Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chapter House 3 stars

9-13 St John's Street, Salisbury, SP1 2SB, United Kingdom

#2 of 11 hotels in Salisbury

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 588 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Looking forward to our next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was outstanding ! Evening meal stunning . Breakfast was poor in regards to hot food . Should be a vegetarian big breakfast option . I had avocado / poached egg , was really disapointed with it, but overall a wonderful experience , thankyou. We will be booking again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Loved it! Coming back!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the road side which was a bit noisy due to morning traffic (I'm a light - sleeper) but loved the room. The wifi was a let down as it wasn't available most times.

    The place has a lot of character and the room was beautiful with modern ensuite and comfy big king size bed. The pub downstairs was amazing, delicious food and excellent service and atmosphere :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT and in a great location just a small walk to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NIL

    What wasn't there to like, loved the decor. The staff were terrific our room was comfy plus the shower was awesome so good for our last shower before we had our extra long haul trip. The meal was one of the best we had had in 6 weeks, thank you Chaper House chiefs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant location just outside St Ann’s gate, a side...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very old property, and had the shifts and unevenness that accompanies very old buildings. This may not work well with disabilities, albeit I did see more to the inn than the main part where we stayed, which may have been more disability friendly..

    Brilliant location just outside St Ann’s gate, a side entrance to the close. The room was very cosy and beds comfortable. The dining was amazing with a South African flair. We liked it so much that ate all our meals here!! Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Cozy, atmospheric and well-located describe this great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The character of the hotel delighted us. Crookedy stairs, low ceilings, and a fireplace and bench in the bedroom for atmosphere and a comfy bed, modern bath, and delicious food -plus a location across the street from the Cathedral - made for a wonderful stay. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    Right across from an entry to the cathedral grounds, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right across from an entry to the cathedral grounds, easy walking to eats around Salisbury, convenient nearby parking (small fee), easy in and out from the city. Stonehenge an easy 18 minute drive. Excellent help from Jill, who took care of us and gave us great hints about where we were traveling to next. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Overnight in Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    Lovely old characterful inn , well maintained and run , bedrooms were individual and furnished to a high finish Breakfast was cooked fresh to order .We ve stayed at other places but this was by far the nicest and most personally welcoming .Didnt eat an evening meal there but it all looked good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfy, quirky, great location ... hope to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked it all, having said that the wonky stairs in this beautiful historic building might be challenge for some.

    Great location opposite the North Door of the Cathedral, ideal for the wedding we attended in the Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    An old worldly pub with great atmosphere, you can see the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old worldly pub with great atmosphere, you can see the history of a bygone era. Sloping floors, original fireplaces and exposed beams add to the historic feel. Attentive staff cap off a wonderful experience. The location is central to all attractions and a huge selection of restaurants, though why would you want to go any further than the restaurant down stairs! Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    A short stay in the New Forest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fine with a very comfortable bed but the noise from the road outside woke us during the night.

    The hotel had great character. The staff changed our room immediately when the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderfully atmospheric building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very minor moan. Only two lagers on tap!!!!

    The hotel is very historical and typical of parts of Salisbury. From the quirky staircase to the ancient windows the whole building has a great atmosphere. Our room was very old and with many original features that blended in well with the modern flat screen TV and other modern day requirements. The bathroom was good and basically hidden behind a wall panel which added to the oddities of the building. The food was excellent and good value and the breakfast very enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable great location.
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are old and off quilter, quite difficult to keep your balance especially after a drink. Very squeaky floorboards all over so can be heard overhead when clients are moving around in their room.

    Very quirky and old. Comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant. Very friendly staff. Lots of atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant staff and well positioned next to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost is higher than I would have imagined.

    Pleasant staff and well positioned next to the Cathedral. A lovely breakfast. The restaurant looks really good and is vibrant and busy. A nice feel to the establishment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.0
    Fairly ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All fairly ok, but we were in a room just above the fan from the restaurant. So it was very loud in the room until 11pm and also very hot with no mean to open the window. The service was professional, but a bit snobish or I would say cold. No pleasant. Breakfast was a good point. If you are there, avoid room number 010..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable bed, great breakfast, and can thoroughly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable bed, great breakfast, and can thoroughly recommend the restaurant. The choice of properly aged and sized steaks is well worth it. This is a very old building and floors and stairs are at angles; adds character but might not be ideal for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with excellent food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet is tiny but we get used to it quickly.The building is super old and we struggled to get some hot water running in the evenings.We didn’t care much as it was pretty hot weather outside though;)

    The bed was extremely comfy! And the room was cosy and have lots of character.The toilet and shower was separated which was very handy.The food is excellent!!!10 out of 10 experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Full of charming character and fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very hot, there was a fan in the room but still very hot so difficult sleeping.

    The rooms are really lovely, quite small but so much character and charm. We had a huge bathroom with a gorgeous roll top bath. We've stayed a few times and each room is different and quirky. The breakfast is really good, recommend the eggs benedict.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Staying in a Tudor pub in such a historical city as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the weather was very warm, even by English summer standards and the room became a bit hot and uncomfortable, particularly in the evening. A fan was provided that helped and given the age and type of building this was unavoidable without air conditioning. This did not however greatly diminish the enjoyment of our stay.

    Staying in a Tudor pub in such a historical city as Salisbury and close to the Cathedral was a wonderful experience. The staff were very pleasant and extremely accommodating. Well worth considering staying at this establishment if visiting Salisbury.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    The add says the hotel is on the cathedral close, but in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The add says the hotel is on the cathedral close, but in fact it's located outside the close on a very busy and noisy street full of traffic. The room had just a tiny window on the rear courtyard providing no view and no light. Breakfast was poor. Overall this hotel is well overpriced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, nice staff and good food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was over courtyard and smokers below meant smoke wafted into room windows which were open due to hot weather. Room very warm although a fan provided. Room very dark.

    Good location, good food served in restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door, didn't open fully due to space restriction (why not hang the door the other way?) Breakfast sausage - tough as old boots!

    greeting was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Quirky old building with excellent restaurant in a central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didnt like the indifference from some of the waiters/waitresses. However there were others who compensated and really knew how to look after guests

    Quirky old building with excellent restaurant in a central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Authentic and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the Tudor feeling of the place; authentic but very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The location close to pretty much everything was also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Loads of charm in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful, character filled hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms in a great location. Room was beautiful and full of lovely details. Staff charming and attentive, and the restaurant is convenient and lovely. We so enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    A beautiful old pub which is really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hot in the room on the first night, but the windows were kept open to cool the room.

    This is a lovely old pub - really old with lovely squeaky floors and stairs. But the things that matter: bed, bathroom, breakfast, comfort etc are really good. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Building, location,staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Full English breakfast.... eggs no taste, free range would have been nice for that price, no black pudding etc. ... no fresh orange juice...!!! Wetherspoons worthy

    Building, location,staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good breakfast, and lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not sure if there was air conditioning in the room. Fortunately there was no need for it during my visit.

    Instead of a buffet, the included breakfast is ordered from a menu containing options such as Eggs Benedict and Full English Breakfast. For dinner the restaurant has good steaks and among other items offers a selection of interesting South African dishes. The building is post-and-beam construction with lots of character, i.e. irregular stairs, squeaky floors, zigzag corridors, and low doors. My bathroom had modern fittings that worked fine. Good location near downtown and directly across from access to the Cathedral Close. There was no difficulty making arrangements to leave before normal checkout hours on my departure day. The hotel even prepared a carry-out breakfast so that I would have something to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    It was more than we could have wished for. Olde worlde and wonderfully charming. Close to city centre and right across the road from the cathedral. Perfect location. Fantastic, comfortable room. Sparkling white sheets and towels. We'd love to stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    It was our wedding night and staying at the Chapter House was a lovely end to the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast started at 8.30 on the Sunday which was a little late for us but the staff managed to whip us up something anyway so no complaints

    The room was amazing, so full of character.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Quirky hotel with some original features such as the oak...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast, in my opinion, was a bit lacking in quality. I had asked for poached eggs with a solid white but when I cut into them, they were snotty (yuck). I exchanged for fried eggs and asked for them to be turned, which didn’t happen. The toast was a bit more akin to warm bread...not great I’m afraid.

    Quirky hotel with some original features such as the oak beams and exterior Tudor styling. Good menu and wine selection. Newly fitted bathroom, small but with a good shower cubicle and quality toiletries. Very comfortable bed with proper duvets and 100% cotton bedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is around the corner at a public lot, the hotel will give you a 24 hour pass. It is more of a niggle than an annoyance. Completely understandable given the age of city and it's buildings.

    Dinner & breakfast were exceptional. It really felt like visiting friends at a B&B but still had all the advantages of a boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and jovial and made us feel so welcome, even provided an excellent restaurant recommendation when their kitchen was closed. The location is perfect as you are right across the street from Salisbury cathedral close. We cannot wait to go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Easy & relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of onsite parking though resident parking cards at £6 per day available. I understand there is nothing can be done about this.

    The history & character

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Chapter House is a nice place where to spend some days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would prefer some more english beers on draft, everything else was really great.

    Chapter House is a nice place where to spend some days visiting Salisbury. It is just opposite from Cathedral (where the Magna Charta is preserved) and at walking distance (10 minutes) from Rail Station. It is romantic and nicely furnished, the room we had was comfy and the bathroom was really good. We had dinner, also, and the food was really good, one of the top of the whole trip. Staff is really warm and friendly, look for hints as they're always available to help. If we'll ever back to Salisbury, we're going to stay again at Chapter House.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was with an elderly relative who found the stairs difficult. Disabled access very limited - but that is an inevitable feature of the age of the building

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    I recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren’t able to eat at the hotel, which was a disappointment. They were hosting a charity event, and the rest of the restaurant was booked. I think we should have been asked in advance if we wanted dinner reservations, particularly since we were staying at the hotel.

    Our room was very nice, and the hotel is well-located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    A good central place to stay for visiting the Close .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked buffet selection at breakfast with some fruit.

    Comfortable bed. Good position in the town as we were visiting the cathedral for a college reunion service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We liked everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Our room was really lovely and cosy and the bathroom very modern. Such a lot of endearing character at this hotel. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and our food was delicious, very nice wine too. Breakfast was also a tasty treat! Thank you and if we visit Salisbury again we would definitely stay at the Chapter House.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable, convenient and friendly staff
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff sometimes confused with the breakfast orders! 8 of us in the party and had to ask several times for things - maybe a notebook would be helpful

    Lovely room and very comfortable with plenty of toiletries

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Authentic, charming, very comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The booking.com site asked me to put in the ages of my children and I did so. But when you click to the next screen to complete the transaction, booking.com erases the children and ends up booking the room for just 2 adults. I brought this to the attention of Chapter House management as it could have been disastrous. They had nearly put us in a room that accommodated only 2 people and we were a family of 4. It's not management's fault; it's a booking.com issue that needs to be resolved. The only small hitch with the room is that due to its age (about 500 years old) the floors are really quite crooked to the extent that we literally slid down in the beds at night. My husband with a bad back had to change beds and luckily there were other beds to choose from. For most people this won't be an issue but you might want to be aware of it if you have a physical limitation. Nothing can be done about it in room 15 but I am assuming there are other rooms with level flooring.

    We loved Chapter House which we renamed "Fun House" because of it's age, the stairs and floors are seriously lopsided. So walking up those steep stairs at an angle was quite an experience. Inside the room, everything was top notch from the fabulous stand-alone tub in the beautiful bathroom to the very comfortable beds and bedding. The old, original wood beams gave it so much charm. Staff were friendly and very helpful but commented that they aren't used to having families stay with them. We stayed in #15 at the top of the stairs and it was very quiet and the room (blue room) was exactly as pictured in the photos. Pride of ownership and renovation shows as everything was modern and perfect in the room. And we loved the location so near the Cathedral. Dinner was also fabulous; we'd like to thank our server Charlotte. And breakfasts were fantastic as well and included in our room rate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Quirky and original
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The character of the building remains even thought the rooms are of a modern standard and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food is also fantastic and cannot complain about the price for the quality of the meals.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfasts could have been hotter. Accurate, up-to-date knowledge on current parking charges would have saved us some money (currently free all over the city)!

    The room, food and location were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    The chapter house is a GREAT house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great, friendly and helpful. The property was lovely and I loved the medieval features like a stair case that has no idea what a level is and all the period features. As for location your opposite the cathedral and no more than 5 minutes walk from the town centre. All I will say is they team aren’t lying when they say they get busy so if you want to eat at the restaurant book a table early (we got a table but didn’t realise it would be as busy as it was) but other than that nothing but high praise for the chapter house and it’s staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in a delightful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but there are no cerials on offer and only orange juice. The cooked breakfasts are fine but little on offer if you didn't want this.The toast arriving on the same plate as the cooked breakfast and no sideplate to butter it on is bizzare. Are plates in such short supply?

    Well situated near the cathedral close gate and only 5 minutes walk into the city centre.Parking whilst not on site was very near and easy.Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall enjoyable stay, well run, but disappointing breakfast experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor breakfast: - no choice of cereal - no choice of juice - orange juice poor quality - poor quality streaky bacon - overcooked sausage

    Excellent evening meal, interesting menu, good quality ingredients, obviously experienced chef.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great experience - we would definitely choose this hotel again when visiting Salisbury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a phone in the room made it harder to contact our friends who were also staying in the hotel. The water coming through the shower was not more than warm, despite turning the temperature control up to it's hottest setting!

    We loved the quirkiness of the hotel, and the fact that it had so much character. Our room was quite small; very cosy and was fully equipped, except for a phone! The room was quiet, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed with a rain shower, and lovely toiletries for guest's use. Added to this, the food in the restaurant was really excellent, with an innovative menu, that had definite South African overtones.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Hotel felt very authentic, the staff were excellent, very approachable and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it was very, very cold (actually snowing) outside so it was cold in the room in the afternoon/evening therefore needed the extra oil filled radiator that was provided as well as central heating!

    Lovely romantic and very authentic hotel. Food superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Would absolutley stay again. Great base if operations for a 2-3 day in the Salisbury area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 15 on the top perfect for my wife and I and our 16yo son. Breakfast was outstanding. The restaurant in the hotel was a great spot for dinner. The location was awesome since literally across the street was a gate into the the cathedral close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely place to stay and excellent evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up when we came to pay for room. Our card details were used to pay for someone else's room who had stayed the previous evening. Refund was given but still a bit worrying.

    Lovely room with very comfortable bid and nice ensuite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location and quirky accommodation. Something a bit different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot and opening the window meant lots of outside noise. Very grateful for the fan which cooled us down a bit. Breakfast was served rather than buffet which we hadn't appreciated. We were on a short time scale on Sat so we rather had to rush what was otherwise an excellent breakfast.

    Great location. The restaurant was buzzing on Friday night. The food was excellent. Make sure you book ahead of your visit if you don't like eating early/late.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Room 9 was very noisy to the dining room downstairs and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 9 was very noisy to the dining room downstairs and outside, but it is an old building so should be expected, although I suspect the higher up floors are less noisy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    A delightful stay at a period hotel in a fantastic location. I would certainly recommend it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a bit disappointing due to the limited menu - if you aren't particularly keen on eggs; the breakfast selection wasn't great!

    The room was fantastic - it was worth paying a little bit more for a more authentic room. The food in the restaurant (evening) was delicious and the wine complimented the menu perfectly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely old building and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was incredibly cold weather when we were there so it was a little cold in areas but that is something out of the ordinary so shouldn’t usually be annissue

    Lovely old building and great food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    We love staying in old inns and the chapter house has to be one of the best there is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were upgraded to room six for no extra cost. It was a fabulous room, large, comfortable and very atmospheric. The staff were friendly and the breakfast excellent. It’s a fabulous place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    The room was absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely amazing. Very comfortable and stunning room. The food was amazing and the staff made you feel very welcome. Good value for money and an amazing place to stay with a lot to do locally.9

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Certainly when staying in a place like Salisbury, it is must to experience an inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More cupboard space would have been welcome

    The hotel is a unique treasure allowing you to experience an well preserved building. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Overall reasonably satisfactory
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No proper Hotel Entrance and Lounge, an A-Board outside advertising "Burger & Chips etc" gave an unfortunate impression. We were uncertain where we should enter. No communication from room to Front Desk. When we rang the day before our arrival the telephone was not manned. At Breakfast we had cereal but were kept waiting for the disappointing cooked breakfast, later arrivals were served cooked breakfast before us.

    Evening Meal was really excellent, comfortable seating, red house wine very good and excellent service. Were efficient in ordering a taxi to take me to my meeting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Interesting old building, wonky floors, attractive rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a resteraunt/pub with rooms (as it clearly states) so there was no communal area that wasn't the pub itself.

    Interesting old building, wonky floors, attractive rooms, actually served breakfast rather than buffet. It was very clean. Right by the cathedral area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having spent 4 hours in a&e we missed breakfast Christmas morning, I asked if we could have something to eat when we arrived back at the hotel I was told not possible as they were setting up for lunch. Service with a smile. Boxing Day before we left our family had booked for lunch at the restaurant so I waited in the bar while my partner took our baggage to the car. Manager followed him out why I am not sure. I waited in the bar for the family to arrive while I was waitin I watched them seat people at the table reserved for our family not a problem as they moved when we finished arriving but it would have been. Nice to have the table wiped over before we sat down or even after would have been ok as they left sticky a sticky table.

    Lovely room big bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay, wonderful location
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room - was a little dim.

    Lovely old pub/hotel with wonderful location. Rooms and general decor interesting but in keeping. Excellent owner/host, unusual and tempting items on the menu.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful old character inn in an excellent location. Staff very efficient and keen to please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Wonderful character inn . Very friendly staff. Super clean. Bar and restaurant area very cosy with an open fire. Parking easy . They give you a pre prepared permit. It costs just £6 for 24 hours. The car park is 2 or 3 mins walk. Great location near the cathedral with many other pubs, eateries only a few mins walk from the shops. Our room looked out on to the cathedral. Will definitely return here soon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    It's an amazing old building, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an amazing old building, great location. We didn't notice that breakfast are served from 8:30 am on the weekends and we had to get on the train earlier, but the staff was very nice about it and they prepared a breakfast package for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Large comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions how to work the coffee machine in the bedroom would’ve been nice. But as there was a kettle it didn’t really matter too much.

    Large comfortable bed. Helpful friendly staff. Lovely atmosphere. Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't not have asked for more.

    I noticed the staff worked long hours but it didn't' seem to phase them as they were all extremely pleasant. The property itself was beautiful and the location was excellent. I enjoyed everything about my stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    It is the perfect location for anyone looking to be in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub closed early on Boxing Day without prior notice.

    It is the perfect location for anyone looking to be in walking distance to all Salisbury has to offer. It’s medival charm is like nothing I’ve ever seen. Old timbers leaded glass windows fireplaces in the pub.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable room, excellent dinner, but a disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast Service was too slow - no buffet, so by the time the croissant arrived my coffee was cold. Also the cooked food was barely warm by the time it got to us.

    The room was comfortable with no street noise (although noisy smokers in the courtyard). Dinner was excellent with the best steaks we can remember. The breakfast hot options were good, with Eggs Royale and Eggs Benedict.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky and old. Floors and stairs uneven which was part of its charm. Bedrooms excellent and very modern despite the age of the building. Friendly staff. Excellent location opposite the Cathedral.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay in an interesting,historic venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not bothered by it, but the road is busy during the day and the noise could be a problem for some.

    We had a lovely atmospheric room on the second floor complete with wooden beams and sloping floor. The bed was very comfortable, and we did not experience any noise disturbance from the pub below. The heating was very efficient-important in mid December- and there was a fabulous large bathroom with both bath and shower.The breakfasts were very good, and we would certainly recommend the porridge on a cold morning. The staff were all really friendly and helpful, and the situation is ideal for easy access to the cathedral and town centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Stay in a piece of local history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More information in the room i.e. a local map, knowing that the heating came on at a certain time, restaurant menu. Breakfast was heavy on eggs, which were very runny when cooked.

    Lovely historic place, sympathetically converted and tastefully decorated. Comfortable beds. Walking distance to town. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The photos don’t do the rooms justice the executive room I booked was above expectations, the food was delicious and the staff couldn’t do more to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More of a help yourself breakfast (cereals, yoghurt, fruits, buns etc) plus the choice of cooked breakfast, if wanted, would have been better.

    Bed was very comfortable and everywhere was spotless. Breakfast was ordered from a menu. I ordered boiled eggs and they were hard boiled which I was not expecting. It was quite popular with local people eating at the restaurant. We enjoyed our lunch and evening meal there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and welcoming stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for us thank you

    Good choice of breakfast . Selection of different cooked breakfast . Food hot and good presentation. Meal in the evening in restaurant was very good and good price. Staff helpful with bags to are room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    OK but felt let down by the level of noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed made up for our daughter was very uncomfortable and she was troubled by the level of noise coming up from the bar, so much so that she ended up sleeping in our bed which fortunately was a very comfortable super king. Despite requesting a quiet room, we were placed in what was quite possibly the noisiest room in the hotel - above the bar and toilets (hand dryer going off every few minutes!) and on the corner of two very busy roads. Would describe this as a restaurant/bar with rooms, as opposed to a hotel with a restaurant! Parking was difficult as, even with the parking permit provided by the hotel, it was really difficult to find a space. Ended up parking in a different car park and moving the car later in the day and consequently paid two charges.

    large comfy bed, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    cosy and comfortable twin room, good shower and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate loo and shower room were a little cramped. No biscuits with tea/ coffee facilities.

    Twin beds were comfy. Bathroom was new with good shower. Separate loo. Great breakfast and welcoming staff. Old building with uneven creaky floors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Bed was very comfy and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom would benefit from updating, broken tiles and toilet flush. Mildew on ceiling and limescale in toilet.

    Bed was very comfy and location was great. Very nice main hotel building and bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.9
    Most enjoyable and right opposite the cathedral, which is wonderful. Salisbury is a charming city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little cramped and not much room to hang clothes but it is a very old building and the charm compensates

    Good beds, Excellent breakfast. Good restaurant. Obliging and efficient staff

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chapter House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: