Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kings Arms Hotel - A Bespoke Hotel 2 stars

King Street, Kyleakin, IV41 8PH, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 1741 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    5.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced second rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broken-my wife had knee op so stairs a problem. Hot water tap leaked. Shower hose leaked badly. No shelf in bathroom for toiletries. No toilet roll holder-broken. Poor value in a down at heel hotel which needs upgrade.

    The position. Restaurant staff good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The basic old inn has been extended several times in a ramshackle fashion with varying width hallways and a claustifobic feel. There are a lot of rooms to be served by a single person at the front desk. The room itself was reasonably appointed. The breakfast was full and fast, but mass produced. The cost was almost twice that of our other accomodation in Scotland with half the satisfaction. If driving, stay off the Isle for less and tour by car.

    The property is quite accessible just after arriving over the bridge to the Isle of Skye and has a good view of the the bridge from outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Did the job in a very basic way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed a few times,mainly due to lack of alternatives in the area, as accommodation seems to book out well in advance. Bedrooms are small and equipped to the minimum with many fixtures surviving fro the 70/80's. Requires a huge make over. Popular with bus tour companies.

    Location by the loch is excellent in lovely village of Kyleakin. Breakfast was excellent, dinner was acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Although the Hotel is in a lovely location, I did not feel that I got value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel badly needs updating & brightening up. The shower in our room leaked all over the bathroom floor because the shower pipe had a leak & the screen did not seal onto the side of the bath.

    Good food & dining facilities. Bedroom was nice with a lovely view & comfortable beds. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    The food was tasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were uninterested in serving the guests. Lift is broken and there main bread and butter is the coach trade. So we and other guests who stayed more than 1 night were not catered for.

    The food was tasty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior decoration tired and dated. Depressing. Curtains in the room barely covered the Windows. Shower hopeless. V. Low water pressure that failed completely on one morning when the hotel seemed full. Breakfast run of the mill. Did not feel value for money.

    Room was clean and reasonably comfortable. Convenient location. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing, room was wet and damp, very small, drafts, up three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, room was wet and damp, very small, drafts, up three floors lift was broken. Staff were non plus about service wouldn’t recommend this place if I was paid to advertise! It’s atrocious. Hotels.com should take it off their list of accommodations. These are the good points! And all for £210 for a night,

    Nothing, room was wet and damp, very small, drafts, up three floors lift was broken. Staff were non plus about service wouldn’t recommend this place if I was paid to advertise! It’s atrocious. Hotels.com should take it off their list of accommodations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    Underwhelming, could be an awesome hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alarm (fire) went off at 7 am, previous reviews had complained of this. There was no explanation for it or any fire drill..This is obviously a know problem and needs addressing as it caused a lot of people anxiety. Breakfast was very poor..neither the bacon nor sausage were close to being cooked.

    Location. Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    Avoid unless you are desperate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty much everything and ridiculously overpriced.

    The room windows were filthy, the shower was a trickle and effectively useless, the hygiene in the room and bathroom left a lot to be desired, oh and the room and hall had a strange smell.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Hotel in Kyleakin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to be upgraded. The lift didn’t work. The carpets are old and look dirty. The bed was uncomfortable. The toilets don’t flush properly.

    In a beautiful little village. The breakfast was quite nice. The linen was clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    It is OK, but overpriced for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not smiley and welcoming, the heating in the rooms is either very hot or cold (no thermostat)

    the location was perfect for my journey. The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms are new.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Hotel with view of Skye bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit limited round the hotel.

    Excellent place to stay if you are walking in the area. Packed lunch instead of breakfast if you want to get away early for the hills. Nice restaurant for meals and spacious lounge/bar area. Lovely location looking across Skye bridge. Superb value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    It was a pleasant stay. I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the rates being on bit higher side. I would like to have this service for 25% lesser cost. But considering this being a tourist destination and this being the only hotel in kylekin, I guess the rates were on bit higher side.

    We really enjoyed the hot breakfast daily. It had good options for vegetarians as well which I liked myself being a vegetarian. The behavior of the staff was also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy. Couldn't open the window and there was a horrible musty smell. Walls and skirting needed a good clean. Mould around bathtub.

    Staff were very courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Was a bit hesitant at staying at this property after reading previous reviews we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been more friendlier especially at Reception.Restaurant staff and Bar staff were friendly.

    Location and views were great.Meals were excellent with Breakfast included in Stay was very good.This hotel was built in the 1600's but they have maintained it also has a lift.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay on a rainy day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet was really small and narrow and the heater in the room smells.

    They have the option for dine in dinner (additional cost) because it was raining the whole day and it was troublesome for us to eat out. therefore, we were grateful with the dine in option, the food was good with a a variety of vegetarian options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    we liked the historic ambiance and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the windows were hard to open and did not want to stay open no fridge

    view out of the room was beautiful average maintained old inn with a good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.8
    An embarrassment to have my friend stay there with me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was brutal. One person who spent more time managing on-site children and dog than attending to the guest. Phone interruptions also included! The room was tiny and warm. Window was ground level into a parking lot with cars so close I could touch them, Bathroom was disgusting. Mold and old caulking from a shower that was continually leaking. The price was exhorbitant (BP 130) for what was received. Should have be no more than BP80 for this quality!

    Can't think of one thing I would rate as positive!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Beautiful views but that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expired hotel without any charm. Beautiful views but that's all. Unfriendly staff. They take advantage of the location and they do not take care of anything else.

    Location is nice and espectacular views. Beautiful views but that's all

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    nice experience in a small village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff needs to know how to smile, or at least pretend to be polite.

    The hotel is located in a small village Kyleakin. The transportation is convenient though. You can choose to drive here or take a train or bus. There is always an option to use an island tour services. So, you can stay here for a cheaper hotel, and still have a nice Isle tour. The hotel is quite nice with the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Kingsarms better than the Queenslegs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They let elephants check into the room above, also the room was next to an exit and the fire door in the hallway banged when it closed. Put these altogether and for a business traveller it doesn't make for a good night sleep even though the bed and pillows were comfy. This isn't the fault of the hotel I am just expressing my views around my stay. Although the hotel was really clean the building in the future may need upgrading like soundproofing, new windows, floors to be screwed down to stop squeaking, bathrooms upgraded and general decoration. This is only my opinion in how the hotel could improve.

    The staff were friendly and full of information. Breakfast was a nice relaxing experience. And the hotel was a great location for my work on the Isle of Skye.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Amazing bathroom in a single room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Amazing bathroom in a single room. Very modern, thought through and done with attention to details. Comfy bed, amazing view both in the room as well as in the hotel restaurant. Close to everything, the port, ferry, train station, buses. Lots of shops and bars, and restaurants just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    A disgrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is horrible. We had to stay there for one night because there isn'ta lot of accommodation choices on the Isle of Skye but if we had the option to avoid it, we would have done so. We got there around 12:30pm, walked in to the reception, said Hello to the guy who was there and told him that we had a reservation and his greeting was "Check in is at 3pm". Incredibly rude. So we came back later and got into our room, which was tiny, with a view on the car park and clearly looked like it hadn't been refurbished since the 70's. It was also noisy, we could hear people walking in the corridor. There was also a horrible smell of cigarette in the lobby. Breakfast wasn't good at all, very small portions and not fresh. I ordered some scrambled eggs but I don't know if I actually got scrambled eggs on my plate as the texture was so weird. Staff was not professional at all. Just avoid this place at all costs, it's not good value for money (£135 a night!!!) and they are not welcoming at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.3
    big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old hotel. you can really feel it but it doesn t give excuse to give us a room that was not clean and has a strange smell. There is a restaurant inside but cannot try it as you need to book in advance.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location with magical view on Skye bridge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A rather industrial hotel with many rooms, many people, not extremely friendly staff and quite average breakfast. Bathroom interior would need a refresher, toilet flush wasn't working, separate tap for hot and cold water is irritating (it's not the first place I've seen this in Scotland though).

    Good location with magical view on Skye bridge! Overall all was ok for our stay with some aspects to improve as compared to other places we could stay in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Horrible. The view from our window consisted of oil tanks and trash. The room was a joke for what w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way overpriced. When we opened the door to our room we were shocked of how runned down, and sparse the room looked for what we paid for. I think the room was way overpriced, we should have paid 1/3 of the price. I am not a travel novice, I spend a lot of time in hotels traveling on business and vacation, and I cannot recall a more underwhelming place for the price than this hotel.

    My wife and I liked nothing about this place. The best I can say is that the breakfast was OK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    Probably one of the worst hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception was missing – we waited and asked one of the staff passing by to find the receptionist. They made a short search and disappeared. Finally after more than 10 minutes somebody appeared. Her attitude was not very nice. Room is in a lousy condition – the floor slopes from one side of the room to the other. It is like walking on a boat. (just in the door there is a slope of a few centimeters – see picture) The curtains fell off the wall when we tried to close them. There is a serious problem with the water pipes – there are constant load noises whenever somebody turns on the water (probably on the whole floor). Will keep you awake most of the night. Walls are thinner than paper and as the beds are adjacent to the corridor the noise when people pass by is nearly unbearable. TV was tiny – did not bother even putting it on. Bottom-line if you have not found anywhere better to stay – still do not stay here.

    The hotel is located in a good spot with nice scenery.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.8
    The hotel and facilities are old and tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and facilities are old and tired. Our mattress was very uncomfortable, the rooms small and the decor very old. We booked 3 rooms and 2 out of the three rooms had faulty showers. You most certainly do not get value for your money. The staff do try and be friendly and helpful but due to the facilities I will not be returning. When going to Skye book well in advance so that you can get more comfortable/superior accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.5
    Terrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was run down and not clean. I would expect this level for $30 per night not $168. 3 coach trips filled the place up and meals were chaotic. I have never stayed anywhere in the UK quite so bad. My wife slept on top of the bed without getting undressed. Luckily only one night. Booking dot No.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.6
    Hotel Needs some Work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in general, need to be more warm and friendly (bad experience with one particular guy who seemed to have a chip on his shoulder when serving breakfast). Would have been nice to see at least one Scottish employee. It was not value for money. Outdated rooms. General poor decor. No warmth or character. Receptionist very nice and lovely dog.

    The food was good. The location is beautiful. The front external appearance is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Lovely location but tired interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aesthetic appearance on the outside did not match the tired, faded appearance of the interior. The room was small and had a cramped feeling. The management needs to visit a few hotels and see what standard is expected. Or...lower the price as its extorinate for a hotel that is 'tired' and needs an interior facelift or a lick of paint.

    The location was beautiful which is why the hotel should overhaul its interior. The staff from various countries were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down hotel. Catering to coach loads of people, rooms dated and slightly damp. So over priced, £140 per room per night. Reception staff unfriendly and dog barking a constant whilst waiting to check in. Breakfast is poor standard, so disappointed with my stay in Kings Arms, but loved Isle of Skye.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.4
    Bed was comfortable and shower over the bath was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only started at 7.30am on a Friday and after asking if anything would be available earlier as we had a ferry to catch, we were told they couldn't accommodate anything earlier which was a bit disappointing so we did not eat. Staff at the front desk seemed disinterested. Rooms are definitely not value for money but we didn't have much choice as the area is very busy this time of year.

    Bed was comfortable and shower over the bath was nice. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Great food but overpriced rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic hotel. The bed was very hard and not comfortable at all. The room was cold and the bathroom door also had a hole in it. I wouldn't mind if we hadn't paid so much for the room! Had stayed in much nicer accommodation the night before for almost half the price. Went to the restaurant for evening meal the food was great but the service was lacking. We were given a jug of water for the table but it tasted like it had sat out for a while and was warm. The breakfast was time but again the service was terrible! We were brought cold toast and had to go and find someone to place our breakfast order but noticed other tables were asked almost straight away.

    The hotel was clean and had all you would expect in a room. The evening meal was delicious and can't fault the standard of food at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. This is a very old building. Quite dated. It was acceptable as we werent looking for frills. Staff was nice. Location was great overlokking the water. Pub nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Pretty location, older hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old hotel, over priced for what it was. In its day the hotel would of been nice. Not sure of the nationality of all the staff but they weren't scottish. Bar prices were a bit steep.

    Nice view from the bedroom window

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.6
    Very poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, room was small and poor, window didn’t close and curtains didn’t fit, shower was just a trickle. Very expensive for what it is and definitely not 3 star!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    Skye bridge and a beautiful old ruined castle within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs in the bed and in the bath . For 135 pounds you would expect it to at least be clean. Room looked over car park at the back was very small and in desperate need if an update.

    Skye bridge and a beautiful old ruined castle within walking distance .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Dont stay here if you can stay elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired building and rooms that are in dire need of refurbishment. Windows that dont close on second floor room. Service bad at restaurant with rude staff. Mostly a place to cater to large tour groups who likely dont choose the hotel themselves.

    Location was decent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.0
    A bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a slight musty odour, we opened the window with a struggle. We had made a hot drink in our room in the evening but in the morning none of the sockets in our room appeared to be working, whilst I was showering my husband went to the desk to report the sockets and ask for a couple of coffees in our room. The chap on the desk remained seated at the computer side on to my husband, turned his head and said "have you tried the switch on the kettle" when my husband said yes but it's all the sockets the reply was "you do know you get coffee with your breakfast" to which my husband said yes but my wife is still not ready and we would like a drink, eventually the chap said he would bring 2 coffees. No apology given for this.

    Shower was good and beds very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was nice too and to be fair all other staff seemed lovely and helpful, just the man on the desk seemed like everything was too much trouble for him. The lady on the desk when we checked in couldn't have been more helpful, shame it wasn't her on in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Better than camping or sleeping in the 🚘
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking outside the door at the bottom of stairs which resulted in the stairway being filled with smoke. The dog on the reception counter! Lack of parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Don’t think I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room number 147 floor is very uneven when lying in bed .the cuboard the dressing table the bedside cupboards all lie at an angle ..very weird sensation,my wife compared it to be on a boat ...the bed was hard

    The breakfast was cooked to order and very nice ,the staff were very friendly and attentive...not sure but don’t think they get hello and a thank you from guests that often ..just my thinking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    For that price we expected much better. I don't really recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't open the windows fully, because they were secured and dirty. The staff at the breakfast wasn't always very friendly. The way the're serving the breakfast is terrible. You can chose from cereals, orange, toast and ham from a table. Than you can order a usual scottish breakfast, which is a good idea, but you can only order once, and the quantity is too little. If you order only one thing, perhaps beens, you get the same amount as you would when you ask for a full scottish breakfast. Once we asked the staff to please bring double amount of beens because that was we ordered only, but they didn't.

    It's close to the sea, comfy beds, nice rooms, good wifi. Friendly staff at check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    The worst hotel we have ever stayed in - you dont get what you pay for with this one.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pokey and small and looked like it needed some TLC, the breakfast buffet consisted of 5 different varieties of cereal plus grapefruit segments and orange segments, not a yogurt in sight although you could get cooked breakfast cooked to order. I think the hotel relies on bus tours, I certainly wouldn't book here out of choice, but there was no where else which at this time of year is difficult in the Highlands.

    the dog on the counter in reception. We didn't eat there due to other bad reviews.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed. Cost a lot more than the other hotels we stayed in yet got very poor facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coming into the building were at least three tripping hazards. The dog on the counter in reception was more important than the customers. My son got a dirty look because the dog barked at him. The bed lights switches were back to front, shabby bathroom and very cracked and stained bathroom sink. No choice of tea and only UHT whole milk plus three biscuits for two people. Bad internet connection.

    The best thing about this property was it's location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Fortunately we were only there for one night or we would have had to look elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was poor; room was really smelly and very basic. Not permitted entry to room even 15 minutes early! When asking for cheese at breakfast was told there was none! Not permitted to choose location table for breakfast! Without doubt the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed in!

    The view was spectacular!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Just about adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar shut early. Staff began cleaning dining room ,spraying tables with cleaner before we were finished our meal. Rooms were a bit old and tired

    Nice breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast was quite nice and staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was grubby- eg cobwebs on inside of window, accumulation of dirt at bottom of shower door joint, chipped paintwork. Also, towel rail inconveniently and unhygenically sited over toilet. My main complaint, however, was the total lack of hot water (for both shower and sink) in my room, both in the evening and on the next morning. When I complained to the gentleman at reception, I was informed that this can happen from time to time. giving me the impression that this is a long standing plumbing problem.

    The breakfast was quite nice and staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.4
    Only went here because all the other places were booked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place could really use some refurbishing and renovations, especially the bathroom.

    The food in the restaurant was tasty and the portions were fulfilling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a lot and a smile would be nice

    the hotel was patched together with outdated paintwork wallpaper patched on the roof of the bedroom the lift was carpeted with green carpet not just on the floor but the wall of the lift the bathroom was small but the shower was unusable you would have to be 3ft tall 2nights for 2 £270 that's 67.5pp for the most basic breakfast and room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing for the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were uncomfortable The shower water pressure was too weak The toilet flusher did not work I needed to use extreme force to open a window The room 'creaked' We could hear the people in the upstairs room every time they moved The carpet was old and dirty All in all the hotel needs a total makeover

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    The best of a bad bunch....but!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was overpriced substantially: accommodation was fairly old (70s style and build) several items did not work properly or at all. Insulation was poor: people above were not noisy, but the sound of them walking over the floor was clear! Breakfast was basic. Staff did try their best but overall at the price a poor deal.

    Reasonably convenient location given that island accommodation was in very short supply.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    3.8
    A major disappointment after a lovely week touring in Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor reception, dirty room, smells of stale tobacco (?? Non-smoking room), bath was filthy and the bathroom floor was unclean. Television cables strung across the mirror. Childs toy from previous occupant left in the room, having to ask for complimentary toiletries, miserable choice of beers and cheap wine

    The chef could cook and the scenery in front of the hotel was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    I would not come back there. Touristy place to avoid. No charm at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff both at reception and for breakfast. Breakfast is poor: bread toasted in advance all moisty and chewy, poor choice and quality of ingredients. Small room, view on parking no privacy for rooms on ground floor. Room 10 has a super tiny bathroom with no comfort at all: looks like a shower in a shoebox. Very bad value for money.

    Nice location close to isle of skye Great view from restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Very beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get the window open/stay open on a very warm day, the price is high for the overall experience.

    The staff is excellent, super location, tasty breakfast, good wifi, was allow to stay an extra hour (late check out) with no charge, plenty of safe parking space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.8
    We thought that the cost of £135.00 was far to much for the quality of room we had (room 10).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very dissapointed with the room being (a double) there was no room to put our luggage and the bathroom was very poor. The bedding was clean and presented well under the circumstances.

    I thought the position of the hotel was very good, the meal in the hotel was good. The staff did serve us very well having just had at least 3 coach parities to serve. We did not go into the bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Very beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High price for the general state of the building fabrication , WIFI slow

    Fantastic Location, Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, lots of parking space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Good enough if expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures and fittings a bit dated and bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned properly. Window need quite a bit of 'persuation' to get open!

    Reported broken light in bathroom at around 18:30 and it got fixed same evening. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.9
    Best to avoid this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is run down dirty and for £130 a night a complete rip off. The bathroom was mouldy and unclean. The towel rail had a loose earth wire next to the sink which is dangerous. The window had hand had prints all over and would not open. The public areas were run down and grubby. Cracked glass in the foyer doors an bucket full of cigarette nubs at the door too. Need I go on !!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing hotel. Needs modernising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down. Boring very average food. Small bed. A warren of narrow corridors. Tiny lift. Only BBC tv channels.

    Lovely receptionist. Comfy bed. Good location on waterfront by the bridge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is conveniently located just over the Skye Bridge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is VERY tired and needs major refurbishment. Our room was reasonably clean but dingy in appearance. The window was completely sealed (although it looked like it did open in better days). On the expensive side for the quality of hotel, but I suspect accommodation on Skye in summer is scarce.

    The hotel is conveniently located just over the Skye Bridge with good views over the water towards the Highlands. There is a decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Bus tour only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was operated purely for bus tours. As a FIT all the service was secondary to the staff managing the buses. Food was very average and overpriced for the quality. Seems like a la carte was just the mass meals served. Prime Restaurant time reserved for buses only

    Good location as you arrive on Skye. Pretty views and outside areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    3.8
    Serious midges bites from stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grossly over-priced stay. Everything is extremely old and worn out except for the shower faucet. Staff are mostly not friendly especially those serving us at breakfast. Windows are very old and have nothing to prevent midges from entering the room. We travel in a family of 5. But 2 of us had very serious midges bites on all limps and face during our 2 nights stay. The bumps developed from the bites grew bigger and bigger over 2 to 3 days and continue to itch even after 5 days. Simply unbearable. I wrote to the hotel via booking.com property email (attched with photos of the midges bites) the day after we left the hotel to raise the issue but never get any reply at all. I am a frequent traveller and this is the worst hotel I had ever stayed. I will never come back again.

    None

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Location at Isle of Skye bridge to start tour of Isle of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rsetaurant wants advance reservations. We were fortunate to arrive at 7:30pm and get a dinner rservation for 7:45pm. Restaurant cloes not stay open much longer than that.

    Location at Isle of Skye bridge to start tour of Isle of Skye the next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    This is a good stop over property in an area with very few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception gets a little crowded as coach parties arrive or depart but that is there core business so it is rather unavoidable. They deal with the transitions quite well.

    This is a good stop over property in an area with very few accommodation options. It is OK as long as you don't arrive at the same time as the coach party arrives! The restaurant was quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    A lovely locale on the Isle of Skye...and much more affordable than most!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk had too much to handle...difficulty communicating our requests and needs.

    Thoroughly enjoyed the setting, the sunset, and had a nice meal and drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Short and sweet. I would return and recommend .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated in decor but adds to the charm. Limited parking.

    Lovely location staff fantastic. Arrived late but still squeezed in for dinner, excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location and very nice setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been friendlier and less distracted, but she got the job done! :) This place was somewhat pricy considering that it an older hotel.

    The room was very nice, complete with coffee/tea/biscuits, comfy beds, and a beautiful view! Breakfast was fine. The location on the water with views was really nice. There's a good pub down the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Would make for a great base for touring Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. The view towards the Skye Bridge is especially stunning. Spaceus lounge area. The single room I had was adequately equipped and everything worked. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Better off sleeping in a tent on the grass outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, we were ordered to 'Wait in the bar, i don't have the room list yet'. We decided to go away and come back later. Next morning, we were unsure about breakfast so asked a staff member who turned around and mumbled something to us and walked off. We had to figure it out for ourselves. Eventually ordered breakfast, it arrived and was wrong,also only had half the required cutlery on the table. The room cost £100, if it were 50/60 then I'd be happy but defo not worth £100.

    Room was far too hot, the window was damaged so very difficult to open and the walls are paper thin so very noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Great location - OK hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit tired as a hotel but OK for a night. Staff bit defensive at reception but no doubt a busy day

    Location was amazing with a perfect view from the room - parking easy. Breakfast was very prompt and efficiently served. Check out easy - bar OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Old place from the 1600s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene could be better - we got a dirty tea kettle. It was a warm day when we checked in. Needed a table fan. Asked for it but did not get it. Breakfast was horrible.

    Old place from the 1600s. Great feel. Nice location in front of the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window wouldn’t open, ceiling lampshade broken.

    Hotel needs some refurbishment. I stay at another of the Bespoke group hotels at Nairn and it has a much higher standard of furnishing and decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Stay somewhere else!! Anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dog sitting ON the reception desk growled them barked at me - and HE was the FRIENDLY one. Receptionists let me know I was interrupting them from whatever they were doing. Very unfriendly and very broken English spoken The owner needs to hire better staff. Also, walls paper thin, had to flush three times to get the toilet to work, the shower come with half a shower door (see picture), the parking ran out, seedy area, drunks next to hotel. The hotel dates from the 1600’s but you would think they would have updated it since then! Poorly run , poor stay. Get one of the hundreds of B&B’s near here.

    Good location right on the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Property was very dated however for the price paid staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The children were afraid of the old fashioned lift lol and the toilet in room could do with an upgrade

    Property was very dated however for the price paid staff were pleasant and room clean and location was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: