view from room 34 overlooked an untidy area but the view from other window very nice. As stated, not much to moan about.

    We have used this hotel a few times as the mountains in the area present us with the opportunity to enjoy fabulous views, great exercise and the place is easy to get to. Recent upgrades enhance the accommodation, the restaurant and bar are great. All said and done our group shall return, hopefully often.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was sometimes limited however we stayed during the Easter weekend so this could be why it was busy. It might be ok on a general weekend or day.

    I had a lovely stay the hotel. The room was clean, modern and had all the facilities needed for a few days away. The bed was very comfortable and the location was beautiful. Staff were helpful and the hotel has a homely feel. Would recommend to anyone. Will be booking to visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole stay was totally ruined by the music in the bar continuing to 1:00 keeping me awake, one of the staff tried to turn it down for me but it did not work. The mattress had seen better days and slumped which did not help with the sleep.

    The location is stunning, the evening meal was good. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness- valance needed replacing and toilet brush sitting in filthy water. Did let the hotel know and they were very apologetic

    Lovely views and nice area for walking also dog friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in the bathroom, so cold in the morning.

    Great place, the staff were really helpful and it seems like the hub of the village. The bar is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did think the annex had 2 levels but found it was ground and room a bit small but everything else made up for that

    Staff were terrific especially when we had to leave early due to family emergency my son took a stroke on the day we arrived and had to leave the following morning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea pot in the room would have been nice.

    the place was clean and quiet. the breakfast was excellent, and way more then I expected, with very good staff and service, would return for sure!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom slightly cramped.

    Beautiful outlook to river and mountains. Very friendly. Good bar. Good food. Nice conservatory. Plenty of parking space. Good lift. Reasonable prices. Good TV.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa in bedroom very uncomfortable. Very awkward to get to drinking facilities. Bathroom - had to complain about toilet seat required attention, cobwebs in bathroom, Donnie on bed not done properly and sheets not tucked in. You want a good impression from your guest, it didn’t impress me at all. Whole hotel requires a little TLC. Service at bar very slow but friendly. Could not use lift after a certain time in the evening till morning. A disabled or infirm person would not manage stairs.

    Spacious room and bed. Food good and hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely basic. Bed no headboard. Room small. Room dated and needs a refurbishment. Breakfast was running out of provisions, had to ask for Orange juice and coffee as none in the dispensers/ coffee pot etc. Staff quite pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was lovely - good range on offer. The room was clean and tidy. The staff were pleasant and friendly. Information in room was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold in the dining room and the staff were not what I would expect for Highland hospitality

    The room was clean and warm on a very cold snowy night. Views were stunning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many dogs in hotel at one time the bar area was like a kennelclub. We have a dog but wouldn't take it to breakfast with us. No rooms for non pet residents. If you have an allergy to dogs you are screwed

    Very nice location and lovely views.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Relaxed friendly atmosphere with friendly helpful staff good food with a varied menu and a well stocked bar. And a proper fire in the bar area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have given excellent throughout if there had been decent wifi in the room and the room decor hadn't been so 'tired' - chipped dull brown paint on all the doors in the bedroom is not a good look. It was also a bit noisy with the adjoining rooms extractor fans and the lift being near our room which didn't make for restful sleep.

    The food was great, the staff efficient and friendly, the hotel is dog friendly. The room was small but spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. These points deserve an excellent score and despite the 'down' points we would return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing was the mattress on the bed was a bit to soft would say it needs replaced.

    The room was very good plenty of space as we had our Great Dane with us. The log fire is a lovely touch to a cosy cottage feel. Food was very well presented and was lovely. Will definitely be booking again. Julie

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit stuffy but opening window meant industrial noise from nearby at 1.30 in morning!! Obviously not the hotels fault but annoying. Also, the shower was jammed to off position (as was my friends next door). Didn’t make for good start to the day.

    It was clean , friendly, food was lovely, location is beautiful. Overall, we had a lovely time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the very top of the hotel and very small. Lights were poor in the bathroom. Small bed. Everything was closed in the village except the coop.

    Meal in the hotel was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dog owners having choice of any room it’s unhygienic . also too many non english speaking staff and one quite cold grumpy receptionist

    the location the helpful receptionist on arrival the menu the choice of rooms to relax in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the lack of bin facilities for disposing of dog waste.

    The staff were very kind and welcoming. It's our first time staying in a pet friendly hotel and were overly impressed with our warm welcome. Great facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were kept awake from 1.30am until 5am. Our room was above the staff residence where they partied with there window open which the noise was ridiculous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at 8am rather late if you want to be on the hills in winter with short days. I'd have liked to be away each day at least an hour earlier.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin, could hear next doors couple being very friendly... I turned up the tv.

    Breakfast was faultless! Incredible, perfect poached eggs every time. Rooms serviced every day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was quite big, and thankfully had one vegan option as a main (which was delicious), though no dessert option. They did say they could accommodate with more notice, but we'd booked a last minute get away. I brought my own plant milk and spread so that I could have toast/cereal in the morning.

    We went off season, so there wasn't a lot happening, most pubs in Killin were shut so options were limited. But, the food at the hotel was nice and the bar had a lovely fire, and we were prepared for it to be like that, so we were still very happy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was damp in the room we were staying in. Toilet light made an awful racket. Holes in walls. Carpet coming up in places and flies on the ceiling in the bathroom. The room we were staying in (room 14) needs a good renovation. Reception staff could have been more welcoming and helpful. On arrival we weren’t greeted with a smile or told the direction of our room or asked if we needed help with our bags.

    The bed was comfy and the location is perfect for long walks and beautiful scenery. Food satisfactory and drink prices quite cheap. Restaurant and bar area have a lovely cosy atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish we had a bath in the room

    The room lovely and warm staff very friendly we will be back soon as the Village of Killin is a very romantic part of the highlands

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had could do with a bit of work. Very difficult to lock the door,an electric socket not screwed together properly and the mattress was a bit uncomfortable (too soft so you could feel the springs)

    We had a really nice stay here for two nights.The staff were all very friendly and helpful.Nice public rooms and every where was very clean and the food was excellent.Plenty of tea and coffee in our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some room doors are a bit noisy when they close, but that was a minor issue.

    Beautiful hotel full of character, very comfy beds and rooms, cozy common rooms with log fire, lovely staff, delicious food (including breakfast), great location (Killin is a lovely town with many walking and cycling routes starting there), excellent value for money. We had an amazing relaxing stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the decor needs rejuvenation in the bedrooms. We had a king size bed but the under sheets weren't and did not adequately cover hence cover slipped overnight and duvet needs replacing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure (as ever in the Highlands) was a bit feeble. The shower wasn't really hot enough.

    Very filling breakfast, too much for me after the porridge. Uncomplicated check-in and -out. It was very warm on a rather cold weekend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the shower or whb despite running for over 10 mins

    Good buffet breakfast Staff helpful, WiFi god in most of the building. Plenty of parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first bedroom offer was terrible. Forgotten room with broken bed base held together with plywood board which didn't work and a mattress older than my grandma 👵

    The staff. They were welcoming, attentive, happy to help and made the stay. The second room offer was really good and my dog was made very welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar price was very expensive, £14.70 for two doubles is a bit outrageous. The shower was absolutely freezing and you had to run the hot water for a good 15 minutes before it even began to warm up... not great if you wanted a quick shower! Also, a square toilet seat isn’t very comfortable either...

    Location was amazing and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemend nice but a bit streched Food was a bit overcooked Room could have done with a biscuit with the tea

    Dog Friendly and relaxed atmposphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking was a little ad-hoc and could be better organised in terms of having a layout of specific parking spaces. Staff were really good but could let their hair down a bit more and engage with the guests a bit more. They have obviously been asked by management to be very formal with the guests.

    Annexe room was perfect for all of our mountain equipment. Quality of food in the restaurant and breakfast was excellent. Staff were very efficient and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely warm reception and cosy comfortable rooms. We left an electric tooth brush behind and they kindly keep it at reception for us! Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not Caesars Palace. It's old fashioned and a bit tired but good value. We'll certainly be back.

    Superb atmosphere. Old pub with real ale log fire and great food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the other hand the hotel in killin that is killin hotel is going down hill it's not right am 6ft7 tall and they put two single beds together and panned off for a double it's still clean and the food is great they trying to get 80 pounds for the room they did refund 20 pounds of the asking price but not the point it was very disappointing and very uncomfortable

    Killin is a great place me and my wife has been going for years we love it up there local people are great and the hospitality is excellent the views always catch your breath and makes you proud to be Scottish

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shabby room badly in need of decoration, no table in room, no phone in room, no tissues, no pen and paper. Toilet/shower room so small barely room to turn around in. Ugly exposed pipework in bedroom and toilet.

    The scenery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet wasn't anything special.

    Killin Hotel is in a great location with a gorgeous backdrop. I had the venison burger from the bar menu, which was really good. They also had a great selection of gin in the bar. The Scottish Breakfast was also good and aplenty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable for us, however we do appreciate this can be hard to get right as everyone is different. The biggest problem we had was the noise. You can hear absolutely everything including the old lift that made a horrible high pitch noise when moving, this caused us to wake up all through the night, as it was a Saturday I think a lot of the guest stayed out late Drinking and as I said we heard everything from them using the lift to slamming doors to them being in there rooms!! I’m not sure if the water was bad or our shower broken in our room as all we had to get washed with was cold to luke warm water. There is no way to turn heating on in the room so if you visit in winter which we did when it’s off it’s freezing and you need to wait till is on to get some heat in the room. Unfortunately I don’t think we would return to this hotel, although the staff, location and food were lovely, we had one of the most uncomfortable and noisy nights sleep we have ever had.

    The staff were very friendly. The location was beautiful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area is quiet, although there is no soundproofing so you can hear the doors opening and closing loudly and your neighbours. The food was fantastic and all staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water temp in shower just lukewarm Only 1 bedside lamp worked do room quite dark making it difficult getting ready to go out

    Views s from room were stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is due for redecoration but was clean enough however there was no hot water later on in the day which as I was booked in for a winter marathon was not great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel ran out of hot water. The window was poorly fitting with huge drafts. Worst of all the room appears to have bed bugs, the day after coming home my wife has had bites develop on her back and arms.

    Location, Killin is stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very small double with little sound proofing between the room and the corridor or the adjoining rooms. Doors constantly opening and closing with conversations clearly heard from other rooms. Luke warm shower water on more than one occasion. When we needed breakfast before 8am we were provided with a packed breakfast that didn't include everything we ordered. This had also been sitting on a chair at reception over night.

    Our room had a great view out of the front of the hotel. Staff were generally friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room had clearly been redecorated in a tasteful manner, the hotel requires freshening up. The bathrooms need to be upgraded. The food was average and over priced.

    the location and views from the room were fabulous

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of management on what is one of the busiest days for the hotel speaks volumes about what to expect! The room was small but adequate, walls thinner than a piece of paper, wind whistling in from poor window seals, radiator that was tepid to touch, shower which was pathetic, water was luke warm even after running for the recommended 5 minutes, zero power, had to stand and hold the handle over my head to rinse shampoo out, after running an Ultra Marathon all you want is a hot powerful shower, if that’s the case don’t stay here! The conservetry was cold when we arrived for dinner, open fire in bar but not on despite it being a chilly day in November...although it was on when we went for night cap around 10pm....water dripping through the glass ceiling in conservatory. Staff who had limited vocabulary in the English language, no point complaining as all they told you was to write it down - nonsense! Food came out and wasn’t very hot....again after a long run you want hot food. Breakfast for runners was a BLT sandwich, apple and missing yogurt despite asking for one. Full breakfast next day was tasty although it looked as though they forgot to cook the black pudding! This hotel has such potential it was really disappointing for the rate of the room! Great location and if you had a decent shower with the basics such a little power and heat you could almost forgive all the other elements but that appears to be too much to ask for the Killen Hotel!

    The location to the village hall for the purpose of GO33

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park surface, just because it was raining when we arrived

    This hotel was perfect! A lovely location and beautifully renovated historic hotel. The dining options are amazing, both dining rooms are beautiful and the meal was very good. Our room was comfortable and clean, but the best thing is the atmosphere of the place, very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The mattress was a tad hard, however we didn't mention this to the staff as wasn't a big problem. I'm sure if we had they would have tried their best to help improve any issues for us.

    Super friendly staff (not just one or two members, but ALL). Fantastic to have been able to bring the dog and still have the comfort of a week in a hotel. Impressed with cleanliness. We expected the hotel to show signs of dogs in residence, however found it to be lovely and clean throughout. Great relaxed atmosphere, good breakfast options bar. Top location as beautiful where we were with additional lochs and parks a short drive away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't start breakfast half an hour early to accommodate dozens of runners staying for a race. Would have been a good customer service gesture.

    The dog friendly aspect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • River View Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sold as river view, cut off from newly built conservatory, suggest update room spec. No porter or anyone on call to deal with noise complaints.

    Hotel situated in town centre. Easy access to nice walks, pubs and sights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Despite turning up on a mountain bike, covered in mud, 20 mins after they'd finished serving food they still rustled up a plate of fish and chips for me, which was very much appreciated. They also provided secured storage for my bike.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room given on the first night was a small attic room with a double bed squeezed in (Not a double room) and was dirty. Unable to change the room on first night but was given a better room for the second night although still issues with cleanliness. Some staff were lovely but others were miserable.

    The afternoon tea with prosecco and the girl that served us was very good. Hotel allows dogs to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Killin Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: