Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel

147 High Street,, Berkhamsted, HP4 3HL, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Berkhamsted

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a buzzing all night either from the extractor fan in the bathroom or something nearby. It made it difficult to sleep well.

    Fantastic breakfast. Room and bathroom spacious. Free Nespresso machine. Lovely friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fine, the t.v. didn't work however it could have been us not sure how to use it. Our room could have been a little cleaner , the rest of the property was fine.

    The location, service from the staff and the food. Breakfast options were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite noisy, which did disturb our sleep. Sounded like loud extractor fans running on the floor below our room.

    Lovely rooms, amazing restaurant for dinner & breakfast, and wonderful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy from the stairs right next to the room wall, but otherwise, lovely staff and amazing food.

    Lovely staff and The best Sunday Roast dinner I've ever had. One of the best stays in the UK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have used a bigger mirror in the bedroom as the only one was in the bathroom and difficult to do hair and make up in the small moveable mirror on the dressing table. The entrance to the bed rooms behind the restaurant could do with a spruce up but the actual rooms are very nice.

    Breakfast included was wonderful with no restriction on what you could order from the menu, I had smoked salmon with poached eggs and it was delicious. Bed was comfy. Staff were very friendly particularly the waitress who served us for breakfast,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't take a single room! Small, poor quality. Doesn't feel safe either if you're lone female - public access to stairwell from outside yard plus no security lock on bedroom door. Service at dinner was abysmal!

    Breakfast is brilliant. Great choice, good quality, good service and incredible value. Location is fabulous. Bar and dining areas are welcoming and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the breakfast menu was limited unless you wanted something with eggs. No cereals on offer. Much prefer self serving buffet style.

    Liked the extras like iron & ironing board, good hot drinks facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took us a while to get parked on the street.

    Amazing room, 4 poster bed and gorgeous bathroom. Really lucked out. Fantastic breakfast too. Love this place and plan to be back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception on arrival was unwelcoming. The restaurant staff were smoking outside the room window. There is no car parking on site and this is not made clear on the website. The bins were emptied by noisy lorry at 4am. The WiFi permissions say that they can access files on your device/laptop/phone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking - told could use parking at different hotel or Tescos pay and display. This is issue for berkhamsted in general

    Central location. Well organised. Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a disgrace the heating wasn’t working I moved room 3 times all were freezing poor electric heaters which didn’t work.staff were clueless

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was an issue, very difficult to find over night space and breakfast was rushed due to slow service we had to rush off to collect car before the ticket expired.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and obliging, the bed comfortable. Breakfast service was slow, but the menu extensive. Pizzas excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise when the pub was closing was... noisy. But only when window was open due to hot room.

    The breakfast was superb and the room was great value. Staff were excellent and I’ll definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a pleasure staying here rooms are amazing staff are the best and can never do enough for you. Plus the upgrade was a sensational surprise thank you!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough staff on at breakfast time. I arrived at 7am & waited 10mins before anyone acknowledged me & as I only had limited time, didn't have time for cooked food which was very disappointing as the choice is excellent. At checkout, only one person qualified to carry out the procedure & had to be summoned making me even later in leaving.

    Good restaurant & bar area. Staff friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan noise , staff being noisy banging doors early in the morning No headboard paint peeling of the ceilings and walls mould on ceiling . Draughty window didn’t open or closed properly see the manager sitting in the woodshed smoking .CLEARLY EX STAFF quarters .STAY AWAY .

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh fruit at breakfast

    All the staff were so friendly and helpful from start to finish. Front of house have great directions to car park as well as accommodating extra guests at short notice at dinner. Fantastic service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath in room didn't work and dinner was very unappetising. Greek Salad (£10+£3 avocado) was missing tzatzkiki and red onion as described on the menu, and every single piece of avocado was brown.

    The staff, even though incredibly young and inexperienced, did their best

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner said the mattress was very hard, but that might be personal preference.

    The breakfasts were amazing, very fresh and well cooked. The poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates at breakfast were cold with hot cooked breakfast so did not stay warm very long .

    Excellent service . Our room had no power and was moved immediately great service .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure could have been better, but that’s being picky.

    Minibar was ace - even though we didn’t use it. Nice big room. Breakfast was exceptional!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small and basic, no wardrobe only hangers and one small drawer? On the second day I waited ages for someone to serve me and in the end I gave up

    It’s location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light switch was broken so light kept going off. I was thoughtfully offered a different room next to my friend.

    I liked my room - it was spacious and comfortable. Staff were super helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room infected with parasites (dead fleas). Freezing cold and draughty. Room located outside hotel in courtyard. Noisy neighbours who left dogs unattended for 6 and a half hours til 1.45 a.m. barking continuously.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if it's the case for all rooms, but there was no mirror in our room, only over the sink in bathroom. No plug socket could reach into the bathroom to use that mirror, so I couldn't style my hair for an event I had and had to do my make-up over the sink. Not a good room if you have an event/wedding to dress for. Remember to bring your own (but still no full-length mirror).

    Room was super clean and I loved the décor and the huge Georgian window. The pub downstairs is lovely, with a real fire. Perfect for winter. Great breakfast - you can order anything you want!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very busy so couldnt sit for a drink after our meal but its a good sign it is so popular.

    Friendly staff, lovely room, good food and managed to get a seat by the fire despite it being very busy. Good cocktails!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was ice cold when we arrived and took a good hour to warm up, doesn't seem unreasonable to expect the radiators to be switched on before people get there, especially in early January! Minor point, but there was no mirror above the desk/table, which would've been helpful when my wife was doing her hair!

    Overall, the room was very nice, well decorated and stylish. Didn't notice any noise from the pub/restaurant below. Breakfast was very good too, the staff were very helpful with my wife's dietary requirements (Gluten Free).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no on-site parking but we were able to use the King's Arms' sister hotel's car park, a walk away. It was difficult to find in the dark and would have been unpleasant if it had been raining, but I think parking will always be a problem in Berkhamsted.

    Customer serive was excellent. There were problems with our room; we were moved to a different one and when we came to leave we were not charged for our meal to make up for the difficulties.. We could not have asked for better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom needed a revamp, no heating (other than towel rail) in bathroom. access to bedroom via staff area and back stairs. The room was priced on venue location not quality of bedroom.

    Location excellent in centre of town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel check out asked to charge us £125 per night instead of the £61 booking.com rate.they said “the minimum rate was £125 per night” and would not have asked for less. We protested and showed booking email. Suggest future emails tell you to print out booking so there is NO quibbling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking at the property and was quite hard to find parking fairly close by. There was no heating in the bathroom which made bathing or showering not very pleasant.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fine but public areas dirty and fire doors all wedged open. Drunken people running around late at night, door from pub to rooms left open. Woken by fire alarm at 1.30 am and still people shouting. Not a pleasant stay.

    Breakfast was good and waitress very nice, had to ask for juice as none visible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing we didn't like was the parking facilities and a bit of a draft from the window.

    Staff were very helpful and was able to let us park the cars at the sister hotel rather than leave them in a car park. Breakfast was fantastic and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff, very accommodating. Located centrally for our needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff and Management were amazing! My Son lost his comforter in the room and Andy the Manager went above and beyond to help me get it back. Great location, lovely restaurant and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a great stay and very highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was nice and friendly and also our room was comfortable, so we could feel relaxed during our stay. Make sure to stay this hotel again! Many thanks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area between pub and rooms outside messy, bit of a dumping ground, old broken chairs etc.

    Comfy bed and good shower. Good food. Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I parked OK at the sister hotel but parking would have been good. Staff helpful with luggage.

    Staff lovely. Helpful. Advised on travel and gave directions. . Room good. Food good. Very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The route to the bedroom was along a very drab corridor . There was an unpleasant smell along this route . The carpet along the corridor was filthy . The paint work needs attention so first impression was depressing . It looked much smarter in the photos on booking . com . We had one small window in our room which was frosted glass . We thought it was very expensive for an over night stay . We expected much more for our money .

    The bed was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have had a more efficient blackout. The dining room can be noisy, especially with kids running around.

    Bath was very nice. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom too hot

    The room was well equipped and clean however it was so hot and impossible to sleep. Fans were provided but nevertheless being a listed building the lack of air conditioning and small windows made me feel quite claustrophobic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were fantastic but the room/corridor and general upkeep was really poor. Cleanliness was not good, the corridor smelt very bad. Room was scruffy and needed updating and TLC

    Staff were fantastic but the room/corridor and general upkeep was really poor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area outside the rooms was a little scruffy with empty cooking oil cans and discarded ash from the wood burning pizza oven on show. The bedside lamps in the bedrooms, although stylish, directed little light where you actually needed it. Feeble Wi-Fi.

    The staff are the strongest asset of this establishment and the standard of food in the restaurant is generally very good. It is usually very busy with a good atmosphere and always provides a very enjoyable stay. We will have no hesitation in visiting again in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot room and very noisy into the early hours and then around 6am when workers arrived shouting and swearing at each other which woke us up and was not appropriate for guests to hear. We were very tired and disappointed and the staff did not offer any real support when the matter was raised - simply blaming it on the business next door.

    The food was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 8 needs a new mattress. It was really quite lumpy. Access are to bedrooms pretty grotty.

    Staff great - friendly and helpful. Food lovely. Complimentary coffee on departure a lovely touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have had a headboard but that's the only thing I can think off. Otherwise excellent.

    Gorgeous find. Very comfortable room with sparkling ensuite bathroom. Fabulous breakfast. All-round excellent pub. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel were very black and white, wouldn't accommodate an early check in as we travelled from Dublin for a wedding unless we paid £20 per room.

    Bedroom comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like that our stay was not nearly long enough!

    This delightful hotel was truly a home away from home. Yes, it was a wonderfully equipped English hotel. But it was so much more. At the end of the day, upon entering the pub before going to our room, the staff made us feel as if we were coming to home to our own house. There is absolutely NO reason to stay anywhere else in the area. You MUST make Kings Arms your new home!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very welcoming, lovely size room which was spotless. Fantastic food in the evening and value for money. The best breakfast I've had in a long while.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bedroom was very poor,dreary no wardrobe,ironing board stuck in corner on view.lighting dull.curtains from the 1950s certainly not worth £109

    the staff were good,the breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    This is my third stay at the Kings Arms in 6months. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable and well equipped, including good quality hair dryer, steam iron and ironing board, fans, proper wine glasses, complimentary water. The products in the bathroom are gorgeous. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The staff are professional and friendly. There is a lovely atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. The food is fantastic. I was leaving early on Saturday morning and didn't have time for breakfast but was offered a croissant, fruit and coffee to take with me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was slightly flaky at times. The only other thing was that the window rattled due to it being a sash window, but this can be easily resolved with some spare paper!

    The staff couldn't do enough to help me out. The room was spotless, a decent size (which makes a change for a single room!), and well laid out. The hotel is directly on the main high street so really easy to get to as well. Breakfast is absolutely delicious - and an incredibly good cup of coffee too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choice from menu served to the table by very helpful and happy staff. Make your own toast and help yourself cereal, juice and fruit. Eggs benedict were superb .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get to wifi as the only access to it was using signing in your Social Media profile, which I really didn't want to do as it's not secured network.

    Property was nice and spacious, high sealing, great facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was overpriced. Entrance hall and stairway tatty. Paint peeling and very gloomy. Skylight in room filthy. Wardrobe knob fell off. Mirror far away from socket, so difficult to dry hair. Room very hot, fan didn't really help!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a town centre location and the only parking is pay & display local public car park. Staff advised that parking can sometimes be booked at their sister hotel (the Penny Farthing) nearby.

    Excellent breakfast, staff friendly and helpful, good venue to eat and excellent range of beers on tap.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticism. The whole experience was excellent, staff included . They need to be praised as everyone was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend

    Superb position for our needs. Staff friendly and helpful.Good facilities and good resteraunt. Good chilled white wine. Outside sitting area. No problem parking at sister hotel. An excellent experience overall Delighted to find kettle and tea making facilities plus iron ironing board and hair dryer and full length mirror in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This hotel maintains service with a smile, and well laid out comfortable furnishings in the public areas. Very nice restaurant, and comfortable, convenient well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors and some parts of the room could do with a lick of paint and new carpets, but it didn't detract from the stay. Parking was free but a 5 min walk from the hotel.

    My partner and I stayed for a single night to make use of the good array of local restaurants. The room was simple but clean and had everything you needed (toiletries, iron, tea/coffee/hair-drier etc). The breakfast was superb. Good choice ranging from pastries to avocado/eggs to full cooked. The restaurant downstairs was busy and had a good menu although we didn't try. Bar was busy but no noise heard from room. Bang on the high street and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are above/next to the bar and beer garden which was open and noisy until after midnight. The rooms are not soundproofed - not even double glazing. I would not stay there again based purely upon this.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dusty and a little tired. Shame rest of the property is fab, room just looked a little shabby. Staff and pub itself lovely

    Bed was comfy, bathroom was modern and clean and breakfast was yummy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off in the night I woke my partner up because she uses earplugs and she didn't hear it. It was switched off after about thirty to sixty seconds and she did struggle to get back to sleep. I didn't ask for an explanation as to why the fire alarm went off but when we returned home we felt that we should have been given an explanation. There was no instructions as to where the mini bar was and when we found it though we didn't explore it more closely we think that that was where the milk was because we didn't have any milk for our cups of tea.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious. The blackout curtains were good but they could have been a little higher

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. One of my favs so far of its type.

    Everything. Big room, tastefully decorated. Lovely bathroom. Quiet location in the hotel. Literally didn't hear a sound. Staff were excellent. Felt like I was their only customer. Lovely bar and great food for dinner. Fantastic choice for breakfast. Great hotel location, right on the high street and only a few mins walk to the train station. Highly recommended

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at the Kings Arms are excellent; very positive and helpful. I have stayed on numerous occasions now and it is the only real quality (clean, modern etc) hotel in Berkhamsted. I always prefer to stay at the back of the hotel because I like the rooms to be more modern...the ones at the front have more character (wooden means, long curtains etc, but still with the modern bathroom and tv).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access corridors to the rooms could do with a good clean and decorate. the Courtyard rooms are fab, but again, because the hotel has so little 'back of house' space, the guest journey to the room doesn't reflect the rest of what the place and the staff have to offer. The room on the first night was too small, but the rating above reflects our second nights stay. Additional small point - side plates for breakfast!

    Superb breakfast, great range of beers, nice informal atmosphere. upgraded to a suite for the second night, which was fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I've stayed here. The shower this time was not very good. But I love the location to work and the inn so its tolerable.

    The staff was very nice. The food was very good. I ate at the restaurant 2 times. My room was clean and cozy. Its a safe area so I had no problem walking around by myself. When I come back for business I'll definitely be staying here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to ask for milk and more that 1 sachet of coffee.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't immediately obvious where to check in as the desk for booking restaurant tables was the same as for hotel.

    Convenient location on the high street- less than 10 minutes walk to the train station. Clean spacious room, good shower, toiletries provided. Good breakfast served until reasonable time. We also ate in the pub/restaurant in evening and the pizzas were very nice and service was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin had not been emptied when I arrived in room but should have mentioned it at the time

    Staff were exemplary and added to my stay. Great supper. Had good night's sleep in comfortable bed. Very quiet. Felt thought had been given to facilities in room although box of tissues would have been nice. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a pub. We stayed on a Saturday night and could hear general pub noise until 1.00am. There was a private party on the premises with very loud music until 12.30am.

    Facilites very clean. Food was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff abrupt and quite loud. Struggled to understand them a little.

    Excellent friendly welcome by charming young man who showed me to my room. Great room, lovely bathroom. Superb central location. Hotel full of character.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walkway from the bar/restaurant was very 'tired' could have used redecorating and let down overall experience. We new that our room would not be serviced on Christmas day, other than by request, which was we believe fair and reasonable, however on another day it was not serviced at all and on another several thinks were not done. In fairness to the hotel they shared our concerns and I believe they will investiage and resolve the issues for future clients.

    Very comfortable bed, lovely high ceilings (typical of a property of this age). Excellent choice for breakfast, not just your normal fry up and toast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's still a room in a pub. Quite noisy and not that cheap. I'd stay again, but mainly as the choices available in this town are poor.

    Room was pretty decent, bed comfortable, staff friendly and courteous: plus a great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in room a bit stained .

    Great location in Berkhamsted . Great food . Bar has lovely open fire making it a cosy place for a drink . Good breakfast .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose Berkhamsted because it is a special place for us. In 2014 we got engaged at The Castle ruin and we returned this weekend to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. I am sure our room was upgraded and we were left some complimentary gifts. We were made to feel special and had a lovely break away including a visit to The Rex cinema. Will definitely return. Thank you King's Arms for ensuring we had a memorable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from a party/late bar Poor soundproofing between rooms Disappointed with comfort of bed Light switch next to bed didn't switch lamp off so you had to cross the room to use the big light

    Kindness and care of staff at check in and check out Nice interior Lovely bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: